ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN charleston, south carolina

city icon CITY: Charleston
country icon COUNTRY: Charleston County
state icon STATE: SC
population icon POPULATION: 177294
area code icon AREA CODE: 843
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 29401, 29402, 29403, 29406, 29407,
city icon CITY: Charleston
country icon COUNTRY: Charleston County
state icon STATE: SC
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 29401, 29402, 29403, 29406, 29407,
population icon POPULATION: 177294
area code icon AREA CODE: 843
SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in charleston, south carolina

Top Rated

American Home Shield (AHS)

4.5 / 5
(13,352 Reviews )

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty

4 / 5
(6,749 Reviews )

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Best in service

The Home Service Club

4.5 / 5
(1,643 Reviews )

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

Select Home Warranty

4 / 5
(4,301 Reviews )

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

Total Home Protection

4.5 / 5
(681 Reviews )

hey are the leading home warranty provider in the industry. They have skilled and licensed technicians who top-notch services. A standout feature of their services is they do not require a home inspection.

charleston Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

James L, Charleston

On Jun 27, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have been with American Home Shield thru two homes. As a homeowner we all know that things will break or need replacing. We also live busy lives, so when this happens, I like that I don’t have to make numerous calls to get service. One call or login on line and it’s handled. There were times that one visit wasn’t enough to get the job done but this is covered under the same event. Multiple service calls but just one deductible. Companies are vetted and must maintain high professional standards to continue to be on AHS list of providers. I trust this service with my home and I would recommend AHS for yours.

Icon

Chris Cechak, Charleston

On Jun 08, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

The AC in our rental property failed. AHS responded quickly and the technician coordinated with the property manager to get the repair underway. The first technician wouldn’t accept credit cards, AMI quickly dispatched another technician that resolved the problem.

Icon

Matt, Charleston

On Apr 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Submitted a claim based on a plumbing stoppage. Was told plumber would schedule a service within 24-48 business hours. Called the plumber days later who then scheduled for days after that. Paid $75 for plumber to come out. They spent 5 minutes at the house, declared we weren\'t covered, and left. Called AHS who told us we would be given a cash in lieu of service offer within 24-48 business hours. Days later and after not having heard anything, we called back and were told it would be another 24 business hours. A couple days later, we called again and were told we would be given nothing and not refunded the $75 we paid to have a plumber come out for 5 minutes.

Icon

Job , Charleston

On Dec 28, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Save your money and don’t buy this warranty. I tried to use them twice and all they did is deny the claim and get out of making the needed repairs.

Icon

L S Yarbrough , Charleston

On Aug 03, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have nothing but praise for the outstanding customer service received from AHS. I have used it twice in the 2 yrs I have had it with my new home purchase; and, I am glad I chose them to protect my investment. Highly recommended for all homeowners.

Icon

Thomas, Charleston

On Dec 21, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

CONSUMER BEWARE: American Home Shield Warranty is a waste of your time and money. The only reason I attempted to use them was that a warranty was included in the sale of our house. They use ambiguities in the contract to justify sending out a representative and charging you $75 before any service is provided. Then they proceed to tell you that your repair is not covered, but you still owe the $75. If something is covered, they find a way to cover only portion of the repair limiting their liability. This is a catch-22 because in most cases you do not know whether anything is covered in the first place. Save your time and money and go directly through a licensed repair person. I will never be giving American Home Shield Warranty a penny of my money ever again and suggest you do the same.

Icon

William Hanahan, Charleston

On Sep 27, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I would echo the sentiments of others that the time spent waiting on the phone for an agent is excessive, but the email response option sort of makes up for that problem. We came home from out of town to broken AC - in July, in SC! Called/emailed on Sat.; earliest contact - Monday, earliest appt. - Thursday. Found locals around block to make temp fix that day. Broke again, long hold time on phone, another several days out appt. Still, customer service very friendly when reached and paying the monthly amount plus $125 service Charge beats paying other $700-$800 for repair. Just wish they would let locals match their rate, especially when our regular guys know the systems already, esp. electrical! Wait times are only reason for not 4-5 stars across the board.

Icon

Allen P, Charleston

On Aug 22, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Long wait times and poor communication between service companies and AHS. I have to call AHS after EVERY service visit, because the repair approval/parts ordering does not go through unless I ask about it. I have never (yet) received a follow-up call even when I\'ve been promised the same, and the call-in process is tedious because there are too few customer service representatives compared to callers (last call in took over an hour on hold to reach someone).

Icon

TERRY WHIRLOW, CHARLESTON

On Aug 22, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

A/C went out on 7/18. It took them 2 weeks to get it fixed. The techs came to the house 3 times over the 2 weeks. They had to order a part and ordered the wrong one. When they came back the 3rd time, he didn\'t have the part on his truck so he had to go back and get it. It seems 2 week for a repair is standard when a new part is involved. Took that long for a microwave last year.

Icon

John, Charleston

On Feb 28, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Horrible customer service and a just a plain evil company. They don’t honor the material terms of your contract with them and they will do virtually anything to get out of paying money for the services or repairs that they owe you. The customer support line is horrible, literally every time we’ve had to call we’ve had to wait for over half an hour, and when we do get through the representatives are useless and incapable of answering basic questions or completing basic tasks. The online website is just as useless and even the basic and advertised features such as canceling a service visit don’t work. Just avoid this company at all costs – it’s literally a scam. We’ve paid over $5,000 in annual contracts and haven’t seen a penny back from it in repairs. Literally not a cent. Every time we have someone come out, AHS always finds a way to claim that the item or repair isn’t covered, despite it being clearly and objectively covered in the material, legally binding contract that we’re paying for. Avoid them! Often times your local utilities company will offer similar ‘warranties’ on home appliances and is less of a scam and a better value.

Icon

Brad Towcimak, Charleston

On Jun 06, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

I would give zero stars for all four categories if it was possible. Ten days and counting without a/c, on hold a total of over 6 hours on 3 different days trying to get a human to talk to me, and a "I don't care" attitude about fixing an issue caused by a lack of communication within their own company. Their contract says they will initiate fixing a repair within 48 hours but I never received a call from them - I had to do all the calling and waiting.

Icon

Ryan, Charleston

On Jul 13, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

The only reason I have a home warranty is because I have a home I can't sell and have to rent it out. I live too far away to take care of things when they go wrong. At first the home warranty seemed like a great thing to use. However, our most common problem is with our AC Units upstairs and down. When ever we submit a service request we get the email super quick with the contractor's info. However, getting the contractor to call you to schedule an appointment is almost impossible. And, when you call them, they almost never call you back. I have called and expressed my frustrations with AHS regarding their contractors but they really don't care. Just this week I had to call and threaten them with a bad online review just to get them to reach out to their contractor. Here is the run down: Thursday I submitted a service request. It is now Monday and their contractor just called me to schedule and appointment for tomorrow afternoon. Not quite within their 48 hour window, according to their contract, for initiating the service. If you plan on going with AHS, just be aware that services are almost never rendered in the 48 hour timeframe. And also be aware that their contractors are the least professional people I have ever met. In the case of the HVAC guys, it is almost any dude who has a car and a Freon gauge and the ability to dispense Freon.

Icon

Michael Smart, Charleston

On Feb 01, 2015

American Home Shield (AHS)

The last time i need American Home shield was in the hottest part of the summer July our central air went out and my mother was here after having a stroke so i could take care of her. Well she can not take the heat so in a panic i called american home shield to get it serviced well I was given a work order number and was to wait for the contractor to schedule well I called back in about two hours and told the operator that i was desperate and she checked with the contractor called me back and told me they could not come out until the following Monday, well this was unacceptable i let the operator know what was going on with my mom and all and she worked for about an hour to find a contractor who would come the next day. The contractor showed up before his first scheduled appointment and fixed the unit, I was so thankful to him and his worker and to the young lady who helped me. I started to cry, I thank you and will always remember that your company went above and beyond the normal scope of business to help us in a very needed time. I just love you company and will be a customer for a long time to come.

Icon

Cummings, Charleston

On Aug 27, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

My experiences are usually good. My contractors call a day before they come out to establish the vendor and customer relationship. Eventhough a schedule has been made, they wants to know what is good for me. For example, Changing Winds Heating & Air came at 5:30 pm and stayed until the job was completed. He even follow up to make everything was good the next day. I am a very satisfied customer thus far.

Icon

Morgan dandridge, Charleston

On Apr 15, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS SUCKS!!! I am on day 5 and still don't have a hot water heater that should be covered under warranty. If you like voicemail and answering services this is the company for you. When I asked for a manager I was told managers have 24 to 48 hours to call you back. Really? I have paid them monthly for years and I have multiple properties but never again will I make this mistake.Good Luck if you choose to try these guys!

Icon

Imogene Thomas, Real Estate Broker Assoc., Charleston

On Feb 18, 2014

American Home Shield (AHS)

We were contacted by phone almost immediately by Ohohna Heating & Air to let us know that they had received the service request for our home. They called and gave a 30 minute notice that they were on the way. Showed up before the 30 minutes were up. He was clean and well kept. He discussed at length the problems with the HVAC unit and what it would take to fix the unit. He also explained that we would have to pay for the freon that had leaked out of the unit because of the broken part. The compressor arrived earlier that expected and was installed that afternoon. Very pleased with their office staff, Leila, and the repair people. Would use then again when needed.

Icon

Becky Flanders, Charleston

On Jun 03, 2013

American Home Shield (AHS)

Beware all you considering this service!!!I requested a copy of the service report on a repair made to the A/C in my rental unit for which I was charged $75.00. Requested 3 times, all to AHS personnel. I have never received it. This occured last summer. Today, I requested another service call, & was informed that until the charged was paid, they would not send anyone. They have been consistantly charging my credit card for all these months, but in essence no coverage was available. I am cancelling this & the other contracts I have, & am contesting with my credit card company the charges for the months not covered!

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020