Home Warranty Companies in California

Coverage in California (CA) major towns:

Average Premium in California: $314.38
Average Deductible in California: $41.74
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7360
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  2The Home Service Club
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 433
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
BBB Rating C-
Established In 2015
Total Reviews 400
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1682
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  5First American Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1592
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  6HSA Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1639
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  7Choice Home Warranty
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2693
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  8Home Warranty Of America
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1616
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in california

    Irene Hovey Date: 2013-06-14 17:31:13

    Review: This company as other people have said is a scam. They would not replace my microwave after normal wear and tear like they said they would.

    Jennifer Date: 2013-12-19 17:44:54

    Review: The customer service for AHS is exemplary, but I think a lot of the service come down to the person that is sent with the service call. I've had a nice electrician and a not so nice one, a nice plumber and a not so nice plumber all do repair through AHS. 3 of the 4 jobs were done to completion with no complaints. The 3rd job had to have a callback. The service from AHS is great because they are constantly asking for feedback on every service call.

    Sherilyn Dearth Date: 2016-04-05 23:06:24

    Review: We had an airconditioning issues this summer & my mom lies with us & needs the AC. Not only was using American Home Shield system easy ( I used the callin method ) but the contracted AC comapny called shortly after the order was placed with American Home Shield. The AC company came out shorthly & stayed until the issue was fixed. They had the parts on the turck, the techs were professional did a very nice job.

    Belinda M Date: 2015-06-05 17:53:53

    Review: I have been with American Home Shield for about 3 years now, I have 2 contracts with them. When i call for a service to send out a tech that part is easy. The problem is after that 1st tech leaves and they were not able to fix the problem. I have been without a working microwave since 1/2015 it is now 6/2015. There has been 2 contracted companies and about 12 visits to my home. Today 6/5/15 i am still without a working microwave. I have children at home and my life sometimes depends on a microwave. I have asked that my microwave be replaced or allow me to purchase a microwave and I would be reimbursed. There has not been anyone to approve either request. Not to mention the 2nd company that came out my home warranty was not aware of them coming out. (scary)Well this is because the 1st company transferred the service call to another company because they were unsuccessful with fixing my Microwave.This is not the 1st time i have had issues with AHS. I have another contract and i had issues with the oven and microwave not working. AHS dragged their feet once again. Since these appliances were old and my family living there really needed working appliances. I went ahead and replaced the appliances myself. When I think of the use of my Home Warranty I no longer see the value. I will not recommend them. The story of let downs can go on, even with my air conditioner, same issue. This company will not replace appliances period! There is no one to follow up to make sure customers are satisfied. I have done surveys and i call AHS every other day. AMERICA i am still without a working microwave. Microwaves are so cheap to replace. I'm a homeowner i can easily replace a simple microwave. What about when there is a major issue going on in my home. I see that i will not be serviced properly as a customer. I have talked to numerous representatives and even spoke with escalations. Im doing all the foot work for free. Im just so upset, about how they don't strive to satisfy customers. Even if you choose not to satisfy customers. Lets think about it this way, I have had 2 companies a total of 12 visits ($50x12) minimum $50 a/visit vs a microwave costing $275. This company had paid for my microwave TWICE now and i am not satisfied and once again my microwave is not working.

    Beverly mcconico Date: 2015-05-13 16:38:01

    Review: I have recently renew my coverage with Old Republic home warranty.I wish I had chose another company.this company suck,i live in California and my warranty suppose to cover plumbing leakage, I just bought this condo lest than a year and my kitchen sink pipes were leaking,call up my home warranty to repair and this is what I get, nothing, I still had to pay the plummer 60.00 for doing nothin because there is a clauses in the coverage that state if your pipes were install improperly they don't cover it.How would i know that the pipes were installed wrong? why would have that type of clause in he coverage in the first place when I bought it like that not knowing the pipes are installed wrong.If I could I would give them no star. as soon as I can I will change to a better one and do my research for now on. hope no one else get caught like this .Please check your cover and if there is something written in the document like that don't take it. had to pay out my pocket, when I have a home warranty coverage that don't really cover much.

    RHiro Date: 2014-10-15 12:04:00

    Review: 8 weeks after moving into our new home, the water heater and timer for recirculation pump stopped working. Called OR first thing the next morning. Spoke with their local contractor within an hour and had a service call that same day. Contractor reported back to OR quickly and work order was approved immediately. Water heater pressure valve replaced that day and new timer ordered and replaced within a few days. Everyone I spoke with/worked with was pleasant and professional. Couldn't have asked for anything more. My only cost was the $60 service call fee. I feel the premium we paid has already been worth it.

    Charles H Date: 2014-01-30 12:34:12

    Review: It was midsummer Southeast Texas and our air conditioning unit had stopped working. We called AHS and they quickly sent us the name of the repair service we should use. Absolut Comfort came out the next day. They had to order parts to complete the job, but as soon as it came, they were "Johnny On The Spot" and we were back to our cool selves once again.

    Janet Knoeppel Date: 2014-09-27 19:51:19

    Review: This policy was purchased for me when I bought my home last October. I called yesterday afternoon (9/26/2014) at approx. 2:00 PM. I have a leak under the sink in the kitchen. I do not know if it is the garbage disposal or the dishwasher. I called and requested service. I was told someone from Better Flow Plumbing would contact me to set up an appointment. At 8:51 PM last night Francisco called and we set an appointment for 11:00 AM today (9/27/2014). At 11:20 I called him. He said he "forgot." Then he said he had an emergency and should have called me, but that he was in San Bernardino and couldn't get to me. He wanted to come at 12:30. I said okay. Then he called back and said he couldn't make it. We settled on 5:00 PM today. At 5:25 I tried to call him. His phone was turned off and went to voice mail. The message was that the voice mailbox was full and hung up on me. I then tried to call customer service at Old Republic. All that did was put me on a hold that kept spinning around with all representatives are busy. My policy is due for renewal, but you can count on the fact that I will NOT be renewing with Old Republic. What a joke they are. The company they said they contacted is not even close to where I live. They are over 30 miles away in Ontario! There is no corporate number listed for this company in the phone book (white or yellow pages) and nothing on the Internet. It is truly amazing that this company is still around if this is the way they do business!

    Jeff Guo Date: 2014-04-30 12:27:40

    Review: Never purchase warranty from this company! This company is looking for every possible reason to deny claims. Their warranty is deceptive in the way they offer and the service contractors the company provides have a very low rating in general.

    Cissy S Date: 2015-08-17 15:58:05

    Review: I am now shopping for a new provider as my current-- (Fidelity National Home Warranty) is taking 8+ weeks to fix my dishwasher and oven. I've been a faithful low maintenance customer-with Fidelity for almost 8 years. Too bad AHS has me on hold with dead air for 10+ minutes. I will not change to you AHS.

    elisabetta Ghisini Date: 2012-03-28 16:31:27

    Review: AHS provided the ultimate bate-and-switch treatment. When the contract was up for renewal, they called persistently and requested my credit card number, even though the contract was in my husband's name. When I tried to cancel the contract, the did not accept a cancellation in my name even though they had accepted a renewal in my name. When my husband tried to cancel, stating that they shouldn't have accepted a renewal by anybody else other than the account holder, i.e himself, they finally cancelled but refused to roll back the contract and credit for past months. I will never use or recommend AHS again.

    Karen Clements Date: 2014-01-07 17:11:56

    Review: American Home Shield has been great to work with. It seems they have a hard time finding local contractors in my area as most are sent from cities at least 35 miles away. Most of the contractors I have dealt with show up on time and are able to fix my problem the first time. I have used AHS for about 30 years. Even though the deductible and the premium paid have gone up over the years I still feel it is a good value. Paying only $75 to have a repair person come out and fix everything is great - normally just to have someone come out would be that much, then you would have to pay for parts too!

    Chris Theile Date: 2015-10-28 16:23:42

    Review: Great service and timely with technicians who not only know their job but are very personable. We've had AHS for 15 years and we have used the service several times and it really is a great investment for you and your home. If you do not have a home warranty this is the place to get the best.

    Sue Rasinskis Date: 2015-08-27 07:39:45

    Review: Right before the worse bitter cold of this winter, my furnace stopped working. I was frantic wondering how I was going to get through the next several days. I've always felt having American Home Shield was a huge benefit as a homeowner. Knowing a service appointment was only a phone call away...plus, they already have companies available that they know will be there that you can trust because AHS knows they will do their job. Unfortunately, my furnace was not fixed with the first appointment, or even the second. But when the problem ran into a weekend, AHS initially approved my getting space heaters to get me through the weekend, and them found another company to come on a Sunday to resolve the problem. It was a relief to know that if needed, there would be help even on a Sunday!

    M Degg Date: 2015-09-10 21:43:24

    Review: I had my doubts about obtaining this kind of home insurance ,but decided to give it a try. when my air conditioner stopped, I panicked. Well, I remembered I had AHS and called at 9pm. I expected to get the run around and have a lenghty wait for service. To my surprise, the greatest serviceman arrived the very next morning! He was neat about his work and and very knowledeable. My Air Conditioner was up and running in no time. And may I say at a huge savings because AHS covered most of the bill! Will I continue with this insurance? Oh yes indeed! And now recommend to any and everyone. AHS doesn't really need to advertise,as word of mouth about their service and Integrity speaks for itself.

    RudyOrozco Date: 2016-08-10 22:06:10

    Review: i am very imppressed with the proffesionalisn of your organization my brother gabrial told me about ahs i could not beleave what i heard so i joined my washer and dryer went out i called you guys you sent a contracter boy it was fixed i will highly recommend AHSto every one

    Ryan Date: 2016-07-31 11:48:31

    Review: They send a technician to my condo to inspect my AC. The technician looked at the AC and saw some BB gun stuck on the outside of the coil. He decided to write his report and proceeded to say the coil has holes and it was leaking. It took him 2 mins, and he mentioned that the AC is in very ackward position and very hard to inspect. Not to mention that he stated in his report that the BB gun shots were very old. And he gave me an estimate to fix the entire unit for $5600. He was part of my warranty, so I decided to get a second opinion, before I Shed the money. The new technician from a different company came and inspected the AC, and he looked at me and said: your AC is simply out of gas. So he filled and it's back to normal, not to say the coil was inspected and no holes or leaks were found. I find this issue is fraudulent and stealing. I want my money that I paid the new technician, plus I want people to know what crocks they are. If this is not resolved, I'll take my issue to small claims. Thanks

    Shannon Date: 2013-01-26 13:02:31

    Review: We have had AHS for almost a year. The contracted companies they use are of the lowest quality. We had a plumber come out to repair a stopped up toilet and he told us our pipes had roots in them causing the issue and there was raw waste under the house requiring immediate remediation before they could fix the issue. Of course those expenses weren't covered. We spent over $900 to fix the problem but then we paid $250 out of our pocket with a reputable plumber to come out after we wre still have problems only to find out that was never the case, the work their remediation company did was never actually done. AHS claimed no part in the issue and we were out the money. Then our hVAC went out about 9 months later. They sent out a company that gave us a 2k bill that we would be responsible for outside of the AHS coverage. When we asked them to provide us with explanation of each item we were told he didn't have time for us and it is what it is, take it or leave it. AHS sent out another company who gave us a similar bill. Essentially AHS will cover the part replacement and basic install but any other associated cost required is not covered. The costs are required to replace the unit (ie make the base the unit sits on fit the new unit) but they find ways to get around it. So their program should state, if we can't fix it, we will partially replace it. Their program and services are deceptive at best.

    Corin Haeme Date: 2016-08-08 23:37:24

    Review: Excellent process and service. I have been very happy with the coverage and the quality of the contractors. Having AHS takes the research work out of having things fixed in my home. Knowing I have this services is huge when something unexpected breaks. Thank you!

    Rick Weissenborn Date: 2014-12-09 19:39:20

    Review: American Home Shield quickly arranged a second contractor response to a problem I was having with my HVAC. The contractor arrived on schedule and pinpointed the problem which was completely different than my first one. The contractor solved the problem in an efficient, professional manner and had everything needed (parts, tools, equipment) with him. There was no waiting for a return to the shop or a parts runner to arrive. Everything was repaired and system ready to operate in just over an hour. I have absolutely no complaint with the contractor or the service