Home Warranty Companies in Pennsylvania

Coverage in Pennsylvania (PA) major towns:

Average Premium in Pennsylvania: $314.36
Average Deductible in Pennsylvania: $41.64
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  2The Home Service Club
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  4America's Preferred Home Warranty-APHW
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  5Select Home Warranty
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  6HSA Home Warranty
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  7First American Home Warranty
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  8Choice Home Warranty
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  9Home Warranty Of America
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  102-10 Home Buyers Warranty
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $260-500
Deductible $55-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $380 - $720
Deductible $0
Effective Closing or after 30 days
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $440
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $360-$500+
Deductible $50 - $100
Effective Immediate with a Real Estate Transaction
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $402
Deductible $50
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in pennsylvania

    Fred Northcutt Date: 2015-10-18 23:13:15

    Review: Even when experiencing high traffic volume American Home Shield makes every attempt to rapidly response to each call. I have always found AHS representative knowledgeable, efficient, courteous, and helpful. As a result, even some distasteful experiences are rather more tolerable than one could hope for.

    Ernie Date: 2013-11-13 15:23:35

    Review: Unfortunate situation at an unfortunate time. I've called AHS on two other occasions (both about plumbing issues) and had it resolved pretty quickly. Unfortunately, the repairs are often 'bandage'-type repairs that I expect will not last long. This was different; my furnace stopped working at the end of October on a Sunday morning! Bad situation and bad timing but I called AHS. They couldn't find anyone to dispatch right away so, after the 2-hour waiting period, they suggested I try to call someone and they would authorize the service. My local HVAC company was able to come out and diagnose the issue: bad control board and leaks in the heat exchanger. At that point in time they had to condemn the unit and called into AHS with the diagnosis. AHS said they would need the repair quote. Monday I call back into AHS to make sure they had what they needed so I could get the unit fixed/replaced and move forward; they said they would need a second opinion. I asked that they make sure I know what my ‘cash out’ option is in case I want to replace the outside A/C compressor as well. …two days later I called AHS again to see what was taking the new service company so long to come out; the customer service rep put me on hold and called the service company who said they would come out the next day; now Thursday or, day 5 of no furnace. Thursday afternoon the new company came out, looked at the furnace, noticed the control board was bad, looked at the heat exchanged (but didn’t test it), said they “had seen worse” and called in that the control board needed to be replaced. I called AHS back, saying: “one guy, who actually tested the exchanger, said it was bad and condemned the unit…the other guy, who didn’t test it, said ‘he had seen worse’ and that it was okay. I will either need a third opinion or have it fixed; control board and heat exchanger.” AHS reply; ”we can’t do that but I can make sure they test for it when they come to replace the control board; if it is a problem we will not replace the board – we will replace the furnace instead.” Friday afternoon I called again to see what the status was with the board; again customer service put me on hold and called the technician; the board would take another day or two to arrive. Monday afternoon (or, day 8 of no furnace), I call AHS again; again I am put on hold and the technician is called. The part had arrived but they would not be able to come out until Wednesday. Wednesday, the technician shows up with the board but tests the heat exchanger first; it fails. The furnace needs to be replaced. Friday morning (day 12 of no furnace), I call AHS again to know what the plan is for replacement and what my cash out option is; they put me on hold can contact the vendor again. The AHS person comes back on the phone and says, “We are going to replace the furnace and I have ordered the replacement”. I asked, again, “Okay, but I still need to know what my options are for cash out because I may want to replace the whole thing”. AHS reply: “Oh, okay. I will send a note to have that calculation made but you may not hear from us until Monday or Tuesday” I try to be patient this time….what will happen if I let AHS handled what I pay for? Wednesday (day 17 of no furnace) I give up and call back again to see what my cash out option is. The customer service rep says “I don’t see anywhere where we have noted that we are giving you a cash out calculation but I can submit it to that department and they will give you the total”. REALLY!!???!!!??? I am at my wits end. Bottom line, AHS is a great insurance option as long as you never have to make a major claim. In-other-words; I would have been happier having never purchased the warranty and would not recommend it. I bought the warranty for peace of mind and have received none. Assuming everything works out from this point on, I may be able to have a new furnace installed early next week; nearly a month after I reported it. How many stars would you give?

    Kimberly Date: 2013-09-13 13:05:51

    Review: The cover shield to my attic exhaust fan eroded off. The fan works just fine. AHS covers attic fans but would not provide a supplement payment for the cover because the fan still works. The cover shield is part of the unit so this made no sense at all. Especially since it's the component that protects the fan from the weather elements! The technician that was sent out didn't even come into my house to look at the problem. He came to the door then said I can't fix your problem, without even looking at it! Then said he was going to call AHS to recommend providing me with a supplemental payment. AHS never called me back. A week later I called to find out the status. They said because my fan still worked they will not provide a supplemental for the cover.

    Johnny Bayliss Date: 2015-11-18 22:12:12

    Review: my air conditioner was on the blink so I called AHS an within seconds I was talking to a "REAL" person. I told her what the problem I was having an she took care of me within seconds. she set it up with a good company that was on time. he was very clean. he called me ahead of time to let me know when he was coming an what time to expect him. he even showed me his ID. felt very safe an comfortable aboust letting him in to do his job. the repasentive was very nice an explained everything to me so I could understand how it would be taken care of. very professional but yet still down to earth to talk with.the contractor was very professional , clean, soft spoken an had the air conditioner up an running within no time. I'm a disabled veteran an a lot of the medications doesn't allow me to be outside for very long in the heat or in a house that is to hot. I was VERY THANKFUL for the quick response I got when I called AHS.

    Deborah Burton Date: 2012-02-26 01:35:39

    Review: A request for service was submitted on February 9,2012 A heating contractor was sent to my home the same day .they explained what needed to be done and informed me that the unit that was in place had been installed improperly and that pictures were taken and would be sent to AHS , this has been the second contractor to inform me of this problem. The company that originally installed the unit had in the past been instructed the return and correct their shoddy work they came back and was supposed to have corrected their work however there was no one sent out to be sure that they has now were 're back to step one they did not correct their work and AHS seemly does not want to pay a new contractor to correct the work we are now at day 15 and I still have no heat I'm being told on a daily basis that the situation is being reviewed and a decision has not been made mean while I have no heat in zfebruary and my house is freezing

    Michael Jones Date: 2013-11-03 12:53:45

    Review: Hot Shot Appliance was the company contracted to repair my washing machine. This washer is twenty-one years old and I assumed due to the slight leak it was time to replace but just wanted to make sure by having a repairman look at it. The technician was very knowledgeable and diagnosed the issue immediately. The pump was leaking and the technician completed the repair within thirty minutes. The technician also informed me that my washer was in great shape. I have only had four services calls over the past twenty-one years to repair this washer. The three previous calls were parts that were easily replaced within fifteen minutes.

    Dirck Buzby Date: 2015-07-22 17:06:16

    Review: AHS pool and spa vendor is totally unprofessional and AHS has done nothing on my behalf to resurrect the situation. We have waited since the 23rd of May and its is now July22. We have leaky piupes that the vendor installed. A new heater that the cabinet is very scratched. A new Intermatic timer that will turn on but not off and we can't get a vendor to fix these problems. We have contacted AHS 7 times and the wait on the phone is between 20 and 40 minutes. Can someone please help? We have also emailed AHS several times!

    Janet Ralph Date: 2016-03-11 22:31:43

    Review: My most recent experience was about 2 years ago. My hot water tank sprung a leak. I called for service and was promptly told by your representative that I would receive a call from a tech. Within a couple of hours a tech was here and determined the tank needed replaced. He ordered the tank was was back (I believe) the next day to install. I have only used the service a few times and have been very please with response time and service.

    Pauline Amalfitano Date: 2015-06-19 23:49:00

    Review: If I could give them no stars, I would. They said my call is important to them but I have to wait over an hour for someone to pick up. I'm current waiting for someone to answer my call and it have been 1 hour and 42 minutes and no answer. Not only do I have to wait for someone to take my call, I have to wait over 4-5 days for a serviceman. I don't understand now this company gets so many good reviews because they have no customer service and their contractors put you on the bottom of their list and you wait forever for service.

    Mary Streck Date: 2015-02-05 08:54:15

    Review: The last service I needed and AHS followed up: The AHS customer service was very helpful, and gave me precise information about the contractor and how he/she would contact me and when. The the contractor was very prompt in returning my call and making an appointment with me for the next day. When he arrived first thing the next morning, he was efficient, and knew what he was doing. He worked quietly, and also showed me what he had done and since it was my gas hot water heater, he assured me the problem was taken care of safely and should it continue to have the same problem, he suggested I might need to consider a new hot water heater. he was very careful to check every part of the heater, and allowed me to observe and learn. A polite and efficient contractor, whom I would recommend, and AHS made sure my charges were consistent with my contract with them. Thank you all for this work done so well.

    Keith Perry Date: 2015-07-13 15:43:19

    Review: AHS has unacceptably long phone wait times. AHS does not ensure covered appliances are repaired within AHS service contract time-frames. I purchased my AHS "shield complete" service contract in May 2015 when I purchased my house. On Thursday July 9, 2015, I called AHS's area code 800 repair service number to request service for my Frigidaire refrigerator. After waiting in the AHS telephone queue for 20 minutes, with no idea how much longer I would have to wait to speak to an agent, I decided to submit the service request via the AHS website. Several minutes later I received an email reply advising SEARS NCC had been assigned as the AHS service contractor for my refrigerator repair and to expect a call from SEARS within 24 hours. At 6PM on Friday, July 10, I was contacted by SEARS, who advised their first availability to send a repairman was July 24... 14 days away!!! The AHS contract states the AHS assigned contractor is supposed to show up within 48 hours to effect the repair. I mentioned this to the SEARS representative who told me that I needed to contact AHS directly if I was dissatisfied with the repair appointment SEARS was offering me. I immediately called AHS to complain. I was told that my service request was being referred to the AHS dispatch department, who would locate another repair contractor. I was advised that I would hear from them shortly (Friday? Saturday?). On Monday July 13 at 10:30 AM, I contacted AHS to follow up on the status of my service request. After waiting in the AHS telephone queue for 30 minutes, I finally spoke to an agent who advised that "dispatch" probably would not contact me before Tuesday (apparently they have 48 hours to work on my issue and don't work weekends). I asked to speak to a senior customer service representative to see if action could be expedited and was transferred back into the AHS telephone Queue. Fortunately, I had asked for the senior rep's phone number, so I hung up and called that number. After explaining to the senior representative all that had transpired, I was told that SEARS was the only contractor on AHS approved contractor list for the area where I live. I was told I could either accept the SEARS appointment or find my own repair contractor... however, if I wanted AHS to reimburse me for any portion of the repair cost, the contractor I chose must call AHS before effecting repairs to gain AHS pre-approval. I contacted two well known, well respected local appliance service companies... both said they could have repair techs visit me the next day, but neither company was willing to deal with AHS in any fashion... even after I told them I would pay them directly. So, after several unacceptably long waiting periods in AHS's telephone queue and after talking to several AHS agents, I still have a broken refrigerator which I must either live with until SEARs arrives July 24 or pay for the repairs myself. To resolve my complaint, AHS needs to get a repair tech to repair my refrigerator THIS WEEK. AHS also needs to add additional repair companies to their approved contractor list for my service area and drastically reduce the phone queue wait time.

    Vanessa Date: 2014-03-06 08:52:32

    Review: Scheduling the service was easy. The contractor called ahead to let me know he was on his way soon. He was curteous upon arrival. He listened carefully to the problem and then assessed the heater. He quickly identified the problem, explained it to my husband and then completed the repair. When he left the heater was working. However within 24 hours it stopped blowing warm air. The contractor returned within 2 days and corrected the problem. Ideally having a contractor available within 24hours to repair a broken heater when temperatures outside are below freezing would be better. Our experience with AHS has been very positive and I encourage others to enroll.

    William Schaffer Date: 2015-11-27 22:32:22

    Review: My last service was outstanding. After I called AHS I received a call from the service provider who scheduled an appointment the next day. When they arrived the problem was quickly found and repaired that very day.

    Charles Ward Date: 2013-11-12 15:42:39

    Review: Responsive, and professonal service by AHS and the repair ervice . I was very pleasantly surprised when compared with my previous warranty service at the lack of up front detailed questions that I was not asked by the service rep. When done on-lline I was never "interrogated" or given the third degree as to the nature and backgorun of my service request..

    Paul Anderson Date: 2016-02-15 21:56:54

    Review: Fortunately I have not required AHS services as of this date. However in the past when I had AHS at another property I lived at, I was always pleased with my experiences and the work was always completed to my satisfaction.

    MAE NELSON Date: 2016-06-04 23:08:28

    Review: My experience with my contractor was from Rite Away , he was 30 min early, he called and asked if it was OK for him to come early he fixed my leak in my upstairs toilet in less than 30 mins, he was very kind and nice. I appreciate him for being on time and for being friendly.

    Linda Curtis Date: 2015-12-21 22:52:26

    Review: My recent experience was very positive. I had some plumbing issues that were taken care of in a timely manner. My service man was very polite, helpful and completed the repair in a timely manner. He removed the defective material and did a very good job.

    Dean Date: 2014-01-02 13:03:39

    Review: The problem could have been resolved in a more timely manner. It took a few days from initial contact of my broken water heater to get a contractor out to look at the problem. This made for a few days of cold showers. After the initial consult the ball started rolling pretty quick. Contractor was very helpful and knowledable.

    Jennifer Milre Date: 2015-01-07 08:17:50

    Review: Home Shield is the next best thing to magic. My last household problem was with plumbing The contractor responded almost immediately, phoned ahead of the appointment to alert me of his arrival (so no dreary hours waiting ), showed up on time, solved the problem right away, and was amusing too. His fix was a permanent one, not a stop gap patch. And that's how it's been with Home Shield for the 18 years I've subscribed -- top notch, fast, and satisfying.

    Angelique Date: 2012-07-20 16:27:52

    Review: I have been using American Home Shield since 2005. Any time that I have had a problem, they have a technician contact me within 24 hours. I have had a gas line replaced, new washer and a new dishwasher replaced over the past 7 years. I reccommend AHS to my friends and family. I am really glad that I didn't read these reviews before I purchased the warranty. Maybe the service is different in PA, but I reccommend a home warranty to anyone that owns a home.