CALL FOR A HOME WARRANTY
61,643 reviews | 80+ companies

Total Protect

Home Warranty Plan Details and Reviews for Total Protect

Total Protect

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Rating Timeline
Customer Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating2.1 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Get A Home Warranty Quote
Protect Your Appliances Now
888-351-0908 $230 - $650
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
NHSCA Membership Yes
Coverage Area Nationwide (USA)
Years In Business 40
Total Reviews 1109
Complaint Resolution Yes
BBB Rating -
Executive Profiles NA
No. of Employees NA
Headquarters NA
Address NA
Alias NA

Write an honest review now !

Get A Home Warranty Quote
Protect Your Appliances Now

Call Now for a Quote
888-351-0908

Write an honest review now !

TotalProtect is a comprehensive home warranty offered through Cross Country Home Services, Inc., an established leader in the home warranty industry since 1978. The warranty is known for providing peace of mind and budget protection whenever home systems and appliances break down due to normal wear and tear. With more than 40,000 service technicians in its network, a team of over 500 employees and a large selection of budget-friendly plans, the TotalProtect Home Warranty is among the most respected in the industry.

TotalProtect believes in maintaining a different approach towards home warranty, which essentially includes powering a homeowner with tools to manage and maintain their homes better. The company offers a host of comprehensive plans that ensures savings, convenience and peace of mind.

According to Better Business Bureau, this company also operates under the following alternate business names

  1. Total Protect
  2. Home Protect
  3. Cross Country Home Services
  4. Residential MD
  5. HomeSure Protection of California
  6. Homesure of Virginia, Inc
  7. HomeSure Services, Inc.
  8. HomeSure of America Inc.

TotalProtect’s most popular service is the guarantee that they provide for each repair they do. Each customer gets a guarantee for a period of 180 days during which if the repaired device breaks again, the customer gets it fixed again for free.

The company’s network of service contractors are also one of the best in the industry. TotalProtect claims that each contractor is picked after stringent evaluation. The Vendor Rating System is yet another run to ensure that each contractor is monitored well.
In addition to TotalProtect’s 24/7/365 customer service hotline, a variety of online services are available. At TotalProtect.com, customers can see all the features and benefits of having a TotalProtect Home Warranty. The website allows visitors to:

1. Place a Claim

2. Get a Quote

3. Evaluate the Variety of Available Plans

4. See All the Items that are Covered

5. See Consumer Ratings and Reviews

6. Take a Virtual Tour of TotalProtect Coverage

7. Contact Customer Service

TotalProtect helps customers pay the repair or replacement bill when home systems and/or appliances break down due to normal wear and tear. The warranty offers a 180-day workmanship guarantee on repairs and comes in many shapes and sizes. The variety of coverage allows customers to choose the plan they need at a cost that fits within their budget.

For example, TotalProtect’s optimal plan provides protection for 20 of a home’s most crucial systems and appliances. Customers can also choose from plans that cover just their systems or just their appliances. All plans can be personalized by adding items such as a swimming pool, second refrigerator or an additional water heater to their warranty.

Reviews & Ratings

Smithfield - NC 07-13-2018
Patricia Coble Smithfield NC
Posted On 07/13/18
Review No. 129293
5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Overall Rating:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Calling Customer Service is a joke. You can never talked to a real person no matter how many buttons you push. They have changed their automated service and it is impossible to speak to anyone. Have had them for years and never really had a problem until now. Have always been satisfied with the company but it this happens again we will not be using them or recommending them to anyone. Need better customer service view less
Calling Customer Service is a joke. You can never talked to a real person no matter how many buttons you push. They have changed their automated service and it is impossible to speak to anyone. Have had them for years and never really had a problem until now. Have always been satisfied with the company but it this happens again we will not be using them or recommending them to anyone. Need
... view more
# 129293
Lake Mary - FL 07-02-2018
Jerald lucas Lake Mary FL
Posted On 07/02/18
Review No. 128774
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I'm beyond disgusted in how my recent claim has been handled. We placed a claim 6/22 and still to this day no AC!!! We have a newborn in the house which I have expressed multiple times to multiple people and nobody cares! I'm Florida this is A EMERGENCY my daughter works for a HVAC company and this isn't acceptable for any of their customers. This has been the worst experience!
# 128774
Chandler - AZ 06-13-2018
Ivan Manzano Chandler AZ
Posted On 06/13/18
Review No. 127750
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Worst Experience ever. I have my AC broken for the last 2 months here in AZ were the heat go so high in summer that is impossible to be without air Conditioning. Today is June 13 and the temperature is 108° in my patio. I called my Home Warranty Company and they recommend Schmidts AC Service company to have my work done and that was 2 months ago. Apparently Schmidts didn't submitted the work order on time and when submitted was too late and I had to opened a recall from the first claim.. It's been 4 claims since then and more than a 100 calls to both of them. Every time I call Total Protect they put my call on hold for more than a 20 minutes and sometimes the calls get disconnected for lack of communication. I asked for a cash out or buy out from them to send me the money to repair the unit on my on and they says that have to be approved and then they place the me on hold for so long that the call get disconnected. I asked them for a portable unit until they fix my one, and they said they don't offers that service. I told them that I'm a old man with chronic respiratory conditions and apparently they doesn't care about it. Im planning to go to smalls Claims Court to escalate this problem because this is unacceptable. These are the claims that they have been opened for the sane reason since April 21, 18

SCCL4NCFSR
04/21/2018
Straight Cool - Split System
Closed
#SCCL5NYDZM
05/17/2018
Straight Cool - Split System
Closed
#SCCL5NNJ7R
05/02/2018
Straight Cool - Split System
Closed
#SCCL5P98M4
05/24/2018
Straight Cool - Split System
Waiting for part

And all of them are for the same reason as the first one that never was fixed. view less
Worst Experience ever. I have my AC broken for the last 2 months here in AZ were the heat go so high in summer that is impossible to be without air Conditioning. Today is June 13 and the temperature is 108° in my patio. I called my Home Warranty Company and they recommend Schmidts AC Service company to have my work done and that was 2 months ago. Apparently Schmidts didn't submitted the
... view more
# 127750
Total Protect Home Warranty
06-21-2018
Ivan – Our records indicate you’ve been speaking with a member of our leadership team. If you need further assistance, please let us know and a member of my team will follow up with you personally. Thanks, Angela
Pueblo - CO 06-08-2018
GREG CHARLESTON Pueblo CO
Posted On 06/08/18
Review No. 127504
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
i AM IN NEED OF A REPLACEMENT ON MY WATER HEATER, THE REPAIR MAN SAID IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND THAT TOTAL WARRANTY WOULD PAY FOR IT. I CALLED THEM AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE CLAIM HAS NOT BEEN APPROVED YET AND IT WOULD TAKE A DAY OR TWO BUT THAT THEY WOULD UPGRADE IT TO URGENT. ALMOST 24 HOURS LATER AND STILL NO RESPONSE, MY FAMILY WILL HAVE TO GO ALMOST A WEEK WITHOUT HOT WATER BUT THE COMPANY DOES NOT CARE, EACH TIME I CALL I GET THE SAME RESPONSE "IT IS IN REVIEW BUT WE WILL PUT A PRIORITY ON IT" WHEN I ASK TO SPEEK TO A SUPERVISOR THERE IS NEVER ONE AROUND, THEY HAVE MYSTERIOUSLY LEFT THE BUILDING. i THEN AM TOLD BY THE REPAIR PEOPLE THAT I MUST PAY ANOTHER $180 FOR PARTS AND LABOR AND THAT THE WARRANTY COMPANY ONLY PAYS FOR $250 MAX. WHO CAN GET A WATER HEATER AND INSTALL FOR THAT? THEY TAKE YOUR MONEY BUT WONT PAY OUT BUT PENNIES ON THE DOLLAR FOR THEIR PART,. view less
i AM IN NEED OF A REPLACEMENT ON MY WATER HEATER, THE REPAIR MAN SAID IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND THAT TOTAL WARRANTY WOULD PAY FOR IT. I CALLED THEM AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE CLAIM HAS NOT BEEN APPROVED YET AND IT WOULD TAKE A DAY OR TWO BUT THAT THEY WOULD UPGRADE IT TO URGENT. ALMOST 24 HOURS LATER AND STILL NO RESPONSE, MY FAMILY WILL HAVE TO GO ALMOST A WEEK WITHOUT HOT WATER BUT THE
... view more
# 127504
Total Protect Home Warranty
06-21-2018
Greg – We’d like to review your claim information to see how we can help. Once your information has been reviewed, a member of my team will reach out to you personally. Thanks, Angela
Apalachin - NY 06-08-2018
Raymond Robbins Apalachin NY
Posted On 06/08/18
Review No. 127500
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
So my clothes washer would not spin, the technician came out and looked at it and was able to determine the wash tub support rods had worn out and would not support the wash tub during the spin cycle and the wash tub connector was missing. The total cost to repair is $500.00. It was declined because they said the only suspension parts that are approved are car suspension parts. WHAT? I told him we are talking about a clothes washer not a car, and he replied that the only suspension parts that are covered are car suspensions. He then said these parts are not part of the mechanical system or the wash tub per the contract. We told him that these are the suspension parts for the tub to spin and without them the tub cannot spin. He said they are not covered by the contract. So it cost me $125 for the technician to come look at it, plus the $800 dollars per year for the number of years that I have been paying on this service, plus now I have to go buy a new washer because these parts are not considered to be part of the wash tub or the mechanical parts of the washer. Going to cancel this service and corporate office here I come to discuss this with you. Corporate/Administrative Office. 1625 NW 136 Avenue, Suite 200, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33323; 954-835-1900. view less
So my clothes washer would not spin, the technician came out and looked at it and was able to determine the wash tub support rods had worn out and would not support the wash tub during the spin cycle and the wash tub connector was missing. The total cost to repair is $500.00. It was declined because they said the only suspension parts that are approved are car suspension parts. WHAT? I
... view more
# 127500
Total Protect Home Warranty
06-21-2018
Raymond – This does not sound right and we will be glad to have a member of my team review your claim to ensure you are receiving the full benefit of your warranty. Once your information has been reviewed, we will follow up with you personally. Thanks, Angela
Fairfield - AL 05-26-2018
Sheryl Anderson Sommons Fairfield AL
Posted On 05/26/18
Review No. 126913
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
2nd note. My claim #SCCL5NNCFF was forwarded to purchasing 5/16 and I have waited 8 working days as of today 5/25 to get a purchasing order #, that's 3days past your timeframe of 3-5days. I filed a complaint here on 5/23 but no one has contacted me from Total Protect yet. 5/24 @ 10:24, I spoke with Tracy from Total Protect who stated mgmt told her to say "Just allow a few more days". WHY SHOULD I SUFFER IF I'VE DONE WHAT I'M SUPPOSED TO DO? I waited the allowed time plus 3 extra days. This is UNACCEPTABLE and this was only my 1st claim. POOR SERVICE and I will not be recommending this company. view less
2nd note. My claim #SCCL5NNCFF was forwarded to purchasing 5/16 and I have waited 8 working days as of today 5/25 to get a purchasing order #, that's 3days past your timeframe of 3-5days. I filed a complaint here on 5/23 but no one has contacted me from Total Protect yet. 5/24 @ 10:24, I spoke with Tracy from Total Protect who stated mgmt told her to say "Just allow a few more days". WHY
... view more
# 126913
Fresno - CA 05-24-2018
Janice Ledgerwood Fresno CA
Posted On 05/24/18
Review No. 126856
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This company should be named Total Neglect or Total Regret! That would be truth in advertising. I tried to get my dryer fixed, made a claim online, etc. They sent a repairman who said that the bearings in the dryer needed to be repaired. He said he would get the parts and be back in a couple days. Sounds like it should be covered, right? It looks like it should be covered according to the contract. According to Total Protect, the dryer was not covered and thus, the claim was denied, even though it says dryers are covered. I am canceling their services and want a refund for all the claims I won't be making with them in the future. After this happened, I went looking for reviews. I've found about three moderate reviews and dozens of dozens of negative ones, mostly for the same reasons as I have written of here. I even read one that says the company is struggling financially and trying to grip tight onto every dollar it can. At this point, I would not be surprised if they are operating a kickback scheme with the contracted technicians. Send in the technician to diagnose and take your money, then haveTotal Protect weasel out of fulfilling its contact and they will give a little kickback to the technician for colluding with them. Additionally, it is not possible to remove the card one used online to sign up for the service. It is set up for automatic payment annually in my case. I read other reviews about the hours people spend on the phone to cancel these services and how the consumer has to watch their credit card statement like a hawk to avoid being charged again. In one case, a man was charged again despite having cancelled his policy with them. He said it took a few hours on the phone to talk to someone. At the time he posted that review, it was not clear if he was ever refunded his money. Take the money you would have paid Total Protect and stick it in a savings account. Add the technician fee you would have paid as often as you can. Use that to pay for needed repairs. Avoid these scammers at all costs. Should Total Protect respond to this (and I highly doubt they will), I want them to know that I am not interested in anything but a refund and a cancellation of my policy with them. view less
This company should be named Total Neglect or Total Regret! That would be truth in advertising. I tried to get my dryer fixed, made a claim online, etc. They sent a repairman who said that the bearings in the dryer needed to be repaired. He said he would get the parts and be back in a couple days. Sounds like it should be covered, right? It looks like it should be covered according to the
... view more
# 126856
Portsmouth - VA 05-17-2018
Tracy Portsmouth VA
Posted On 05/17/18
Review No. 126528
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Unfortunately, this company has left us high and dry. We have been with an upstairs toilet for almost 2 weeks. They sent an incompetent plumber out. He left feces all over my blinds and he blew the seal on the toilet. The company will not send another tech out to remedy the clog. Steer clear.
# 126528
Total Protect Home Warranty
05-21-2018
Tracy, I am deeply sorry to hear of your claim experience and apologize for the inconvenience. I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I would like to address your concerns and investigate this situation. Please email us at [email protected] with your contract information and we will give you a call. Sincerely, Austin
Argyle - TX 04-18-2018
Troy Argyle TX
Posted On 04/18/18
Review No. 125351
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
The Absolute Worst Company I have ever had any dealings with, regardless of the service or type of industry. I have had a Furnace issue for over 4 months and to this day it has not been resolved. Takes hours to reach someone who has some authority and when the Supervisor calls you back and you do not answer right away they do not leave a call back number, so the whole process starts again. They stated they could replace my entire furnace for $600.00 installed B/S, Their service contractor wanted to charge me $1,900 for additional non covered fee fees ( Three quotes from local HVAC companies all came in at around $2,500.) There latest offer is $1,100 and just take our offer ( No I want what I Paid premiums for)
I have filed a compliant with the State of Texas and n ow working on filing a law suite against them. Stay Away, Run Away, Scandal view less
The Absolute Worst Company I have ever had any dealings with, regardless of the service or type of industry. I have had a Furnace issue for over 4 months and to this day it has not been resolved. Takes hours to reach someone who has some authority and when the Supervisor calls you back and you do not answer right away they do not leave a call back number, so the whole process starts again.
... view more
# 125351
Total Protect Home Warranty
04-26-2018
Troy -I am sorry that we have disappointed you. This is definitely not the level of service we aim to provide. Our goal is to provide service in a timely and efficient manner and to ensure you receive every benefit of your warranty. As with all warranties, coverage is detailed in the Agreement and there are items that may not be covered. It is clear that your experience was unsatisfactory, and if you would like us to review your claim further to determine if you received your full benefits, please email us at [email protected] - Tanya view less
Troy -I am sorry that we have disappointed you. This is definitely not the level of service we aim to provide. Our goal is to provide service in a timely and efficient manner and to ensure you receive every benefit of your warranty. As with all warranties, coverage is detailed in the Agreement and there are items that may not be covered. It is clear that your experience was unsatisfactory,
... view more
Charles Town - WV 03-30-2018
MARK ZAMPINO SR Charles Town WV
Posted On 03/30/18
Review No. 124549
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have had this service for more than 7 years and have placed several service calls. I have never had an issue resolved with one call. The only time I have hear promptly from them was when my debit card number changed and they couldn't bill me, then I was flooded with calls, otherwise, I am on the phone for 45-60 minutes EACH time I call. For my dryer, it was down for a good month while they sent Sears out 3 times, then another company to finally get it working. I had to remind them EACH time, I had already paid the deductible. Not having a dryer for a month is not easy with a large family. This is just 1 example of their lack of care, responsiveness and egregious incompetence! They are interested in getting paid, not helping their customers. Their rates went WAY up this year as well as more than doubling the deductible. view less
I have had this service for more than 7 years and have placed several service calls. I have never had an issue resolved with one call. The only time I have hear promptly from them was when my debit card number changed and they couldn't bill me, then I was flooded with calls, otherwise, I am on the phone for 45-60 minutes EACH time I call. For my dryer, it was down for a good month while
... view more
# 124549
Colorado Springs - CO 03-18-2018
Kim Colorado Springs CO
Posted On 03/18/18
Review No. 123946
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Yes this company is crap!!! All I say is stay away read the fine print too. Thought I was getting good deal but nope your still paying lots of money out of your pocket. If I could do negative 5 I would.
# 123946
Total Protect Home Warranty
03-20-2018
Kim - I'm sorry to hear that our coverage did not meet your expectation. Please know we do our best to ensure the claim decision adheres to the warranty Agreement for covered and non-covered charges. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Sincerely - Heather

vancouver - WA 01-11-2018
sherrie vancouver WA
Posted On 01/11/18
Review No. 121458
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service on a gas leak in my furnace. I knew what and where the leak was because the gas company came out first and marked the 2 leaks. Filled claim in 9/11/2017. Finally repairs were done 12/22/2017. I made numerous calls to the Repair service and Total Protect I requested a different company do the work after missed appointments, no return calls, showing up without an appointment to pick up a flashlight repairman let behind and another time showed up but forgot the parts. Only reason repair was finally done was because I made a threat to take legal action. I was told by Total Protect they could not send another company because they didn't have one. When I called to cancel with Total Protect I was jacked around three days of calling, being left on hold an hour + each time after being transfer to three different people and left on hold. While on hold for 45 minutes someone picked up the line and told me I was still in contract. No I was not. He said they automatically renew contracts without your authorization. I have my bank canceling future auto payments. I have filed a complaint with my state and will use small claims court if needed. I've had my dishwasher serviced three times for the same problem and its still not fixed. In my area Sears is the service company for appliances. Sears has never been a good service company. I would have never choose Total Protect if they had disclosed they were Sears Service. I suggest checking out the top ten companies listed with consumer reports. You'll not find Total Protect on that list... Beware view less
Service on a gas leak in my furnace. I knew what and where the leak was because the gas company came out first and marked the 2 leaks. Filled claim in 9/11/2017. Finally repairs were done 12/22/2017. I made numerous calls to the Repair service and Total Protect I requested a different company do the work after missed appointments, no return calls, showing up without an appointment to pick up
... view more
# 121458
Oxford - NC 01-09-2018
Debbie Ramsey Oxford NC
Posted On 01/09/18
Review No. 121356
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I purchased Total Protect Home Warrenty in 2011 due to an aging HVAC system in my home that was sure to go at some point. I have had good experiences with the company for small issues but that aging HVAC unit has been on it’s last leg since December 2, 2017 as the unit is having difficulty striking and we smell raw gas inside the house. Total Protect sent out a service provider who found that the heat
exchanger is cracked. I was required to go to Walmart and purchase a carbon monoxide detector before the service provider left my home or the gas to my unit would not be turned back on by the provider. Since then, my husband and I have had to suffer with respiratory symptoms due to exhaust fumes leaking inside the house whenever the unit starts which is
constant since the temperature has been in single digits. Long story short.
Total Protect has failed miserably. I have spent many hours during the past five weeks on hold waiting for a “representative” due to “high call volumes.” Employees do not care about your problems and have serious customer service skill deficits. I am about to blow a gasket and will cut this company loose as soon as I have resolved this issue. I was initially told that the heat exchanger is
not covered by the warranty and that I would have to contact the service provider to find out how much it would cost me to replace it. I informed her that I had no relationship with her provider and that I would not be replacing an exchanger on a 31 year old unit. When I asked why the exchanger was not covered I was told it is considered an “upgrade”. I was also told that Total Protect had denied $1200 of their service provider’s estimate for “uncovered modifications” and that I can get the replacement at some point if I pay the $1200. Instead of using a service provider that simply replaces a Carrier system with a Carrier, Total Protect sent a Trane contractor who will need to tear out the existing ductwork and electrical for a totally different system! And make ME pay for it! I have gotten 3 estimates for a new Carrier with the lowest being around $5400. Total Protect will agree to pay $2900. I just got off the phone with a “representative.” THEY will “contact me.” Considering Total Protect? My advice? Run!! Run like the wind on this very very cold January morning. view less
I purchased Total Protect Home Warrenty in 2011 due to an aging HVAC system in my home that was sure to go at some point. I have had good experiences with the company for small issues but that aging HVAC unit has been on it’s last leg since December 2, 2017 as the unit is having difficulty striking and we smell raw gas inside the house. Total Protect sent out a service provider who found
... view more
# 121356
Columbia - SC 01-08-2018
Jane Columbia SC
Posted On 01/08/18
Review No. 121309
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
When I complained on Total Protect’s Facebook page about their lack of response to my claim, they removed my posts and banned me from further posting on their Facebook page. This should tell you something about this company. Banning and removing customer complaints only confirms that they aren’t interested in honoring the terms of the warranty that I paid for. They've completely ignored all correspondence. Calling them is impossible b/c of the wait times. view less
When I complained on Total Protect’s Facebook page about their lack of response to my claim, they removed my posts and banned me from further posting on their Facebook page. This should tell you something about this company. Banning and removing customer complaints only confirms that they aren’t interested in honoring the terms of the warranty that I paid for. They've completely ignored
... view more
# 121309
Total Protect Home Warranty
01-26-2018
Jane - I'm sorry to hear that this was your experience. This does not sound right and does not meet our guidelines for removing posts and banning customers. We would definitely like to investigate and address your concerns. Email your property address, contact number and best time to reach you to [email protected] and a member of our team will investigate. Thanks! - Tanya
College Park - GA 01-03-2018
Tracy Nelson College Park GA
Posted On 01/03/18
Review No. 120921
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I called in a claim for my furnace on December 5,2017 they sent a company out on 12-6-17 after his assessment he said that it needed a brain and the warranty would cover it. This message was left with my adult son. After a week of no contact. I called total protect they act as if they had no idea of what I was talking about and that no work order had been sent over and that she was going to call and see what was going on. Of course total protect didn’t call back. So when I reached out to them once again holding for almost 45 mins the customer service rep stated that they just got the order on the 13th and it takes 24-48 hours to make a decision. Are you kidding me I called on the 5th. It is now January 2nd 2018. We’re into another year my house is freezing I have a little baby in my home. And yet no service has been done nor has anyone attempted to call me with any updates. When I call and hold for over 45 minutes I’m always told it’s in research really what kind of company is this. You guys have no problem with deducting my account every month but I can’t give any service what so every when needed. I extremely pissed and will not every recommend this company to anyone and as soon as I get get this issue resolved I will be discontinuing my service. Oh after waiting for over an hour the supervisor said the exact same thing it’s in research and they would expedite the claim. That was last week still waiting on a call from total protect. HORRIBLE SERVICE HORRIBLE BUSINESS view less
I called in a claim for my furnace on December 5,2017 they sent a company out on 12-6-17 after his assessment he said that it needed a brain and the warranty would cover it. This message was left with my adult son. After a week of no contact. I called total protect they act as if they had no idea of what I was talking about and that no work order had been sent over and that she was going to
... view more
# 120921
Pace - FL 12-28-2017
Steven Goins Pace FL
Posted On 12/28/17
Review No. 120635
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
On December 22nd I placed a call (website was down) for a service repair on my pool pump not working. I was told by your agent I would receive an email with work order details and a service provider. After waiting a week, today, December 28th I called again (website still down). I waited an hour on hold to get an answer. After the lady checked my information, I was told my service request was still in a que awaiting for a provider. She placed me on hold and went to check in to it. She came back and said there were no providers in my area (really, in Florida for a pool?). She said I could get a tech on my own, and before any work could be done to contact them and see if they covered it. NO. I told her I wanted to cancel the policy. She put me on hold again and I was able to cancel the policy, with only being ripped off of $53. Avoid this company. I had another before, and switched to Total Protect because they covered washer/dryer. Huge mistake. view less
On December 22nd I placed a call (website was down) for a service repair on my pool pump not working. I was told by your agent I would receive an email with work order details and a service provider. After waiting a week, today, December 28th I called again (website still down). I waited an hour on hold to get an answer. After the lady checked my information, I was told my service request was
... view more
# 120635
Frederick - MD 12-28-2017
Matthew Comanda Frederick MD
Posted On 12/28/17
Review No. 120630
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
This warranty company hires the worst of the worst repair companies. The companies they hire have the worst reviews and are the absolute worst. They will keep putting band aids on appliances without replacing. They have spent thousands on my refrigerator and stove when they could of easily replaced. Now, I can't get any of their service people to come out and repair the stove again. I am cancelling this warranty as soon as this latest repair is completed. if it ever happens. view less
This warranty company hires the worst of the worst repair companies. The companies they hire have the worst reviews and are the absolute worst. They will keep putting band aids on appliances without replacing. They have spent thousands on my refrigerator and stove when they could of easily replaced. Now, I can't get any of their service people to come out and repair the stove again. I am
... view more
# 120630
Marlton - NJ 12-26-2017
S Rana Marlton NJ
Posted On 12/26/17
Review No. 120525
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I filed the claim on December 4,2017 for a cooktop. Scheduled the repair who showed up a day after schedule. They told me will call with update in 24 to 48 hours as it is with their research department. Never received the phone call back. We have not been able to cook for the last 22 days and today when I called they told that they can replace it with the inferior appliance or give the credit for about 40% of the price. The worst customer service. The wait time on each phone call is minimum 45 minutes.Will not recommend to anyone.
view less
I filed the claim on December 4,2017 for a cooktop. Scheduled the repair who showed up a day after schedule. They told me will call with update in 24 to 48 hours as it is with their research department. Never received the phone call back. We have not been able to cook for the last 22 days and today when I called they told that they can replace it with the inferior appliance or give the credit
... view more
# 120525
Harvest - AL 12-20-2017
Ronald Raby Harvest AL
Posted On 12/20/17
Review No. 120373
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Called to file a claim on my Samsung refrigerator on 12/8. The service company came on 12/13 only to tell me that they don't work on Samsung appliances. I called Total Protect back and they said they would find another service company and call me back within 48 hours. After 48 hours and no call back, I called them again. The rep told me they had no record of the previous call but would assign a new service provider. The next service provider came on 12/20 and immediately said they didn't work on Samsung appliances. Total Protect has know all along that my refrigerator was a Samsung! Called them back only to be told that they would send Sears out on 1/9/2018. Asked to speak to manager and was told none were available. Total Protect has no interest in customer satisfaction! Arbitration is the next step. Avoid this company and spread the word. view less
Called to file a claim on my Samsung refrigerator on 12/8. The service company came on 12/13 only to tell me that they don't work on Samsung appliances. I called Total Protect back and they said they would find another service company and call me back within 48 hours. After 48 hours and no call back, I called them again. The rep told me they had no record of the previous call but would assign
... view more
# 120373
Howard Beach - NY 12-19-2017
Sam Leiter Howard Beach NY
Posted On 12/19/17
Review No. 120255
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
No more hair to pull out. With this service for years but am finally at the breaking away point. You can be drowning in your living room but just don't do it on a weekend because none of their contractors will help you. We've had a few decent experiences over the years but most have been terrible. Last Friday, we called because of a boiler problem. It's Tuesday but the contractor still hasn't contacted us. I called yesterday three times and couldn't find out when they were coming. I called today and got a "voicebox is full" message. Total Protect seems to go out of its way to find the lousiest contractors. It's midwinter and a boiler is having problems--and I'm still waiting after 5 days? view less
No more hair to pull out. With this service for years but am finally at the breaking away point. You can be drowning in your living room but just don't do it on a weekend because none of their contractors will help you. We've had a few decent experiences over the years but most have been terrible. Last Friday, we called because of a boiler problem. It's Tuesday but the contractor still hasn't
... view more
# 120255
Howard Beach - NY 12-19-2017
Sam Leiter Howard Beach NY
Posted On 12/19/17
Review No. 120252
2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Customer Service:3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
I'm seriously considering dropping my warranty after many years with this awful company now that there are competitors available. Their contractors are horrible, usually ignoring requests and being unavailable when most desperately needed. Forget about weekends. You can be swimming in a flooded living room but no one will come. My latest headache is a boiler that needs a repair in the middle of winter. I called for service on Friday; it's now Tuesday and no one has contacted me. I called them three times yesterday, to no avail. Today, their "voicemail is full." Screw them and screw this company. I have a lot more to say, and admit that over the years I had a few satisfactory experiences, but the bad ones far outweigh the good. The one I'm having now is the last straw. view less
I'm seriously considering dropping my warranty after many years with this awful company now that there are competitors available. Their contractors are horrible, usually ignoring requests and being unavailable when most desperately needed. Forget about weekends. You can be swimming in a flooded living room but no one will come. My latest headache is a boiler that needs a repair in the middle
... view more
# 120252
Crystal - MN 12-16-2017
Miklos Toth Crystal MN
Posted On 12/16/17
Review No. 120121
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have my furnace broke down, To reach customer service I need wait 1:35 minute to someone pickup the phone. I consistently have to call every day 10 times, nobody follow-up and give the authorization for the repair for the provider. I in my house from Dec 13 to Dec. 16 .2017 with no heat in Minnesota.
Nobody care. I do have a family who freezing in the house, nobody care.
Please never have business with this organization totally careless dishonest. the whole system is a SCAM!! view less
I have my furnace broke down, To reach customer service I need wait 1:35 minute to someone pickup the phone. I consistently have to call every day 10 times, nobody follow-up and give the authorization for the repair for the provider. I in my house from Dec 13 to Dec. 16 .2017 with no heat in Minnesota.
Nobody care. I do have a family who freezing in the house, nobody care.
... view more
# 120121
Allentown - PA 12-16-2017
R George Allentown PA
Posted On 12/16/17
Review No. 120114
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Do not deal with this company, Web site does not work, They keep you on hold for ever until you hang up. Assign service companies and tell you they did not assign the company that can out. I have 2 outstanding claims , I been told that a supervisor is looking into these claims, its been 9 months.
# 120114
lowell - MA 12-12-2017
leda white lowell MA
Posted On 12/12/17
Review No. 119799
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Repair Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
I have had your home protection from 20006 never call for any repairs .my first call was oct when my boiler needed repair .the tect came in and said it had to be replace accepted the credit to have it replace I am still waiting to get pay .one of your rep said the chick was mail out when I call back it was never mail out. why would you play games with people. money is hard to come by that's why I got your protection for my home cause I trusted your company .I pay you never late and you think its ok to walk away with whats due me . I will fight to get my money .I work hard and I deserved to be treated better.thanks view less
I have had your home protection from 20006 never call for any repairs .my first call was oct when my boiler needed repair .the tect came in and said it had to be replace accepted the credit to have it replace I am still waiting to get pay .one of your rep said the chick was mail out when I call back it was never mail out. why would you play games with people. money is hard to come by that's
... view more
# 119799
AMARILLO - TX 12-11-2017
Edwin Schroeter AMARILLO TX
Posted On 12/11/17
Review No. 119774
1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Customer Service:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Service Timeliness:5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating5 Star Rating
Repair Service:2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Overall Rating:1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating1 Star Rating
Deducted with mortgage payment from u.s. Bank. renewal 8-17-17 was cancelled by total protect at US Bank according to letter received from u.s. Bank 7/31/17. Had been deducted along with mortgage payment since January 2014 by US Bank. 42.45 paid by my Amex card 8/1/17 and With credit of 12.45 on 8/17/17 for net payment of $30 for extra refrigerator. everything was supposed to resume with US Bank deducting coverage along with mortgage payment. November 3rd I received a letter from u.s. Bank stating my coverage was removed again. I called Cross Country Home Services beginning at 12:55 p.m. on November 13th. At 1:17 p.m. I gave up being on hold and called US Bank. Ashley employee b8S at u.s. bank called c c h s and held with me until 3:17 p.m. without success. On 11/16 cchs called and I missed the call. Called back immediately and gave up holding after 10 minutes. I now have a letter from Total protect dated December 4th notifying me that I must call no later than January 18th or my coverage May lapse. It is my opinion that they prefer to have my coverage lapse and I want to report them to the governing body that oversees their customer practices. I cannot find what insurance body overseas them to report them so I am writing this complaint here as a second choice. I am a 78 year old man who is lucid but their customer practices are Ludicrous and their license to practice should be revoked view less
Deducted with mortgage payment from u.s. Bank. renewal 8-17-17 was cancelled by total protect at US Bank according to letter received from u.s. Bank 7/31/17. Had been deducted along with mortgage payment since January 2014 by US Bank. 42.45 paid by my Amex card 8/1/17 and With credit of 12.45 on 8/17/17 for net payment of $30 for extra refrigerator. everything was supposed to resume with
... view more
# 119774
Next

Rate Total Protect

You may receive the response within 12-48 hours. Please keep checking your Inbox/Spam/Junk box.

We work very hard to keep our reviews and ratings fair and accurate, so please agree to the following:

  • I am an actual customer, past or present, of the company named in the review.
  • I was not promised a reward of some kind by the company I have written this review for.
  • I am neither an employee of the company nor that of a competitor named in the review.
     I Agree
Please check this box to bring balance to the home warranty industry.
You're all set. Now track Complaint Resolution Program (CRP) to get a status update in the next 48 hours!
Thank you for your contribution. Now you can also vote for your favorite company Total Protect to win 2018 People's Choice award here: https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/poll-for-people?ref=NDE=
Let's keep things clean!

We will not allow short or abusive comments. Existing customers post reviews and companies respond. Contractors must post the reviews at vendors area or contact totalprotect.com directly.