ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
  Home  /  us  /  Connecticut
last_updated_icon Last updated: March 23, 2020

Home Warranty Companies in Connecticut

Connecticut is the southernmost state in the New England region of the northern United States. The population of Connecticut is over 3.5 million, out of which over 65.3 percent of people are homeowners. It is, therefore, no surprise that all the top American home warranty companies offer services in the state. Make sure to check out the top home warranty companies in Connecticut.

A home warranty is a contract that agrees to provide a cover to your home appliances and systems. It is advisable to invest in home warranties for all homeowners. Home warranty companies offer various plans based on your requirements. We have created a list of top home warranty companies to help you find an ideal home warranty plan.

The average premium for a home warranty in Connecticut is 318.98, and the average deductible is $40.55.

GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION
SAVING BONANZA

on Home Warranty plans!

$150 OFF and 1 MONTH FREE!

Get expert technicians to care for your home at unbeatable prices

Total Home Protection presents
SPECIAL OFFER

Total Home Protection presents

$100 OFF and 2 MONTHS FREE!

Now to avail this offer use code : THS100

How To Choose Home Warranty Companies in Connecticut?

American Home Shield (AHS)
4.4
/ 5
Based on 13,138 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
Choice Home Warranty
4.2
/ 5
Based on 6,639 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
The Home Service Club
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,571 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
Select Home Warranty
4.1
/ 5
Based on 4,233 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Total Home Protection
4.7
/ 5
Based on 664 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

A Glimpse At Average Premium In connecticut

Coverage in connecticut (CT) major towns:

BridgeportBristolDanbury
HartfordMeridenNew Britain
New HavenNorwalkStamford

Population : 3,574,097

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

connecticut Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

James DElia, CT

On Apr 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

First time service call was a very good experience with GE Appliance. It was for my refrigerator which was making a loud vibration noise and I was afraid it was going to stop cooling. I was initially disappointed given a 3 day wait for service but the contractor called the next morning and said they had a cancellation and could in about an hour, which they did. The contractor found the problem very quickly and made the repair without needing any new parts. My other disappointment, which is why I didn’t give a 5 star rating is that the contractor found that the water line to my ice maker was leaking slightly. He admitted it may have occurred just by him moving the unit out from the wall but said it would not be covered under his service, I would have to make another request for a plumber and pay another $100 deductible. I realize the water line isn’t an actual part of the refrigerator but the ice maker can’t function without it. He was nice enough to shut off the water line for me so it at least stopped the leak. However I now have no usable ice maker.

Icon

Ronald C, CT

On Jul 01, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Ok, I’ve heard a lot of concerns about home warranty companies, how they deny claims or try to find ways to get out of coverage, so I was worried when I signed up, but I’ve had two claims with American Home Shield and everything has gone exactly as advertised.... First one was a repair that needed three visits to get squared away, second one was a replacement of a washing machine. Both went super smoothly and they communicated well during the process. I would recommend them highly for a home warranty!

Icon

Avery, CT

On May 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

If you are considering working with this company please reconsider. It was provided as the home warranty company by the sellers of a home I purchased and I have had the worst experience with them. They charged a service fee up front, sent a company that was not equipped to handle the problem, then found out the problem wasn’t even covered under the warranty to begin with and after HOURS of phone time with them and a month of calling back I am still fighting to get the service fee refunded and the problem was never addressed. Call to BBB is pending. Customer service has been the worst I’ve dealt with in a long time. They have blatantly lied to me just to get me off the phone. Would give zero stars if I could

Icon

just discusted, CT

On Apr 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

took 4 months to fix a simple dryer timer switch. unsatifactory

Icon

Kevin Lindell, CT

On Nov 14, 2018

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

I was going to place a detailed review of my 5 year protection plan with a refrigerator but I see nobody has anything nice to say about it either. Do not purchase - you are wasting your time and money.

Icon

Rebecca Moran, CT

On Oct 30, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I moved into a house with AHS service. I asked to have my home re-keyed and was willing to pay the $100.00 service charge. The locksmith who AHS contracted with set up paperwork the paperwork for the repair. When it came time for the locksmith to provide me service, AHS did not honor the locksmith\'s fees. After calling and speaking with the locksmith business owner, the locksmith declined to do business with AHS for lack of fair market value for their services. AHS did not contact me or provide an alternative contractor. Since it came with the house I will continue to use it, HOWEVER I will be watching how other problems that come up are handled with this company. So far, I am unimpressed and concerned about AHS\'s business practices.

Icon

Erin D Smith, CT

On Jul 06, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

my plan is on a property located in a beach area. My HVAC was noted to have coil rusting/leaking. However, i was told by your authorization dept that is not considered normal wear and tear on the unit since the rust was caused by salt water. Do you insure properties on or near beach areas? if you do you should change the terms of your contracts to reflect such exceptions. I am not a happy camper and I will pursue further action to have this contract enforced or a refund of my monies.

Icon

Atul Agarwal, CT

On Mar 07, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

needed furnace repair while it was below 20 degree F, had to speak to multiple AHS representatives to get to one who agreed to expedite the service for us. finally, one contractor showed up after 24 hrs had already passed and said that it would take several days to repair because the furnace needed a new circuit board. there was a 2 hr long hold to get to someone from the AHS parts authorization group. this department agreed to follow-up, but not right away. since this contractor did not show up within 24 hrs, we followed up with AHS and they agreed to switch the contractor for us. fortunately, the second contractor also came by and determined that it was a bad capacitor and not the circuit board and fixed it in a few minutes. who\'s responsible for hiring incompetent contractors? who should fix the issue of long holds?

Icon

Giddon Ben Dov, CT

On Mar 05, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Very professional company. Response is always clear, quick, and very accurate. Their service people are very proficient. Excellent work. Highly recommended company.

Icon

Art Vinokur, CT

On Feb 21, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Update to my negative review from 2/14/2018. I\'m grudgingly putting in a positive review so that the two average out to 2.5 stars (which is about fair in my view). After raising all kinds of trouble on social media pertaining to my oil furnace repair situation, I received a call from AHS resolutions department. They have agreed to one of my requests which was to send another company to provide a repair estimate. Sure enough, the new quote was almost $1800 of dollars less than the original out-of-pocket expense. The new company could not have been nicer, answered all of my questions, and did the replacement in record time. So while I still had a sizable out-of-pocket expense, it was about 1/3 of what a regular furnace replacement would cost in my area. So the Home Warranty delivered on it\'s main premise, deferring and spreading out the cost of major repairs over a longer period of time and with smaller payments. So in the end AHS has a moderately satisfied customer - I just wish it didn\'t take a couple of weeks of my time and aggressive negotiating tactics on my part to get this done at a reasonable cost. I think better screening of service providers, and a proper escalation process for issues around billing and out-of-pocket expenses would make this a much smoother process in the future.

Icon

Art Vinokur, CT

On Feb 14, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I\'ve had ok experiences with them in the past, but that\'s only while contract income was covering the cost of minor repairs. Yes wait times are occasionally long, CSRs are occasionally brisk, and contractors are generally sub-par. The first time I had a major job, the whole story fell apart. Basically they use smaller less successful local contractors, and pay them very little to do the work (often not enough to cover the actual cost of the repair). In my case, replacing a furnace (which costs $4000-5000 retail locally) AHS only pays the contractor $1200. Making up the difference the contractor has to charge the homeowner for "ductwork modification," and "fuel lines" - all aspects of a normal install which reputable contractors don\'t even count as work (in my case those "modifications" cost $3400, to bring the contractor in range of $4600 that they would have made for a regular retail install). Result - contractor gets paid, AHS spends 1/3 of the cost of an actual repair, and the consumer is left to pay the difference. Oh, and canceling service costs money, so you are locked in for life. Yet real estate agents get fees for signing up additional clients to AHS, so the cycle continues.

Icon

Jay D, CT

On Jan 27, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

In two years, our annual premium jumped from $515 to $729. We only had 2 call outs over the period for minor issues. This is anist a 25% increase annually. We canceled because of the sharp increases. If they had just raised it at a reasonable level, 5-10% then I would have automatically renewed the plan.

Icon

Robert, CT

On Aug 20, 2017

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Never received reimbursement for water filter. Cancelling plan is a major event. Placed on hold for 20-49 minutes at a time and most of the time they never return. Ask reason for calling multiple times on the same call(4-8)

Icon

ROBERT RUDDERS, CT

On Feb 16, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Came on time and accomplished the replacement in a wink... clean and courteous. We were well pleased. New unit is working great. Thank you.

Icon

MARY WHEELER, CT

On Oct 24, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I most recent experience with AHS was positive. Your agents are extremely helpful and informative with how to proceed and what to expect. I will say that the vendor, Miss Appliance, was not the greatest. I got the run around from them and lost a day of work. Also, they did not dispose of my old appliance which by contract they should have. However, AHS did everything they could to get Miss Appliance to comply. I am a firm believe of the benefits of having piece of mind that comes with an AHS home warranty

Icon

Marguerite Hale, CT

On Sep 02, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have found AHS to be a good solution to my need for repair/replacement services for an income producing home we owned for several years. We have now sold the property, but if we buy another, we will not hesitate to use AHS. It is very reassuring to tenants know that any problems they have will be promptly addressed. Since we lived out-of-state from the property, this was a perfect solution. We found the service people which AHS used to be reliable and professional. I also found if I had any difficulty with any situation, AHS was able to promptly step in and resolve the problem quickly and reliably. My experience with AHS last over several years and was also a positive one.

Icon

Timothy Mccoy, CT

On Aug 15, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had my furnace to go out and it was Xmas day AHS worked very hard to find someone to come out and fix it. But everyone was closed and they got someone yo come out about noon the next day. AHS kept me posted at all time and the contractor was very helpful, professional and made sure they. Keep everything clean

Icon

Gene Williams, CT

On Jul 26, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

For the most part am pleased with American Home Shield. he contractors, in general, are not the "top shelf" contractors in my area and I am OK with that. A wait of one to two days depending on the season is acceptable. The contractors are friendly. An American Home Shield policy is a gamble...a gamble between the monthly expenditure and frequency of services needed. Thus far, I am ahead of the game.

Icon

John Kulik, CT

On Jul 24, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield is a fantastic company. We have been your customer for more than 10 years. All of your staff is courteous and dependable. Your contractors are quick to respond, very friendly and knowledgeable. I remember one summer we had temperatures the hottest they have been in decades and my central air conditioner stopped working. The contractor came out on a Saturday and determined that the cause primarily was my airhandler which was in my very hot attic. The worked diligently in the heat for hours to fix the situation. On a Saturday. Thank you American Home Shield.

Icon

Paula Costagliola, CT

On Jul 16, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Start of summer air conditioner was not working properly. Called for service and a tech came next day. Repair was completed, but a few days later system was not operating properly. Service tech came back and worked til job was complete. Pleasant and hard working. No problems since.

Reviews For Home Warranty Companies in Connecticut

Reviews written by the existing customers about home warranty companies can help you in choosing the best home warranty. It enables you to get an idea of the quality of services provided, along with other valuable details. If you already have a home warranty, do share your experience with other customers by writing a review to help them make the right choice.

How to Choose the Connecticut's Best? 

It is essential to consider several different aspects while choosing the best home warranty plan in Connecticut. Take a look at factors such as plan coverage, reputation, and contract costs.
https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020