ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  Illinois
last_updated_icon Last updated: October 27, 2021

Home Warranties in Illinois

The homeownership rate in Illinois currently is at 66%. If you are a homeowner in the State of Illinois, you should consider buying a home warranty plan to safeguard your home appliances. There are several top home warranty companies in Illinois. We, at HomeWarrantyReviews.com, have created a list of the best home warranties in Illinois for your reference. We have also listed average premium, deductibles, waiting period, etc. to help you invest in a right warranty plan.

Home warranties in Illinois are a worthy investment for both new and existing homeowners. It is especially ideal if your home is over 4 years old or if you invested in expensive home appliances and systems.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

A Glimpse At Average Premium In illinois

The average premium for a home warranty plan in the state is $318.13, and the average deductible is $41.21. The below-given graph gives you a brief picture of the average premium in Illinois. The X-axis displays premium prices, whereas the Y-axis displays the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In illinois

Min Average Premium in illinois Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in illinois (IL) major towns:

Aurora Chicago Cicero
Elgin Joliet Naperville
Peoria Rockford Springfield

Population : 12,830,581

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Best Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Special Offer

First Month Free

Limited Roof Coverage

mapicon
offer comapny_logo

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
cinch logo
Get Free Coverage For First 2 Months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon
offer

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Complete Appliance Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • One of very few companies to not charge deductible/service fees
  • Live support available 24/7
  • Over 40,000 customers served across the country
mapicon

Illinois Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Illinois has hot, humid climatic conditions as well as extremely cold temperatures. The state also experiences rainfall, snowstorms, and thunderstorms. Such varied weather conditions have a direct impact on your appliances and home systems, ultimately rendering them inoperable.

In the rainy and winter season, various home appliances and systems work continuously to keep you warmer due to which they may eventually break down. Fixing them can take away a major portion of your monthly income. But with a home warranty you can protect your home items and thereby your pocket.

Not just the rains and chilling winter, even severe heat can damage your home items. The summer of Illinois is extremely hot. You would require appliances and home systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, fans, and other cooling systems to work overtime to beat the heat. In the process, these items will be subjected to strain, and gradually cease to function.

While some home items can be fixed by DIY methods, others might require the expertise of professionals. This is when a home warranty plan comes to your rescue. With home warranty plans, you can not only save money spent on repairing home items but also can get easy access to skilled technicians and thereby, quality services.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Illinois

Investing in a home warranty protects your home from a range of hazards that can damage your systems and appliances. It is, therefore, important to identify a suitable plan that suits your individual needs.

American Home Shield (AHS), the leading warranty provider, offers four different plans- Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, Combo Plan, and Build-Your-Own-Plan. The pricing for these plans ranges from $299-$500+.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) is one of the major players in the state of Illinois. For its customers, it offers two notable plans- Basic Plan and Total Plan. Customers have an option to add optional coverage if needed. CHW plans cost between $370-$450+.

Select Home Warranty (SHW) is one of the few companies that provide coverage for mobile homes. SHW offers homeowners three plans- Platinum Care, Gold Care, and Bronze Care. SHW plans cost anywhere between $299-$449.

HWA Home Warranty offers two plans for its customers and a comprehensive add-ons package. The two packages offered are- Premier Plan and Premium Plus Plan. The price of the HWA plans can range between $275-$695.

Once you have compared the price, coverage, and deductible of the home warranty plans, make sure to get your free home warranty quote.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Illinois

  1. It is best to make a thorough background check of the contractors partnered with the home warranty company. Ask about their qualifications, skill level, and years of experience. Also, enquire what measures the warranty company undertakes if in case the contractors fail to perform to achieve the required standard. Only after obtaining answers to the above questions, should you make a move in choosing your home warranty company in Illinois.
  2. Choose a warranty company that has the best rating. We, at Homewarrantyreviews.com, have listed companies with the best ratings. You can also go through the customer reviews listed before finalizing your warranty provider.
  3. If you have any plans to shift to a new home, inquire about the transferability of the home warranty coverage to your new home. Also, check with the company if there are any changes to the cost of your warranty plan. This is because, most often, the price of warranty plans depends on the location. For instance, if your new home is located in towns with a high cost of living like Highwood, the warranty price may be higher than the previous cost.
  4. When moving to a new home, make sure to find out the age and the working condition of the appliances and the home systems. Also, get your home inspected by your warranty provider as many companies in Illinois do not cover home items with pre-existing conditions.
  5. Most importantly, do not opt for companies without comparing their plans, prices, quality of services, and customer reviews. We at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have not only listed top home warranty companies in Illinois for you to compare, but also have listed out genuine customer feedback.

Illinois Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Reading customer reviews about home warranty companies in Illinois will help you determine which company stays true to their words. Here, we have listed genuine customer reviews and experience about various home warranty companies in Illinois. Consider going through them before purchasing a home warranty so that you are aware of the quality of services they deliver.

Icon

Carol S Adams, Mchenry

On Sep 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am not happy with HSA Home Services. My washer was making a very loud sound. We called into HSA the service request on July 10. On July 13 a tech from Westinghouse came and told us that they would order the part (he suggested parts were hard to get and we should get new washing machine) . On Sept 1 -2 techs came to our house (only 2 months to get parts) the techs could not get parts out of washer so they replaced the whole tub. After sometime they indicated the washer was fixed. I started a load of laundry and got all kinds of fault numbers on the washer and it did not work...( the techs were barely out of our driveway at this point) I called HSA and told them the problem. I received no correspondence from the contractor regarding status of the repair. I proceeded to call HSA on a daily basis and they still had no answers for me. Today 9-15 I was told that my contractor had closed our file because I refused to have them order parts..what parts. I knew nothing about parts. Neither HSA or the Contractor said anything about parts. Now I am told that the only way I can get my washer fixed is to open up another service order, pay another $100. I have asked for a supervisor to call me several times, CSR's at HSA said they would get me a solution and call me back the next day. This was told to me on a daily basis and no phone call from Supervisor or CSR's who promised phone calls, emails and a solution. What am I to do Now????

Icon

Patricia A Weddington, Park Ridge

On Aug 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

So far my experience with AHS has been great. I have had to use them twice and both times I could not complain, plumber came out fast and fixed the issue professionally. Second time serviceman came 2nd day, he could not fix my washer so expecting a new one, I hope soon, problem is delivery is gonna take 2-3 weeks ?

Icon

Scott, Northbrook

On Aug 13, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield has been a complete disaster to deal with. I've had a plumbing issue where the upstairs shower/tub was leaking through the wall and into my kitchen ceiling. I called AHS and they sent out a plumbing company who charged me an additional $60 to cut a hole in my kitchen ceiling and then later told me they couldn't fix the problem. AHS then transferred the service request to another plumbing company who came out many times. It took 3 times to identify the part they needed, then they came out to install the part and broke it while they were here. Then they came out again after reordering the part, installed it, and did not fix the issue. In fact, they made it worse and the water was leaking significantly. His response was that he tried and couldn't get the water to stop leaking. Luckily, I was able to assist by suggesting he turn the faucet more to the left... The determination was that they need to now cut a large part of tile out of my shower wall and replace the whole top set of the faucet. Next, I get a call to schedule it and tell me that I'll have to pay nearly $1000 out of pocket because AHS wouldn't cover it. All of a sudden, that plumber canceled and AHS transferred the request to a new plumber. When I asked AHS, they said it was because the second plumber told them they can't fix it. At this point, it's been 2 months and 2 incompetent plumbers have come out 6 times. I have begged AHS to let me bring in my own plumber whom I trust and for AHS to just pay me the cash that they would otherwise pay to their own incompetent plumbers and they've refused. They are now sending a third plumber who has poor reviews online. The experience has been miserable and they won't even let me speak to a manager or escalation department. Avoid American Home Shield at all costs. They won't get your problems fixed and will just cost you time, money, and aggravation. Also, they only display the positive reviews on their website so they have extremely shady business practices on top of their terrible service.

Icon

Angelina, Carbondale

On Jul 02, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Was on hold for 2 hours and finally hung up. Called back the next day and opted for a callback. After 1.5 hours I received a callback, and the associate hung up on me. Called the store than I purchased the appliance from and they could not help me either.

Icon

Geneva Phillips, Chicago Heights

On Jun 23, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Experience with the technician was Great!!! However, the advertisement of “fix or replace appliances is misleading. I had to pay $340 out of my pocket. This is a hardship for anyone who is retired and receives one (1) paycheck a month. More should be done to explain the actual coverage of my policy so that I can be prepared when an appliance breaks down. The additional “out of pocket” expense is not explained in the initial paper work and contract when you sign up for service. Unexpected out of pocket expenses can be devastating for those of us who are retired and only have one source of income. It would be very helpful to have the “undisclosed” fees charged explained in advance in order to be prepared to pay these expense before you make the call for the repairs. It’s very clear that you must pay “$100.00 before a service technician comes out however, the underlying expenses are not explained in the initial paperwork completed on line or given to the contract holder in any other format resulting in a financial hardship.

Icon

Yvonne Eickelman, Dongola

On Jun 15, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Lowe\'s suggested the 3 yr extended warranty on my in wall oven. They said that the warranty begins after the factory warranty expires. Now going on the third year of the extended warranty, they claim that it\'s expired because it goes into effect on the purchase day. Runaround with the warranty center adding my 3 years to the 1 year factory warranty. So a service was scheduled between 1 - 5 PM. Got a confirmation in my email, but now they say that their servicemen don't service this area. Waited all day, no calls returned, oven doesn't work and don't know what the next step is. Maybe a lawyer.

Icon

eduardo, Saint Charles

On Jun 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

You guys are terrible! Worst customer service process I have ever seen! Managers are afraid to talk to customers or deal with escalations. Agents are left on their own to handle customer issues with a very precarious process. Terrible company. In addition to not renewing the contract once it ends, I also don\'t recommend AHS to friends or family. In fact, I wouldn't even recommend it to enemies. Also, when you give the option to rate your business with a stars via survey, I strongly recommend that you allow us to rate your company with ZERO star. One Star is too too many starts for this crap service. Also, instead of just giving us the option to choose ONE reason of why we would give ZERO star, please add the option "all the above". The overall AHS experience is terrible punctuality, poor coverage, poor problem solving and professionalism? This option is a joke! In a company where managers are afraid to talk to customers when there is an escalation and leave agents alone with a bad workflow, there is no Professionalism. I hope my comments help this company get a little better and respect their customers. Today, this company couldn't be worse. Please stay away from AHS.

Icon

Irakli Marku, Elk Grove Village

On Jun 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Absolute nightmare of an experience. It is downright impressive how a subsidiary of a publicly traded company can be so incompetent in the one thing they are supposed to do – cover the repair or replacement of something that went wrong. In my case, the thing that went wrong was the AC unit just as summer is starting to get hot. After they sent a tech out to examine the unit, a complete replacement was recommended, to which AHS agreed to. After this, you would think it would be as simple as ordering the unit and scheduling the install, but of course not. They apparently have various departments and levels of approval, they might as well be a government agency with the amount of bureaucracy, even the DMV is more efficient than this. After it was determined that the unit would be replaced, the automated system kept on saying "equipment on order" for almost two weeks straight. I was on the phone with them every single day and as of this review nothing has been resolved. They keep bouncing back to the technician, saying the tech is responsible for ordering the unit. It was then determined that it wasn't the tech, it was actually AHS's responsibility. The order was recreated and even though supposedly AHS ordered the unit, they cannot locate any tracking info or other status as to where the parts are or how long it will take. After calling over and over, another representative from their facebook page then said it's the technician's responsibility for ordering the parts! And so the circle continues. They offered a $100 reimbursement for a window AC unit as a result of this inconvenience which is not only a joke but downright insulting. Many times the reps say they need more time to research the issue and will call you back but surprise, surprise, they don't actually call back. If you are a current customer, pray that nothing breaks down because AHS is downright unreliable.

Icon

Billy Simmons, Country Club Hills

On May 08, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The service was great for my problem. They contacted the service repair company . A repair guy came out and found out, what the problem was. He went and got the part that I needed. Fixed the problem the same day.

Icon

Kathy, Bourbonnais

On May 03, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Don’t waste your money! I’ve been without a fridge for a month. Could have been much less time had the operator at Lowe’s service had listened to the serial number & model number rather than click on the first appliance I ever purchased at Lowe’s. Repairman came out but couldn’t work on my fridge because the model & serial numbers were wrong. It took another week to get this straightened out. When he came back he had to order parts. Parts came in but Diamond Factory Repair could not schedule an appointment for a week. In the meantime I was having a party with 60 guests making food prep & storage very difficult! In light of the fact that it was their mistake, they would not try to expedite my service appointment. Very disappointed and will not buy another appliance at Lowe’s.

Icon

Barbara McCulley, Chicago Heights

On Feb 16, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I’m very happy and pleased to have picked AHS for my warranty company. I cannot say anything against them. They have always been good. Helpful. Efficient. And reliable. Best choice I made 18 years ago.

Icon

pat, Rochelle

On Feb 16, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My husband and I have been customers of AHS for many years. I have also convinced my children and many friends to purchase a home warranty through AHS. The program itself is amazing. My only complaint or concern is with one of the service providers that we were assigned. The AHS agent quickly found us an alternative provider once I contacted them with my concern. We are grateful to have these folks in our corner!

Icon

Barb Harriman, Glendale Heights

On Feb 04, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was very impressed with the timeliness, professionalism, and proficiency of the company American Home Shield sent for my plumbing issue. The company was ***** & Plumbing Services. My problem is now solved and Im very happy.

Icon

Debra Goretzke, Belleville

On Dec 21, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our gas furnace kept trying to turn on but couldn\'t. I requested a work order online and immediately got a response and a phone call with available appt time. The assigned workers called to see if they could come early. They fixed everything perfectly. Very professional and helpful.

Icon

Diane Lamacki, East Moline

On Dec 08, 2020

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Nothing we inquire about is covered. Latest call regarding furnace, we were told Sears had no repair companies available in our area. Had to pay $100 fee to find that out. Would like the $100 refunded since we had to call, schedule and pay full price for the service call. All Sears did was decline the inquiry. Rating below for quality of repair and repair was for the heating company, not Sears.

Icon

maurice mazz, Vernon Hills

On Oct 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very disappointed trying to contact on hold for 6 hours. Talked to iza. Ruth. Czar carmen. Another rep would not give me their name all I want is replace my dryer. They told me they won\'t replace the motor. They will get a replacement. Nothing no answer.

Icon

Sean and Suzanne Hogan, Gilberts

On Sep 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Tech was clean, prompt, courteous, efficient and professional. He told me that it was running fine now but likely to experience a blower motor or heater coil failure based on its age and condition.

Icon

Neil and Charmaine Hickman, Danville

On Sep 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

No Resolution I was charged a new deductible for something they didn\'t fix the previous visit a part that was ordered and took months to come was put on but not without removing a part for it to function properly and I have been trying to get it reimbursed and all I have gotten was empty promises and re explaining over and over again my problem when I call only to be told they must review with tech and call me back and I got one call back saying they have confirmed it was due to the last home visit why the refrigerator wasn't working and I would be reimbursed but did not say when and now when I call I get the same run around and we are now back at square one because now each agent I speak to claims they do not see any previous notes about subject on account........

Icon

Gerry Hilicki, Palatine

On Sep 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Highly recommend American Home Shield. They have great contractors who are professional. They always respond in a timely manner. It is reassuring to have contractors available for any home repair. They quickly diagnose the problem.

Icon

Petrie Stanback, Cairo

On Sep 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My experience with home warranty was great.The repair time, the customer service, The quality of repair was very great. Home warranty came through for me just when I needed them I am a very satisfied customer.

Icon

Anamarie Wagner, Peoria

On Sep 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had my locks rekeyed. The locksmith was here at the stated time, he was respectful of time while working and completed the task within an hour. He left me with the four keys promised. I am pleased with the work he did.

Icon

Carolyn Garber, River Forest

On Sep 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS provided service to check out our double wall ovens. When I was not pleased with the report AHS allowed me to have a second company check the ovens. I was grateful because the second tech. did not find anything wrong with the oven and told us why we had a slight problem when trying to turn off the oven at one time. I did find the wait times to speak to an agent on the phone somewhat annoying. They did allow you to have AHS return the call which was helpful.

Icon

S Meeks, Chicago Heights

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great experience. I contacted AHS and they sent someone out to fix water leakage right away. Water Control Plumbing was very thorough found the issue, replaced parts and cleaned up work area. I had to call AHS because I had an issue related to the leakage and Water Control Plumbing came out and resolved the issue. Very personable staff.

Icon

Christopher S, Franklin Park

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our dryer wasn\'t drying our clothes so we put in a service call to AHS and not only was the service representative very friendly but actually cared about our situation. Service tech came out in 2 days and to our dismay our dryer couldn\'t be repaired, the very next day we were informed the AHS would be replacing our dryer, we opted for the option to purchase the dryer ourselves and AHS reimbursed us for the purchase in a timely matter. I would recommend AHS to everyone. Thx AHS.

Icon

Jennifer Lostutter, Saint Jacob

On Sep 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been able to get technicians scheduled for service calls quickly when using AHS. We live in a rural area and we have still been able to get issues resolved quickly.

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

You might have experienced good or bad events with a home warranty company. Why not drop your feedback to help other customers choose the best company? Whether you have availed a service in the past or are a present customer, write a review and assist other customers.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020