ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN columbia, south carolina

city icon CITY: Columbia
country icon COUNTRY: Richland County
state icon STATE: SC
population icon POPULATION: 333497
area code icon AREA CODE: 803
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 29201, 29202, 29203, 29204, 29205,
city icon CITY: Columbia
country icon COUNTRY: Richland County
state icon STATE: SC
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 29201, 29202, 29203, 29204, 29205,
population icon POPULATION: 333497
area code icon AREA CODE: 803
SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in columbia, south carolina

Top Rated

American Home Shield (AHS)

4 / 5
(13,677 Reviews )

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty

4 / 5
(6,870 Reviews )

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Best in service

The Home Service Club

4.5 / 5
(1,900 Reviews )

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

Select Home Warranty

4 / 5
(4,322 Reviews )

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

Total Home Protection

4.5 / 5
(709 Reviews )

hey are the leading home warranty provider in the industry. They have skilled and licensed technicians who top-notch services. A standout feature of their services is they do not require a home inspection.

columbia Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Debra Massey Anderson, Columbia

On Jun 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We move into our current home two years ago and inherited an old tankless hot water heater. We never had what I considered hot water especially in our bathroom. We were considering purchasing a new unit. We called American Home Shield to have the unit checked. Thank goodness we need. Our technician explained the system and with my permission increased the temperature. We have hot water without having to buy a new unit. We are extremely satisfied with the service. Thank you American Home Shield.

Icon

Kathleen Khan, Columbia

On Apr 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

This was my first time using this service since I signed up for it several years ago and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and helpful everyone was. My fridge gave out suddenly and when I called they sent a repair person out the next day. Unfortunately it could not be fixed. What I didn\'t know was that once everything was settled, they even help you get a new fridge. I was sent several options and I got the one I wanted. Thank you for walking me through the process and answering all of my questions. My negative would be that I had to do all the calling in order to get everything finalized. I know given what is going on with this COVID-19, they have possibly shortage of personal so I can understand that. Overall I am happy with my service.

Icon

Michael Schade, Columbia

On Nov 06, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Plumbing repair...fast and professional service.

Icon

calvin smithers, Columbia

On Sep 25, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have been with AHS for more than 10 years and the service was flawless/5 stars up to this point. My most recent service call for our washer machine is a utter failure. It has been more than a month of us calling, requesting a change in contractor, and we have not received a response from either AHS or the contractor; however, the trade fee was collected from my account. Additionally, I was billed today for my monthly fee. When we call we get the same response-"we will look into it, and we will call the contractor." Again, our washer has been broke for one month. I asked them to replace the washer because the contractor will not respond and I am told "the contractor's records did not recommend a replacement." The contractor does not respond to our nor AHS's calls. What should we do? Calvin

Icon

Dan Grassi, Columbia

On Jun 19, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I’ve had AHS for many years and had experienced satisfactory service until recently. I had a plumbing stoppage in a plumbing line that serviced my kitchen sink, dish washer and washing machine. For a family of 5 this is a great inconvenience. This stoppage occurred on a Saturday morning. I called in a service call immediately. I was told I’d receive a call fm the plumber within 24 hours. By Sunday afternoon no call. I called the vender and was told they don’t work weekends. I called back AHS and the representative said they will call on Monday. I asked to speak with a supervisor. She continued to ask me questions and was stalling to let me speak with a supervisor. I asked her at least, without embellishing, a dozen times. Until every time she spoke I said supervisor. Finally she said a supervisor would call me. To make a long story short the supervisor call and after speaking with him he said the plumper would be there Monday afternoon. I received a msg a short time later which stated the appt was actually a week fm Monday. Why would AMS have vendors that can service on weekends??? I called vendor on Monday and confirmed their next availability was a week away. After calling AHS again and requested a supervisor I was transferred immediately. I told her the problem and had a plumber from a different vendor that afternoon. I feel as stated they should have vendors available on weekends. I would think they don’t because they don’t want to pay a premium for weekend service. Also the AHS people I spoke to on Sunday should be fired for poor customer service and lying to a customer. I managed a call center fo many years. This type of customer service would be immediately result in termination. I have the name and ID number of the 2 people that gave me poor service ( if they told me their correct name and ID number which I doubt) if AHS wishes to pursue this. I will be looking for another home warranty compline.

Icon

Cameron Gurley, Columbia

On May 28, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

A/C went out on the hottest possible day, requested service and had an appointment set that afternoon, for 3 days later. They don\'t advertise as "emergency service" and I know that. Had a window unit, so it was not an issue. Tech showed up within the window of time, was very polite, extremely knowledgeable, and had the issue fixed within 15 minutes. Best possible outcome. (My unite is 33 years old and blowing 20 degrees above ambient at the vent 95 degrees outside.)

Icon

christopher reed, Columbia

On Apr 15, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

1st year, took a while to get any traction on my washing machine repair. I had to follow up to get any traction on the repair. 2nd claim, Had an AC repair that was resolved in 3 days. In looking to renew the price increase was over 150%. I followed up with the customer service department which took about 3 hours and they said sorry this is normal and there is nothing we can do. This market is highly competitive I would tell you to check the other competitors out before choosing AHS. As I was not impressed with the amount we pay and the lack of Customer Service leaves much to be desired.

Icon

DeMarco McNeil, Columbia

On Jan 04, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

We\'ve had AHS for two years now and they have been awesome! Great service and coverage. I would and have recommended them to people already.

Icon

Michelle DeBlieck, Columbia

On Sep 06, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I will never use this company again. It took 7 visits and a summer without air conditioning to finally get the problem resolved. We had unit installed by AHS contractor last summer. They messed around most of the day. Took multiple smoke breaks and a 2 1/2 hour lunch. Scratched a brand new floor without an apology. Then they couldn\'t get it to work. They had to have someone from company come the next day to fix. Multiple problem over winter. The unit started leaking water from the ceiling in the summer. Long story short, 3 different technicians told me how improperly installed the unit was. The third guy figured out why the unit continued to leak water the through the ceiling. (Yes it ruined ceiling , my cost to repair). AHS made me use the original company to fix unit. It took them over a week and two trips to fix. Worked a week before water again. Wow what a mess the unit was in. After 7 visits AHS finally approved a different company to reinstall correctly

Icon

DARRYL MIDDLETON, COLUMBIA

On Feb 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

There customer service is great. The contractors are good. Had only one i wasn\'t completely satisfied with but, even that one was satisfactory. Its better to pay $75.00 for a covered item to be repaired than over $1000.00. I like American home shield.

Icon

Peyre Lumpkin, Columbia

On Nov 28, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a bad experience with another home warranty company. So far AHS has been perfect. They respond promptly, assign quality repair companies and follow up. Definitely recommend AHS.

Icon

Angela, Columbia

On Nov 27, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I\'ve have been pleased with their service and promptness.

Icon

John, Columbia

On Oct 16, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great to know American Home Shield has our back if anything goes wrong.

Icon

Zach Kirby, Columbia

On Sep 29, 2017

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

I have had an absolute horrible experience with Old Republic over the last seven months. Since purchasing my home in March 2017 I have had to make two warranty claims and neither of them have gone well. The first time I had to use my home warranty, my refrigerator wasn\'t staying cold. After dispatching a service repairman to the home, I was told nothing was wrong with the refrigerator. I will admit the fridge did stay cold after this, so there must have been nothing wrong. My issue is that I was told at the time of service, since no repairs were actually made, I wouldn't have to pay a fee of any kind. Remember, this is MARCH of 2017. Last week (SEPTEMBER 2017) I got a "late notice" in the mail saying I never paid my service fee from March and that my bill was sent to a debt collector but, do to my late payment, the bill was almost double. I am obviously mad. How can a $100+ charge be justified on a job where ZERO repairs were made when I was told directly by the serviceman that no charge would be made? Second time I had to use the warranty, there was some issues with the duct work under the house. I call, file a claim, and an appointment is scheduled. The day of the appointment, which was set for four pm, I get a call at 7:45 in the morning. This call says "hey, we are in the neighborhood, can we come now?" Of course not! The home in question is a rental and we had set an agreed upon time of four. I was then threatened with having to pay the cancellation fee if I wasn't able to make their new time. Then, after the work was completed, I go under the house to find garbage EVERYWHERE. All of the duct work that was replaced was left under the house and a lot of insulation came down. But, when I tried to call this sketchy service company who was sent by ORHP, the number was no longer in service. The guy even had to hand write me a receipt because he had no official business information, cards, or an invoice. I LOATHE ORHP, and am extremely disappointed that I was stuck with them through the home warranty process. If you have any say in the matter, avoid this company at all costs.

Icon

Debbie Gillikin, Columbia

On Sep 26, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

The worst coverage and customer service. It is sometimes hours before I can speak to someone. They cover nothing. I got $500 when I had to replace my $4800 heat pump and then they paid $0 for a pump because the lack of a safety valve caused the motor to burn out. THe pump was so old that the safety valve was not required when it was manufactured but they still paid ZERO! And the only way to cancel your warranty is to hold on the line for 2 different people. I am on hold now and they said I can only cancel by speaking to yet another person!

Icon

Lamar C, Columbia

On Jul 21, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Call about my A/C and dishwasher. The service was fast and the technicians was very knowledgeable. All the technicians was honest and courtesy. I have talked to all my family members and friends about getting AHS.

Icon

Mia Waymer Davoll, Columbia

On Jul 06, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I like the fact that I can set up appointments online and the next day get a call and same day service. I even knew before hand what company was coming to do the job and was able to Google them to check out customer reviews on their website.

Icon

Lila McHenry, Columbia

On Jun 13, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS has been on top of every repair request I have made. An air conditioner and refrigerator were replaced when they could not be repaired. The contractors were courteous and professional. Joining AHS has been one of the best decisions I have ever made.

Icon

Barbara Scher, Columbia

On Aug 07, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

the most recent experience was just two days ago. We have an issue with a leaking toilet. The plumber came out to check it out and said as far as he was concerned it would need replacing.. AHS asked him what the total cost would be and gave approval on the spot. Now that is customer service, and I'm am very impressed with the process

Icon

John Burke, Columbia

On Feb 22, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Contractor did a great job. When you are dealing with air conditioning units it's normally not fixed in 1 day due to parts needed. Overall I was very pleased. Customer service was very helpful in assigning me a Contractor immediately. I always call to my appoints, because I prefer to speak with a live person.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020