ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: October 20, 2021

Ohio Home Warranty Companies

Homeowners in Ohio have a lot to deal with, be it the cold winters or the recent onslaught of the Coronavirus pandemic. In such uncertain times, the last thing you’d want to worry about is having your home systems and appliances run smoothly. A home warranty can help with that by getting you the best technicians if the devices malfunction. It also ensures that your monthly or annual home budgets don't take a beating in the long run.

For instance, it usually costs around $383 to repair the heater system in Ohio and $3,518 to replace it without a home warranty. All you need to do is pick the ideal Ohio home warranty company that offers plans to suit your budget. Scroll through the list and opt for a free quote from the ones you like after checking for critical details such as reviews, ratings, deductibles, and waiting periods.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Best Home Warranty Companies In Ohio

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$370 - $450

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon
offer_img

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
cinch logo
Get Free Coverage For First 2 Months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon
offer_img

featured-icon

They offer protection from unknown pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$420-$744

SERVICE FEE

$75-$150

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick and choose particular items you want to protect and Build-Your-Own Plan.

PRICING

$299 - $500+

SERVICE FEE

$75, $100, $125

mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers exciting discounts and budget protection.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$500-$599

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

At times, they cut down the waiting period to a mere 10 days and begin protecting your devices.

PRICING

$400

SERVICE FEE

$65, $95, $125

mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick the premium and deductible amounts in your policy and pay as you like.

PRICING

$499

SERVICE FEE

$50, $100, or $125

mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are the only company that covers mobile homes.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$299 - $499

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you a 13-month home warranty plan that provides exceptional coverage options.

PRICING

$275 - $695

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

mapicon

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They offer electronics coverage and 7 Star Upgrade in their plans

PRICING

$589-$619

SERVICE FEE

$100-$125

mapicon

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Ohio

  1. Home warranties reduce the burden of having unexpected expenses due to devices malfunctioning. With an array of plans available in the market, you must compare costs and look for companies that offer higher payouts and lower monthly premiums.
  2. You should also look at companies offering tailor-made plans, additional coverage, responsive customer service, and easy refund & cancellation of policies.
  3. Home warranties cut down the long wait to get a skilled and insured technician to fix the damaged items. But, pick a provider that allows you to choose your contractor rather than the one assigned by the company. Make sure your contractor is well-trained and experienced at fixing major systems and appliances.
  4. The Ohio Home Service Contract Association (OHSCA) regulates home warranty companies in the state. This organization is governed by the National Home Service Contract Association (NHSCA). Be sure to check whether your warranty provider is a member of the OHSCA.
  5. Many home warranty companies won't cover items with pre-existing conditions. If your items do have pre-existing conditions, choose a provider that covers them.
  6. Read customer reviews before choosing a home warranty company in Ohio. HomeWarrantyReviews.com has several reviews that help you filter out the companies that suit your specific requirements.
  7. Talk to your close acquaintances about their experiences with home warranty companies. They might have hacks and tips that apply to getting great services in your area.
  8. Some warranty providers also give you the option to pick a service contractor of your choice. To know whether or not the company you pick allows you to choose a contractor or not, read through the fine print of the company policy before finalizing a deal.

Ohio Weather Conditions and Impact On Household Items

Ohio is known for its warm summers and cold winters. Due to the heat, refrigerators, air conditioners, and other cooling systems work overtime, leading to wear and tear and malfunctioning devices.

During the winter season, heating systems like furnaces, water heaters, etc., work day and night to keep your home warm and cozy. When they overwork, the systems may begin to break down. Repairing such systems is not only very expensive but also requires expertise.

With a home warranty, you have to pay a service call fee or trade fee, stated in the company policy. Usually, the trade service call fee ranges between $35-$75.

A Glimpse At The Average Premium In Ohio

The average premium for a home warranty plan in Ohio is $318.40, and the average deductible is $38.71. To give you a clear idea, we have created a graph displaying the average premiums and deductibles in the state. Go through this graph carefully so that you understand whether the average costs fit your budget.

Average Premium In ohio

Min Average Premium in ohio Max $ 312.58 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in ohio (OH) major towns:

Akron Canton Cincinnati
Cleveland Columbus Dayton
Lorain Parma Toledo

Population : 11,536,514

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Ohio

Several top home warranty companies offer plans to protect major appliances and systems. However, choosing the best option can get tricky due to the various plans available. But you need not worry as we have listed out the top companies offering the best plans, just for you.

Choice Home Warranty (CHW) offers competitive services in Ohio that cater to the different needs of modern-day homeowners. The company lets customers choose from two plans. The Total Plan covers many devices, including a heating system, water, heater, cooktop, etc. The Basic Plan covers fewer devices but is a good option for regular homeowners wanting protection.

Depending on your needs, opt for a CHW plan of your preference. Claim your free quote today to receive all the details.

American Home Shield (AHS) is one of the most popular companies in the state. They offer the ShieldSilver, ShieldGold, ShieldPlatinum, and Electronics Plan. Optional coverage is also available if needed. Their annual premium ranges between $479-$779 with a variable deductible amount of $75, $100, or $125 and a minimum contract length of 12 months.

If you are looking for protection from expensive repairs, the ShieldPlatinum Plan is your best bet. On the other hand, the ShildSilver Plan offers primary coverage for several vital devices in a home.

ServicePlus Home Warranty (SPHW) is known to provide excellent coverage and services to its customers. The company offers patrons the Gold and Platinum Plan. If needed, the optional coverage option is also available. The company’s services are available in 46 states, and SPHW allows customers to file claims 24/7. Real estate agents also benefit from the company’s offerings, as several advantages are applicable for agents.

The Home Service Club (HSC) is one of the leading home warranty providers in the country. HSC lets customers choose from two of its unique plans: the Standard Coverage and Comprehensive Coverage option. The additional coverage option is also at one’s disposal if required. It is crucial to keep in mind that reading the service contract before finalizing any of the HSC plans will clarify numerous coverage aspects.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a home warranty required in Ohio?

The cost of repairing systems and appliances in the state without a home warranty is pretty steep. Buying a home warranty in Ohio can be a good investment in the long run. All you need to pay is a nominal service call fee each time you file a claim.

Also, depending on your preference, you can pay for your home warranty policy, either monthly or annually. It gives you the flexibility to manage your expenses and ensures you don’t burn a deep hole in your pocket.

Who needs a home warranty in Ohio?

Homeowners residing in single-family homes, colonial homes, and farmhouses can consider opting for home warranties in the state. Residents should also consider the age and nature of systems and appliances present in the property before opting for the perfect warranty plan.

Which is the best home warranty company in Ohio?

There are several home warranty companies offering quality service in the state. But, as per customer reviews Choice Home Warranty, American Home Shield, and ServicePlus Home Warranty top the list.

You should also know that several emerging players in the market offer competitive services. Once you’ve scrolled through the top 10 companies and analyzed your needs, preferences, and budget, take a pick.

What are the costs involved with purchasing a home warranty?

The costs incurred with home warranty policies are affordable. Annual premiums range between $300-$750, respectively. The cost of the service call fee ranges between $35-$100. You should also know that the repair and replacement cost of devices that are not covered without home warranties can be expensive. Plus, you have the hassle of looking out for a trained technician to get the job done.

What do home warranties cover?

Home warranty contracts cover many different items. Some of the most popular items being, air conditioning, plumbing, refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, garage door openers, garbage disposal, etc. Home warranties do cover many more systems and appliances. However, coverage might differ depending on the plan you choose.

Is there a limit on the number of claims?

Usually, home warranty companies do not set limits on the number of claims that can get filed. However, you must check your service contract to get all the details regarding claims. If you still are not sure, you can reach out to the respective company’s customer care team for assistance.

Ohio Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Heather R, Centerburg

On Aug 13, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company is awful! We have been fighting with them for over 3 weeks about an electrical issues and we just keeping getting the run around. They won\'t call us back like they say they will and we still haven\'t had our issue fixed

Icon

camilla winterling, Hamilton

On Aug 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Plumbing co was great hiwever AHS made me oay 80.00 to have the same faucet put in in my kitchen that was approved bc it was broken. I had white and if i wanted white again bc they would only pay for chrome i would have to oay the difference Do mot feel this was right. I did not upgrade only went with the same style and color.

Icon

camilla winterling, Hamilton

On Aug 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Plumbing co was great hiwever AHS made me oay 80.00 to have the same faucet put in in my kitchen that was approved bc it was broken. I had white and if i wanted white again bc they would only pay for chrome i would have to oay the difference Do mot feel this was right. I did not upgrade only went with the same style and color.

Icon

camilla winterling, Hamilton

On Aug 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Plumbing co was great hiwever AHS made me oay 80.00 to have the same faucet put in in my kitchen that was approved bc it was broken. I had white and if i wanted white again bc they would only pay for chrome i would have to oay the difference Do mot feel this was right. I did not upgrade only went with the same style and color.

Icon

camilla winterling, Hamilton

On Aug 11, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Plumbing co was great hiwever AHS made me oay 80.00 to have the same faucet put in in my kitchen that was approved bc it was broken. I had white and if i wanted white again bc they would only pay for chrome i would have to oay the difference Do mot feel this was right. I did not upgrade only went with the same style and color.

Icon

Karol Marino, Magnolia

On Aug 08, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our elderly A/C unit was on it\'s last legs during one of the hottest spells we\'ve had in years. 90+ degrees daily and over 70 at night with horrible humidity. I\'m disabled and have 7 dogs in my home as well. We all suffered. When I called, I told the person I was having trouble understanding and they very kindly slowed their speech and spoke up as I have problems with my hearing, too. The company they chose for me came out the next day and found many problems with my unit but had it up and running in no time, thank Heaven. It needs replaced but will limp along for now. It's slowly going back to not keeping up cooling the house so the kind technician will be paying us another visit soon. I could only wish that ALL of the companies they send were so prompt and knowledgeable. The company that came out to repair the well line never came back to finish the job even though the owner told me in person that it was shoddy work. They tore up my walls and left the piping hanging out in the room from the finished walls and called it good. When they left, they ran over the landscape lighting and crushed it. Many ignored phone calls later, I've finally given up, which I'm sure was his intention. Then the contractor who came out almost IMMEDIATELY to install a new hot water tank and well tank (that I paid for out of my pocket!) didn't come back to remove the old tank, which was clearly negotiated on the invoice and the check I wrote to him for the blue well tank. Many phone calls and months later, I'm still waiting. Very disappointed in Mr. Rick Lake as he was so quick to help. I really believe that instead of ASSIGNING a contractor they should give you a choice from their list so you can get a contractor that you might be familiar with their work. Just a suggestion....

Icon

CALVIN WARREN , Columbus

On Jul 27, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I HAVE HAD COV WITH AHS FOR OVER 10 + YEARS. I HAVE BEEN WAITING ON RESOLUTION WITH MY AC SINCE 7/9/2021. I WAS TOLD THAT I HAD CHOICE OF A PAY OUT RESOLUTION OR TO AGREED WITH A REPAIR AND PAID $2100.00 + I ADVISED THE REP THAT I WOULD LIKE A PAYOUT SO THAT I COULD PUT IT TOWARD REPLACING THE UNIT. 1 HAVE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES IN THE LAST 2 WEEKS AND STILL HAVEN'T RECEIVED THE PAYOUT OR HEARD FROM ANY ONE . I FEEL I AM GETTING THE RUN AROUND AND NEED THIS RESOLVED AT ONCE. THE SUMMER TEMP IS VERY HOT 90 DEGREES AND I HAVE NO AIR IN MY HOME. MY DISPATCH NUMBER IS 75978807 AND AHS NUMBER IS 1-833-603-0586 . I HAVE CALLED BUT NO RESPONSE

Icon

SUSAN E CITRO, Elyria

On Jun 12, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Called for service on a leak with my shower and also a leak in the kitchen sink. Called the contractor the first business day after I placed the request online on the weekend. A plumber was sent to my home on Tuesday and he was able to fix the kitchen sink leak, but did not have the part for the bathroom. It is now Saturday and still no part. I am not happy with this lack of service follow up on their part. I have called twice to find out about the part and still no answer. Please help.

Icon

pete, Reynoldsburg

On May 06, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Customer service is sub par..can\'t understand the agent..sounds like a robot with emotions as same. acts like they are reading from a script..I called several times about my claim and keep on getting the rope a dope..

Icon

Mark, Mason

On Feb 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I filed a claim for our washer on 1/2/2021 and the repairman came out a few days later. They said it would require a complete rebuild and he would not be able to find the parts so recommended replacement. He issued a report on 1/11/2021 to AHS that parts were not available. No one ever called us or even followed up until we called a week and a half later. I called dozens of times since then and no one ever had an answer beyond "we are waiting on authorization, please be patient, and we will call you back in 15 minutes." They never called back, not even once, and they never let you speak with a Supervisor. It has been over a month since the technician told them that the parts were no longer manufactured and sent them the report. I even called Sears directly several times to do research into what they were waiting on and I found out that they were not waiting on anything. They had the report for a month and never did anything with it. I will likely cancel the contract and pay for the washer out of pocket because I can no longer spend time on the phone with a company that is unresponsive and disrespectful with my time.

Icon

Brenda Wood, Lima

On Jan 27, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The work that needs done has not been completed. I have had 3 different contractor here, they haven\'t been able to find what is wrong. My house smells like poop, I need something done soon. All of my clothes everything stinks, this is the worst situation I have ever been in.

Icon

J Sschumaker, Perrysburg

On Jan 15, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Purchased an LG front load washer from my local Lowe\'s with warranty in 2016. A week before Christmas 2020 washer stopped working, won\'t drain water, believe pump went out (which I later learned from research is the fatal flaw of this model machine). Attempted to "fix it" myself by running washing machine tablets as LG advised to no avail, had to drain water manually because the tub would not drain and throw an error message. Called for service finally under warranty & was scheduled for an appointment 5 days out on 12/23 scheduled for 12/28. On 12/24/20, service provider hired by Lowe's Warranty Co. called to say would not be keeping appointment as they would "order parts first". Days go by can't reach them and never hear from them. Call Lowe's Warranty to inquire about the repair as it had been weeks without a washing machine & told they must first do an "inquiry" on the parts which takes 5 business days & then they can move forward for other remedies under my warranty. Days later they respond that they verified parts ordered on 12/28 but I must now wait an additional 5-10 business days for parts plus an additional 2 business days for the hired company to contact me regarding repair from the date of their confirmation - not the date they said they'd order parts or even the date they ordered the parts... Spoke with a "supervisor" at Lowe's Warranty who said and I quote "they are under no obligation to honor the warranty within any specified period of time" when I questioned how long they plan to drag this out and they agreed they could delay honoring a buyout or repair forever.... I got tired of playing their games because unlike what they believe I believe a washer is an essential appliance, especially during a pandemic with a disabled veteran husband, so I purchased another washer. Unfortunately from Lowe's but this time I skipped the warranty because it isn't worth the paper it's printed on and now that I realize I'd be on the phone for hours multiple times days later still waiting for the warranty company to do something, anything regarding the original broken washer I regret even giving Lowe's store more of my business because now is when it is coming clearer that they will never honor it. I do like their store and the store manager has been very kind and understanding regarding this situation and states it is not true that they have no time frame and have offered to help me battle with them to honor the warranty. Regardless, I will never purchase at Lowe's again because of this because I only spend my hard earned money at reputable retailers and there are far too many reputable retailers to stick with a store that is out to stick it to their customers by doing business this way. Consider yourself warned. They have no intention of ever performing a single repair or honoring their warranty in any way and after multiple calls and being left on hold for hours at a time and switched around to multiple agents and being told numerous inconsistent things you will see their business plan rests on running out the clock and your patience until you just give up...

Icon

Benton Benalcazar, Westerville

On Jan 01, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Fast Response Heating and Cooling served as the AHS contractor. They did a nice job and recommended a new thermostat to replace our malfunctioning thermostat that is not working properly. Our thermostat turns off on its own and the heating falls behind on heating. Unfortunately, AHS will not replace our thermostat and we continue to experience the same problems. So, we had to pay the $75 service fee and still suffering from the same problem. My 1 star rating is for AHS and is not a reflection on Fast Response

Icon

Monika Miller, Broadview Heights

On Dec 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Called AHS on 12/12/20 for my washer and dyer. It is 12/28/20 and still waiting for parts. The service man stated 2-5 business days for parts, still waiting. Enjoy spending my Saturday at the laundry mat instead of spending it with my family the day after Christmas. We have no contact info for service man let alone a tracking number for the parts.

Icon

ruth ann berwanger, Batavia

On Dec 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Frankly, I dread calling American Home Shield because of the foreign people who speak English but have a strong accent. It feels as tho they read from a prompter, thanking me for every word I say. At the end, I typically am able to accomplish what I need but it wears me out. Also, I have been waiting months to get a replacement allowance check for my dishwasher that could not be fixed. I have sent the receipt and request 2 times.

Icon

Sam Legg, Columbus

On Dec 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It was very frustrating trying to communicate with the 2 phone reps. Both spoke in broken English and it was very difficult to understand them. Also, do not understand why a gas leak in the pipe in the basement leading to my furnace isn\'t covered by AHS. You would think that AHS would cover a safety issue with no hesitation. We have had AHS for 20 years and up until this time have been very pleased with you.

Icon

JAMES WILSON, West Chester

On Dec 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS received our case in the evening and by the next morning the service provider had contacted us. Unfortunately because of their workload we had to wait several days for the repairs to take place. When the service provider arrived they quickly resolved the problem and were able to resolve the issue quickly. Overall an acceptable service situation.

Icon

Adam, West Chester

On Nov 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My water heater started leaking on a Friday afternoon. I put in an online work order right away and got a quick reply. AHS was very helpful and kept me informed throughout the whole process. The contractor used was professional and did quality work. Worth having this warranty policy.

Icon

Rhonda Walker, Dayton

On Nov 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I requested my new home be rekeyed - Double D Lock & Key Service responded quickly and arrived on time, was very professional and pleasant & completed my request in a timely manner

Icon

Mary Smith, Marietta

On Nov 16, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I purchased a whirlpool microwave and it has now been repaired 3 times for the same problem. It is the under mount light but you have to take the bottom off the microwave. One repairman told me not to leave the light on. The repair shop they sent was so rude I refused to let them in again. They sent someone else for the fourth time and they kept putting me off because they said that the bulb was on back order. I went on line and had it myself I n 1 day. I finally gave up and told them I fixed it myself. Do not buy this warranty they will not fix it!

Icon

James May, Hamilton

On Nov 11, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have normally raved about the service I have received from AHS BUT my, most recent service has been totally unsatisfactory, for two reasons. 1) On Oct 28 (two weeks ago) my assigned service repair plumber arrived to fix a leaky faucet. They said the part wasnt available at the local hardware supplier and it would have to be ordered so they left my guest bathroom sink taken apart. On Nov 5, I called the plumber since I had heard nothing from them. They told me they hadnt found the part and it would be one or two more weeks at least. I explained how I need that bathroom and would like that expedited. He said he would keep looking and let me know . . . still no luck. 2) I called AHS to complain that they should probably assign another plumber because I need my sink repaired. The customer service rep (*****), who could barely speak English (a poor choice of AHS to assign someone with such poor language ability to customer service) was of no help. She said if I wanted it fixed faster she could arrange for me to be given a refund and could go buy the part myself and fix it myself. I HAVE A HANDICAP WHICH IS WHY I PAY FOR SERVICE FROM AHS TO FIND COMPETENT SERVICE PROVIDERS TO FIX THESE PROBLEMS!!! I asked to speak to her supervisor and the best I could ascertain from her poor grammatical ability was that she works from home and didnt have any supervisor I could speak with. She (*****) said she would have someone from AHS customer care contact me within 24 hours. That was 28 hours ago. As my AHS service contract ends in Jan and having received numerous e-mail from their competition, this kind of customer service gives me reason to consider shifting service providers.

Icon

James May, Hamilton

On Nov 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have utilized AHS for many years in three homes and their service request response time has improved measurably the past three years. My appliances are older and have required a lot of TLC and every repair call has been very quickly assigned and responded to by knowledgable repair personnel that are prompt and professional, often providing instruction for ongoing maintenance I can do myself to keep the issue from reoccurring.

Icon

Shameka, Columbus

On Oct 29, 2020

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My refrigerator has been repaired 4x\'s since August and it\'s now October. Every time I schedule for a appointment it is 3 weeks out!!! I have lost 100\'s of dollars worth of food. Why wont they honor the warranty & just replace my refrigerator with a new one? This is so disheartening I cant even feed my kids!!! I don\'t have anymore money to buy food & even if I did I don't have a place to store it!!!! Only God can help me now... I will definitely be looking for a new reliable home warranty service provider......

Icon

Robert Noss, Cleveland

On Oct 18, 2020

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My Sewage discharge pump for my up flush toilet contained within the perimeter of my foundation (as stated in the Cinch policy) in my basement was not working and I called Cinch. They automatically charged me $100 deductible and had me schedule an appointment with a company they chose. (Two Guys Plumbing) The company came out 1 week later and looked at the system and said they would order a pump and come back when they got it. Two "SENIOR PLUMBERS" (as stated by the representative from Two Men Plumbing) returned and proceeded to install the wrong pump and they were trying to hook up to the upflow discharge to the vent pipes instead of the discharge pipe. They were arguing and yelling amoungst eachother. I had to argue with them that they had the wrong pump and that it was hooked up to the vent which would have taken the waste to the roof. They finally listened and hooked it up to the discharge pipe and said they would be back with the correct pump. They took the old pump, pipe, check valve and rubber gaskets with them. One week later we received a call from Two Guys Plumbing saying that Cinch will not cover this. The representative from their company said they would call and try to resolve the issue since it was originally approved. They were not able to resolve with Cinch and told us to call. We called repeatedly and was put on hold and then told we would receive a call back in 2-3 days. Cinch never called. We called again and FINALLY got a hold of someone from Cinch who said that the claim would not be supported because the "SENIOR PLUMBERS" from Two Guys Plumbing said that the Up flow toilet is not hooked up to the Septic Tank.(It Is hooked up to the septic tank. It drains into the septic tank.) The representative said that IF it is hooked up to our septic tank than it would be covered and that he will send another company out to our home to verify this information. We were told that we would receive an e-mail stating everything we discussed and we never received anything. This is a clear violation of BAD FAITH!!! I went online to check the claim and it has been cancelled by Cinch!!! I will shopping for another Home Warranty Company that is committed to standing by their warranty contract!!!

Icon

Richard Schultze, West Chester

On Oct 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

While the cost of a home warranty seems reasonable the service you receive from AHS is completely unreasonable. Our hot water heater was producing no hot water. I called for service and was told in two days someone could come out. The contractor chosen for our area was unobtainable immediately by phone - everyone leaves a message and gets a call back. I received a call back within several hours and was told to choose a service call slot; either 8-12, 1-3 or 4-6pm. I chose 8-12. The company did not show during the slot and it was hours after the slot before we received contact. Calls to AHS did nothing. My wife held for a half hour, call was answered, she was put on hold for help and after 15 minutes disconnected. The contractor showed up, acknowledged there was a problem, and my wife was told that unless the water heater was leaking it could not be replaced. I called AHS, was being helped by a lady named Vaby who put me on hold for 15 minutes and disconnected me. I called back and now am still in limbo without hot water for a week. My prayer is that everyone involved in this debacle experiences no hot water for a week. AHS picks the worst contractors available, has no sense of urgency, does not enforce anything in their agreements with contractors, yet seems to be very clear in what they WON"T do for homeowners.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020