ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  Maryland
last_updated_icon Last updated: October 27, 2021

The Best Home Warranty Companies in Maryland

Do you own or want to buy a home in the beautiful state of Maryland? Then HomeWarrantyReviews.com is here to help you with your home warranty needs. Our list of the best home warranty companies in Maryland is based on thousands of customer ratings, premiums, deductibles, etc. We host thousands of reviews to give you insight into the quality of service. A home warranty gets you discounted repairs and replacements of your conked-out systems and appliances. You can get a Maryland home warranty at an average premium of $318.98 and an average deductible of $40.55.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

A Glimpse At Average Premium In maryland

Average Premium In maryland

Min Average Premium in maryland Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in maryland (MD) major towns:

Baltimore Bethesda Bowie
Columbia Dundalk Ellicott City
Frederick Gaithersburg Germantown

Population : 5,773,561

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Getting a Home Warranty in Maryland

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Special Offer

First Month Free

Limited Roof Coverage

mapicon
offer comapny_logo

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
cinch logo
Get Free Coverage For First 2 Months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon
offer

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Maryland Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Veronica James, Baltimore

On Sep 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The request for service was made very quickly and efficiently and service was rendered in less than 2 day. I have found that when called, American Home Shield is efficient in scheduling help. Thank you.

Icon

Carl Palm, Halethorpe

On Sep 10, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Contacted AHS claims department for a AC water problem which turned out to be an evaporator pump defect. The local contractor, Carroll Mechanical, recommended full unit replacement due to age and AHS accepted the claim for the new Evaporator/Condenser unit but rejected all of the installation costs because the contractor failed to submit the claim properly. Items including permit, disposal, and basic install/removal labor charges were supposed to be covered but due to the resistance of AHS claims agents to cover labor items required for the repair caused the contractor to put the costs all me, the homeowner. When discussing the cost breakdown with Carroll Mechanical I was unable to get them to submit a modified claim and was also unable to get AHS to return a call to me about the labor costs that should be covered per the contract but were not. The out of pocket costs of $1500 to Carroll Mechanical were excessive for the work done but AHS was impossible to work with on the actual labor costs, permits, and disposal fees, blaming the contractor for not submitting the claim. The truth is the contractor knows AHS will reject the costs and so they avoid dealing with AHS claims department on service repairs. This company is horrible and the call center people can barely speak and understand english, as well as try to be contract specialist when they probably don't even know how to read a contract, let alone understand it because it's written in english, not their first language.

Icon

Rajkumar Iyer, Rockville

On Sep 07, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Just stay away from this company. It is just money, time & effort wasted down a clogged drain. For one they are very slow to respond with a repair fix and the technicians they send over have no clue as to the issue (probably are trying to learn on the job) leading to wasted time and heartburn. If only I could give them a negative rating, I would, but the least I can give them here is a 1*

Icon

MARY BRUCE, Annapolis

On Aug 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Even though "toilet" is explicitly listed under "Covered Items" in my contract, AHS refused to recognize it as a "Covered Item." Their reasoning - damage was not "normal wear and tear." I guess they\'re calling it an improper use of toilet. Yes, it sounds ridiculous. Yes, it is a true story.

Icon

Donald Zocchi, New Market

On Aug 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Repair technicians usually very good. Hot water heater replacement unit unsatisfactory. Kitchen faucet replacement unit minimal quality. Cost of heat pump refrigerant gas outrageous; insufficient allowance for cost made by AHS.

Icon

ricky dickens, Crofton

On Jul 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Do not use this company American Home Shield will . After having their recommended company come out three time to fix my AC and its still not fixed . Now they clam that its not covered even though I bought the best warranty they offer . American Home Shield is a rip off .

Icon

AK, Silver Spring

On Jul 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company is dishonest and unreliable on every level. I have been waiting over 8 weeks to have my cooktop replaced and have been unable to get any updates from any representative despite calling twice a week for months. They have essentially stolen my money and disappeared.

Icon

AK, Silver Spring

On Jul 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company is dishonest and unreliable on every level. I have been waiting over 8 weeks to have my cooktop replaced and have been unable to get any updates from any representative despite calling twice a week for months. They have essentially stolen my money and disappeared.

Icon

Patricia Reese, Randallstown

On Jul 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS Contractor arrived early,assessed problem with our central air conditioning unit , kept me informed of status along the way .Contractor( M******) was friendly ,knowledgeable & professional .Our system required additional parts & chemical Freon however AHS only covers $10 of the cost of the chemical Freon which is $160/pound.This part of contract needs to change ..even if half of the product was covered by the contract because some homeowners are really struggling ( like myself) so that cost is stressful.It is the AHS policy not the actual Contractor’s requirement so customers should not take their anger out on them .I’ve had an active contract for almost twenty years ..would not have a home without some type of coverage for repairs in this day & time of unexpected crisis !

Icon

David Chandler, Salisbury

On Jul 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have had my warranty with AHS for just over one year now. I have placed two HVAC service calls so far. Both issues with my HVAC were repaired. The HVAC service company did a great job performing the repairs. I highly recommend AHS.

Icon

Ethel Reid , Baltimore

On Jul 17, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

So far I can confirm what other customers have said!! Lowe’s in Towson have the worst customer service !!! U wait almost 2 hours for someone to answer the phone then when someone does answer they put u on hold until u get tired of holding then call failed!! After all that time it’s a damn shame!! DO BETTER LOWES!!!!

Icon

Angela Smith, Frederick

On Jun 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great, reliable and professional repair service. I was very pleased with the HVAC contractor company-N******* A**. T*** found and explained the problem and made the repair. Thank you American Shield.

Icon

Octavia Thompson, Baltimore

On Jun 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

In two weeks had to have both my AC and my oven repaired. The process was fast, professional and positive. Both of my appliances are now up and running. The copay was only $75.00 and local small businesses were used. Thank you American Home Shield.

Icon

Barbara M Ligon, Bowie

On May 25, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

He was Prompt. Very Professional and not Friendly. Quick. Polite. Got the job done without any hesitations and didn’t waste any time getting started. Told me what type of garbage disposal it was and that is quite and similar to one I had

Icon

TERESA WILLIAMS, Upper Marlboro

On May 13, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS for almost 3 years. When placing a claim, AHS charged $100. Call back was to be within 24 hours, which didn\'t happen and I had to follow up. One claim was for cooling system and the other one for the washer. Technician issued an astronomical charge to repair cooling system and I decided to take cash out and find my own repairman. The washer wasn't worth repairing, so I was given the cash for replacement. My biggest concern, was AHS increasing my monthly premium, after a year of no claims filed, from 49.99 to 72.00, without any notice whatsoever. My attempt to contact them was aggravating, being placed on hold, transferred from one department to another, being disconnected, and so on. After 3 days I decided to cancel my contract and was harassed by the agent, trying to sell me on a different plan. Then I was told that would incur a cancellation fee (which I had to pay in order to cancel) and then I was charged for another monthly premium. UNBELIEVABLE!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!

Icon

Michele Devine, Pasadena

On Apr 20, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been a AHS member for 9 months and didn\'t have any emergencies. In April our washing machine broke and our AC didn\'t pass a routine maintenance check. When I called for each issue, the appointments, service and repair was quick and effective. We are VERY VERY happy we purchased this home insurance.

Icon

Elizabeth Parker, District Heights

On Jan 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been with AHS over 10 years my experience with them has been nothing but positive. They have replace a refrigerator, washing machine and fixed my furnace and air conditioner unit. They have been promoted in ordering the parts to fix the problem. I reccomend anyone purchasing a home new or old to purchase AHS for their Home Warranty Co. Sooner or later something in your home will break. I am a Realtor I always recommend this to all my clients

Icon

Chebellbel L., Owings Mills

On Jan 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I just transferred to AHS from ***** ******** Home Warranty which was really, really an awful experience. I had a plumbing issue and read about the reviews which were very negative and held my breath as I waited for the problem to be fixed. * ******* plumbing called within a day and came out within the next two days to fix the issue. They cut holes in the walls which needed drywall, so I called AHS and they assigned me to a contractor which called the next day and came out on New Years Eve to repair. AHS said that I didnt have to pay another $100 because it was a continuation of the same problem. I was impressed because I wasnt double charged like my other warranty tried to do and all of this occurred during the holidays along with a pandemic and was speedily repaired. I guess everyones experience with the company is different. This was my 1st call, so I hope this stellar service continues.

Icon

Kathy Brown, Gaithersburg

On Dec 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our most recent experience with AHS was surprisingly pleasant. Our microwave quit working. I submitted a service request online. A contractor was assigned within a couple hours. The contractor contacted us the next morning and came out the same day. He had to order parts. About a week later, he returned, but found another problem. The microwave was not reparable. By the end on the business day, we had an offer of replacement. The contractor was excellent and prompt. This was probably partly due To the fact that he was located less than 10 miles from our home.

Icon

Norma DeGuzman, Germantown

On Nov 12, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The repair to my dryer was taken care of by the Technician timely. After careful analysis of the dryer needs, he placed the order for the parts which were delivered in my house. So, the next day he came to my house he immediately replaced the parts that were broken in not even 30 minutes. Our dryer is working now without worries. The Technician was courteous, polite and did a very good job. The needed assistance came timely. Thank you for the good service.

Icon

Michelle Hughes, Waldorf

On Oct 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

In the oSt, AHS failed to pay fully for the ac and furnace i had to pay out of pocket. They only paid half, and that was because I contacted BBB. Now I\'m in fear that the washer they came to repair needs a part and the service guy says it might not be possible to get. I haven\'t heard from AHS. AHS has improved since I had issues.

Icon

paul, Millersville

On Oct 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

terrible company will find ways not to fix your problem, customer service is just as bad as you have to wait forever to talk to some one and charged me 58.00 cancellation fee for ended my contract

Icon

hattie simmons, Waldorf

On Oct 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Overall job repair is done. Unit part was unavailable so the entire unit was replaced. Resolution completed satisfactorily! Repairman was knowledgeable and courteous and my job resolution was finished to my satisfaction. Thank you.

Icon

FRANCIS GYIMAH, Glenn Dale

On Sep 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The replacement department was incredible. I had great difficulty trying to get customer service to make an headway on my claim. I was very frustrated until I got in contact with one of the great personnel in the replacement department. He worked my case to the management and got my claim approved. He even called me walk me through the process of how to order and receive my new appliance. I was so grateful for his assistance. If it wasn't for him, I would have given up on AHS and searched for another company. AHS needs to give him a raise because his was the epitome of professional excellence!

Icon

Stacy Lee, District Heights

On Sep 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My first time using my AHS plan was easier than expected. I entered my request online. I received a prompt response with scheduling information. The Service tech was prompt, informative and polite. I am truly impressed with the service.

Reviews For Home Warranty Companies in Maryland

Reading customer reviews can help you form an idea of which companies’ services would suit you. You can share your home warranty experiences and help out others like yourself by writing a review.

How to Get the Most Out of Your Purchase

The warranty’s contract cost, the extent of coverage, and the company’s reputation are key aspects to consider when purchasing a home warranty. If an appliance breaks down, call the company and do not try to repair it yourself. This will help you make a successful claim.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020