×

Home Warranty Companies in California

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in California: $314.03
Average Deductible in California: $41.61
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 8351
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 483
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1712
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2115
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 79
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1793
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 3.9
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1851
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.5
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1028
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.1
  • Service Timeliness 3.3
  • Repair Service 3.1
  • Overall Rating 3.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1530
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.9
  • Service Timeliness 2.9
  • Repair Service 3.0
  • Overall Rating 3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $350-$445
Deductible $65
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1995
Total Reviews 428
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.1
  • Service Timeliness 3.2
  • Repair Service 3.3
  • Overall Rating 3.0
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    William Houck Date: 2017-09-28 19:27:56

    Review: I filed a claim to ORHP via home warranty in June/early-July. Aligned contract provider came to residence to determine nature of malfunction with regard to my Heartland Range/Oven. Provider determined necessary part needing replacement and coordinated with ORHP for approval and work authority. After provider no-showed at least twice, the arrived to do the repair. Best Experience Appliance (ORHP contracted provider) determined within 30 minutes that the part was too difficult to replace and state, "I will call ORHP and coordinate a different provider with Heartland experience or get ORHP to send the unit back to the factory for repair." He also said, "If I take the action to repair, I will need over eight hours and at least three guys to do it. If I do the repair I will damage your stove and the insulation; rending it to have significant hot spots and/or potentially risk for starting a fire." Best Experience Appliance did not contact ORHP; I made the call to ORHP to let them know what Best Experience Appliance had to say. They immediately coordinated send a new provider, DS Appliance to trouble shoot the issue and identify the necessary repairs. DS Appliance was prompt and I had no complaints. DS appliance notified ORHP that they could not do the work due to damage of the part number on the part needing repair. They further recommended to ORHP that the repair should be sent back to Best Experience Appliance. Through all of these actions, I was not at all aware of the plan-poor communication-and once I did call, they notified me that BEA was the assigned provider again. This was on 19 September; now 28 September and no action has been taken. Best Experience Appliance has not and likely will not answer the phone or return emails from ORHP. They made it very clear in early August that they did not want to do the repair. It has now been nearly four months since filing of claim and no action has resulted in repair per the contract between me, property owner and the obligations of ORHP. I want ORHP to have my oven repaired immediately. I bought the house in May and filed the claim in late-June/early-July. ORHP routinely states, "We have put a call into the provider, but they are not available. We will settle this and get back to you." Even though I have heard those words no-less than six times, no action has resulted in repair of my range/oven. Repair it now.

    Gary Salazar Date: 2015-11-09 21:33:24

    Review: The last time that we used AHS we had a faulty dishwasher. The service rep contacted us the very next day for an appointment. When he arrived and checked the dishwasher he immediately knew what was wrong. He was in and out within 45 minutes. We would and do recommend AHS to all of our friends and family.

    Kimberly Delgado Date: 2014-03-14 14:48:37

    Review: I am extremely happy with my AHS insurance. So far I've only had one service to fix my dishwasher and it turned out perfectly. It was a big issue for me with other extended warranty companies because they were so expensive and only covered a few appliances. So expensive in fact, that I didn't even have them covered. Now I feel more confident and at ease about my home appliances and systems knowing that they are protected with AHS at a very reasonable price. I highly recommend this warranty service.

    M Date: 2014-06-15 16:26:34

    Review: I filed a claim for a kitchen drain. They sent a plumber who was not able to see the extension of the problem because the drain was in the crawl space. The second plumber was not able to see the drain either, but the estimated the leak to be there for more than a year and the cost to fix it about 18 hundred. Old Rep said that because the problem has been there for more than a year, they would not allow the claim. The plumber also gave us an estimate of 1K to fix it on this own time. I called Old Rep, to ask for a second opinion because the second plumber did go under the crawl space to see leak. He made his estimate from 8 feet away. The Old Rep customer representative said that they can not do second opinions unless I have another plumber provide conflicting information. I ended up fixing the leak myself for less than fifty bucks... The service that Old Rep home warranty provides is not worth it the money I pay for it.

    michael chalhoub Date: 2012-06-21 23:19:17

    Review: hands down the worst company to deal with. i am soo frustrated with them i dont even know where to begin! DO NOT purchase a warranty through them. choose fidelity or old republic.

    Jon Cantrell Date: 2016-05-20 12:12:38

    Review: I filed a claim for repair of a microwave oven and a week later the contractor, LA Appliance came and diagnosed the problem and ordered a part. 10 days later the tech came back and learned his office had supplied the wrong part. It has now been 24 days since I filed the claim and I have no idea as to when the repair will be complete. An AHS representative told me 5 days ago that he would contact the contractor and either he or the contractor would call me with an update. No call. No email. Nothing! This is horrible service and I will be switching vendors.

    David W Date: 2013-02-21 12:38:33

    Review: Their policies are unethical, their business practices amoral and their overall service is unbelievably poor. I called about a leaky faucet, two leaking bibs outside and one inside. They sent a plumber who once he looked at it said, "These are not covered under your policy and I have no idea why they sent me out. Now pay me $75 dollars for the service call." I did not pay it - as he said he would not have paid it either -- sending out vendors to assess a situation they know ahead of time is not covered under a particular policy. This type of behavior is against the law and they should be punished accordingly!!

    Cathy Obrien Date: 2015-08-06 09:57:02

    Review: I have used Old Republic for over 5 years and have now discontinued service due to the extremely poor customer service and unprofessional and unethical contractors that they hire. The last straw was when I was told that I needed a new air conditioner. It has now been 3 weeks in triple digit temperatures without any A/C and the only response I receive from Old Republic is "we have to go through the process".

    DOUGLAS ALDRIDGE Date: 2017-01-26 06:33:15

    Review: The plumber that AHS sent to our home was great! Always called ahead to let me know he was on the way.

    Melissa Date: 2014-05-26 18:11:00

    Review: Quite frankly, I was very nervous when I read the yelp reviews regarding AHS and the company they contract with in my area. But I decided to go with it since I knew it would be a costly repair with out the warranty. Thankful the reviews could not have been more wrong! Everything went down perfectly, from the timely response and appointment, to the technician arriving on time, repairing the issue, answering all of my questions, all while being clean and friendly.

    Katherine Lazo Date: 2016-02-02 16:27:06

    Review: because you dont have 000000000000000000 i dont put 0 start.

    Hugh Date: 2013-11-02 11:18:33

    Review: The process of ordering and receiving our American Home Shield service was seamless. The Customer Service person that responded to my call was courteous and thorough. The follow up to confirm my appointment was prompt and timely. The service personnel that responded to my request were knowledgeable, courteous and treated me with respect. Upon completion of the service request I was asked for my feedback on the quality of work and service. On both counts I answered that I was completely satisfied. Any initial doubts I may have had about the quality of service and cost benefit ratio have been erased. I am completely satisfied with American Home Shield service.

    Elizabeth Hirsch Date: 2017-10-20 18:00:08

    Review: You think you\'re buying 24/7 service; however, the 24/7 service means you can call a service request in - BUT contractors will only be sent out mon - fri 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. So, called in once for having no electricity on a Sat morning (waited on hold for 45 minutes), and was told they\'d call a contractor on Mon, at which time, they would have 48 hours to then contact me for an appt. How is a total of 5 days ok for emergency service for zero electricity? Watch what you\'re paying for.....

    Laura Date: 2013-05-13 19:30:04

    Review: We got the AHS with our new house and it has been a horrible service. Our dishwasher broke 3 months after we moved in. When you call, it's contracted out to a local repair man. The repair service is SO unresponsive. They only work 10-2 M-W in our area. They have been out 4 times and our dishwasher is still broken. The second time he was out, he said he fixed it, but must not have checked on anything. It was still broken. The third time, he was there for 10 minutes and said he'd have to order another part and be back in a week. Then they took 2 weeks to order a part! Ridiculous! And they don't call to tell you its in - they wait for you to call and ask why its taking so long. AHS has been so unresponsive, they have sent us 3 notices that they closed the file! Unbelievable. They don't have a clue what's going on. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, it took them 3 business days to call me. The supervisor was a waste - he just said I would have to be home to let the repairman in between 10-2 M-W. What kind of service is this? HORRIBLE! They treat customers as if we are captive to their service, but then, I guess they already have the money from our poor sellers so what do they care? DO NOT buy a house with this coverage. Ask for the money instead and hire a real repair person. The only thing they seem to insure is you going nuts if you ever have to use their service!

    Erica Date: 2017-09-11 20:57:18

    Review: I had a problem with my pool. Old republic sent someone out to fix it. Of course, that part wasn\'t under warranty. (The repair man said it is with several other companies, but not this one). So I had to out of pocket about $200 for a fuze instead of a $60 trade call. I asked multiple times if this was everything I owed. Did this included my trade call fee? They told me yes. Months later I get collection notices from Old Republic telling me I owe a trade call fee! I explained the situation and told them I have the receipt they still told me I have to pay. So I paid $60 over the phone. Three days later they sent me another letter saying I owe $85! I called and asked why?!?! She said she sees I paid the $60 but now I owe a $25 collection fee!!! The only letter I got stating it was from a collection company was the last letter, dated AFTER I already paid the bill that I don\'t believe I owed in the first place! I told the lady I had just paid the bill! When I called why didn\'t they take the $85 then? This is now twice they have come after me for more money AFTER I HAVE ALL READY PAID IN FULL!!! On top of it it was a fuze! It should have been $20 total! So I asked her how do I know if I pay this bill that they won\'t come after me again asking for more! It\'s disgusting! I was told a manager will get back to me with in 24 hours. At this point I haven\'t paid the $25. The woman was so rude and I really don\'t trust that if I pay it they won\'t charge me again. I feel like they are just billing me to see how much $$$ they can get and just threaten to ruin my credit if I don\'t pay!

    Melissa Engelbert Date: 2017-11-03 23:28:42

    Review: I have had AHS now for 20 years. My pool guy is awesome and I would never want anyone else to try to service my pool. All others have been alright for all other house problems, except for the air conditioner people they were worst ever and had to be replaced. BIGGEST problem is the phone wait!! Over one hour!!! How can a business this big do so bad in answering a phone call to request service or answer a question!! SO WHAT if you guys are having a lot of calls!! THAT is YOUR PROBLEM!! By the way is your business! So be HAPPY you are busy!! and hire some more people!!!

    Tom P. Date: 2015-03-18 23:24:34

    Review: I had AHS come out to clear a blockage in my kitchen sink, fix leaky faucets in the bathtub, and remove an unwanted garbage disposal. The plumber from Intercity Plumbing did not have all the parts necessary to complete the job of removing the garbage disposal, and told me to go out and buy an air gap. The plumber said that is all that is needed to complete the job. He mentioned to connect the gray hose from the d/w into the air gap and clamp it closed. I thought, even I can do that. When I went to Home Depot and told a worker i needed an air gap, he mentioned I needed many more pieces to complete the job (after I explained I removed the disposal). Anyhow, I called AHS back to have the plumber come back because it was an incomplete job. After speaking with 4 different people throughout the day on the statues of having someone come back out, I was told that if I wanted someone to complete the job, it would cost either $90 to reinstall the disposal, or $160 to install an air gap. I explained that the plumber had removed the disposal but did not connect the d/w hose to anything. The plumbing company said that removing the disposal was a modification, and the warranty company does not cover that. I told Intercity plumbing that I have a work order from AHS to remove the disposal, and the job is incomplete. Anyhow, I asked to speak to a supervisor twice today, and each time I was told a supervisor was "not at their desk and will have to call you back." No phone call back. AHS says they will not send anyone back out, unless I pay another service fee of $100. I know understand that this is a modification...but BOTH the plumber and AHS DID NOT tell me this prior to them starting the work. I would have said ok and not to touch it. The job is incomplete...and was their mistake for not knowing this was not covered under the policy. How should i know as a customer. Because of this I will be canceling my TWO policies, and moving them to First American Home. The service fee is $65 and an annual premium of $408. I will also be filing a complaint with the BBB.

    G. Wade Date: 2013-07-03 15:15:05

    Review: After waiting on hold for 90 min. I decided this company is a waste of my time. When my call was answered by a customer service rep I explained my disapproval of such inferior service and I would not be renewing. In the mail this week I received a message from AHS explaining they would not be willing to renew my policy. Just for the fun of it, I called to ask why. I was told that they have paid more on my service calls than they collected. I laughed and replied isn’t that what insurance is for. The rep replied “I understand”. My policy is up in 60 days and I can hardly wait, I’ve already ordered its replacement from Fidelity National. This company has changed dramatically. We used to be one of their stronger supporters. This company has changed dramatically. We used to be one of their stronger supporters.

    Eric Alexander Date: 2015-01-29 15:56:25

    Review: American Home Shield is a life saver. We have had this service for over 15 years and they have always been there for us, either repairing an item, unpugging a sink, replacing a broken item. It is worth every penny.

    Darlene Repay Date: 2015-07-18 11:03:48

    Review: 1. Service line is arduous with long waiting periods every time I call 2. Unable to access a manager to make a complaint about having to wait 4 days for a repair, after their rep made a mistake about the nature of the problem. I had to call them three times and waited at least 15 minutes on the phone each time. 3. Repair representatives are uneducated and don't listen 4. The sales people answer right away, but cannot access a manager or anyone to cancel my account. This is a frustrating company to deal with, Fidelity is MUCH better. Never had a problem in two years with them, but I have only had AMS plan for two months and already totally frustrated.