×

Home Warranty Companies in California

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in California: $313.28
Average Deductible in California: $41.46
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 8072
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 470
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $65-$75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1705
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2014
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1761
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 79
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1773
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.4
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1026
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.1
  • Service Timeliness 3.2
  • Repair Service 3.0
  • Overall Rating 3.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1525
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3
  • Service Timeliness 2.9
  • Repair Service 3.1
  • Overall Rating 3.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $350-$445
Deductible $65
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1995
Total Reviews 426
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.0
  • Service Timeliness 3.1
  • Repair Service 3.2
  • Overall Rating 3.0
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Jesse Date: 2016-03-11 19:18:37

    Review: Very bad experience with this company. First some days it takes 15-20 minutes to get a live person. Then you can barely understand what they are saying. Last they turn down a claim because the contractor they sent said he remembers coming here 2 years ago and it was a problem for the previous owners? But it has not been a problem for us until recently. So the next time we call for something else, will that also be a previous problem denial? Not honoring the contract or doing good faith business.

    R. Stump Date: 2012-11-20 20:52:25

    Review: terrible service, I'm a two year customer, never turned in a claim. Had their service person show up for a dishwasher repair; very unprofessional, LATE,and rude. Received a call from Old Republic stating they are declining the repair. Even though service man said it was a defective part. I will NOT be renewing when my contract is up.

    Juan Mora Date: 2015-02-14 00:07:16

    Review: Been with them a few yrs now and i've used it a couple times, a washing machine and the garage door open. On the washing machine they came out once and replaced a part on it few months later it quit again and AHS did not want to authorize a replacement even though the "maytag man" was telling them the unit was shot. That was a big fiasco. On the garage door opener i called and specifically said "garage door opener", well they wrote the service call as an electrical problem,... it wasnt. The contractor came and look at it and said "the unit is 17 yrs old and is shot it needs replacing" they came back a week later and brought just a mother board trying to cut corners, they hooked it all up and it didn't work then finaly a month after the firs call the showed up with the cheapest door opener they could find that cost as much as my deductible...fine its fixed. Two weeks later i got a letter from AHS saying "we are closing your service request for you electrical file because we have not heard from you, if you still need help call us" i was like what the heck doesn't the contractor is supposed to let them know is fix? obviously they don't do follow ups. Another problem i've had with them is billing Three times i got'n a letter from AHS telling me they sent me to collections because i didn't make the payments for three months. Heck i got it set up for monthly deductions on a credit card. It seems to me they are only in it for the money and they dont give a crackadoddle about replacing or fixing anything they need to go back to business class :p

    Aneesa Haider Date: 2013-01-02 17:58:21

    Review: I have now been without heat for almost 1 month. The contractor network that AHS uses is pitiful. The initial contractor stated that my heating system needed to be replaced and that there were flames shooting out of the firebox. AHS did not respond with any urgency. Instead, they calmly dismissed the contractors assessment stating that it "sounded ridiculous." They asked for a 2nd opinion. The 2nd contractor was impossible to get in touch with and I was unable to schedule an appointment. AHS then assigned another contractor (after a dozen phone calls and threats to retain a lawyer). Third contractor came out and had a completely different diagnosis. I am still waiting (its been 6 days) for the contractor to provide their report to AHS. Meanwhile, it has been freezing. I have moved out of my house and have been staying with relatives. I do not get the sense that AHS has any interest to expedite the claim. Every time I call, it is a different person and I have not been able to escalate my claims to any supervisor level. I have an appointment with my attorney tomorrow. I believe that AHS is an irresponsible company and they have a terrible network of contractors they choose to do business with.

    Nicole Dowling Date: 2015-08-27 16:49:48

    Review: I have had AHS for 6 years now. In the last year I have had to use the service for my A/C unit three times. I am now trying to schedule something for a fourth time and have had not but issues. My mother lives with me and is on dialysis and cannot be in the heat due to nose bleeds and her b/p drops. I am completely disgusted by the way this is being handled. In my opinion AHS is not selecting the correct outside contractors. I am upset that I have had to use this service four times now for the same thing and having to pay $75.00 each time. I am currently looking elsewhere for home warranty protection. AHS does not rate any stars in my book.

    Granvette Matthews Date: 2016-07-11 21:53:15

    Review: I had a pipe leak under my bathroom sink, so I called AHS for service and the provider got in touch with me, arranged a visit and the repair was made. The wait time for receiving the call to schedule a repair visit has improved significantly and that makes me happy!

    christina serrato Date: 2015-04-03 18:33:26

    Review: I have a home warranty with old republic, and I wished I hadn't, they do not want to pay for anything,the tell you that a certain part or procedure is covered, and when the service provider comes out, once old republic finds out that it cost slot to fix, they refuse service, leaving you to pay out of pocket on your own, they are crooks, please see other reviews about them and you will see all the dissatisfied customers, I will never renew with them and will not call them for another work order again!

    Sarah Wasson Date: 2017-07-07 16:39:55

    Review: Great service from AHS, you still need to keep an eye on some of the companies that come out to service you, always gets additional quotes, you don\'t need to use the first company that comes out. The cash out option is great and has saved me hundreds of dollars by finding my own company to do the work instead of the one AHS sends out

    Matt Date: 2012-05-03 11:26:44

    Review: I have given up on this company and are shoping for someone else. After calling them for 3 different items for service and being denied coverage for all, it doesn't make sence to pay them and not getting adequate coverage. Very disapointed with them.

    Annabelle Kennedy Date: 2012-03-02 14:49:15

    Review: Terrible in every way. Horrible customer service, they wont help you with anything and are generally rude. Outrageous wait times, I called and was on hold for 1 1/2 hours. They will not return your e-mails. The repair people they sent out actually broke my microwave and AHS told me it was only cosmetic so they would not do anything about it. I will not renew with them, when I told them that they did not care.

    Dr. Viviane Carson Date: 2014-10-20 13:43:21

    Review: My toilet was refilling at different times. It was not consistent, but my water bill was three times the normal fee. So I shut off the valve below the toilet and the water bill went back to normal. I kept calling this company and they sent out three different plumbers who refused to investigate the problem, and told me I was making it up. The last plumber they sent was verbally abusive to me!!! They charged me the deductible 3 times and still did not fix the problem. Customer service reps were rude. This is the WORST COMPANY I ever had to deal with. This went on from April to October and it was NOT fixed. I had to call my own plumber who found the problem immediately and repaired it and AHS would not pay the bill. I would NEVER recommend this company.

    Cheryl Wilson Date: 2015-08-06 16:24:02

    Review: The service is excellent and complete. I live alone so having this policy is a must. Thank you for all your advise and help. I recommend your company to whoever I know owns a home. Cheryl Wilson

    Joyce Weaver Date: 2017-09-10 09:03:44

    Review: Nothing but trouble, I paid extra for well service they don\'t cover the basic stuff that goes out. I had a frig where 4 tech came out and told them I needed a new one, never got one and brought ones our self, and recently dryer went out took over a week for parts. Nice repairman, I was surprised they covered it. I really dislike them, I have 7 Old Republic Home Warranties I would transfer but don\'t want the 30 day wait. I plan on going to them, never a problem ever. There is no communication here, took forever on the phone and for an appointment. Funny they have a place to ask company to call for a complaint, hum they still don\'t help and they don\'t call

    Lys Deetjen Date: 2015-04-27 11:08:20

    Review: I have been using American Home Shield for more than 7 years and each year my contract was renewed without a fault and this year they decided not to renew my contract. I only found out when I initiated a plumbing service call, at which time I was told that my contract was terminated. I was told that they had sent me a letter notifying the reason, a letter that I have never received. When I tried to follow up by phone, I could not get hold of anyone and thus the mystery continues. I suspect that possibly I had a few plumbing service calls etc over they years and an electrical panel call that they refused to service until I argued that was a part of the service contract. Although I am very upset of the way they terminate my contract, I feel may be that's the best option not to use them when I calculate an annual fee of $400 plus $75 for each service call and the amount of service calls in a year it doesnot make any economic sense.

    James Date: 2017-03-10 06:25:44

    Review: The seller purchase a 1 year home warranty for me from old republic on purchase of my home. I was even signed up for the "Preferred ultimate protection plan". After 2 weeks I had a gas pipe leak and called to file a claim. Since gas pipe leaks was part of the brochure and plan I thought it was perfect and a chance to really see how this company holds up it\'s reputation. From the moment they answered my first call ever, It was like speaking to a "we can\'t" expert who finds every loophole, clause and reason to tell you that old republic doesn\'t cover that part of your problem. They told me that they couldn\'t fix the leak because the pipe was from leading from my main house to a detached garage 10 feet away. They told me that it has to be in the boundaries of my home. I told them that the entire place including my garage is my home and this is called a "home warranty". They just kept repeating they can\'t do it after every thing you say after that. So if you like this type of reasoning then by all means believe their hand selected web site testamonials and try it out yourself. Thank goodness I didn\'t pay for this company\'s home warranty myself as it\'s worthless.

    Theresa Donohoo Date: 2016-07-17 23:25:40

    Review: When the first service tech came to repair my washing machine, I suppose I didn't describe the problem specifically enough. He couldn't fix it. The next service tech came out and the issue was resolved.

    James Cosley Date: 2015-07-12 10:02:06

    Review: Very disappointed with this company. I had a problem with the motor in my pool pump this summer. It has taken them one month to get the problem solved, meanwhile my pool is getting damaged. I could have had a new pump from Amazon the next day but AHS has penny pinched and wanted to replace only the motor. This will save them a couple of hundred bucks while possibly costing us thousands. They have been slow all through this process which is unacceptable when a pool pump goes down in July. IMO, buying a warranty from this company is a waste of money.

    Patti Martinez Date: 2015-08-11 15:29:06

    Review: I had AHS out for a clogged toilet.....and also called my AHS "rep" for assistance being I really needed it cleared asap, as I fell and am in a leg cast and it's very challenging if I had to go to the back of the house for the 2nd bathroom. Plumbing person came out the very next day and cleared it within 5 minutes and went on their way. Happy customer.

    Marc Date: 2015-09-08 20:45:18

    Review: You will NEVER spend less than 45 minutes on hold. EVER. Setting up an account is easy, using your policy is almost impossible if you actually need to speak to a human being, and you will need to. Take it from this guy, STAY AWAY. They have over 5000 complaints on BBB. Out of curiosity I called the number to get a policy and of course, that one they picked up quickly. But if you need help, do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

    Pamela Washington Date: 2015-03-12 11:00:06

    Review: A few months ago I had a problem with the faucet on my bathroom sink and a leak coming from the tub. I called AHS and within 24 hours I got a call from their recommended plumbing contractor. The company's service man arrived within a day of the call, assessed the problem with the tub and faucet and made the necessary repairs. The only concern I had was that the guy purchased the right faucet but the wrong finish. This error is more on me than the plumber because I did not notice the difference for two days. The faucet works and I now have running water coming from the faucet (something that was not happening before), so I decided to just live with the mistake. The customer service representative that answered my call was very polite, listened to my concerns and got in touch with the Plumbing contractor right away. My second call to AHS was for an electrician to correct problems I was having with some outlets and my ceiling fan. The problem with the fan persisted but the AHS service rep got in touch with the company who sent their electrician a second time to diagnose the problem. Once identified, he/his employer contacted the manufacturer and ordered the part needed to resolve the problem. The fan and its companion light fixture have been working well since the final visit from the electrician. My last call was for a service check-up for my heating and air conditioning units. The HVAC service person that was sent did a thorough inspection of the units as well as provided me with some advice on how to maintain the systems between inspections. to date, each contractor that has come to my home for a service call has been neatly attired, courteous and knowledgeable about his respective field.