Home Warranty Companies in Illinois

Compare home warranty policies from the top ten home warranty service providers in illinois. To further assist you in selecting your policy, we have created a graph with a bell curve that showcases the average price of premium and average deductible of the various home warranty policies that are purchased throughout the state of illinois. View more...  The X-axis indicates the price of the premium while the Y-axis indicates the number of homeowners. The start of the curve indicates the number of homeowners who purchase policies that have low premiums. The curve then rises to indicate the number of homeowners who have opted for the average premium and finally dips to denote the number of homeowners who opt for policies with a high premium. The Average Premium of the illinois is mentioned at the top of the graph.

You can also view the Average Deductible that is opted for in the state by clicking on the arrows placed on either side of “Average Premium in illinois”. We have also calculated the average premium and average deductible price for the major towns in illinois. Click on the city name to know its average policy premium and average deductible opted for.

Go on to read reviews of home warranty companies that provide service in illinois. To get a comprehensive picture of a home warranty company’s service performance, it’s important to understand the Composite Review Score of a company. This score is based on the all-time reviews received from customers of the company. It can vary from ‘Not Good’ to ‘Excellent’. It also includes the all-time average scores of various parameters like customer service, service timeliness, repair service, and the overall rating. If you have had a positive, negative, or even neutral experience while interacting with a home warranty company, go on to leave a review and help out a homeowner just like you.
View less




Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in Illinois: $321.85
Average Deductible in Illinois: $42.12


Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 9891
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 821
Coverage Selected StatesAlaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.9
  • Service Timeliness 4.9
  • Repair Service 4.9
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 315
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, District of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.5
  • Service Timeliness 4.6
  • Repair Service 4.6
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2611
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.9
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 3.9
  • Overall Rating 3.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1847
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.7
  • Service Timeliness 3.7
  • Repair Service 3.7
  • Overall Rating 3.7
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3867
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.7
  • Service Timeliness 3.7
  • Repair Service 3.7
  • Overall Rating 3.6
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1907
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.4
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1950
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.2
  • Service Timeliness 3.2
  • Repair Service 3.3
  • Overall Rating 3.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1808
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.6
  • Service Timeliness 2.5
  • Repair Service 2.6
  • Overall Rating 2.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $380 - $720
Deductible $0
Effective Closing or after 30 days
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1998
Total Reviews 181
Coverage Selected StatesAB, MB, NB, NS, ON, PEAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Maryland, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming, , , , ,
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.6
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.6
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.6
  • Overall Rating 4.6
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Nekol H Date: 2013-07-25 12:06:16

    Review: A+ service - From the beginning I received top notch service. The first appointment I had to reschedule due to my work schedule. The dispatcher assisted me with finding a new suitable appointment. The day of my appointment the service tech was very friendly, courteous, timely, and knowledgeable. He came in, assessed issue, and explained to me what problem was in terms I could understand, then fixed it. He was in and out of here in less than an hour. In addition, the dispatcher was very accomodating, efficient, and courteous. The company as a whole was wonderful and I appreciate the follow up. Awesome service!!!!

    William Schorp Date: 2018-03-22 04:25:07

    Review: I have needed AHS twice since I moved into my house and both times they were timely and did exactly what was needed and the people that were sent were polite and as inobtrusive as possible. The last time , I had a wall oven that failed to heat . The replacement part for the unit was no longer available. They offered a replacement quickly, I did say that I wanted to upgrade from what I had and was willing to pay the difference. They gave me the cost estimate to replace my old oven and I was able to find the perfect upgrade for just a little less than the offer. I personally would recommend AHS to anyone, in fact I have told 4 people already about them.

    Susan Tanner Date: 2016-06-25 11:24:44

    Review: My most recent experience with American Home Shield was a positive one. I received a call from the contractor within a short time. He set an appointment to take care of the problem. He was very knowledgeable and was able to find the problem right away. I needed a part that had to be ordered, but it arrived early the next morning so there wasn't a long wait. His diagnosis was correct and the system was back on track right away. He was neat and clean as well as personable. I would like to commend him for his prompt action in solving our issue. Also, I want to thank your customer service for making all the arrangements. I have had numerous occasions to call American Home Shield over the 15 yrs. I have done business with them. Each has been with a happy ending.

    Arabinda Samantaraya Date: 2018-01-26 13:01:55

    Review: Here is my story. My furnace broke down towards end of December 2017 and i called American Home Shield. It took good 45 minutes to find an Agent to talk reg my issue. Everytime same issue, you have to wait close to 1 hr to talk to somebody, quite frustrating. Agent said, they will send the Technician from vendor- GSHA next day. There was a pretty young guy from GSHA heating and cooling company came to my home next day without calling me, though I had told categorically told them to give me a call before coming to my home. Anyway the guy was a chain smoker and after having few cigarettes he entered into my home, lot of bad smell circulated in my home. He did check something and told, there is part needed and he will come tomorrow with the part. Again next day the same guy came (without calling me) and again after having few cigarettes. He tried some time and thereafter he said, the furnace should be replaced and he can\'t do anything more. The technician said, he will report to his company-GSHA and GSHA would communicate to American home Shield for approval to replace the furnace. Thereafter I had been constantly calling AHS and GSHA but no response. After few hours, one Agent from AHS called me and told that to replace furnace I have to pay $625 to the vendor (on top of my service call fee $100) directly for installation. All together I had to pay total $725 to replace the furnace. I argued with AHS team by saying i am paying monthly warranty fee and adding to that service fee, now again why I will pay $625 to the vendor directly. when I said the installation is included in replacement, they said vendor -GSHA will do the duct work and electric work etc, that is not included in the replacement. Trust me that is simply ridiculous. I tried escalating this issue with AHS but nothing happened and 3 days passed by. I had no choice. Finally, I agreed to pay $625 to vendor. I sat with the technician, they brought a new machine and replaced the old one. Literally the vendor did not do any wiring, piping etc, but they just took my hard earned money $625. when i asked the technician you did not do anything extra, whatever you did, that is part of the any installation; they said, generally our company does not like to work with Insurance company as they don\'t pay good money, that is why we charge to the customer directly and Insurance company agreed with this arrangement. I got the real point. Previously i had written a review by providing the fact/detail and one agent called me and refunded my $100 service fee as a courtesy. But I am frustrated… Now I want to let everybody know, how this process is working. We pay money to Warranty company monthly basis by assuming everything would be taken care, if something goes wrong. But whenever you will have issues, you will go through this kind of pain and finally you have to pay for the service and other stuffs. They are not all weather friend; they are simply friend of your pocket. I had checked with the vendor-GSHA’s web site, whatever furnace they have installed, it is written $1399 with all including installation etc. In my case, AHS company supplied the furnace and I paid $625 to vendor-GSHA for installation. Not only one house, I have availed AHS warranty for three houses, now I am regretting what is the point of having warranty, paying monthly fees and service call fee, on top of the installation fee etc. is it benefiting customer…..in this particular case, I am thinking the vendor got lot of time, neither I got the benefit(since I paid additional $625 from the pocket) nor AHS (since AHS also supplied the new furnace, they must have paid money to the company). With this hassles, I don’t know, how people will believe warranty company. Finally, I am not sure whether it is a big scam or not, people to decide. My suggestion for AHS is to fix the issue. IF customer would pay money for fixing appliances, then why they would go to AHS. If anybody wants more information, please contact me on my email- [email protected]

    sheryl jackson Date: 2014-11-13 15:36:32

    Review: I had American Home Shield for 8 years! It's okay until you need them for something I had to have my sink trap repaired the pop up assembly was not covered.Another time I needed to have my outside water faucet repaired the frost free faucets are not covered their customer service is terrible! I waited over 30 minutes to talk with them then kept getting put on hold.I requested they cancel my contract and was told some one would call me they never did, so I called the cancellation department the person who answered after 10 minutes was kind and polite and accommodating. I will never do business with them again and will be sure to look carefully at the next contract for exclusions!

    Rick Date: 2013-09-04 14:41:28

    Review: I switched to AHS from 2-10 earlier this year. I had gone from very satisfied to frustrated with 2-10. AHS covered considerably more yet cost less. The reviews here were not terrific so I was skeptical. Was it too good to be true? I've made my first claim and everything went very well. A contractor was assigned immediately, and showed up the next day. They fixed my a/c problem but were not 100% confident it would perform problem free so they asked AHS to assign another vendor with more expertise with my specific model to make a 2nd visit. AHS cooperated and I only had to pay one copayment. The contractor was an established reputable company with a BBB A+ rating. Unlike my previous warranty company, AHS assigned someone I would have actually hired myself. If I grow unhappy I can cancel for any reason, and since I am billed monthly I simply stop paying; no arguing about or waiting on refunds. This was another selling point for me. So far so good with AHS. I do not regret switching companies, and would recommend them.

    Mary Date: 2013-11-28 11:14:59

    Review: My last encounter with an American Home Shield contractor hit a snag, but it was still a great experience. I had a window of time on a certain day for the contractor to replace my disposal. When I didn't hear from him, I called him. His truck had been hit from behind and the accident had caused a tire to blow ! (No one hurt thank goodness.) He offered to come that evening as soon as the truck was rolling again, as late as I wanted him to. I told him we would try again the next day and he did everything possible to make the appointment convenient for my schedule. He was professional, friendly and very sorry about not making it the day before, even though there was nothing he could have done to prevent it. I have a new disposal and would definitely recommend this company to my friends.

    GARY KING Date: 2016-11-17 17:15:21

    Review: I had a electrical problem - the tech came at the scheduled time, diagnosed the problem, went to the store for the part needed, returned and fix the problem.

    Brian Date: 2016-06-09 17:05:36

    Review: American Home Shield really dropped the ball with my air conditioner repair and it could not have come at a worse time. We recently had a rough bout with our newborn child in the hospital with a cardiac and lung issue. That is why it was especially concerning when our air conditioner went out. The repair required a part that would be easy for the contractor to acquire locally but American Home Shield required the product to be ordered from somewhere specific. We waited a week for the part to come in only to find out that it was never ordered and we would have to wait until the next week. Now we are coming up on a stretch of days in the high 90 temperatures and it is a danger to my child's health. When I explained the situation to many customer service reps and supervisors and begged them to allow the contractor to get the part locally and repair the AC by the next day, they refused. Waiting 3 weeks to get a AC repaired is not acceptable especially when they screwed up and have an easy way to fix it. In the negative reviews you will see a trend - they always give their standard line "We can't be held responsible for 3rd party.......". After hours of being on hold and complaining to many different people, they finally offered to buy us a window AC unit. Unfortunately, we have the type of windows that crank out vertically so that does us no good. Thanks a lot AHS! They are not a company that cares.

    Breck Klawitter Date: 2016-07-09 22:22:19

    Review: The company came out the next day, however, did not have the part, had to order it. It was very hot, wished that they had the part in stock. They had to special order the part, it came in the next day, and they came out to fix the air conditioner. Was very happy.

    Julie Wright Date: 2016-04-15 15:21:45

    Review: Last summer my air conditioner quit working. I have a home warranty through American Home Shield and I called them. They told me I would be getting a call within 24 hrs from Reliable Mechanical Services. The call did not come in 24 hours. I called them and no answer. It took a week just to get in contact with them and after finally getting them there it took forever for them to come fix it. The air-conditioning broke down in the beginning of July and they didn't make it out until Sept after not even showing up for scheduled times at least twice. They installed a new air conditioner in Sept. That afternoon I could tell it wasn't working. I called the guy who installed it and he said he didn't work for Reliable he was just installing it as a favor for them and I needed to call them. I could not get Reliable back out to my house. I went back and forth with them and the warranty company about how ridiculous it was that it took so long for them to get out to my house, but that didn't matter they didn't care. Reliable even told the warranty company they came to my house and I wasn't there which was completely untrue. They finally made it out to my house in Nov. Allen Laurence who is the owner of the company came. He said there was a leak and he fixed it, and recharged the unit. He said due to the temperature outside he could not tell if it was charged enough and at the beginning of the season if it needed charged more call him directly and he would come and charge it and I would not have to pay another service call fee. Surprisingly enough it doesn't work! I called Reliable to tell them it needs to be charged more and I get the girl who always answers the phone. I think her name is Jill. She is absolutely the rudest person I've ever dealt with in my life!! She tells me I have to call the warranty company. I call the warranty company and they tell me I have to pay another service fee because it's been over 60 days since the work was completed. Are you kidding me??? I say to them. The work was never completed, the air conditioner has never worked!! I call Reliable back( and so crazy their name is Reliable Mechanical Services!!!) Jill won't answer because she knows my phone #. I leave a message asking her to ask Allen if he will honor what he said and come back out and charge it. That's been over a week ago and I've gotten no response from them. I'm beyond frustrated!! I pay for this Home Warranty and I paid for the service fee and refrigerant fee when the air conditioner was put in. I'm going to have to pay someone else to come look at it, and I shouldn't have to. I really want to expose these people for the scam they pulled on me!! I did turn Reliable in to the BBB, but nothing ever became of that.

    Randy Stokes Date: 2014-10-06 08:20:24

    Review: My dealing with Americasn Shields has been problem free. Since purchasing my home, I have had to call on American Shields once and the service they provide was excellent. After coming to service my air conition the problem continue to exist I again call American Shield and the repairmen came back to my home and repaired the problem with not cost to me.

    Hermance Date: 2013-07-24 11:05:54

    Review: Insurance you should have! It took the provider very little time to get in contact with me and start working on my AC unit. Trust me every homeowner should have American Home Shield to protect them from life's little inconveniences.

    Charles Clark Date: 2016-04-25 10:14:26

    Review: We are very happy with the repair persons sent to us by AHS. They were clean and professional and went out of their way to be helpful. When we needed to replace a dryer we were able to replace it with a comparable dryer. When we needed special help to repair a light fixture, the repair man called the manufacturer.

    Jeremiah Willis Date: 2018-01-16 23:13:00

    Review: Late night call because of a central air system that went out. Within an hour they had me linked up with a local contractor who was at our home within 24hrs to fix. Didn\'t have to haggle price or anything. They showed up, fixed, and left.

    Pamela Miller Date: 2016-08-18 23:28:59

    Review: I had an electrician out that you sent. He was very friendly, He fixed the problem & was here a lot faster than I expected. His appearance was good. Good Electrician.

    Brent Halcromb Date: 2015-09-11 20:59:12

    Review: I call customer service because my air condition was leaking water within a day the contractor contacted set up an appointment customer service is very friendly and so was the contractors customer service. The contract was prompt and on time he was very well groomed and extremely professional. He knew exactly what was going on and explained so that I would understand how to keep it makes he did not try to tell me anything outside of what who came to see. I felt very comfortable having to contact you in my house . Home shield made everything so easy for me so glad we signed up.

    Louis Adler Date: 2016-02-24 01:33:13

    Review: I was very pleased with the customer service I received regarding the renewal of the contract for my primary residence, as well as the addition of two new policies for rental properties I own. When I first received her call to discuss my renewal I was unable to spend the necessary amount of time with her on the phone, but did ask her to provide me with certain information that would allow me to make a decision the following day. She gave me all the specifics I needed and called me promptly at the agreed upon time the next morning. She walked me through my options again, made sure she was giving me correct information on each of the individual properties, and assisted me in the decision-making process with great patience. I felt confident with the coverage options I chose and the payment methods we set up. Everything was customized to meet my unique needs and I am very pleased with the end result.

    Lisa Stabler Date: 2016-05-31 21:20:34

    Review: The two service techs who arrived at my house to fix my washer were so polite and explained everything to me in detail. They took extra time to give me helpful hints to keep my appliance running longer and more efficiently and truly cared about making sure that my issue was resolved!

    Jill Blodgett Date: 2012-05-02 16:23:54

    Review: I have called twice for appliance repairs: once for central air conditioning and once for a water heater. Both times I was told that the appliances had been serviced improperly and AHS would do nothing about repairing or replacing the appliances. When I asked the customer service rep how I would know if an appliance was improperly serviced I got no reply. When I asked that my contract be cancelled and my money refunded, the customer rep strung me along for a month because she was going to get my case reviewed and see what she could do. I got nothing except one less month refunded on my prorated contract. The bottom line is that I paid $560 for a one year contract and then it cost me an additional $3500 for a new central air unit and $850 for a new water heater. What a deal!!!