Home Warranty Companies in New Jersey

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in New Jersey: $314.36
Average Deductible in New Jersey: $41.64
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7631
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1653
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.3
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.3
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 454
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.7
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.7
  • Overall Rating 4.7
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1834
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1685
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2988
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.9
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 3.9
  • Overall Rating 3.8
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 75
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.3
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.3
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1704
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.6
  • Service Timeliness 3.5
  • Repair Service 3.6
  • Overall Rating 3.5
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1514
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.2
  • Service Timeliness 3.2
  • Repair Service 3.3
  • Overall Rating 3.2
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $369 - $459
Deductible $50
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating A
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 205
Coverage Selected StatesArizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.8
  • Service Timeliness 3.8
  • Repair Service 3.8
  • Overall Rating 3.6
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
>>
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    John Browning Date: 2016-07-31 21:43:37

    Review: Our master bath toilet stopped up and I had no luck at all clearing it. I called AHS. They assigned it to RK Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling, LLC. Within a very short time the order showed on my computer and I received a call from the company wanting to know when they could come out. Javier came, took care of the problem with haste. Such a nice guy, very polite and understanding.

    Jodi Zuk Date: 2012-11-28 08:58:15

    Review: Do not use American Home Sheild. I have been a customer for several years, paying the yearly fee, which has risen dramatically over the years and the $95 service call fee (which has risen from the $45 I paid several years ago). Some years, I felt that it was worth having the insurance, some years not, but in general, I like the security of having it. Now, I have just received a letter stating that AHS is dropping me because I have made too many claims! Isn't that what insurance is for? So, beware, as long as AHS is making money on you, they are happy to take your money. As soon as you are the one "winning" they drop you!

    Scotty Lafoy Date: 2013-12-17 16:34:31

    Review: It could not get much better. It was a weekend. I called and the AHS customer service representative could not have been any more knowledgeable, helpful, and polite. The servicing company was quick and professional. My problem was fixed in a very timely manner. Everything was handled exceptionally well.

    Deborah Penner Date: 2014-11-13 16:49:23

    Review: What a nightmare. I have had AHS for many years, and have become less and less satisfied with their performance. About a month ago now, the plot light started going out on the hot water heater at my rental property. I called AHS and they sent out a plumber [Lexco Plumbing 973-227-0038] who replaced the thermocouple. The pilot again blew out several times, with my tenant relighting it each time. I called AHS again, and they sent the same plumber out. This man said the second time, that the problem was NOT with the hot water heater, but rather with the venting system for the hot water heater. The Lexco plumber advised me to call a chimney repair person, and this service is not covered by AHS. So, at my own expense, I went to Angie's list, and called the Chimney Repair company with the MOST positive reviews. Those contractors came to my house and wrote a written estimate, which included the statement that "the problem was [not with the venting] but rather with the hot water heater [itself]. So I called AHS back. After they argued with me, they sent out a second plumbing company, [JC Plumbing 201-602-4590] who again said that there was "no problem" with the hot water heater, and, as the first plumbing company,[Lexco] said, the issue was with the venting of the hot water heater. They advised me, again, to call a chimney person. Completely confused, I hired my own plumber, again, at my own expense. Meanwhile, weeks were going by. The contractor I hired immediately diagnosed the problem; the hot water heater was 17 years old, and while the first plumber [Lexco] had replaced the thermocouple, the problem was, in fact, with the thermostatic gas valve, was no longer working, and was repeatedly therefore, blowing the pilot light out. He advised that the hot water heater needed to be replaced. Armed with this information, I contacted AHS again. Of course, you wait in a queue for 1/2 hour at a time, once you call the 800 number. Finally, I spoke with a service rep who said that there were no other options for me. I explained, again, that TWO outside contractors, one, a plumber and one, a chimney repair person had BOTH said that the hot water heater was the problem. The rep said that didn't matter, and that as AHS had now sent two different plumbers to my house [Lexco and JC, with whom AHS contracts] who said the hot water heater was "fine," there was nothing AHS would do, and my case would now be closed. Meanwhile, the pilot light still wouldn't stay lit, and my tenants had been without hot water on and off for several weeks. I asked to speak to a supervisor. I felt that I had done absolutely nothing wrong. In fact, I'd done everything that AHS had recommended i do, [going to the chimney repair company for its opinion] and going even beyond that, again at my own expense--hiring my own plumber for a diagnosis. At first, the rep gave me the run-around; then finally the rep gave me ANOTHER number I could call, within AHS, although she said could not connect me to that number. I called that number, waited another half hour, and was told the following by "Mario," in "Disputes": AHS had already sent out the first plumber, {from Lexco] and then a second plumber from another company, [JC Plumbing] and, as each of two different AHS plumbers had rendered the me opinion, AHS would neither replace my hot water heater nor fix the fact that the pilot light would not stay lit. Of course, I was hopping mad at this point. It sure seemed to me that AHS simply did not want to spend the money on a new hot water heater. It is NOT unreasonable that a 17-year-old hot water heater would begin to fail. In fact, that's a pretty long life for that appliance. And I knew that if I let the hot water heater simply stop functioning completely, I would likely have thousands of dollars in water damage in my home. I asked "Disputes" "Mario" if there were someone else I could speak to. Did he have a supervisor? He said, "NO," that he worked for the lawyers and the policy-makers at AHS, and they, evidently, do not speak to angry customers. Instead, he referred me to yet another number, for "arbitration." 1-800-778-7879. "Mario" would not give me an e-mail address at AHS where I could register my displeasure at this whole situation. So I call yet another number, for "arbitration." Here, I got a lovely woman who informed me that she, in fact, did not work for AHS? Imagine that? She works for an organization that arbitrates disputes between dissatisfied customers and businesses. Because the hot water heater located at my rental property which is not my primary residence, the dispute would have to be filed through her organization's commercial division, costing a minimum of $1550 plus more, if the dispute took longer than one court day to resolve. The estimate I got from my own plumber, to remove of the old hot water heater, and install a new one was about $2,000. In addition, I would have to wait for the company to respond to my initial complaint, file all the paperwork, and pay the $1550 up front. Only if the arbitrator found in my favor could I ask that the $1550 be reimbursed. And in the mean time, my tenants would still be without hot water. What a ridiculous run-around. Oh, and by the way, of course, I tried to cancel my AHS contract yesterday. It is not possible for them to do that over the phone, according to their reps. A customer has to call AHS and request a cancellation. THEN the rep "sends paperwork" to the cancellation people, who THEN have to call me on the phone to confirm that I want to cancel the policy. You can't e-mail this request, and you cannot put this request into writing, TO the company, by regular mail. I'm NOT KIDDING; this is what the reps told me yesterday. Oh, and one final thing; I asked for confirmation, by e-mail, of my request to cancel the contract. I was told that AHS reps are unable to do that, either, in spite of the fact that EVERY TIME I requested any service call, I got an e-mail, from them, confirming that had requested the service call. The plumber I hired was correct; and AHS contract isn't worth the paper it's written on. And by the way, 24 hours after my last conversation with AHS, I still have not received a phone call confirming my request to cancel my contract. it will be interesting to see if anyone even reads what I've written and/or responds to my complaint.

    Paula Brooks Date: 2015-10-05 11:29:20

    Review: The one time I had to utilize the services, I received immediate help and someone sent to my house. I had a problem with the contractor returning and again a very helpful customer service rep was able to assist and provide an update as to why he had not returned to complete the job.

    Linette Cainglit Date: 2016-01-26 23:02:30

    Review: We have used so many companies that American Home Shield sent us for our house needs over 7yrs. We have satisfied each every works that has been requested. Simply We thank you for your services. No headache, No watting and No braking banks!!

    Isaac Greene Date: 2016-02-06 23:17:28

    Review: The contractor replied to my service request within a few hours of my filing the request. The contractor was at my home at 8:00 am the next day as scheduled. He determined the problem, ordered the parts and returned two days to complete the job. The contractor was proper in every way. His uniform was proper and he was careful to not leave the work area dirty. He is a good representative for AHS.

    Ragan Courtney Date: 2015-07-27 21:30:21

    Review: The oven had baked its last cookie sheet of cookies and went out with a lovely memory wafting through the house. When we tried to crank her up for another batch, nothing happened. Our oven who had served us faithfully since we bought the house five years ago, was dead. Cold. We called the repairman and he was quick to diagnose the fact that the old appliance was eternally nonfunctioning. I called American Home Shield, answered a few elementary questions, and informed us a new oven was on its way. All I had to do was measure, fill our a form and waith for the oven to arrive. In a few days (maybe a week) the new oven arrived and the service men installed it and now we look forward to years of cookies. However, should something happen to this new oven, I don't have to worry because all I have to do is call and American Shield will come to our rescue.

    Frederick Vabarsky Date: 2016-04-05 22:51:33

    Review: American Home Schield respounded quickly to our problem and offered advice as to the problem. The company, assigned to correct the situstion, contacted us in a very timely maner. Their service personnel arrived at the time they said they would arrive. The service was quickly identified and corrected.

    Henry Adams Date: 2015-12-24 22:37:55

    Review: Whenever there was a problem with my home called American Home Sheild they immediately set me up with the contractor the contractor responded in a timely fashion and my problems were resolved thank you for it successful year American Home Sheild

    Jason Boone Date: 2015-11-15 11:14:55

    Review: When half the lights and outlets in our house stopped working, we naturally thought of American Home Shield. When my wife called, the agent was so kind and helpful. She immediately set us up with a contractor who is located near us. The contractor was here the next day, at the time he said he would be. He was very polite, professional, clean and well dressed. He diagnosed the problem and had it fixed within the hour. He did it right. We have had no further problems. The only charge was our copay. I think that is what it is called. We are really glad we had the American Home Shield home warranty. American Home Shield saved the day again.

    Yvette Arline Date: 2015-06-13 10:36:02

    Review: Prompt service was provided when I opened a ticket online for my AC unit. I was contacted right away, an appointment was scheduled and a service person arrived to determine the problem. A part was ordered and installed a few days later and the unit was repaired. So far so good. I haven't turned the AC unit on yet this season but I'm confident if service is needed AHS will handle my needs.

    JAMES MERTEN Date: 2017-02-03 05:25:57

    Review: I would not own a home without American Home Shield. Have always fixed all problems with our older home.

    Lynnette Sinders Date: 2015-09-09 11:10:49

    Review: American Home Shield quickly answered my request for service and all of my questions. They were very clear with the process and information regarding the service provider. I appreciate American Home Shield watching out for me and my home.

    Michael Hawke Date: 2016-06-24 22:00:35

    Review: In the most recent experience, all aspects went very well. In the past, we've had significant problems with a lag time between the time when we called AHS and when the contractor contacted us...up to 3 days! But this problem has been greatly improved! The contractor called us very quickly, and I believe the problem was fixed the same day that we called AHS! Also, the contractor was excellent in every way; they have a great reputation in the community.

    DENISE WALLACE Date: 2013-03-12 17:11:33

    Review: I live in NJ and I have called AHS 3 times for a washer, furnace, vent in my bathroom did not work, and my microwave over. Even though I had to call 2 times for the washer because they could not come right away, they let me choose my own repairman and they have fixed the problem. The first year customer service was not that great because of the problem to get repairmen, but they have seemed to do a lot better this year and have fixed all of my problems. People were nice and knowledgeable when they did come and they did come on time and within 3 days. I will renew again this year. But it is getting a little pricey for me. Dense W, Hillsbrough, NJ

    Vanessa Capps Date: 2016-09-12 04:31:08

    Review: American Home Shield (AHS) was prompt in fixing problem that arises. The contractor was dress professional and was friendly, was able to fix the furnace in an timely manor. I have been with AHS for over fifteen years and will continue to be with them. The representatives are nice and they listen to you for that reason I will stay with them.

    Richard Owen Date: 2015-07-07 11:42:44

    Review: It was the middle of busy season for heating. The contractor AHS Sent out fit me into his schedule right away. He was very professional and clear about was needed to fix the situation. I was extremely happy that I have American Home Shield back up for protecting my home and family.

    Carolyn Hodo Date: 2016-03-25 22:01:37

    Review: All issues that I have had with my home so far (both heating and a/c) have been met with a quick response time by the contractor and speedy resolution of the problem. The issues were not major in both cases, but the repairmen were very helpful and willing to return several times to ensure the issue was fixed.

    Laura Ruge Date: 2015-07-25 20:35:18

    Review: American Home Shield had been our peace of mind when starting out with our first home. All our anxieties about the quality and condition of the appliances and systems in our home were put to rest knowing AHS was there to help us if the need arises. / / And boy did the need arise. / / We have had a few issues over the years, and all of them were taken care of fast, with one low copay, and with quality parts and service. And speaking of service, when we had a great experience with one service company, AHS allowed us to request them again when a second issue came up. Knowing that not only is awesome service available, but also the option to develop a relationship with the repair company makes for a great experience overall. / / I could not imagine having gone through the tribulations that we have as new home owners without AHS, and I recommend them to all homeowners for that same peace of mind that we enjoy.