ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  Michigan
last_updated_icon Last updated: May 24, 2022

Michigan Home Warranty Companies

Compare Michigan home warranty companies and plans they offer. As 73% of the state's citizens own a house in Michigan, many top American home warranty companies provide services in Michigan. We have made a list of all the prominent home warranty companies in Michigan to help you find an ideal plan.

A home warranty plan will help you save big on repair and replacement costs for your home appliances. You can find plans as per your needs and requirements in Michigan. Some companies also offer customized plans to cater to your needs specifically.

The average premium for a home warranty in Michigan is $318.98, and the average deductible is $40.55.

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free + Free Roof Coverage
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

A Glimpse At Average Premium In michigan

Average Premium In michigan

Min Average Premium in michigan Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in michigan (MI) major towns:

Ann Arbor Detroit Flint
Gaylord Grand Rapids Lansing
Livonia Marquette Pontiac

Population : 9,883,612

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free + Free Roof Coverage
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Choose the Best Home Warranty in Michigan

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Special Offer

First Month Free

plus_icon_home

Limited Roof Coverage

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Michigan Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

James , Kalamazoo

On Apr 01, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My experience with American Homeshield was overall a good experience. It did take longer then expected to get my furnace replaced due to some mishaps. But AHS made it right. I really appreciate that. However I did really have to work my way up the customer service department. But once I did... the customer service was night & day difference, and really helped resolve my issue. That's the only constructive criticism I can give. Besides that AHS really came through and really replaced my furnace. I wasn't sure if these home warranties where a hoax or scam at first. But rest assured they are legit! So glad I extended my home warranty. Thank you AHS. I'm overall very pleased with the service.

Icon

Amy Bach, Niles

On Mar 25, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I recently bought my house and had the home warranty. I moved in and within a day the fridge didn\'t work and oven didn\'t work. I was impressed on how quick the request took and how quick items were replaced or repaired.

Icon

Kelly Williams, Adrian

On Mar 23, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our furnace stopped working at the worst time. My claim was processed quickly and contact for the repairs was right on time. The repair company sourced was excellent and got us warmed right up! I would recommend American Home Shield to all homeowners!

Icon

Donna Ballard, Kalamazoo

On Mar 17, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Home warranties can be a blessing for new homeowners or for highly experienced homeowners. When you own a home, you know appliances break, pipes burst, toilets leak, etc. When those expensive accidents that are part of home ownership happen, and you have an American Home Shield (AHS), your budget won\'t take a major hit. Yes, AHS will cost you each month; I currently pay $79 per month, and my payment for any of expensive home breakdown happens is and has been $79 for the years I've had the AHS home warranty. Some may argue that putting the $79 in a savings account would add up to $950 a year, which I could spend on repairs. Sure. Last month my washer needed a new motor, which cost me $79. Without AHS, I'd have been searching for a new washer. Given that accidents come in threes for me, I also had to contact AHS because my stove/oven went on the blink and another time recently regarding a leaking toilet. I think I've also used AHS during the years for two furnace repairs and two or three air conditioning repairs. AHS works amazingly well for me.

Icon

William Fehsenfeld, Wyoming

On Mar 04, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Terrible! Have warranty to cover water heater, they want 1800 to install it . They say they have to modify water lines, it’s bs , I can buy a better brand plus install for under 1000. So it’s a scam !

Icon

William Fehsenfeld, Wyoming

On Mar 04, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Terrible! Have warranty to cover water heater, they want 1800 to install it . They say they have to modify water lines, it’s bs , I can buy a better brand plus install for under 1000. So it’s a scam !

Icon

harold greenberg, Romulus

On Jan 29, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

do not give out the gift cards when you refer someone. been over 6 months and countless calls. there are other companies who would love my business. i nor the person i referred got them. call me and let\'s fix this

Icon

Teresa J DeVito, Greenville

On Jan 27, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This is the worst service I have ever encountered. Made an appointment to have my electric looked at, the contractor was very nice but did not have the parts to complete the job. New appt was made and the was given a window of 1 to 7pm so basically waited all day for no one to show up. Appt was then rescheduled again and like the first time the window was 1 to 7pm for AGAIN a no show. Obviously I paid the fee required to get someone out but because the repairs required cost more than the fee paid they cannot do the work. I would suggest anyone looking to obtain a home warranty from American Home Shield should just put their money in a savings account and add to it for those unexpected repairs because the money I have paid to them was to line someone's pocket and not to pay for the repairs on my home. I will consider this a learning experience and will NEVER purchase another home warranty, big scam. I just wonder who all is receiving money for this scam?? I will be contacting a reputable electrical contractor and having the work completed by them and NOT Whitney Electrical and Plumbing in Middleville MI who in my opinion is one of the worst companies I have dealt with. Both American Home Shield and Whitney Electrical NEVER answer the phone so you can never speak to anyone regarding the issues you are having. I guess they got tired of people complaining about their services.

Icon

Teresa DeVito, Greenville

On Jan 21, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am very disappointed with the service that I have received from one of the vendors used by American Home Shield. I was told a person would be here on 01/20/2022 Thursday between 1 and 7 pm from Whitney Electric and as suspected no one arrived. I work a full time job and had to make arrangements for this timeframe. This is not the first time that I have heard of this happening to people with Whitney Electric thru American Home Shield. I was considering to renew my warranty with American Home Shield but have chosen to use a different warranty company, because when I asked if there was a different electrician to service this area I was told that they were the only company that American used. If American Home Shield cannot due the research regarding the vendors that they use then there is no reason for me to continue my subscription with American when it is up for renewal. My electric is STILL not fixed and now I am going to have to make arrangements AGAIN to have someone available for the electrician to gain access to my home. I am a very DISSATISFIED customer and highly doubt that anyone will appear today to make this right. That being said I will make sure that my realtor friends and mortgage banking friends are aware of how American Home Shield is ran. Thank you. A very dissatisfied mortgage underwriter.

Icon

Hadi Awada, Birmingham

On Nov 01, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My cooktop has been down for 22 days. AHS customer service is unable to help me, solve my problem, track the parts order, or let me speak with any supervisors. The repair company has been contacting them to also track the parts and cannot get any resolution. We requested a buy out or cash out and we cannot talk with anyone who can help us. I’ve been a customer since 2018 and this is the first time it feels like a scam. We have not cooked in our house for 22 days and counting. This should not be something that’s is allowed to happen to paying customers who purchase a service from AHS and AHS does not provide them with the services that they paid for. Update: November 8 - I received a follow up phone call and reply to this review after posting. AHS indicated on November 3 that this case would move to cash out status. I called AHS again to follow up and now the new status is to wait for parts again for 10-15 more days. It has been over a month and I still cannot get AHS to resolve my problem. I am also still without a cooktop and have not cooked a meal in my home for 1 month. This is really not acceptable anymore.

Icon

coleen french, Portland

On Oct 01, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am very pleased with the service from AHS. They have been prompt and very courteous, got the jobs done, tuneups performed, nicely. Plan to continue with them for a long time! They approved the replacement of my refrigerator a YEAR ago, but due to circuit board and insulation shortages, my model has yet to be delivered (not the fault of AHS). I just need a certain size so I don't have to move/remodel cupboards. Hopefully soon I will be able to take delivery and turn in my receipt for reimbursement. The store I am purchasing from brought me a 'loaner' last December, so I'm making do.

Icon

Rosie Mc, Holly

On Sep 21, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My first time utilizing AHS was very difficult, the repair person schedules the appt and tells you when they will be there. After the initial visit and not hearing any more I checked the website and found my repair order had been listed complete and closed. I called AHS and had to pay and additional $100 fee to get another order with promise of refund from the first then I saw they had assigned me the same company who notified me I needed to pay and additional $800. Calling again I was assigned to a different contractor who did come and do the repair professionally. I finally got my credit but This entire process did take whell over 1 month for a plumbing issue that thank goodness was not emergent.

Icon

Robert M Nakon, Pinckney

On Aug 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My F********* dishwasher refused to start so I called AHS for service. The man who came out to fix it was very knowledgeable and thorough. He found the fault and fixed it immediately. What more could I ask? I have been an AHS customer for quite a while and the security I feel just knowing that things that are broken will be repaired is wonderful.

Icon

W B, Grosse Pointe

On Jul 28, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Bought extended warranty for washer. Washer stopped working after 6 days. It’s full of water, won’t drain and extended warranty says they can have somebody out in 2 weeks!! They told me they only have one service provider for the entire area. Now my brand new washer sits full of water...for 2 weeks?! Unacceptable and waste of money!

Icon

Deborah, Bloomfield Hills

On Jul 19, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had this company for about 6 months. I needed a plumber because half our house wasn\'t working. It took them 2 weeks before they got someone over and he was incompetent. The vent to clean out the drain was on the roof and it was excluded. They could have pulled the toilet but said that wasn\'t covered either, even though it was not in the contract. So I paid a $100 to wait for 2 weeks and had to hire my own plumber and pay another $350. What a waste.

Icon

Sally , Redford

On Jul 02, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My A/C stopped working and it was very hot outside. The claim was easy to start online and the A/C repair went smoothly. My air was running by the time he left and my house is completely cooled off.

Icon

Nancy, Lake Orion

On Jun 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Had to call back they assigned to contractor who did not work on my model washing machine. Second guy came out immediately. That made up for first error. Handy to have home warranty. Nice to just call a number for service

Icon

Kim Williams, Belding

On Feb 27, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Requested service from AHS regarding a water heater issue. AHS assigned a contractor almost immediately. The technician (****) arrived on time, was very professional and personable. He identified the problem very quickly and we arrived at a resolution. Highly recommended!!

Icon

John Everden, Corunna

On Feb 23, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

While the warranty was overall worth purchasing as the product was a pos (********* fridge) each repair required multiple phone calls, visits and hassle. Each time a repairman was sent out 1st it required him coming out to assess problem than waiting a week to hear if they would cover the repair. On my fourth repair it required 4 service appts to final determine it was unfixable. The final repair involved the lights not working in the fridge and was 4.5 years into my 5 year warranty. I managed to get a gift card for full purchase price and tax (minus protection plan). They wanted to charge me to dispose of the fridge though! I said no way which apparently is an option after talking with them. So now I have a fully working fridge minus the broken lights and a gift card for the full purchase price. Given its been about 3 months since I 1st scheduled the service appt. Had this been an issue that made the fridge totally unusable id be very angry. Reading the terms and conditions I believe they were suppose to give me cash back or at least offer it as an option and they did not. If they could improve the customer service and turn around time this would be a good valued service. Next time I buy appliances Ill like use home depot due to these issues.

Icon

Vicky Vargo, Plainwell

On Feb 03, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My experience with American Home Shield has been disconcerting. I would never recommend AHS to anyone looking to purchase a home warranty. My oven quit working on November 24, 2020. As of February 3,2021, I still do not have a working oven. This is simply unacceptable. Firstly, AHS sent technicians out to repair the oven. The technicians determined the part that was causing the oven not to work. They provided that information to AHS. AHS found that the part was no longer available. They had the technicians come back to my house and remove the part and send it out to be refurbished. The refurbished part was sent back to the technicians. The technicians came back to my house and installed the part. It did not work. AHS has offered me a certain amount of money to replace my oven. The amount offered to replace the oven is not even 1/2 of what it will cost me to replace the oven with a basic model (no bells and whistles). I have contacted several people and have gotten nowhere. I have not accepted the amount offered and will continue to fight this company to do the right thing and replace my oven

Icon

Ruth munn, Flat Rock

On Dec 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have made several attempts to talk with a supervisor. No one returned my call I have a water heater and the pan is now overflowing onto my ceiling.

Icon

Linda Day, Oak Park

On Oct 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My latest experience trying to have my refrigerator repaired has been a nightmare! My initial request for service was on Sept 2, 2020. As of today, Oct. 4,2020 my refrigerator is still not working. Despite desperate calls explaining that my husband depends on medication that has to be kept refrigerated. There has been three different companies sent out, all giving different diagnoses for the problem. We’re now waiting for a second part to be sent from AHS. The requests have been expedited and escalated and still a month later I do not have a working refrigerator!!!!

Icon

Crh, Grand Rapids

On Sep 21, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company they use is completely unprofessional and unavailable. It has been a month since they came out to look at my dishwasher and they ordered the part that it needed to be fixed. Cant get a hold of diamond factory service but its supposed to fix the dishwasher. Anyone I talk to at the Lowes protection plan center keeps brushing this off. What a waste of my time and money.

Icon

Evette Kendzierski, Macomb

On Sep 16, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our central air conditioning recently stopped working and smelled like it was on fire. When the technician came out the unit started up and seemed to be working fine, however he could see that there was a problem that would probably happen again with out a new piece replaced. American Home Shield wouldn\'t allow the piece to be replaced since the unit worked. The Technician left and the next day we need to run the air conditioner, it was running about 20 minutes it stopped again and started burning so we shut it off and called AHS once again. A different technition came out, we explained to him all that had happened so he ran the unit for at least 20 minutes and sure enough it stopped again and started burning. Apparently that is what they needed to happed, he replaced the part and we have been working great ever since. This was our first experience with AHS and although it could of gone a bit better we are grateful that everything is working now. Thank you

Icon

Laurie , Wyandotte

On Sep 09, 2020

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The worst. Called Customer service in April for a refrigerator not working. After 9 weeks and 5 different service calls, they wanted to send another technician. No thanks. Too many promises and we had to purchase a new refrigerator on our own. We have paid thousands in premiums for nothing. Do not use this company.

Reviews For Home Warranty Companies in Michigan

It's a great idea to read about several home warranty companies that provide services in Michigan. It helps you get a better understanding of the quality of services offered. If you would like to share an experience where you dealt with a home warranty company, go ahead and write a review !

How to Choose Michigan's Best? 

It is essential to consider several different aspects while choosing the best home warranty plan in Michigan. Look at the company's coverage in terms of the systems and appliances, the reputation of the company, and contract costs to make the right decision.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020