ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN sacramento, california

Average Premium In california

Min Average Premium in california Max $ 313.92 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.
city icon CITY: Sacramento
country icon COUNTRY: Sacramento County
state icon STATE: CA
population icon POPULATION: 757530
area code icon AREA CODE: 916
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 94203, 94204, 94205, 94206, 94207
thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
TOTAL HOME PROTECTION
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in sacramento, california

feature_icon

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They have more than 35 years of experience in the industry. They offer several benefits to their customers, including flexible payment options, 30 days money-back guarantee, unlimited service calls, etc.

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

2-10 Home Buyers Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Founded in 1980, 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty has protected more than 5.8 million homes across the United States. Their policy comes into effect 30 days following the purchase of a warranty plan.

sacramento Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Diana J Davis, Sacramento

On Feb 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

As usual American Home Shield sent an extremely knowledgable technician. The problem was found immediately and fixed just as fast. Every time something goes wrong I feel confident it will be taken care of. This is important for an older senior living alone not to worry. It is also a big savings and I\'m very grateful to have found this policy. I have friends that have a great deal of trouble with their Home Warranty experiences. As soon as their companies pay them what they owe them they will change to American Home Shield.

Icon

Dee Lee, Sacramento

On Jan 28, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The home warranty sent a contractor to my home that serviced a plumbing issue. My garbage disposal was replaced, however, my toilet needed more service. The ******* Plumbing ******* was the company. The contractor ***** gave me a quote of $125 to install my new toilet that I purchased. The quote also included labor and haul away of the old toilet. I requested to replace 3 toilets. The total would have been $375. The ******* Plumbing ******* gave me a second quote after I scheduled an appointment stating that the job would cost $525, $175/per toilet. They canceled my appointment and refused to honor the quote that their employee gave me because they wanted more money.

Icon

Pamela, Sacramento

On Dec 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I appreciate the promptness with how my service was rendered. The first service dispatched was not equipped to provide the service I needed but I called AHS back and I was immediately given a new service dispatch.

Icon

Nancy F, Sacramento

On Dec 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Save your money! I have a slow drain in my utility sink that affects the kitchen sink as well and when I do a full load of laundry, the sink overflows and swamps my garage. I submitted a service request to American Home Shield (AHS) and got a plumber referral quickly (November 2, 2020). However, this plumber had only the basic tools/skills and could not resolve my problem. He told me I needed someone with a jetter and that AHS would probably send another guy like him before sending me someone with a jetter. He was right! They have now sent THREE plumbing services, none of whom have a jetter and I have wasted many hours of MY TIME, both on the phone trying to get this resolved or waiting for a plumber who does not have the right equipment to show up and tell me they can't fix it but will recommend that AHS send someone with a jetter! If I could give customer service ZERO STARS I would. When you call to talk to someone, they can't seem to resolve the problem either. After several fruitless calls where I was told they would look into it and call me back and never did, I finally asked to speak to a supervisor. This was about the fourth day of my calling and I still got the runaround where they told me how they are trained to handle all problems (blah blah blah) and then finally that "supervisors do not take calls." They read from a script and make you very frustrated, but nothing seems to get done. The last time I called and wasted yet more of my time (I've called about 5 times now), the agent said I was approved and that they would send someone with a jetter. This did not happen. The guy today said he would also say I needed a jetter, but if they sent someone from another company, they may not do it the first time either. Is this going to go on indefinitely? Seems so. I will cancel at the end of my contract. I've had AHS for years now, but only used them once or twice. I now see that when I really need work done (for heavens sake it is only clearing a plumbing line), they are not there for me even though they deduct that monthly fee from my account promptly each month. It is now December 3, 2020 (over ONE MONTH since the first referral!) and I still have the same problem with no results. I would really like to do a full load of laundry in the near future. Like I said, save your money! For me it is probably cheaper and much less frustrating to just pay out of pocket when I need service.

Icon

Chiara T, Sacramento

On Sep 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

If you want to call to make a service request, it’s almost an hour long wait. Much easier to request online. Pleased with the tech who took care of all our appliance issues.

Icon

Lynn Keys, Sacramento

On May 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This was my first time using my AHS and I am satisfied with the service I received from Sun Breeze. I also like how easy it is to schedule an appoint on the AHS site.

Icon

Kadija Phillips, Sacramento

On Dec 29, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great experience

Icon

Nicole Peyret, Sacramento

On Dec 13, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Appreciate the convenience of scheduling my request online.

Icon

Joyce Ward, Sacramento

On Nov 16, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Speedy, friendly, and quality service. My leaky sink was fixed right the first time.

Icon

Linda, Sacramento

On Aug 03, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Plumbing issue in my home and contacted AHS. Their plumber wasn't available on the weekend and wasn't available to do the repairs for another 2 weeks. I was left with no working bathroom or kitchen due to the leak discovered in my main pipe. I asked AHS to give authorization to have an outside plumber who was available immediately to fix my plumbing problem! The plumber is licensed and insured as required. Due to my emergency plumbing issue I asked for a one time approval to use an outside plumber since their AHS plumber was not available. AHS refused and not willing to work with customers. They are rigid and won't make accomodations given emergency plumbing situations.

Icon

GeorgeAnn Leslie, Sacramento

On Jul 03, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Yesterday American Home Shield sent a plumber out to my house from MSE Plumbing. He spent all of about 20 minutes here. He tipped the front of the toilet stated it was not level and needed shimmed. This was after I had told him the was ring was replaced about a years ago and that the water in the bowel was getting lower and there was a knocking sound in my wall. The Plumbers response was "We do not shim". Being almost 75 I haven't pulled a toilet in about 20 years, the plumber suggested I go to Home Depot and purchase shims and have them installed. When I called American Home Shield to find out what the message was that they left this morning (I couldn't understand what was being said in part because of static and in part because the person didn't speak decent English. American Home Shield they wanted to schedule another appointment with MSE, which made no sense as they had already decided that they would not fix the problem, even though they did nothing much to determine what the problem was. Bottom line I have had a policy with American Home Shield for over 2 years; have used it once for this toilet and paid over $800 for the coverage. The first service call cost me an additional $100 and this so called service call yesterday is costing me another $100, I could have saved this amount, paid what I consider a real plumber and still had money left over. I cancelled the account immediately today and was told it would take 24-36 hours to cancel it. I would get a letter of confirmation within 20-31 days confirming it, I could not be provided a confirmation number today for the cancellation. In reviewing the contract since last year, They increased the cost of the coverage and never notified me.

Icon

Mgm, Sacramento

On Jun 17, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

First hot day of the year and AC doesn\'t turn on. AHS was able to get a repair worker out in a few days. Technician was able to assess problem and within a very short time, was able to repair. Roger of Salyers AC was very professional and knowledgeable. I also appreciated the updates re the appointment time and expected arrival of technician from AHS. Very, very pleased.

Icon

John William Pashenee, Sacramento

On May 14, 2019

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Warning Dont shop at Lowes Purchased Power washer and Lowes with an extended warranty. After 6 months the power washer stopped starting due to a spring coming out. took it in and it took 7 days for a callback Lowes sent it to Altaquip. Altaquip sent back saying the problem was stale gas? making the Carburetor go bad so it was my fault? This could be on 20/20 as a bad repair diagnosis because all that's missing is a spring. I wrestled with Lowes because the are going to take AltiQuips word over mine the customer. Dont shop at Lowes and dont buy a warranty they wont honor it

Icon

Susan Reid, Sacramento

On Jan 02, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have had AHS since 2007, minus one year when I did not renew. That was a mistake, as that year our water heater died! They\'ve sent technicians out on most major appliances including washer, dishwasher, stove and microwave. We also have pool warranty. The quality of technicians has been a bit hit and miss over the years, but recently AHS has upped its game. The customer service is GREAT now. Very proactive in scheduling appointments and notifying us of ETA. They replaced my microwave when the control board on ours crapped out and mfr does not make that model anymore. We got a decent budget for replacement, too. Very impressed. FINALLY my dishwasher works. The technician who came out last month actually diagnosed the problem by taking the machine apart. Previously, we've been given little "fixes" we should do ourselves that (surprise) never fixed the problem! My only bad experience was the summer of extended heatwave and our A/C went out. I know AHS was overwhelmed with demand, but we ended up hiring a contractor offline because they couldn't get anyone to come out timely. My AHS membership pays for itself (almost) every year.

Icon

Susan Fonner, Sacramento

On Dec 20, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

good rates and the best thing is they allow you to make monthly payments and have several plans to choose from to suit your warranty needs. Just had a plumber come out and work was done surprisingly fast and accurately!

Icon

Jeremy Olaguer, Sacramento

On Sep 07, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company is the worst example of customer service and a SCAM. Average wait times is 30 minutes to 1 hour to speak to a representative. They will put you on hold and hang up on you. The contractor that sent was to my home was there for 5 to 10 minutes and based on his expert opinion they denied my claim because it was pre-existing and did not notify me by email, phone, or letter. It took me two hours and 3 calls to cancel services. Agents will refuse for you to speak to a manager. Agent refused to provide proof my services cancelled. Also, no refund is allowed since service was rendered.

Icon

Debbe Wallace, Sacramento

On Aug 16, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very Happy with our Plan to date! A very good investment for the payments.

Icon

Jimmy Buckley, Sacramento

On Mar 17, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Service Provider: South Placer Heating and Air Roseville, Ca. Requested service because furnace was turning on and off within a short period of time and not keeping the home warm, not matter how the wall display was adjusted. My first complaint is that each time a service provider/technician came to the home it was a different repairman. Situation: After the first repairman came, he initially could find anything wrong with the furnace. After he was shown, pictures take of the furnace with rust and water leakage, he decided to take another look and determined it was the heat exchanger that caused the problems. He left and completed the paperwork necessary to have the furnace replaced. After a week of no heat and appointment was scheduled to have the furnace replaced. During the replacement, the trim around the access door in the ceiling to the furnace was damaged and replaced incorrectly. The newly replaced furnace still didn't work properly. I was told that one of the drain lines was improperly installed and water had accumulated in the pan. This new technician drain the water and re-routed the drain. On the third attempt to repair the furnace, I was told that on the third attempt to repair, the company sends out a SENIOR TECHNICAN. He found a part was damaged , so he used duct/electrical tap to repair the broken line until the replacement part could be found and installed. Meanwhile, he said it was okay to use the furnace but be vigilant about monitoring the carbon monoxide detectors and if the carbon monoxide detector activate turn off the furnace immediately. We are thankful that the detectors did not activate because it was cold throughout this period that the furnace was being replaced. In the mean time, a carpenter was sent out to repair the trim and paint the trim around the access door. After a few days the replacement part was ready to install. The technician arrived to install the part but found that the access door had been nailed shut, so he had to destroy the work that the carpenter had done to gain access to install the part. We have called to have the carpenter return to correctly repair and paint the trim to the access door. After dealing with South Placer Heating and Air in regards to repair of my Air Conditioner, I had made a request to AHS that we did not use them to replace FURNACE, however AHS sent them anyway. My impression is that they are incompetent and for AHS to be associated with them only taints your representation for excellent service. Having two technicians involved before a competent and experienced on is sent to diagnose and solve the problem is a waste of the homeowner's time and wears on their patience, not only in this case being very cold Last comment is that most provider coming to your home will use some shoe protection so that your carpets and hardwood floors are not soiled or damage. Since access was in the attic there was some insulation they fell on the clothes and floor. They neither wore protection or cleanup the insulation. I would not recommend the use of this provider. At least now, we have heat. Jimmy R. Buckley, Homeowner Velma Johnson PS. This Process started on or before January 24, 2018

Icon

G Moore, Sacramento

On Jan 04, 2018

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

STAY AWAY FROM THEIR PROTECTION PLUS PLAN! Started coverage on our Maytag washer when we purchased then let it expire - restarted the coverage last year. Called in for service and they could never find my new policy - kept telling me my coverage had expired. Took 4 weeks and 2 service visits before they decided it was not feasible to fix. After that silence. Eventually I called in multiple times - same story your coverage is cancelled until they would actually look at the file and see that I gave them the new reference id. Multiple times promised that someone would call back - no calls. Opened up a Better Business Bureau complaint and received a call the very next day. They indicated that they will issue a payout 'as a courtesy as my policy expired' - even though I have an active policy - f'n amazing! Unfortunately the payout will be on a Lowes gift card - not really a company I want to do business with. If you do plan on purchasing a plan only buy the plan for a year - cause if they buyout you appliance they will not prorate the amount on your plan! I was stupid and bought a multi year policy so in reality Lowes is only out a few bucks! And if you ever have issues make sure to open a BBB complaint - seems to move them in the right direction.

Icon

Lynn K, Sacramento

On Oct 30, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

As others have written, hold times on the phone are extremely long. Online scheduling works best. Contractor responsiveness is very quick. My only issue is at what point do they say, enough is enough, let\'s get a new one. For example, a service tech has been out three times for my microwave. Each time I pay $75.00. So I have already paid $225 in co-pays to fix an aging microwave plus the time it take to be off work to meet the repair person. I could have had a brand new microwave instead for what it has cost me so far.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE