Home Warranty Companies in Texas

Average Premium in Texas: $315.11
Average Deductible in Texas: $42.06
Search home warranty
                                  1First American Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1605
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  2American Home Shield (AHS)
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7374
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  3The Home Service Club
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 440
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1714
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  5HSA Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1644
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  6Choice Home Warranty
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2713
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  7Landmark Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $410 - $660
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days
BBB Rating A-
Established In 2004
Total Reviews 873
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Idaho, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Nevada
                                  8Home Warranty Of America
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1626
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  92-10 Home Buyers Warranty
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1504
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in Texas

    Daniel Brookshier Date: 2013-05-26 13:13:41

    Review: Could not properly install because they could not handle common electrical. Did no haul off old stove. Did not cover cost of plumbing repair. Did not provide actual replacement style of stove. Did not provide correct size of microwave. Unresponsive to failures to deliver.

    Catherine P Date: 2014-07-21 20:22:45

    Review: Quick service, great response time, wonderful customer service. I didn't have the most recent contract number when I called AHS, but the rep was very helpful and pleasant. She supplied me with the contractor's information within minutes and I when I called him I was assured he'd arrive that night or the next. I don't always need to use my contract, but when I do, it's reassuring to receive the best service.

    Wayne A Date: 2014-08-11 10:08:00

    Review: I had a broken garbage disposal. It was quick in easy to place the call online for the repair. AHS lined up up the contractor who came by and within 15 minutes had the new unit install.Hassle-free service.

    Michael Henry Date: 2016-08-19 12:57:27

    Review: I called one evening after 5 - My A/C was repaired withing 24 hours. They had to replace the A/C Compressor - I was only out $75 + some on the freon. My renters are happy again. Quickly

    Randy Dillon/ Barbara Northcott Date: 2013-08-01 18:55:07

    Review: I opened a service request on Thur 7/25/13 regarding downstairs air condition unit going out. This was considered a recall since we had same problem less than 60 days. Contractor services called on thurs and said they would be out on Monday. Due to the extreme heat here in texas and the fact that I have 2 senior citizen parents living downstairs who cant make it upstairs, I called warranty company to ask if this order could be expedited and get someone out on Friday. 1st person at AHS I talked to said no because we had 2 units. I asked to speak to supv in which person said I could not talk to one in person but could leave a voice mail and they would get back to me in 24 hours. I did leave a voicemail to supv (on thur, who has not called me back as of today, Saturday). I then called back and talked to someone else who actually put me in touch with a supv named xxxxxxx. I explained my situation and she got approval to expedite order on Thursday and said she would be in touch with me by Friday 2pm. I never heard back. I called contractor services on Friday at around 4pm, who stated they did not get permission to expedite services. I called American home shield again and they stated they had no documentation of me talking to supv and no record of approval of expediting services. I sent a complaint in to home warrant and 3 days ago, they sent a response stating they were sorry and they gave me a $75 credit and stated we show expedited in the contractors system. It is 8/1/13 and the part needed that is ordered by home warranty company is still not at the contractor service dept. The part ordered is a common part for a lexus unit and is not special order. I would not recommend this American home shield company.

    David Raymond Date: 2016-06-15 08:41:50

    Review: We had a leak in our AC unit. Home Shield sent out ACS Air. The diagnosed a leak in the evaporator coil and replaced for a cost of over $1200. After the winter we realized we still had leak. I April, they added FreeOn and said that would last a year. It lasted 2 months so they returned. The technician said it was the evaporator cole. After I told him that it was just replaced, he told me that the AC line was stopped up and would need a new liquid line dryer and we would need to pay for new freeOn of only $780.00. He never went in the attic were the unit is! After hours talking with AHS, explaining they never fixed the problem and even after the stoppage is fixed, the leak would still be there... requiring another $780 for freeon. I was told by AHS that I was just making predictions of service and I was to pay the $780. I finally had to call another company for a second opinion. In less than 5 minutes, the found the leak and informed me there was no blockage. It was repaired in 10 minutes!

    Ralph Date: 2013-07-01 15:55:58

    Review: I believe this company is CORRUPT. I submitted an emergency call when my AC went out and it took them 3 days to send a tech, and the repair was not completed until 14 days after the initial request. I called the contractor myself to see what was delaying the repair, and found out this contractor is the same one that repaired the AC unit last year as well. He told me that last year he reported to American Home Shield that my AC unit was beyond mechanical repair and needed to be replaced. AHS told him to "do whatever it takes to get the old unit running". This year he did not want to service it again because he had already reported it as needing to be replaced. ACH sent a SECOND AC contractor to do the work, and that contractor called me and tried to charge me an additional $400 for repairs. I told him the AC unit was covered under warranty and would not pay anything additional, and then he said this unit was beyond repair. I asked if he reported that to ACH and he said he could not, and that he was told if he put "reccomend replacement" on the work order he would be fired. Of course neither tech was willig to sign a statement to that affect because they said they would lose their jobs.

    rebecca white Date: 2015-07-21 12:43:36

    Review: AHS was pretty useless in 100% of my requests. I think they must pay their vendors so little that their vendors do the minimum to put a bandage on it...until the next time. Broken Garbage Disposal (it was 17 years old) plumber said, well it needs a new one but AHS won't cover it because they will put it under "there must be something that got stuck in it so user mistake". I have about 3-4 of these stories. AWFUL

    John Date: 2012-06-19 14:13:15

    Review: I'm coming up to the end of my first year with ORHW. I've had to use them twice, once for a leaky pipe and another for an un-cooling A/C unit. Both times, the contractor was punctual and courteous (A/C contractor was swapped at the last minute for some reason). I've had positive experiences, but am shopping around because the coverage has jumped to $499 and $75 service call fee for the renewal.

    Linda Baldree Date: 2016-05-28 17:55:06

    Review: AC went out on a Saturday. the provider AHS referred me to could not come out until the following Wednesday. Their excuse, it was a holiday weekend. Our house was at 84 degrees so I called AHS back. they would not expedite my service because it was not at least 105 degrees outside. I am 68 years old and my Mom who lives with me is 84. we could not wait 5 days for service. I will be calling on Monday to cancel my service contract with AHS. Definitely would not commend them to anyone.

    Kara Price Date: 2015-07-02 09:11:39

    Review: For us, using this warranty program has been a total waste of money. We pay to have our appliances serviced. They pay nothing and take $65 a month from us. They claim to replace broken appliances, but we have yet to experience this. Usually a repair man comes over again and again, and we have to pay for it. The repair men lack the experience to actually fix anything. Then we end up replacing the appliance on our own because we get tired of scheduling and paying for new parts that are not even necessary. This has happened several times. Two of our repair men said that American Home Shield will not replace anything ever but continue to send repair men out. I believe this to be true based on our experience. No wonder they have the client pay for the service fees! I think this is unethical.

    Herb Paul Date: 2014-02-13 15:04:03

    Review: I HAVE HAD AMERICAN HOME SHIELD ON OVER 5 HOMES IN THE PAST 20 YEARS AND RARELY HAVE HAD A PROBLEM. IF THE PROBLEM IS NOT FIXED, THEY RETURN AND FIX IT WITHOUT QUESTION. BECAUSE WE NEVER HAVE TO FIND A SERVICEMAN, WE EXPEND NO EFFORT BUT TO NOTIFY AHS WHEN WE HAVE A PROBLEM. THEY REPORT ON TIME AND CORRECT THE PROBLEM AND ONLY CHARGE THE SERVICE CALL FEE NO MATTER WHAT THE EXPENSE OF REPAIRING OR REPLACING THE ITEM.

    C Johnson Date: 2012-10-04 11:07:15

    Review: I have had AHS for about 10 years. Every year, the premium has increased until this year when it came due (November 2012) and I received a letter stating that I was being cancelled due to high usage. I have used this service this year for 2 times on the refrigerator which wasn't fixed correctly on the first trip and 2 times on the washer which was leaking water. The refrigerator is still dripping water from the freezer to the refrigerator every day. . . AHS did replace the Jen Aire stovetop burners last year when there was a problem when one of the burners which could not be fixed. I was even able to upgrade the burners to all metal for a nominal fee instead of what they wanted to replace it with in white.

    JUANA YANEZ Date: 2014-01-28 14:03:48

    Review: I started having issues with my plumbing and then three days later we had waste that should have been flushed away coming into our showers. The smell and sight were horrid. I called AHS and the customer services rep was at first hard to understand but was very helpful and knowledgeable. Within an hour, the plumbers had contacted me and the issues were resolved. The plumber was nice, clean, and knew exactly what to do to help us out.

    Julie Bain Date: 2016-07-22 08:29:25

    Review: I had a sink stoppage and called American Home Shield as I have a home warranty. They sent out Stella Plumbing Company that did a great job in correcting my problem. The guy was courteous and completed my problem in such a short time. It was a job well done. Thank you.

    Sylvia Garza Date: 2014-10-25 11:46:59

    Review: I am so happy with my American Home Shield contract. It's better to be safe than sorry with unexpected appliance failure so having this insurance gives me peace of mind. Every time that I have needed AHS they have helped me. The contractors come out really fast and repair or replace my appliance. I also learned with my last experience that you can cash out if you want to use your own vendor to replace an item. I did this with my AC unit. It worked out great for me and it was a win win situation for both me and AHS.

    JACK LANGSTON Date: 2016-10-27 16:54:28

    Review: My most recent problem was a/c. The job was completed within two days. The contractor was very professional and knowledgeable. He found the problem and corrected it in about fifteen minutes.

    Esther Date: 2014-05-02 14:03:40

    Review: American Home Shield has been my best asset taking care of my 12 year old house. The provide a great service with Avery good group of contractors that help me to save a great deal of money. I had used the service several occasions and never disappointed Recommended 100%

    Dorothy Date: 2014-07-09 16:17:23

    Review: Automated system said my service fee would be $75 when my paperwork states $40 service calls. I can't contact a human, all you get is the computer. Ceiling fans are supposed to be covered but WHY if it costs just as much to just go buy a new one? First time trying to use the policy, what a joke.

    Garry Partain Date: 2014-03-28 23:40:08

    Review: We have had a home warranty through American Home Shield for several years. We have always been very happy with the quick response we receive from the representatives at AHS and the contractors who come out to our home and perform the repairs on our appliances, etc. The contractors have been knowledgeable and kind. We would recommend American Home Shield to prospective homeowners.