ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  Maryland
last_updated_icon Last updated: May 23, 2022

The Best Home Warranty Companies in Maryland

Do you own or want to buy a home in the beautiful state of Maryland? Then HomeWarrantyReviews.com is here to help you with your home warranty needs. Our list of the best home warranty companies in Maryland is based on thousands of customer ratings, premiums, deductibles, etc. We host thousands of reviews to give you insight into the quality of service. A home warranty gets you discounted repairs and replacements of your conked-out systems and appliances. You can get a Maryland home warranty at an average premium of $318.98 and an average deductible of $40.55.

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free + Free Roof Coverage
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

A Glimpse At Average Premium In maryland

Average Premium In maryland

Min Average Premium in maryland Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in maryland (MD) major towns:

Baltimore Bethesda Bowie
Columbia Dundalk Ellicott City
Frederick Gaithersburg Germantown

Population : 5,773,561

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free + Free Roof Coverage
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Getting a Home Warranty in Maryland

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Special Offer

First Month Free

plus_icon_home

Limited Roof Coverage

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Maryland Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

sheila harper, Bowie

On Mar 18, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am impressed with AHS. I’ve used them twice this far and each time they send out reputable service techs who are knowledgeable in the area of service needed. The service is extremely timely and quality is excellent. I am very pleased with AHS and I’m glad I changed warranty companies and chose AHS.

Icon

nichelle mcduffie, Westminster

On Mar 03, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My first experience using American Home Shield for a home repair was easy and pleasant. I submitted my request online and was assigned to someone quickly. They assigned me to a competent local company that handled my issue promptly and professionally. There was no confusion and I received no invoices from the company, American Home Shield took care of all billing and all I had to do was set the appointment times.

Icon

Timothy Carter, Upper Marlboro

On Mar 02, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I\'m totally satisfied with the American Home Shield warranty. I would recommend this company to my friends and relatives to save the headache of trying to beg a friend or search for a contractor to make repairs to your home.

Icon

Raymond Layne, Rockville

On Feb 17, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The refrigerator side of my 22 year old G* side by side was not cooling, the freezer was ok. I contacted AHS and received a message that W***** R************ would be contacting me to make an appointment or I could call them. I called them, they had not received the notice from AHS but said they would be out the next day between 12 and 4. W****** arrived around 1:00 pm the next day. He was excellent. He was most knowledgeable, professional and instantly diagnosed the problem with the refrigerator just by opening the freezer door, looking inside (frost on the back panel of the freezer). He then called the parts supplier giving the part number without even having to look it up. He ordered the part and told me he would be back the next afternoon. The next day he called me around noon saying he had the part and was on his way. He replaced the part on the freezer in 15 mins and was on his way. I could not ask for better service.

Icon

George McKay, Owings Mills

On Feb 16, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

On time, concise assessment of issue and provided even a tool and instructions for fixing for potential recurrence. Definitely will do a call again in case the garbage disposal actually goes out.

Icon

Justin Culbertson, Abingdon

On Jan 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have always had good experiences with AHS. We use them probably on average 3 times a year and they always make sure we are well taken care of. We have never had them turn down a repair. Coverage is pretty good. I will say though some of their contractors like to band-aid repairs, so you need to look over the work that they do sometimes. If you have a problem notify AHS and they will take care of it.

Icon

Danijela MANLEY, Ellicott City

On Jan 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have been customers of AHS for 14 years and had been generally satisfied with their service in solving the problems we had over many years. In July 2021,however, we submitted a service request to repair a problem with our refrigerator. After a misdiagnosis of the problem by the technician (not AHS\' fault), the technician ordered, with AHS\' authorization, the required part in early August. From that moment to the present day, we were never once contacted by the technician or AHS to say they part is not available, that they're having supply chain problems, etc. We had to call AHS, sometime several times a week, for 2 months. Each time an overseas customer service rep would read the exact same cue card response, we would have to explain the entire story from scratch, be told they would look into it and get back to us about the status. We were NEVER called back, ever. Just the same run-around, every time. Every time we asked to speak to a supervisor, they would say they could not do that. There is no chat option, there is no e-mail option. It seems the customer service system is designed to suppress difficult problems by just hoping customers will give up and go away. At no time were we offered an alternative solution. we were supposed to wait indefinitely for the problem to be solved at the convenience of AHS. The service technician, who did occasionally take our calls, said that AHS was not authorizing him to do anything but wait for the part. All the while (August through November 2021), we had no working refrigerator while at the same time the U.S.-based AHS sales department called us every week trying to get us to renew our contact. When we explained the situation to the sales callers, they acted and seemed sympathetic and promised they would make sure the problem was resolved. This had no effect, but they would call the following week again themselves wwith the same sales pitch and repeat the whole process. In November, we finally gave up, let our contract expire, and had to purchase a new refrigerator at our own cost ($1,500), after having paid our AHS premiums all year, right up to November. We honored our obligations of the contract, but AHS did not honor its obligations, which really surprised up as longtime customers because we know it is a legitimate company. Unlike our past experiences with AHS, when Customer Service were always willing to discuss problems and solutions, like sending another service contractor or offer credit towards a new appliance, the first-line overseas-based customer service reps seem unauthorized (or unwilling?) to escalate customer-reported problems to higher levels with more authorization. If AHS' strategy is to save money in the short term, it certainly worked in our case because we had to replace our own refrigerator entirely at our expense after paying the $75 service call fee, we actually continued to pay AHS our monthly premiums ($79 per month) throughout the time we had no refrigerator, and we got to waste hours of our time every week for months waiting in the call line to explain the whole case all over again, so AHS: 4, Customer: 0.

Icon

William Tewelow, Germantown

On Jan 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Homeshield did a great job arranging for two technicians to come out to the house to fix the ice maker and the A/C. I have only been with American Homeshield for a few months. The service techs that showed up were great. They did their job professionally. They came prepared. They were able to take care of the matter in a timely manner.

Icon

JeffreyM, Silver Spring

On Nov 20, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

There was no drama to schedule the service needed - a blocked kitchen drain. Repair person arrived as promised and the issue was resolved satisfactorily. So the whole experience regarding the inconvenience involved was really worth the money.

Icon

paulette may, Mount Airy

On Nov 10, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have had 3 different service calls, electrical, plumbing and washer/dryer repair..... so far all have gone FANTASTIC!! I was leary at first to get this but it has save me money and aggrivation from having to figure things out ourselves.

Icon

William Gallagher, Bryantown

On Oct 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor, B****** A**, was excellent. Timely, efficient, professional and through. AHS process is improving, actually dealt with a human being and not a senseless computer. We were able to select the contractor we wanted and not get one of the many substandard one in our area.

Icon

Charlotte Hu, Mount Airy

On Oct 12, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The seller paid for a Cinch Home Warranty Plan at closing. We filed 3 complaints. Two for plumbing and 1 for appliance. The technician that arrived for the plumbing said Cinch refused to pay for services because it\'s a pre existing problem. So we had to pay him $480 for the plumbing. When I called Cinch they said we still had to pay them $200 deductible FOR DOING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!! That is insane. The 3rd request was cancelled because we realized they wouldn't address the appliance so we paid out of pocket for a new refrigerator, but even tho it was cancelled they still took $100. This company is committing theft with a contract.

Icon

Veronica James, Baltimore

On Sep 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The request for service was made very quickly and efficiently and service was rendered in less than 2 day. I have found that when called, American Home Shield is efficient in scheduling help. Thank you.

Icon

Carl Palm, Halethorpe

On Sep 10, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Contacted AHS claims department for a AC water problem which turned out to be an evaporator pump defect. The local contractor, Carroll Mechanical, recommended full unit replacement due to age and AHS accepted the claim for the new Evaporator/Condenser unit but rejected all of the installation costs because the contractor failed to submit the claim properly. Items including permit, disposal, and basic install/removal labor charges were supposed to be covered but due to the resistance of AHS claims agents to cover labor items required for the repair caused the contractor to put the costs all me, the homeowner. When discussing the cost breakdown with Carroll Mechanical I was unable to get them to submit a modified claim and was also unable to get AHS to return a call to me about the labor costs that should be covered per the contract but were not. The out of pocket costs of $1500 to Carroll Mechanical were excessive for the work done but AHS was impossible to work with on the actual labor costs, permits, and disposal fees, blaming the contractor for not submitting the claim. The truth is the contractor knows AHS will reject the costs and so they avoid dealing with AHS claims department on service repairs. This company is horrible and the call center people can barely speak and understand english, as well as try to be contract specialist when they probably don't even know how to read a contract, let alone understand it because it's written in english, not their first language.

Icon

Rajkumar Iyer, Rockville

On Sep 07, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Just stay away from this company. It is just money, time & effort wasted down a clogged drain. For one they are very slow to respond with a repair fix and the technicians they send over have no clue as to the issue (probably are trying to learn on the job) leading to wasted time and heartburn. If only I could give them a negative rating, I would, but the least I can give them here is a 1*

Icon

MARY BRUCE, Annapolis

On Aug 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Even though "toilet" is explicitly listed under "Covered Items" in my contract, AHS refused to recognize it as a "Covered Item." Their reasoning - damage was not "normal wear and tear." I guess they\'re calling it an improper use of toilet. Yes, it sounds ridiculous. Yes, it is a true story.

Icon

Donald Zocchi, New Market

On Aug 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Repair technicians usually very good. Hot water heater replacement unit unsatisfactory. Kitchen faucet replacement unit minimal quality. Cost of heat pump refrigerant gas outrageous; insufficient allowance for cost made by AHS.

Icon

ricky dickens, Crofton

On Jul 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Do not use this company American Home Shield will . After having their recommended company come out three time to fix my AC and its still not fixed . Now they clam that its not covered even though I bought the best warranty they offer . American Home Shield is a rip off .

Icon

AK, Silver Spring

On Jul 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company is dishonest and unreliable on every level. I have been waiting over 8 weeks to have my cooktop replaced and have been unable to get any updates from any representative despite calling twice a week for months. They have essentially stolen my money and disappeared.

Icon

AK, Silver Spring

On Jul 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company is dishonest and unreliable on every level. I have been waiting over 8 weeks to have my cooktop replaced and have been unable to get any updates from any representative despite calling twice a week for months. They have essentially stolen my money and disappeared.

Icon

Patricia Reese, Randallstown

On Jul 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS Contractor arrived early,assessed problem with our central air conditioning unit , kept me informed of status along the way .Contractor( M******) was friendly ,knowledgeable & professional .Our system required additional parts & chemical Freon however AHS only covers $10 of the cost of the chemical Freon which is $160/pound.This part of contract needs to change ..even if half of the product was covered by the contract because some homeowners are really struggling ( like myself) so that cost is stressful.It is the AHS policy not the actual Contractor’s requirement so customers should not take their anger out on them .I’ve had an active contract for almost twenty years ..would not have a home without some type of coverage for repairs in this day & time of unexpected crisis !

Icon

David Chandler, Salisbury

On Jul 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have had my warranty with AHS for just over one year now. I have placed two HVAC service calls so far. Both issues with my HVAC were repaired. The HVAC service company did a great job performing the repairs. I highly recommend AHS.

Icon

Ethel Reid , Baltimore

On Jul 17, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

So far I can confirm what other customers have said!! Lowe’s in Towson have the worst customer service !!! U wait almost 2 hours for someone to answer the phone then when someone does answer they put u on hold until u get tired of holding then call failed!! After all that time it’s a damn shame!! DO BETTER LOWES!!!!

Icon

Angela Smith, Frederick

On Jun 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great, reliable and professional repair service. I was very pleased with the HVAC contractor company-N******* A**. T*** found and explained the problem and made the repair. Thank you American Shield.

Icon

Octavia Thompson, Baltimore

On Jun 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

In two weeks had to have both my AC and my oven repaired. The process was fast, professional and positive. Both of my appliances are now up and running. The copay was only $75.00 and local small businesses were used. Thank you American Home Shield.

Reviews For Home Warranty Companies in Maryland

Reading customer reviews can help you form an idea of which companies’ services would suit you. You can share your home warranty experiences and help out others like yourself by writing a review.

How to Get the Most Out of Your Purchase

The warranty’s contract cost, the extent of coverage, and the company’s reputation are key aspects to consider when purchasing a home warranty. If an appliance breaks down, call the company and do not try to repair it yourself. This will help you make a successful claim.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020