ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   Washington
last_updated_icon Last updated: September 28, 2022

Best Home Warranty Companies In Washington

By 2022, the homeownership rate in Washington will be 65%. These growing numbers of Washington homeowners spend, on average, 15% of their monthly expenses on home maintenance. In contrast, the average cost of a home warranty is $318.98 per year, a much smaller amount than the $1000-$3000 they’d otherwise spend. Considering these numbers, you can see why investing in a home warranty may be a good idea.

Home warranties cover mechanical failures and breakdowns due to regular wear and tear. A major economy like Washington offers a lot of home warranty choices. To help you choose the right one, we have evaluated the plans, prices, coverages, and many more factors of the top home warranty companies serving here.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

Top Home Warranty Companies In Washington

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

featured-icon

They let you pick and choose particular items you want to protect and Build-Your-Own Plan.

PRICING

$39 - $70

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $125

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick the premium and deductible amounts in your policy and pay as you like.

PRICING

$39 - $47

SERVICE FEE

$50 - $125

mapicon

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon

featured-icon

They offer protection from unknown pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$420-$744

SERVICE FEE

$75-$150

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996

featured-icon

The company offers you a 13-month home warranty plan that provides exceptional coverage options.

PRICING

$275 - $695

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

Complete Appliance Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • One of very few companies to not charge deductible/service fees
  • Live support available 24/7
  • Over 40,000 customers served across the country
mapicon

featured-icon

No exclusion for pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$380 - $720

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • 2-10 Home Warranty average deductible for a contract is $85
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Participates in our Complaint Resolution Program
mapicon

featured-icon

They have a proven track record of paying 97.5% claims.

PRICING

$399-$549

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Fidelity National Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 2.5
  • Been in the industry since 1995
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are among the few companies that offer roof leak coverage

PRICING

$350-$445

SERVICE FEE

$65

mapicon

America's First Choice - AFC

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3.4
  • Been in the industry since 2009
mapicon

featured-icon

They offer four plans and a workmanship guarantee upto three years

PRICING

$440

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

Service Line Warranties (SLW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The waiting period of the policy is In 30 Days
  • Has a Quality of Repair rating of 3.5
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

PRICING

$400

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

A Glimpse At Average Premium In Washington

This graph shows you the average cost of home warranties in Washington. The average premium that customers pay is $318.98, and the deductible amount is $40.55. The X-axis displays the number of homeowners, and the Y-axis indicates the premium price.

Average Premium In washington

Min Average Premium in washington Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in washington (WA) major towns:

Bellevue Bellingham Everett
Federal Way Kent Seattle
Spokane Tacoma Vancouver

Population : 6,724,629

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Best Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Washington

Several home warranty companies operating in Washington make it difficult for any consumer to choose the most suitable plan that meets all their needs. So, we have compiled a list of the most preferred plans for homeowners in Washington.

American Home Shield (AHS) - American Home Shield is a pioneer in the home warranty market of Washington as the first company ever established in 1971. The Shield Platinum plan of AHS is a good option for people who want mid-level coverage against breakdowns due to the wear and tear of home systems and appliances. They also offer coverage boosts to extend the dollar limits on payout amounts.

The Home Service Club (HSC) - HSC offers two plans, Standard Coverage Plan and Comprehensive Coverage Plan, including critical household systems and appliances. They are one of the few companies that allow customers to follow the status of repairs using their login accounts. The plans are pretty affordable with a reasonable TCF.

First American Home Warranty (FAHW) - Washington residents also opt for FAHW as this home warranty company offers affordable coverage with add-on plans having additional items. It has a Basic and Premium plan covering all major household systems and equipment prone to wear and tear.

You can even select Cinch Home Services as they also have comprehensive coverage plans for your home systems and appliances. Based on customer reviews, we recommend taking a look at Home Service Club’s Comprehensive Coverage Plan. If you want to know the exact pricing details for any top companies, get your free home warranty quote now!

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Washington

  1. Some home appliances are sensitive to electrical fluctuations like power failures and power surges. When the voltage is too high or too low, it stresses the device, reducing the service life of the appliance. So, make sure your electrical system is protected from the wear and tear caused by frequent power outages in Washington (which has one of the worst in ratings for power grid dependability in the US).
  2. Washington has hard water, which may cause difficulties with your sink and shower drain. Hard water produces heavy mineral accumulation throughout the pipes, eventually leading to clogs in the sink and shower drain. This results in leaks and other problems. Therefore, search for a home warranty that covers your plumbing system comprehensively.
  3. Choose a home warranty plan depending on the age of the home. For example, newly built homes in Spokane usually have a manufacturer's guarantee on home systems and appliances, eliminating the need to purchase a home warranty for the first few years. However, when purchasing a pre-owned home, the home systems and appliances are likely to be worn out, so it is best to get a home warranty plan.
  4. Are you wondering whether a home warranty helps minimize repairs and replacements costs for your home appliances? Then, use our Home Maintenance Calculator tool that will answer this question. It analyzes the cost of home maintenance based on the age of your home and the number of repairs needed every year.
  5. We recommend getting a home inspection if you have older systems and appliances, even if the home warranty companies don’t make it mandatory. It reduces the chances of claim denial if the company doesn’t cover pre-existing issues.

Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Washington can get quite humid in the summer. The state also experiences a decent amount of rainfall during the monsoon. Washington has also been experiencing heat waves in the summer, which have been getting hotter every year. The high level of hot moisture in this climatic zone may accelerate the wear of your devices, and such repairs will burn a hole in your pocket.

The long cold winters in Washington require you to run your heater to continue to keep the home warm and cozy. As they work overtime, heating systems may wear out, and fixing them requires expertise. With a home warranty plan, you can not only protect this device but also get it serviced by a top-class technician.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who regulates home warranties in Washington?

Washington home warranty companies are regulated by the Washington State's Insurance Commissioner's Office. This authority is responsible for licensing home warranty companies, So before signing a contract, don’t forget to check if the company is registered and licensed.

How should I choose a home warranty company in Washington?

When thinking about buying a home warranty in Washington, you should always read the reviews and check the rankings of the home warranty company and then evaluate the plans and coverage. Check if the inclusions cover the most critical parts and components. You should carefully read and understand all of the terms and conditions of the contract before signing it.

Is a home warranty required in Washington?

It’s not mandatory, but a home warranty plan can provide you with peace of mind, knowing that you can call upon licensed technicians whenever you need them. Secondly, Washington has a high living cost, so repairs or replacements can burn quite the hole in your household budget. Getting a home warranty can reduce the costs of unexpected repairs and replacements due to the regular wear and tear of home systems and appliances.

Who needs a home warranty in Washington?

Home warranties can benefit Washington homeowners, real estate agents, and homebuyers who want to cover repairs & replacements of their aging home systems and appliances.

Do home warranty companies replace appliances?

Yes, warranty companies may replace the appliances that fail due to mechanical wear and tear. However, the home warranty provider will pay a prorated amount in lieu of replacement (if they cannot do it themselves), based on the assessment of the repair contractor.

Do I need a new home warranty in Washington state?

A new home or third-party warranty or builder warranty is different from the home warranty spoken about here. It is generally included when you purchase a new home or remodel your old home. It covers a structural part of the home, such as concrete flooring, plumbing, or electrical work. So, it will be a wise decision to have a new home warranty in Washington to deal with structural issues that may crop up years later.

Washington Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Farevalo Arevalo, Kennewick

On Aug 02, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Always great to use them to fix stuff in house. They answer quick and very responsive. I called late at night and was scheduled the next day. I was blurry satisfied with the repair and the professionalism. I would recommend anyone to use the service.

Icon

William Landkammer, Spokane

On Jul 30, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It took awhile to be repaired. Parts weren\'t available to repair the old one. new valve is basic. Hopefully the wall gets repaired soon. Plumber was nice and professional.

Icon

Susan Schwartz, Port Ludlow

On Jul 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield has not been a good value for us. We have paid premiums of $77. per month and made co-payments of $125. in May for a roof leak and $125. in July for a septic system alarm going off. Despite speaking with their customer service representatives more than 20 times, no one have come to our home to assess or fix these problems. I cannot recommend this company to other homeowners.

Icon

Mazz, Vancouver

On Jul 26, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS have very good to us. Repaired a wall leak, replaced a kitchen faucet with a quality one and did a toilet rebuild in one service call. The company they send we’re professionals and timely. Thank you AHS

Icon

Kelly Fuller, Dayton

On Jul 19, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Quick resolution to the problem. Friendly and knowledgeable technician. He explained what was wrong with my AC and how he was going to fix the problem. I was very happy with the service and how quickly it was repaired.

Icon

Jeremiah Welsh, Spanaway

On Jul 18, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The service that was provided to be by America Home Shield was prompt. The company sent out a professional to attend to my appliance issue. The Technician that troubleshoot my appliance was able to figure out the issue immediately and he was able to provide me with a solution to the problem. Since the part I needed for my appliance was not available American Homestead was able to send me a Gift Card for the purchase of a new appliance in a timely manner. From start to finish AHS was able to get me back up and running to meet my needs and therefore I wanted to express my gratitude for all of your assistance.

Icon

Kc, Olympia

On Jun 28, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Don’t do it. Over two weeks since the service tech came out….parts “back ordered” with no expected delivery date and A&E refuses to call the distributor to see if the part is even available. They say the will wait 3 weeks and see if they ever get it. If they don’t they’ll send the order back to Lowes. They had scheduled the repair for today but never called us or notified us in any way. Just we’re not going to show up.

Icon

Larry Scafati , Camas

On Jun 22, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great coverage and good local repair companies. They do not look for reasons to decline your claim. Great to work with. Customer service is in an Asian country with language barrier and they don’t seem to be able to make decisions. That is the only reason for the 3 stars on customer service. The overall rating is still 5 stars!

Icon

Mimi Mukai, Lakewood

On Jun 21, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS was easy to work with. Customer service was excellent, the communicated each step to resolve the issues. Mostly, they were timely and efficient. They sent someone to look at the problem with in 24 hrs, and resolved issues within a week including ordering parts.

Icon

chandramouli venkatesh, Redmond

On Jun 08, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had the misfortune of 2 appliances failing refrigerator and water heater within a span of 3 months between March and May 2022. I am super glad that I had the AHS insurance and they covered and paid for both completely! They were prompt in assigning contractors for both cases. In the case of the refrigerator, they had sent 3 different contractors to get multiple opinions and diagnosis so it took a little longer (2 weeks or so since problem was happening on and off ), but at the end, they paid for a brand new replacement and hauled away the old one. All in all it took about a month or so to resolve, but I could not have done it any faster, myself. In the case of water heater, the whole process took about a week. No hassles! They replaced the old unit ( A * S**** brand) with a modern R**** brand. Again very courteous and professional thru out. Really recommend AHS.

Icon

Sharon Franco, Mercer Island

On May 25, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My experience was great! On time. Very pleasant. Knew what to look for. Had what was needed to repair the dryer. Advised me to clean the lint filter, he pulled some lint out. I was very pleased with the service.

Icon

Efrain Izaguirre , Kennewick

On May 21, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Am very pleased with the support by AHS in honoring their services of repairs on my washer, range, and approval for like for like replacement for a microwave oven. I am in the process of shopping for a new replacement. I am probably going to shop on my my own and receive credit check for the money amount as warranted by AHS. The whole process has been very successfully handled expediently and professionally. I am confident that “installation” of the new replacement microwave that I will be purchasing will be covered by AHS. Thank you so much!

Icon

nicole smith, Lake Stevens

On May 17, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have had AHS for awhile but never needed to make a claim until a few weeks ago. They ended up replacing my fridge and I am so thankful!!!!

Icon

Cheryl VanDusen, Spokane

On May 13, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am absolutely thrilled we have this policy. We have had 2 issues that came up and they were amazing to work with and the speed was amazing as well. So worth the monthly fee.

Icon

Jasmine , Spanaway

On May 01, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Smooth transition from filing my request to having a contract come an fix my water heater to having them come and replace. Very good and I am very pleased with the service.

Icon

Hazel Faul, Castle Rock

On Apr 27, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very bad, have not resolved the issue been waiting since 2/23/2022, they admitted its wrong,& supervisor hung up on me. They caused me pain & suffering,stress, & loss of sleep. I\'ve begged them to help me,said there\'s nothing they can do but wait but yet they continue to take my money out every month & I have to wait. I will not recommend AHS to anyone. I'm begging again to resolve my dryer issue now it's been over 2 months at no fault of my own. Please help me. Hazel Faul 4/27/2022

Icon

Hazel Faul, Castle Rock

On Apr 27, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very bad, have not resolved the issue been waiting since 2/23/2022, they admitted its wrong,& supervisor hung up on me. They caused me pain & suffering,stress, & loss of sleep. I\'ve begged them to help me,said there\'s nothing they can do but wait but yet they continue to take my money out every month & I have to wait. I will not recommend AHS to anyone. I'm begging again to resolve my dryer issue now it's been over 2 months at no fault of my own. Please help me. Hazel Faul 4/27/2022

Icon

Julie Dunlap, Allyn

On Apr 15, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I don’t do reviews but my experience with AHS was so impressive that I wanted to give them a shout out! They were friendly, helpful and fast. They sent me a picture of the repairman that was coming to my home, which I greatly appreciated. The repairman put shoe covers on. Overall excellent service from beginning to end!

Icon

Kevin Osborne, Richland

On Apr 12, 2022

First Premier Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Most expensive, unethical racket in Home Warranty business. Bought a 6 year, $2,500 warranty. (Monthly cost: $34.72 a month). Had 2 claims. Both deemed irreparable. Fought for 25% and, 10% for payouts! Cancelled after 10 months. Had to fight to get a $600 refund!!! Expected around $2,150 for 10 months.

Icon

Chevy Demirel, Everett

On Apr 07, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Still waiting for part to complete dishwasher. So far good. Disappointing that dishwasher part broke so easily and soon. But worker was helpful Garbage disposal repair excellent

Icon

Mi, Seattle

On Apr 06, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This is a scam. No one will answer your call. Seems to me they are avoiding repairs. Paid $130 for a protection plan for 5 years. S**** is a way better company. Avoid buying at Lowes

Icon

KENNETH J MILLER, Spanaway

On Mar 23, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great job by the repair team. Quick service and friendly staff. Home Warranty has a great line of professionals doing the job. Thank you for a job well done!

Icon

Roger Shepard, Aberdeen

On Mar 12, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

this "company" and in fact the whole industry should be regulated out of existence. They are a TOTAL rip-off. We were "gifted" a "policy" by one of the realtors in our home purchase. It was a disaster from start to finish. They claim to have "local" contractors for everything every place but unless you live in a major metropolitan area that is a lie. Here's our experience: A, Never told us you have to turn ALL the issues in at once when you pay your $100 fee to report services requested" so we ended up reporting twice and paid $200. B. So called free re-key service.. they paid nothing because they didn't have anyone in the area so we had to find someone to rekey our 8 locks. When bill submitted we were told they only cover two locks. (Whose home only has two locks, apartment?). C. The house had several problem with plumbing, their "contractor" came to the house looked at the problems (didn't fix anything saying he had to go back and write it up for authorization and never came back or answered our calls and AHS started telling us it was taken care of. 3. New house had a problem with Washer/Dryers. Told they don't cover that. Problem with Jacuzzi Tub...they don't cover that either. After threatening several times they agreed to have someone look at the Jacuzzi tub. They found a "contractor" 50 miles away, issued a work order and cancelled it immediately when the "contractor" required mileage". All this time we were struggling to find someone responsible to talk to. Their "Customer Service" is in the Philippines and they say they can only put issues in their automated system and have no power to answer questions or make any work orders. When we did finally get a "local" sales person the story changed to that person got promoted and is no longer available. Referred to someone who spoke English but still couldn't do anything but send the issue to HQ. The reason I'm finally writing this review (besides to warn you NOT to ever use them) is that they now have the audacity to send me a "Renewal Notice for $491 to continue my service. If you are offered this "gift" from your Realtor tell them you'd rather have the $400 they are going to pay this "shister" outfit removed from their commission. If you are a State Attorney General or other regulating agency please initiate an fraud investigation on AHS. They are Scammers of the highest magnitude. If I could give a negative rating they would definitely get a negative 10 to help offset the most like fraudulent ratings they have given themselves.

Icon

Elizabeth Moore, Wenatchee

On Mar 07, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have received appropriate assistance whenever we have submitted a service request. The technicians who have been sent to us have been pleasant and have resolved our issues efficiently. We are very pleased with American Home Shield.

Icon

georgann thomas, Bremerton

On Feb 17, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very positive, P****** H*** A******** was very helpful and timely. Made sure the washer it was done correctly. I have use them before when I had problem with my stove. Had the same response came out after review had to order the part. Came back and the repaired the stove in a timely manner.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
user survey
Feedback Questions

How can we improve your experience on our site?

Please provide a feedback

For company specific reviews click here

from ,

requested a free quote