Home Warranty Companies in North Carolina

Coverage in North Carolina (NC) major towns:

Average Premium in North Carolina: $314.36
Average Deductible in North Carolina: $41.64
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7360
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  2The Home Service Club
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 433
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
BBB Rating C-
Established In 2015
Total Reviews 400
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1682
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  5America's Preferred Home Warranty-APHW
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 249
Coverage Selected States
Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nebraska, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, Oregon, Maryland
                                  6First American Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1592
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  7HSA Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1639
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  8Choice Home Warranty
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2693
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  9Home Warranty Of America
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1616
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in north-carolina

    Kim Harrison Date: 2014-12-30 17:08:13

    Review: I placed a claim online over the weekend for annual maintenance on my heat pump. On Monday, I received a call from the contractor who had very poor customer service skills stating that a provider would be out between 12-4 the next day. I waited until 3:30 to contact the company to check on the status only to be informed that he was running a little behind. I asked for an estimated time of arrival and was transferred to dispatch who did not pick up for 15 minutes and I was then transferred to her voicemail. I left a message and never received a return call. I then called AHS to get further information and to place a complaint only to be told that their systems were down at the time and to call back later. At 4:45, the very nice contractor apologized that I was not contacted, which was not protocol. He did perform the service, but I had to pay a non-cancellation fee for a doctor appointment that I missed that was scheduled at 5:00 due to the lateness. He was in and out in 15 minutes flat. I am not sure who they are contracting with, but they have to do better to keep my business.

    Juanita Anyane-tow Date: 2012-08-21 09:44:18

    Review: Ive been with AHS for 5-6 years ,but I've noticed they will do whatever it takes to keep from spending much money. It's not about repairing your appliance to complete satisfactory, it's about saving the company a dollar. They make dumb decisions to save replacement with a new appliance. Sears came out to repair an 19 year old Maytag washer. They ordered parts, received incorrect parts and reordered. To the tune of 3 months and changing most parts to the tune of approximately $900, and still old technology instead of authorizing a new machine. Whenever I called to complain that they were wasting my time their response was that they were sorry and will check on it. I am annoyed and outraged that they raised their fees. They must be repairing somewhere else, definitely not here. I eventually purchased my own energy efficient washer.

    Thomas Martin Date: 2016-02-12 23:00:14

    Review: My most recent experience with AHS and a contractor was a very professional and easy process. The contractor was on time and considerate of my time and provided excellent customer service. The AHS customer service representative called to check on the process and to ask if we needed any assistance or further service.

    Larry Davis Date: 2015-10-05 11:34:36

    Review: Matthews pool repair. Highly recommended to fix any pool problems. The contractor was on time and very courteous. He fixed the problem in a timely manner and made sure everything was working correctly before we signed off on the work order. I used the on line request so I had no interaction with a rep. The thing I liked best was as he was answering my question he was teaching his helper how to do the repairs.

    Steven Bayard Date: 2015-06-27 11:53:47

    Review: My AC went out and the service company got here fast and found that the freon was low. He filled the system and then scheduled a total leak check. Something that would have cost $100's of dollars for my same deductible. The entire process cost me $100

    KEVIN SMITH Date: 2016-11-15 19:04:36

    Review: Recent experience with AHS was great! They we\'re on time and very professional. I have used AHS on many occasions and it has always been a very good experience.

    Jean Godley-Cooper Date: 2015-09-09 08:28:30

    Review: I have had ORHW for at least ten years. I am a Realtor and always try to have my sellers or buyers purchase an ORHW. I have always had good service and good vendors. I will continue to use this company. Insurance can always be difficult to deal with whether it is health or service related. Thanks ORHW for the service you have given to me and to my clients. Jean Godley-Cooper

    Ralph Everett Date: 2014-07-25 11:21:36

    Review: My well pump died on Memorial Day. I figured it would be Tuesday before it would be repaired. I called American Home Shield around 3:30 on Monday afternoon. They arranged for Carolina Plumbing to handle the repairs. Carolina Plumbing called me within 10 minutes and said they would send a crew soon. The crew arrived within 30 minutes. They diagnosed the dead pump and said they would have to go get a device to lift the pump and piping out of the well (my well is 510 feet deep). They returned, removed the pump, replaced the piping and pump and wiring, cleaned up, and finished everything by 11:30 that night. Remember, this was a holiday!! I was blown away that this kind of customer service existed!! Our water was restored without waiting until the next day!

    Carla J Date: 2014-09-10 09:03:01

    Review: American Home Shield is a very customer oriented business who is quick to handle any issues that arise in your home. They treat you like they would treat their own mother in quickly and efficiently resolving your problem. The contractor they select to handle your issue is always truly professional and eager to take care of the issue in a matter that meets your expectations. We have had to use the service twice and both times we were more than happy with the speed and quality of the service provided.

    Lynn Date: 2015-07-24 16:31:54

    Review: It was alright. Contractor had to come back three times. Finally determined the fix was to replace an entire refrigerator door. I elected to put that $ towards a new refrigerator. AHS employees were very responsive. Reimbursement came quickly once I submitted my receipt.

    Marty Butler Date: 2014-09-30 08:06:33

    Review: Timely repair great assistance! We had a problem with our heater and we called that night and left our request. The next morning Amen Heating and Air called us and scheduled an appointment that day! He came out and diagnosed the problem didn't have the part but showed up the day and our heater has been running beautifully. We are going to go out of our way to promote this program and we have continued our coverage. Thanks for the help.

    Kathy Parker Date: 2015-04-27 12:09:44

    Review: Let's start with the person who answers your phone and is always friendly and helpful. Your communication to me the customer is excellent. I know who is going to come and they come when they say they will. I've had only good experiences with your contractors. They tell me what is needed or what is not needed, what they are going to do and then explain it all at the end. I'm impressed.l

    Danny Modlin Date: 2015-05-26 13:56:41

    Review: My heat pump developed an issue on a Friday and they have a company coming in a week from 3.5 hours away. This company will charge me the 125 per call deductible. Here is the issue. AHS pays 10/pound for refrigerant if needed and the contractor charges me an additional 50/lb. that's 60/pound and it is available from any vendor for 12/lb. Since I pay 540/yr and 125/call then I should pay COST for refrigerant. What happened is the contractors they choose to use are screwing them over so they passed the cost to the customer instead of getting a more honest contractor. What's next, charging for solder for plumbing repairs?

    Not Financially Worth While Date: 2013-07-23 12:15:53

    Review: So I purchased this warranty with my new home and have had it for two years. The first year the rate was $380 or so and I made two service calls, one to an electrician who replaced a single fuse for me and second to a plumber who replaced a broken shower head for me. Both cost $75 in trade fees. Added together $470 for service this year. I could have had the electrician do the repair for $75, and also the plumbing done for $100, so I did roughly -$300 this year for financial feasibility. I knew my water heater was on the fritz, so I decided to renew my warranty thinking it might be worth it, the service was fast and good, I just didn't seem to use it. Oh, by the way, they upped their price to $450 (and for less coverage). So I call in when the water heater starts leaking as it rusted through. $75 trade fee, $100 haul away fee, $60 upgrade to new code fee, $100 for a stand for the water heater, and $45 for the part to bring up to the new code. So, $380 for services rendered that did not fall within the plan. I spoke with a representative of Old Republic to make sure this was correct and it was in fact correct because I did not purchase all of the proper additions, such as to bring things up to code which is in the premium plan I believe for another $100. A new water heater in my area including installation and haul away from Home Depot is $700. So I'm doing -$80 in value so far this year. Total value to me = -$380. So today I am working with a contractor regarding expanding my deck, and he notes that it looks like behind a ledger board there is some water damage, so we pull off a piece of siding to take a look and it appears the flashing was improperly installed, which has led to rot across the entire length of the deck. I crack open my policy and notice a section that says, and I quote, "10) Improper Installation: If necessary, as part of a covered service, we will correct improper installations/repairs". Under general limitations of what is not covered is no mention to improper installations of components of this nature. Suffice to say, I call in and they report that "Flashings, doors, windows and structural components of the home are not covered". Well, isn't that the entire purpose of a home warranty, in case the home caves in on you? Cost of repair: $1200. Value to me so far: -$380 in addition to things that should be covered are not. Do yourself a favor and sign with a different company. This one though they are fast only covers items that are not financially feasible to go through a company of this nature for. I for one am going to be shopping around now. Example of expensive item: AC Dies, purchase a new AC from Home Depot with install for $1200, which is warrantied for 10 years. In 10 years you will spend $4500 + Trade Fees + bringing up to code + other garbage. For that cost, you might as well just purchase those items yourself or call the repair guy yourself.

    William Wright Date: 2016-09-26 17:14:59

    Review: Expensive yes but what do you get? Contractors who know their product, response within 48 if not an emergency and callback if something goes wrong. I have been a customer for 20 years and continue to be satisfied.

    Randy K Date: 2013-12-19 13:32:02

    Review: I've been a long-time AHS customer and, upon moving recently from one home to another, was wanting to establish coverage at our new address. Very helpful customer service rep who worked with me over the phone. Did an excellent job of explaining the various coverages and costs. The experience left me confident that I have good coverage at a good price. Very pleased with the entire process.

    Ivan D Date: 2014-07-20 21:23:28

    Review: My contractor was an electrician. He presented himself professionally and quickly resolved my issue. He also recommended a company that does good electrical installations since all they did was warranty work. I have since used that company and they did excellent work. To me, this is a sign of a trustworthy company

    Dixie Waggoner Date: 2015-04-25 07:22:06

    Review: The service you gave me was wonderful! Your technician was on time, very knowledgeable when I asked him Questions. He was very neat in personal appearance as well as being careful to clean and leave his work area neat. He was very polite as well And add able to answer all if my questions. I was very pleased with all aspects of Americsn Shields's services . Most appreciatively, Fixie Waggonet

    Wayne Date: 2013-09-25 19:10:23

    Review: After AHS did a repair on my garage door a few years earlier, the door springs broke and the door popped off the rollers. I called them to set up a repair and the tech informed me that the previous repair used the wrong components. AHS wont repair the doors since the original company that did the repair is out of business and they claim they don't have a record of what was done. When I pointed out that AHS was who authorized the repair, they claimed the springs wouldn't have been covered by the repair. This was a newly constructed house at the time, barely 10 years old. The original contractor would not have put the wrong stuff on the doors, so it had to be the AHS supplied tech. They claim ignorance and wont do any repairs. I've got 3 houses under contract with them and I'm not renewing any. I'm done with AHS and I'm looking elsewhere for coverage.

    frank melindam Date: 2016-02-04 22:44:58

    Review: Recently I've had repairs to our dishwasher, clothes washer, and dryer. The repairs could not have been any easier. After I reported the needed repairs online with AHS, the companies called me to make appointments, and the repairmen showed up on time. All repairs were completed quickly, and I couldn't be happier!