ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  Illinois
last_updated_icon Last updated: September 25, 2022

Home Warranties in Illinois

The homeownership rate in Illinois currently is at 66%. If you are a homeowner in the State of Illinois, you should consider buying a home warranty plan to safeguard your home appliances. There are several top home warranty companies in Illinois. We, at HomeWarrantyReviews.com, have created a list of the best home warranties in Illinois for your reference. We have also listed average premium, deductibles, waiting period, etc. to help you invest in a right warranty plan.

Home warranties in Illinois are a worthy investment for both new and existing homeowners. It is especially ideal if your home is over 4 years old or if you invested in expensive home appliances and systems.

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

A Glimpse At Average Premium In illinois

The average premium for a home warranty plan in the state is $318.13, and the average deductible is $41.21. The below-given graph gives you a brief picture of the average premium in Illinois. The X-axis displays premium prices, whereas the Y-axis displays the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In illinois

Min Average Premium in illinois Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in illinois (IL) major towns:

Aurora Chicago Cicero
Elgin Joliet Naperville
Peoria Rockford Springfield

Population : 12,830,581

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Best Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Special Offer

First Month Free

plus_icon_home

Limited Roof Coverage

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

Complete Appliance Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • One of very few companies to not charge deductible/service fees
  • Live support available 24/7
  • Over 40,000 customers served across the country
mapicon

Illinois Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Illinois has hot, humid climatic conditions as well as extremely cold temperatures. The state also experiences rainfall, snowstorms, and thunderstorms. Such varied weather conditions have a direct impact on your appliances and home systems, ultimately rendering them inoperable.

In the rainy and winter season, various home appliances and systems work continuously to keep you warmer due to which they may eventually break down. Fixing them can take away a major portion of your monthly income. But with a home warranty you can protect your home items and thereby your pocket.

Not just the rains and chilling winter, even severe heat can damage your home items. The summer of Illinois is extremely hot. You would require appliances and home systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, fans, and other cooling systems to work overtime to beat the heat. In the process, these items will be subjected to strain, and gradually cease to function.

While some home items can be fixed by DIY methods, others might require the expertise of professionals. This is when a home warranty plan comes to your rescue. With home warranty plans, you can not only save money spent on repairing home items but also can get easy access to skilled technicians and thereby, quality services.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Illinois

Investing in a home warranty protects your home from a range of hazards that can damage your systems and appliances. It is, therefore, important to identify a suitable plan that suits your individual needs.

American Home Shield (AHS), the leading warranty provider, offers four different plans- Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, Combo Plan, and Build-Your-Own-Plan. The pricing for these plans ranges from $299-$500+.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) is one of the major players in the state of Illinois. For its customers, it offers two notable plans- Basic Plan and Total Plan. Customers have an option to add optional coverage if needed. CHW plans cost between $370-$450+.

Select Home Warranty (SHW) is one of the few companies that provide coverage for mobile homes. SHW offers homeowners three plans- Platinum Care, Gold Care, and Bronze Care. SHW plans cost anywhere between $299-$449.

HWA Home Warranty offers two plans for its customers and a comprehensive add-ons package. The two packages offered are- Premier Plan and Premium Plus Plan. The price of the HWA plans can range between $275-$695.

Once you have compared the price, coverage, and deductible of the home warranty plans, make sure to get your free home warranty quote.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Illinois

  1. It is best to make a thorough background check of the contractors partnered with the home warranty company. Ask about their qualifications, skill level, and years of experience. Also, enquire what measures the warranty company undertakes if in case the contractors fail to perform to achieve the required standard. Only after obtaining answers to the above questions, should you make a move in choosing your home warranty company in Illinois.
  2. Choose a warranty company that has the best rating. We, at Homewarrantyreviews.com, have listed companies with the best ratings. You can also go through the customer reviews listed before finalizing your warranty provider.
  3. If you have any plans to shift to a new home, inquire about the transferability of the home warranty coverage to your new home. Also, check with the company if there are any changes to the cost of your warranty plan. This is because, most often, the price of warranty plans depends on the location. For instance, if your new home is located in towns with a high cost of living like Highwood, the warranty price may be higher than the previous cost.
  4. When moving to a new home, make sure to find out the age and the working condition of the appliances and the home systems. Also, get your home inspected by your warranty provider as many companies in Illinois do not cover home items with pre-existing conditions.
  5. Most importantly, do not opt for companies without comparing their plans, prices, quality of services, and customer reviews. We at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have not only listed top home warranty companies in Illinois for you to compare, but also have listed out genuine customer feedback.

Illinois Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Reading customer reviews about home warranty companies in Illinois will help you determine which company stays true to their words. Here, we have listed genuine customer reviews and experience about various home warranty companies in Illinois. Consider going through them before purchasing a home warranty so that you are aware of the quality of services they deliver.

Icon

Rebecca Incandela, Wayne

On Jul 26, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Best home service I’ve had in a long time. I have every confidence in this company’s ability to take care of anything I may need them for. I have and will continue to highly recommend them.

Icon

Gershon Ben-Israel, Chicago

On Jul 20, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very good experience, worker was very professional, courtesy & knowledgeable. He came early to look at the job, then he said that he would return later this week, but he returned a few hours later & fixed the problem.

Icon

mohammed waseem, Bolingbrook

On Jul 20, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The 1st technician was not able to fix the problem actually he didn\'t know what was the problem I contracted American Home Shield they sent another contractor who was knowledgeable fixed my Refigerator very satisfied would highly recommend.

Icon

Alicia Sinclair, East Saint Louis

On Jul 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I don\'t advise anyone to get this warranty. They will take more than the deductible out of your account and they will not refund you your money back. They took $300 out of my account in May & I\'ve yet to receive my money back into my account. They give you the run the around. I\'ve asked everytime I called to talk to a supervisor. I\'m told they are all busy & will call me back. I don't have $ 300 to just give away. I am contacting the BBB because I am not happy with them at all..

Icon

Adrianne Robinson, Lansing

On Jun 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very easy to schedule service. Had service was provided within a week of request. Very fast response. Didn\'t have to use customer service. Used online, it was easy and quick to do.

Icon

Carolyne Boyd, New Lenox

On Jun 24, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Advertising you put out does not math equal service!!!!!! Disgusted!!!! The company you assigned PURE H&C was slow to complete the job. From May 11 to June 8 was too long to finish an air conditioning job. Your office failed to mention a $2000.00 payment to them to complete the job. The day of installation I was informed of this price which I considered way over priced considering AHS was buying the cooling system. The way you have your info listed is you cover air conditioning BUT APPARENTLY YOU DON’T. Then I have a deluxe thermostat about 5 years old. But when the new system would not work on June 19 the company came out … said my thermostat was bad… and replaced my deluxe thermostat with a basic model. This seems unfair to the customer. DISGUSTED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Icon

Carolyne Boyd, New Lenox

On Jun 24, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Advertising you put out does not math equal service!!!!!! Disgusted!!!! The company you assigned PURE H&C was slow to complete the job. From May 11 to June 8 was too long to finish an air conditioning job. Your office failed to mention a $2000.00 payment to them to complete the job. The day of installation I was informed of this price which I considered way over priced considering AHS was buying the cooling system. The way you have your info listed is you cover air conditioning BUT APPARENTLY YOU DON’T. Then I have a deluxe thermostat about 5 years old. But when the new system would not work on June 19 the company came out … said my thermostat was bad… and replaced my deluxe thermostat with a basic model. This seems unfair to the customer. DISGUSTED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Icon

nickie tee, Elmwood Park

On Jun 15, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Their service has declined sharply in 4yrs. The amount of run around that I\'ve been subjected to and the fact that I had to initiate all follow up calls for status or information is inexcusable. This is particularly egregious given that my furnace went out at 10 below. Only to be followed up with my a/c going out at 89 degrees. Both situations I was treated terribly. I attempted to change services a number of times and was going around in circles for that! Customer service is about 50/50 with some being really nice while the rest can't think beyond the script on-screen. If you take my money every month ON TIME, why then can't I count on you to handle the things that I pay you for? It's clearly too much to expect a call or an email to say: "your parts have been ordered and will arrive..." OR if you tell me the next steps and I follow them, check to see that your system works. That is NOT send me a confirmation email, but still have your "other" system register no response...meanwhile my family suffers both melting AND freezing while I have to contact YOU constantly.

Icon

Michelle , Romeoville

On Jun 14, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Wonderful experience. My hot water tank was leaking. Got service the same day and repair made next day. Out of pocket cost low and affordable. Highly recommend. My plumber was super nice and on time. Great communication

Icon

Angelo C, Bourbonnais

On Jun 10, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Had water leakage in the basement and couldnt exactly figure out what was happening thats when AHS got involved they sent R******* P******* services and let me tell you J** got rite on it resolved the issue explained Everything in detail Id recommend AHS to all you may think youre shelling out money but this paid off and J** from R******* P******* youre the man 6 stars...

Icon

LaTanya Johnson, Calumet City

On Jun 10, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Company that came to service refrigerator was very good. Keep us in the loop of what he was going to do an what and why we were having the issue. When parts came he was on time replaced what needed to be replaced. We are still monitoring the refrigerator so we can make sure everything is working properly so far so good.

Icon

Paul Rohacek, Berwyn

On May 31, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent experience on the replacement of my central AC unit. All costs involved were clearly described. So thankful I chose AHS. I\'ve tried other companies in the past, only to be disappointed with all of the exclusions to coverage.

Icon

Mz Crisco, Carterville

On May 24, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Wonderful experience with every problem I’ve had including plumbing (bathroom), a/c unit, and garbage disposal… This is a must have for every homeowner!!! Don’t pay those ridiculous out of pocket expenses.. get American Homeshield!

Icon

Anastasia Parker , East Saint Louis

On May 18, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My refrigerator went out and the warranty company got back with me in a timely manner. I appreciate the service and very grateful for American Home Shield. This company is dedicated to make show there customers are taking care of

Icon

Paula Dunn, Riverdale

On May 17, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We had America Home Shield to contact a contractor when our air went out last week! They sent a FANTASTIC COMPANY to us that did a great job; the man was efficient, courteous, and knowledgeable in his area ! Thanks AHS , you sent us an angel

Icon

Addie Watson, Chicago

On May 12, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

S**** R****** was the all around best in courtesy,,timeliness and most of all knowledge of plumbing .If any other plumbing issues occur please send S**** R***** back to service the problem. The only problem I have with American Home Shield is, the price keeps rising after each emergency, this seems like a cost of service increase.

Icon

tammy marold, Metamora

On May 12, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

If only ZERO stars was an option. On hold over 3 hours multiple times trying to get a hold of a person. Many days on the phone. Been without washer since February 2022. It\'s now 3 months later and still nothing. I am hung up on multiple times. I did get a hold of someone last month who seemed as if she was helping however, a month later still nothing has been done. So frustrating! Big waste of money. DO NOT PURCHASE!!!!! Go somewhere else to buy appliances.

Icon

Brenda Blair, Bolingbrook

On May 06, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Water heater was leaking plumbing came out a looked got in touch with AHS, called and set up appointment for installation. The crew was professional and they clean up after they were finished with the job.

Icon

Svetlana Mitrovski, Urbana

On May 02, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Garbage disposal was improperly installed. Different types of tubes should have been used. I tried to contact AHS to complain, but it was very hard to reach a living person on the phone. Problem still unsolved.

Icon

Angi, Moline

On Apr 29, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It was to fix a furnace and the customer service agent that service and technician were great. Both were very professional. I did have trouble understanding the customer service agent.

Icon

K Pederson, Carol Stream

On Apr 18, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Do not buy Lowes protection plan. I bought one on an L* refrigerator and within 1 year had an issue with the water dispenser not stopping for 2-3 seconds after removing the class from the dispenser causing water to continue to pour out onto my floor. I called for service and they contract with a company named L-E**********. The serviceman, D***** came and said there was nothing wrong with the dispenser since it was not doing it while he was there. It happens randomly, sometimes 5-6 times a day sometimes not for 1-2 days. He refused to do anything because he said it was a very difficult repair. 1 week later we called again because it kept doing it, he came and tried it and again refused to do anything. He said to my wife "The little woman doesnt know how to use her appliances" and then said "Just open the refrigerator door and it will stop". That isnt fixing my issue now is it. I put up with this issue (with an additional cup sitting on top of the refrig just to use if the water didnt stop). I called Lowes agian and said i do not want L-E********** coming again and to send another provider. They have now taken over 10 days to find another provider and have not done anything yet. I repeat, DO NOT BUY LOWES PROTECTION PLAN.

Icon

Gina Krizman, Elburn

On Apr 18, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I paid my ANNUAL premium in September 2021. In March 2022, they started not only charging me, but charging me TWICE per month. I have called at least 2x per week since March 12, 2022 to get it corrected and the charged reversed. The problem was never resolved. On April 11, I was again charged 2 times. Now I am owed a refund of 4 monthly payments. I have continued to call. I finally got a refund for all 4 payments on April 14, 2022. Once the refund was processed, my account then showed PAST DUE! The topper on the cake was that the very next day, I was charged 4 TIMES!! So now I've again called 2 different days since then to get a refund processed and to have my account fixed. I still have no solution, no refund, and my account online shows that I'll be charged again in May.

Icon

Gina Krizman, Elburn

On Apr 18, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I paid my ANNUAL premium in September 2021. In March 2022, they started not only charging me, but charging me TWICE per month. I have called at least 2x per week since March 12, 2022 to get it corrected and the charged reversed. The problem was never resolved. On April 11, I was again charged 2 times. Now I am owed a refund of 4 monthly payments. I have continued to call. I finally got a refund for all 4 payments on April 14, 2022. Once the refund was processed, my account then showed PAST DUE! The topper on the cake was that the very next day, I was charged 4 TIMES!! So now I've again called 2 different days since then to get a refund processed and to have my account fixed. I still have no solution, no refund, and my account online shows that I'll be charged again in May.

Icon

Allison Hagen, Brighton

On Apr 14, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Becoming a customer of American Home Shield is one of the best decisions I\'ve made in a long time. Customer service is exceptional. Contractor that fixed my furnace is above average. I\'m very please with their work & caring about the customer. I\'d recommend them to anyone. The contractor was right on top of calling me asap & getting a mechanic out to my home for repair. Having AHS gives me peace of mind. My furnace is like brand new again.

Icon

Jacquie , Oswego

On Apr 11, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Once they arrived, they were quick to fix the clogged sink. I had asked for a window and was given a four hour window. Called when that was up and told that I was still on the schedule. They were her within the hour after that.

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

You might have experienced good or bad events with a home warranty company. Why not drop your feedback to help other customers choose the best company? Whether you have availed a service in the past or are a present customer, write a review and assist other customers.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
user survey
Feedback Questions

How can we improve your experience on our site?

Please provide a feedback

For company specific reviews click here

from ,

requested a free quote