ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN chicago, illinois

city icon CITY: Chicago
country icon COUNTRY: Cook County
state icon STATE: IL
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 60290, 60601, 60602, 60603, 60604,
population icon POPULATION: 2680484
area code icon AREA CODE: 312
GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION
SAVINGS BONANZA

on Home Warranty plans!

$150 OFF and 1 MONTH FREE!

Get expert technicians to care for your home at unbeatable prices

Total Home Protection presents
SPECIAL OFFER

Total Home Protection presents

$100 OFF and 2 MONTHS FREE!

Now to avail this offer use code : THS100

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in chicago, illinois

Top Rated

American Home Shield (AHS)

4.5 / 5
(13,305 Reviews )

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Best in service

The Home Service Club

4.5 / 5
(1,626 Reviews )

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

Choice Home Warranty

4.1 / 5
(6,732 Reviews )

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Select Home Warranty

4.1 / 5
(4,299 Reviews )

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

Total Home Protection

4.6 / 5
(681 Reviews )

hey are the leading home warranty provider in the industry. They have skilled and licensed technicians who top-notch services. A standout feature of their services is they do not require a home inspection.

chicago Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Nikki Vaughn, Chicago

On Jun 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I filed (and paid for) a claim in October of 2019 when I purchased my home. Its is now June 2020 and my stove and refrigerator still don\'t work properly. The original contractor came out and said that the refrigerator needed to be fixed and the stove replaced. AHS tried to dispatch another contractor a few days later for a second opinion because they THINK BLACK BUSINESSES ARE INCOMPETENT. AHS hasn't done anything but give me the run-around for 10 months. These "parts" have been in the mail for 10 months. AHS is HORRIBLE! Don't do business with them. Spend your money elsewhere.

Icon

Vera Fenton, Chicago

On May 27, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Last year my ac went out during the hottest days of the season. A service request was made 3 times before I got a resolution of the problem, which was a broken thermostat. After 2 trips out by the first serviceman. I was given an excuse by the second for a postponed service appointment that the weather report said it was going to rain that day. It did not rain but I had to wait yet another day for service. However, when he did come out he went directly to the problem and after 2 weeks of waiting for a solution I had a comfortable home to get a good night sleep.

Icon

Beverley J Miller, Chicago

On Nov 22, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I will give them a five star very good customer services.

Icon

Bridget Doyle, Chicago

On Aug 13, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had never had a home warranty until last year; I have used it twice in the past 13 months and both times the server was prompt and repairmen fixed my problem completely.

Icon

Clay, Chicago

On Aug 06, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a furnace problem last winter, AHW sent a guy out, he got it fixed. Worked out great. Then this summer my AC went out. After a couple weeks a guy came out who tried to upcharge me over $2000 on stuff that my plan covered, then he never called me back. I asked for a new contractor. They sent a guy who, I kid you not, was afraid to go up on an 8 foot ladder! Then they sent a third contractor. They were nice, but they later informed me that AHS cancelled them. By now it had been two months, and I was getting no answers. Finally I was told I could either take a cash payout of $1,100 (I know of no one on the PLANET who will install a new AC unit for $1,100 all-in), or I could go back with the first contractor who seemed very untrustworthy and was very unprofessional. So now I have to go with the guy who I already gave a scathing review. He has not called me back in two weeks! This all started in April. It is now August and I’m still using 3 window units to cool my house. NOT HAPPY! If I hadn’t paid years of monthly dues for this insurance, I wouldn’t have put up with this service! In the end it will cost much less than full price, so I guess it’s my lot in life to have to endure this debacle.

Icon

Andrew Doak, Chicago

On Jul 19, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I am sad to live in a country in which a company with this complete lack of responsibility or morals preys on the best intentions of homeowners. I have received the WORST customer service I have ever encountered in so many ways. They employ non-culturally competent call center representatives, whose interactions are completely scripted to the point that I would almost rather speak with a machine (not really, but it's that bad). They disconnect calls, as others have noted, almost as a matter of practice. They do not allow ANYONE to speak with a supervisor for any reason. They do not return calls to deal with issues you have raised. They cancel service, do not let you know when you have scheduled your day around said service, then lie or are otherwise incompetent when confronted with this glaring issue. They charge their service fee then lie about why they won't cover an issue that is clearly within the scope of the contract under "Improper installations, repairs, or modifications" saying that Chicago Code trumps this. Even when the electrician's work order/invoice and verbal confirmation is that improper installation was exactly what had gone wrong. This week, I have spent at least eight hours on the phone, none of it was helpful in any way other than raising my blood pressure, stress level, and generally removing any sense of well-being I have with the world. On top of that, I had a technician out today for a second opinion, which American Home Shield mandated, and even though he submitted his report in the morning, have received no follow up about my broken AC in the middle of the summer. If you want the ANTITHESIS of what a warranty is supposed to provide: peace of mind, a safety net, ability to relax about having reliable appliances and home systems, choose American Home Shield, the ANTI-WARRANTY! STAY AWAY, save your sanity, time, and money!

Icon

Crystal Royal , Chicago

On Jul 05, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I love American Home Shield, out of the 16 years I\'ve been with AHS, only one bad experience with a company they sent to service, but overall I give them a A+

Icon

Julia , Chicago

On Jun 24, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

My hot water wasn’t working and AHS saved my life! I called to schedule a service appointment and they were able to send a technician the next day. The technician was prompt and was able to fix the problem. I truly appreciate their great service during a stressful moment!

Icon

Stephen Chike Obioma, Chicago

On May 18, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I filed a claim on the 05/02/18 to have my Cooktop fixed. It\'s 05/18/18 today and the Cooktop still isn\'t fixed. I will not recommend this company to anyone. Total waste of money.

Icon

Robert, chicago

On Apr 25, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Overall we had a very mixed experience with AHS. Technician wise we\'ve had reasonably timely fixes from decent contractors. However, we recently sold our property and the process to cancel the contract left much to be desired. No one online can help you with this, all they can do is \'submit a form and someone will call back within 24 hours\'....i tried this twice and never received a call. The other option is to try to call AHS - after long holds on the main line (an issue for requesting fixes often as well) we got transferred to a different department and dropped 3x. All in all it took 5 attempts to cancel the contract, and in that time we were charged for another month of coverage even though we no longer owned the property. Also, they have fine print that you will be charged a month's "admin fee" if you cancel before the contract is up. I understand attempts at customer retention, and even could grasp a clearly communicated cancellation fee if customers randomly drop the service mid term, but if a home is sold it should be significantly easier to cancel this service....and without hidden fees. Before the cancellation experience I recommended this service to friends, which I can no longer do with a good conscience.

Icon

Robert Mulhim, Chicago

On Mar 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

In insurance there is a saying around when you will know that you have selected a good company or not, in the claims world it is called "the moment of truth". When I had a situation when my furnace not working on a Sunday, temperature 30 degrees outside and going down to lower than 30, and having a dog at home, called AHS and got no help. I had to find help on my own and followed all their directions just to be informed that they would not reimburse me. Extremely bas customer service.

Icon

Reid Bennett, Chicago

On Mar 03, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Nice service. Very responsive with professional people for onsite visits. Only problem is the operator used for my second call did not know the service wasn’t covered so it was a waste of $100 for a service call. I called them back to explain and they simply said sorry but would not refund the $100.

Icon

Bernice IkJangMi Johnson, Chicago

On Jan 31, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

We\'ve had to call twice. The first was for a garage door issue that was fixed within days. The second was for a furnace. The repair person came out the same night, but the furnace went out again after a few days. Turns out they need a part that takes days to arrive. When it came in, it was the wrong part. We are still waiting for the new part, meanwhile in Chicago, it's getting cold again and the other furnace is constantly firing. I wished the repair person just found the real problem the first time. We are going on 6 weeks without a repair.

Icon

Anonymous Customer, Chicago

On Dec 18, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS is fine, unless you have to speak to someone. They don\'t answer emails, and they keep customers on hold for an hour every time you have to call. Who has an hour to sit on hold? So your home repairs have to wait until you have a day to sit on hold, which makes the warranty itself less useful. Contractors also don\'t like dealing with AHS as they also complain about the long hold times.

Icon

Stephen Frausto, Chicago

On Oct 16, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

1.Takes too long (40-60 min.)at times to speak to a customer service representative. 2.If you have an issue to resolve in regards to a service fee,the customer representative has to be told to please look at the notes on the account and after you catch them up to speed they still transfer you to another department. 3.No one in the customer service department can send you a confirmation email stating your issue and balance on your account are resolved. 4.The CONTRACT.When looking at coverage it indicates your covered then says look at another section for further coverage details.Why not include it next to that particular item. I did not go into great detail about my experiences with AHS at this time cause I'm still trying to get my issues resolved.

Icon

Anastasia , Chicago

On Sep 21, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I feel cheated by this company. My AC went out 2 years ago and AHS has yet to provide a competent person to come out and fix my unit. I work from home in sweltering heat. And when I call AHS to find out why the repair man has not come out to fix my unit, I have to wait on hold for an hour to be told that they will call the company for me and leave a voicemail (I've already done that about 100 times) - and that I should call AHS again tomorrow to see if the repairman called AHS back. Mind you, I have to call AHS and waste another hour of my time on hold. They need to re-evaluate their customer service, pool of technicians, and their call center staffing. I've put a lot of money into AHS and it has gotten me nowhere. :( SCAM! I feel nobody will help me or cares. They only care that you pay your monthly fee.

Icon

PHil, Chicago

On Jul 24, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

We called AHS for our broken AC unit. The first technician never even went outside to look at the unit. We were then told that he doesn\'t serve our type of AC unit and that he would tell AHS to send someone who does service our unit, After waiting for over a week and a half for the next technician to arrrive, he told us almost immediately that he does not service our type of AC unit. Which means either the first technician never told AHS to send someone who could service our unit or AHS never sent out the right person. In either case, we then had to call AHS and after an hour on the phone were informed we could hire a 3rd party technician of which we might have to pay out of pocket for. What's the point of having AHS and paying the premiums, when we might have to pay out of pocket to fix the problem anyway. The 3rd technician simply flushed out the grill on the AC unit and it was working. It was the simplest fix that could have been accomplished over a month ago. Then we had to fight tooth and nail to get reimbursed for paying out of pocket. The cherry on the top, was that AHS has the gall to charge us two service fees, even though the 2nd technician was at our home for literally 30 seconds. We are still waiting to get reimbursed for the 3rd technician. Total wait time approx 5 weeks and 3hrs on the phone. Oh yeah, we have a 2 year old who doesn't sleep well in the heat, so that was fun too. Definitely do not recommend AHS.

Icon

Megan White, Chicago

On Jul 14, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

The response time is phenomenal and the customer service staff is friendly and so helpful.

Icon

Lucy, Chicago

On Jul 11, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have this time to spare because I\'ve currently been on hold with AHS for over an hour; they can not be bothered to pick up the phone, just an automated reply.. I called for service for my dryer 15 days ago. They sent a service tech that said it would take 5 business days for them to get the part in. I\'ve received no follow-up call, absolutely nothing in 15 days. I'm totally absolutely dissatisfied with this company,

Icon

CLAUDETTE ANDERSON, Chicago

On Nov 28, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

one 0of my three A/C\'s went out and you got here in two days. Thank touy. The compressor was out and you furnished me a new one and installed it. Thank you!

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020