Home Warranty Companies in California

Coverage in California (CA) major towns:

Average Premium in California: $314.38
Average Deductible in California: $41.74
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  2The Home Service Club
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  5HSA Home Warranty
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  6First American Home Warranty
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  7Choice Home Warranty
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  8Home Warranty Of America
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  92-10 Home Buyers Warranty
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
                                  10365 Home Warranty
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $350-$445
Deductible $65
Effective 30 Days
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $260-500
Deductible $55-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $440
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $360-$500+
Deductible $50 - $100
Effective Immediate with a Real Estate Transaction
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in california

    Tom P. Date: 2015-03-18 23:24:34

    Review: I had AHS come out to clear a blockage in my kitchen sink, fix leaky faucets in the bathtub, and remove an unwanted garbage disposal. The plumber from Intercity Plumbing did not have all the parts necessary to complete the job of removing the garbage disposal, and told me to go out and buy an air gap. The plumber said that is all that is needed to complete the job. He mentioned to connect the gray hose from the d/w into the air gap and clamp it closed. I thought, even I can do that. When I went to Home Depot and told a worker i needed an air gap, he mentioned I needed many more pieces to complete the job (after I explained I removed the disposal). Anyhow, I called AHS back to have the plumber come back because it was an incomplete job. After speaking with 4 different people throughout the day on the statues of having someone come back out, I was told that if I wanted someone to complete the job, it would cost either $90 to reinstall the disposal, or $160 to install an air gap. I explained that the plumber had removed the disposal but did not connect the d/w hose to anything. The plumbing company said that removing the disposal was a modification, and the warranty company does not cover that. I told Intercity plumbing that I have a work order from AHS to remove the disposal, and the job is incomplete. Anyhow, I asked to speak to a supervisor twice today, and each time I was told a supervisor was "not at their desk and will have to call you back." No phone call back. AHS says they will not send anyone back out, unless I pay another service fee of $100. I know understand that this is a modification...but BOTH the plumber and AHS DID NOT tell me this prior to them starting the work. I would have said ok and not to touch it. The job is incomplete...and was their mistake for not knowing this was not covered under the policy. How should i know as a customer. Because of this I will be canceling my TWO policies, and moving them to First American Home. The service fee is $65 and an annual premium of $408. I will also be filing a complaint with the BBB.

    Mark Durant Date: 2016-12-09 21:43:13

    Review: They are always helpful and give excellent service. They always call and tell you about every step of the process.

    Rocklin Bales Date: 2016-11-15 19:27:09

    Review: I usually call in my service requests as we live in the mountains and I try to get local contractors who understand the unique situations that occur in the country. Your customer service reps have always give great service. They go out of their way to look for contractors close to me--and I have had great success with each one they\'ve assigned.

    Traci Szydlik Date: 2014-10-17 10:30:34

    Review: The contractors that was assigned to us were very easy to work with and very friendly too! The first contractor who came out was very informative and took the time to diagnose the problem correctly. A part had to be ordered and we waited for it to come in. It was during the holiday season so it took a little longer but the contractor called me to let me know that. When the part came in, the second contractor who came out was just as easy to work with and just as nice! I've to use AHS twice since I signed up and I have to say, both times were just great! I've told many of my friends that they need to look into signing up with AHS as it's the only way to go when one owns a home! Thank you so much - have a nice day!

    LB Date: 2013-01-23 14:29:43

    Review: Dealing with this company was a terrible. They hired a heating contractor in our area that was never on time, rarely returned our calls, and was unable to fix our furnace over the course of a month. They only had one heating contractor in my area and I was not allowed to use another company instead of the one they hired. When I complained they passed on my complaint to department after department. This was all during a frigid winter with 2 feet of snow on the ground. As a first time homebuyer I had hoped this home warranty would make the first year of owning our home easier but it didn't. I should have just paid for the repairs myself.

    deborah levy Date: 2015-08-19 22:14:17

    Review: I had a problem with my pool dump, called ahs and they sent out a pool man however when he looked at the pool he said that i did not have a basket in my zodiac pool cleaner and that had caused a clogged in the plumbing which caused the pool pump to go bad and said it was my fault. I checked with the manual to that zodiac cleaner and nothing is said about a filter in the skimmer and said to make sure that the pump basket is cleaned of which I did. When we talked to ahs and read to them the instructions to the pool cleaner stating that just to make sure the pump basket is cleaned they said they did not care it is still my fault and the claim to replace the pool pump is denied. Buyer Be Ware

    Sandra Tarango Date: 2015-12-08 22:50:20

    Review: I went online to schedule my appointment and it was very simple. AHS sent a reminder to check on my unit and that's when I notice I had a problem. AHS sent it in and a contractor contacted me within the hour. Very quick and helpful.

    Patrick Dooley Date: 2012-02-14 12:35:27

    Review: Old Republic did not have the proper service providers to handle my home; as a result, I would hire my own contractors and submit the expenses to ORHP (sometimes the expense would be covered, sometimes it would not...that is understandable). During the 3 1/2 years that I had them as my home warranty provider, this is how my account was handled. Toward the end of 2011, ORHP did not put my policy up for renewal, due to "high losses". I had called them several times prior to my policy expiring to ask when the bills for expenses incurred DURING MY POLICY COVERAGE time period must be submitted to them, and they did not give me the proper date. I absorbed the cost of a very expensiver repair that I should not have had to cover, and I was told that the reason was that I had to obtain prior authorization. This was in direct opposition to the precedent that they had put in place.

    Joseph Rivetti Date: 2016-05-10 23:01:42

    Review: On 3/3/2014 a request to fix the gas furnace was made. The assigned contractor called the day, and made a 10 am appointment the next morning. In less than an hour the technician determined the problem, showed me the broken part and replaced the furnace igniter.

    Enrique Farias Date: 2015-11-08 22:09:26

    Review: I felt that being with homeshield took the worry off us finding a reputable company. The people who were under contract with homeshield were very patient, honest, knowledgeable and reliable. We will continue to be part of Homeshield as long as they continue services for home owners and property owners.

    Ray H Date: 2014-08-25 14:02:15

    Review: I have been using AHS for years. We started with $60 service call fee, which was gradually increased to $75 now. The customer service was mostly OK, although I had bad experience one time with a lady there. She was not being polite/professional and apparently having a bad day. Also, she said she cannot put me on hold and call the contractor so that we can solve the issue quicly, because another department handles calling the contractor. But that's simply not ture. I called in just two days ago for the same matter and another AHS representative did exactly that- call the contractor while I am holding. For the repair service, it has been good in the past, but I start to doubt that AHS do not check the rating/reputation of some contractors before they send them out. I had a leaky valve in my bath room. When the contractor first checked it out, he said that he could do a repair without having to opening up the tile and instead, he can do it by opening up a dry wall on the other side, which is less expensive. However, later, the contractor told AHS, without informing us, that he would have to open up the tile. I guess he figured that he can charge more to AHS that way. AHS said that our coverage would not be enough and we would have to pay extra hundres of dollars. I then called AHS to question why the contractor cannot just do the work through the dry wall. I don't have a clear answer as to today. Suprisingly, the contractor called my wife shortly after, instead of me, telling her that AHS told them we authorized the repair and agreed to pay the extra. This is just not right and I suspect the contractor is engaging some sort of fraud/manipulation here. All we have done was just asking AHS a question, but we never authorized the repair or to pay the extra money. Later I found out, through Yelp, that the contractor has done similar things to other customers. And at least one customer also complained about the work quality of that contractor. I think AHS should do better work in selecting the contractors.

    ZANE WALROD Date: 2016-03-13 00:07:22

    Review: The technician was actually about 10 minutes early! The repair was done faster than I thought it could be done. Total time was about half an hour. Great service, rapid response. I gladly tell anyone I know that this the service to have. Thank you.

    yasir ilyas Date: 2016-03-29 22:15:38

    Review: NEGATIVE 5 OUT OF 5. worst customer service experience upto floor manager. they dont listen and dont take blame for recommending 1 person companies who are prbly cheap but dont know what they doing. you would end up likely with bad contractor like savvy tech, dont recommend at all!

    American Home Shield Date: 2012-12-02 16:40:34

    Review: One word: avoid. After paying premiums for 12 years, I am locked in a dispute with American Home Shield where it is obvious they are behaving in bad faith in an effort to limit their costs. In our case, our contract clearly covered whole-house plumbing stoppages, but when a serious blockage occurred on a Saturday resulting in flooding, AHS authorized my calling out for an emergency repair when their dispatch proved unsuccessful in getting assistance after nearly 4 hours. Then, with the technician at my house, with inches of sewage on the floor, they refused to authorize the necessary work. The contract is clear, my reliance was reasonable, and their behavior egregious. Avoid them.

    Gabriel Mendiola Date: 2016-04-10 21:42:50

    Review: It was great. They had someone at my house really quickly when my AC went out in the middle of summer in TEXAS! The initial inspector was extremely helpful and they had someone out the next day if I recall correctly. And those guys took no time at all to get my AC working again! I was recommended by my sister to AHS and I have referred at least 2 people that have this now I believe.

    RB Date: 2015-06-12 16:29:18

    Review: AHS service level is has degraded so much. If you have to talk to someone it takes hours on hold over the phone. Then you reach someone who says it is the wrong department and you have to go on a long wait for the next department. AHS service people have no respect for the customer's time and do not try to help - just pass you along.

    Angel Gomez Date: 2016-10-17 19:52:35

    Review: This Oranization is a scam!! As soon as we moved into our home we had a septic problem. The pipe that connects into the septic wasn\'t sealed into the septic right. We paid $400 just for Roto rooter to come out and then we\'re charged another $$1600!! For them to fix it because Old Republic said it didn\'t count as plumbing. 6 months later we noticed that the water pressure in the house was low and hadn\'t been a problem earlier. Once again were charged $65 for someone to come out and were told that the pipes were galvanized and Old republic wouldn\'t cover it because they are old. Another previous incident happened when we noticed the ceiling was dropping in my daughters room. There was also a bit of mold in the guest bedroom which was alarming and figured it was a leak. We called old republic and they sent out a leak inspector to check it out. AGAIN we paid for them to come out and were told because the damage was due to a previous issue it would not be covered. Point is, look for a better Home Warranty Insurance. This company is a scam and shouldn\'t be in business.

    Melissa Powers Date: 2013-06-11 15:00:48

    Review: They set me up with a plumber who never called and never showed. I had to call AHS over and over and they contacted the plumber over and over who still didn't respond. AHS refused to give me a new plumber, instead I had to go without a kitchen sink for almost 3 weeks. I finally told them to cash me out and they only want to give me $115 total. Good luck finding a faucet and a plumber to install it for that price!

    EA Date: 2014-07-29 20:56:45

    Review: Don't know where to start. Good news is I csncelled the nonsense plan. It is nothing but a disappointment. I do not recommend this home warranty to anyone. There is no customer service. No professionalism. I contacted them for three minor issues in the house with latest to check fo a faucet leak. They send a plumber who came and identified the leak and told me that the repair is mot covered. He advised me to pay him $130.00 for labor plus the cost of the faucet and he will replace it for me. Basically he charge the $60.00 service fee and left. IT IS A WAIST OF MONEY AND A BUCH OF CHEATS. They even do not deserve one star.

    Mike Shelton Date: 2016-01-26 22:58:29

    Review: The job was scheduled very quickly after I contacted AHS - the contractor called me the same day to arrange for a visit. The technician performed a very thorough inspection of our unit to determine the cause of the issue and to resolve it and kept me informed of progress.