×

Home Warranty Companies in Texas

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in Texas: $314.79
Average Deductible in Texas: $42.79
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 8489
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 524
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3449
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2174
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.3
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1724
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $410 - $660
Deductible $60
Effective At closing or 30 days
BBB Rating B+
Established In 2004
Total Reviews 1050
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Idaho, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Nevada
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $369 - $459
Deductible $50
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating A-
Established In 1994
Total Reviews 234
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $402
Deductible $50
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 268
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.9
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 3.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating F
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 79
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1804
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.9
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 3.9
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Sweating Date: 2012-06-30 16:51:42

    Review: Like most it seems, our AC went out here in Texas..in June..with a pregnant wife. Called on a Sunday and was placed on their "emergency" list, and a lot of good that did. Guy came out on Monday, said he needed to order a part and should have it the next day to install. Tuesday comes and he says there was a delay somewhere, but he should have the part by Wednesday. Wednesday comes and can't get a hold of the technician. Thursday, same story. Lo and behold on Friday, he calls stating he got the part and should be there by 9AM to fix. At 3:45PM he shows up and spends 5 minutes in the attic and says I should be good to go. Guages the air coming from the vents, 84 degrees. Says he has to order another part. Seriously?? Had he gone in the attic the first time he'd have seen the entire unit needed replacing. Finally, after 6 days in 100+ degree temps, he shows up this morning and replaces a part and fingers crossed, we think it's fixed. I was on the phone with him and AHS at least a dozen times this week. I asked about hotel reimbursement and the gal on the phone stated they'd give us $100 to go towards a fan or window unit...Wow. As soon as I get the all clear that our AC is fixed, I'm dropping AHS as fast as possible. AHS came with the house 2 years ago when we bought it, should have took 5 minutes to google them and I'd have dropped them then. Do yourself a favor and go with someone else. The low rent/ substandard contractors they use are something else. Pay the extra money and get somebody who will treat you with respect and professionalism. Nobody gives you a straight answer, and have zero compassion.

    T.Gonzales Date: 2015-03-16 12:30:43

    Review: The WORST experience! You WILL regret choosing this company! I have been dealing with a faulty oven for months. Technician has been to my house 3 times and still no fix. AHS does not keep their word. They don't return calls in a timely manner and be prepared to wait when you call them...and don't be surprised if you are disconnected when you finally get through. They promised a new technician and then said they couldn't do it because it wasn't in the notes. They don't keep they're word. They don't trust their customers word. I will be filing a complaint with the BBB and posting a negative review with every consumer agent I can find.

    Seburn Bass Date: 2014-11-14 09:03:24

    Review: Buying a home is the biggest investment I will ever make for my family. I need to protect that investment. Once I sign the papers, the house is mine. Not just the pretty living and dining room, but the appliances that have been there for years, the electrical wires behind the walls that have been there for years and all the other hidden secrets of the house. I am so glad we asked the realtor to include a home warranty, and am extra glad it was American Home Shield. Our home warranty at our last house I ended up cancelling after the first year and a half. Each time I called about the same issue I was charged and never seemed to get fixed. With our house we bought 2 months ago, I have had an issue with my dishwasher that was eventually traced to the electrical panel. I had the appliance guy come out twice, the electrical guy come out 3 times because he was the first. And I only paid my deductible 1 time!!! With my old warranty I would have paid a higher deductible every time a service tech came out. Each tech called me to confirm they are coming, when they re coming and when they were 30 minutes away. Really was a life saver since I have such a busy schedule.

    Craig C Date: 2012-03-02 23:44:51

    Review: As a customer, I have used the AHS product over the last seven years and as such my service request, as a whole, have (eventually) been completed. ALL with errors and some with disasterous events. These service requests have included replacements of water heaters/AC/garbage disposal and repairs on plumbing, leaks, washer/dryers and dishwashers. On a cost versus benefit used comparison, I am neutral. As of March 2012, I am reviewing my personal satisfaction of AHS and post my review for the first time based upon this surveys criteria; CUSTOMER SERVICE - the customer call center personel have a tough job handling service request from those of us with a need for service. However, they seem to read from a script, wanting just the basic info and to end the call ASAP. Frequently there are errors on the actual service order, including wrong phone #, wrong info for what actual request is and never an explaination at the time of a service request to whether repair will be covered. If the contractor denies a claim (on-site), calls to AHS will THEN have the CSR state that the extended plan that has been paid for all these years is now obsolete, and can "upgrade" once the current contract expires (but cant do anything at present). Appears training for a quality call center satisfaction is low on the to do list. This is usually where good/bad experiences start and most seem to leave bitter taste after placing request with current AHS SOP. Rate a 2 for being a call center instead of customer care center SERVICE TIMELINESS - Okay, we are all busy and have to work around certain schedules. Rated 3 as neutral for all REPAIR/REPLACEMENT SERVICE - Had been neutral until lately. Some service requests go without problems, some minor problems, however recent service request all bad. Winter of 2010 propane central heat unit went out. AHS sent contractor to replace. Took two weeks but completed and tech left. Went to turn on unit and had "minor" gas explosion. Was able to control and extinguish (NOTE: ALL HOMEOWNERS NEED TO HAVE AND MAINTAIN A FIRE EXTINGUISHER IN HOME). Seems tech used natural gas jets(?) instead of propane jets(?) a MAJOR fauxpas. Three different contractors sent out to repair the burned electrical lines of unit and combustion chamber. First two contractors failed. Third contractor wanted to replace entire unit but AHS autorized repair only. Finally Jan 2012 (Thanks for the current mild Texas winter) service complete and tech checked entire operation prior to leaving. Next requested service for plumbing leaks and contractor completed some but didnt have tools for balance. Havent seen nor heard from since. Reports from a family member with same AHS policy and requested servie for leaks and stoppage (Feb 2012). Plumber arrived and stated nothing covered but he could fix for $500.00+ (Masterbath sinks not draining and poor water pressure). Leaks in shower/bath not covered but for a $4,500.00 fee plumber could fix. Call to contractor office told family member to get off phone and call AHS. Plumber was asked why sink leak not covered and plumber laughed at consumer stating he could fix for above amount. Other reports from local friends with AHS policies and similar poor support from AHS for claims. I will commend most of the service contractors AHS sends out for being professional. However, due to the last service repair contractors (see above) and a technician who pocketed the $50.00 service charge and HIS company kept asking for a second $50.00 (we told them to take it out of his paycheck and never heard back from them), I must rate AHS in this area a 1 OVERLL RATING - As an AHS consumer I am buying a piece of paper (contract) for piece of mind that should a claim arise, the situation can be resolved using pooled premium dollars paid. As of late, I no longer have that piece of mind that the "paper" promise from AHS is there to take care of me. And the dollars I spend on the premium, service fee (deductible), poor customer service, and below standard repair/replace service places me in a postion to seek other avenues. It is perceived that in these current times AHS has become focused intensly on cost containment and less about the consumer by denying coverage for broad categories (ex: stated coverage for leaks, then plumber denying leak is covered). I have attempted to escalate my review/rating past the AHS call center with only a promise that someone will contact me (no reply to date). Due to low ratings per category, no replies from either American Home Shield coprporate nor corporate parent ServiceMaster, my overall rating of American Home Shield is a 2 (unacceptable).

    Barbara Willis Date: 2017-08-01 19:12:54

    Review: I have used American Home Shield for approximately 7 years and have always received good service. I prefer to submit my service request online and it provides me with prompt and timely scheduling of my request. I highly recommend this company.

    Raul Villaronga Date: 2017-11-09 23:09:19

    Review: I have had AHS for over 25 years. I have ALWAYS received excellent service. Considering the cost of replacements when fix was not possible, it has paid for itself!

    Mary Harris Date: 2014-09-09 10:36:32

    Review: I have been a customer for over ten years. I have been satisfied with the service received in almost every situation. Response time is satisfactory and repair people are competent.

    Donna Arends Date: 2015-09-04 11:57:22

    Review: With a single call to AHS regarding an appliance issue, they located a service person in the area and had the problem resolved in a very timely manner. After locating the service company, AHS made a point of notifying me as to who would be contacting me for the repairs. The service they selected did contact me and a service appointment was scheduled. The time frame from my original call to AHS and the scheduling of the service call was less than 48 hours, and the time until the repairs were effected was less than another 48 hours. After the service was completed, AHS again contacted me for followup, to determine the satisfaction of the reapirs and timeliness of the service. All in all, AHS suppled excellent service and response.

    Ralph Date: 2013-07-01 15:55:58

    Review: I believe this company is CORRUPT. I submitted an emergency call when my AC went out and it took them 3 days to send a tech, and the repair was not completed until 14 days after the initial request. I called the contractor myself to see what was delaying the repair, and found out this contractor is the same one that repaired the AC unit last year as well. He told me that last year he reported to American Home Shield that my AC unit was beyond mechanical repair and needed to be replaced. AHS told him to "do whatever it takes to get the old unit running". This year he did not want to service it again because he had already reported it as needing to be replaced. ACH sent a SECOND AC contractor to do the work, and that contractor called me and tried to charge me an additional $400 for repairs. I told him the AC unit was covered under warranty and would not pay anything additional, and then he said this unit was beyond repair. I asked if he reported that to ACH and he said he could not, and that he was told if he put "reccomend replacement" on the work order he would be fired. Of course neither tech was willig to sign a statement to that affect because they said they would lose their jobs.

    Ann Hamm Date: 2017-07-22 14:48:22

    Review: it would be nice if the repairmen, knowing what he\'s coming to fix, would bring parts for the job. Verses having to order, then waiting another week or so to actually finish the job

    Joseph S Date: 2014-08-19 08:13:50

    Review: very good, helped and repair set up. been with AHS on one house for 17 years and therefore got a policy on new home. currently have two active policies and am satisfied with the service on both. selling the old house with a policy for the buyer. would not do that if I did not think it was a good deal for us both.

    Robert Date: 2013-11-12 11:23:35

    Review: We had one of our water heater lines crack, and things could have gotten really bad, really fast. I contacted AHS, they got me hooked up with a plumber (who had been out before and corrected an issue) and he came the next day and solved the issue. Even though there is not a 24 hour plumber within our policy, I am very pleased with how things were handled.

    Mrs. Adams Date: 2015-06-26 16:25:47

    Review: A customer 10+ years, their service has changed, earlier this year from repairmen ordering the wrong part, to a repair of an oven panel taking several weeks. To the recent fiasco of AHS debiting my account 3X and encuring a $35 fee. Also debiting the funds a day early, spent numerous calls waiting an average on hold for 60 minutes to obtain assistance, only to be told by their reps. to call another number which was still AHS, or being disconnected while being transferred. Also their FB page, they deleted all the comments from the customers, and blocked the ability to leave anymore comments, so their page will only reflect positive comments. Today my account on their website shows payment past due, when they owe me $137.20. Not Good, No longer a good company. It has changed for the worst, and what I have written is the truth. It has really gotten bad. I have now joined the #1 Home warranty company in America which also offers 24/7 customer service, and you can actually call that same customer service person back unlike AHS. I believe this latest financial mess up will make them lose thousands of customers. So, I do not believe these ratings on this web page are accurate AHS is not the #1 company. Maybe it is paid for by AHS.

    AJ Date: 2014-05-09 11:10:28

    Review: Horrible company - their contractors are so bad …. such a disappointment. The contractor they sent spend 15 minutest here confirming a leak in my a/c evaporative cooler. This was diagnosed the 2nd time he came out. He tracked mud all over my house since it was raining that day - not courteous enough to take off his shoes. The company just called to let me know they need to send out another worker since the first guy didn't copy down the numbers right on the unit. What a mess. Who do you believe these days …

    C Johnson Date: 2012-10-04 11:07:15

    Review: I have had AHS for about 10 years. Every year, the premium has increased until this year when it came due (November 2012) and I received a letter stating that I was being cancelled due to high usage. I have used this service this year for 2 times on the refrigerator which wasn't fixed correctly on the first trip and 2 times on the washer which was leaking water. The refrigerator is still dripping water from the freezer to the refrigerator every day. . . AHS did replace the Jen Aire stovetop burners last year when there was a problem when one of the burners which could not be fixed. I was even able to upgrade the burners to all metal for a nominal fee instead of what they wanted to replace it with in white.

    Russell J Date: 2014-08-28 22:57:20

    Review: I had a problem with service, I wrote a letter to Jack Torregrossa. He was sincere in his responce to resolve the issue, and he put me in touch with customer relations, I appreciatted that. The issue was one that I had to come to tems with and it's done with now. I stayed with your company because of your employees and their efforts to provide good customer service even though the problem was on my end.

    Todd Henry Date: 2015-08-07 21:24:57

    Review: I appreciate the idea of the safety of being covered in case something goes wrong with the appliances, etc. in my home but the timelines of my experience with contractors responding and being available to come in a timely manner has left something to be desired in my experience.

    Robin M. Date: 2014-02-14 09:45:24

    Review: We have always had great experiences with AHS. The companies assigned to us are always professional and timely. They call and come out to our home in a timely manner and we have always received great service. If there ever is a problem, AHS goes above and beyond to meet our needs. We have been using AHS for over 13 years, we have moved three times during the 13 years and with each house we move into we use AHS, and we have never had an issue. We also live in rural areas where it can be hard to find reliable services that will travel to our homes, but this has never been an issue with AHS. They do all the leg work for us and it saves us time and money. We now have two homes with AHS in two different states and I continue to be please with the service.

    Sameer Mahima Date: 2016-07-10 21:45:58

    Review: Experience with AHS customer service is really good however assigned service provider doesn't contact for appointment for 3-4 days. I have experienced this with Sears as a service provider few times. After calling back to AHS customer service, I have always had great support and reassignment of service provider.

    Lisa Turner Date: 2017-09-13 18:36:26

    Review: BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!! First of all, I want to tell everyone not to shop at Lowe\'s for major appliances OR buy their extended service/protection plan. We purchased a Samsung French Door refrigerator/freezer from Lowe\'s as well as the extended protection plan. The handle which is used to open the freezer door broke. Specifically, there are plastic pieces inside the freezer door that broke, which renders the unit useless. Let me add that this issue is not cosmetic. Anyway, Lowe\'s refused to honor the warranty and replace the door because it is "unintentional damage" and therefore the repair is not covered. This makes no sense to me because the protection plan covers "normal wear and tear." Also, once a service technician advises Lowe\'s that the damage is unintentional damage, the repair cannot be re-reviewed. Please make note of this if you are indeed buying a major appliance and/or an extended protection plan from Lowe\'s.