Home Warranty Companies in California

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in California: $313.28
Average Deductible in California: $41.46
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7957
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 460
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $65-$75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1699
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1955
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1741
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 78
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.3
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1753
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.5
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1524
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.0
  • Service Timeliness 3.0
  • Repair Service 3.1
  • Overall Rating 3.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1024
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.9
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.0
  • Service Timeliness 3.1
  • Repair Service 3.0
  • Overall Rating 2.9
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $350-$445
Deductible $65
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1995
Total Reviews 425
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.1
  • Service Timeliness 3.2
  • Repair Service 3.2
  • Overall Rating 3.0
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    KENNETH WILLIAMS Date: 2016-12-01 03:48:56

    Review: My call was about a busted up washer evryone from AHS to the company who brought the new washer in and hooked it up for me was very polite and professional in nature. Job well done.

    Erik Date: 2013-12-18 12:52:34

    Review: Our experience with this company can be summed up in one word: HORRIBLE. After receiving a home warranty when we purchased our home last year, we had several things we needed help with. ALL claims were denied. We had lifting floor tiles downstairs in the entryway, a pool heater that did not work, tub spouts that were not working properly and a 20 year old hot water tank that should have been replaced but they said it was fine. Their reason for not fixing or replacing the pool/spa heater was that "there were mice droppings inside". We paid this company close to 600 dollars in premium and deductibles and got literally nothing for it. Would strongly caution anyone considering using this company. Major rip off.

    amacker bullwinkle Date: 2012-02-13 16:25:59

    Review: When i bought my house in 1994, the AHS Home Warranty transferred to me from the previous owner. I was very very happy with them then, and for a decade afterwards. The second year i owned my house, a water line broke in the foundation. What could have cost me thousands of dollars was fixed for the deductible. About 3-4 years ago, everything took a very sharp and immediate decline. My calls would go un-assigned. The repair companies sent out didn't even do the type of work I requested - for instance, 3 years ago they sent a company that advertised as Electrical and Plumbing to fix problems with a sink and shower. The guy who arrived didn't work on plumbing. He said they'd send someone else. AHS said so too. After several days all i got was the response that that company wasn't covered by AHS for Plumbing, only Electrical. So, why did you send them out? They sent another company. The person who arrived wanted another deductible from me. I explained i had paid the previous company. I asked the guy to wait whihle I called AHS, While on the call with AHS, the dispatcher of the company called me on the other line and started screaming at me that i had cost her workmen time by stalling them outside! I was shocked. She called back and insulted me further. I called AHS and said i refused to do business with them. AHS said that they were the only company they would send !! They refused to replace the Miele dishwasher, and refused to cover the full cost of the repair. And so on. It was a nightmare and a relief when they dropped me, fed up with my demand that they do the work covered in the contract. I don't know if they were bought by Aliens or Nazis, but working with them was torture.

    Ray H Date: 2014-08-25 14:02:15

    Review: I have been using AHS for years. We started with $60 service call fee, which was gradually increased to $75 now. The customer service was mostly OK, although I had bad experience one time with a lady there. She was not being polite/professional and apparently having a bad day. Also, she said she cannot put me on hold and call the contractor so that we can solve the issue quicly, because another department handles calling the contractor. But that's simply not ture. I called in just two days ago for the same matter and another AHS representative did exactly that- call the contractor while I am holding. For the repair service, it has been good in the past, but I start to doubt that AHS do not check the rating/reputation of some contractors before they send them out. I had a leaky valve in my bath room. When the contractor first checked it out, he said that he could do a repair without having to opening up the tile and instead, he can do it by opening up a dry wall on the other side, which is less expensive. However, later, the contractor told AHS, without informing us, that he would have to open up the tile. I guess he figured that he can charge more to AHS that way. AHS said that our coverage would not be enough and we would have to pay extra hundres of dollars. I then called AHS to question why the contractor cannot just do the work through the dry wall. I don't have a clear answer as to today. Suprisingly, the contractor called my wife shortly after, instead of me, telling her that AHS told them we authorized the repair and agreed to pay the extra. This is just not right and I suspect the contractor is engaging some sort of fraud/manipulation here. All we have done was just asking AHS a question, but we never authorized the repair or to pay the extra money. Later I found out, through Yelp, that the contractor has done similar things to other customers. And at least one customer also complained about the work quality of that contractor. I think AHS should do better work in selecting the contractors.

    Chris Date: 2015-10-28 16:15:58

    Review: We've had AHS for many years and they are one of our best investments. The service is always excellent the technicians are all friendly and knowledgeable and there is never any problems after the work is done. If you do not have a home warranty this is the best place for you and your home.

    MICAH COLBERT Date: 2016-10-17 19:47:57

    Review: It all went very well, the contractor was quick, nice, professional and clean. I don\'t know how you picked them out, but what ever process younusenibwas surprised. I expected poor customer service and received excellent service.

    Daley Tipton Date: 2016-05-31 21:27:31

    Review: we had a bad plumbing issue and they got right on it and the plumber they assigned was top notch. he was knowledgeable about my other issue, professionally dressed and very punctual! Was on call for me to remediate the rest of the issue that was not covered by AHS. I recommend him to everyone. There were no hassles and the job was completed perfectly!

    Jeff Leaf Date: 2016-08-09 23:22:39

    Review: I placed the request for service online toward the end of the business day. I didn't expect to hear back from the contractor until the next day, but my phone rang approximately three minutes after I clicked "submit". Even though the contractor was not able to schedule me in for the next day, he getting to me within the next couple days if not sooner. Sure enough he called the next morning said he was going to be in the area for another service call and was hoping he could take care of my problem as well. Fortunately it was going to be my day off from work so we were able to make the appointment work. He showed up and looked neat and professional. He took care of the problem, cleaned up his tools, and moved on to his next appointment.

    Vicki Date: 2016-07-21 20:22:32

    Review: I bought a new AC unit in January 1999. I have had ongoing problems with AHS for several years now, regarding my AC unit. I've had 5 vendors to service my AC unit since September 2015. It has a new motor, new compressor, new freon installed twice since October 2015 to the tune of almost $1,000.00 out of my pocket (I'm disabled retired), new run cap, new everything. The unit went down again on May 31, 2016. Vendors have been to my home since then (all throughout June 2016). The week of July 17 2016, a vendor has been to my home every other day and twice today (July 21, 2016). The unit blows hot air. AHS does not want to replace the unit. I'm getting the run around. The average temp in my city is 100. The average temp inside of my home this week have been 88. Oh, and did I mention I've been an AHS customer since I bought my home in 1999? I cannot recommend this company to anyone.

    Barry Date: 2012-08-10 13:10:28

    Review: If I could give American Home Shield (AHS) a "0" I would - terrible service. After waiting over 15 minutes on line (listening to a prerecorded message about how "important" our telephone was to AHS), we finally got throught to a service representative and placed a repair order for an airconditioning unit to be fixed. We were advised the representative that a repair technician would be out the very next day. AHS called us later in the days and told us, in actuality, that no one would be out "for days" and AHS was unable to commit whether that would be 1 day, 2 days, 7 days, or longer. We asked to speak to a manager in the hopes of relaying the emergency nature of the repair (e.g., 110+ degrees weather ALL day long). All we got was lip service, "we are trying our best to accommodate you, but it will take days before we can a service technician to you." Bottom Line: AHS's best isn't good enough. AHS is quick to reap benefits of the contracts it enters into (collection of insurance premiums from homeowners), but not so quick in performing the burdens and obligations under those contracts (timely, headache free repairs).

    R barrera Date: 2016-08-23 23:47:23

    Review: Turned out my a/c was improperly installed. This caused additional condensation causing a leak in my attic. My warranty states I am protected from improper installs as long as the issue is to make system work correctly but not covered if is causes the system to "fail". Turns out, the warranty is wrong. Since there is a leak and a/c is technically working, I am not covered. However, if the leak creates more issues causing the system to fail, I am covered. Really????? I had three reps contradict themselves several times. In fact, none could answer my hypothetical question "if improper install, when is it covered?". Save your money as they will find loopholes and technicalities to avoid covering your issue.

    Anu Date: 2017-08-21 23:14:36

    Review: Took this warranty a couple of months ago and needed to get my electric stove repaired as well as garbage disposal. Happy with the service provided.

    Steve M Date: 2015-10-19 10:54:01

    Review: AHS is a rip-off scam company. I had an issue with my old heating and leaking ducting system. I called AHS, reported the problem and was told that my heating and ducting system issues would be covered. I was very adamant in my questioning of the AHS agent about coverage of my system and I was assured that I would have coverage for "Leaking heating ducting". Their first assigned technician, "Rick's Heating" never contacted me even though I called them personally and left them all my information. The 2nd technician "AMPKO Heating and AC" came out 10 days after my initial call to AHS. The technician saw the failed and leaking ducting areas during his inspection. This technician basically told me because my aged system had not totally failed and my leaky ducting was not apart and falling from the hangers, that HS would most likely not cover anything. I heard nothing from AMPKO Heating about their inspection and I called AHS to check on the status of my claim. I was told by the AHS agent the AMPKO technician had put in his report that I was remodeling my house and that he found no issues. I was remodeling my upstairs bathroom!! What does that have to do with my heating system!!! I contacted PG&E to inspect my heating system after the AHS contractors inspection said there was nothing wrong. PG&E arrived and "red Tagged" my heating system. I honestly think that AHS rewards their contractors to avoid any report that will necessitate repair. AHS has since sent me a service fee invoice for AMPKO on top of this for something that their agent knew they wouldn't cover. I would also like to add that the AHS agents that take your phone call are all ignorant and rude. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND AHS for your home warranty!!!

    Tim Harris Date: 2013-03-07 21:22:30

    Review: American Home Shield, after YEARS of accepting our annual premium, recently informed us that we are no longer eligible for renewal. Never missed a premium, never were we late, and never were we informed of violating any of the "rules of the game". I contacted them today to inquire as to why we were no longer eligible for their service and was told that it was a "legal dept decision". What? I asked if we had purchased on an annual basis warranty or insurance coverage...they replied warranty. Never have I experienced a warranty that performed like this one. The company treats it more like insurance coverage...too many claims and they drop you. Very, very poor way of treating customers.

    William Hepler Date: 2016-04-07 22:49:07

    Review: My most recent utilization of AHS was to have an inspection of my heat pumps. It was found that one of the air exchange modulesl was defective and needed to be replaced. Since the system had been installed by Sears and was new the warranty covered the repairs but only because the response from the AHS contractor gave the specifics of the defect and Sears had no alternative but to make good on their warranty. Thanks you, AHS.

    Lora Burnett Date: 2017-09-20 17:15:29

    Review: We have used three different Home Warranty providers in the last 7 years of owning our home. American Home Shield is, by far, the best .. They professional, timely, and the bedt value. We are VERY satisfied customers! Thank you, AHS, for the prace of mind you give us.

    Marc Jones Date: 2016-02-07 23:03:27

    Review: The Contractor that I Got called me on the phone contacted me the next morning and said that he would call me to tell me the specific time which was the next day at 12:00 noon. He came Early and replaced A module That was bad.That was the fastest service I have ever had And if I ever need garage service again I would not hesitate to call them.Openup garage door and service

    William Guion Date: 2016-03-20 21:48:21

    Review: Customer service has always been courteous, helpful and reliable. Our problems over the years have been solved by your choice of contractors. We feel comfortable knowing your company will be there to help us and do all the leg work.

    Justin Garant Date: 2012-07-06 19:05:41

    Review: First call was on fridge. Went well. Second call on dishwasher was a nightmare. AHS actually yelled at my wife. Worst customer service I have ever seen

    David Truss Date: 2016-02-06 23:11:26

    Review: The problems at my three homes were resolved promptly. Even when one contractor did not perform well. The AHS assigned another contractor to come out and work on it. Fo example; my AC stopped functioning. The AHS assigned an expert contractor to work on, and AC was functional again in timely fashion.