Home Warranty Companies in California

Coverage in California (CA) major towns:

Average Premium in California: $314.38
Average Deductible in California: $41.74
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  2The Home Service Club
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  5HSA Home Warranty
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  6First American Home Warranty
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  7Choice Home Warranty
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  8Home Warranty Of America
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  92-10 Home Buyers Warranty
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
                                  10365 Home Warranty
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $350-$445
Deductible $65
Effective 30 Days
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $260-500
Deductible $55-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $440
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $360-$500+
Deductible $50 - $100
Effective Immediate with a Real Estate Transaction
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in california

    kazi Date: 2016-06-30 11:59:04

    Review: this company has the worst service ever, my washer broke down and they sent a guy to check it out, he charged me $100 which I was ok with and said he will have to order parts and a week later they said I need to contact AHS and good luck getting to them 45 minutes on the phone and no response, my washer is still not fixed because I cant get a hold of them kazi

    Elmerson Date: 2014-06-30 18:24:41

    Review: Alex for old repúblic is a person that does not care about your situation at all. he says is sorry there is nothing I cant do and after that he asks did you finish???? when you are in the middle of the conversation. This is bad company and customer service (Alex ) sucks !!!!! Please do not go for this company cause all they care is how to reap you off

    Thomas Date: 2016-07-20 16:57:00

    Review: After doing some research on like companies decided to fil in the online FREE QUOTE section, over the next several days I was called repeatedly by several pushy sales reps, I let them know that I was just doing initial research and had not made up my mind yet, and was really looking to compare different plans from different companies. Never really got any such quote but a ton of email advertisements and more phone calls. Then I decided to go with one of the plans, so spent over an hour on the phone giving all of my info and cc numbers etc. Finally the lady told me that I was now covered, I was exhausted after all the hard selling. Then over the next week I get more sales people calling to sign me up a ton more emails and then snail mail. Then I call up 7 weeks after signing up was on hold for exactly 33 min 04 sec just for them to tell me that I had NO coverage and that my CC card did not go through when I signed up. When I asked her about some one following up if that was the case and she could not offer an answer or a solution.

    Jody Hamel Date: 2012-09-25 16:48:01

    Review: I have had AHS for 10 months and just recently "tried" to use it for the first time. I could go on for days but I'll try to keep this short. The company that they chose to fix my oven was terrible, and AHS won't do anything about it. I had to call AHS 3 times, waiting on hold an average of 30 minutes each time, because the repair company had not contacted me regarding making an appointment after my filling out the service request (this was promised to happen within 24 hours). Once I finally got the appointment made and the guy out to my house, I had to spend 10 minutes arguing with him that it was not, in fact, impossible for my oven to spontaneously lock itself as if it were in cleaning mode. Once I finally got the oven to do its trick (as the repair man was halfway out my door), he acknowledged the issue, said he needed a part and I would be contacted to schedule a new appointment. Four more calls to AHS. I finally schedule an appointment a week and a half in advance. About 12 hours prior to my appointment I get a voicemail saying that the 8-12 time we scheduled didn't work, so they are changing it from 2-6. When I called the company the next morning saying I couldn't do 2-6, only 2-4 the receptionist refused to help me and acted as if I was the one causing all the problems! Another call to AHS. I was informed that because the repair company had the part in their possession they could not switch me to a new vendor (??). When I told the rep at AHS that I don't think I will be doing business with them he simply replied with "well, that is your prerogative." I have worked my way up to the woman who originally sold the policy to the previous owner of my house. For three days straight: she calls in the morning and says we're going to get you a new vendor, then calls back in the afternoon saying that she can't and the original vendor will call within 24 hours. I'm sure you can guess that for 3 days straight, that has not happened. This company seems to have no motivation to help their customers deal with the horrible vendors they assign. Case in point: the vendor that I have had the joy of dealing with has 1 star on yelp. Maybe AHS should try that website out... This company is a scam, don't waste your money

    Ava Price Date: 2015-12-06 10:56:33

    Review: American Home Shield is a service I'm glad I've signed up for. The contractors contacted and provided service within a 24 hour period of time. The contractors were very professional and very knowledgable of their field. Customer service was efficient iwith connecting me with the best contractor for my needed service. I have recommended AHS to many of my friends and family.

    David Riportella Date: 2016-06-14 20:54:01

    Review: Everything about a bad experience in the home turned out positive with the help of AHS and the contractor.I'm not sure that there is anything that I can say to help improve their services........It it ain't broken, don't fix it!

    William Pendergast Date: 2016-07-25 19:06:00

    Review: I cancelled my two home warranty contracts with American Home Shield (AHS) recently after a series of unsatisfactory encounters. The fundamental problems are: AHS procedures for filling service requests are unreliable and subject to unreasonable delays; their network of service contractors too often involves parties located far away and with little commitment to customers; their definition of covered expenses has so many exclusions that at the end of the day very little is actually covered. During my many years of subscribing to AHS, it also became apparent that when a defective appliance malfunctions continually, AHS insists on the application of serial band-aids (with a service fee each time) instead of replacement, regardless how old and dilapidated the appliance may be. To be specific: my 25-year old water heater died in early July and I needed quick replacement since a new tenant was arriving at my rental home in a few days. It took 10 days for the designated service contractor to call me, by which time I had been forced to hire a local company to replace the heater, who did it the same day I called. AHS denied my subsequent claim for even partial reimbursement. In an earlier incident last spring, my 40-year old furnace at home began leaking gas and it took two weeks to finally get AHS approval for me to contact a local provider to replace it (since AHS was unable to find a provider on their own list) despite the obvious ongoing health danger to my family. AHS eventually covered about half the cost of replacement. The bottom line is that AHS works only if you have the patience to live without major appliances for some time until AHS gets something done, and if you realize that their cost coverage is likely to be a small percentage of your actual expenses. Most people don’t realize how little is covered until they see the bill. If you figure in the AHS monthly premium and the service fee for each visit and the small amount they provide for any eventual reimbursement, AHS provides more the illusion than the reality of effective warranty coverage. As a result, I am opting for self-insurance.

    Michael Date: 2016-06-10 10:27:44

    Review: I've been a customer of AHS for several years now. I submitted a service request for A/C repair on June 3, 2016. The "Simply Heating & Air" Repairman shows up on June 8, 2016, 1 hour past the service window appointment as scheduled. After 2 hours to determine the problem with the A/C, he tells me it's too late in the day to obtain the part needed for the repair, and he won't be able to return with the part for another 5 days because he has other appointments booked. This is NOT ACCEPTABLE!!! And come to find out this Repairman is the only one working in my area for "Simply Heating & Air" that AHS assigned to my service request. RIDICULOUS!!! I would not recommend AHS to anyone, and I will be cancelling my policy with AHS.

    Marianne S Date: 2015-06-19 12:06:10

    Review: I was just on hold with this company for 26 minutes to find out the status of an HVAC unit that was suppose to be here over a week ago on a service call from Jan. 2015. Only 5 months for one service call. At this point, I am terrified of anything else needing service. When I commented on my wait time to speak to someone(26 min.) I was told that was actually pretty quick by the rep. I spoke to. She said normal hold time is about an hour to speak to a person. Wow, I feel stupid I am paying for this service at this point. Only recommend it you have lots of time on your hands,a lot of patience and are not in any hurry to have anything fixed.

    Clif Kelley Date: 2015-05-22 11:37:34

    Review: Contractor was excellent. It took five weeks for the parts distributor to get the part in (not the contractor's fault). The contractor stayed 'on' the parts distributor until the part arrived. They then scheduled the final repair as soon as possible. The contractor was clean, neat, and the two repair representatives excellent. I choose this contractor to do work for me when not covered by my AHS Home Warranty.

    Vicki Date: 2016-07-21 20:22:32

    Review: I bought a new AC unit in January 1999. I have had ongoing problems with AHS for several years now, regarding my AC unit. I've had 5 vendors to service my AC unit since September 2015. It has a new motor, new compressor, new freon installed twice since October 2015 to the tune of almost $1,000.00 out of my pocket (I'm disabled retired), new run cap, new everything. The unit went down again on May 31, 2016. Vendors have been to my home since then (all throughout June 2016). The week of July 17 2016, a vendor has been to my home every other day and twice today (July 21, 2016). The unit blows hot air. AHS does not want to replace the unit. I'm getting the run around. The average temp in my city is 100. The average temp inside of my home this week have been 88. Oh, and did I mention I've been an AHS customer since I bought my home in 1999? I cannot recommend this company to anyone.

    Ronda R. Date: 2012-11-17 02:22:00

    Review: I have had AHS now for almost 9 years. They are ok with minor problems, but when it comes to something more expensive they really suck! We had problems with our A/C unit and called them to fix the problem. Someone came out to fix it, but it broke again. So we call them back and another person comes out to fix it. They said the whole unit needed to be replaced and AHS said that it wasn't covered due to wear and tear. We ask for a second opinion and of course we have to pay for it. The second opinion tells us that the last person who worked on it grounded it wrong and it needed to be replaced. Well, do you think they replaced it? No! They stuck with the first persons opinion. What is sad, is that AHS called out both companies. We gave in and just decided to buy the a/c unit our selves. Now having problems with them again. This time it's a microwave/oven combo for my rental. The frame on the bottom of the microwave broke some how. So I call them to fix the problem because since there is no support for the glass, it's starting to drop. They send someone out to look at it. I was told by the tech that it was old and would be extremely hard to find a door to replace it. He said he will have to let AHS know of his findings. He also asked about the oven. I said, I was told it wasn't baking properly. So he checked that. His findings were; at 350 the temperature read 280. He told me there was nothing he could do about the microwave until he got a response from AHS. This took place on Saturday, so I waited for the next week. I ended up calling AHS on Wednesday, because Monday was Veterans Day. The representative said they were still waiting for the company because the status was that they were researching the item and they have 24-48 hours to research. Then it is sent to AHS and Friday I would get an answer. I get a phone call after 5 pm Friday saying my request was denied. I asked why and was told that the frame broke because the door was miss used. The crack was caused by a loose screw in or near the handle. That when it was tightened it caused a crack that lead to the piece breaking. So I go back to my rental to have another look. I find no screws near the piece that broke except a little white thing that is plastic and you just push it in. There is no way for it to do any damage to the frame. Not once in the report did it mention anything about my oven not heating properly. My opinion is that at one time my oven probably got too hot and warped the frame and it became soft. That's when it eventually broke. I will be calling back on Monday and I'm not giving in this time. I'm also going to be looking for another warranty company.

    Anthony Duperron Date: 2016-05-12 21:00:33

    Review: The only issue I would work on would be having someone available on the weekends, without it being an emergency. My last incident happened on a Friday and no one got back to us until Monday morning. Once contacted, issue was fixed immediately

    Jeff Leaf Date: 2016-08-09 23:22:39

    Review: I placed the request for service online toward the end of the business day. I didn't expect to hear back from the contractor until the next day, but my phone rang approximately three minutes after I clicked "submit". Even though the contractor was not able to schedule me in for the next day, he getting to me within the next couple days if not sooner. Sure enough he called the next morning said he was going to be in the area for another service call and was hoping he could take care of my problem as well. Fortunately it was going to be my day off from work so we were able to make the appointment work. He showed up and looked neat and professional. He took care of the problem, cleaned up his tools, and moved on to his next appointment.

    Kenneth Shomer Date: 2016-07-25 23:07:36

    Review: American Home Shield "The Quick Way To A Fix". They are always on top of your problems till the job is done. They use top companies. And they always check to make sure you are satisfied with the work and personnel.

    Soony Choi Date: 2015-09-05 11:38:25

    Review: On April 2015, our well needed new sum-pump. per policy, it was covered to $1,500. Total cost was $3,509. so, we paid $2,009. and the work was done immediately. our policy premium was $35. per month. Yet, they paid $1,500. immediately without any delay. It is a super policy for the premium to pay. Very thankful for AHS program.

    Sebastina Jones Date: 2015-12-11 21:57:14

    Review: The last experience was the washer repair, we got an appointment quickly and the repairman was very professional, and knowledgeable. After he made repairs he made sure he cleaned the area where he was working to repair. Very good experience.

    Mary Zullo Date: 2014-04-09 19:04:37

    Review: I have many home warranties with American Home Shield, this is my first with Old Republic I went to call then 6 days after moving in the home we bought the shower head starting leaking. The Home Warranty said since it was the first time we took a shower and it just started leaking they would not cover it. Forgive me but isn't a home warranty for those unexpected repairs? Don't waste your money or time on a policy. I asked for a refund since we only had the policy for a week and they give no refunds. This company has a F rating . Realtors don't use this company they wont take care of your clients!

    Ernest Geefay Date: 2012-07-18 20:07:09

    Review: I've only been with them for 3 months now but in that time I've called them twice for 4 issues 1. a clothes dryer that stopped putting out cold air 2. a dishwasher that stopped working 3. a doorbell that stopped working 4. a central vac with a burned out motor. So far I have no real complaints In both calls they took my service request, and sent someone out to my house. The clothes dryer had a bad plastic fan which they replaced The dishwasher had a stuck bearing which the guy oiled and got working again The doorbell had a bad "switch" and a bad chime module...which the technician replace. They took the bad central vacuum unit to their facility to find a new motor so I haven't gotten that back yet. After the first call AHW called to see if everything had gone OK. I said it had. So...so far I have to say I am pleased with the service. I have an old house...23 years old...so a lot of the things are starting to break down. A lot of times they don't sell parts for old equipment any longer and AHS says if they can't fix it ...they'll replace it. I haven't tested that promise out yet but I'll post again if that happens The only downside is the $75 per visit service fee. It can get expensive if all you need is to oil some bearings so try to have a couple of things to fix at the same time I also have them cover a rental unit I own. Peace of mind if anything goes wrong. Before I had AHS I had to replace a bad element in a 20 year old oven/microwave. But they didn't have the part any longer so it cost me over $2000 to replace the oven/microwave...just because they couldn't replace the bad element. That's when I decided on AHS.

    Cheryl Wilson Date: 2015-08-06 16:24:02

    Review: The service is excellent and complete. I live alone so having this policy is a must. Thank you for all your advise and help. I recommend your company to whoever I know owns a home. Cheryl Wilson