ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
  Home  /  us  /  Illinois
last_updated_icon Last updated: June 25, 2020

Home Warranties in Illinois

The homeownership rate in Illinois currently is at 66%. If you are a homeowner in the State of Illinois, you should consider buying a home warranty plan to safeguard your home appliances. There are several top home warranty companies in Illinois. We, at HomeWarrantyReviews.com, have created a list of the best home warranties in Illinois for your reference. We have also listed average premium, deductibles, waiting period, etc. to help you invest in a right warranty plan.

Home warranties in Illinois are a worthy investment for both new and existing homeowners. It is especially ideal if your home is over 4 years old or if you invested in expensive home appliances and systems.

GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION
SAVING BONANZA

on Home Warranty plans!

$150 OFF and 1 MONTH FREE!

Get expert technicians to care for your home at unbeatable prices

Total Home Protection presents
SPECIAL OFFER

Total Home Protection presents

$100 OFF and 2 MONTHS FREE!

Now to avail this offer use code : THS100

Best Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

American Home Shield (AHS)
4.4
/ 5
Based on 13,138 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
Choice Home Warranty
4.2
/ 5
Based on 6,639 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
The Home Service Club
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,571 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
Select Home Warranty
4.1
/ 5
Based on 4,233 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Total Home Protection
4.7
/ 5
Based on 664 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

Illinois Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Illinois has hot, humid climatic conditions as well as extremely cold temperatures. The state also experiences rainfall, snowstorms, and thunderstorms. Such varied weather conditions have a direct impact on your appliances and home systems, ultimately rendering them inoperable.

In the rainy and winter season, various home appliances and systems work continuously to keep you warmer due to which they may eventually break down. Fixing them can take away a major portion of your monthly income. But with a home warranty you can protect your home items and thereby your pocket.

Not just the rains and chilling winter, even severe heat can damage your home items. The summer of Illinois is extremely hot. You would require appliances and home systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, fans, and other cooling systems to work overtime to beat the heat. In the process, these items will be subjected to strain, and gradually cease to function.

While some home items can be fixed by DIY methods, others might require the expertise of professionals. This is when a home warranty plan comes to your rescue. With home warranty plans, you can not only save money spent on repairing home items but also can get easy access to skilled technicians and thereby, quality services.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Illinois

Investing in a home warranty protects your home from a range of hazards that can damage your systems and appliances. It is, therefore, important to identify a suitable plan that suits your individual needs.

American Home Shield (AHS), the leading warranty provider, offers four different plans- Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, Combo Plan, and Build-Your-Own-Plan. The pricing for these plans ranges from $299-$500+.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) is one of the major players in the state of Illinois. For its customers, it offers two notable plans- Basic Plan and Total Plan. Customers have an option to add optional coverage if needed. CHW plans cost between $370-$450+.

Select Home Warranty (SHW) is one of the few companies that provide coverage for mobile homes. SHW offers homeowners three plans- Platinum Care, Gold Care, and Bronze Care. SHW plans cost anywhere between $299-$449.

HWA Home Warranty offers two plans for its customers and a comprehensive add-ons package. The two packages offered are- Premier Plan and Premium Plus Plan. The price of the HWA plans can range between $275-$695.

Once you have compared the price, coverage, and deductible of the home warranty plans, make sure to get your free home warranty quote.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Illinois

  1. It is best to make a thorough background check of the contractors partnered with the home warranty company. Ask about their qualifications, skill level, and years of experience. Also, enquire what measures the warranty company undertakes if in case the contractors fail to perform to achieve the required standard. Only after obtaining answers to the above questions, should you make a move in choosing your home warranty company in Illinois.
  2. Choose a warranty company that has the best rating. We, at Homewarrantyreviews.com, have listed companies with the best ratings. You can also go through the customer reviews listed before finalizing your warranty provider.
  3. If you have any plans to shift to a new home, inquire about the transferability of the home warranty coverage to your new home. Also, check with the company if there are any changes to the cost of your warranty plan. This is because, most often, the price of warranty plans depends on the location. For instance, if your new home is located in towns with a high cost of living like Highwood, the warranty price may be higher than the previous cost.
  4. When moving to a new home, make sure to find out the age and the working condition of the appliances and the home systems. Also, get your home inspected by your warranty provider as many companies in Illinois do not cover home items with pre-existing conditions.
  5. Most importantly, do not opt for companies without comparing their plans, prices, quality of services, and customer reviews. We at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have not only listed top home warranty companies in Illinois for you to compare, but also have listed out genuine customer feedback.

A Glimpse At Average Premium In illinois

The average premium for a home warranty plan in the state is $318.13, and the average deductible is $41.21. The below-given graph gives you a brief picture of the average premium in Illinois. The X-axis displays premium prices, whereas the Y-axis displays the number of homeowners.

Coverage in illinois (IL) major towns:

AuroraChicagoCicero
ElginJolietNaperville
PeoriaRockfordSpringfield

Population : 12,830,581

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

illinois Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Reading customer reviews about home warranty companies in Illinois will help you determine which company stays true to their words. Here, we have listed genuine customer reviews and experience about various home warranty companies in Illinois. Consider going through them before purchasing a home warranty so that you are aware of the quality of services they deliver.

Icon

Arden Gomez, IL

On Jun 30, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

STAY AWAY FROM LOWE\'S AND THEIR "EXTENDED SERVICE APPLIANCE WARRANTY PLANS AT ALL COSTS!!! Our 4 year old Amana washer has been throwing codes since shortly after we purchased it. We have been made to drag five ton bags of wet clothes up the stairs to half to the laundromat numerous times. Getting a repairperson scheduled is tantamount to moving a mountain. Be prepared to be on hold for interminable lengths of time. We were told a repair person was scheduled for this past Friday after calling in on Tuesday; that person never showed or even phoned to advise us they weren\'t coming by. When we phoned Lowes warranty the man who answered the phone was less than clueless and said he couldn\'t help us. On Monday we phoned both Whirlpool and Lowes extended warranty only to be punted from one to the other never and over again. NO ONE WANTS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. IN THE MEANTIME, OUR WASHER IS ONCE AGAIN NON FUNCTIONAL. DO NOT GIVE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY TO THIS DISREPUTABLE COMPANY; THEY WILL GIVE YOU ONLY GREIF AND STRESS IN RETURN.

Icon

Anne Downes, IL

On Jun 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Best investment I have made since owning my appliances. It has paid for itself twice over. Their staff is always very helpful and professional. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a home warranty company.

Icon

Pam Goode, IL

On May 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The company to repair showed up ready to check on my air conditioning and within 45 minutes my air was working! Very happy with the service I will recommend them highly!

Icon

Cheryl Dickson, IL

On Apr 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Quick response and fast service provided by an experienced tech who identified the problem immediately. Ordered parts and returned next day to repair. Washer working Great. Very pleased with the entire process.

Icon

DELOYD BURRIS, IL

On Apr 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

WE PURCHASED A BRAND NEW APPLIANCES 3 YEARS AGO...BOUGHT AMERICAN HOME SHIELD 1 YEAR AGO NOT THINKING I WOULD EVER NEED IT BUT FOR THE PRICE AND PIECE OF MIND WAS WORTH IT. STOVE/OVEN NEEDED A MAJOR REPAIRED AFTER 3 YEARS..COMPUTER WENT OUT ON CONTROLS...THE SERVICE WAS FAST AND VERY PROFESSIONAL, KNEW WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND REPAIRED PROMPTLY...NO PROBLEMS AT ALL AND CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS GREAT...IT PAID TO HAVE AMERICAN SHIELD...PIECE OF MIND PLUS HAPPY WIFE!! THANKS

Icon

Richard Kosack, IL

On Mar 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The service are as advertised. It’s convenient to order help on line and get a contractor assigned quickly. The technicians are proficient and get the repair done quickly. I would recommend this program just for the peace of mind it provides!

Icon

NICHOLAS VELEZ, IL

On Mar 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

great service on my electric and my dryer both repairs were done on time and was in a and were both to my satisfaction would give them a great review good work

Icon

Amy Ferguson, IL

On Feb 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Microwave stopped working on a Friday morning. I filled out an online claim and in less than a few hours, we had a service appointment scheduled for Monday morning. Tech came as promised, replaced a thermal fuse in under 15 minutes and we were back in business.

Icon

Chris Hixon, IL

On Jan 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield has proven to be highly valuable in insuring and protecting the appliances and mechanicals in my home. There service model is simple and easy to follow with online or telephone support and the contractors they have provided have all be professional, timely and very helpful. Knowing that I have AHS to support me has really helped to eliminate any stress I may have felt when I have experienced challenges with expensive home appliances or mechanicals. I highly recommend AHS!

Icon

Patricia Guhrs , IL

On Jan 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The company was very prompt and efficient did a good job , the service was fast and workers where very pleasant and answered all my questions.. I would definitely use and recommend this service for future reference..Thank You

Icon

Lin Crisco, IL

On Jan 13, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

A great experience! Extremely professional and courteous. Quickly diagnosed the problem and solved it in one afternoon. This is the second time I have been referred to this company through American Home Shield and glad you recommended them!!!

Icon

Ellis, IL

On Jan 10, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

We purchased a whirlpool refrigerator in June 2018 and purchased a 5 year extended warranty. Beginning 9/25/2019 the frig started to freeze everything inside. This is January 8, 2020 they have now come out for service 5 times and tomorrow will be 6 since sept. They replaced one part now three times and numerous other parts and it still freezes. We cannot get anyone to help, everytime I call I get a different excuse. I DO NOT recommend this warranty program.

Icon

Jen, IL

On Jan 10, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Bought a new Samsung French Door Fridge for my new home. In less than 2 years, the computer in the back needs to be replaced. The lady on the phone with Lowe\'s Warranty was very nice and helpful. The service man came out the next business day and was very kind and explained everything well. HOWEVER.. waiting for Lowes to send the parts to the 3rd party repair company is something to be desired. I\'m now well over a week without a working refrigerator and still waiting with no ETA on when the part comes in.. Then of course, they need to schedule to come back out to install it. I will NEVER purchase another appliance from Lowes

Icon

Daniel E Hettinger, IL

On Jan 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have had American Home Shield for several years, have used it on a few occasions. On none of these service needed situations were we disappointed. Never had to have a return call by technician until this last call on a furnace call. Due to a simple mistake another gentleman came the next day and solved our problem in minutes. I can not see us without this service from AHS.

Icon

Sam , IL

On Jan 05, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Lg Washer not working for the last 3 weeks Lowe’s hires old sears service company who has no urgency what so ever First appointment no show Second appointment 2 hours late, technician ordered control board, send a repair time after 10 business days Third appointment late 2 hours, part didn’t fix the washer, new technician order another part and set a new appointment after a week!!! Now waiting for the repair Very poor service and support from Lowe’s

Icon

Mike Jackiw, IL

On Dec 13, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our furnace started to act up, it was cycling oddly the past week or so, and then late on a Friday night it wasn\'t responding to the thermostat properly. We\'d had a couple intermittent moments before, but this time no good. Late at night too. I put in a ticket with AHS and though the furnace finally kicked on after that I let the ticket stand as I didn\'t want ti happening again. AHS got a tech out Saturday morning early (yes, a weekend!). The guy came out and found...a bat...in the transformer! Somehow the poor guy got down all the way into the transformer and his crispy body was causing intermittent connections with the thermostat. The tech did a cleaning and check of everything and it\'s been fine since.

Icon

Karl Fustin, IL

On Nov 25, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

No problems at all, I filed a claim online because my furnace stopped working, they had a service man there the next day. It needed a part, but he was able to get it working for me until the new part came in a couple of days. Fast and friendly!

Icon

Bob Kelly, IL

On Nov 20, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a great experience. The technician didn\'t stop working until he got it right. AHS came through again!

Icon

Norman Alston, IL

On Nov 13, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

From the time I entered my service request (Friday) on the website, I received a call from the vendor less than 15-minutes later. An appointment was scheduled, and my problem resolved the following Monday.

Icon

Lewis Donley , IL

On Nov 05, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Dryer stopped working technician was unable to fix AHS replaced my appliance with no problem. My only drawback is if you need to take the reimbursement option (as we did) the process takes weeks which is longer than it should in 2019 going into 2020

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

You might have experienced good or bad events with a home warranty company. Why not drop your feedback to help other customers choose the best company? Whether you have availed a service in the past or are a present customer, write a review and assist other customers.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020