ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

  Home  /  us  /  California
last_updated_icon Last updated: September 7, 2020

Home Warranties in California

Here is an exclusive list of top home warranty companies in California to help homeowners select an ideal home warranty plan. HomeWarrantyReviews.com has compiled this list by collecting numerous reviews and ratings from the existing customers. The consumer reviews, combined with in-depth research by the editorial team, will help you pick out a plan that perfectly fits your needs.

Expensive systems or appliances breaking down can stir up quite a bit of hassle. A home warranty plan can save you a great deal of time and money by swiftly swinging into action, and all it takes is just a phone call to register your complaint.

Best Home Warranty Companies In California

American Home Shield (AHS)
4
/ 5
Based on 13,748 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated

The option to Build-Your-Own Plan to pick and choose particular items that you want protected.

PRICING

$299 - $500+

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $125

The Home Service Club
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,914 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service

Contract comes into effect within ten days of purchase to ensure all your devices are secured for the future.

PRICING

$400

SERVICE FEE

$95

Select Home Warranty
4
/ 5
Based on 4,331 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

Offers coverage for mobile homes so that your devices are protected on the move.

Offer(s) Available:

GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE & FREE ROOF COVERAGE
PRICING

$299 - $499

SERVICE FEE

$60

First American Home Warranty
3
/ 5
Based on 1,926 Reviews
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

Limitless service call claims for all customers during their one-year policy.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$75

Home Warranty of America
2.5
/ 5
Based on 2,198 Reviews
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996

The option to opt for a 13 month home warranty plan that provides exceptional services.

PRICING

$275 - $695

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

A Glimpse At Average Premium In California

The average premium in California is $318.83 and deductible is $40.72. To give you a better idea, we have created a graph, where the X-axis represents price of the premium and Y-axis displays number of homeowners.

Coverage in California (CA) major towns:

Anaheim Bakersfield Fresno
Long Beach Los Angeles Oakland
Sacramento San Diego San Francisco

Population : 37,249,542

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of California

We have made a list of top home warranty plans offered by popular home warranty companies in California. Customers can learn more about their offerings and service and choose a home warranty that suits them the best.

American Home Shield (AHS) has some of the best home warranty plans for Californian residents. It offers three plans: the Systems plan that covers 11 critical home systems, the Appliances plan that protects 10 essential appliances, and the Combo Plan that provides coverage on all 21 systems and appliances.

The home service Club has two plans based on the extent of your coverage needs. They are the Standard Coverage and the Comprehensive Coverage.

Select Home Warranty offers Gold care plan, Platinum Care plan, and Bronze Care plan. You can get free roof coverage under all 3 plans.

If you are searching for the best home warranty coverage, then here by getting a free home warranty quote from the company of your choice.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In California

  1. Atherton, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Palo Alto, Ross are some of the most expensive cities in California. The malfunction of home devices and systems is an added burden because of the high costs to repair and replace. It is recommended to buy a home warranty plan with lower premiums to ease the financial strain when living in such expensive places.
  2. Before deciding on which kinds of appliances and systems you require coverage for, ask yourself whether a particular device is expensive to repair or replace. If it is so, then buy a home warranty to protect them.
  3. Whether or not a particular appliance or a home system is crucial for the continuous functioning of your house should also be a point to consider.
  4. The extent of the coverage that you want also depends on your level of expertise in getting the repair job done. A home warranty coverage not only helps you save a lot but also lets you get access to professional repair services. So, if you are a person who knows how to fix most of your appliances, then it is a good thing. You would be saving even more. The only things that you would require coverage on are the bigger systems that are out of your league.
  5. But if you are quite inexperienced about fixing appliances, then go for a plan that also covers smaller repairs and replacements. Also, look out for plans that let you get add-ons and cover items like pipe-leak repair and roof repair coverage.
  6. Buy warranty plans from companies that allow you to build your own plan, which means that you get to choose the appliances and systems as per your requirements to be included in the coverage. This saves you from paying monthly premiums on those devices that you either don't own or on the ones that require very little maintenance.
  7. Some companies offer home warranty discounts for your second home. So hunting for such can save you a considerable amount of money.
  8. If you move into a pre-owned home, then it is best that you get a home warranty plan with comprehensive coverage that protects old appliances and systems.

California Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Weather conditions in California consist of cool to mild winters and warm to hot summers. The following varied weather conditions in California affect and influence the duration of the functionality of your home appliances and systems.

Rainfall occurs from October to April. There is a high level of moisture content in the air during this time, which when your appliances are exposed to, gradually renders them non-functional.You could also face the problem of erratic performance of devices. This is because of the damage meted out to the resistors, diodes, and capacitors by the monsoon season. But with the assurance of a California home warranty plan, you could get your devices repaired easily and quickly.

The cold Californian weather can damage some of your home appliances and systems, usually when they are kept in the garage or the basement, where the temperature is comparatively lower than other home spaces. If your refrigerator is kept in such places, then you can expect it to stop functioning any time soon. So, if you want to get repairs done cheaply and quickly, get a California home warranty.

California Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Read reviews about different home warranty companies that provide services in California. This will help you gain better insight into the quality of services that they provide. Our website lists reviews on home warranty companies and their services in California. They provide insightful information. Reviews about home warranty companies and their services help you make the right decision.

Icon

Nathan Mueller, La Quinta

On Nov 21, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Our air conditioning stopped working in July. We filed a service request and the repair company got the air conditioning working again. Because we\'re in the southern California desert, we\'ve had no need for heating, but we do participate in a program of semi-annual inspections and our HVAC company doing the inspection informed us that in repairing the AC in July, the repair person had disconnected the heating control wire and turned off the gas to our furnace so that when we needed heat during the winter it wouldn't work. The company doing the inspection diagnosed the issue as a bad control board. I contacted AHS 1. They stated that because 60 days had passed they couldn't recall the company that did the AC repair and left the heat disabled. 2. I then asked that they waive the trip charge, since this should have all been addressed at the time of the original repair. They refused. 3. I asked that they have the company that had just diagnosed the bad circuit board complete the repair (that company IS also a service provider for AHS, in fact that's how we found them). Since they had already been on site and made the diagnosis it seemed unnecessary for me to pay another provider to come and diagnose the same thing. AHS refused. 4. I insisted on speaking to a supervisor, who called me back and asked me to hold while he contacted the repair company that disabled the heat in July. Because I was about to enter a work meeting, I asked that he call me back instead. He promised to call me back after my 2-hour meeting but I've not heard from him since. On some level I can understand the 60-day limit on recalling the repair person, but there's no reasonable way we could determine what the repair person had done to our heating system until months later when we finally did try to turn the heat on. The company should be willing to make exceptions for these types of circumstances.

Icon

Candy Capogrossi, Berkeley

On Nov 14, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Until recently I was very happy with AHS.It has now been 2 months with a broken dishwasher and stove top.I have been promised a cash buyout as the parts are not available and have spent hours and hours on the phone.Thanksgiving is coming up and I need my Appliances to be working.That’s why you buy insurance!Help!!!!’

Icon

odanel maldonado, Santa Clarita

On Nov 14, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

On 11/03/2020, I submitted a claim to American Home Shield and paid them the $100 deductible. A couple of days later I received a message from American Home Shield stating that the contractor (active appliances Inc.) had attempted to reach me but were not able to. I immediately called active appliance and told them that I never received a call from them and wanted to know why they informed American Home Shield that they had attempted to reach me via phone. The agent stated that she was not aware of the message and went ahead and scheduled an appointment for 11/10/2020. I tried to get a sooner appointment but she said that was the soonest they can make it to the house. The technician from active appliance arrived on 11/10/2020. After inspecting the washer, he stated that there was nothing wrong with it, as he was running a cycle. After running it for about 9 minutes, he stated that any problems were possibly caused by my wife using too much soap. My wife explained to him that she goes by the measurements on the washer soap compartment. He stated that the information on there was wrong and to use less soap (I guess the manufacturer, Samsung, doesnt know what theyre doing). He then stated that the problem could also be that she was not using high efficiency soap. As a safety measure I got the bottle of soap that we use and pointed out to him that it stated on the label "high efficiency." He then reassure us that there was nothing wrong with the washer. I called my wife over to get more details about when the problem occurred (knocking noice, shaking, and burned rubber smell). After my wife informed him that the problem occurred in the spinning cycle, the technician ran the washer through a complete cycle. Once he heard the noise and shaking coming from the dishwasher, he asked how old the washer was. I told him that weve had it for about eight years. He stated that the problem was that the seal between the drum & door had worn out due to wear and tear and that he was surprised it lasted that long because they usually only last five-six years. He also stated that a support had possibly broken inside and that he was going to submit a quote to the warranty company. Lastly, he stated not to expect too much because it was a two-technician job and that it was going to be very expensive to fix it. On 11/11/2020, I received an email from American Home Shield stating that my warranty had limitations and to call them for details. I immediately called however, it appeared that they agent was working from home because there was a lot of background noise, including chickens and wind gusts. The agent placed me on hold but never came back to the phone. I called back shortly after and spoke an agent. The agent stated that per the technician, the problem was caused by overloading the washer and that it was not covered under their terms and conditions. I explained to the agent that the technician told us that the damage to the washer was caused through wear and tear because the washer was too old. The agent stated that unfortunately the claim will not be covered based on the technician diagnostics. I then asked the agent to email me a copy of the diagnostics. The agent stated that it was not possible because they did not have the capability and told to contact active appliance to get the details. I also asked the how agent that how would the technician know we overload the washer or not? If the the problem was caused by overloading, why did the problem occur eight years later? I then called active appliance and spoke with a customer service representative. I explained to her what the technician told me caused the issue and what American Home Shield was telling me. I additionally requested a copy of the diagnostics. The representative explained to me that per their contract with American Home Shield, they were not allowed to disclose the technicians diagnostics or email copies. She also stated that American Home Shield is the only one that can disclose any diagnostics to me and advised me to call them back. I again called American Home Shield and requested to speak to a manager. ****, pulled up my information and stated that she would transfer me to a manager. After being on hold for about six minutes, the call was terminated. I called American Home Shield again and spoke with another agent. The agent stated that she would transfer me to a manager but needed to pull up my information first. After pulling up my information, she read the diagnostics to me and told me that the claim was denied due to the tubs being damaged by overloading the washer. I explained to her that the technician told us that the damage was caused by wear and tear due to the machine being too old. The agent stated that they have to go by the diagnostics the technician submitted to them. I then requested a copy of the diagnostics. She stated that she could not provide those to me. I then asked the agent if she could transfer me to a manager now. She placed me on hold for an hour and twenty two minutes and then terminated the call. I googled active appliance and read multiple reviews that people wrote about how technicians from active appliance tell them one thing about what caused a problem, and American Home Shield says another. Who really knows whos telling the truth and whos lying. Maybe theyre in it together to deny claims? Due to receiving conflicting information between American Home Shield and what the technician from active appliance told me in person, i decided to pay another certified technician out of pocket. The technician diagnosed the problem and stated that the shaking, noise and burned smell from the washer are due to normal wear and tear on the rear bearing shaft and gear and outer tub. He called to get the parts however, he stated that the parts are back ordered and they do not know when they will come in. The price to fix it $400 in parts plus labor. His diagnosis coincides with what the active appliance technician told me in person and does not coincide with what American Home Shield told me over the phone.

Icon

Robert Terceria, Thousand Oaks

On Nov 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Oct. 3 we contacted AHS that our refrigerator was not working. Oct. 5 we called the repair service AHS had told us to call. Oct. 7 a service repairman came to our home and said a part was needed. Oct. 23 the repairman replaced the control board. Oct. 24 our refrigerator still was not working. We called AHS. They sent another email for another service call. We called the service repair people. They would not make an appointment until they talked to management on Oct. 26. On Oct. 29 we received a call from the service repair that they would arrive on Nov. 4 with a new control board. On Nov. 4 the repairman arrived and installed the control board and this time programmed the control board. On Nov. 5 we called AHS and told them the refrigerator was still not working. AHS said they had to get the report from the service repair company. We asked to speak to a supervisor. We were told they would call us back by the end of the day on Nov. 5. ASH did not call us back. We called AHS on Nov. 6 and asked to speak to a supervisor. We were told AHS would call us Nov. 7. Nov. 7 we called AHS and spoke to the representative. They sent another service request to the repair company. Nov. 7 we called the service company, and they will not make an appointment without the work order. It has been over a month, and we have no working refrigerator. AHS just wants to keep sending repair people out until we give up. We want our refrigerator replaced as per the contract.

Icon

Gweneva Shay Sawyer, Fresno

On Nov 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Everything went well. A technician was at our house within a few hours. We only paid our initial $100, and our works! Thank you American Home Shield!! I\'m going to share your info with my family and friends.

Icon

Keith , Hidden Valley Lake

On Oct 30, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Absolutely the worst company ever.LG Refrigerator stopped working, it has been over five weeks and a repair guy shows up for his second visit with parts. Still not working. Two and a half more weeks before the next appt. and then probably wait on more parts. Representative was no help. Said I have to have three repairs over 30 days apart to get a replacement consideration. This service is a waste. They should have a minus star rating!

Icon

Azim Choobbari, Westlake Village

On Oct 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I haven\'t used the AHS that much, recently I had a water leak which was going on for a while, I clicked on a technical service button via the website and immediately got a call from amazing plumbers, they fixed the leak for only $100 while they spent about 30min/45min on that, I was expecting about $250/$300 costs, before using AHS, I called two other plumbers they even didn't return my call, anyway, I am going to use the service again for my home heating system tune up as we are moving towards cold season. My summary is that piece of mind from using the AHS service by getting high quality job in a descent price is amazing, you don't wana call some weirdo repairing people out there that they charge you a ton and leave you in water. Ciao

Icon

Sue Wickman, Quincy

On Oct 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We had two major issues within 10 days. First, our hot water heater, and next our refrigerator. In both cases, the contact with AHS was kind and professional, and the service was prompt with our local providers. We are totally satisfied with the excellent service provided.

Icon

Larry Yaggi, Lincoln

On Oct 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

This was the fifth time I have benefited from our American Home Shield service agreement. Each time they have responded promptly to our request for service and have made repair or replacement promptly. The contractors in each case have also responded promptly and have provided excellent service.

Icon

CLIFF DAVIS, La Quinta

On Oct 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

THE ABSOLUTE WORST. CANNOT EVEN START TO DESCRIBE THE LACK OF PROFESSIONALISM, COMMUNICATION, AND CUSTOMER SUPPORT. AND JUST ASK TO SPEAK TO A SUPERVISOR OR SOMEONE THAT SPEAKS ENGLISH. THEY ARE ALWAYS IN A MEETING. I JUST CANCELLED TWO HOME WARRANTIES BECAUSE OF A $125 DISPUTE. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.

Icon

Tom, Coalinga

On Oct 15, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The water heater problem was solved. Service was great! Respect to the Covid concerns were followed. Will call back for any other problems. The service was very professional and the response time to my problem was fast.

Icon

Yasmine Johnson, Compton

On Oct 13, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I called for service on a broken doorknob and questioned if rekey- a covered service was a part of that and the looked it up and said it should be covered. The service person did come out and fixed the door for me but said it actually wasn’t covered so maybe the agents need to be more aware of what is covered

Icon

Roman, Marina

On Oct 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

These two guys were great! They were professional, respectful, knowledgeable, and clean. They were very careful not to damage anything and cleaned up after they were done. My only complaint would be that I wished we were first of the day and not last but they were within the window of time they gave us.

Icon

Elizabeth Gaddey, Agoura Hills

On Oct 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I was very pleased with my recent need for American Home Shield. They sent Magic Appliances to assess the issue with my stove. They tried to fix it and could not. When it was noted they could not get the part I was quickly contacted by AHS and was given to options to resolve the situation. We chose to have them sent the check to replace the stove. It all happened seamlessly and quickly. My only complaint was the wait time of almost 2 hours to speak to purchasing.

Icon

darlistra , Fresno

On Oct 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Had my furnace serviced the tech found a problem. Contacted AHS and received a confirmation within the hour. Tech was out within 2 days. Parts ordered and replaced within a week. The service person was very professional. Really thought with COVID-19 would take a lot longer for approval to order the part. GOOD JOB GUYS THANKS

Icon

gajoiner@yahoo.com, Los Angeles

On Sep 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Exceptional service provided by customer service and technicians. Work done in a timely fashionand and clear explanation of any problems found and how to continue with preventive maintenance not included in the normal wear and tear.

Icon

Alexis, Truckee

On Sep 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

From plumbing issues and electrical issues to appliance repairs, everything has been dealt with promptly and without friction, which has been such a relief when dealing with little surprises in a new home.

Icon

Robert Zaccaria, Cathedral City

On Sep 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

As usual, my experience with American Home Shield was super !! Their response to my claim was very quick and they immediately set me up with the proper service provider ! My pool filter housing was repaired faster than I could ever imagine. American Home Shield is great, I have been a client now for 6 years and will always recommend their services !

Icon

Laura Bruce, Westlake Village

On Sep 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My overall rating of AHS is 3 stars. Mostly because every time I place a service request the first service provider sent is terrible, rude and not professional. My last 2 requests, I’ve disputed the first service providers diagnosis and requested a second opinion. Both times the second opinion is different than the first. Please, please, please only do business with service providers that are able to uphold your customer service reputation. It might be helpful to hire someone to do yelp searches on these providers before sending them to a customers location. When I do call into AHS I always reach an individual who is willing to help me get my service resolved and as quickly as possible in a very professional manner.

Icon

Marcelle Hennawi, Goleta

On Sep 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home shield is excellent home warranty company, customer service is wonderful, professional, they go the extra mile to make sure that the customer is satisfied and well taken care of.

Icon

Silvia Bergren, Granada Hills

On Sep 14, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

second time around. the first tech did not resolve the problem, the second one did!! He was very professional. The lst tech was not as thorough - did not inspect like the second one.

Icon

Ashwani Wason, Granite Bay

On Sep 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

May I get someones attention at AHS - anyone? Customer for a year. Requested service for the first time. Contractor arrived. Didnt do the job at the pretext that the items are not covered when they are clearly listed in my contract as covered - toilet leak and faucet replacement. Was charged two separate $100 charges. Work order on my dashboard left open. Job marked complete. Spoken twice over two weekends to your customer service on 8/29 and 9/5. First to ******* and then to *********. Was assured of call backs. They could not figure out why contractor did not do the job. Said would need to call them. But complete radio silence from your end. You have made it exceptionally hard to provide customer support because you dont allow email. There are no records nothing. ******* did not leave any notes. I could try a third time because it is said to be a charm, but not sure with a service organization as pathologically broken as AHS if it will still help. Would like to help? Look up plan #273433612 and contact me.

Icon

tom, Escondido

On Sep 11, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

LOWES SUCKS BIG, WITH THEIR WARRANTY SERVICE, BEEN ON THE PHONE CURRENTLY 2 F*CKING HOURS, NOT ONE PICK UP! WHAT THE HELL, DO THEY HVE ONLY ONE DIPSHIT ANSWERING THE PHONE? COME ON PULL YOUR HEAD OUT OF YOUR ASSES AND HAVE SOME CUSTOMER CARE HAPPENING!

Icon

Chiara T, Sacramento

On Sep 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

If you want to call to make a service request, it’s almost an hour long wait. Much easier to request online. Pleased with the tech who took care of all our appliance issues.

Icon

Niloo Soleimani, Stockton

On Sep 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS is a horrible warranty company. It takes 1.5 hours to get the calls answered, even before COVID19. Our drier broke and we opened a ticket online. After the contractor came, he said the dryer needed to be replaced. We received a letter that let us choose between a GE dryer and $600 cash. We chose the GE Dryer. We\'ve waited a month and the dryer has not come. We called many times and after 1.5 to 2 hours of waiting they would hang up. Finally we found a person in the Appliance Dept who took down all the info and said the dryer will arrive in 2 weeks. Three weeks later, when we didn't get the dryer we called again several times, each time waiting 1.5-2 hours before we could speak to a person. they said you never filed for replacement. and now you can't get the GE dryer and gave a model that was much worse and a choice of $400 instead of the original $600. We were so sick of being run around and wasting hours and hours on the phone, we accepted. But this is not right! They are a scam of a company

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020