ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

  Home  /  us  /  Maryland
last_updated_icon Last updated: July 21, 2020

The Best Home Warranty Companies in Maryland

Do you own or want to buy a home in the beautiful state of Maryland? Then HomeWarrantyReviews.com is here to help you with your home warranty needs. Our list of the best home warranty companies in Maryland is based on thousands of customer ratings, premiums, deductibles, etc.  We host thousands of reviews to give you insight into the quality of service. A home warranty gets you discounted repairs and replacements of your conked-out systems and appliances. You can get a Maryland home warranty at an average premium of $318.98 and an average deductible of $40.55.

SPECIAL OFFER
Now to avail this offer use code :THS100

A Glimpse At Average Premium In maryland

Coverage in maryland (MD) major towns:

Baltimore Bethesda Bowie
Columbia Dundalk Ellicott City
Frederick Gaithersburg Germantown

Population : 5,773,561

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Getting a Home Warranty in Maryland

American Home Shield (AHS)
4
/ 5
Based on 13,672 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
Choice Home Warranty
4
/ 5
Based on 6,869 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
The Home Service Club
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,900 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
Select Home Warranty
4
/ 5
Based on 4,322 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Total Home Protection
4.5
/ 5
Based on 709 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

maryland Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

paul, Millersville

On Oct 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

terrible company will find ways not to fix your problem, customer service is just as bad as you have to wait forever to talk to some one and charged me 58.00 cancellation fee for ended my contract

Icon

hattie simmons, Waldorf

On Oct 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Overall job repair is done. Unit part was unavailable so the entire unit was replaced. Resolution completed satisfactorily! Repairman was knowledgeable and courteous and my job resolution was finished to my satisfaction. Thank you.

Icon

FRANCIS GYIMAH, Glenn Dale

On Sep 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The replacement department was incredible. I had great difficulty trying to get customer service to make an headway on my claim. I was very frustrated until I got in contact with one of the great personnel in the replacement department. He worked my case to the management and got my claim approved. He even called me walk me through the process of how to order and receive my new appliance. I was so grateful for his assistance. If it wasn't for him, I would have given up on AHS and searched for another company. AHS needs to give him a raise because his was the epitome of professional excellence!

Icon

Stacy Lee, District Heights

On Sep 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My first time using my AHS plan was easier than expected. I entered my request online. I received a prompt response with scheduling information. The Service tech was prompt, informative and polite. I am truly impressed with the service.

Icon

Andre Griffith , Bowie

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

If you had done any research before posting this article you would have seen the countless negative feedback from the customers of AHS.Its either you are one in the same or being paid to deceive your readers.AHS has the worst customer service, I have been waiting almost 2 months to have my AC fixed in 90 degree weather. If you want more details on what a poor company this is right now just go to theirr very own Facebook page!!

Icon

Michael Fischer, Manchester

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

There were some hiccups with charges to my account when we agreed to accept a second year on our new contract. Once that was worked out, service has been great! Your customer services reps were professional and followed through!

Icon

Katimir C, Millersville

On Aug 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

This star rating is for for the appliance company that fixed my microwave this time. I needed to add my dishwasher to this claim but I could not get through on the phone. Left on hold forever. On the site, you can only make a claim separately and the system forces you to pay for a second trip. There is no service from you by phone and I don\'t like that at all. Now I have make a separate call for my dishwasher because I was unable to get through to find out how to add my dishwasher to the claim so I'm not paying two deductibles. The vendor who fixed my microwave gave excellent service. The vendor that fixed my plumbing job sent one person but the plumber brought someone else with him and they ended up stealing something from my house when I wasn't looking. They apparently worked as a team to cover for each other while they stole 750ml bottle of unopened, newly bought alcohol. After a while, I finally called that vendor who sent the plumber. And I told them what happened. They did nothing. I would, however, like to take them off my list of providers for plumbing.

Icon

Timothy Seibert, Glen Burnie

On Aug 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The service technician was great and on time as they said. They explained what they fixed, and then tested it before they left. He said a lot of companies do not go that extra mile to test it before they leave. That is a true repairman. I am happy that I selected this warranty repair company. They were also dressed for the COVID during the entire time. Gloved and Mask. That just take a lot of stress since they are coming into your home.

Icon

Laura Flautt Liberman, Glenelg

On Aug 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

HORRIFIC! If you are happy to spend upwards of 20 hours on the phone, predominantly on hold, with promises of returned calls, which never happen, then sign right up. Our oven has been broken for 6 weeks and they have been unable to locate a part to fix the oven or perhaps they have not even really tried to find it, we can\'t seem to get to the bottom of what has been done and the protocol they may have in place to remedy this problem. If you look at the reviews you will see ever since AHS has been acquired by FrontDoor this place is in free fall and there lack of customer service is abysmal. The only communication tool they have is phone and the hold times can be greater than an hour with hang ups and no return calls therefore I have resorted to Facebook posts and tweets. We are left with no choice but filing a claim like many other dissatisfied clients with the BBB and contacting the Attorney General. BUYER BEWARE! They are not what they once were. I obviously can't rate quality of repair because nothing is repaired. I've also seen it is imperative not to take a cash settlement because you never receive the check.

Icon

Sandra, Upperco

On Aug 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The associate I spoke with was friendly and tried extremely hard to help reach a plumber that works after hours and weekends. I though I know a few in my area that are 24 hours a day 7 days a week. AHS doesn’t contract with them. So we go without hot water until Monday.

Icon

Charlie Kranz, Aberdeen

On Aug 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had an A/C issue, called to get it serviced. The AHS rep on the phone was courteous and professional, submitted the work order promptly. The service provider called, came out and corrected the issue well within the time frame allotted. I appreciate the issue being handled so quickly.

Icon

Diana, Forest Hill

On Aug 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have to say that I really love having American Home Sheild as my warranty company. I put in my request for a problem with my air conditioning and they responded right away. I called the company they chose and they came the next day and fixed my air conditioning. It was so easy!

Icon

Anthony Pinkney, Waldorf

On Jul 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS is truly outstanding. I’ve had other home warranty services but AHS is by far the greatest. Customer service is great either by phone or using their we support. Constantly in contact to make sure service is being done or completed. If you choose AHS you will not be disappointing.

Icon

Jan Peters, Elkridge

On Jul 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I\'ve been using AHS for a number of years. Recently, my 2.5 year old microwave stop heating. The technician from the contracted AHS vendor checked the microwave and determined rather quickly what the problem was. Bottomline I need the microwave replaced. I paid the co-pay for the technician visit, which is standard. The best part...I don\'t have to pay another penny and getting a new microwave! This is why I stay with AHS.

Icon

Andrew Sardnet, Rockville

On Jul 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Learned to be proactive at times when it comes to scheduled of repairs, by calling and not wait for them to email or call you for schedule. Been Happy since. App is easy to use and always available when you call them. Do recommend to friends and family.

Icon

Amanda Donaldson, Upper Marlboro

On Jun 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

American Home Shield (AHS) made a true believer out of me! My refrigerator, dishwasher, and washing machine stopped working properly at the same time. My refrigerator was replaced within 2 weeks, the washing machine required an ordered part and was fixed within two weeks (its working again like brand new), and the dishwasher was fixed within three days, which included the weekend. I am sold on AHS for the rest of my life!!!!!! Previously, I was a member of another home warranty company for over 15 years with 3 memberships, which included residential and rental properties, and was skeptical about changing over. However, based on the hassle I experienced in having an item replaced, that company had me so angry and frustrated. Thank God, my properties are now in the hands of AHS!!!!!!!

Icon

Donna Young, Essex

On Jun 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The A.C. call was placed Friday evening. We figured we wouldn’t hear from them till Monday. Monday mid-day we did get a call that we would get a visit on Wednesday between 8a-2p. They arrived by 1:30 pm that day. The tech was very thorough and efficient. He assessed and fixed the problem immediately. Except for time to get out to fix it, everything was great.

Icon

Robert michael Ignozzi, Havre De Grace

On Jun 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Needed a hot water tank. Tank was covered but not exactly as to what I currently have. Have to pay for additional plumbing work as well. Not happy, read the fine print. Called in to follow up, told it could take 2 weeks to get tank. Beware!

Icon

Joanne DeMartino, Elkton

On Jun 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

This ia about the service from AHS, NOT the company that serviced my dishwasher. The technician was great..He diagnosed the problem with my dishwasher and ordered the parts. He cane back two days later and replaced the defective parts. Unfortunately that did not fix the problem and the dishwasher still leaks and doe not clean dishes. It is 9 years old and the technician recommended to AHS it be replaced, because it cannot be repaired. AHS has been totally unresponsive to me and the service company. We need to order a new dishwasher and have been trying to get a hold of someone so we can get their recommendations on which dishwasher we can order to replace the broken one. So the service by the technician was great. But AHS customer service is terrible. I have been trying to reach AHS for over a week so I can get my dishwasher replaced. I originally placed the service call May 30, 2020 so it has been 21 days that I have been without a dishwasher. This is unacceptable.

Icon

Debbie Benjamin, Waldorf

On Jun 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I submitted a claim to repair my Washer and Dryer, the technician came in a couple of days, he said that they both can be repaired , but they would needs parts , but they need to be ordered. In a week and a half my washer and dryer were working. Thank you for your prompt service.

Icon

Jack Anderson, Chesapeake City

On Jun 09, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

I’ve been trying to schedule service for my Frigidaire refrigerator for 1 week now. The contact number makes you wait over an hour. I was connect to an operator once and she never helped me. She directed my call back to the recording. The store I purchased the appliance from was no help at all. Very frustrating dealing with Lowe’s protection Plus. I do not recommend the extended warranty. It’s a total joke.

Icon

Ed Erslev, Waldorf

On Jun 06, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Unbelievably as service that actually lives up to what they say. Service technician was absolutely unbelievable. Well worth every person\'s time. Thank you for your service and honesty

Icon

Deborah Goode , Baltimore

On Jun 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Service was excellent - timely & very professional. Explained the issue of the air conditioner. A new system was not needed as another company had stated. The problem was quickly fixed & the price was very reasonable.

Icon

Johnetta Bond, Fort Washington

On May 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had 2 repair issues, one for plumber, one for appliance. The scheduling was done immediately for both. Repair by plumber is complete but appliance repair is a week away.

Icon

Sophia, Ocean City

On May 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Plumber was very professional and repaired within an hour. The toilet leak was sealed properly and the garbage disposal was cleared. Sink is not backing up with water. He was very friendly as well

Reviews For Home Warranty Companies in Maryland

Reading customer reviews can help you form an idea of which companies’ services would suit you. You can share your home warranty experiences and help out others like yourself by writing a review.

How to Get the Most Out of Your Purchase

The warranty’s contract cost, the extent of coverage, and the company’s reputation are key aspects to consider when purchasing a home warranty. If an appliance breaks down, call the company and do not try to repair it yourself. This will help you make a successful claim.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020