ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

  Home  /  us  /  Illinois
last_updated_icon Last updated: June 25, 2020

Home Warranties in Illinois

The homeownership rate in Illinois currently is at 66%. If you are a homeowner in the State of Illinois, you should consider buying a home warranty plan to safeguard your home appliances. There are several top home warranty companies in Illinois. We, at HomeWarrantyReviews.com, have created a list of the best home warranties in Illinois for your reference. We have also listed average premium, deductibles, waiting period, etc. to help you invest in a right warranty plan.

Home warranties in Illinois are a worthy investment for both new and existing homeowners. It is especially ideal if your home is over 4 years old or if you invested in expensive home appliances and systems.

A Glimpse At Average Premium In Illinois

The average premium for a home warranty plan in the state is $318.13, and the average deductible is $41.21. The below-given graph gives you a brief picture of the average premium in Illinois. The X-axis displays premium prices, whereas the Y-axis displays the number of homeowners.

Coverage in Illinois (IL) major towns:

Aurora Chicago Cicero
Elgin Joliet Naperville
Peoria Rockford Springfield

Population : 12,830,581

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Best Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

American Home Shield (AHS)
4
/ 5
Based on 13,748 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
Choice Home Warranty
4
/ 5
Based on 6,910 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
The Home Service Club
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,914 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
Select Home Warranty
4
/ 5
Based on 4,331 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Total Home Protection
4.5
/ 5
Based on 713 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

Illinois Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Illinois has hot, humid climatic conditions as well as extremely cold temperatures. The state also experiences rainfall, snowstorms, and thunderstorms. Such varied weather conditions have a direct impact on your appliances and home systems, ultimately rendering them inoperable.

In the rainy and winter season, various home appliances and systems work continuously to keep you warmer due to which they may eventually break down. Fixing them can take away a major portion of your monthly income. But with a home warranty you can protect your home items and thereby your pocket.

Not just the rains and chilling winter, even severe heat can damage your home items. The summer of Illinois is extremely hot. You would require appliances and home systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, fans, and other cooling systems to work overtime to beat the heat. In the process, these items will be subjected to strain, and gradually cease to function.

While some home items can be fixed by DIY methods, others might require the expertise of professionals. This is when a home warranty plan comes to your rescue. With home warranty plans, you can not only save money spent on repairing home items but also can get easy access to skilled technicians and thereby, quality services.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Illinois

Investing in a home warranty protects your home from a range of hazards that can damage your systems and appliances. It is, therefore, important to identify a suitable plan that suits your individual needs.

American Home Shield (AHS), the leading warranty provider, offers four different plans- Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, Combo Plan, and Build-Your-Own-Plan. The pricing for these plans ranges from $299-$500+.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) is one of the major players in the state of Illinois. For its customers, it offers two notable plans- Basic Plan and Total Plan. Customers have an option to add optional coverage if needed. CHW plans cost between $370-$450+.

Select Home Warranty (SHW) is one of the few companies that provide coverage for mobile homes. SHW offers homeowners three plans- Platinum Care, Gold Care, and Bronze Care. SHW plans cost anywhere between $299-$449.

HWA Home Warranty offers two plans for its customers and a comprehensive add-ons package. The two packages offered are- Premier Plan and Premium Plus Plan. The price of the HWA plans can range between $275-$695.

Once you have compared the price, coverage, and deductible of the home warranty plans, make sure to get your free home warranty quote.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Illinois

  1. It is best to make a thorough background check of the contractors partnered with the home warranty company. Ask about their qualifications, skill level, and years of experience. Also, enquire what measures the warranty company undertakes if in case the contractors fail to perform to achieve the required standard. Only after obtaining answers to the above questions, should you make a move in choosing your home warranty company in Illinois.
  2. Choose a warranty company that has the best rating. We, at Homewarrantyreviews.com, have listed companies with the best ratings. You can also go through the customer reviews listed before finalizing your warranty provider.
  3. If you have any plans to shift to a new home, inquire about the transferability of the home warranty coverage to your new home. Also, check with the company if there are any changes to the cost of your warranty plan. This is because, most often, the price of warranty plans depends on the location. For instance, if your new home is located in towns with a high cost of living like Highwood, the warranty price may be higher than the previous cost.
  4. When moving to a new home, make sure to find out the age and the working condition of the appliances and the home systems. Also, get your home inspected by your warranty provider as many companies in Illinois do not cover home items with pre-existing conditions.
  5. Most importantly, do not opt for companies without comparing their plans, prices, quality of services, and customer reviews. We at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have not only listed top home warranty companies in Illinois for you to compare, but also have listed out genuine customer feedback.

Illinois Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Reading customer reviews about home warranty companies in Illinois will help you determine which company stays true to their words. Here, we have listed genuine customer reviews and experience about various home warranty companies in Illinois. Consider going through them before purchasing a home warranty so that you are aware of the quality of services they deliver.

Icon

maurice mazz, Vernon Hills

On Oct 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Very disappointed trying to contact on hold for 6 hours. Talked to iza. Ruth. Czar carmen. Another rep would not give me their name all I want is replace my dryer. They told me they won\'t replace the motor. They will get a replacement. Nothing no answer.

Icon

Sean and Suzanne Hogan, Gilberts

On Sep 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Tech was clean, prompt, courteous, efficient and professional. He told me that it was running fine now but likely to experience a blower motor or heater coil failure based on its age and condition.

Icon

Neil and Charmaine Hickman, Danville

On Sep 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

No Resolution I was charged a new deductible for something they didn\'t fix the previous visit a part that was ordered and took months to come was put on but not without removing a part for it to function properly and I have been trying to get it reimbursed and all I have gotten was empty promises and re explaining over and over again my problem when I call only to be told they must review with tech and call me back and I got one call back saying they have confirmed it was due to the last home visit why the refrigerator wasn't working and I would be reimbursed but did not say when and now when I call I get the same run around and we are now back at square one because now each agent I speak to claims they do not see any previous notes about subject on account........

Icon

Gerry Hilicki, Palatine

On Sep 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Highly recommend American Home Shield. They have great contractors who are professional. They always respond in a timely manner. It is reassuring to have contractors available for any home repair. They quickly diagnose the problem.

Icon

Petrie Stanback, Cairo

On Sep 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My experience with home warranty was great.The repair time, the customer service, The quality of repair was very great. Home warranty came through for me just when I needed them I am a very satisfied customer.

Icon

Anamarie Wagner, Peoria

On Sep 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had my locks rekeyed. The locksmith was here at the stated time, he was respectful of time while working and completed the task within an hour. He left me with the four keys promised. I am pleased with the work he did.

Icon

Carolyn Garber, River Forest

On Sep 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS provided service to check out our double wall ovens. When I was not pleased with the report AHS allowed me to have a second company check the ovens. I was grateful because the second tech. did not find anything wrong with the oven and told us why we had a slight problem when trying to turn off the oven at one time. I did find the wait times to speak to an agent on the phone somewhat annoying. They did allow you to have AHS return the call which was helpful.

Icon

S Meeks, Chicago Heights

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great experience. I contacted AHS and they sent someone out to fix water leakage right away. Water Control Plumbing was very thorough found the issue, replaced parts and cleaned up work area. I had to call AHS because I had an issue related to the leakage and Water Control Plumbing came out and resolved the issue. Very personable staff.

Icon

Christopher S, Franklin Park

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our dryer wasn\'t drying our clothes so we put in a service call to AHS and not only was the service representative very friendly but actually cared about our situation. Service tech came out in 2 days and to our dismay our dryer couldn\'t be repaired, the very next day we were informed the AHS would be replacing our dryer, we opted for the option to purchase the dryer ourselves and AHS reimbursed us for the purchase in a timely matter. I would recommend AHS to everyone. Thx AHS.

Icon

Jennifer Lostutter, Saint Jacob

On Sep 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have been able to get technicians scheduled for service calls quickly when using AHS. We live in a rural area and we have still been able to get issues resolved quickly.

Icon

Aubrey Powell , Chicago Heights

On Aug 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

This was my first experience with AHS, & I was quite impressed! The process was seemless. Technician called to schedule appt in a timely manner, resolved issue promptly & professionally!!

Icon

Sandi Brown, Belvidere

On Aug 16, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have valued this warranty program. We have had quick responses to requests for service, knowledgeable technicians have always been sent out, and we feel like we have received good coverage and quick repairs with our appliances and water heater.

Icon

Elicia, Chicago

On Jul 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The worst experience I’ve had. I’ve been trying to get my ac fixed for 3 weeks. The company they sent out was prompt and came out 3 times, they charged the unit checked the pressure. I was told there was a slight leak so they wanted to add 6pds of Freon ($270) the unit was empty I informed them that I just had it filled last summer I agreed. They started to fill the unit and recognized it was a bigger leak. AHS was called they sent another company out, upon speaking with AHS they stated that the company wanted access to my ceiling to completely diagnosis my unit, they told me I needed to hire a contractor to open up my ceiling. I asked why can’t the unit be replaced and they stated they needed a complete diagnosis. I have never been so angry and disappointed with this service. No help was given I essentially had one open to hire a contractor to open my ceiling, I canceled my policy.

Icon

Arden Gomez, Grayslake

On Jun 30, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

STAY AWAY FROM LOWE\'S AND THEIR "EXTENDED SERVICE APPLIANCE WARRANTY PLANS AT ALL COSTS!!! Our 4 year old Amana washer has been throwing codes since shortly after we purchased it. We have been made to drag five ton bags of wet clothes up the stairs to half to the laundromat numerous times. Getting a repairperson scheduled is tantamount to moving a mountain. Be prepared to be on hold for interminable lengths of time. We were told a repair person was scheduled for this past Friday after calling in on Tuesday; that person never showed or even phoned to advise us they weren't coming by. When we phoned Lowes warranty the man who answered the phone was less than clueless and said he couldn't help us. On Monday we phoned both Whirlpool and Lowes extended warranty only to be punted from one to the other never and over again. NO ONE WANTS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. IN THE MEANTIME, OUR WASHER IS ONCE AGAIN NON FUNCTIONAL. DO NOT GIVE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY TO THIS DISREPUTABLE COMPANY; THEY WILL GIVE YOU ONLY GREIF AND STRESS IN RETURN.

Icon

Anne Downes, Lake In The Hills

On Jun 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Best investment I have made since owning my appliances. It has paid for itself twice over. Their staff is always very helpful and professional. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a home warranty company.

Icon

Nikki Vaughn, Chicago

On Jun 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I filed (and paid for) a claim in October of 2019 when I purchased my home. Its is now June 2020 and my stove and refrigerator still don\'t work properly. The original contractor came out and said that the refrigerator needed to be fixed and the stove replaced. AHS tried to dispatch another contractor a few days later for a second opinion because they THINK BLACK BUSINESSES ARE INCOMPETENT. AHS hasn't done anything but give me the run-around for 10 months. These "parts" have been in the mail for 10 months. AHS is HORRIBLE! Don't do business with them. Spend your money elsewhere.

Icon

Pam Goode, Normal

On May 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The company to repair showed up ready to check on my air conditioning and within 45 minutes my air was working! Very happy with the service I will recommend them highly!

Icon

Cheryl Dickson, Lansing

On Apr 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Quick response and fast service provided by an experienced tech who identified the problem immediately. Ordered parts and returned next day to repair. Washer working Great. Very pleased with the entire process.

Icon

DELOYD BURRIS, Harvard

On Apr 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

WE PURCHASED A BRAND NEW APPLIANCES 3 YEARS AGO...BOUGHT AMERICAN HOME SHIELD 1 YEAR AGO NOT THINKING I WOULD EVER NEED IT BUT FOR THE PRICE AND PIECE OF MIND WAS WORTH IT. STOVE/OVEN NEEDED A MAJOR REPAIRED AFTER 3 YEARS..COMPUTER WENT OUT ON CONTROLS...THE SERVICE WAS FAST AND VERY PROFESSIONAL, KNEW WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND REPAIRED PROMPTLY...NO PROBLEMS AT ALL AND CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS GREAT...IT PAID TO HAVE AMERICAN SHIELD...PIECE OF MIND PLUS HAPPY WIFE!! THANKS

Icon

Richard Kosack, Glenview

On Mar 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The service are as advertised. It’s convenient to order help on line and get a contractor assigned quickly. The technicians are proficient and get the repair done quickly. I would recommend this program just for the peace of mind it provides!

Icon

NICHOLAS VELEZ, La Grange

On Mar 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

great service on my electric and my dryer both repairs were done on time and was in a and were both to my satisfaction would give them a great review good work

Icon

Amy Ferguson, Westchester

On Feb 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Microwave stopped working on a Friday morning. I filled out an online claim and in less than a few hours, we had a service appointment scheduled for Monday morning. Tech came as promised, replaced a thermal fuse in under 15 minutes and we were back in business.

Icon

Chris Hixon, Glencoe

On Jan 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield has proven to be highly valuable in insuring and protecting the appliances and mechanicals in my home. There service model is simple and easy to follow with online or telephone support and the contractors they have provided have all be professional, timely and very helpful. Knowing that I have AHS to support me has really helped to eliminate any stress I may have felt when I have experienced challenges with expensive home appliances or mechanicals. I highly recommend AHS!

Icon

Patricia Guhrs , Woodridge

On Jan 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The company was very prompt and efficient did a good job , the service was fast and workers where very pleasant and answered all my questions.. I would definitely use and recommend this service for future reference..Thank You

Icon

Lin Crisco, Carterville

On Jan 13, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

A great experience! Extremely professional and courteous. Quickly diagnosed the problem and solved it in one afternoon. This is the second time I have been referred to this company through American Home Shield and glad you recommended them!!!

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

You might have experienced good or bad events with a home warranty company. Why not drop your feedback to help other customers choose the best company? Whether you have availed a service in the past or are a present customer, write a review and assist other customers.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020