ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  North-carolina
last_updated_icon Last updated: March 24, 2021

Home Warranties In North Carolina

Did you know that the rate of homeownership in the state of North Carolina is 65.2%? If you fall under this bracket, you should consider purchasing a home warranty plan. North Carolina home warranty companies protect your systems and appliances which are damaged and need repairs. Home warranty plans assist you with repairing or replacing damaged items.

We at HomeWarrantyReviews.com have created a list of the best home warranty companies in North Carolina. Make sure to check the companies, premiums, deductibles, and ratings before choosing a plan.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
TOTAL HOME PROTECTION
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

A Glimpse At Average Premium In north carolina

The average premium for a home warranty plan in North Carolina is $318.98, and the average deductible is $40.55. The graph gives a clearer idea of the average costs for home warranty plans in North Carolina, where the X-axis represents the premium price, and the Y-axis, the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In north carolina

Min Average Premium in north carolina Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in north carolina (NC) major towns:

Cary Charlotte Durham
Fayetteville Greensboro High Point
Raleigh Wilmington Winston Salem

Population : 9,535,477

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
TOTAL HOME PROTECTION
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Which Home Warranty to Choose ?

feature_icon

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Special offer

First Month Free

Limited Roof Coverage

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Total Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Complete Appliance Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • One of very few companies to not charge deductible/service fees
  • Live support available 24/7
  • Over 40,000 customers served across the country
mapicon

Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Raleigh, the capital of North Carolina, is home to about half a million people, resulting in the surge of demand for homes in 2021. Homeowners and real estate agents, looking for opportunities to sell their houses, can offer plans from top home warranty companies to have an edge over their competitors.

Residents living in North Carolina cities like Thomasville, Kinston, and Rocky Mount may find repairs and replacements unaffordable due to low-income levels. Hence, buying a home warranty coverage would protect them from expensive repairs and replacements.

Make sure whether the home warranty company offers its coverage services in the North Carolina state. Most companies service all across the United States, but barring some states.

The cost of the home warranty plans varies region wise. It might be higher in some locations, while lower in others. So, make sure the worth and cost of your home warranty coverage are in line with the rest of your neighboring areas.

The best home warranty companies always provide excellent services, no matter how difficult the times are. In times of emergencies, a few companies go out of their way to provide the best warranty services, much to the relief and satisfaction of frayed homeowners.

If you are a real estate agent, you can take advantage of a home warranty plan to speed up the sale of the home.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of North Carolina

The right home warranty plan ensures that you enjoy comprehensive benefits. Factor in several different aspects while choosing a company’s home warranty plan in North Carolina. Look at the home warranty plan's coverage in terms of the systems and appliances, company reputation, and contract costs.

American Home Shield (AHS) has been a pioneer in the home warranty industry in NC since 1971. AHS offers three plans: the Systems plan, Appliance plans, and a Combo plan. The company also allows customers to personalize plans according to their requirements using the "Build-Your-Own-Plan" option. The AHS contract comes into effect within 30 days of purchasing the home warranty. The annual premium for AHS plans range from $299-$500+.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) is one of the very few companies that offer coverage for your roof repairs. The CHW contract comes into effect within 30 days. CHW plans annual premium costs anywhere between $370-$450+. Two plans are offered by CHW, which are the Basic Plan and the Total Plan.

2-10 Home Warranty has a contractor network of 6,000 professionals. It has been providing service since 1980 to its customers. 2-10 Home Warranty plans range from $399-$549. 2-10 has three types of plans: Systems, Appliances, and Structural Plans.

HSA Home Warranty has been providing services since 1984. The policy comes into effect within 30 days. The annual premium for HSA plans range from $589-$619. HSA home warranty plan provides comprehensive coverage to safeguard your home appliances and systems from expensive failures.

Get a free home warranty quote from the company of your choice in North Carolina.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In North Carolina

  1.  Raleigh, the capital of North Carolina, is home to about half a million people, resulting in the surge of demand for homes in 2020. Homeowners and real estate agents, looking for opportunities to sell their houses, can offer plans from top home warranty companies to have an edge over their competitors.
  2.  Residents living in North Carolina cities like Thomasville, Kinston, and Rocky Mount may find repairs and replacements unaffordable due to low-income levels. Hence, buying a home warranty coverage would protect them from expensive repairs and replacements.
  3.  Make sure whether the home warranty company offers its coverage services in the North Carolina state. Most companies service all across the United States, but barring some states.
  4.  The cost of the home warranty plans varies region wise. It might be higher in some locations, while lower in others. So, make sure the worth and cost of your home warranty coverage are in line with the rest of your neighboring areas.
  5.   The best home warranty companies always provide excellent services, no matter how difficult the times are. In times of emergencies, a few companies go out of their way to provide the best warranty services, much to the relief and satisfaction of frayed homeowners.
  6.  If you are a real estate agent, you can take advantage of a home warranty plan to speed up the sale of the home.

North carolina Home Warranty Companies Reviews

It’s nice to read about the many home warranty companies that provide services in North Carolina. This helps you understand the type of services provided by the home warranty companies. The reviews compiled by HomeWarrantyReviews.com help you make the best decision regarding investing in a home warranty.

Icon

Angela Merritt, Kinston

On May 10, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Purchased washer and dryer from Lowes two years ago. Twice I have had to call about service, the first time the lady was going to charge $95.00 just to come to my home. Today, I feel like an idiot for purchasing anything from Lowes.

Icon

Anthony Shook, Leland

On Apr 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our home is now a bit over three years old and the chance of repairs becoming necessary as more time goes on will increase. We had a home warranty (with another provider) in our previous home, but elected to go with American Home Shield for all that they offered. I was a bit concerned when our HVAC went out that the closest provider they had was from Myrtle Beach, but was impressed with the professionalism of the techs who quickly diagnosed the problem and had us up and running quickly. I highly recommend AHS.

Icon

Kim Thorpe, Matthews

On Apr 18, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS kept their promise with resolving my air condition issue. They were thorough with detecting the problem, they ordered the parts needed. When the parts came in they scheduled the install appointment. They were on time and the install though it wasn\'t easy the tech got it done!

Icon

Stephen Kramer, Charlotte

On Mar 31, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our washer broke and the company that was sent was knowledgeable and professional and we received an email from AHS 3 days later. We did not know how to order our new machine via email so we called the company. The woman that helped us was terrific and we had our new washer 2 days later. AHS is wonderful!

Icon

Debbie L Pryer, Jacksonville

On Mar 28, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Was given appt for ******* Plumbing to fix garbage disposal. Within minutes technician *** informed us we needed new garbage disposal and installed it in timely manner. Very professional, knowledgeable and patient. Very pleased w superior customer service.

Icon

Celestina , Charlotte

On Mar 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Contacted AHS for a repair service on January 13,2021 for a noisy microwave. GE serviceman came but couldn’t repair the microwave and said he had to order the part. Part was delivered and I called the GE serviceman when he cane for the second time he said the part was incorrect and took the part with him and reordered. Yet again when he came back he said the part was incorrect and took it back with him. Up to now March 2021 the microwave has not been fixed. I have been in touch with AHS over six times and have not got answers or a resolution. The GE technician has not replied to my text messages or phone calls. I am disappointed with AHS and the lack of support and service. I would like to cancel the contract immediately.

Icon

Celestina , Charlotte

On Mar 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Contacted AHS for a repair service on January 13,2021 for a noisy microwave. GE serviceman came but couldn’t repair the microwave and said he had to order the part. Part was delivered and I called the GE serviceman when he cane for the second time he said the part was incorrect and took the part with him and reordered. Yet again when he came back he said the part was incorrect and took it back with him. Up to now March 2021 the microwave has not been fixed. I have been in touch with AHS over six times and have not got answers or a resolution. The GE technician has not replied to my text messages or phone calls. I am disappointed with AHS and the lack of support and service. I would like to cancel the contract immediately.

Icon

YKM NC , Fayetteville

On Feb 04, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND AHS TO ANYONE! Not sure how this company received 4 stars maybe it’s from customers who needed basic services. Had me not been working from home this company and it’s affiliated repair company would have cost us 5 days of work. The first appointment was made from a tech to come out in a Thursday, no one showed up. They claimed they sent an email that the tech had car trouble and two people needed to come to repair the Samsung front load washer. The next Monday, a tech arrived at the very end of the window end of day, he was here for hours! He left said it was good to go. We washed and it was worse than before. So as we have used home warranties with each home purchased we have learned that some techs sent out are actually working under someone else’s license, meaning they do not have their own license. The owner of the license came out the next day asking us what the tech did.... he should have consulted his tech. He then told us he had to go back and find out what the tech actually did and he would send him back out!!! We called AHS to tell them do not send the same tech out as he obviously doesn’t know what to do. The license owner came back out seeming frustrated because he called to complain. He needed assistance from us to help lift the springs inside of the washer. Again, this was indeed a two man job but we who paid AHS and a 100.00 service fee had to assist. He then went on a rant about people should not buy front load washers because they are just for show and that shouldn’t be the focus of a washer! Excuse me but if I didn’t need repairs you would not have a job to do. He told us to let the cycle run and if it shakes again call AHS again and he would go to the next step. To make a long story short. We called AHS and they tried to reach the repair company who would not answer the phone. We canceled our policy but was only refunded 500.00 for a policy we paid 1200.00 for in November. This was our first call doe service and we didn’t receive service. Our washer is still not working properly. We had to call another company. Definitely not pleased with AHS. They may have good customer service but let’s face it we are calling to have repairs made, period. I have to rate customer service in terms of how well I was serviced.

Icon

charles smith, Lexington

On Jan 27, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

extremely difficult to understand associates handling claims. I had to make several calls before my claim was handled properly. The repair task was sent to three vendors before one would agree to service in a timely manner.

Icon

Curt Heldreth, Fayetteville

On Jan 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service!!! You are getting better every time I need your help!!!! I have been a Customer of yours for ten years. There were times when I did not want to file a claim because many of your contractors were quite shady. That has not been a problem for the last several years.

Icon

margaret fulkerson, Southport

On Jan 04, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The worst service of my life. Finally went for buyout after discussing with them for over 3 months. Never again will i purchase their warranty again. waste of time and money.

Icon

Paul Swaney, Statesville

On Dec 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent service and communication. American Home Shield covered repair costs after inspection. Repair service personal were knowledgeable and prepared. they ordered needed parts which arrived as scheduled. Very professional repair person. Highly recommend.

Icon

Jack , Nashville

On Dec 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield was fast in getting a plumber/ mechanic to replace the two leaking water valves for the wash machine. However the company ******* ******** from Wilson NC had 4 complaints filed through the ***. I did not see the incorrect valves or how they were permanently attached to the washer box. They installed the new hoses that were too long and when they attached the hoses to the washer box they are bent at an angle.

Icon

Emelda Lewis, Raleigh

On Dec 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have no problem with American Home Shield Warranty, I have always get my issues resolute, when I have contact AHS with an issue. However, I had an broken faucet in my kitchen and I was informed that the faucet was too hard on the faucet, but the wear and tear on for twenty years can cause to break and this was alarming to me about the kitchen faucet. I have since replaced the faucet.

Icon

mike c, Denver

On Nov 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I own a second home and decided to use American Home Shield to help avoid major costs of system/appliance breakdowns and also to protect me from being price gauged by contractors when they see out of state tags on my vehicle.. well.. that was a mistake... Last year my AC system stopped working and the circuit breaker kept popping.. I called /ahs, they dispatched the first contractor who diagnosed the problem, replaced a capacitor which seemed to work until the two  months later  when we arrived and the house was over 90 degrees.. we  immediately contacted ahs who once again wanted another $133  service fee because this repair was one day beyond the 60 day warranty.. after several escalations they agreed to waive the fee.. sent the same contractor again who diagnosed the problem as a bad compressor... he explained that ahs would be responsible to replace the compressor but the air handler would be my responsibility.. that was fine...the terms of the agreement were understood however, ahs refused to pay for the compressor and wanted another contractor to come and assess the situation which took almost a week ... due to the extreme heat we were unable to stay in the home  , had to rent a motel room... and was only reimbursed for one day by ahs... once the new contractor was assigned, he rewired some stuff in the compressor and modified some compacitors to make the system work.. this lasted for only one month then the circuit breaker blew again... the second contractor came back and this time told me the circuit breaker was bad so he replaced it with an oversized breaker... The system immediately began to freeze up and he said to remove the filter.. net net.. the system/compressor was no good.. the gas was low but the contractor never did any diagnostics.. just patches.. I finally sought out a qualified AC company , they confirmed the freon and oversized breaker were both mistakes ... I purchased a new system and fired ahs.. They are not worth the money.. they are in business to make money which means patch not replace.. the solutions were not comprehensive or safe... they are not good.. run away!!!

Icon

Rosemarie K Love, Fayetteville

On Nov 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent customer service. Very friendly associates they make one feel appreciated as a customer and rely try to solve problems as soon as possible. Highly recommend American Home Shield. Long time client very satisfied.

Icon

kennedy blair, Cary

On Nov 06, 2020

First Premier Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service ! With an excellent Customer Service ! I would give 10 stars ! **** worked with me step by step and saved me so much. Very happy with FIRST PREMIER HOME WARRANTY!! Would recommend to all!

Icon

Dannie Leo Davenport, Willow Spring

On Nov 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am extremely dissatisfied with the handling of the service calls made to AHS. The agents who took the calls did make note of some of the items that were communicated and are in need of repair. I have been overcharged $134 and have yet to see the refund on my bank account. If the items do not get fixed week, I do want and am requesting my contract be cancelled immediately. AHS is the worst source to getting repairs done. The monies paid monthly to AHS It is not worth the amount paid for repairs and time invested in trying to get these repair resolved. ASH in my opinion is just a company scamming for business.

Icon

Rebecca Clay, Concord

On Nov 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had a plumbing leak and it was fixed within 3 hours of my call. ***** went above and beyond to get the job done quickly. I have peace of mind for any future calls now I know how smooth this process is.

Icon

Jim Conklin, Oak Island

On Oct 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

In general I’m happy with AHS but the experience we had with our dishwasher was unsatisfactory in a number of ways. The tech needed to order a part in order to fix the machine. Over the course of months (July to October) I had to call to get status updates. Until a decision was made to just replace the dishwasher, no one ever followed up to inform me of the status of the repair. If this is about the refrigerator, I am happy with how that worked out!

Icon

Mark Libby, Carolina Beach

On Oct 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Both Techs that visited us, one to diagnosis the repair and then the other that cam out to fix the problem were awesome! Very professional and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend Mr. Appliance and Home Shield. Only down side was waiting 6 weeks for the parts to come in.

Icon

Susan Sandhoff, Durham

On Oct 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have experienced a highly unusual event relative to my HVAC unit - and this has been an extremely lengthy and painful process America Home Shield. I was made a commitment from AHS representative Justin that AHS would be providing me with an account credit of $300 relative to the electrical components of my HVAC replacement. In addition, I was told that I would be receiving a credit for the $75 service call. Total credit to be issued: $375. On 8/4/2020 - in a follow up call, I talked to Lee at 12:35 p.m. who confirmed this credit amount, and informed me that the refund/credit had been processed. It is now near the end of October - nearly two months have gone by, and I have not yet received the credit. I was told by AHS representative Rick today 10/23/2020 that my refund will be processed today but will take between 14-21 days. I find this time frame unacceptable. After talking to his supervisor, he told me that this issue was beyond their scope to resolve - and therefore provided this email and dispatch number so you will be able to escalate and expedite the $375 credit I have been waiting to receive the check since 7/20/2020. The reason for the refund is because when the before repairman left he had checked the Freon and two days later the Freon had all leaked out. So we and Island Breeze manager think that the repairman may have broken the nozzle when he checked the level. AHS would only replace the A/C unit but the air handler we had to buy because it would not work with the new unit. The cost was nearly $4,000. Talking to AHS on the phone and being cut off or told a supervisor would call us back and never receiving a call or being put on hold for over 30 min waiting for a supervisor who never would come to the phone and the customer service rep would convey his apologies. We were provided with a complaint email contact and a dispatch number to attempt further escalation and expediting of the credit we have been waiting on for over three months. Believe it or not, the auto-response stated it would be from 14-21 days to receive a response. Time to contact the CEO.

Icon

Jon H. Arvik, Pinehurst

On Oct 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Over the more then a year that we have held an American Home Shield contract, we have had several occasions to use their services. Generally we are pleased with the outcomes of our service requests, but are disappointed in the AHS customer service, has been somewhat lacking in congeniality while continuing to request additional information beyond what was originally provided to fulfill the requirements for reimbursement for self-paid repair contractors. AHS representatives have refused to provide a final list of documentation and certification of the need for immediate replacement of equipment, so it became necessary to "dribble in" information across a long period of time. The issues are still not resolved, though I have provided them a complete package of justification for my request for reimbursement. In two of the several cases in which we were involved, a contractor responded immediately and fixed the problem, but in one case, the designated contractor failed to perform the work, and then failed to return to complete the job. I then asked AHS permission to allow me to choose my own contractor, which was approved and the job was completed in approximately 20 minutes the next day. I still have not been reimbursed by AHS for either their "discovery fee" nor for the amount I paid the contractor. That, and the fact that they have not responded to my request for a review of a much more serious failure clearly covered by our contract, certainly reduced our rating for this company.

Icon

Ann Schmidt , Flat Rock

On Oct 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Took a little while to get through on phone, little hard to understand customer service, but overall very happy. Will be staying with and we are recommending to friends and family.

Icon

James Herring, Reidsville

On Oct 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The latest repair person was fabulous. He tried several things before determining that the part needing to be replaced was no longer available. The person he called authorized replacement. I called 2 days later about the replacement. The lady who answered was pleasant and transferred me to the replacement people. I stayed on hold for 2 hours and 10 minutes before hanging up. That is totally unacceptable. Will I ever get my replacement?

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in North Carolina

If you would like to share an experience where you dealt with a home warranty company, be it a pleasant experience or a bad one, go ahead and write a review. It could help out a fellow customer in choosing the right home warranty company.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE