ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   North-carolina
last_updated_icon Last updated: October 27, 2021

HOME WARRANTIES IN NORTH CAROLINA

Despite your best efforts, you can’t avoid your appliances breaking down and your home’s systems malfunctioning. These eventualities are further exacerbated by North Carolina’s varied but extreme temperatures that speed up the wear and tear process. If you’re a homeowner that’s struggling to save money living in this expensive state, we’ve got just the thing you need - a home warranty policy.

A service agreement that arranges skilled professionals to repair or replace your broken items at reduced prices, home warranties can help you save thousands of dollars and offer you peace of mind. Check out our curated list of top home warranty companies in the state and get one today.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN NC

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$370 - $450

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon
offer_img

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
cinch logo
Get Free Coverage For First 2 Months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon
offer_img

featured-icon

They offer protection from unknown pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$420-$744

SERVICE FEE

$75-$150

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick and choose particular items you want to protect and Build-Your-Own Plan.

PRICING

$299 - $500+

SERVICE FEE

$75, $100, $125

mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers exciting discounts and budget protection.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$500-$599

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

At times, they cut down the waiting period to a mere 10 days and begin protecting your devices.

PRICING

$400

SERVICE FEE

$65, $95, $125

mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick the premium and deductible amounts in your policy and pay as you like.

PRICING

$499

SERVICE FEE

$50, $100, or $125

mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are the only company that covers mobile homes.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$299 - $499

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you a 13-month home warranty plan that provides exceptional coverage options.

PRICING

$275 - $695

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

mapicon

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They offer electronics coverage and 7 Star Upgrade in their plans

PRICING

$589-$619

SERVICE FEE

$100-$125

mapicon

IMPORTANT TIPS ON BUYING A HOME WARRANTY IN NORTH CAROLINA

  1. Start by educating yourself about the ins and outs of home warranties. Make sure you understand exactly what home warranties cover and what they exclude.
  2. Reading reviews by existing customers about the service quality, any claim denials, customer service availability etc., can give you an idea about how different companies function.
  3. Have your home inspected to get a clean chit about your items’ functionality and avoid claim denials.
  4. If you require coverage for just a few items, choose a basic or customizable plan. If you own an older home, get the comprehensive coverage option to have protection in place for all vulnerable items, especially electrical and plumbing systems.
  5. Carefully read and understand your home warranty contract before signing. If you don’t understand any legal jargon in the contract, take an attorney’s help.

WEATHER CONDITIONS AND IMPACT ON HOUSEHOLD ITEMS

North Carolina witnesses severe rainfall every year and also bears the brunt of many thunderstorms. The state is also prone to high temperatures in the summer and lower temperatures in the winter. Home appliances and systems tend to get strained during these weather fluctuations. Extreme heat or cold causes electrical items to overheat and accelerate their depreciation.

Unlike homeowners insurance, a home warranty covers damages arising out of general wear and tear. While your home warranty may not cover repair costs of failures caused by external factors, it can provide its services when your items deteriorate faster due to harsh weather conditions.

A GLIMPSE AT AVERAGE PREMIUM IN NORTH CAROLINA

The average premium for a home warranty plan in North Carolina is $318.98, and the average deductible is $40.55. The graph gives a clearer idea of the average costs for home warranty plans in North Carolina, where the X-axis represents the premium price, and the Y-axis, the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In north carolina

Min Average Premium in north carolina Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in north carolina (NC) major towns:

Cary Charlotte Durham
Fayetteville Greensboro High Point
Raleigh Wilmington Winston Salem

Population : 9,535,477

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

TOP HOME WARRANTY PLANS IN THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

The right home warranty plan ensures that you enjoy comprehensive benefits. Factor in several different aspects while choosing a company’s home warranty plan in North Carolina. Look at the home warranty plan's coverage regarding the systems and appliances, company reputation, and contract costs.

American Home Shield (AHS) has been a pioneer in the home warranty industry in NC since 1971. AHS offers three plans: the ShieldSilver, ShieldGold, and ShieldPlatinum plan. The AHS contract comes into effect within 30 days of purchasing the home warranty. The annual premium for single-family homes range from $299-$500+.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) is one of the very few companies that offer coverage for your roof repairs. The CHW contract comes into effect within 30 days. CHW plans annual premium costs anywhere between $370-$450+. They offer two plans with differing levels of coverage - Basic Plan and Total Plan.

2-10 Home Warranty has a contractor network of 6,000 professionals. It has been providing service since 1980 to its customers. 2-10 Home Warranty plans range from $399-$549. 2-10 has three types of plans: Systems, Appliances, and Structural Plans.

HSA Home Warranty has been providing services since 1984. The policy comes into effect within 30 days. The annual premium for HSA plans ranges from $589-$619. HSA home warranty plan provides comprehensive coverage to safeguard your home appliances and systems from expensive failures. They offer two plans - Homebuyer/Seller Coverage and Seller Coverage and a variety of optional add-ons.

Get a free home warranty quote from the company of your choice in North Carolina.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can home warranties help me save money?

Home warranties are service contracts that offer repair and replacement services at discounted prices. Many homeowners and real estate agents in North Carolina seek the protection of home warranties in case of unexpected and expensive repairs.

A typical home warranty policy’s annual premium can cost you $350-700, withwhile a monthly premium of $30-$75. The average repair cost of a standard appliance like a washing machine can range from $130-$500 and the replacement cost can be upwards of $1000. Upon comparing the potential costs of breakdowns, you’ll find that a home warranty coverage can help you if or when you face unexpected expenses and save you thousands of dollars.

Which is the best home warranty company in NC?

Many top home warranty companies offer their services in North Carolina. Companies like AHS and Choice offer comprehensive coverage and have a vast network of trained professionals who can provide quality service.

If you want to look for other options, you could look up and research the top companies in your area and pick the one that best serves your needs.

Is a home warranty in North Carolina available to homebuyers only?

No, while homebuyers can buy home warranties, they are also available for homeowners, sellers, and real estate agents.

What coverage options are most important In NC?

Home warranty plans range from basic to comprehensive, with the choice to add optional add-ons. Your pick of coverage options should depend on your needs.

For example, if you own an older home with most of its elements vulnerable to mechanical failures, we recommend a comprehensive plan to cover as many items as you can. On the other hand, if you are just concerned about specific items, try searching for and picking a customizable coverage option.

What are the coverage limits?

All home warranty companies have a ceiling or coverage limit to the amount they are willing to spend. Unfortunately, this means that any amount exceeding the set limit will have to be spent out of your own pocket.

On average, home warranty companies, on average, set $1500 for systems and $2000 or more for appliances. Some companies have specific limits for each coverage option. For example, AHS has a limit of $1000 for plumbing systems while 2-10 home warranty allots $2000 for the same. You can find this information in sample contracts of the respective companies.

What is a home warranty service fee?

A home warranty service fee is the amount you pay to the service technician that visits your home to diagnose and repair the problem you are facing. This fee is also known as a deductible, trade call fee, or service call fee.

Do I need a home inspection before enrolling in coverage?

Most home warranty companies do not mandate a home inspection, except a few, especially for purchasing a real estate plan. We recommend undergoing a home inspection, in any case, to prove that your items don’t have any pre-existing conditions and increase your chances of a successful claims process.

How soon can I submit claims after purchasing a home warranty?

Most home warranty companies have a 30-day waiting period before coverage period begins. However, some may have shorter waiting periods. Check with your home warranty provider or go through the fine print of your company to understand more about your warranty terms.

North carolina Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Kirsten Fuchs, Fletcher

On Sep 27, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have been waiting to get our AC repaired since June 1st! No replies, reasons why or returned phone calls! The WORST customer service EVER!!! I refuse to give them any stars! We have been paying into them for over 10 years! Ridiculous!!!

Icon

Kirsten Fuchs, Fletcher

On Sep 27, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have been waiting to get our AC repaired since June 1st! No replies, reasons why or returned phone calls! The WORST customer service EVER!!! I refuse to give them any stars! We have been paying into them for over 10 years! Ridiculous!!!

Icon

John Walker, Charlotte

On Sep 17, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very good experience from the moment of my claim . A***** was very knowledgeable of my appliance and the communication and customer service was prompt.I am so glad I have AHS.

Icon

Ron Czupka, Conover

On Sep 12, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Tech verified AC was cooling, didn’t address issue of high humidity. Offered services with added expense. Did not know how to adjust thermostat. Wanted to sell one he had saying it was better.

Icon

TIFFANY EVANS, Camden

On Aug 19, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was uncertain in the beginning because our air conditioner stopped cooling after hours on a Friday. They told me someone will contact me Monday or Tuesday. I received an email confirmation of the service call and which company would come. I got a call first thing Saturday morning and the technician came within the next hour and took care of the issue and submitted what was needed to American Home Shield. My first experience was great!

Icon

Steve Koerner, Wilmington

On Aug 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I submitted a claim for pool pump damage on 7/29/2021. Pool company came to evaluate on 8/4/2021. Pool company said they submitted repair estimate on 8/6/2021. This is 8/11/2021 and no response from AHS to pool repair company yet. Called AHS no service, because they can only tell you what you already know. They also are not located in the USA, and hard to understand. I have been with AHS for many years, but they have really gone down hill. The owner company has just about rapped all the Home Warranty Companies under their umbrella. I rate them a 2

Icon

Jay Ganji, Greensboro

On Jul 16, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

have been with AHS for >10 to 15 years. We have a old AC unit that is 20+ years old and we know we have to replace it. As we have been loyal customers with AHS, I thought they would take care of their customers and do the right thing. For the last 4 years, we have had repairs on the unit and pay multiple times the service charge of $125 per call, plus any Freon used (just paid $385.00) and monthly AHS dues of $53. I placed a call to them sometime June 20th and it was decided the compressor needs to be changed and they ordered the part. Waited 2 weeks and got a bad compressor. They had to send it back and now we have no AC for the past one month and still no good answer from AHS. They will not replace the unit no matter what happens. They will keep changing parts and keep charging service fees until you get tired and replace the unit yourself. I am very frustrated with their service and would never recommend them to anyone. They may be okay for minor repairs, but do not expect them to replace your appliances or units no matter how long you are a customer with them. I have had multiple phone calls, spent hours on the phone with the same problem year after year, and will report them to BBB.

Icon

Donald gray, Bessemer City

On Jul 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I told them it was an emergency and need help that day and they did not have a contractor that could come out now my air conditioner is leaking into house I’m not happy with this y’all need to be able to have somebody that can come out what if my air conditioner went out I would have to set in my house in 90 degree weather y’all need to fix this

Icon

Thomas Rossi, Huntersville

On May 25, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had a heat pump in my house fail and contacted AHS to have a contractor take a look. The contractor determined that the heat pump needed replacement. Today I got a call from AHS to tell me that I needed to pay over $5,000 towards the replacement. Obviously this was quite a shock. It\'s a pretty straightforward replacement and nowhere in my contract does it say that AHS won't pay to replace the system (in fact the contract says the opposite). The agent I spoke with told me that this was the highest amount he's ever seen a customer be asked to pay. AHS is supposedly taking another look at the cost estimates but I am not holding my breath. Very disappointed.

Icon

Donald Franklin Walker, Lexington

On May 19, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fist, it took 8 weeks to get a simple ice maker repaired on my LG refrigerator. Now I have been waiting 2 weeks to get my Whirlpool Washing Machine fixed they keep telling me that they are for apart from Whirlpool and that they don\'t know when the part will be available. Lowes keeps telling me that I will just have to wait for the part.

Icon

Angela Merritt, Kinston

On May 10, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Purchased washer and dryer from Lowes two years ago. Twice I have had to call about service, the first time the lady was going to charge $95.00 just to come to my home. Today, I feel like an idiot for purchasing anything from Lowes.

Icon

Braska Williams Jr, Knightdale

On Apr 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was disappointed with the service. I had to repair my central A/C unit. They found a leak and had to repair my evaporative coil. I had to pay a $100/lb to replace the refrigerant (8 lbs worth), and American Home Shield would not pay for $500 cost towards code repairs. My state has new code regulations on my A/C, and American Home Shield won\'t pay for it.

Icon

Anthony Shook, Leland

On Apr 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our home is now a bit over three years old and the chance of repairs becoming necessary as more time goes on will increase. We had a home warranty (with another provider) in our previous home, but elected to go with American Home Shield for all that they offered. I was a bit concerned when our HVAC went out that the closest provider they had was from Myrtle Beach, but was impressed with the professionalism of the techs who quickly diagnosed the problem and had us up and running quickly. I highly recommend AHS.

Icon

Kim Thorpe, Matthews

On Apr 18, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS kept their promise with resolving my air condition issue. They were thorough with detecting the problem, they ordered the parts needed. When the parts came in they scheduled the install appointment. They were on time and the install though it wasn\'t easy the tech got it done!

Icon

Stephen Kramer, Charlotte

On Mar 31, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our washer broke and the company that was sent was knowledgeable and professional and we received an email from AHS 3 days later. We did not know how to order our new machine via email so we called the company. The woman that helped us was terrific and we had our new washer 2 days later. AHS is wonderful!

Icon

Debbie L Pryer, Jacksonville

On Mar 28, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Was given appt for ******* Plumbing to fix garbage disposal. Within minutes technician *** informed us we needed new garbage disposal and installed it in timely manner. Very professional, knowledgeable and patient. Very pleased w superior customer service.

Icon

Celestina , Charlotte

On Mar 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Contacted AHS for a repair service on January 13,2021 for a noisy microwave. GE serviceman came but couldn’t repair the microwave and said he had to order the part. Part was delivered and I called the GE serviceman when he cane for the second time he said the part was incorrect and took the part with him and reordered. Yet again when he came back he said the part was incorrect and took it back with him. Up to now March 2021 the microwave has not been fixed. I have been in touch with AHS over six times and have not got answers or a resolution. The GE technician has not replied to my text messages or phone calls. I am disappointed with AHS and the lack of support and service. I would like to cancel the contract immediately.

Icon

Celestina , Charlotte

On Mar 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Contacted AHS for a repair service on January 13,2021 for a noisy microwave. GE serviceman came but couldn’t repair the microwave and said he had to order the part. Part was delivered and I called the GE serviceman when he cane for the second time he said the part was incorrect and took the part with him and reordered. Yet again when he came back he said the part was incorrect and took it back with him. Up to now March 2021 the microwave has not been fixed. I have been in touch with AHS over six times and have not got answers or a resolution. The GE technician has not replied to my text messages or phone calls. I am disappointed with AHS and the lack of support and service. I would like to cancel the contract immediately.

Icon

YKM NC , Fayetteville

On Feb 04, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND AHS TO ANYONE! Not sure how this company received 4 stars maybe it’s from customers who needed basic services. Had me not been working from home this company and it’s affiliated repair company would have cost us 5 days of work. The first appointment was made from a tech to come out in a Thursday, no one showed up. They claimed they sent an email that the tech had car trouble and two people needed to come to repair the Samsung front load washer. The next Monday, a tech arrived at the very end of the window end of day, he was here for hours! He left said it was good to go. We washed and it was worse than before. So as we have used home warranties with each home purchased we have learned that some techs sent out are actually working under someone else’s license, meaning they do not have their own license. The owner of the license came out the next day asking us what the tech did.... he should have consulted his tech. He then told us he had to go back and find out what the tech actually did and he would send him back out!!! We called AHS to tell them do not send the same tech out as he obviously doesn’t know what to do. The license owner came back out seeming frustrated because he called to complain. He needed assistance from us to help lift the springs inside of the washer. Again, this was indeed a two man job but we who paid AHS and a 100.00 service fee had to assist. He then went on a rant about people should not buy front load washers because they are just for show and that shouldn’t be the focus of a washer! Excuse me but if I didn’t need repairs you would not have a job to do. He told us to let the cycle run and if it shakes again call AHS again and he would go to the next step. To make a long story short. We called AHS and they tried to reach the repair company who would not answer the phone. We canceled our policy but was only refunded 500.00 for a policy we paid 1200.00 for in November. This was our first call doe service and we didn’t receive service. Our washer is still not working properly. We had to call another company. Definitely not pleased with AHS. They may have good customer service but let’s face it we are calling to have repairs made, period. I have to rate customer service in terms of how well I was serviced.

Icon

charles smith, Lexington

On Jan 27, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

extremely difficult to understand associates handling claims. I had to make several calls before my claim was handled properly. The repair task was sent to three vendors before one would agree to service in a timely manner.

Icon

Curt Heldreth, Fayetteville

On Jan 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service!!! You are getting better every time I need your help!!!! I have been a Customer of yours for ten years. There were times when I did not want to file a claim because many of your contractors were quite shady. That has not been a problem for the last several years.

Icon

margaret fulkerson, Southport

On Jan 04, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The worst service of my life. Finally went for buyout after discussing with them for over 3 months. Never again will i purchase their warranty again. waste of time and money.

Icon

Paul Swaney, Statesville

On Dec 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent service and communication. American Home Shield covered repair costs after inspection. Repair service personal were knowledgeable and prepared. they ordered needed parts which arrived as scheduled. Very professional repair person. Highly recommend.

Icon

Jack , Nashville

On Dec 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield was fast in getting a plumber/ mechanic to replace the two leaking water valves for the wash machine. However the company ******* ******** from Wilson NC had 4 complaints filed through the ***. I did not see the incorrect valves or how they were permanently attached to the washer box. They installed the new hoses that were too long and when they attached the hoses to the washer box they are bent at an angle.

Icon

Emelda Lewis, Raleigh

On Dec 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have no problem with American Home Shield Warranty, I have always get my issues resolute, when I have contact AHS with an issue. However, I had an broken faucet in my kitchen and I was informed that the faucet was too hard on the faucet, but the wear and tear on for twenty years can cause to break and this was alarming to me about the kitchen faucet. I have since replaced the faucet.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020