×

Home Warranty Companies in North Carolina

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in North Carolina: $313.23
Average Deductible in North Carolina: $41.51
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 8230
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 472
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1709
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3416
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2080
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 285
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.7
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.6
  • Service Timeliness 4.7
  • Repair Service 4.7
  • Overall Rating 4.7
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1781
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 79
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1845
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.5
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1028
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.1
  • Service Timeliness 3.3
  • Repair Service 3.1
  • Overall Rating 3.1
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Darren Frank Date: 2014-01-27 15:52:25

    Review: The contractor that AHS not only fixed our dryer that wasn't operating properly, but he also pointed out that lint was collecting inside the dryer, and that this was a potential fire hazard! He pulled out a bucket load of lint from the dryer, and some of it was singed from being burnt by the heating element. We clean the lint screen each and every time we use the dryer, and had no idea that the design of the dryer allowed something like this to happen--there was no mention of this in the owner's manual for periodic maintenance. The contractor showed us something not in the owner's manual, how to remove the front of the dryer, to prevent this from ever happening again. Money well spent on the service call! He also changed the burnt out heating element, and fixed the dryer.

    Deborah Carter Date: 2016-01-02 16:13:23

    Review: Since I reported my dishwasher was not cleaning properly on November 12,2015, there have been 4 repair companies here, new motor installed improperly, then re-installed and still not cleaning, and opinion that I needed a new dishwasher, then the 4th company who was supposed to be giving a "second opinion" not responding to AHS at all, and still, today, Jan. 2, 2016, no dishwasher repair and AHS says they can't do anything except put in an "internal" form to ask "somebody" to "do something".

    Jean Godley-Cooper Date: 2015-09-09 08:28:30

    Review: I have had ORHW for at least ten years. I am a Realtor and always try to have my sellers or buyers purchase an ORHW. I have always had good service and good vendors. I will continue to use this company. Insurance can always be difficult to deal with whether it is health or service related. Thanks ORHW for the service you have given to me and to my clients. Jean Godley-Cooper

    Not Financially Worth While Date: 2013-07-23 12:15:53

    Review: So I purchased this warranty with my new home and have had it for two years. The first year the rate was $380 or so and I made two service calls, one to an electrician who replaced a single fuse for me and second to a plumber who replaced a broken shower head for me. Both cost $75 in trade fees. Added together $470 for service this year. I could have had the electrician do the repair for $75, and also the plumbing done for $100, so I did roughly -$300 this year for financial feasibility. I knew my water heater was on the fritz, so I decided to renew my warranty thinking it might be worth it, the service was fast and good, I just didn't seem to use it. Oh, by the way, they upped their price to $450 (and for less coverage). So I call in when the water heater starts leaking as it rusted through. $75 trade fee, $100 haul away fee, $60 upgrade to new code fee, $100 for a stand for the water heater, and $45 for the part to bring up to the new code. So, $380 for services rendered that did not fall within the plan. I spoke with a representative of Old Republic to make sure this was correct and it was in fact correct because I did not purchase all of the proper additions, such as to bring things up to code which is in the premium plan I believe for another $100. A new water heater in my area including installation and haul away from Home Depot is $700. So I'm doing -$80 in value so far this year. Total value to me = -$380. So today I am working with a contractor regarding expanding my deck, and he notes that it looks like behind a ledger board there is some water damage, so we pull off a piece of siding to take a look and it appears the flashing was improperly installed, which has led to rot across the entire length of the deck. I crack open my policy and notice a section that says, and I quote, "10) Improper Installation: If necessary, as part of a covered service, we will correct improper installations/repairs". Under general limitations of what is not covered is no mention to improper installations of components of this nature. Suffice to say, I call in and they report that "Flashings, doors, windows and structural components of the home are not covered". Well, isn't that the entire purpose of a home warranty, in case the home caves in on you? Cost of repair: $1200. Value to me so far: -$380 in addition to things that should be covered are not. Do yourself a favor and sign with a different company. This one though they are fast only covers items that are not financially feasible to go through a company of this nature for. I for one am going to be shopping around now. Example of expensive item: AC Dies, purchase a new AC from Home Depot with install for $1200, which is warrantied for 10 years. In 10 years you will spend $4500 + Trade Fees + bringing up to code + other garbage. For that cost, you might as well just purchase those items yourself or call the repair guy yourself.

    Ronnie Ferguson Date: 2017-07-25 01:16:24

    Review: Very timely company, I had a couple of different issues to work out but the man that serviced my a/c was on time, and very efficient with his time. I will definitely use them again for any/all a/c repairs.

    Kathleen Date: 2013-08-17 12:30:51

    Review: I've had American Home Shield coverage for my home for four years now. It's my first time owning a home, and I'd be lost without AHS coverage. It's so easy to use, and each time I've had to use it, the repair person sent out was reputable, knowledgeable, friendly, clean, and prompt. Fortunately all my repairs have been minor, but I have every confidence that should my water heater break in half or my air conditioner melt from the heat, that AHS will be there for me to get my house back to being my home.

    Gloria Beal Date: 2016-10-24 12:03:29

    Review: I have only had to call for service in 2 years. It was right after I moved into the house and the air conditioning quit working. I call and the service person was out the next morning. He assessed the problem and went to his truck and had the part that needed to be replaced. He had it all up and working in about 30 mins.

    N. Yarden Date: 2012-10-31 18:40:06

    Review: I have been with AHS for 17 years. Small repairs were done with no issues. Bigger repairs, most of the times, were initially denied and required more calls and time to spend with customer service in order to get the repair done. There is also an additional charge by the service contractor for items that are not covered. Some claims are denied under a claim of improper installation and you have to show that the item passed city/county inspection, or was actually installed by AHS contractor in past service calls. Over so many years, the amount I paid AHS in total is probably less than what AHS had to spend on me, but if I had to repair it myself I would have to pay more (since AHS gets lower prices from the service providers that what they will charge me). Recently, I got a letter that stating that AHS, after to review of my claim history, will not renew my contract. That sounds very unfair and this are my thoughts in regards: All together, I already put into the system thousands of $. During those 17 years, Both of my heat pumps were replace, one by AHS and the second with the same brand AHS is using after a cash out situation. All the work was done by the same contractors that AHS is using. So, my point is that if I am using the same equipments AHS are installing and the same contractors that AHS are using are servicing my heat pumps, then the "too many" repairs I required are just an outcome of the quality of those equipments and the contractors, all approved by AHS.

    Eric Date: 2016-06-29 21:00:18

    Review: Mm m mm I am in a current dispute with AMERICAN HOME SHIELD. They refuse to honor their contract for a simple repair that I was told would be honored. The contract is clear that it is to be. N n n be covered. Please do your research and find another provider. I will be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and my state's attorney generals office. Just tonight N n. N n n n n alone, 65 minutes on hold.

    Cathy English/ Mildred Ortiz Date: 2015-08-03 11:55:16

    Review: I had a garbage disposal problem and the repairman lied to AHS who then declined the service and the repairman from Paulier's Plumbing turned around and said I had to give him 100 dollars anyway. I then tried to call AHS as they declined the service but never called me to discuss why I have been on hold for 1 1/2 hours and no results. I sent them and email requesting they contact me and I am also still waiting. I believe this is poor customer service for sure.

    Tom Donadeo Date: 2014-09-30 09:09:00

    Review: Over the last 20 years that we have had AHS we have had multiple occasions to use the service. My wife and I have never been disappointed. Everything from dishwasher malfunctions to the complete replacement of our heating and air conditioning unit. In each of the incidents AHS has delivered a contractor who got the job done in a timely fashion and always with satisfactory results.

    Chris Houser Date: 2016-06-24 17:24:07

    Review: American Home Shield covered my HVAC compressor when it went out which was a $1,500 part. The service guys were very fast and professional.

    A. Sims Date: 2013-08-26 10:42:55

    Review: They don't cover or cover very little of the most common problems in a house. What refrigerator in this day and time doesn't have an ice and water dispenser of course it would be the most common thing to need service, but nooo, you don't cover that. You only cover 10.00 per pound for freon, really!, when freon cost 40.00 per pound. I have paid you 60.00 a month for years, 75.00 a month just for someone to come out (on top of the monthly fee), then I have to pay for the freon. It would be cheaper for me to save the 60.00 a month i'm paying you and pay for my own repairs.That's 700.00 a year i'm paying you to say no to every service call, after i pay the service fee. This is a money making, rip off business for AHS. If you have the discipline to put the monthly fee aside for emergencies you would be a hell of a lot better off than letting AHS have your money for years of doing the very least whenthe time comes that you need them!!!

    Caroline yongue Date: 2017-08-16 19:40:03

    Review: I have been trying for the past month to reach someone/anyone at American Home Shield to schedule an appointment for repair. Their online appointment has not worked and directs me to check back to schedule. It continues to not work. When trying to call (several times), I have waited over an hour for someone to schedule a repair appointment and finally gave up. Very frustrating. Why have this insurance policy if you cannot reach anyone to schedule service!!!

    ralph guys Date: 2017-07-25 22:05:59

    Review: My repair on my central air cost was not worth the warraty AHS only would pay for the first 2lbs of refrig the total cost to me was only a few bucks less than if l had handled it myself

    Randall robinson Date: 2017-08-11 22:46:01

    Review: The worst, ac went out in July. First guy they sent refused to work on ac unit. Second guy did nothing but turn it to heat and then cold and said it was good, next. Day another guy came out said it was a valve but never ordered part and never heard from repairman. My warranty runs out at end of august seems like they were stalling. Called my own guy out, cost me 240 but he had ac running perfect in two hours. Will never get warranty again, but I do have a go to ac company now that will receive all my future business. There are other warranty companies out there, please review before selecting, old republic has gone down the drain.

    Belinda Grote Date: 2017-02-21 06:18:38

    Review: Thankfully I have not had an occasion to use your service. I do love your Newsletter and helpful hints.

    William Date: 2015-12-14 18:51:25

    Review: DO NOT BUY!!! You will be wasting your money! Get a credit when you buy a house! Super bad customer service! Not worth the money! They do not care at all about good customer service! They will lie and don't care about their customers!

    Kathy Parker Date: 2015-04-27 12:09:44

    Review: Let's start with the person who answers your phone and is always friendly and helpful. Your communication to me the customer is excellent. I know who is going to come and they come when they say they will. I've had only good experiences with your contractors. They tell me what is needed or what is not needed, what they are going to do and then explain it all at the end. I'm impressed.l

    Ashlee Groulx Date: 2015-06-24 16:38:10

    Review: This is the worse home warranty company. Customer service not friendly. I made 4 service calls to my knowledge. One representative said we had 5 and another said we had 8 since 2014. Every call we made was ligament, and now we get a letter denying us to renew with no explaination. I called and asked for a hard copy and was told there is no way to send me a copy, just a verbal read out. We paid 700.00 a year and they declined sending me a copy of the service calls, what kind of company is this? I recommend if you stay with this horrible company, keep your own record of calls you make. it is disappointing to invest money into a company, that claims they will take care of you and keep you from spending bundles of your own money in repairs. Also, when asked to speak with a supervisor, they told me one was not available, that they would have to put in a request to have one call me back, but when my husband called, it took them no time to get one the phone. The repair service was fine and timely matter wasn't bad, but the overall company and how they deal with customers, does not even derserve one star. This company is a rip off. I just neeed to hard copy to keep in my files like I do with everything else. Especially if I go to sell my home, i have record of all the calls we had to make for repairs.