Residential MD Home Warranty

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Residential MD Home Warranty

Residential MD Home Warranty
Customer Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating1.9 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Total Reviews: 50
Total Quotes : 15
Premium $540
Deductible $85
Effective
Years In Business 2016
BBB Rating
Complaint Resolution
Offers Online Claims
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)



Call Now for a Quote
 (888) 826-8212

Write a Review!

Reviews & Ratings

Dallas - GA 11-13-2016
Demetta Payne,Dallas GA
Posted On 11/13/16
Review No. 107027
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I am a single woman that enrolled with Residential MD Gold back in 2011 until now(2016). I have lost more money than what the service actually provided me. My first encounter was my A/C which they repaired first and had to come back the following year and replace with a new one. Second was my hot water heater last year that I reported in advance and it took them 3 weeks to send someone to fix it. At that time it was a small leak and the water was still getting warm. By week 2 it had flooded my garage thank God it was not in my house and I had only cold water by then. I have a baby and no "hot water." Where was the customer service? I had to speak with the manager and pay someone local myself and get reimbursed by residential MD later in order to get my hot water heater fixed sooner than later! Next I had an issue with my toilet. My water bill was $747.00
due to a leaking toilet. They sent a MCEplus and His/Hers plumbing to fix the toilet on 3 different occasions. Really!! Just replace the broke toilet at this point because my water bill was still increasing. Now, I am dealing with a garage door repair with Sears that has been scheduled for an entire month every week with no call no show and where is the accountability and responsibility from Residential MD. I have the gold plan because I am single and if anything breaks, I expect for them to fix with great service. I would not refer this company to my worst enemy. Please compare and check the reviews!!!! Poor customer service and poor service with the company's they contract with.. view less
I am a single woman that enrolled with Residential MD Gold back in 2011 until now(2016). I have lost more money than what the service actually provided me. My first encounter was my A/C which they repaired first and had to come back the following year and replace with a new one. Second was my hot water heater last year that I reported in advance and it took them 3 weeks to send someone to fix
... view more
# 107027
mission hills - CA 11-04-2016
Nancy Parelskin,mission hills CA
Posted On 11/04/16
Review No. 106865
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
as elderly people we get caught up in these scams thinking they will be helpful to use when we have a problem and need someone to fight for us to get the repair done right and timely. Well this company is not the one, have had a broken microwave for 2 months, Repair people they have sent out have been out 4 times, still does not work. When i complained to the company they said there was nothing they could do, well then i guess i just have to cancel hire ligament repair workers and pay the going price or purchase new items. I have been paying this monthly now for 3 years no success. One of the big reason we need companies like this to see that we don't have to go thru the agitation of finding good workers that complete the work on time. We are under the impression that they are working for us. No way am going to cancel, guess you can't get good help anymore. view less
as elderly people we get caught up in these scams thinking they will be helpful to use when we have a problem and need someone to fight for us to get the repair done right and timely. Well this company is not the one, have had a broken microwave for 2 months, Repair people they have sent out have been out 4 times, still does not work. When i complained to the company they said there was
... view more
# 106865
Saint Simons Island - GA 07-12-2016
Michael,Saint Simons Island GA
Posted On 07/12/16
Review No. 103386
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
I have had this program for several years. During the time my A/C went out twice. Each time they could not get anyone to service the unit for 3 to 4 days. It was summer and 100 degrees. It took many calls to the claim department each time to get them to escalate the claim and try to get someone out. It was like if I didn't call back each time they wouldn't try any harder to help. Then they offered me to call someone myself, but they had to agree to work with the warranty company. All the companies around me didn't want to work with the warranty company.

If you are expecting them to be prompt and get your repairs done quickly, look elsewhere. view less
I have had this program for several years. During the time my A/C went out twice. Each time they could not get anyone to service the unit for 3 to 4 days. It was summer and 100 degrees. It took many calls to the claim department each time to get them to escalate the claim and try to get someone out. It was like if I didn't call back each time they wouldn't try any harder to help. Then they
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 103386
Conley - GA 07-06-2016
Elaine Shealey,Conley GA
Posted On 07/06/16
Review No. 103054
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
My elderly father was called via phone and signed up with this company. Three years later I noticed it and asked what it was. He didn't know. I called and found out it was a home warranty. It just so happen his air condition had went out and we were heading for a hot summer. I called the company, he paid his $85.00 service fee, only to find out they said his wire was installed incorrectly and they would not honor the warranty. Before the service went out the air was working fine I explain. I wanted to know what made them say it was installed incorrectly. They said the tech said it looked as if someone had worked on it. No one had worked on the unit. I spoke to a supervisor to no avail. I would not recommend this company to anyone. They still cannot explain to me why they would not honor the contract. This was his first and only claim in three years and for something as simply as a wire being installed incorrectly was not acceptable to me. Please do not make this one of your choices if you are planning on purchasing a home warranty. view less
My elderly father was called via phone and signed up with this company. Three years later I noticed it and asked what it was. He didn't know. I called and found out it was a home warranty. It just so happen his air condition had went out and we were heading for a hot summer. I called the company, he paid his $85.00 service fee, only to find out they said his wire was installed incorrectly
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 103054
Stokcbridge - GA 06-30-2016
Grace Vega,Stokcbridge GA
Posted On 06/30/16
Review No. 102866
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I was tricked by the fraudulent behavior of Ocwen and Residential MD. I unknowingly discovered that I had accepted a 30 day free trial and was being billed for the past 3 years for a warranty I never knew I had. No welcome letter or information package. Found out unknowingly when the warranty company sent a "thank you for being our customer for the past 3 years" letter.
HONESTLY-DON'T SPEND YOUR MONEY. After three years of paying premiums, the first time I attempted to utilize their coverage...A whole lot of run around.
Bottom line- NOTHING was covered. Cancelled policy immediately. view less
I was tricked by the fraudulent behavior of Ocwen and Residential MD. I unknowingly discovered that I had accepted a 30 day free trial and was being billed for the past 3 years for a warranty I never knew I had. No welcome letter or information package. Found out unknowingly when the warranty company sent a "thank you for being our customer for the past 3 years" letter.
HONESTLY-DON'T
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 102866
Westminster - CO 05-21-2016
Richard,Westminster CO
Posted On 05/21/16
Review No. 101084
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Look at the piles of negative reviews before you "sign" with Residential MD!

My hot water heater (on the second floor) started leaking at about 11:30am yesterday. I heard dripping in the ceiling and tracked it down to the hot water heater. I could not find the shut-off to it, so I immediately called Residential MD. That's when the run-around started. At least eight calls, spanning the rest of the business day amounted to Residential MD "assigning" my case to three different plumbers, none of which could come out during the weekend. Ultimately one of them could come out the next day (today).

Meanwhile I was able to find the shut-off and turn off the water, but not before significant drywall damage was done in the ceiling. Most maddening was Residential MD's "assignment" of my case (with leaking water) without actually talking directly to a particular plumber. Each time I would call Residential MD back and say, "I just got a call from ___________, and they can't come out for two days," or, "... mid next week." And then (with hours passing) Residential MD would again "assign" my case to a new plumber, who also couldn't come out.

So, with water leaking, Residential MD could not find me a plumber nor treat the case as an emergency.

It gets much worse!

Finally, one of the reps at Residential MD told me, "Somebody should have told you that in an emergency case like this, you can just hire your own plumber, whoever you can get, and we'll reimburse for the emergency service call." I said, "Yes, somebody should have told me that many hours ago! Meanwhile, damage has been done, and I wouldn't be waiting for days with no water in my house!"

At that moment the call came in on the other line that the (presently here) plumber could come today. By that time, with the water shut-off, I took what I could get. But HOURS earlier I could have lined up my own plumber, that would not have been one in Residential MD's "list." One of the reps at Residential MD told me that "in your area" (the greater Denver area) they had only three plumbers on their list. So, yeah, of course those were all booked up.

So, today the plumber arrived and said, "Yes, we'll have to replace the whole hot water heater. I'll have to order one."

I said, "How long will that take?"

She said, "Typically 3 to 4 days, but it can go as much as 8 days."

I said, "3 to 8 DAYS? That is unacceptable! Let me call Residential MD."

So, I called Residential MD back and said, "Look, there are hot water heaters sitting on the shelf right now, about 1 1/2 miles away, two different major vendors. Why should I have no water in my house for 3 to 8 days?"

This rep said, "Somebody should have told you about our reimbursement option. We can authorize you to go buy a hot water heater yourself, have the plumber install it, and we'll reimburse you for a 'standard replacement.'"

With the plumber listening, I followed up with a litany of questions, such as:

"What is a 'standard replacement?'"

The rep answered: "Well, we'll only reimburse for a 'like kind' replacement. So, you can't buy a 50 or 60 gallon tank to replace your 40 gallon. You can't get a 15 year warranty model, if you have a 6 year warranty model. We will only reimburse up to the amount of replacing the kind of hot water heater you now have."

I asked, "Well, the off-the-shelf unit will probably cost more than what you'd order. But that's the point to it being an 'emergency,' right?"

She laughed and said, "As long as it's a 'like kind' replacement, we'll reimburse you."

So, I went to Home Depot and spent $481.73 (which was the plumber's price, btw) on an absolutely like-kind hot water heater. The plumber picked it up and is installing it as I write this.

I no more than got home when Residential MD called me to tell me the total amount they were authorizing for the replacement, including labor: A little over $680, less my $85 deductible, bringing their total "reimbursement," including labor to about $590.

The plumber tells me that I'm going to own $490 for their labor, and I've already paid $481.73 for the hot water heater.

So, I asked the Residential MD rep how there can be an almost $400 disparity, and she said, "Well, we will only reimburse for your purchase up to what we would have paid had we ordered it, which is $390 for our 'builder grade' hot water heater."

I said, "Wait, this is not how it was explained to me! And you are comfortable to tell a customer, 'Hey, yeah, you don't have water in your house, but, you know, whatever. We'll 'emergency' order you a new hot water heater, and when it comes in after a few days, we'll get somebody to install it.'? I think that's outrageous! This isn't a third-world country, and we're not going to be without water for days to as much as a week! And your rep TOLD me, with the plumber listening, 'Buy a 'like kind' replacement, and we'll reimburse you. That is what I did, and I barely do it and you're already changing the rules."

The rep responded, "Well, you were informed incorrectly, or you didn't correctly understand. We can get that hot water heater for $390, and that's what we'll reimburse. Regarding labor, we have been quoted by other plumbers for 2 1/2 hours of labor. And there's some misc. parts. So, that's how we come up with the amount we'll reimburse."

I said, "But these plumbers that are quoting you haven't even been out to my house! They don't know anything about the job. How can they quote anything with accuracy? The plumber who is HERE knows the whole story, and I have to pay the ACTUAL price the job costs. This is not some on-paper theory about costs. This is what it costs, and this is one of your APPROVED plumber from YOUR LIST that is out here doing the work! So, you should be covering THEIR actual costs, less my deductible."

The rep said, "I'm sorry, but I'm telling you what we will reimburse."

So, I then changed to the drywall damage. I explained the whole run-around I got for hours, while Residential MD "assigned" my case to effectively non-existent plumbers, and while water was leaking.

Long and short, the rep said, "That damage is what we call 'consequential damage' and is not covered by your warranty. We're sorry for the damage and for the delays in getting a plumber out to you. But we don't cover any such damages."

So, in the end, NOBODY at Residential MD took this matter seriously. Every rep I spoke to had a different story. One of the reps explained their reimbursement policy entirely in error. And the net effect of the whole mess is that Residential MD is going to "reimburse" me for barely over half of the actual costs of the job!

And regarding the drywall damage, their line is: Tough luck, buddy.

So, before you buy a policy from Residential MD, take warning! You can be having a flat-out emergency, and their "response" will be hours and hours and hours of run-around, incorrect information, and a pathetic "reimbursement" for your efforts to resolve the emergency yourself (because nobody at Residential MD can be bothered to treat it like an actual emergency." And anything they can call "consequential damages" will be entirely on you to handle.

So, given what I've paid in premiums, coupled with this incident (I don't even know yet what the drywall is going to cost!), being "insured" with Residential MD has been a significant net-loss to me! I would have been far better off to just put the premium each month into a dedicated savings account and not have their "coverage" at all! That is exactly what I now plan to do. If you have the discipline to do likewise, I highly recommend that you "self warranty" rather than pay Residential MD for nothing but hassles, run-around, and incorrect information. view less
Look at the piles of negative reviews before you "sign" with Residential MD!

My hot water heater (on the second floor) started leaking at about 11:30am yesterday. I heard dripping in the ceiling and tracked it down to the hot water heater. I could not find the shut-off to it, so I immediately called Residential MD. That's when the run-around started. At least eight calls,
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 101084
Hartselle - AL 04-29-2016
Mike,Hartselle AL
Posted On 04/29/16
Review No. 100269
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Unlike a lot of the reviews here, I have never had an issue with the company. Of course I knew what I was getting when I signed up and I know how home warranties work. No matter which company you are with there are going to be items that are not covered. My hvac unit went out and I requested a service call, just like all warranty companies that I am familiar with, they contract the work out to a local company, this company came out, did their evaluation and diagnosed that the unit could not be repaired, they dealt directly with the warranty company and received approval for replacement of the unit. And yes there was approximately $700 of non covered charges that I had to pay, but far cheaper than the $4000 - $5000 that a new unit would cost. I had a similar situation with our dishwasher, with it the repair company they sent out was Sears, they replaced the motor in the dishwasher, my only cost was my $85 dollar co-pay, and even though they came out twice (they had to order a part) I only paid one $85 dollar deductible. view less
Unlike a lot of the reviews here, I have never had an issue with the company. Of course I knew what I was getting when I signed up and I know how home warranties work. No matter which company you are with there are going to be items that are not covered. My hvac unit went out and I requested a service call, just like all warranty companies that I am familiar with, they contract the work out
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 100269
Prescott Valley - AZ 04-08-2016
Gregory Dust,Prescott Valley AZ
Posted On 04/08/16
Review No. 99637
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have paid this company for 4 years and the first service on our refrigerator was repaired after 3 service calls. I called for a maintenance service on my ac system which was supposed to be covered by the contract. The service company showed up and without asking put some Freon in one of units stating that it was low, funny since the ac system was working just fine. Then they checked the inside unit and again replaced capacitor without asking or explaining. I asked why after they did it and they told me that it was reading 6 and it should be 7. Really since again the system was working very well. The service company asked for the $85 deductible since they did more than maintenance on the ac system. I paid the $85 feeling that I just got taken but them customer service calls the next day from Residential gold and claims that we own them $102.50 because the contact only covers one ac unit. I pointed that the contract covers the AC SYSTEM in the home according to the contract. The second call from a supervisor claimed the some thing and she claimed that we were to pay the service company not RC $102.50. Not happening and I would not recommend this company and I will be canceling my contract today. view less
I have paid this company for 4 years and the first service on our refrigerator was repaired after 3 service calls. I called for a maintenance service on my ac system which was supposed to be covered by the contract. The service company showed up and without asking put some Freon in one of units stating that it was low, funny since the ac system was working just fine. Then they checked the
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 99637
Naples - FL 10-02-2015
Vera Stegmaier,Naples FL
Posted On 10/02/15
Review No. 92250
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I caution anyone who wants to sign up for Residential MD Insurance to check their reviews and don't sign up!
We have had the Insurance since 2011 and made our first claim about 6 months ago. We have an LG dishwasher and had been experiencing problem with it. We called the Insurance Company and they had their
repair representative company contact us. It has been a total nightmare!!! We still do not have a dishwasher, we were sent a damaged motor, replaced by another motor, and a computer board. When the repair man installed the computer board, the machine would not start. He checked and said they put the wrong motor on the machine and a new one would have to be ordered. We still do not have a dishwasher. There is at least a 2 week wait
between receiving parts and waiting for a repair man to install. We called the company several times, requesting a new machine since we have been so inconvenienced and have lost trust in it being repaired.

BOTTOM LINE: The company does not stand behind the customer and will make no allowance for compensation or ineffective work done by their suggested Repair Service. The Insurance Agents will sweet talk you but nothing is resolved. They will order parts and more parts at $85.00 a visit. We have paid $539.40 for almost 5 years..multiply that and we could have had all new appliances if we put the money aside and not signed up. I caution you. The decision is yours. view less
I caution anyone who wants to sign up for Residential MD Insurance to check their reviews and don't sign up!
We have had the Insurance since 2011 and made our first claim about 6 months ago. We have an LG dishwasher and had been experiencing problem with it. We called the Insurance Company and they had their
repair representative company contact us. It has been a total
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 92250
- AL 07-14-2015
Neil Flowers AL
Posted On 07/14/15
Review No. 89465
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Residental Md Canceled my Policy because I used the warranty under the contact. They failed to nofity me that the membership was being termintaed> I contiuned in Good faith to pay the premium thru My mortage company without having service, I request a refund of overage of premium and the refund was refused.

The Mortage company did not receive notice of termination of coverage and refuses to remove the premium.
I will update this when it is resolved view less
Residental Md Canceled my Policy because I used the warranty under the contact. They failed to nofity me that the membership was being termintaed> I contiuned in Good faith to pay the premium thru My mortage company without having service, I request a refund of overage of premium and the refund was refused.

The Mortage company did not receive notice of termination of
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 89465
Dallas - TX 05-28-2015
Marilyn Walton,Dallas TX
Posted On 05/28/15
Review No. 87678
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I signed up with this company on the advice of a friend. The claim was never answered in a timely manner. I will NEVER use them again. I called about my stopped up bathroom faucet and sink, I had three different folk who were supposed to have come and didn't. I was finally told my situation was not an emergency. I am a diabetic so you know it was. To make a long story short, no one came and when they did come, they came hours later, three days later and by then I had left for another appointment. This was the third company that RMD sent and they told me that I didn't have an emergency! I did. view less
I signed up with this company on the advice of a friend. The claim was never answered in a timely manner. I will NEVER use them again. I called about my stopped up bathroom faucet and sink, I had three different folk who were supposed to have come and didn't. I was finally told my situation was not an emergency. I am a diabetic so you know it was. To make a long story short, no one came and
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 87678
Ball Ground - GA 05-20-2015
Alfred Roberts,Ball Ground GA
Posted On 05/20/15
Review No. 87447
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I pay my warranty premium but when I filed a claim about a non working ceiling fan, a Residential MD electrician showed up, collected my $85 copay and then told me my fan could not be fixed.
I contacted the company who told me to order a new fan ( put the problem back in my hands) and they would reimburse a portion of the cost. When new fan arrived, Residential MD customer service told me I would have to pay for the electrician again to install the fan.
I WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER OFF JUST BUYING A NEW FAN AND ARRANGING INSTALLATION MYSELF.
This company touts itself as being big on customer service but customer no service is more appropriate. NO responses to my email questions and complaints. Meanwhile, I continue to pay a premium for lousy service. My advice to anyone considering... DON'T DO IT. view less
I pay my warranty premium but when I filed a claim about a non working ceiling fan, a Residential MD electrician showed up, collected my $85 copay and then told me my fan could not be fixed.
I contacted the company who told me to order a new fan ( put the problem back in my hands) and they would reimburse a portion of the cost. When new fan arrived, Residential MD customer service told
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 87447
Lithonia - GA 05-18-2015
Bt,Lithonia GA
Posted On 05/18/15
Review No. 87354
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
I have several properties and covered the first with ResMD through my mortgage company. Unlike some others who have posted, I was fully aware of the contract and happily accepted the option - who wouldn't?! they made it sound so wonderful that I would never have to worry about extensive repairs. Even added that if I got the Gold Plan (which I did), I would actually recoup most of the charges by having the free "preventative maintenance" done once a year on the 4 major components of my home (HVAC, Plumbing, Electrical and Major Appliances). So comes the first issue - on a Plumbing Maintenance inspection, the Plumber found that all 3 of my toilets had some leak and needed a gasket type thingy replaced. "what are you talking about? My toilets aren't leaking!" Well yes they are ma'am and it will cost about $300 - $400 to replace/repair. So he called ResMD who promptly denied the claim stating I had been negligent in taking care of the toilets and this was a Pre-existing issue. What?!! how can you take care of something that is not happening? Well I am not the one, so I immediately requested a manager and long story short after I pointed out that the contract covers "pre-existing" conditions, whether or not they really exist, lol!, they paid the claim. Please note that I had only been with ResMD for a few months at that time. Well a few more issues came up and they paid those claims - sometime I had a portion to pay as well but basically had no more trouble. Well got another property and with much arm-twisting, convinced my husband to get another ResMD contract outside of our mortgage. We had it about 3 - 4 months when the A/C stopped working in June in Georgia! We have a big family cookout for the 4th of July keep in mind. So we call, they come out - same old story - Maintenance and pre-existing conditions. We were appalled! So basically you calling us crooks or cheats or something! We let the A/C go out, bought a Warranty and then sat around in the Georgia heat until we could safely place a claim?! If you don't get your butts out here and fix this darn thing you will be facing a lawsuit and we gonna contact the Insurance Commissioners who regulate you as well! Again, long story short, and after many calls, much complaining and some extremely hot days, they finally agreed to the work. By now we are 3-4 days before our family event and the a/c is critical. The first thing they replace, the condenser, worked for one day and then the a/c was out again. Now we gotta get them to escalate the dispatch, escalate ordering the part, which was a fan, and escalate the install. Again, a very problematic and frustrating process, but they got it done. Bottom line, at least in our minds, if you are new to their contract, they will find a reason not to honor the contract. Also, if your repair is major, they will find a reason not to honor. Just had another issue with our a/c motor, and guess what? They did not honor - it was $300 to repair out of our pockets. Also, just to make sure I had the right information, I spoke to 4 different reps and asked each the same question - does your 'preventative maintenance' that you do as a part of the Gold Plan suffice for the 'maintenance' requirement? Each one said yes it does. I spoke to a manager who advised they do not do maintenance, they do "checks" to let customer's know if a potential problem is lurking. Customer is still responsible for yearly maintenance that is done by a licensed company (such as HVAC) in order for the warranty to be honored. Res MD is kinda tricky, but for the most part, I've been able to get them to honor their contract - just takes some calls, arguing, frustration, letter-writing and complaining. view less
I have several properties and covered the first with ResMD through my mortgage company. Unlike some others who have posted, I was fully aware of the contract and happily accepted the option - who wouldn't?! they made it sound so wonderful that I would never have to worry about extensive repairs. Even added that if I got the Gold Plan (which I did), I would actually recoup most of the charges
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 87354
Richmond - VA 05-11-2015
Beverly Bennett,Richmond VA
Posted On 05/11/15
Review No. 87149
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
My Mother has a Residential MD warranty. When she turned on her AC for the 1st time this year she noticed a smell and turned it off. The unit was bought new and installed in 2011. She called the warranty company, who in turn sent out their service contractor. They assessed the problem, left my mother with a laundry list of items to be repaired and she never heard back from them. My Mom is a recent widow, 85 yrs old, and the temperature was in the 80's all week. She is a trusting person and doesn't complain. I visited twice and noticed that it was hot, when I asked her to turn on the AC, that's when she told me the problem.

I called the repair service company and was told that the issues(drain line and case coil) were not covered by the warranty policy and it would cost $995+ possibly a lot more to repair. I asked if the $85 service fee would be applied to the repair and they informed me that the fee goes to Residential MD.

So essentially, my Mother is paying her warranty policy fee and a service fee and the full cost of repairs. Even though she has the gold plan, nothing seems to be covered. view less
My Mother has a Residential MD warranty. When she turned on her AC for the 1st time this year she noticed a smell and turned it off. The unit was bought new and installed in 2011. She called the warranty company, who in turn sent out their service contractor. They assessed the problem, left my mother with a laundry list of items to be repaired and she never heard back from them. My Mom is
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 87149
SAN DIEGO - CA 01-26-2015
RYAN H,SAN DIEGO CA
Posted On 01/26/15
Review No. 84470
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have also just discovered the fraudulent behavior of Ocwen and Residential MD. The $54.95 charge was added to my mortgage bill. I have since called Ocwen and had them cancel the warranty account and I am in the process of filling out an online complaint with the state attorney general's office. Meanwhile I have sent them a bill for a repair that was completed a couple of weeks ago before I knew that I had a warranty contract. view less
I have also just discovered the fraudulent behavior of Ocwen and Residential MD. The $54.95 charge was added to my mortgage bill. I have since called Ocwen and had them cancel the warranty account and I am in the process of filling out an online complaint with the state attorney general's office. Meanwhile I have sent them a bill for a repair that was completed a couple of weeks ago before I
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 84470
SIMPSONVILLE - SC 11-10-2014
Katie,SIMPSONVILLE SC
Posted On 11/10/14
Review No. 80949
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Terrible. I have been without a dryer for almost a month! 2 service men, 4 visits. Very unprofessional service men. I would have been scared to have the first one in the house if my husband had not happened to be home. I am now waiting to be contacted by the delivery company and it will be 3-5 business days from when they call me. I have called them at least 15 times. Any time I have gotten any info, it has been because I have called them. I will be cancelling. view less
Terrible. I have been without a dryer for almost a month! 2 service men, 4 visits. Very unprofessional service men. I would have been scared to have the first one in the house if my husband had not happened to be home. I am now waiting to be contacted by the delivery company and it will be 3-5 business days from when they call me. I have called them at least 15 times. Any time I have
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 80949
Memphis - TN 08-18-2014
Mary I Johnson,Memphis TN
Posted On 08/18/14
Review No. 77134
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Compressor went out on air conditioner and contacted residential md.Sent out tech and was told that compressor was bad.I then was told that the compressor would be replaced,but I would have to pay $300 for disposal of old unit.So what are they really paying for.Very unhappy with this service.What a rip-off.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 77134
Concord - CA 07-10-2014
Alexandros Gourtzelis,Concord CA
Posted On 07/10/14
Review No. 75166
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The top oven broke on my dual oven and so far we've had 4 technicians come out all but one of which didn't know what they were doing. One even tried fixing the lower oven which has been working the whole time even though he was told the top was broke. After each visit the technician says he needs to order a new part. After the first time, presumably because other parts are more expensive, Residential MD says they are not going to pay for it because it has been tampered with when their authorized technicians have been the only ones to touch it. When I finally get them to come out again, at $85 each time, the new technician never has an idea what the last one did and doesn't seem to have the right parts because there's another part he needs to order. The last one didn't even bring a part and then told us the previous technicians replaced the wrong parts and to stop using it because it isn't safe and that I may now need a completely new one. I now have an oven that is in worse shape and they are refusing to answer my calls. It seems only a scam to me. I'm considering my legal options now and filing any and every report I can. view less
The top oven broke on my dual oven and so far we've had 4 technicians come out all but one of which didn't know what they were doing. One even tried fixing the lower oven which has been working the whole time even though he was told the top was broke. After each visit the technician says he needs to order a new part. After the first time, presumably because other parts are more expensive,
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 75166
Concord - CA 07-10-2014
Alex Gourtzelis,Concord CA
Posted On 07/10/14
Review No. 75152
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Put a repair request on June 3. Service Co. came in,looked around the oven and indicated that one of the two circuit boards had to be replaced. The board was replaced two weeks later and the unit still did not work. He repairman indicated that the other board needed replacement. He left and we received a call from Residential MD that the repair co. indicated that someone had tampered with the other circuit board and they would not repaired it. Why didn't he notice this in his first visit when he figured that one of the boards needed replacement. The two boards are right next to each other. Following my conversation with Residential MD they sent another co out. This new co. looked at the unit and said the board is not the issue and that the unit had to be replaced by Residential MD. The we get a call from them saying that they will not repairing the unit since someone had tampered with the unit. My question is why did the first service man replaced one board and when it was time to replace the second one it became a tampering issue. I guess they are saying that the unit was working properly and it was tampered with and that's why it does not work. it does not make any sense. Another case of collecting your money and when it is time to do repairs, they find all kinds of reasons not to repair it. STAY AWAY FROM THEM AND IF YOU HAVE AN ACCOUNT CANCEL IT NOW BEFORE THEY STEAL MORE OF YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! view less
Put a repair request on June 3. Service Co. came in,looked around the oven and indicated that one of the two circuit boards had to be replaced. The board was replaced two weeks later and the unit still did not work. He repairman indicated that the other board needed replacement. He left and we received a call from Residential MD that the repair co. indicated that someone had tampered with
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 75152
Romulus - MI 07-07-2014
Doreen Schifano,Romulus MI
Posted On 07/07/14
Review No. 74859
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have Residential Md gold home warranty service and wil NOT be reccomending them to anyone! I had a tankless water heater that was no longer heating up the water unless the pressure was very low. It was an older unit(probably 15 years +) and had not been descaled in a long time and the service compay hired by Residential MD Gold "thought" that would fix it. It didn't and almost 2 months later when they finally got a "second opinion" company to come out,they said the vent pipe was the wrong diameter and that because of the innapropriate installation of this water heater....that's why it failed and NOT the sediment build up. I call BS!! If that was the case it would have failed years ago and it's obvious that they just didn't want to cover it because it would be expensive. So not only did they hire a company that didn't know enough about tankless hot water heaters to tell me anything on the first trip what the problem was...they also took 2 months of me calling repeatedly(approx 5 times)to even get a quote and then they say they won't cover it. I'm disgusted at their claim to make home ownership easy. This was anything but easy and now they have over $600 of my money for NOTHING! I am not willing to give them another chance to waste my time and money on a BS service. view less
I have Residential Md gold home warranty service and wil NOT be reccomending them to anyone! I had a tankless water heater that was no longer heating up the water unless the pressure was very low. It was an older unit(probably 15 years +) and had not been descaled in a long time and the service compay hired by Residential MD Gold "thought" that would fix it. It didn't and almost 2 months later
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 74859
Germantown - MD 07-03-2014
Bonnie Jackson,Germantown MD
Posted On 07/03/14
Review No. 74679
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have been with 'Redsidential MD Home Warranty' since 05/19/2012. The first time that I ever filed a claim was on 05/29/2014. Water was leaking on my 'unfinished' basement floor. The AC guy came out and determined that the hose for the air conditioner had a blockage. He fixed it and it's been fine ever since. Of course, this was not a major problem. The true test of their service will be when/if I need to place a claim for a substantial repair/replacement. I'm wondering if I will I run into any of the road blocks identified in the previous reviews that have been posted by the many dissatisfied 'Redsidential MD Home Warranty' customers? I want to remain optimistic but I'll have to wait and see...or maybe, I'll shop around for another quality Home Warranty company to see if they fair any better. I read most of the posted reviews which are extremely helpful. view less
I have been with 'Redsidential MD Home Warranty' since 05/19/2012. The first time that I ever filed a claim was on 05/29/2014. Water was leaking on my 'unfinished' basement floor. The AC guy came out and determined that the hose for the air conditioner had a blockage. He fixed it and it's been fine ever since. Of course, this was not a major problem. The true test of their service will be
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 74679
Austin - TX 06-21-2014
Bryan,Austin TX
Posted On 06/21/14
Review No. 74274
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I am interested in joining a class action suit as well. I have 2 properties. In addition to the Residential Gold program, I was also enrolled in Residential Referral, which the CSR could not explain. I have paid over $1000 to these scam artists over the past year. I seriously wonder how people who work for this company sleep at night.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 74274
Jupiter - FL 06-16-2014
Stephanie Allport,Jupiter FL
Posted On 06/16/14
Review No. 74111
3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
This a follow-up for post #48. So far this claim has been handled in a timely and satisfactory manner. RMD is replacing my entire outside A/C unit. I only have to pay a nominal fee for permitting and disposal.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 74111
SAN ANTONIO - TX 06-09-2014
WILLIAM PARKER,SAN ANTONIO TX
Posted On 06/09/14
Review No. 73862
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
WE HAVE HAD THIS WARRANTY FOR ABOUT 3 YEARS THRU OUR MORTGAGE COMPANY.THE SERVICE HAS BEEN SUBPAR TO SAY THE LATEST.WE HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS.THE LATEST HAS BEEN WITH OUR A/C.WE HAVE HAD THIS UNIT SERVICED TWICE A YEAR.IT'S AN OLD UNIT AND WE LIVE IN TEXAS,SO WE ARE CAREFUL TO TAKE CARE OF IT BECAUSE OF THE HEAT.IT WAS NOT COOLING EFFECTIVELY,SO WE CALLED RMD.THE TECHNICIAN SAID IT WAS DUE TO POOR MAINTAINENCE AND THE COIL NEEDED TO BE CHANGED.WE DISAGREED AND HAD A SECOND OPINION.AGAIN,IT WAS THE COIL BUT THE SECOND DID'NT SAY IT WAS POOR MAINTAINCE.WE CALLED RMD MULTIPLE TIMES,NEVER SPEAKING TO THE SAME PERSON TWICE,SAID A SUPERVISOR WOULD CALL BACK-THEY NEVER DID.NOW,WE HAVE MADE A COMPLIANT TO OUR MORTGAGE COMPANY AND ARE CONSIDERING CHANGING TO ANOTHER WARRANTY COMPANY. view less
WE HAVE HAD THIS WARRANTY FOR ABOUT 3 YEARS THRU OUR MORTGAGE COMPANY.THE SERVICE HAS BEEN SUBPAR TO SAY THE LATEST.WE HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS.THE LATEST HAS BEEN WITH OUR A/C.WE HAVE HAD THIS UNIT SERVICED TWICE A YEAR.IT'S AN OLD UNIT AND WE LIVE IN TEXAS,SO WE ARE CAREFUL TO TAKE CARE OF IT BECAUSE OF THE HEAT.IT WAS NOT COOLING EFFECTIVELY,SO WE CALLED RMD.THE TECHNICIAN SAID IT WAS DUE
... view more
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 73862
Lakeville - MN 06-09-2014
William Sather,Lakeville MN
Posted On 06/09/14
Review No. 73861
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I also got one of the checks to confirm enrollment and had no trouble determining I was entering a contract, I even called them to clarify some points in the contract. My heat pump failed a year or so after I bought the warranty and Residential MD replaced the unit completely in a very timely manner and called several times to make sure the work was being done. I am very impressed by this company.
 Rate this review: Add rating  Subtract rating  
# 73861
PreviousNext

Rate this company

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact residentialmd.com directly.