Home Warranty Companies in New Jersey

Coverage in New Jersey (NJ) major towns:

Average Premium in New Jersey: $314.36
Average Deductible in New Jersey: $41.64
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7358
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  2The Home Service Club
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 431
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
BBB Rating C-
Established In 2015
Total Reviews 396
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1675
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  5First American Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1592
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  6HSA Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1639
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  7Choice Home Warranty
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2691
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  8Home Warranty Of America
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1616
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in new-jersey

    Kristin Jimenez Date: 2016-10-19 13:54:55

    Review: Tech from Sears was very knowledgeable and quickly repaired my dryer. He arrived near the end of the window for service, but made the repair quickly from parts he had with him, so there was no additional down time.

    Clifford W Date: 2013-10-01 12:49:30

    Review: The representative who took my initial call was polite and very helpful. Everything was done as expected. Technician arrived on time, was courteous, and explained fully to me what he had done and how. An excellent experience.

    Isaac Greene Date: 2016-02-06 23:17:28

    Review: The contractor replied to my service request within a few hours of my filing the request. The contractor was at my home at 8:00 am the next day as scheduled. He determined the problem, ordered the parts and returned two days to complete the job. The contractor was proper in every way. His uniform was proper and he was careful to not leave the work area dirty. He is a good representative for AHS.

    Deborah Penner Date: 2014-11-13 16:49:23

    Review: What a nightmare. I have had AHS for many years, and have become less and less satisfied with their performance. About a month ago now, the plot light started going out on the hot water heater at my rental property. I called AHS and they sent out a plumber [Lexco Plumbing 973-227-0038] who replaced the thermocouple. The pilot again blew out several times, with my tenant relighting it each time. I called AHS again, and they sent the same plumber out. This man said the second time, that the problem was NOT with the hot water heater, but rather with the venting system for the hot water heater. The Lexco plumber advised me to call a chimney repair person, and this service is not covered by AHS. So, at my own expense, I went to Angie's list, and called the Chimney Repair company with the MOST positive reviews. Those contractors came to my house and wrote a written estimate, which included the statement that "the problem was [not with the venting] but rather with the hot water heater [itself]. So I called AHS back. After they argued with me, they sent out a second plumbing company, [JC Plumbing 201-602-4590] who again said that there was "no problem" with the hot water heater, and, as the first plumbing company,[Lexco] said, the issue was with the venting of the hot water heater. They advised me, again, to call a chimney person. Completely confused, I hired my own plumber, again, at my own expense. Meanwhile, weeks were going by. The contractor I hired immediately diagnosed the problem; the hot water heater was 17 years old, and while the first plumber [Lexco] had replaced the thermocouple, the problem was, in fact, with the thermostatic gas valve, was no longer working, and was repeatedly therefore, blowing the pilot light out. He advised that the hot water heater needed to be replaced. Armed with this information, I contacted AHS again. Of course, you wait in a queue for 1/2 hour at a time, once you call the 800 number. Finally, I spoke with a service rep who said that there were no other options for me. I explained, again, that TWO outside contractors, one, a plumber and one, a chimney repair person had BOTH said that the hot water heater was the problem. The rep said that didn't matter, and that as AHS had now sent two different plumbers to my house [Lexco and JC, with whom AHS contracts] who said the hot water heater was "fine," there was nothing AHS would do, and my case would now be closed. Meanwhile, the pilot light still wouldn't stay lit, and my tenants had been without hot water on and off for several weeks. I asked to speak to a supervisor. I felt that I had done absolutely nothing wrong. In fact, I'd done everything that AHS had recommended i do, [going to the chimney repair company for its opinion] and going even beyond that, again at my own expense--hiring my own plumber for a diagnosis. At first, the rep gave me the run-around; then finally the rep gave me ANOTHER number I could call, within AHS, although she said could not connect me to that number. I called that number, waited another half hour, and was told the following by "Mario," in "Disputes": AHS had already sent out the first plumber, {from Lexco] and then a second plumber from another company, [JC Plumbing] and, as each of two different AHS plumbers had rendered the me opinion, AHS would neither replace my hot water heater nor fix the fact that the pilot light would not stay lit. Of course, I was hopping mad at this point. It sure seemed to me that AHS simply did not want to spend the money on a new hot water heater. It is NOT unreasonable that a 17-year-old hot water heater would begin to fail. In fact, that's a pretty long life for that appliance. And I knew that if I let the hot water heater simply stop functioning completely, I would likely have thousands of dollars in water damage in my home. I asked "Disputes" "Mario" if there were someone else I could speak to. Did he have a supervisor? He said, "NO," that he worked for the lawyers and the policy-makers at AHS, and they, evidently, do not speak to angry customers. Instead, he referred me to yet another number, for "arbitration." 1-800-778-7879. "Mario" would not give me an e-mail address at AHS where I could register my displeasure at this whole situation. So I call yet another number, for "arbitration." Here, I got a lovely woman who informed me that she, in fact, did not work for AHS? Imagine that? She works for an organization that arbitrates disputes between dissatisfied customers and businesses. Because the hot water heater located at my rental property which is not my primary residence, the dispute would have to be filed through her organization's commercial division, costing a minimum of $1550 plus more, if the dispute took longer than one court day to resolve. The estimate I got from my own plumber, to remove of the old hot water heater, and install a new one was about $2,000. In addition, I would have to wait for the company to respond to my initial complaint, file all the paperwork, and pay the $1550 up front. Only if the arbitrator found in my favor could I ask that the $1550 be reimbursed. And in the mean time, my tenants would still be without hot water. What a ridiculous run-around. Oh, and by the way, of course, I tried to cancel my AHS contract yesterday. It is not possible for them to do that over the phone, according to their reps. A customer has to call AHS and request a cancellation. THEN the rep "sends paperwork" to the cancellation people, who THEN have to call me on the phone to confirm that I want to cancel the policy. You can't e-mail this request, and you cannot put this request into writing, TO the company, by regular mail. I'm NOT KIDDING; this is what the reps told me yesterday. Oh, and one final thing; I asked for confirmation, by e-mail, of my request to cancel the contract. I was told that AHS reps are unable to do that, either, in spite of the fact that EVERY TIME I requested any service call, I got an e-mail, from them, confirming that had requested the service call. The plumber I hired was correct; and AHS contract isn't worth the paper it's written on. And by the way, 24 hours after my last conversation with AHS, I still have not received a phone call confirming my request to cancel my contract. it will be interesting to see if anyone even reads what I've written and/or responds to my complaint.

    Tushar Maiti Date: 2012-11-27 12:15:27

    Review: WE experienced the worst service someone can ever imagine in all areas.Not going to renew with them.

    Levi Traylor Date: 2016-02-19 22:02:26

    Review: We have had a few repairs needed within the last year. Every time we experienced fast, friendly, knowledgeable service. The repair or replacement was taken care of quickly and efficiently. I'm so thankful for this home warranty!

    Georgia Date: 2013-11-08 13:02:05

    Review: Even though I was very happy with the service, the guy came 30 min early. Even though I was ready for him, it surprised me. The problem was a piece of putty stuck in the motor. He had no idea how it got there. But once it was removed, the refrigerator works fine! After telling friends and family about this, they said the manufacturers sometimes put this sort of thing to anchor the motor or something. And some how it got loose and was stuck in the motor. This is a FYI!

    David Bloomer Date: 2015-08-23 10:49:34

    Review: In October of 2014, our hot water heater died and leaked water onto our garage floor. After immediately notifying American Home Shield, the contractor, Rite-Away, responded promptly and scheduled a timely appointment to assess and address the equipment failure. The entire problem was successfully resolved in 24 hours with the installation of a new hot water heater, including detailed instructions on its proper operation and preventive maintenance as well as several voluntary upgrades.

    Frederick Vabarsky Date: 2016-04-05 22:51:33

    Review: American Home Schield respounded quickly to our problem and offered advice as to the problem. The company, assigned to correct the situstion, contacted us in a very timely maner. Their service personnel arrived at the time they said they would arrive. The service was quickly identified and corrected.

    donna cook Date: 2015-08-21 12:08:42

    Review: Once I have requested service, I received a call from the contractors office with 30 minutes. Once they called i was scheduled an appointment with 24 hours of call. They contractor came in and fixed my issues, (unless major parts needed to be ordered) and cleaned up after themselves as if they weren't even there. I love using AHS

    Ragan Courtney Date: 2015-07-27 21:30:21

    Review: The oven had baked its last cookie sheet of cookies and went out with a lovely memory wafting through the house. When we tried to crank her up for another batch, nothing happened. Our oven who had served us faithfully since we bought the house five years ago, was dead. Cold. We called the repairman and he was quick to diagnose the fact that the old appliance was eternally nonfunctioning. I called American Home Shield, answered a few elementary questions, and informed us a new oven was on its way. All I had to do was measure, fill our a form and waith for the oven to arrive. In a few days (maybe a week) the new oven arrived and the service men installed it and now we look forward to years of cookies. However, should something happen to this new oven, I don't have to worry because all I have to do is call and American Shield will come to our rescue.

    Larry Watkins Date: 2015-09-23 21:09:27

    Review: I have had AHS since 1998 and the service and coverage have always met my expectations. The contractors have always been professionally competent and have always resolved the problem. I have yet to have to call AHS to complain about a service. For the price paid, I have concluded that AHS is a good value!

    Roy Gamble Date: 2015-08-20 11:59:32

    Review: Friendly helpful customer sevice agents go out of their way to make sure you get your repair. I live in an isolated community, yet AHS has always been there when I needed them with promp service calls and friendly and concerned help. I am now 72 years young an d have been a customer for several years. AHS is a must have for me. I gladly recommend them to everyone.

    Colleen McGuire Date: 2015-08-25 10:33:31

    Review: I think American Home Shield is a very smart investment! I recently had a serious Electrical problem! The company that American Home Shield contracts with is the best! I called them on the very day I had the electrical problem and he was there by the afternoon!i f so relieved that American Home Shield is a choice that I have and a great opportunity for me, as well! I have had American Home Shield for 2 years now and it has saved me quite a lot of money and worry! Thank You!

    Linda Ratliff Date: 2016-05-07 11:30:11

    Review: I need outside authorizations for two of our appliances, mostly the HVAC because it is a specialized trained tech needed. It is n not easy to get someone to respond, but, when they do, they really come through.

    Tanja Salary Date: 2015-09-14 10:40:23

    Review: The services cames at a very important time in the season, the winter storm of 2013-2014 in NC. Just when it was time to hunker down bear the cold, our heater went out. A heater that was just services during the fall once again stopped working when we needed it most. Even through the storm, American Home Shield was able to send people who were prompt and ready to help. My 7 year son could finally sleep in his room, which has been the coldest room in the house until American Home Shield helped.

    Harvey Hamburg Date: 2015-07-10 21:49:05

    Review: Harvey Hamburg 12 N. Madison Ave., Apt#3C • Margate • New Jersey • 08402 • 215-813-5000 • [email protected] To Whom It May Concern: We have been a paying customer of American Home Shield Warranty Service Company for probably over Ten Years. During this period of time, we have had a few service requests and almost every time, there was an issue in a getting prompt service reply. Now, the latest one is really the worst violation of their contract. Before I go further, to get someone on the phone everytime I have called, I spend no less than 2 hours traversing their system and being placed on hold. On July 8, 2015 we had called up to make a service request because our HVAC was not working properly. AHS replaced the HVAC less than two years ago themselves, but when I called them, they had no record of that and told me to place a call the next day. When I called the next day, they assigned a different case number. The first one on July 8 was 328837472 and the new one was 328866772 and was assigned a company by the name of JazzAir. At the time of the Service Request AHS was inform that there is a major health concern pertaining to one of the occupants having severe Asthma. The company that they assigned is some distance away rather than the company that is in my back yard and is the same company that installed the current unit. I was informed that a service person would be here on July 10, 2015 at 10:00am. We waited until 1;30pm to call and ask where is the technician. At that time we were told that he was already here and knocked on the door and no one answered. The problem is that this is an Apartment Building and they were told it was an apartment building. Even show it in our address. We are on the third floor in the rear of the building. There are button directly to the left of the door which is the only way to indicate that someone is outside needing to get in. During the time that the technician was here, we did not receive a phone call from the technician, the service company or AHS nor did we see a business card or something that would indicate that he was here. At that time, I was informed that someone would get back to me to resolve this issue, but first it has to go to a customer service agent and that might take 24-48 hours. By resolving this issue, they want to first talk to the company that sent the technician first to determine whether they should refute my statement or not. They are not trying to send out another technician while they do this research. Meanwhile, we are still without much needed air. Repeated calls end up with the same answer and the people that you talk to, including their supervisors are very cold and non-responsive to the problem. THEY ARE ALSO NOT CONCERNED AT ALL THAT THEY ARE IN VIOLATION OF THEIR CONTRACT WHICH STATES THAT SOMEONE WILL RESPOND TO THE SERVICE REQUEST WITHIN A 24-48 HOUR PERIOD. AMERICAN HOME SHIELD IS CERTAINLY NOT A COMPANY THAT I WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE. THEIR SERVICE CONCERNS WHEN IT COME TO CUSTOMER RELATIONS IS IN THE SEWER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    DENISE WALLACE Date: 2013-03-12 17:11:33

    Review: I live in NJ and I have called AHS 3 times for a washer, furnace, vent in my bathroom did not work, and my microwave over. Even though I had to call 2 times for the washer because they could not come right away, they let me choose my own repairman and they have fixed the problem. The first year customer service was not that great because of the problem to get repairmen, but they have seemed to do a lot better this year and have fixed all of my problems. People were nice and knowledgeable when they did come and they did come on time and within 3 days. I will renew again this year. But it is getting a little pricey for me. Dense W, Hillsbrough, NJ

    Joseph Sais Date: 2015-12-14 22:02:49

    Review: It has been a while since we last used your services, but I call for two different reasons on two of my homes and I was pleased. Fast, friendly service by both you and the contractor that came out to service our unit.

    Rachel H Dagostaro Date: 2014-03-12 10:40:49

    Review: I swear by AHS for my own needs. The response time is so fast, and I've had appliances replaced, main sewer line cleaned out, and central air repaired on the hottest day of the year! The contractors they send are courteous and prompt. The customer service at AHS is excellent - they are attentive and accurate.