Home Warranty Companies in California

Compare home warranty policies from the top ten home warranty service providers in california. To further assist you in selecting your policy, we have created a graph with a bell curve that showcases the average price of premium and average deductible of the various home warranty policies that are purchased throughout the state of california. View more...  The X-axis indicates the price of the premium while the Y-axis indicates the number of homeowners. The start of the curve indicates the number of homeowners who purchase policies that have low premiums. The curve then rises to indicate the number of homeowners who have opted for the average premium and finally dips to denote the number of homeowners who opt for policies with a high premium. The Average Premium of the california is mentioned at the top of the graph.

You can also view the Average Deductible that is opted for in the state by clicking on the arrows placed on either side of “Average Premium in california”. We have also calculated the average premium and average deductible price for the major towns in california. Click on the city name to know its average policy premium and average deductible opted for.

Go on to read reviews of home warranty companies that provide service in california. To get a comprehensive picture of a home warranty company’s service performance, it’s important to understand the Composite Review Score of a company. This score is based on the all-time reviews received from customers of the company. It can vary from ‘Not Good’ to ‘Excellent’. It also includes the all-time average scores of various parameters like customer service, service timeliness, repair service, and the overall rating. If you have had a positive, negative, or even neutral experience while interacting with a home warranty company, go on to leave a review and help out a homeowner just like you.
View less




Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in California: $321.64
Average Deductible in California: $42.21


Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 9891
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2611
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.9
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 3.9
  • Overall Rating 3.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1847
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.7
  • Service Timeliness 3.7
  • Repair Service 3.7
  • Overall Rating 3.7
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1907
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.4
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1950
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.2
  • Service Timeliness 3.2
  • Repair Service 3.3
  • Overall Rating 3.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1808
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.6
  • Service Timeliness 2.5
  • Repair Service 2.6
  • Overall Rating 2.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $380 - $720
Deductible $0
Effective Closing or after 30 days
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1998
Total Reviews 181
Coverage Selected StatesAB, MB, NB, NS, ON, PEAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Maryland, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming, , , , ,
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.6
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.6
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.6
  • Overall Rating 4.6
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1090
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.3
  • Service Timeliness 2.3
  • Repair Service 2.3
  • Overall Rating 2.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $350-$445
Deductible $65
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1995
Total Reviews 498
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.5
  • Service Timeliness 2.5
  • Repair Service 2.5
  • Overall Rating 2.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating1.5 Star Rating
Premium $260-$500
Deductible $55-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1974
Total Reviews 981
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
1.9
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.0
  • Service Timeliness 2.1
  • Repair Service 2.0
  • Overall Rating 1.9
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Peter j Jensen Date: 2017-09-27 15:55:05

    Review: Many negative engagements with AHS but this last incident was it for us. Before i go into that I\'ll talk through our last experience. We waited over a week after requesting an electrician to come fix the issues with our bathroom lights. We call back and they had no record of the request. Waited another week and still no call. call AHS back and they said they\'ll get someone out asap. took another week! 3 weeks with no light in the primary bathtoom my pregant wife and I use. After the electrician came and "fixed" the issue, no more than 2 hours later, the lights are busted again. took another 4 days to get a response from.the guy to fix it again...he No shows the appointment. Wow! AND that\'s not all... Water heater went out recently and they told us we had to pay an additional $500 dollars to pat on top of the deductible to make the changes to accommodate the new device. We asked for a payout instead so we could find our own guy. They gave us 500 bucks!!! That barely covers the waterheater, non the less the labor and changes. I feel stupid for letting these guys support us.

    Brad Date: 2012-07-06 15:59:32

    Review: Great customer service, I called and sent email and received a call quickly. Through out the year I used the warranty on 3 different occasions. Gas dryer didn't heat. Repair man fixed next day @ 15 minutes. A/C not cooling properly. Repair made in 1 hour on day I chose. Gas water heater bottom fell out. Scheduled plumber to come and evaluate next day. When he came he told me the water heater would be replaced at no charge. I would be responsible for permit cost, venting and flue to bring up to code. Couldn't have asked for more. Sorry to hear the rates and service charges went up.

    Pete Date: 2012-12-23 16:59:19

    Review: Couldn't be more dissatisfied. Had a total main sewer line blockage - can't use toilet, shower, sink, etc. Very inconvenient - rather unsanitary for a family of 6. AHS said they'd get someone in 24 hours!! Wouldn't authorize me to use my own provider, despite them admitting it was an emergency. I called 5 local outfits and all said they could be here in one or two hours. AHS refused to reimburse. I paid $185 for Roto Rooter to fix the problem within two hours of the call. I rated them a one only because you can't rate lower.

    Jack Peterson Date: 2017-08-03 14:51:31

    Review: From day 1 signup, reps great explaining contract, etc. Definitely AHS is the Home Warranty to purchase. I selected top of the line plan, Suggested AHS to my neighbors @6 months ago or so and they replied "will think about it." Couple of days ago both their AC Units stopped & called one of those listed in our area. Got the complaints on those AC repair services as they got the AC\'s up & running along with a price tag of @$125 for condense & $200 labor fees for each neighbor. Ol\' say\'n "can lead a horse to water, but can\'t make \'em drink".

    Edna Boone Date: 2015-11-03 22:12:46

    Review: I had not had the opportunity to utilize the American Home Shield until II recently had a pipe to leak in my ceiling in the hallway of my home.during the Memorial Day weekend. I called American Home Shield to see what I needed to do, Customer Service assigned contractors to come within 2 days. The contractors came dressed very professionally, and fixed the pipe in about 3 hours. I was very satisfied!!

    Clarissa Date: 2016-06-14 20:07:39

    Review: Horrible warranty after many years of paying for more than 10 years when your major appliance breaks- do you think you will get it fix in a timely manner?? the answer is NO! My refrigerator was serviced on 6/2 and up to now 6/14 is not been re-service for the parts that AHS has contract with Major appliance who failed to report the diagnosis 10 days after- is that acceptable? The delay of their contract company has delayed our repair of major appliance. After many wasted phone calls to escalate this matter- do you think AHS promotes customer service to provide the quality of care and the warranty they promised?? No! It's been 12 days now without refrigeration in our house in a household of 7 with kids. Letting them know how difficult this is- they offer a mini fridge, or rental fridge, or refund of $75?? What the the heck do you think we are? We want action not your petty offer. This is not acceptable especially we need the warranty promised. I don't need to waste more time talking to a customer service who can't even transfer me to a supervisor!

    Mary Maddock Date: 2017-12-04 22:23:38

    Review: I have some good service\'s and some that went beyond belief. Waiting on the phone for over two hours to speak to someone should not happen. One contractor cashed my check and reported that I had not paid and AHS went after me to the point of just short of being called a liar. Finally got my bank statement and e-mailed prove that Yes, I had paid the bill. Even after proving I had paid, I still received letters in the mail demanding payment. My last encounter was Nov 3rd, when I called because my oven/broiler stopped working. It took three and a half weeks to finally fix it. Guess who had no Thanksgiving??

    Janet Knoeppel Date: 2014-09-27 19:51:19

    Review: This policy was purchased for me when I bought my home last October. I called yesterday afternoon (9/26/2014) at approx. 2:00 PM. I have a leak under the sink in the kitchen. I do not know if it is the garbage disposal or the dishwasher. I called and requested service. I was told someone from Better Flow Plumbing would contact me to set up an appointment. At 8:51 PM last night Francisco called and we set an appointment for 11:00 AM today (9/27/2014). At 11:20 I called him. He said he "forgot." Then he said he had an emergency and should have called me, but that he was in San Bernardino and couldn't get to me. He wanted to come at 12:30. I said okay. Then he called back and said he couldn't make it. We settled on 5:00 PM today. At 5:25 I tried to call him. His phone was turned off and went to voice mail. The message was that the voice mailbox was full and hung up on me. I then tried to call customer service at Old Republic. All that did was put me on a hold that kept spinning around with all representatives are busy. My policy is due for renewal, but you can count on the fact that I will NOT be renewing with Old Republic. What a joke they are. The company they said they contacted is not even close to where I live. They are over 30 miles away in Ontario! There is no corporate number listed for this company in the phone book (white or yellow pages) and nothing on the Internet. It is truly amazing that this company is still around if this is the way they do business!

    Paul Cottone Date: 2013-05-15 19:15:58

    Review: This company is a FRAUD. We purchased the First Choice Full Coverage Plan +Pool Coverage and paid the whole year in advance August 29, 2012 in order to get the 13th month free. Keith R. Goodman was the Regional Manager for California that set up our plan and took our payment. In March 2013 we tried to contact SWW and could not reach anyone for a pool repair claim. I even tried calling the number to set up a new plan and could not reach anyone! We contacted our Attorney General for help and still received no response from State Wide Warranty. If someone says anything other than fraud, I would like to know what phone number they are calling and who their contact person is. Again, STATE WIDE WARRANTY is a FRAUD.

    Dana Rodriguez Date: 2017-07-13 16:24:35

    Review: I would rate American Home Shield a 4. Their site is very good, easy to order service. The providers are mixed---some truly excellent, some horrible and turn down every single thing, really varies. Id say 80% of their providers are very good.

    Robert Montoya Date: 2016-07-25 22:35:19

    Review: Hold times is over 1hr to request service and the air conditioner repair man has come out twice and it still leaking water on my floor and now it's worse...called to get it remedied and basically they said I out of luck! Now I'm getter ng water damage!

    Sylvia Beez Date: 2012-02-17 19:05:57

    Review: My washer wouldn't spin fast enough anymore and leave me with soaky wet clothes. I called AHS. It took four days for a technician to come out. When he inspected the machine, he showed me what was broken and said that he would have to order 3 different parts and come back later. He also said that the insurance might decide to replace the washer altogether, since this would be a pricey repair. The next day I receive a call form AHS saying that they will not pay for anything because it was my mistake to overload the washer. I said that I did not overload the washer and they said that this was what the technician told them. He didn't mention anything about overloading to me the day before and when I called his company they were very rude and said that he doesn't have to communicate with me. I will file reports about both these companies, AHS and FACTORY SERVICE APPLIANCE REPAIR. Something is definitely wrong here, they seem to work together in ripping people off! It looks like AHS's company policy is to not allow anything major to be fixed.

    P A Date: 2016-03-15 14:36:35

    Review: I came on here to rip this place a new one, and wow! Seems like every customer beat me to the punch! Like many folks on here, I was given the run around on my very first call. Bad start, but I kept my humor about it. Like a lot of folks on here, this warranty was purchased by the sellers of my house. Like just about everybody on here, I am paying out of pocket to get the repairs done. It seems they have no interest in repeat customers, or in honoring their contract, or in doing anything except taking your money. In my case, they said the appliances in my home had to have worked for me, personally, as I physically pushed the buttons with my very own fingers. The home inspection report that said these appliances were working wasn't good enough. They cited their Terms and Conditions, which they refused to send me as per the contract. I suppose I could have lied, and they certainly made it known to me that they encourage people to do so, but frankly, my integrity is worth far more than a few hundred bucks. And, of course, they choose contractors based on how they don't fix things, rather than just paying a professional to do it right. So I'll keep my integrity...and of course my $385 when they start bugging me for a renewal. On a final note, this company is pathetic. I don't have AC, I don't have fancy appliances...I don't even have a garage door opener. There's practically nothing to cover, except four older easily repaired/cheaply replaced appliances. I usually fix my own stuff, I'm pretty easy going, and I like having a home warranty just in case. This is the kind of customer most businesses dream about. Except Old Republic.

    Richard Porter Date: 2016-09-04 23:12:05

    Review: SAP Home Repair Services came promptly the day after I requested service. They arrived on time and repaired the plumbing leak and were so professional.... Excellent

    Eli Rosales Date: 2014-07-25 10:59:51

    Review: Is there anything this company actually covers? A month after we moved into our new home my bath tub had a clog, so naturally i gave them a call paid my deductible and they sent a plumber who said that to repair the issue, he had to go under the house and cut a portion of the pipe because the house did not have a main opening for the pipe which of course is not covered by Old Republic.(the house does have a main opening to the pipes) unsatisfied, when i questioned this plumber he left and told me that he's call me back with the exact information... after not hearing from him i call his office and they were rude said that i needed to deal with Old Republic. Not satisfied with the service, decided to called another plumber and had the tub fixed in 10 minutes just by simply snaking it... The contractors this company uses are worthless... don't waste your money... you're better off looking for someone on your own to do the job and do it well. I not only wasted time with this company but spent unnecessary money when i paid Old Republic my deductible for doing nothing. I just found out that the house needs the main shut-off valve fixed and guess what... ITS NOT COVERED!!! SHOCKER!

    Zoland James Date: 2018-04-17 04:56:13

    Review: Friendly, professional and explained problem to my understanding.

    Bill Coles Date: 2018-06-24 17:35:20

    Review: The service has been quick, thorough, and accurate the two times I\'ve had to use it. Couldn\'t ask for more. I\'ve recommended them to family and friends and neither have alienated me.

    William F Date: 2013-11-10 12:27:50

    Review: The contractor came when scheduled. He was pleasant, extremely knowledgeable, patient in his explanations, and took extra time to find additional filters which we needed but weren't part of the original problem. In addition he was especially careful about keeping our carpets free of dirt and attic trash as he went in and out of the attic. He went way beyond our expectations.

    Sally Date: 2016-02-18 14:50:24

    Review: I called them for two service requests in rapid succession, and by luck got the same great guy who fixed them both well. Then I called for a third service request. For some reason, they dropped that guy from their rolls, and assigned me to another contractor. When they assign you to a contractor, that person is supposed to call you within 24 hours. Well, that contractor didn't contact me, so I asked for another one, who didn't contact me either, so I asked for a third, and it's been several hours, so I'm guessing that one won't contact me either. I asked for the original guy, and they said they had dropped him from their list for some reason--I guess because he was too good at his job? The moral of the story is that if you happen to get assigned a good contractor, awesome. But apparently they don't do a thing to vet their contractors, so really, this service is no different from you calling a bunch of random people from Yelp or the phone book and hoping that whoever you get is decent. Save your money and don't waste your money on this service.

    Pamela Lovisa Date: 2016-08-20 23:19:40

    Review: This is my second residence. Heat pump went out in one of coldest months. AHS could not get a contractor out timely so they were agreeable to letting my contractor do the work and took care of charges .