Total Protect

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Total Protect

Total Protect
Rating Timeline
Customer Service 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Repair Service 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.8 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating

Write an honest review now !

888-351-0908 $230 - $650
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
NHSCA Membership Yes
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)
Years In Business 39
Total Reviews 1019
Complaint Resolution Yes
BBB Rating -
Executive Profiles NA
No. of Employees NA
Headquarters NA
Address NA
Alias NA

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
TotalProtect is a comprehensive home warranty offered through Cross Country Home Services, Inc., an established leader in the home warranty industry since 1978. The warranty is known for providing peace of mind and budget protection whenever home systems and appliances break down due to normal wear and tear. With more than 40,000 service technicians in its network, a team of over 500 employees and a large selection of budget-friendly plans, the TotalProtect Home Warranty is among the most respected in the industry.

TotalProtect believes in maintaining a different approach towards home warranty, which essentially includes powering a homeowner with tools to manage and maintain their homes better. The company offers a host of comprehensive plans that ensures savings, convenience and peace of mind.

According to Better Business Bureau, this company also operates under the following alternate business names
  1. Total Protect
  2. Home Protect
  3. Cross Country Home Services
  4. Residential MD
  5. HomeSure Protection of California
  6. Homesure of Virginia, Inc
  7. HomeSure Services, Inc.
  8. HomeSure of America Inc.

TotalProtect’s most popular service is the guarantee that they provide for each repair they do. Each customer gets a guarantee for a period of 180 days during which if the repaired device breaks again, the customer gets it fixed again for free.

The company’s network of service contractors are also one of the best in the industry. TotalProtect claims that each contractor is picked after stringent evaluation. The Vendor Rating System is yet another run to ensure that each contractor is monitored well.
In addition to TotalProtect’s 24/7/365 customer service hotline, a variety of online services are available. At TotalProtect.com, customers can see all the features and benefits of having a TotalProtect Home Warranty. The website allows visitors to:

1. Place a Claim

2. Get a Quote

3. Evaluate the Variety of Available Plans

4. See All the Items that are Covered

5. See Consumer Ratings and Reviews

6. Take a Virtual Tour of TotalProtect Coverage

7. Contact Customer Service

TotalProtect helps customers pay the repair or replacement bill when home systems and/or appliances break down due to normal wear and tear. The warranty offers a 180-day workmanship guarantee on repairs and comes in many shapes and sizes. The variety of coverage allows customers to choose the plan they need at a cost that fits within their budget.

For example, TotalProtect’s optimal plan provides protection for 20 of a home’s most crucial systems and appliances. Customers can also choose from plans that cover just their systems or just their appliances. All plans can be personalized by adding items such as a swimming pool, second refrigerator or an additional water heater to their warranty.

Reviews & Ratings

Charlotte - NC 07-14-2017
Vanessa Bolivar , Charlotte NC
Posted On 07/14/17
Review No. 112527
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Love the service; however I am baffled as to why you decided after only having used your service twice you decided to raise my deductible.
# 112527
ABINGTON - PA 07-12-2017
Brenda M Johnson , ABINGTON PA
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112375
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have used them twice and both times they responded immediately. The last time my water heater busted. I was panicking, water everywhere. They gave me a number to a repair person that didn't get back to me promptly. Called them back and THEY called another repair person who came out immediately. This service is worth every penny I pay.
# 112375
New Braunfels - TX 07-12-2017
Clifton Bond , New Braunfels TX
Posted On 07/12/17
Review No. 112362
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have been with this company for several years and have filed several claims. The customer services has been excellent. I do wish I could speak to a live person when filing the claim; but, after filing the claim and I call to follow-up, the representatives have been very friendly, competent and helpful. I have had only one less than acceptable experience with a contractor; however, Total Protect, quickly stepped in to resolve the problem. view less
I have been with this company for several years and have filed several claims. The customer services has been excellent. I do wish I could speak to a live person when filing the claim; but, after filing the claim and I call to follow-up, the representatives have been very friendly, competent and helpful. I have had only one less than acceptable experience with a contractor; however, Total
... view more
# 112362
San Diego - CA 06-27-2017
Tracey Abston , San Diego CA
Posted On 06/27/17
Review No. 111457
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have had a home warranty on my home for the 20 years we have owned it, in 2005 the entire house including plumbing and electrical were remodeled and updated. At that time, I came to Total Protection trying to save a few dollars. Until 3 weeks ago I had NEVER made a service repair. On Monday 6/19/2017 I requested service for a garbage disposal which was put in new during the kitchen’s remodel. The call was referred to Tyler Cervantes Plumbing and Drain Services in San Diego, CA. The servicer came on Wednesday 6/21/17. Following the inspection, the technician said, “he had to submit a request to Total Protection Home Warranty (TPHW) because he felt the garbage disposal needed to be replace”. On 6/21/17 I received two messages from TPHW; I thought they were calling to discuss replacement options. I returned the call the following day 6/22/17, it was at that time I was directly transferred to denials, who informed me my claim had been denied because Tyler Cervantes Plumbing and Drain Services stated the garbage disposal had been misused and abused.

The most annoying thing to me was the fact that a company I had faithfully paid each year and trusted (TPHW) would take the word of a vendor (that still gets paid) that there was some misuse and abuse by 2 mature adults in an immaculate home. To add insult to injury, when asked, why Tyler Cervantes Plumbing and Drain Services left wires exposed under the sink TPHW accepted a blatant lie said vendor that made no sense. “They disconnected the electrical wires because it was smoking and they did not want the disposal to burn the house down.” Really??? The reason for the initial service request was because the garbage disposal wasn't working. The reset button was stuck in the up position but the disposable’s housing looks new, has no rust, damage or signs of wear and tear and the motor was not even humming! So where was there smoke and risk of fire? There were no sounds, smells, or movement before, during or after Tyler Cervantes Plumbing and Drain Services’ call!

Total Protection Home Warranty took the word of a vendor who failed to leave any written documentation prior to leaving my home, left electrical wires hanging exposed under my sink and lied about the condition of the garbage disposal. From 6/22/17-6/26/17, at least two TPHW's customer service representatives tried to refer my claim to their supervisor in hopes of resolving in my favor and deter me from terminating my home warranty. I was fine with TPHW’s decision, feeling that after paying many years of premiums and never using the service it would behoove me to cut me losses and go back to American Home Shield. As for the garbage disposal, they did me a favor; a new one from Home Depot is currently $109 and my service deductible would have been $125. My husband can install the disposal so the installation will not be an additional expense! I terminated service with TPHW today 6/27/2017.

Nonetheless, based on my more than 10-year relationship with Total Protection Home Warranty I would say, “don't try to save a few dollars by using this company they are dishonest and so was the service provider. I intend on telling the world. DON'T USE THIS COMPANY THEY PROVIDE NO PROTECTION”.
view less
I have had a home warranty on my home for the 20 years we have owned it, in 2005 the entire house including plumbing and electrical were remodeled and updated. At that time, I came to Total Protection trying to save a few dollars. Until 3 weeks ago I had NEVER made a service repair. On Monday 6/19/2017 I requested service for a garbage disposal which was put in new during the kitchen’s
... view more
# 111457
Total Protect Home Warranty
06-30-2017
Tracey – the last thing we want to do is let you down! We are sorry to hear that this has been your experience as it it is definitely not the kind of service we aim to provide. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback and regret to hear that you have since cancelled your warranty. We are here if you would like to discuss your concerns – you can email us at [email protected] with your telephone number and the best time to reach you. Thanks! Tanya view less
Tracey – the last thing we want to do is let you down! We are sorry to hear that this has been your experience as it it is definitely not the kind of service we aim to provide. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback and regret to hear that you have since cancelled your warranty. We are here if you would like to discuss your concerns – you can email us at
... view more
Albany - LA 06-07-2017
alex vega , Albany LA
Posted On 06/07/17
Review No. 110786
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
My microwave has been repaired 4 different times and the last time the tec. tried to make a repair he stated that the cost would be more than a replacement. He contracted total protect and they stated that the unit would be replaced and a model no. was given to me. Today I spoke to Samantha who was rude and stated that the order was canceled by me. This was a lie and after she stated that some one would call about the when the installer would come she stated that whenever he would call. I asked if she could call and find out when they would come she hung up on me. Thank goodness I also have recorded our conversation in the event some one who gives a darn wants to hear it. view less
My microwave has been repaired 4 different times and the last time the tec. tried to make a repair he stated that the cost would be more than a replacement. He contracted total protect and they stated that the unit would be replaced and a model no. was given to me. Today I spoke to Samantha who was rude and stated that the order was canceled by me. This was a lie and after she stated that some
... view more
# 110786
Total Protect Home Warranty
06-26-2017
Alex – Your claim experience is definitely not the kind of service we aim to provide. We want to get this resolved and provide feedback to the appropriate individuals that handled your claim. Please email us at [email protected] with your claim number or property address and we will investigate. Thanks!



Houston - TX 06-04-2017
Hazel Greenberg , Houston TX
Posted On 06/04/17
Review No. 110669
3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
I am not surprised by the poor reviews for Total Protect. Though I probably would have continued with TP, its increase in my deductible from $75 to $125 sent me immediately to a search for another company. I have been with TP for many years, so I speak from a lot of experience. The customer service people generally just spout the party line and don't really care much that it's 99 degrees in your house and you've a got a cat with a heart condition. I do have to say that 2 or 3 times, I did find a gem, someone who cared, went the extra mile, and went out of her way to fix whatever the problem was. But they are outstanding for being in the minority.

Moreover, TP's policy on replacement flies in the face the the promise to match the quality, etc., of the original. I had a top of the line Kitchen Aid dishwasher that they replaced with the cheapest dishwasher they could find--a piece of junk. Mine had a steel drum, but TP would not hear of replacing it with one of whatever brand that had a steel drum. This was really upsetting. They did offer a cash payout for me to buy my own dishwasher, but it was a pittance, totally unacceptable.

Another thing I dislike about TP is that if you like one of their service companies and want to have that company the next time something happens to a similar appliance, good luck with that. They won't do it. They will let you choose NOT to have a company that you disliked, but they won't let you have one that you have liked in the past, even if you are willing to wait. How absurd is that? That policy totally destroys any notion of customer service. You would think they would want to make you happy if you actually liked your service before. Some of their providers are in no way worth $125, which is more than you would pay to have someone come out without insurance.

The problem is that despite the high ratings this website gives to some HW companies, if you actually read the reviews, you will find all kinds of negativity, boatloads of one star reviews. And if you go to other websites, you will also find horrible reviews of these same recommended companies. Frankly, it's hard (really impossible) to find one that is universally loved. They all contain horror stories that easily happen to you if it happened to them. I have encouraged Consumer Reports to take on this issue. view less
I am not surprised by the poor reviews for Total Protect. Though I probably would have continued with TP, its increase in my deductible from $75 to $125 sent me immediately to a search for another company. I have been with TP for many years, so I speak from a lot of experience. The customer service people generally just spout the party line and don't really care much that it's 99 degrees in
... view more
# 110669
Total Protect Home Warranty
06-06-2017
Hazel – Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our company. We aim to provide excellent and fair service and are sorry we did not meet this objective for you. We appreciate your feedback, and will be sure to provide it back to the organization. Thanks!
Simpsonville - SC 05-21-2017
Mike Register , Simpsonville SC
Posted On 05/21/17
Review No. 110326
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
One word. TERRIBLE. Keep getting run around. Have done paid my deductible for both washer and dryer. One week, still getting run around. Will be changing companies after this repair. Been with y'all 7 years. Customer service has gone down hill
# 110326
Total Protect Home Warranty
06-06-2017
Mike – We can see how frustrating this situation has been for you. We strive to make home management easy for our Homeowners and it is clear that your experience did not meet this objective. We want to help! Please email us at [email protected] with your property address or claim number and we will investigate to expedite a resolution. Thanks!
Corint - TX 05-17-2017
Mark Jackson , Corint TX
Posted On 05/17/17
Review No. 110223
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
We have been with these guys for 6 month and we are in the midst of our first call with them. Our AC stopped blowing cold air about 2 weeks ago so we sent in a claim. The AC still blows air and will keep the house around 80 during the day but it runs CONSTANTLY.

The first tech came out and spent 2 hours "diagnosing" the issue. He said they call him the Milk man because he milks his jobs. He also said he did not go to HVAC school and just learned on the job. His conclusion was a valve. They submitted the information and 2 days later it was approved and they scheduled the appointment. We have now been without a functioning AC for a week and it has run 15 hours a day for a week. A new tech showed up, told us it would be $180 for them to evacuate the coolant but the big issue is that it took him all of 5 minutes to conclude that it is the compressor not a valve. Apparently the Milk man that learned on the job never worked on 410A so he had no idea what he was doing.

Back to sending it in and waiting 2 more days for an approval. In the meantime we get a call from TP stating that the AC company needs to install a MANDATORY surge protector on the unit for $150 and that they want $180 to haul off the old compressor. We called the AC company and they said it was them that want it installed and would wave it. They also said they can leave the compressor.

We finally got everything approved and the vendor said that they would not come do the work unless we agreed to have the surge protector as well as pay the $180 for the compressor removal. They are trying to charge us $100 deductible, $180 to evacuate the system, $180 to haul off the compressor and $150 for a useless surge protector.

We are now starting over on the process and yes the customer service folks are nice but good luck reaching a supervisor. We finally have a name and extension and was told he would call back but we have not heard from him and and are told it could take 24 to 48 hours before a call back is received. We could be without AC for another week and we are to the point of hiring someone to come out and take care of it and caulk it up to a terrible company.

I would love to hear back from someone that can do something and that actually cares about their clients. Either way we go, the service will be canceled soon. view less
We have been with these guys for 6 month and we are in the midst of our first call with them. Our AC stopped blowing cold air about 2 weeks ago so we sent in a claim. The AC still blows air and will keep the house around 80 during the day but it runs CONSTANTLY.

The first tech came out and spent 2 hours "diagnosing" the issue. He said they call him the Milk man because he
... view more
# 110223
Total Protect Home Warranty
05-31-2017
Mark - we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate the feedback provided. Thank you for taking my call, and confirming that your refund was received. I understand your concerns, and regret that you have since cancelled your warranty Thanks - Chase
Theodore - AL 05-10-2017
Sarah Ridgeway , Theodore AL
Posted On 05/10/17
Review No. 110043
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
We have been with this company for a little over 8yrs. and today we had the BEST representative named Mrs. Carlene (I hoped that I spelled her name correctly). Mrs. Carlene went out her way to her us solved the problem with understanding what our plan covered regarding our garage system. We were getting ready to cancel our plan bc the other representatives that we spoke with gave us the run around or just wasn't knowledgeable about the plans. Mrs. Carlene took upon herself to connect us with a company to help us understand questions that we had regarding what was covered and what they would do for us. Mrs. Carlene- "YOU ROCK"!!! Thanks so much for all your help!!! view less
We have been with this company for a little over 8yrs. and today we had the BEST representative named Mrs. Carlene (I hoped that I spelled her name correctly). Mrs. Carlene went out her way to her us solved the problem with understanding what our plan covered regarding our garage system. We were getting ready to cancel our plan bc the other representatives that we spoke with gave us the run
... view more
# 110043
Total Protect Home Warranty
05-31-2017
Thanks for your kind words Sarah! We'll share your feedback with Carlene. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and that you gave us chance to make it right. We will continue to work hard to help you with your home management needs! - Louise
Oley - PA 05-07-2017
Ron Wilkinson , Oley PA
Posted On 05/07/17
Review No. 109981
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Been with Total Protect for 5 years and didnt need them until this past two months (4 times). The service is great and staff are very helpful and courtious. I'am so thankful to have Total Protect for my Home Warranty.
# 109981
Total Protect Home Warranty
06-06-2017
Ron-Thank you for sharing your experience. We help thousands of homeowners like yourself make home management easy. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that we have satisfied your home warranty needs. Thanks!
Carnegie - PA 05-03-2017
Bill Cartiff , Carnegie PA
Posted On 05/03/17
Review No. 109907
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have very little to complain about with Total Protect - only that every year they want to raise my deductible, and every year I call and spend (too much) time negotiating back to a more reasonable "grandfather'd" rate. My deductible right now ($75) is fair and as long as it stays there, I will be content to stay with Total Protect in the years to come. They have been very good to work with...they provide good customer service, quick repair service and they use name brand service companies to fill the work orders. My policy has paid for itself several times over. Well worth the investment. view less
I have very little to complain about with Total Protect - only that every year they want to raise my deductible, and every year I call and spend (too much) time negotiating back to a more reasonable "grandfather'd" rate. My deductible right now ($75) is fair and as long as it stays there, I will be content to stay with Total Protect in the years to come. They have been very good to work
... view more
# 109907
Little Rock - AR 04-29-2017
Lisa Barnes , Little Rock AR
Posted On 04/29/17
Review No. 109833
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I used Total protection for plumbing work. The plumber called and gave me a time and showed up on time. I am vert pleased Sith the ser I e they provided.
# 109833
Brick - NJ 04-25-2017
Frank Giannone , Brick NJ
Posted On 04/25/17
Review No. 109756
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Always listen and react with empathy, well worth the cost. I am consistently happy with the service.
# 109756
Fort Worth - TX 04-25-2017
Kay Thacker , Fort Worth TX
Posted On 04/25/17
Review No. 109726
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I am retired on a fixed income and can easily manage the monthly charges whereas a big repair bill would be a real hardship. I have had it on my last 2 houses. I downsized after retirement. I have no complaints with the company and have recommended it to my daughter.
# 109726
Horse Branch - KY 04-25-2017
Billy Corley , Horse Branch KY
Posted On 04/25/17
Review No. 109723
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
When we first used this service, a real person would always answer the phone. Now I get an automated answer, thus 3 stars for customer service.
We have used total protect several times over the last few years. We are always pleased with the outcome.
# 109723
pittsburgh - PA 04-25-2017
Kim Whyte , pittsburgh PA
Posted On 04/25/17
Review No. 109720
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I would be lost without this service. Ive never had any issue until the last 2 claims . The person I put my claim in with was terribly argumentative and refused to let me choose another contractor after I was given SEARS . I dontlike Sears Ive had issues with them in the past and wont use them . This person basically told me that your policy was to give me the first choice and no others. Id never had any problems prior . Iwas not amused by this . She did tell ME well we will do it this one time . Im sorry I don't like Sears and would rather use a contractor I trust. Please tell me that this is not your policy . This last claim was also dealing with someone who wouldn't listen . I have HVAC issues. She put down that my problem was a heat pump since my thermostat was for heat and cooling . That I know isn't true. I don't have a heat pump. that is a totally different system. I kept telling her no that is not the case . SHe put it in my claim anyway. She was not pleasant to deal with at all. view less
I would be lost without this service. Ive never had any issue until the last 2 claims . The person I put my claim in with was terribly argumentative and refused to let me choose another contractor after I was given SEARS . I dontlike Sears Ive had issues with them in the past and wont use them . This person basically told me that your policy was to give me the first choice and no others. Id
... view more
# 109720
Glendale - AZ 04-13-2017
Meloni , Glendale AZ
Posted On 04/13/17
Review No. 109528
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I am going to try and not be emotional with this review. I like to pride myself in my understanding of processes and procedures, however, dealing with this company is painful. I will say that the customer service representatives are very cordial and at least pretend to be understanding and sympathetic. I have had this company as a home warranty since March 2011. I was always afraid to file a claim because the cost of the deductible would typically be more than the cost for me to repair the issue myself. When it came to my pool pump, that was a different story. Toward the end of last year, I had issues with my pool motor going out. It took almost 3 months to resolve this issue. I was finally provided with a new pool motor, but not after having to go through three separate contracted companies, one of which removed a part and denied it, took my deductible and never followed up with the warranty company. On to my current issue. My filtration system on my pool. It has been several weeks since I contacted Total Home Protect to file a claim on this issue. At first I was told I did not have pool coverage (this sounded funny), so I hired another company to come diagnose my issues. I phoned Total Home Protect again and tried to verify my coverage. The informed me that at my annual renewal (less than a month prior), my coverage changed because they no longer offered the plan I was on. So they renewed my coverage (excluding pool coverage), and increased my deductible from 65.00 to 125.00 a month. In previous years, at my renewal period, I was provided with information indicating that unless I wanted to make changes, I didn't need to do anything. This year was the same, only they failed to inform me of the changes THEY made without my consent. Through several calls to customer services, I was able to add pool coverage (with an additional $240.00 paid immediately) and file my current claim (125.00 deductible). Before I added the coverage, I verified with membership services that all of the parts that I was needing would be covered. I listed each one individually and I was told "yes, it is covered". Flash forward to claim denial of those parts I previously was told were covered (mind you, I have not received any coverage information for the pool since it had to be added back on). I have spent almost every day for the past 4 weeks trying to get this resolved. Phone calls were pulled...they verified that I was told the parts were covered but they say "we're sorry the customer service representative misinformed you". Where is the accountability? Why should I have to pay for their mistake? Additionally, I live in Arizona and just 2 weeks without a filtration system...the pool looks as though aliens landed and had babies in my pool. In the 6 years I have had this pool, it has NEVER looked like this. The costs I am going to have to FIX this issue because it wasn't and still hasn't been handled in a timely manner. I now have to drain my pool, and do a chlorine bath to remove the staining caused by the algae - I don't even know the cost involved with that one yet. I have had to purchase parts on my own that they are now telling me aren't covered (though they initially told me they were = $350.00). The company they had come out didn't even address all of the issues I filed on the claim. An attempt was made to stop a leak at the canister by replacing the bolts when the company I hired indicated it needed to be replaced completely. The new bolts after 2 days are spraying water onto my electrical components. The initial issue was debris going back into the pool from the filter. Small particles of DE. The issue now (after they came to look at it) is torn grids (the part they are refusing to replace though I was told they were covered), cracked manifold, cracked backflush valve, leaking at the clamp for the canister lid, etc. I am beyond frustrated with this process. I Highly recommend you re-consider this company when shopping for home warranty needs. This isn't the only negative interaction I have had with them. The pool pump last year took several months to resolve. NOT ACCEPTABLE. view less
I am going to try and not be emotional with this review. I like to pride myself in my understanding of processes and procedures, however, dealing with this company is painful. I will say that the customer service representatives are very cordial and at least pretend to be understanding and sympathetic. I have had this company as a home warranty since March 2011. I was always afraid to file a
... view more
# 109528
Total Protect Home Warranty
05-05-2017
Meloni - Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address your concerns, and provide a resolution for your claim. We appreciate your feedback. - Amanda
Sylmar - CA 04-11-2017
Darlene , Sylmar CA
Posted On 04/11/17
Review No. 109468
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I barely has used the company and probably has been with them last 3 yrs. I just got a letter saying they are increasing the deductible from 75 to $125!!! That is almost the double and some appliances may cost 125 just to get a new one... that is absurb... started shopping for another company.
# 109468
Riverview - FL 04-06-2017
Kim Hamm , Riverview FL
Posted On 04/06/17
Review No. 109395
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Well worth the peace of mind having this home warranty! I added up what I was paying for all of the extended warrantees with all my appliances alone, and it was way more than the premium for this coverage. And this includes SO much more!
# 109395
Loomis - CA 02-08-2017
Lynn , Loomis CA
Posted On 02/08/17
Review No. 108524
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Been with this company for 13 years. They have been less than excellent, but assumed that is the world of home warranty companies.
Today, I took off work for fridge repair and technician never showed up. I called and representative was incredibly rude telling me it was not their fault, but that of the technician's. She said they never had anyone ever assigned to my claim. But I have a claim number and they called me with date and time! If they never assigned anyone to my claim, then why didn't they call me in the morning to let me know that no one was coming? I could have gone into work!
I pay Total Protect $600 per year to manage their technicians and keep their word. When I asked to cover our deductible for the money I lost for having to take off 2 days from work, she cut me off and wouldn't let me speak. It was actually weird. She said the deductible would be paid from the service provider, not Total Protect and there is no way the service provider would come out without a deductible. How about Total Protect paying the service provider for me? Or crediting me a couple months on my monthly fee? If no resolution to this issue, I may be moving companies. view less
Been with this company for 13 years. They have been less than excellent, but assumed that is the world of home warranty companies.
Today, I took off work for fridge repair and technician never showed up. I called and representative was incredibly rude telling me it was not their fault, but that of the technician's. She said they never had anyone ever assigned to my claim. But I have
... view more
# 108524
Total Protect Home Warranty
02-10-2017
Lynn - We have located your account and definitely apologize for the missed appointment through the original service provider - please know this is not the type of service we aim to provide. Our records indicate that you've spoken to a member of our leadership team since the submission of this review but we will be sure to follow through the resolution of your claim. Sincerely - John
Redwood City - CA 02-08-2017
Vincent K , Redwood City CA
Posted On 02/08/17
Review No. 108520
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Very disappointed with Total Protect. Every time I have filed a claim It would take at least several phone calls and a extreme long wait for any type of repair. They seem to use stall tactics to force you to just go out and buy a new appliance. My refrigerator recently went out and they told me it would be a week to repair. Unacceptable. Finally someone came out to fix it and made it worse. It sounded like a popcorn maker after the repair. Total Protect would not repair it properly. I had to buy a new one not to mention all the stress with Total Protect to try and get it repaired. view less
Very disappointed with Total Protect. Every time I have filed a claim It would take at least several phone calls and a extreme long wait for any type of repair. They seem to use stall tactics to force you to just go out and buy a new appliance. My refrigerator recently went out and they told me it would be a week to repair. Unacceptable. Finally someone came out to fix it and made it worse. It
... view more
# 108520
Smyrna - GA 02-08-2017
Laura J Demel , Smyrna GA
Posted On 02/08/17
Review No. 108518
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Great service and dependable people. I am a woman and have very few people to fix things around my condo and have found total service to be the best program for my needs. They do a good job or come back for free and the service and follow up is great. I would recommend them to anyone who has a home to maintain.
# 108518
Conyers - GA 02-03-2017
Denitha , Conyers GA
Posted On 02/03/17
Review No. 108417
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I have always had prompt service with this company, I believe they make a concentrated effort to help. Sometimes I do my own scheduling online and at other times I call customer service and I've had normal wait times like any other company. The service contractors have been cordial, polite, and have been able to perform their duties in a timely fashion. I have also recommended this company to other people who reportedly get good treatmnt from them view less
I have always had prompt service with this company, I believe they make a concentrated effort to help. Sometimes I do my own scheduling online and at other times I call customer service and I've had normal wait times like any other company. The service contractors have been cordial, polite, and have been able to perform their duties in a timely fashion. I have also recommended this company to
... view more
# 108417
linthicum - MD 01-31-2017
calvin roy , linthicum MD
Posted On 01/31/17
Review No. 108358
4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Customer Service:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
I get quick response from Total Protect when I call. They hook me up a repairman and I call for an appointment. For the most part they are pretty good but you definitely work on their timeline. It can be hit or miss. One company worked on my heat pump and was quick and did a very good job. Another incident with the heat pump with another company at a later date and it took them over a month to find the problem and fix it. they would come and work for 15-20 minutes and leave. They come back 3-4 days, maybe a week later and did the same thing. This was in the heat of summer with no A/c. After several calls to Total Protect during this period they sided with the repair company, saying it was not an emergency because we had a separate unit for the downstairs apartment. I guess they thought we should live downstairs with another family. Also it seems that each time I need service it costs me more than the deductible because Total Product will not cover everything. I would also like to get billed each month like I did when I first started the service,; now I have to guess when my policy is paid in full. view less
I get quick response from Total Protect when I call. They hook me up a repairman and I call for an appointment. For the most part they are pretty good but you definitely work on their timeline. It can be hit or miss. One company worked on my heat pump and was quick and did a very good job. Another incident with the heat pump with another company at a later date and it took them over a month to
... view more
# 108358
Pensacola - FL 01-31-2017
Erik & Ginger Given , Pensacola FL
Posted On 01/31/17
Review No. 108351
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
I have had my AC unit repaired both inside and out. They even replaced a recalled evap coil. Also had dishwasher repaired. Other that one rude tech that fixed the dishwasher the first time all of the other techs have been courteous and even gave me pointers to help keep my appliances running efficiently. I have always received a tech within a day or two. Great customer service and they follow up. The negative responses I see may be the CS center they are reaching. I have had Total Protect for over 10 years and keep them because it has been worth it and I would recommend them to other home owners. view less
I have had my AC unit repaired both inside and out. They even replaced a recalled evap coil. Also had dishwasher repaired. Other that one rude tech that fixed the dishwasher the first time all of the other techs have been courteous and even gave me pointers to help keep my appliances running efficiently. I have always received a tech within a day or two. Great customer service and they follow
... view more
# 108351

Rate Total Protect

Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact totalprotect.com directly.