Home Warranty, Inc

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Home Warranty, Inc

Home Warranty, Inc
Customer Service 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.2 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Total Reviews: 16
Total Quotes : 1
Premium $385
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Years In Business 2016
BBB Rating
Complaint Resolution
Offers Online Claims
Coverage Area North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio



Call Now for a Quote
 (888) 826-8212

Write a Review!

Reviews & Ratings

Ames - IA 08-03-2016
Emily H,Ames IA
Posted On 08/03/16
Review No. 104477
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
When I purchased my home as a first time home owner I was excited for the Home Warranty that was included. I continued the Home Warranty as I'm a single woman with a Foster Child and tenant renting a room from me. I wanted to make sure I was covered if something happened and I didn't have a lot of extra income. After this weeks events I've never been so disappointed and angry with a company. My air conditioning unit had some issues a few months ago. After a claim it was determined that there was a leak in the freon (which isn't covered). I had paid my $75 deductible and then another $364 for the freon and leak lock. I was told if this doesn't fix the problem (within a year) then they'd replace the unit as they first always attempt to repair. Well here we are a few months later and the compressor is bad and another leak in the freon. Home Warranty, Inc. said they'd cover $1,040 of the compressor repair or put that amount of money towards a new unit and I'd be responsible of the rest. When I spoke with a rep she stated that although the freon again leaked out it was due to the compressor failing. My contractor said that was absolutely wrong and that the compressor has nothing to due with the freon leaking and two separate issues have occurred. She stated several times they must fix before replacing the unit which is what they did two months ago and now refuse to replace it.I would not recommend this company as I'm 4 days in with a broken air conditioner and a house that's 88 degrees. I have two small puppies, a child, and a tenant that all have to suffer because this insurance company is refusing to replace the unit they already attempted to fix, but broke again and now has another issue. Fixing and not replacing the unit is against the contractors advice due to the age and issues it's recently had. I wouldn't trust a company that doesn't put customers first just to save themselves a little money although I continue to pay them monthly for this "protection". ~ Sincerely, A very frustrated and hot customer! view less
When I purchased my home as a first time home owner I was excited for the Home Warranty that was included. I continued the Home Warranty as I'm a single woman with a Foster Child and tenant renting a room from me. I wanted to make sure I was covered if something happened and I didn't have a lot of extra income. After this weeks events I've never been so disappointed and angry with a company.
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 104477
North platte - NE 06-06-2016
Randy Orvin,North platte NE
Posted On 06/06/16
Review No. 101713
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This is the biggest scam since ENRON! Our furnace and air conditioner quit working so we had called Home warranty Inc., they sent out a service man (he warned us about them trying to get out of paying anything) and he was on time and completed the job in a timely manner. It was our thermostat that went bad and because of that it took out the control panel circuit board. They would gladly cover the thermostat but the control panel is on us. You would think that a company would cover everything in the whole circuit, especially since something they " cover " is what caused the whole problem. Not going to happen because they have the " we don't cover components clause". This place is a joke! Next time I buy a house I won't purchase this garbage! view less
This is the biggest scam since ENRON! Our furnace and air conditioner quit working so we had called Home warranty Inc., they sent out a service man (he warned us about them trying to get out of paying anything) and he was on time and completed the job in a timely manner. It was our thermostat that went bad and because of that it took out the control panel circuit board. They would gladly cover
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 101713
Chesapeake - OH 01-14-2016
Eric Morgan,Chesapeake OH
Posted On 01/14/16
Review No. 96527
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Completely worthless!!! I called regarding my furnance and they have a hvac guy out there quick. He was great and did everything. The heating elemts were burnt out and it turns out that the furnance isnt going to work well with the house it will repeat to mess due to it being old and completely rough shape. He explained to then its simply useless and a new one is needed. They told me since the fan is blowing out air and some heat is coming out its fine. Burns out again and they tell me it wasnt a failed part so they wont cover it? Its not working? It has failed then? Complete bs of a company. Dont waste your time. view less
Completely worthless!!! I called regarding my furnance and they have a hvac guy out there quick. He was great and did everything. The heating elemts were burnt out and it turns out that the furnance isnt going to work well with the house it will repeat to mess due to it being old and completely rough shape. He explained to then its simply useless and a new one is needed. They told me since
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 96527
Carthage - MO 01-04-2016
Meagan mcbee,Carthage MO
Posted On 01/04/16
Review No. 96183
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Terrible, use a different company!
When filing a claim on our heater they wanted us to pay a $75 deductible for each piece within the unit that was needing to be replaced. We had multiple pieces needing to be replaced, it would have been better to give us a new unit (that wouldn't have been cost-efficient for them because some pieces they decided they werent going to cover at all). Even after replacing those pieces we would still have a unit not working at 100% efficiency because of age and wear on the other components that haven't fully given out yet, yet. Some pieces didn't even cost $75 to purchase ourselves.
On top of that ridiculous deductible per piece, they dragged their feet for days when it was 45° in the house and we have a small child. Don't bother asking to speak to a manager, they don't call you back. To sum it up I would strongly recommend another company based of my experience with them. view less
Terrible, use a different company!
When filing a claim on our heater they wanted us to pay a $75 deductible for each piece within the unit that was needing to be replaced. We had multiple pieces needing to be replaced, it would have been better to give us a new unit (that wouldn't have been cost-efficient for them because some pieces they decided they werent going to cover at all).
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 96183
Rock Rapids - IA 12-14-2015
Home Warranty, Inc.,Rock Rapids IA
Posted On 12/14/15
Review No. 95682
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
This is in response to Jeff Squiers. Home Warranty, Inc. did end up paying for the service work to be done on the refrigerator mentioned after the real estate agent confirmed which appliances conveyed with the property.

This site does not allow for a company to indicate which reviews are by verified purchasers of the products nor does it allow a company to respond to an individual review. view less
This is in response to Jeff Squiers. Home Warranty, Inc. did end up paying for the service work to be done on the refrigerator mentioned after the real estate agent confirmed which appliances conveyed with the property.

This site does not allow for a company to indicate which reviews are by verified purchasers of the products nor does it allow a company to respond to an
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 95682
wheeling - WV 03-25-2015
steve,wheeling WV
Posted On 03/25/15
Review No. 86051
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
We heard a loud pop.
Went to the kitchen and saw smoke coming from the stove top.
The stove top was not in operation at the time.
We turned off the breaker to the stove top to avoid any further problems.
The appliance repair tech determined that it was a bad switch that caused the problem and the unit was no longer safe to operate.
It is my understanding that you are only willing to reimburse me for the repair of failed part less my $75.00 deductible and will not pay to replace the unit even though the stove top is no longer safe to operate.
It is also my understanding that you are claiming the damage due to a subsequent fire in not covered based on your limits in your policy section #1 and #13.
A fire did not cause the appliance to fail. The appliance failed and caused a fire.
This is taking your band aid approach to the extreme.
If this is really the case I argue that you disclose in your limits of liability does not fully explain this to any reasonable person reading this agreement. This disclose more clearly state that you will not cover a fire that destroys and appliance. This was a failed appliance that cased the unit to smoke and then become unsafe to operate. view less
We heard a loud pop.
Went to the kitchen and saw smoke coming from the stove top.
The stove top was not in operation at the time.
We turned off the breaker to the stove top to avoid any further problems.
The appliance repair tech determined that it was a bad switch that caused the problem and the unit was no longer safe to operate.
It is my
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 86051
Mankato - MN 01-14-2015
Home Warranty fell down,Mankato MN
Posted On 01/14/15
Review No. 84074
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have had a terrible experience. It's my first time using Home Warranty and not only did my Tech not show up and didn't call until I called them asking what happened...they then came out the next day didn't fix my issue and deemed a different issue to fix. when I called to say you didn't fix my issue they said well I can put the old part back in and come fix it then or you can "donate $20" to us and I will leave the part in. Not only is this completely wrong and unethical but I have to bribe my tech to leave a part in?! I will NEVER use home warranty again! nor will I have ever suggest it to anyone. This is an absolute joke and a way to get money. They don't use any real name technicians they find the small little shops and go with them. view less
I have had a terrible experience. It's my first time using Home Warranty and not only did my Tech not show up and didn't call until I called them asking what happened...they then came out the next day didn't fix my issue and deemed a different issue to fix. when I called to say you didn't fix my issue they said well I can put the old part back in and come fix it then or you can "donate $20" to
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 84074
Bloomington - IL 05-22-2014
Andrea Aggertt,Bloomington IL
Posted On 05/22/14
Review No. 73371
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
If you have a chance go with a different company. Relator purchased a home warranty for us. The refrigerator that came with the house quit working about 8 months after we moved in. We notified home warranty and they dispatched a technician from a local repair shop. That whole process was quick and we were able to have someone out to look at it fast. It was diagnosed as a short in the compressor. The technician told my husband that no one would fix this. It would be a very labor intensive process with soldering and welding to get things out and back in place. We waited for Home Warranty to call us with our options. We were offered 360 dollars for the refrigerator. How convenient, the exact same price as what the premium was. My husband did some research and called the original service company who came out to diagnose the refrigerator. The technician told my husband that he simply told them what was wrong with it, but didn't give them a price to fix it. We looked online and we can purchase the part for $300. Hmmm. After some confrontation Home Warranty offered to raise it to $400. Still very disappointed about it. Aren't going to fight it anymore, just going to spread the word to everyone DO NOT USE HOME WARRANTY, INC. Keep your money or go elsewhere! view less
If you have a chance go with a different company. Relator purchased a home warranty for us. The refrigerator that came with the house quit working about 8 months after we moved in. We notified home warranty and they dispatched a technician from a local repair shop. That whole process was quick and we were able to have someone out to look at it fast. It was diagnosed as a short in the
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 73371
Batavia - IL 08-11-2013
Phil R,Batavia IL
Posted On 08/11/13
Review No. 64506
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Renewing for a 3rd year. Is expensive because I have to pay extra for dual water heaters, furnace, air, etc., but I feel worth it. Have used service quite often. They don't like to replace items but always repair and if they don't have a contractor will let you find your own. No the ice maker wasn't covered but that's clearly stated in the contract terms. Once had air go out twice in same month and since covered part was different I had to pay deductible twice.If you decide to replace or upgrade an item they reimburse you quickly. view less
Renewing for a 3rd year. Is expensive because I have to pay extra for dual water heaters, furnace, air, etc., but I feel worth it. Have used service quite often. They don't like to replace items but always repair and if they don't have a contractor will let you find your own. No the ice maker wasn't covered but that's clearly stated in the contract terms. Once had air go out twice in same
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 64506
Independence - MO 07-13-2012
Kelly Shue,Independence MO
Posted On 07/13/12
Review No. 37215
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
My parents have this warranty and they are currently of day 13 with NO air conditioning (averaging 100 degrees each day). You call and when you want to make a compliant - the lady transfers you to Doug, service manager, who is as incompetent as they get. When you ask who is above you he tells you Jane Fridinger, VP, ? Spelling) and she's in Mexico. Then when you ask who is the president he says "Doug Van Hoft, which is me." he just told me he was the serviceanager and I have never heard of the president of a company first tell you he is the service manager. What a liar. I am making a compliant with the better business bureau today. This is ridiculous. view less
My parents have this warranty and they are currently of day 13 with NO air conditioning (averaging 100 degrees each day). You call and when you want to make a compliant - the lady transfers you to Doug, service manager, who is as incompetent as they get. When you ask who is above you he tells you Jane Fridinger, VP, ? Spelling) and she's in Mexico. Then when you ask who is the president he
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 37215
- 07-20-2011
Drew, Springfield, IL
Posted On 07/20/11
Review No. 13294
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Our air conditioner went out and we called Home Warranty. They put us in touch with a great plumbing company (Burgess and Sons, Girard, IL). They were great, but as for Home Warranty, they were horrible. They refused to pay for the broken coil as it was deemed pre-existing. So we had to pay $1,000 out of pocket because Home Warranty wouldn't pay a dime. Then as they came out to fix the coil they discovered that the compressor had locked up. We called Home Warranty to let them know. We were quoted at $1,800 for the fix, which Home Warranty said they have a cap of $825. When my wife called back to discuss this, our rep Doug at Home Warranty was rude and treated her horribly. We are now closing our account and will be using another company. I would not recommend this company to anyone. view less
Our air conditioner went out and we called Home Warranty. They put us in touch with a great plumbing company (Burgess and Sons, Girard, IL). They were great, but as for Home Warranty, they were horrible. They refused to pay for the broken coil as it was deemed pre-existing. So we had to pay $1,000 out of pocket because Home Warranty wouldn't pay a dime. Then as they came out to fix the coil
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 13294
- 02-09-2010
Josh, Jefferson City, MO
Posted On 02/09/10
Review No. 5667
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
heater went out...they sent company to fix it, company got 30 yards from my house and said the roads were to bad due to weather, called Home Warranty Inc back and they said no one else was close enough to have them come look at it, had to go with no heat when it was 10 degrees outside.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 5667
- 06-04-2009
Dee, Fort Worth, Texas
Posted On 06/04/09
Review No. 3444
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
No follow up! Poor contract service people who do not ever contact you about the repair!
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 3444
- 04-26-2009
Denise Cox, Eastpointe, MI
Posted On 04/26/09
Review No. 3089
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have a plumbing leak under my kitchen sink which was caused by the pipe rusting out. The claims rep at Home Warranty, Inc told me that rusty pipes is not a covered repair and told me to read the terms of the policy. However, I have read the terms and conditions several times before and after the leak which I still can't find that part.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 3089
- 05-23-2008
Roger Fiero
Posted On 05/23/08
Review No. 507
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Almost impossible to get to talk with someone other than the one who takes the oringinal call. Took five days to get a serviceman to show up. Part was supposed to be ready in five days, still no response. Left messages with "supervisor" 3 times, no response. Called for service for different problem, told 5 days for service now it is going on seven days. Very, very dissapointed.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 507
- 03-20-2008
Pappu Kangi
Posted On 03/20/08
Review No. 316
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The contractors for Home Warranty are not upto the mark. The contractor assigned for my work order did not show up for the work on scheduled day (scheduled 3 days after the work order was placed). In discussing timing issue with customer service, I got rude response effectively saying you are stuck.

Fidelity Home Warranty company will not believe the customers. They believed the contractor who managed to convince that water leak in basement is not covered under warranty, even though contract specifically mentions that any leak in the water main is completely covered.

With about 4 hours of arguings and rude discussions, I ended up paying $50 for absolutely no work.

I would stay away from this company if possible. It is not a total fraud, but pretty close to one. view less
The contractors for Home Warranty are not upto the mark. The contractor assigned for my work order did not show up for the work on scheduled day (scheduled 3 days after the work order was placed). In discussing timing issue with customer service, I got rude response effectively saying you are stuck.

Fidelity Home Warranty company will not believe the customers. They believed
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 316
PreviousNext

Rate this company

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact homewarrantyinc.com directly.