ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  New-Jersey
last_updated_icon Last updated: January 19, 2021

Top New Jersey Home Warranty Companies

Looking for a home warranty in New Jersey? The population in New Jersey is quite high and hence, home warranty companies are in plenty, offering some of the best services in the state. HomeWarrantyReviews.com is a one-stop destination to know about all the top-performing companies in the state.

We’ve compiled a comprehensive database on the New Jersey home warranty companies by collecting customer reviews and ratings on home warranty companies and plans. This helps you in making an informed decision.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period

A Glimpse At Average Premium In New Jersey

The average premium for a home warranty in NJ is $318.98 and the average deductible is $40.55. The graph represents the average costs for home warranties in the state. The X-axis denotes the premium price and the Y-axis denotes the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In New Jersey

Min Average Premium in New Jersey Max $ 320.16 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in New Jersey (NJ) major towns:

Brick Township Camden Clifton
Edison Elizabeth Jersey City
Newark Paterson Toms River

Population : 8,791,894

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Compare Home Warranty Companies In New Jersey

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 13,849 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
mapicon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
3.5
/ 5
Based on 6,993 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,906 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 4,346 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Total Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4.5
/ 5
Based on 722 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

New Jersey Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Homeowners in the northern part of New Jersey experience a climate that varies greatly with its southern part. The northwestern part of the state is the snowiest of all as a result of the highlands. It experiences snowstorms called the Nor’easters.

The freezing temperatures make parts and components of home devices brittle. Cracks can occur as a result of contraction and expansion in these frigid climatic conditions. The cold temperatures can also make home devices to shut down or run staggeringly. A solution to this inconvenience is a home warranty coverage.

In contrast, South New Jersey is much warmer. This means that your appliances like your refrigerators and air conditioners will have to undergo much strain in order to maintain the required cool temperatures. As a result, some components and parts may wear out, run inefficiently, and finverageally come to a halt. But with a home warranty, you can repair or replace components by a professional quickly and inexpensively.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of New Jersey

We have mentioned here some of the best home warranty plans in New Jersey. You can compare the various plans from popular home warranty companies and make a sound investment.

American Home Shield (AHS) is a popular home warranty company in New Jersey. The company offers the Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, Combo Plan, and Build-Your-own-Plan. The price of these range from $299-$500+. You can also cover extra items at an additional cost.

Choice Home Warranty provides two options—the Basic Plan and the Total Plan. The annual premium ranges from $370-$450. As the name suggests, The Total Plan is more comprehensive and covers all items within the basic plan.

First American Home Warranty has a Basic Plan and a Premium Plan. The first covers appliances but not home systems. The Premium Plan covers a combination of both.

The average premium from First American Home Warranty is between $336 to $534. No credit card details required.

Want to protect your house with a New Jersey home warranty plan? Choose the right company and get your free home warranty quote.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In New Jersey

  1. The average cost of living in New Jersey is comparatively higher than the rest of the states, which means repairs and replacements to malfunctioned home devices can be unaffordable. A home warranty coverage, even when serviced by a professional, can make repairs and replacements much affordable.
  2. Do your research about the home warranty company. Don’t just blindly buy a company’s services, as it will cost you dearly later on. Learn about the company’s mission, and the level of customer service they will be offering. Know to what extent the company is willing to cover your appliances and systems, and the kind of personnel they hire to provide services.
  3. Make sure to read the exclusion list and the terms and conditions they set forth when providing coverage. For example, home warranty companies promise to repair or replace appliances, but only when they break down due to normal wear & tear. They do not provide coverage if the component of the appliance has malfunctioned due to improper installation, lack of maintenance, etc.
  4. Usually, home warranty companies that have a long-standing experience, know more about how to provide quality services to customers. Years of experience have given them an idea about what works in the market and what does not. So, it is better to opt for such home warranty companies.
  5. Enquire with the home warranty company about whether they have 24/7 customer support services.
  6. When opting for a home warranty company, do take the time to read online reviews of customers. Most of them write about the professionalism of the contractors, the speed of the delivery of services, the level of customer support, and whether a certain home warranty plan was worth it or not. They also mention the many negative aspects that they have personally experienced. These reviews point out the direction of where you need to invest your money for good returns.

New Jersey Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Read reviews about different home warranty companies that provide services in New Jersey. This will help you gain better insight into the quality of services that they provide. HomeWarrantyReviews.com has compiled several reviews for you to invest in the right plan of the right home warranty company.

Icon

candy reynolds, Rumson

On Jan 19, 2021

First Premier Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very Trustworthy company! **** helped me find a amazing deal for me and my mothers home , they even applied a senior discount for my mother. i had one claim so far for my oven and they came within 24 hours and had it repaired . Very happy with First Premier!

Icon

Salvatore Fattoross, Piscataway

On Jan 12, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been purchasing AHS warranties for 25 years, for my homes. If it didn\'t make financial sense, I would not have continued. The keys are to know what you need to cover and when to call (or not). For example, have a toilet that keeps running? You will pay the same service call fee (I call it a deductible) for a $5 part (and a plumber spending 5 minutes) as you would with a broken-down $2,500 refrigerator. Can you or a buddy change a toilet flapper? Could you afford a new fridge? See what I mean? I believe in the long-run AHS makes a profit, but that bit is piece of mind. About service, some folks that come to my house have been excellent. I few not so much. But the service AHS itself gives is good all the time. One last thing. Understand your contract. Talk it over in detail before you buy, if you need to. The things that one may think that are 'gotch-yas' are only so because the expectations exceeded the coverage.

Icon

Home Bordentown, Trenton

On Oct 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I put a work order in for my fridge and dryer on 8/28 they did not send anyone out until 9/16. They contractor came in and stayed for 10mins. Then said they have to order parts. 2 wks later they returned with one part for the Fridge not dryer, but when they called they said they had both. I called LM (contractor) they said that the dryer part was back ordered. If i didn't call I guess I would not have known.a week later they called and scheduled to come fix my dryer. They finally get here they claim they fixed the dryer 10 minutes later after leaving the dryer stopped running again. I called LM and advised them that the dryer stopped working and at the fridge was still not cooling off as it was prior to breaking down. They said they couldn't get no one out for five to six more days now I'm still waiting. I call AHS today to complain about their services and the contractor services I am still waiting to see how they're going to rectify this issue. I use AHS two times prior to this and really didn't have an issue but now I'm guessing that I'm probably going to seek another place to warranty my home this is outrageous insane it's not only a issue that I had to wait almost a month and a half but I the lack of communication is the most horrible thing that I've dealt with. AHS need to contract with better contractors and they need to get into a corporate meeting and discuss how they're going to better handle their customers in the future I recommend you do your research even more before taking a plan out with AHS.

Icon

Toni Stern, Edison

On Aug 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company\'s strategy is to frustrate long term policyholders in their ability to submit a request and have that request addressed in a reasonable amount of time. The web is limited when it does work and often not working. Hold time are hours, often calls are dropped and their "service" reps are incapable to address policyholder issues. Their strategy is to collect premium and not pay claims. I have stopped doing business with this company and will advise friends and family to do the same.

Icon

Yoon Jeun Kim, Tenafly

On Aug 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It may be because of the temporary Covid situation but American Home shields didn’t have enough vendor options to support my repair needs. In fact, it seemed to have only one vendor option in my area. It took them more than a whole month to fix my refrigerator. AHS gave me a vendor who would not respond me or for that matter AHS themselves for weeks at a time. Each time I tried to reach either AHS or the vendor, it took approximately an hour wait. 3 out of 4 of the AHS representatives that I talked to told me that they would call me back with some arrangement and did not bother to call back. The vendor contact would almost certainly ended up in answering machine.

Icon

Mark Hauerstock, Freehold

On Aug 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our AC failed on one of the hottest summer days. AHS dispatched the technician in a very rapid manner. The technician was professional, solved the electrical problem and had the necessary part to repair our system.

Icon

Victoria Regina, Englishtown

On Jul 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Have had AHS for years. They always send a qualified repair company to handle problems and I\'ve always been very satisfied with service. Only problem is that if you want to call, it can be difficult to get through. Very long hold times.

Icon

Cliff Vander Have, Wayne

On Jul 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have been members of American Home Shield for three years. During that time we have received excellent service when we called with problems concerning our air conditioning, microwave and washing machine. Their response is prompt, communication is plain, their vendors are first rate. We highly recommend American Home Shield to our neighbors and friends.

Icon

Dorothy, Jersey City

On Jul 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield is amazing. They are dependable and reliable. The people they contract with are amazing and very knowledgeable. Speaking as a 73 year old woman whose husband is 89 and can no longer do repairs around the house, this company has given me hope that I can continue to live in my home. You see, I have a good home warranty company to have my back with things.

Icon

Lou Lupo, Barrington

On Jul 16, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Easy to request service online anytime of day and night. Prompt response by contractor. Return visit if needed within 30 days of original service performed with no fee. I have had a contract with AHS for 13 years!

Icon

Kerry Marie OBrien, Jackson

On Jul 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The representative was very nice when he called me back (I was unwilling to wait 45 mins on hold). He understood that in that time I was able to re-register my account online and request service that way.

Icon

William Garvin Jr, Lawnside

On Jun 26, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great experience when my gas oven stopped working, they scheduled an appointment in a timely manner. The service company contacted us in advance and showed up when scheduled and repaired my oven in a timely and outstanding manner.

Icon

SOPHIA , Sicklerville

On Jun 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great repair experience Timely Efficient Professional Thorough The process of requesting service was quick and user friendly Responsive with text and emails about ther status Would highly recommend this home warranty to my friends

Icon

Mark Hicks, Denville

On Jun 12, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I purchased a fridge from Lowes, paid $120 for the 5 year EPP Major Appliance plan, and $75 shipping. The fridge died 2 years later. Took me 2 weeks to get them to send someone out, the tech said it needed too many parts so they would be contacting me to arrange a replacement. However a week goes by and they tell me they are going to exercise the "buy out" clause meaning they are going to reimburse me back the purchase price plus tax only. Lost are the loss of items in the fridge, the 5 year protection plan that is non transferrable and we only got 2 years out of and no refund on that, nor the cost of delivery of a new one or removal of the old one. They did not give the option of replacing it. What they are not covering is about $400 of loss. Having to pay to have a new one delivered and the dead one taken away $100. The balance of the 5 year plan about $80, and the loss of the food. Not a deal by any reach of the imagination.

Icon

Bill McMorrow, Woodcliff Lake

On May 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very satisfied from the time I placed the claim until the repairman came and fixed the problem. The motor on our refrigerator stopped working and I honestly thought it was unfixable. The tech sized up the problem immediately, replaced a part and voila, like new. Put me down as a very happy customer..

Icon

Scott Peters, Mullica Hill

On May 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We received the warranty as part of a real estate sale. We had a number of issues after the sale and they took care of all of them for us. We were always DIY people but this experience has taught the value of a good warranty.

Icon

Cheryl Agron, Wharton

On Apr 30, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Trying to get resolution on broken appliance with extended warranty is horrible. I have bought my last appliance from them. Home Depot is closer and more customer oriented. I bought a new whirlpool refrigerator in 2015 and had a few service calls in 2017 for the ice maker. Now I am having a problem with both the refrigerator and freezer staying cold. The ice melts and no water comes out for 24 x48 hrs. Then it kicks back on by the time the tech gets here. I have lost hundreds of dollars in food & diabetic meds. Refuse to buy back after 5 visits and 4 techs and 2 repair companies. I recently bought a whirlpool washer and dryer from them. Hope I don’t have to go through this crap with them also. Wake up Lowe’s this is the way you lose customers,,,,

Icon

Zameer Ahmad, Howell

On Apr 17, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent experience. I got an email shortly after the claim was created online stating that my claim is assigned to a local company and will be contacted soon. I got the call within 2 hours to schedule the time and the next day tech came to fix the issue. Very professional and courteous service.

Icon

Alex Easton, Freehold

On Apr 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been a client of AHS for over decade and they are truly a wonderful company. They contract with top rated contractors and I have never been more happier with them. Thank you AHS

Icon

Carlos Borrego, Plainfield

On Dec 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Efficient, professional, convenient.

Icon

Joe D, Fords

On Nov 19, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Such a great experience! Our dishwasher drawer needed a latch. They came and ordered the part and within 4 days they had the part in. So happy with American HomeShield!!!

Icon

Martin Pinder, Mullica Hill

On Nov 18, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Tech called within 2 hours of our service request to schedule at our convenience. Problem solved, could not be happier! Takes all the worry out of the equation knowing that American Home Shield is there to help!

Icon

Mana Soma, Plainsboro

On Sep 24, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It is regarding my furnace which was changed last year to new one . . the motor has gone with in one year. called coleman the manufacturer and they will replace the motor and i have to pay $ 230 dollars for installation. It is unacceptable

Icon

Joseph DiTorrice, Belle Mead

On Jul 30, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Absolutely horrible. NOT EVEN ONE STAR AHS did pay for anything. Both my AC and well pump went in the same week. The AC contractor didn\'t call for 4 days. We had to call them. When they finally came, the the service techs hands were tied b/c he said AHS would have to approve more tests and I would most likely need a total replacement. The tech did not fix anything. As for well pump - I had no water for 2 days. No call from AHS, so I had to get a local contractor who came right away. AHS REFUSED to reimburse me for the repair!! No household can survive without water!

Icon

Sharynn Binnig, Riverside

On Jul 27, 2019

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Bought a washing machine that comes with a 1 year MFG warranty and added a 5 year warranty to that. Now, needing service the one year manufactures warranty is not in existence as the 5 year starts the day of purchase! Never had this problem with other purchases. It was 1yr plus the 5 year! Informed us that their policy changed. So, we then actually voided that first year of coverage by the MFG as our extended policy covers that first year too.

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in New Jersey

Home warranty reviews help you understand the pros and cons about different home warranty companies, allowing you to make the right investment. If you have had any experience while interacting with a home warranty company that you would like to share, be it good or bad, go ahead and write a review. Help out other homeowners just like you by contributing to our list of home warranty user experiences.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020