Home Warranty Companies in California

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in California: $314.38
Average Deductible in California: $41.74
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7631
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1653
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.3
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.3
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 454
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.7
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.7
  • Overall Rating 4.7
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1834
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1685
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2988
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.9
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 3.9
  • Overall Rating 3.8
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 75
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.3
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.3
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1704
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.6
  • Service Timeliness 3.5
  • Repair Service 3.6
  • Overall Rating 3.5
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1514
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.2
  • Service Timeliness 3.2
  • Repair Service 3.3
  • Overall Rating 3.2
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1019
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Not Good
2.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.9
  • Service Timeliness 3.1
  • Repair Service 2.9
  • Overall Rating 2.8
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    St Date: 2013-10-10 14:47:22

    Review: People are under the impression that this is a gift from the seller while negotiating the sale of a house. This is a scam. You are charged for every visit that a repair person makes, even though the repair person may not solve the problem or make the problem worse. In my situation, I had a plumber make repairs to the master bath sink. After problems arose from the repair, I received approval from Old Republic to hire my own plumber. I submitted the $100 invoice from the plumber and received $5 back. Old Republic deducted $60 even though its plumber caused the problem and it went by it thinks a plumber should charge for a service call to decide how much to reimburse me. That is the most recent problem that I have had with Old Republic; there are others. Fortunately, the coverage term is over and I do not have to pretend that I have a warranty in place.

    eric espana Date: 2016-07-08 18:54:38

    Review: called to have my a/c unit checked out for not blowing cold air, first they made an appointment for a vendor to come check out my system, well never received a call from them, called ahs back to find out that the vendor did not service my area, so ahs set up another vendor who did show up and told me that my air conditioning ducting was in need of replacing which I have coverage for, the second vendor said they were going to get an authorization for from ahs, over a week has gone by and never got a call, waited on the phone with ahs for 55 minutes to find out whats happening, was told she would call vendor to find out, I never received a call back but was sent another vendor call out for the same vendor they set me up with the first time who does not service my area, I am still waiting to hear back from them, im just about to give up, customer serive is not there strong suit!

    Andrew Date: 2016-02-26 19:08:00

    Review: Terrible... Just terrible. READ THE FINE PRINT! They will figure out every way to deny your claim, despite what you ask on the phone with their reps. Those corprate salaries come at a cost, which is the lack of quality to customer service. RUN FAST and FAR away from Old Republic Home Protection.

    Anthony Olive Date: 2014-03-02 18:46:56

    Review: Had them for several years sending out same company to fix A/C with the same problem. On the last visit, this repair company informed us that we have a 5 ton evaporator coil, and a 3.5 ton condenser. Why couldn't this company tell us this during the first visit, after we moved in? They had the same description every time. Now Old Republic will not service our A/C unit as it is a 'mismatched' system, and it was like that when we moved in. Horrible service, and horrible service companies they use to service homes!

    C. Clemente Date: 2013-09-27 12:29:04

    Review: We have been with this company for 20 years and they just sent a letter stating that at the end of our contract term, November 2013, they will not renew us. So just like any other greedy insurance company, if you make a claim, don't expect to be covered! I will use any means to get the word out, do not use American Home Shield!

    Carrie Clarke Date: 2013-12-04 15:09:37

    Review: The repairman who came to fix the washing machine was extremely personable and professional. After diagnosing the problem, he went above and beyond to check all other parts of the machine, and to explain the proper way to fill and run a load for maximum efficiency. I was very impressed at the time he took - and was certainly not trying to rush off to another job.

    Dan Gallo Date: 2014-09-08 12:32:42

    Review: Great company reps, and great fast service.

    gene vanhootegem Date: 2016-05-17 19:19:41

    Review: This company is useless

    John Lee Date: 2012-03-01 19:31:19

    Review: Poor Service coverage. AHS denied service of a defect A/C system. Claiming it is a factory recall and not covered under their policy! Well, why do I even need their service at the first place then.

    ramzi salameh Date: 2014-02-05 22:36:26

    Review: everything was a great experience, contractor showed up on time as planned, ordered the parts, came back promptly and rerplaced them, everything worked perfect and left the work area clean and free of debris. five star experience from start to end.

    Ed. Murphy Date: 2014-03-27 16:20:31

    Review: Like the majority of review don't bother with a home warranty protection plan. I used Old Republic Home Warranty, just once! Paid the service Tech and then the company refused to pay for repairing the broken appliance. Be SMART! Don't get a home warranty even if your realtor provides it, get something else from the realtor. You should either save the money or burn it! These companies offer nothing to society!

    Wilbur Breslin Date: 2014-10-07 10:42:41

    Review: When we called in we did not have a long wait or questions before talking with a service rep. We received all the necessary information about who, what, when and what our cost would be. The service company responded the same day and promised to be here between 9 and noon. The where here at 9:30 am. Service was performed quickly and efficiently. The service tech explained what he had done and what / we should do if we had another problem. We were very pleased and would use this Company even for non covered service.

    Karen Dressel Date: 2017-07-11 06:06:25

    Review: Used to be great but too hard to get ahold of by phone. It took 2 weeks to get my AC repaired and that is not acceptable where I live. Contractor was good, though.

    Kergan peterson Date: 2016-03-09 09:59:02

    Review: I have had AHS for over a year and this is the first time using them. It has been a month trying to get a 2 year old washing machine fixed...still is not fixed. They sent a guy out twice that did not know what he was doing at all. Finally got someone out that had the part and could fix it but after talking to 5 employees from AHS could not get the right service code he left without fixing it. It's been a long frustrating process. Still has not been fixed. I would not recommend this company. I hope they can fix soon and be done with this.

    Belinda M Date: 2015-06-05 17:53:53

    Review: I have been with American Home Shield for about 3 years now, I have 2 contracts with them. When i call for a service to send out a tech that part is easy. The problem is after that 1st tech leaves and they were not able to fix the problem. I have been without a working microwave since 1/2015 it is now 6/2015. There has been 2 contracted companies and about 12 visits to my home. Today 6/5/15 i am still without a working microwave. I have children at home and my life sometimes depends on a microwave. I have asked that my microwave be replaced or allow me to purchase a microwave and I would be reimbursed. There has not been anyone to approve either request. Not to mention the 2nd company that came out my home warranty was not aware of them coming out. (scary)Well this is because the 1st company transferred the service call to another company because they were unsuccessful with fixing my Microwave.This is not the 1st time i have had issues with AHS. I have another contract and i had issues with the oven and microwave not working. AHS dragged their feet once again. Since these appliances were old and my family living there really needed working appliances. I went ahead and replaced the appliances myself. When I think of the use of my Home Warranty I no longer see the value. I will not recommend them. The story of let downs can go on, even with my air conditioner, same issue. This company will not replace appliances period! There is no one to follow up to make sure customers are satisfied. I have done surveys and i call AHS every other day. AMERICA i am still without a working microwave. Microwaves are so cheap to replace. I'm a homeowner i can easily replace a simple microwave. What about when there is a major issue going on in my home. I see that i will not be serviced properly as a customer. I have talked to numerous representatives and even spoke with escalations. Im doing all the foot work for free. Im just so upset, about how they don't strive to satisfy customers. Even if you choose not to satisfy customers. Lets think about it this way, I have had 2 companies a total of 12 visits ($50x12) minimum $50 a/visit vs a microwave costing $275. This company had paid for my microwave TWICE now and i am not satisfied and once again my microwave is not working.

    Toby Wingfield Date: 2016-08-15 23:21:35

    Review: When I am traveling and my wife has something breakdown in the house, she doesn't need to worry about finding a suitable contractor she just has one contact number and AHS does the rest. Very responsive and you get a call back same day!

    Jon Cantrell Date: 2016-05-20 12:12:38

    Review: I filed a claim for repair of a microwave oven and a week later the contractor, LA Appliance came and diagnosed the problem and ordered a part. 10 days later the tech came back and learned his office had supplied the wrong part. It has now been 24 days since I filed the claim and I have no idea as to when the repair will be complete. An AHS representative told me 5 days ago that he would contact the contractor and either he or the contractor would call me with an update. No call. No email. Nothing! This is horrible service and I will be switching vendors.

    Linda Johnson Date: 2015-04-16 11:23:06

    Review: I had a upstairs drain leak which causes damage in my dining room. It took a week for plumbers to complete repairs. After the repairs I was left with a hole in the dining ceiling. Because there were no service repair in the area , home shield stent me a check for the estimated repairs allowing me to contact a local repairman. Services competed even though it was over a week .

    Jacqueline Kearney Date: 2016-07-21 21:57:19

    Review: Our contractor was on time, courteous and very professional. He assessed the problem immediately finding the problem. Since he had to order a part, he gave me a temporary fix until the part came in and he could return to install it. He was great

    Vera Chrismer Date: 2015-08-10 21:49:24

    Review: We have been very pleased with AHS customer service. When we requested service, we promptly received an email telling us who was coming and when to expect their call.The contractors were quick to respond and fix the problem. When they had to order parts they were back to get them installed as soon as possible. They have always been polite and clean up when they leave.