×

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Home Depot Home Protection Plans

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Rating Timeline
Customer Service 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Repair Service 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating1.8 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Get A Home Warranty Quote
Protect Your Appliances Now

Write an honest review now !

888-351-0908
Premium
Deductible
Effective
NHSCA Membership No
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)
Years In Business 40
Total Reviews 30
Complaint Resolution No
BBB Rating A+
Executive Profiles NA
No. of Employees NA
Headquarters NA
Address NA
Alias NA

Write an honest review now !

Get A Home Warranty Quote
Protect Your Appliances Now

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

The Home Depot was founded in 1978 by Bernie Marcus and Arthur Blank. The founders had a vision to create a one stop shopping spot for hardware and appliance requirements. The company began it’s journey from Atlanta, Georgia and now has stores across all 50 states in the U.S and also in Canada and Mexico. In 2001, the company extended its reach to China by acquiring Total Home.

Although the company’s primary business is hardware and appliance retail, Home Depot also offers high quality appliance extended warranty plans to customers across the nation. The Home Depot Company claims that all their plans come at zero deductible fee and offer the best customer service in the industry

The Home Depot offers a host of services and benefits to their customers. All customers receive attractive benefits with the plans they purchase. In addition to this, all plans provide 100% coverage for labor and functional parts and any item costing over $300 that can’t be repaired, will be replaced.

The Home Depot maintains a website which is equipped to provide customers with any help they require. Customers can purchase appliances/ hardware items and protection plans through their site. They can also register their plans onsite to get faster and hassle free services. Filing and tracking of claims can also be done online.

Any hardware/ appliance you buy from one of the number Home Depot stores across the country, is eligible for protection. Customers simply need to visit their store or website for acquiring the product or the warranty plan. All extended warranty plans are priced reasonably and they charge no deductible for service visits.

Customers who purchase the Home Depot appliance protection plans also get the following benefits:

  • No deductibles/ additional fees
  • Hassle free repair services
  • eGift replacement cards
  • Benefits starting from day 1
  • Transfer plans at zero additional charges

The plans cover parts and labor charges and also damages caused due to power surges, dust, heat and humidity. Customers also receive additional benefits based on the plan they pick.

Reviews & Ratings

Lakewood - NJ 04-06-2018
Piperangus Lakewood NJ
Posted On 04/06/18
Review No. 124840
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Asurion is THE WORST protection plan I've ever had the misfortune of working with. They are HORRIBLE! Instead of just sending someone out to service the appliance, they connect you with their Technical Services department to troubleshoot the issue. It's a JOKE. On hold for over a half an hour.

And when they do send out a service company, the issues are NOT fixed! They slap bandaids on the problem and say it's fixed, but it's not!

Buyer beware - NEVER EVER purchase an extended protection plan thru Home Depot. NEVER AGAIN will I buy ANY appliances thru Home Depot. They are the WORST! view less
Asurion is THE WORST protection plan I've ever had the misfortune of working with. They are HORRIBLE! Instead of just sending someone out to service the appliance, they connect you with their Technical Services department to troubleshoot the issue. It's a JOKE. On hold for over a half an hour.

And when they do send out a service company, the issues are NOT fixed! They
... view more
# 124840
Lomita - CA 04-04-2018
Teresita Bautista Lomita CA
Posted On 04/04/18
Review No. 124787
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Under warranty!!! March 29,2018 Service Person went to our home to check on what is wrong with the washing machine (Whirlpool) He said It's the lid locking system that was wrong. Left us an invoice and said he will be back after 3 days. After the 5th day we call the office of European Hi Tech the people who checked our washer but --- NO ANSWER!!! We have to call Home Depot and they also tried to call this European Hi Tech and got the same results... NO ANSWER. How could you have a contract with someone you cannot even call over the phone? I spoke with a manager from the protection plan department (ASURION INC.) and same thing happened. NEVER BUY FROM HOME DEPOT ANY APPLIANCES!!! THEIR WARRANTY OR PROTECTION PLAN SUCKS BIG TIME!!! NEVER AND NEVER AGAIN WITH HOME DEPOT!!! THE MOST TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE WITH BUYING AN APPLIANCE WITH WARRANTY. NO TO HOME DEPOT!!! view less
Under warranty!!! March 29,2018 Service Person went to our home to check on what is wrong with the washing machine (Whirlpool) He said It's the lid locking system that was wrong. Left us an invoice and said he will be back after 3 days. After the 5th day we call the office of European Hi Tech the people who checked our washer but --- NO ANSWER!!! We have to call Home Depot and they also tried
... view more
# 124787
Middletown - DE 03-09-2018
Mitchell Willis Middletown DE
Posted On 03/09/18
Review No. 123564
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The WORST of anything in 65 years of life!! It has been a month with NO REFRIGERATOR and they JUST DON'T CARE. Customer Service a total mess , Service Timeliness just LOKK NO REFRIGERATOR for a month, Still NOT RESOLVED, Repair Service, ONLY 1 Company to Service LG in Delaware and they can not fix Refrigerator , calling it NON REPAIRABLE , with Nothing from Home Depot about REFUND to get a refrigerator! RATED 1 STAR CAUSE YOU HAVE TO!!! view less
The WORST of anything in 65 years of life!! It has been a month with NO REFRIGERATOR and they JUST DON'T CARE. Customer Service a total mess , Service Timeliness just LOKK NO REFRIGERATOR for a month, Still NOT RESOLVED, Repair Service, ONLY 1 Company to Service LG in Delaware and they can not fix Refrigerator , calling it NON REPAIRABLE , with Nothing from Home Depot about REFUND to get a
... view more
# 123564
palm beach gardens - FL 03-05-2018
David grainger palm beach gardens FL
Posted On 03/05/18
Review No. 123433
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Home Depots appliance insurance is a joke, I agree. We have 5 separate policies with Home Depot re a GE appliance. $$$$ We purchased dishwasher in 2005 Jan and had it installed in late Jan after new kitchen. We had trouble in that it would not close. We are only in Florida Jan to mid April. The machine is only used for 4 months a year....no renters. From Jan 2015 to today March 2018 the machine would only close intermittently. I would have to to remove all the dishes and wash by hand. The repair person has been here many times and this time exchanged the same part that he replaced before when it continued to not work. Home Depot Insurance is useless in helping us. Grainger view less
Home Depots appliance insurance is a joke, I agree. We have 5 separate policies with Home Depot re a GE appliance. $$$$ We purchased dishwasher in 2005 Jan and had it installed in late Jan after new kitchen. We had trouble in that it would not close. We are only in Florida Jan to mid April. The machine is only used for 4 months a year....no renters. From Jan 2015 to today March 2018 the
... view more
# 123433
Sarasota - FL 03-02-2018
Beth Wallace Sarasota FL
Posted On 03/02/18
Review No. 123348
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Home Depot's extended warranty on LG dishwasher is a joke! Since August 2017 the cable on right & left sides holding the heavy door has broken and been replaced on 4 occasions by 2 different HD service providers and LG techs. We have a 5-year extended warranty plan which states replacement after 3x for same issue. This is now the 4th time cable is being replaced. Unit is NOT FIXED if cables continually break after being replaced. Home Depot/Asurion have yet to fulfill their contractual and Lemon Policy agreement. They give customers a run around. Will NEVER purchase from Home Depot again!!! view less
Home Depot's extended warranty on LG dishwasher is a joke! Since August 2017 the cable on right & left sides holding the heavy door has broken and been replaced on 4 occasions by 2 different HD service providers and LG techs. We have a 5-year extended warranty plan which states replacement after 3x for same issue. This is now the 4th time cable is being replaced. Unit is NOT FIXED if
... view more
# 123348
Missouri Cit - TX 02-26-2018
Jefferson Missouri Cit TX
Posted On 02/26/18
Review No. 123191
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I made a claim with Home Depot warranty around 01/17/2018 for my Maytag washer. The first technician came out twice replacee a part and still not working. The second technician from another repair company came out twice. He didn't do anything just checked the codes on his computer and just did a lot of double talking and tried to make me think it was caused my my not maintaining my washer. The third technician came and checked my washer and said he needed to get a second opinion but he felt the control panel needed to be replaced. A control panel cost over $200 and I guess they did not want to pay it or replace my washer. Also, he said he saw what I was telling him was happening. When I called Home Depot Warranty I was told that the third technician said the problem was because I did not maintain my washer and the claim was denied. I told them that was not true and I have been going through this nightmare for over a month. If I have to I will sue because I am tired of the run-a-round and I cannot let them get by with this. They must stop scamming their customers. I will post my bad experience with Home Depot Warranty where ever I can to make others aware.
A few years ago, a repair technician told me that the warranty companies were a scam. He advised me not to get one of those warranties and I should have listened. They tried to hire him but he told them no. He said that they told him when he would get one of their service calls to find a reason to cause the claim to be denied. That way he would get paid by them and then he can offer to have his company make the repair for a fee or try and sell one of their appliances. The warranty company would just get by with paying the service technician. This is exactly what is happening. I WILL NEVER GET A HOME DEPOT WARRANTY AGAIN, I FEEL THEY ARE A SCAM a RIPOFF. They just don't care it is all about the money. view less
I made a claim with Home Depot warranty around 01/17/2018 for my Maytag washer. The first technician came out twice replacee a part and still not working. The second technician from another repair company came out twice. He didn't do anything just checked the codes on his computer and just did a lot of double talking and tried to make me think it was caused my my not maintaining my washer.
... view more
# 123191
Land O Lakes - FL 02-26-2018
Nieki Rodriguez Land O Lakes FL
Posted On 02/26/18
Review No. 123189
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have been having issues with my GE washer since January and it is now almost March. I have had service technicians come out several times already, only to have to order more and more parts. I called Home Depot Protection Plan customer service today to inquire as to the stopping point. I wanted to know at what point they were going to decide that enough time, energy, and money had been poured into this repair before they decided to just replace the washer. First of all, the customer service rep spoke to me as if he were a robot and not a human being, but never mind that. I was told that the same part would have to be replaced four times before they would consider replacing it. So, it doesn't matter that they have now had to replace several parts to this machine. If the same part is not having to be replaced, it doesn't matter. It doesn't matter that I'm dragging my clothes to the laundry mat each week although I spent $1000 on the washer and a couple hundred on the repair plan. That is unacceptable. And what was my alternative? I could have avoided purchasing the plan, sure. The problem with that is that the GE washer is a piece of garbage and I would be stuck with costly repairs anyway. So, I am disgusted with GE for selling piece-of-crap appliances, at Home Depot for not sourcing their warranty companies better, and at the warranty company themselves for being subpar in both customer service and more importantly, at doing the actual job they were paid to do. view less
I have been having issues with my GE washer since January and it is now almost March. I have had service technicians come out several times already, only to have to order more and more parts. I called Home Depot Protection Plan customer service today to inquire as to the stopping point. I wanted to know at what point they were going to decide that enough time, energy, and money had been poured
... view more
# 123189
Las Vegas - NV 02-20-2018
Gabe Las Vegas NV
Posted On 02/20/18
Review No. 123013
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Absolute GARBAGE! This is a SCAM to take your money. They do NOTHING to fix what they're supposed to fix. They sent out a technician to come out the first time I called. The technicians saw the refrigerator was not working, put in the report, said he would have to order the parts and get approval. The work order WAS DENIED. I called and complained. They sent out a second technician, different company. Same thing. They DENIED the claim, because they said the technicians said they saw NOTHING WRONG with the unit. The WARRANTY COMPANY IS LYING THROUGH IT'S TEETH! I called the technicians to tell them what the warranty company was saying, and they could not believe their ears! They both said the unit was NOT WORKING, and the warranty company claims department was INPUTTING FALSE INFORMATION! I just called again to see what they're going to do. This, after waiting over 3 weeks on this now! The lady could not initially find the claim! Because they HAD CLOSED IT, after they said they would call me back last week when I was complaining! No call, no follow up, no nothing. I should add that every time I called (no less than 8 or 9 times over the past 3 weeks), every "agent" who answered would say something different. I was told on more than one occasion that the claim was NOT denied, and they would get back to me. This has been a nightmare! Stay away from these con artists!!!! view less
Absolute GARBAGE! This is a SCAM to take your money. They do NOTHING to fix what they're supposed to fix. They sent out a technician to come out the first time I called. The technicians saw the refrigerator was not working, put in the report, said he would have to order the parts and get approval. The work order WAS DENIED. I called and complained. They sent out a second technician,
... view more
# 123013
Los Angeles - CA 02-12-2018
Zoran Los Angeles CA
Posted On 02/12/18
Review No. 122706
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Their technicians wont show up the day of the service request, and even when they do finally arrive they do not get the proper information from the office in regards to the issue with the unit causing them to waste time and cause us to schedule a second apt. Could not believe home depot could provide such despicable service.
# 122706
Austin - TX 02-08-2018
James johnson Austin TX
Posted On 02/08/18
Review No. 122563
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Do not buy Samsung refrigerator RF28HMEDBSR. We began having issue with it not cooling in June 2017. Call after call, tech after tech, part ordered after part ordered, and 8 months later they are flying in a tech from Dallas to fix it. It would have been cheaper for them to replace the fridge or gives us our money back. But still we wait. I’m so done with Home Depot and their horrible horrible protection plan. If my back could handle it I would load this beautiful useless piece of equipment in the back of my truck and picket in front of Home Depot. We will NEVER EVER buy another appliance there. view less
Do not buy Samsung refrigerator RF28HMEDBSR. We began having issue with it not cooling in June 2017. Call after call, tech after tech, part ordered after part ordered, and 8 months later they are flying in a tech from Dallas to fix it. It would have been cheaper for them to replace the fridge or gives us our money back. But still we wait. I’m so done with Home Depot and their horrible
... view more
# 122563
Fort worth - TX 02-06-2018
Michael Sabre Fort worth TX
Posted On 02/06/18
Review No. 122488
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Ok, if you think Home Depot has anything to do with getting service once you purchase this protection, they don’t. Your plan will be serviced by auserion. I will tell you my saga and let you decide if it is worth the price you pay.
Bought this protection for a GE profile dishwasher. Dish washer stopped heating in late November, so I filed a claim. First guy came out and I had to show him how to uninstall the dishwasher (strange since he was appliance repairman). He googled some things and decided my motherboard was out. Wait a week for the part to come in and he shows up to install it. Part does not fix the problem and tells me not to call him, just file a new claim.
I call and file a new claim and wait a week for a new repair guy to come out. He shows up and checks it out, and decides that the mother board is out. I tell him it is brand new, but he insists that it is out. Wait over a week for a new one to come in and he comes back to install it. He puts it in and leaves. This did not fix the problem. Wait about a week for a new appointment and this time it’s decided that the heating element is out. Wait weeks for this to come in and it is installed and he leaves. This did not fix the problem.
Wait a week for a new appointment and now it is decided to replace the flow value. Wait weeks for the part to come in and it seems to work for about 14 days and then the dishwasher stops working completely.
After all these service calls, missed work, and not having a dishwasher for over 2 months I decide to talk to my local Home Depot Manager about this issue. She was very nice but basically said there was nothing she could do and I needed to have a new repor company come out. The company that came out the 3 previous times refused to come back out.
I call the new repair company and they tell me they will be here between 12-4pm on Monday. Nobody shows up and I call around 5 to find out they forgot to come out. Now I wait until Thursday or Friday for a new appointment since I can’t take off anymore work for this dishwasher.
I wish this plan was serviced by Home Depot, but it does not appear to be, so I would be cautious about purchasing this plan. view less
Ok, if you think Home Depot has anything to do with getting service once you purchase this protection, they don’t. Your plan will be serviced by auserion. I will tell you my saga and let you decide if it is worth the price you pay.
Bought this protection for a GE profile dishwasher. Dish washer stopped heating in late November, so I filed a claim. First guy came out and I had
... view more
# 122488
San Antonio - TX 01-30-2018
Ignacio Medrano San Antonio TX
Posted On 01/30/18
Review No. 122237
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This protection plan IS a joke. My double door Sanmung fridge was purchased in June 2014 and I am on my 7th claim. Each time a service tech has come out, I have to leave work because they are off on saturdays. This will be a total of 14 1/2 days off from work for me, 1 for the diagnostic and 1 for the actual repair. After each repair, I have questioned the service techs and have gotten the same response, Samsung fridges are lemons. I have been told on by a couple of techs that all parts that can be replaced have been replaced, yet Home depot warranty people insist each repair has been a different part. According to the plan, the fridge is considered a LEMON after the 3rd repair. I have lost all my food each time. I have talked to some of the managers at the Home Depot Protection plan and no one has been able to give me a straight answer as to who determines when I get a new appliance or refund. Save your time, and money. Do not buy this protection plan, or an appliance from Home Depot. You WILL regret it! This problem is still ongoing and I still do not see a solution in sight. I will have to purchase another refrigerator and stick this one in a corner and just let them keep fixing it until my warranty expires, not much else I can do, So SAD Home Depot treats its customers this way. view less
This protection plan IS a joke. My double door Sanmung fridge was purchased in June 2014 and I am on my 7th claim. Each time a service tech has come out, I have to leave work because they are off on saturdays. This will be a total of 14 1/2 days off from work for me, 1 for the diagnostic and 1 for the actual repair. After each repair, I have questioned the service techs and have gotten the
... view more
# 122237
San Antonio - TX 01-30-2018
Ignacio Medrano San Antonio TX
Posted On 01/30/18
Review No. 122236
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This protection plan IS a joke. My double door Samsung fridge was purchased in June 2014 and I am on my 7th claim. Each time a service tech has come out, I have to leave work because they are off on saturdays. This will be a total of 14 1/2 days off from work for me, 1 for the diagnostic and 1 for the actual repair. After each repair, I have questioned the service techs and have gotten the same response, Samsung fridges are lemons. I have been told on by a couple of techs that all parts that can be replaced have been replaced, yet Home depot warranty people insist each repair has been a different part. According to the plan, the fridge is considered a LEMON after the 3rd repair. I have lost all my food each time. I have talked to some of the managers at the Home Depot Protection plan and no one has been able to give me a straight answer as to who determines when I get a new appliance or refund. Save your time, and money. Do not buy this protection plan, or an appliance from Home Depot. You WILL regret it! This problem is still ongoing and I still do not see a solution in sight. I will have to purchase another refrigerator and stick this one in a corner and just let them keep fixing it until my warranty expires, not much else I can do, So SAD Home Depot treats its customers this way. view less
This protection plan IS a joke. My double door Samsung fridge was purchased in June 2014 and I am on my 7th claim. Each time a service tech has come out, I have to leave work because they are off on saturdays. This will be a total of 14 1/2 days off from work for me, 1 for the diagnostic and 1 for the actual repair. After each repair, I have questioned the service techs and have gotten the
... view more
# 122236
NEWARK - DE 01-17-2018
GARY DEFOE NEWARK DE
Posted On 01/17/18
Review No. 121680
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
SAMSUNG RF263BEASER ---DO NOT BUY SAMSUNG FRIDGE ------ FRIDGE AFTER 1 1/2 YRS THE COMPRESSOR TOOK A DUMP -SERVICE CAME IN 3 DAYS ORDERED COMPRESSOR AND CAME BACK A WEEK LATER , 4 DAYS LATER FRIDGE WAS WARM AGAIN TECH CAME BACK IN 2 WEEKS TO TEST IT / REPLACED A COMPUTOR BOARD - 4 DAYS LATER WARM AGAIN LOL == TECH CAME BACK AGAIN -NOW HE CALLS SAMSUNG TECH - HE SAYS CHANGE THE ICE MAKER - OK ORDER ICE MAKER CAME BACK PUT IT IN -NOOOOOOO GOOD /CALLS SAMSUNG AGAIN -ASK THE TECH DID YOU PUT THE AUGER IN -WHATTTTTTTTT -NO --- ORDER AUGER -COMES BACK AGAIN =PUT AUGER IN AND AGAIN NOOOOOOOOOO DONT WORK = SEAL UP ICE MAKER -DID THAT WORK NOOOOOOOOOOOOO - TECH THAT CAME TELLS ME SORRY ITS NOT REPAIRABLE - /// MORAL OF THE STORY =DO DO DO NOT BUY A SAMSUNG FRIDGE ------ HOME DEPOT WARRANY WAS GREAT - AFTER THE TECH SAID NOT REPAIRABLE / THEY SENT ME $1867.37 HOMEDEPOT GIFTCARD & WE ENDED UP BUYING A NEW FRIDGE view less
SAMSUNG RF263BEASER ---DO NOT BUY SAMSUNG FRIDGE ------ FRIDGE AFTER 1 1/2 YRS THE COMPRESSOR TOOK A DUMP -SERVICE CAME IN 3 DAYS ORDERED COMPRESSOR AND CAME BACK A WEEK LATER , 4 DAYS LATER FRIDGE WAS WARM AGAIN TECH CAME BACK IN 2 WEEKS TO TEST IT / REPLACED A COMPUTOR BOARD - 4 DAYS LATER WARM AGAIN LOL == TECH CAME BACK AGAIN -NOW HE CALLS SAMSUNG TECH - HE SAYS CHANGE THE ICE MAKER - OK
... view more
# 121680
San Diego - CA 12-27-2017
GAVIN CHING San Diego CA
Posted On 12/27/17
Review No. 120603
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Absolutely horrible. My dishwasher broke down, called to get it serviced and nothing has gone right since. Sub contractors do not show up, those that do have misdiagnosed it when they do arrive or order wrong parts, and worst of all no one at Home Depot really cares if it gets fixed. Read your warranty, they have no timeline that they need to meet to get it fixed. If it takes a year, oh well. It has been going on over two months now, three different service providers, and about 10 scheduled and rescheduled appointments. Never buy any warranty from Home Depot, or if you are like me, shop there again until they make a commitment to customer service again. view less
Absolutely horrible. My dishwasher broke down, called to get it serviced and nothing has gone right since. Sub contractors do not show up, those that do have misdiagnosed it when they do arrive or order wrong parts, and worst of all no one at Home Depot really cares if it gets fixed. Read your warranty, they have no timeline that they need to meet to get it fixed. If it takes a year, oh
... view more
# 120603
Stoneville - NC 12-12-2017
Carol A Stoneville NC
Posted On 12/12/17
Review No. 119839
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This protection plan is a joke. My two year old double door LG fridge went out in late October and a claim was filed November 2nd. A technician was scheduled to come out from A&E Factory Services and came out only to tell me the compressor was bad and it needed to be ordered and another appointment to replace it scheduled. On November 30th, after going through Thanksgiving with a mini fridge that my 8 member family was provided by Home Depot, the technician returned to replace the compressor. He replaced it, Home Depot picked up their mini loaner and the fridge went out again in a matter of 1-2 days. Another technician was scheduled to come out from National Platinum Services who looked over the fridge all of 1-2 minutes before he said that the compressor would need to be replaced, again and that they have to replace the compressors on these fridges, sometimes several times before they even attempt to function properly, but he would have to get approval before he can proceed to order what is needed to fix the fridge. In the meantime, we are stuck putting all food that has not spoiled in the fridge on my balcony. Fortunately it has been cold and the good Lord's fridge has proven a lot better and a lot cheaper than this $3,000+ coffin sitting in my kitchen. I have had big food losses both times it went out. The first time it was estimated over $500 dollars in food and this time it is more than that because I had just gone shopping after the first tech "repaired" my fridge and replaced the lost food. I was informed that the limit is $300 per claim on my food loss even though I have thrown out packages of food/meat that I buy in bulk from the Restaurant Depot to feed my family of 8. I have talked to most of the managers at the Home Depot Protection plan and no one has been able to give me a timely solution to this issue. Some have been rude, won't say any names. I do have all of the names. Some have even told "untruths" possibly just to get me off of the phone. The same person never wants to talk to me twice. I wonder why? I've always stayed calm throughout the conversations. Save your time, save your money. Do not buy this protection plan, do not buy LG, do not go to Home Depot. This problem is still ongoing and I still do not see a solution in sight. Still don't know when the tech will be back out to put the next compressor in. They say that they have up to 3 times to repeat this before they even consider replacing the unit. Who knows. At this rate, I could possibly have a functioning fridge somewhere around mid March hopefully. Merry Christmas to me. view less
This protection plan is a joke. My two year old double door LG fridge went out in late October and a claim was filed November 2nd. A technician was scheduled to come out from A&E Factory Services and came out only to tell me the compressor was bad and it needed to be ordered and another appointment to replace it scheduled. On November 30th, after going through Thanksgiving with a mini
... view more
# 119839
Seminole - FL 12-10-2017
Julie Day Seminole FL
Posted On 12/10/17
Review No. 119732
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This was a nightmare. We got the run around since last Sunday. First we had to wait 2 days to see a service person, after service tech came we were told it was under LG warranty because it was the compressor. THEN WAITED 4 MORE DAYS FOR LG! To only tell us again it was the compressor, repaired the next day, but still not working.
# 119732
Bradenton - FL 12-05-2017
Maureen Hooper Bradenton FL
Posted On 12/05/17
Review No. 119506
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I would give it zero - but that was not an option - Purchased LG dryer in July 2017- for second home - so it is not used weekly - Noticed a problem in November & requested service - Have a transcript of at chat verifying service call for Dec 5 . The service call was to be between 8am to noon ...and as now 12:50pm and NUMEROUS phone calls and being transferred to LG then installation then service then resolution center - NO one knows who or what...but I HAVE A DRYER NOT WORKING.
so if you enjoy being passed around- being frustrated and hearing I'm sorry -pay for a WORTHLESS PLAN view less
I would give it zero - but that was not an option - Purchased LG dryer in July 2017- for second home - so it is not used weekly - Noticed a problem in November & requested service - Have a transcript of at chat verifying service call for Dec 5 . The service call was to be between 8am to noon ...and as now 12:50pm and NUMEROUS phone calls and being transferred to LG then installation then
... view more
# 119506
Gulfport - FL 11-10-2017
Joe Silberberg Gulfport FL
Posted On 11/10/17
Review No. 118306
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I was fearful when I read the reviews for Home Depot Protection service as well as their local service provider Atlantic Appliance Service Repair. People complained about no communication, no shows, and shoddy work. I did not experience any of that. We were always kept informed and coordination between Home Depot/Assurion and Atlantic was very good. We needed our 1 and 1/2 year old refrigerator repaired under our extended warranty. The overall length of time to repair was a little longer then we wanted, but that is the process with extended protection plans. They even processed our request for spoiled food reimbursement in less then one week. If I didn't have this plan I would have had a repair in excess of $500 due to two boards malfunctioning, so in my case, it was definitely worth the investment view less
I was fearful when I read the reviews for Home Depot Protection service as well as their local service provider Atlantic Appliance Service Repair. People complained about no communication, no shows, and shoddy work. I did not experience any of that. We were always kept informed and coordination between Home Depot/Assurion and Atlantic was very good. We needed our 1 and 1/2 year old
... view more
# 118306
The colony - TX 11-04-2017
Jay Soto The colony TX
Posted On 11/04/17
Review No. 118120
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
SUCH A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! Such a hassle dealing w them! DO NOT PURCHASE THE PLAN! they will give you the round around - my LG refrigerator went out - and all they do is send out a tech, they "fix" replace parts and within a week, I am having the same issue! They refuse to replace the unit - even after their techs advise them that that would be the best route ! Lost hundreds of dollars in groceries going bad ! Been dealing with this issue for months now! view less
SUCH A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! Such a hassle dealing w them! DO NOT PURCHASE THE PLAN! they will give you the round around - my LG refrigerator went out - and all they do is send out a tech, they "fix" replace parts and within a week, I am having the same issue! They refuse to replace the unit - even after their techs advise them that that would be the best route ! Lost hundreds of dollars in
... view more
# 118120
Ashton - MD 11-01-2017
Fadi Abdallah Ashton MD
Posted On 11/01/17
Review No. 118013
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This has been BY FAR the worst customer service experience I have ever had. I spoke with someone from Home Depot Protection Plan over 3 weeks ago and the service repairman came out and noted I needed a new control panel (cost more than the washer) and the broken agitator replaced. NOT ONCE DID HE EVER MENTION that that he thought the agitator broke from overloading (which I never did and I was with him the entire time and even asked him what he wrote) Needless to say instead of 2-3 days to upload the service info to home depot plan website it took nearly 3 weeks to finally get the information to the protection plan (AFTER I CALLED DAILY and called the service center begging them to upload the service call details); Two days later I was assured by an Asurion rep that my entire dryer (control panel and agitator) would be repaired or reimbursed, if cost was too high, and would call me the the next morning with the final decision...This is after nearly 3 weeks of home depot and high level supervisors of trying to get my washer repaired. The next morning no call back,...afternoon no call back so I call Asurion and was routed to a Home Depot Protection Plan Supervisor person who stated my claim was denied and that they would not honor what I was informed of the day before by the other Asurion Rep who said it would be fully repaired or reimbursed. Next think I know I'm being informed by the Home Dept supervisor that my washer claim is being denied because I BROKE IT which was a lie and first time mentioned. The Service person specifically asked me and i assured me it only carried half loads and never overloaded and I watched him write his notes. Asurion never stepped in to try and help and just played as though nothing had happened. I ordered the parts from my own pocket and repaired it myself but the computer remains broken. SHAME ON YOU BOTH for HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! What is the point of purchasing an extended protection plan. LOSERS!. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE!! Dont bother because they will lie and find every single loophole to get out of fixing your appliance. If I could give 0 stars I would. view less
This has been BY FAR the worst customer service experience I have ever had. I spoke with someone from Home Depot Protection Plan over 3 weeks ago and the service repairman came out and noted I needed a new control panel (cost more than the washer) and the broken agitator replaced. NOT ONCE DID HE EVER MENTION that that he thought the agitator broke from overloading (which I never did and I was
... view more
# 118013
peabody - MA 10-31-2017
steven barnes peabody MA
Posted On 10/31/17
Review No. 117988
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
had my Samsung washer stop working after 3 yrs. called on a Monday they were very friendly and a tech. came out the next day. the gentleman was very professional and he was careful to keep the work area clean as he worked. he found the problem and called in for the part. he went on another call and came back later that afternoon with the part and installed it . we ran the unit and checked to make sure it cycled properly. I would definitely get a protection plan from home depot again .highly recommend it .great service. view less
had my Samsung washer stop working after 3 yrs. called on a Monday they were very friendly and a tech. came out the next day. the gentleman was very professional and he was careful to keep the work area clean as he worked. he found the problem and called in for the part. he went on another call and came back later that afternoon with the part and installed it . we ran the unit and checked to
... view more
# 117988
Saint Helens - OR 09-26-2017
Dennis Hills Saint Helens OR
Posted On 09/26/17
Review No. 116534
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
MY LG refrigerator died Aug 23 while I was gone. Everything was in the refrigerator/freezer was lost including $300.00 of meds. I called Aug 28th and a service person showed upon August 30 replaced the electronics and when it did not work literally tore the refrigerator apart to look and checked all the components and determined that the problem was the compressor. Standing in my kitchen he contacted Asurion and told them a EPA certified tech needed to come replace the compressor. When I called Asurion the next day they said the job was completed and no such request was on file. I told her to put it on file. This was Sept 1. Sept 12th a technician showed and checked my refrigerator and told me something was wrong with the compressor. I said that was why he was there to replace it. He said no but he would order a new compressor to arrive in three to five days. Now the service company is 45 miles away from home and they only come to my area twice a week Tuesday and Friday. They called Wed the 20th and said he could come out on Thu the 21st and I had a long awaited medical appt that morning but I would be home by 1:00PM. No go. He finally came out Sept 26 and changed the compressor and told me not to use the refrigerator for 24 hours. thirty days without a refrigerator. I could have called the local refrigeration service company had it repaired in less than a week for less than a $100.00 over the cost of the compressor and had a refrigerator in a week. This is not a protection plan it is a waste of time and a guarantee that you will be without your appliance for an extended period of time. Go with a local service company and save your money, your patience and most of all your time. view less
MY LG refrigerator died Aug 23 while I was gone. Everything was in the refrigerator/freezer was lost including $300.00 of meds. I called Aug 28th and a service person showed upon August 30 replaced the electronics and when it did not work literally tore the refrigerator apart to look and checked all the components and determined that the problem was the compressor. Standing in my kitchen he
... view more
# 116534
marietta - GA 09-06-2017
lisa marietta GA
Posted On 09/06/17
Review No. 115748
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
terrible service! home depot contracts with best electronics.. they are the worst slow service, rude, no communication... they basically just don't care and neither does home depot service center.
# 115748
Villa Park - CA 06-25-2017
Mark Wardenburg Villa Park CA
Posted On 06/25/17
Review No. 111406
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Absolute worst customer service in my 50 yrs. on this earth. 5th time someone has come out for my LG refrigerator in a year and a half. This time 4 weeks with no refrigerator and I have a family of 6. Couldn't be worse. Just to get someone on the phone is a 10 minute ordeal.
# 111406
Next

Rate Home Depot Home Protection Plans

You may receive the response within 12-48 hours. Please keep checking your Inbox/Spam/Junk box.

We work very hard to keep our reviews and ratings fair and accurate, so please agree to the following:

  • I am an actual customer, past or present, of the company named in the review.
  • I was not promised a reward of some kind by the company I have written this review for.
  • I am neither an employee of the company nor that of a competitor named in the review.
     I Agree
Please check this box to bring balance to the home warranty industry.
You're all set. Now track Complaint Resolution Program (CRP) to get a status update in the next 48 hours!
Thank you for your contribution. Now you can also vote for your favorite company Home Depot Home Protection Plans to win 2018 People's Choice award here: https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/poll-for-people?ref=NjM0OA==
Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact homedepot.com directly.