ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 23, 2020

Ohio Home Warranty Companies

As a homeowner in Ohio, the last thing you want is to spend on repairs or replacements costs of your home appliances and systems. Fortunately, with a home warranty, you can now protect your home items.

Homeowners in Ohio have a catalog of home warranty companies to choose from. Some of America's top home warranty companies offer competitive plans and policies to customers in the state. Comparing home warranty companies before choosing a plan can help you find your ideal coverage policy.

We at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have listed out top home warranty companies in Ohio to help you find an ideal warranty provider. We have also listed customer reviews, ratings, deductibles, waiting periods, and other factors of top companies.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period

A Glimpse At Average Premium In Ohio

The average premium for a home warranty plan in Ohio is $323.4, and the average deductible is $39.77. To give you a better picture of the average premium in Ohio, we have created a graph where the X-axis represents the premium price and Y-axis the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In Ohio

Min Average Premium in Ohio Max $ 324.65 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in Ohio (OH) major towns:

Akron Canton Cincinnati
Cleveland Columbus Dayton
Lorain Parma Toledo

Population : 11,536,514

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranties In Ohio

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 13,849 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
mapicon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
3.5
/ 5
Based on 6,993 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,906 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 4,346 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Total Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4.5
/ 5
Based on 722 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Ohio Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Ohio has warm summers and cold winters. To beat the heat in summers, your home appliances and systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, and other cooling systems work continuously due to which they may break down. Repairing or replacing faulty parts and components of these home items can be expensive, but with a home warranty plan, you can fix them without having to spend huge amounts of money. You can also get easy access to an insured and licensed technician who offers a quality service.

During the winter season, heating systems like furnaces, water heaters, etc. work day and night to keep your home warm and cosy. When they work overtime, the systems may begin to malfunction. Repairing such systems is not only very expensive but also requires expertise. With a home warranty plan, you neither need to worry about spending too much on repairs nor about getting service from qualified technicians.

For instance, it usually costs around $383 to repair the heater system in Ohio and $3,518 to replace the system. With a home warranty plan, you can save hundreds of dollars spent on repair or replacements. All you have to pay is a service call fee or trade fee, which costs a few dollars.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Ohio

A home warranty covers your systems and appliances. It saves you from unnecessarily spending money due to massive repair costs. Both new and existing homeowners should invest in home warranties to safeguard your home appliances. Some of the popular warranty plans provided by top companies are as listed below.

American Home Shield (AHS) is one of the most popular companies in the state. They offer Systems plan, appliances plan, and Build-Your-Own plan. Their annual premium ranges between $299-$500 with a deductible amount of $75-$125 and a minimum contract length of 12 months.

First American Home Warranty is another prominent company functioning in Ohio. The company offers an annual premium between $334-$534+ with a deductible amount of $75 and a minimum contract length of 12 months.

HSA Home Warranty offers Premium and Premium Plus plans in Ohio. The annual premium ranges from $350-$600 with a deductible of $75-$100. The company also offers a minimum contract length of 12 months.

Hurry up! Buy a home warranty plan and protect your home items. Get a free quote from the company of your choice.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Ohio

  1. When you decide on buying a pre-used home, determine if the appliances and systems are in good condition. Many home warranty companies won't cover home items with pre-existing conditions. You can request your provider to inspect the home items to avoid any conflict regarding coverage in the future.
  2. A home warranty will reduce the burden of having to spend a lot on repairs after making the big home purchase. It also reduces the long wait of getting a skilled and insured technician to fix the damaged home items.
  3. When in the midst of an array of home warranty plans, choose the ones that offer higher payouts and lower monthly premiums, tailor-made plans, additional coverage, and have refund and cancellation policies.
  4. Opt for a home warranty company that allows you to hire your own contractor rather than the one assigned by the company. But make sure the company reimburses the amount expended.
  5. Check customer reviews before choosing a home warranty company in Ohio. HomeWarrantyReviews.com helps you filter out warranty companies that suit your specific requirements. Comprehensive information about various companies is compiled in one platform, allowing you to compare and determine which coverage best suits you.

Ohio Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Customer feedback is one of the major factors that determine the quality and reliability of a home warranty company in Ohio. Read through the genuine customer reviews listed by our team and determine which company is the right fit for you.

Icon

J Sschumaker, Perrysburg

On Jan 15, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Purchased an LG front load washer from my local Lowe\'s with warranty in 2016. A week before Christmas 2020 washer stopped working, won\'t drain water, believe pump went out (which I later learned from research is the fatal flaw of this model machine). Attempted to "fix it" myself by running washing machine tablets as LG advised to no avail, had to drain water manually because the tub would not drain and throw an error message. Called for service finally under warranty & was scheduled for an appointment 5 days out on 12/23 scheduled for 12/28. On 12/24/20, service provider hired by Lowe's Warranty Co. called to say would not be keeping appointment as they would "order parts first". Days go by can't reach them and never hear from them. Call Lowe's Warranty to inquire about the repair as it had been weeks without a washing machine & told they must first do an "inquiry" on the parts which takes 5 business days & then they can move forward for other remedies under my warranty. Days later they respond that they verified parts ordered on 12/28 but I must now wait an additional 5-10 business days for parts plus an additional 2 business days for the hired company to contact me regarding repair from the date of their confirmation - not the date they said they'd order parts or even the date they ordered the parts... Spoke with a "supervisor" at Lowe's Warranty who said and I quote "they are under no obligation to honor the warranty within any specified period of time" when I questioned how long they plan to drag this out and they agreed they could delay honoring a buyout or repair forever.... I got tired of playing their games because unlike what they believe I believe a washer is an essential appliance, especially during a pandemic with a disabled veteran husband, so I purchased another washer. Unfortunately from Lowe's but this time I skipped the warranty because it isn't worth the paper it's printed on and now that I realize I'd be on the phone for hours multiple times days later still waiting for the warranty company to do something, anything regarding the original broken washer I regret even giving Lowe's store more of my business because now is when it is coming clearer that they will never honor it. I do like their store and the store manager has been very kind and understanding regarding this situation and states it is not true that they have no time frame and have offered to help me battle with them to honor the warranty. Regardless, I will never purchase at Lowe's again because of this because I only spend my hard earned money at reputable retailers and there are far too many reputable retailers to stick with a store that is out to stick it to their customers by doing business this way. Consider yourself warned. They have no intention of ever performing a single repair or honoring their warranty in any way and after multiple calls and being left on hold for hours at a time and switched around to multiple agents and being told numerous inconsistent things you will see their business plan rests on running out the clock and your patience until you just give up...

Icon

Benton Benalcazar, Westerville

On Jan 01, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fast Response Heating and Cooling served as the AHS contractor. They did a nice job and recommended a new thermostat to replace our malfunctioning thermostat that is not working properly. Our thermostat turns off on its own and the heating falls behind on heating. Unfortunately, AHS will not replace our thermostat and we continue to experience the same problems. So, we had to pay the $75 service fee and still suffering from the same problem. My 1 star rating is for AHS and is not a reflection on Fast Response

Icon

Monika Miller, Broadview Heights

On Dec 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Called AHS on 12/12/20 for my washer and dyer. It is 12/28/20 and still waiting for parts. The service man stated 2-5 business days for parts, still waiting. Enjoy spending my Saturday at the laundry mat instead of spending it with my family the day after Christmas. We have no contact info for service man let alone a tracking number for the parts.

Icon

ruth ann berwanger, Batavia

On Dec 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Frankly, I dread calling American Home Shield because of the foreign people who speak English but have a strong accent. It feels as tho they read from a prompter, thanking me for every word I say. At the end, I typically am able to accomplish what I need but it wears me out. Also, I have been waiting months to get a replacement allowance check for my dishwasher that could not be fixed. I have sent the receipt and request 2 times.

Icon

Sam Legg, Columbus

On Dec 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It was very frustrating trying to communicate with the 2 phone reps. Both spoke in broken English and it was very difficult to understand them. Also, do not understand why a gas leak in the pipe in the basement leading to my furnace isn\'t covered by AHS. You would think that AHS would cover a safety issue with no hesitation. We have had AHS for 20 years and up until this time have been very pleased with you.

Icon

JAMES WILSON, West Chester

On Dec 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS received our case in the evening and by the next morning the service provider had contacted us. Unfortunately because of their workload we had to wait several days for the repairs to take place. When the service provider arrived they quickly resolved the problem and were able to resolve the issue quickly. Overall an acceptable service situation.

Icon

Adam, West Chester

On Nov 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My water heater started leaking on a Friday afternoon. I put in an online work order right away and got a quick reply. AHS was very helpful and kept me informed throughout the whole process. The contractor used was professional and did quality work. Worth having this warranty policy.

Icon

Rhonda Walker, Dayton

On Nov 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I requested my new home be rekeyed - Double D Lock & Key Service responded quickly and arrived on time, was very professional and pleasant & completed my request in a timely manner

Icon

Mary Smith, Marietta

On Nov 16, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I purchased a whirlpool microwave and it has now been repaired 3 times for the same problem. It is the under mount light but you have to take the bottom off the microwave. One repairman told me not to leave the light on. The repair shop they sent was so rude I refused to let them in again. They sent someone else for the fourth time and they kept putting me off because they said that the bulb was on back order. I went on line and had it myself I n 1 day. I finally gave up and told them I fixed it myself. Do not buy this warranty they will not fix it!

Icon

James May, Hamilton

On Nov 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have normally raved about the service I have received from AHS BUT my, most recent service has been totally unsatisfactory, for two reasons. 1) On Oct 28 (two weeks ago) my assigned service repair plumber arrived to fix a leaky faucet. They said the part wasnt available at the local hardware supplier and it would have to be ordered so they left my guest bathroom sink taken apart. On Nov 5, I called the plumber since I had heard nothing from them. They told me they hadnt found the part and it would be one or two more weeks at least. I explained how I need that bathroom and would like that expedited. He said he would keep looking and let me know . . . still no luck. 2) I called AHS to complain that they should probably assign another plumber because I need my sink repaired. The customer service rep (*****), who could barely speak English (a poor choice of AHS to assign someone with such poor language ability to customer service) was of no help. She said if I wanted it fixed faster she could arrange for me to be given a refund and could go buy the part myself and fix it myself. I HAVE A HANDICAP WHICH IS WHY I PAY FOR SERVICE FROM AHS TO FIND COMPETENT SERVICE PROVIDERS TO FIX THESE PROBLEMS!!! I asked to speak to her supervisor and the best I could ascertain from her poor grammatical ability was that she works from home and didnt have any supervisor I could speak with. She (*****) said she would have someone from AHS customer care contact me within 24 hours. That was 28 hours ago. As my AHS service contract ends in Jan and having received numerous e-mail from their competition, this kind of customer service gives me reason to consider shifting service providers.

Icon

James May, Hamilton

On Nov 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have utilized AHS for many years in three homes and their service request response time has improved measurably the past three years. My appliances are older and have required a lot of TLC and every repair call has been very quickly assigned and responded to by knowledgable repair personnel that are prompt and professional, often providing instruction for ongoing maintenance I can do myself to keep the issue from reoccurring.

Icon

Richard Schultze, West Chester

On Oct 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

While the cost of a home warranty seems reasonable the service you receive from AHS is completely unreasonable. Our hot water heater was producing no hot water. I called for service and was told in two days someone could come out. The contractor chosen for our area was unobtainable immediately by phone - everyone leaves a message and gets a call back. I received a call back within several hours and was told to choose a service call slot; either 8-12, 1-3 or 4-6pm. I chose 8-12. The company did not show during the slot and it was hours after the slot before we received contact. Calls to AHS did nothing. My wife held for a half hour, call was answered, she was put on hold for help and after 15 minutes disconnected. The contractor showed up, acknowledged there was a problem, and my wife was told that unless the water heater was leaking it could not be replaced. I called AHS, was being helped by a lady named Vaby who put me on hold for 15 minutes and disconnected me. I called back and now am still in limbo without hot water for a week. My prayer is that everyone involved in this debacle experiences no hot water for a week. AHS picks the worst contractors available, has no sense of urgency, does not enforce anything in their agreements with contractors, yet seems to be very clear in what they WON"T do for homeowners.

Icon

Pamela , Dayton

On Sep 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We\'ve been with HSA for 2 years now and everytime we need a service call they were fabulous. Excellent company , great service, prompt to respond and very knowledgeable service techs and reasonable rates.Thanks for all you\'ve done for us!!

Icon

Barry walker, Columbus

On Sep 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American home shield responded to my problem very fast and had installers here in one day.. I\'m very happy with AHS and would recommend them alwats.Great job AHS. Thanks alot

Icon

London McCoy, Columbus

On Sep 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

No faith, this company sends con artist to your home. Who lie with efforts to over bill and con the buyer into things that are not emergently needed. This company does NOT act as a advocate for its customers nor HEAR what the concern is. There is no clear communication with company, customer, and company instructed to perform repairs. No faith.....

Icon

mike, Navarre

On Sep 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

everything is good no complaints, the wireing cover has fallen off of condenser unit, I put it back on. All the services were prompt and friendly. It is comforting to know if something goes wronk it is covered.

Icon

Schautan Reed, Dayton

On Sep 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I called to separate days. The first day, I had a 2 hour hold. The next day I called there was a 45 minute hold, but I was able to get a call back. My question was answered, but when looking at my policy, the service call I had showed closed and the technician said I would receive a call from AHS in 24-48 hours. Needless to say, after a week or more, I called AHS and found out my part was on order. Just need better communication.

Icon

Eric Barnes, Columbus

On Aug 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I don\'t know what I would have done without AHS. They have saved my butt a few times over!!!! Glad I found them!!! Since I bought my house, I\'ve had a few issues with my A/C, Fridge and disposal and without AHS would have cost me a LOT. Also, the companies that they have on their list are wonderful!!!!!

Icon

susan zanzalari, Wooster

On Aug 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

July 15 Notified Realtor AC not working July 16 Paid $100 to HSA Home Warranty for Service to AC Unit July 20 Ashland Comfort Control came out and recommended to HSA Home warranty company that a new unit be installed due to the age, no schematics and inability to obtain parts July 22 Homeowner did not hear from HSA. Therefore he called HSA to find out what happens next. no response from HSA July 24 Homeowner call HSA for next steps and again no response July 24 Homeowner received an email that a 2nd opinion through Frog Pro located in Grove City Ohio (2 hours from service location) was to be scheduled July 27 Homeowner called and confirmed appointment with Frog Pro Grove City Ohio for afternoon July 28 (window 1 pm- 9 pm) Homeowner called and asked to speak to a supervisor and was never contacted. Therefore the buyer realtor was contacted and his HSA representative and then received an email from AHS Service Resolution Specialist Jody Hoffman. July 28 at 3:38 pm due to heat and timeline, an email was received from Jody stating "she was attempting to see if I can have the original company authorized for the repair instead of the second opinion company. I will follow up soon!" July 28 Frog Pro arrived at 7:35 pm and per Jody "Frog Pro diagnosed the condenser fan motor as not working and needing to be replaced." July 29 I asked to get a 3rd opinion since the 2 diagnoses were very different. Homeowner was told by Jody they only provided 2 and they were going with Frog Pros diagnosis for the repair. I questioned this since she had told me before Frog Pro made the service call she was working to get diagnosis #1 covered. She told me she was denied. July 29 I decided to pay out of my pocket for a 3rd opinion. I called M W Robinson Co who came out at 3 pm the same day. M W Robinson Co found the capacitor had been removed and the wires left disconnected and hanging live and not capped off. Note: Jody from HSA home warranty did not mention to me a capacitor in the diagnosis or repair quoted from Frog Pro. July 29 M W Robinson Company's recommendation is a new system due to the system is York system that is over 20 years old, has no schematics and the replacement parts are rare to obtain or are no longer available. They recommend a 2.5 ton, 13 Seer Carrier System installed with taxes included at $3400. July 29 at 4 pm EASTERN/3 PM CENTRAL I contacted Jody at HSA telling about the missing capacitor and the recommendation of MW Robinson Company to the homeowner paid 3rd opinion. I asked for their consideration "If you are willing to trust the integrity, negligence and the dangerous position that Frog Pro left my son in, we are not. Please note the capacitor is stolen. If you are not willing to put in a new system please provide me the cash out amount for what you are willing to pay including a capacitor." The homeowner say the Frog Pro technician remove the unit capacitor and get another from his truck to test the system. AHS persisted the repair with the 2nd opinion be completed. The homeowner was not confident in the technician or the decision because of the condition the AC was left. AHS offered $405 (Frog Pros motor repair cost) to the homeowner and seeing it was insisted that the repair be done through Frog Pro and knowing the unit needed to be replaced because of the two respectable recommendations the homeowner saw the resolution would not be what was needed. The homeowner took the $405 and had the 3rd opinion company replace the unit due to that estimate was the lower cost with the same recommendation. I want to report 1. the resolution specialist was looking to have the 1st opinion company replace the unit due to the length of time and lack of response of HSA. 2. the 2nd opinion company did not conduct business in an honest, respectable way and lacked integrity. The company was 2 hours away from the service address and the homeowner knew it was a bandaid repair and with the 8 day response time from the 1st opinion the homeowner knew it would be a matter of time before the unit would need to be replaced and the service appointments would not be easily accessible or manageable because of location and travel. Because of the discrepancy of AHS representative originally pushing to get the replacement approved and then going with the low cost bandaid repair, the homeowner would like the to note AHS did a 180 degree change when the 2nd opinion conducted his appointment and choose to estimate a motor repair even though there were no schematics on the unit and the system was very old and replacement parts are not available.

Icon

Bob Hicks, Westerville

On Jul 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Over the years I have been with multiple Home Warranty companies and AHS beats them all hands down! I learned the hard way that the others that they place requirements in fine print that help avoid them supporting your claims; beware. My experience with AHS has been superior customer service all around.

Icon

William, Canal Winchester

On Jul 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was sent a message from AHS, for Summer air conditioning tuneup. I called and setup a repair for the tuneup of my A/C. After coming to my house the repair person stated I need Freon (Refrigerate fluid). He told me I needed 4 pounds of this fluid at $115.00 per pound. AHS said they only cover $10.00 of this. $460.00 total for fluid and my warranty covers $40.00 total. You can get a whole install kit plus 30pounds of the fluid for $245.00. At the Home Depot or Lowe’s. Maybe there’s gold in there fluid. I can almost buy a whole unit for this cost. Very disappointed with AHS. Maybe the fluid the

Icon

Eileen Norton Miller, Reynoldsburg

On Jun 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My washer broke in May and have been waiting for a call back from Ahs and the repairman since that time. I was charged for a service and my washer remains broken. I have had to go to the laundromat weekly . Buyer beware very unprofessional and not timely with completing repairs.

Icon

Dakota Shannon, Miamisburg

On Jun 13, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

As a Realtor, I have they are my go to home warranty company. It was nice to use them when I purchased my new home. They fixed my a/c. Only issue I had is I called on a Sunday and they weren\'t able to come out till Friday.

Icon

Melissa , Cleveland

On Jun 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

There has been very quick follow up for service calls I have requested. I have used my warranty a few times with no issues. All of the contractors used have been courteous and timely.

Icon

Mike Inoue, Springfield

On May 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I called AHS to arrange a service call Friday 5-1-20. The contractor was assigned effortlessly. The contractor\'s service call was set on Monday 5-4-20. When I contacted the contractor directly on Monday 5-4-20 and left a message, my call was returned was promptly (in about 20 minutes). The technician came on the eventing on Monday 5-4-20. The technician was expert in the problem (the garbage disposal was stuck). He fixed the problem less than 10-15 minutes after arrival. The overall service was effective. The service experience is excellent. Thank you,

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Ohio

Your feedback can help other customers in choosing a home warranty company in Ohio. If you have had any experience with a warranty provider, be it good or bad, share your review and contribute to our list of home warranty user experiences.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020