ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  New-jersey
last_updated_icon Last updated: September 28, 2022

Top New Jersey Home Warranty Companies

Looking for a home warranty in New Jersey? The population in New Jersey is quite high and hence, home warranty companies are in plenty, offering some of the best services in the state. HomeWarrantyReviews.com is a one-stop destination to know about all the top-performing companies in the state.

We’ve compiled a comprehensive database on the New Jersey home warranty companies by collecting customer reviews and ratings on home warranty companies and plans. This helps you in making an informed decision.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

A Glimpse At Average Premium In new jersey

The average premium for a home warranty in NJ is $318.98 and the average deductible is $40.55. The graph represents the average costs for home warranties in the state. The X-axis denotes the premium price and the Y-axis denotes the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In new jersey

Min Average Premium in new jersey Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in new jersey (NJ) major towns:

Brick Township Camden Clifton
Edison Elizabeth Jersey City
Newark Paterson Toms River

Population : 8,791,894

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

Compare Home Warranty Companies In New Jersey

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Special Offer

First Month Free

plus_icon_home

Limited Roof Coverage

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

New Jersey Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Homeowners in the northern part of New Jersey experience a climate that varies greatly with its southern part. The northwestern part of the state is the snowiest of all as a result of the highlands. It experiences snowstorms called the Nor’easters.

The freezing temperatures make parts and components of home devices brittle. Cracks can occur as a result of contraction and expansion in these frigid climatic conditions. The cold temperatures can also make home devices to shut down or run staggeringly. A solution to this inconvenience is a home warranty coverage.

In contrast, South New Jersey is much warmer. This means that your appliances like your refrigerators and air conditioners will have to undergo much strain in order to maintain the required cool temperatures. As a result, some components and parts may wear out, run inefficiently, and finverageally come to a halt. But with a home warranty, you can repair or replace components by a professional quickly and inexpensively.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of New Jersey

We have mentioned here some of the best home warranty plans in New Jersey. You can compare the various plans from popular home warranty companies and make a sound investment.

American Home Shield (AHS) is a popular home warranty company in New Jersey. The company offers the Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, Combo Plan, and Build-Your-own-Plan. The price of these range from $299-$500+. You can also cover extra items at an additional cost.

Choice Home Warranty provides two options—the Basic Plan and the Total Plan. The annual premium ranges from $370-$450. As the name suggests, The Total Plan is more comprehensive and covers all items within the basic plan.

First American Home Warranty has a Basic Plan and a Premium Plan. The first covers appliances but not home systems. The Premium Plan covers a combination of both.

The average premium from First American Home Warranty is between $336 to $534. No credit card details required.

Want to protect your house with a New Jersey home warranty plan? Choose the right company and get your free home warranty quote.

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In New Jersey

  1. The average cost of living in New Jersey is comparatively higher than the rest of the states, which means repairs and replacements to malfunctioned home devices can be unaffordable. A home warranty coverage, even when serviced by a professional, can make repairs and replacements much affordable.
  2. Do your research about the home warranty company. Don’t just blindly buy a company’s services, as it will cost you dearly later on. Learn about the company’s mission, and the level of customer service they will be offering. Know to what extent the company is willing to cover your appliances and systems, and the kind of personnel they hire to provide services.
  3. Make sure to read the exclusion list and the terms and conditions they set forth when providing coverage. For example, home warranty companies promise to repair or replace appliances, but only when they break down due to normal wear & tear. They do not provide coverage if the component of the appliance has malfunctioned due to improper installation, lack of maintenance, etc.
  4. Usually, home warranty companies that have a long-standing experience, know more about how to provide quality services to customers. Years of experience have given them an idea about what works in the market and what does not. So, it is better to opt for such home warranty companies.
  5. Enquire with the home warranty company about whether they have 24/7 customer support services.
  6. When opting for a home warranty company, do take the time to read online reviews of customers. Most of them write about the professionalism of the contractors, the speed of the delivery of services, the level of customer support, and whether a certain home warranty plan was worth it or not. They also mention the many negative aspects that they have personally experienced. These reviews point out the direction of where you need to invest your money for good returns.

New jersey Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Read reviews about different home warranty companies that provide services in New Jersey. This will help you gain better insight into the quality of services that they provide. HomeWarrantyReviews.com has compiled several reviews for you to invest in the right plan of the right home warranty company.

Icon

Zak Kneider, Hillsborough

On Aug 04, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Worst company EVER! Do Not Buy a Lowe’s product if u want to purchase extended warranty. It’s always a sucker bet. This time we were the suckers. 2x over. Over 12 hours on phone. Wrong parts ordered , confirmed appointments cxld, no one accountable and no concessions. LOSS

Icon

Wendy Schmidt, Toms River

On Jul 31, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We were impressed with our service provider who came to our house at 8 pm to fix our air conditioning !Everything moved smoothly and we were well informed of their ETA.

Icon

Aj, Bound Brook

On Jul 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This was the worst experience, the tech came out my 2 sump pumps are very old made out of steel! They need to be replaced he said he will go back and let the company know! That was months ago and no response! I tried cancelling my contract and the wait time is ridiculous, when I did talk with someone they kept trying to make me keep the contract after I told them numerous times I wanted to cancel my contract!

Icon

Larry David, West Long Branch

On Jun 29, 2022

First Premier Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Amazing! after my first claim with them they came down to fix my dryer and had the new one replaced for me. Thank you tys** in claims for assisting on my claim

Icon

Patrick Pasqua, Colts Neck

On Jun 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Satisfied customer of AHS for over 8 years. Even during pandemic service was great. Plumbing, Heating, A/C, Electrical, Well pump and other issues were all handled expertly. Glad our realtor recommended AHS,

Icon

Jake, Bayonne

On Jun 22, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I called about a brand new stove the day after it was installed. The Manufacturer\'s Tech came down and ordered over $800.00 (retail) worth of parts. It appeared to me everything but the burners. I reached out to Lowes for help. They did not want to know anything and said the manufacturer had to try 4 times. The situation dragged on from February to May. When the company installed a new range. (for 3 months we were without an oven) My first attempt at contacting Lowes Service I found that my address was listed as being in Manhattan instead of NJ. (the contract says that if you move the stove and not notify them, the contract would be void) I showed them the problem and they siad they would fix it . But, they couldn't help me with the problems. The second time I called them was to change the coverage from the range that was removed to the new one they installed. I noticed again the address was still incorrect. Then we went round and round about the contract. She said I must apply for a refund on the balance of the contract. I questioned "balance" since they didn't do anything under the contract with the old or new range. I didn't get an answer. I applied for a refund and when I looked it had been pro-rated for the months of coverage. It was only a few dollars. But, I am totally bewildered. If they were not obligated to replace my new range nor repair it, then what exactly was I paying for ? My recoomendation is to not buy an exteneded warranty from Lowes until after the Manufacturer's Warranty is about to expire. Why pay for a duplication of service or a year where they are collecting money for nothing. PS I attempted to put these comments on the Lowes website a week ago and it seems to have gotten lost during review.

Icon

Danny Corral, Somerset

On Jun 21, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I can’t believe you charged me $133.39 when I pay warranty monthly! Your plumber simply replaced a faucet hose. It would have cost me cheaper if I had the work done directly and with no warranty!

Icon

Asiel yera , Farmingdale

On May 17, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Worst customer service ever I haven’t heard back from someone about not being able to find parts for my machine in 4 months I call every week sit on Hold for 3 hours and get the same run around every time

Icon

Sheniece Bunyan, Elizabeth

On Apr 20, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was able to get a plumber to address some leaking pipes in my home. They also gave helpful information regarding a toilet that was installed wrong. This service is definitely worth it because it does save my wallet from expensive repairs.

Icon

Joe, Dunellen

On Apr 19, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The two plumbers performed a great service here at my home. They provided very helpful information to avoid issues in the future. They produced a fast resolution to my problem. I recommend this service company to anyone with plumbing issues.

Icon

Reno Caponi, Hammonton

On Apr 07, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

they took the money , monthly fee and service fee deductible and never finished the job. Try to contact them here in the US but no such luck. No mailing or email address. to be found Phone will connect to a foreign country operator that will tell you "We are sorry " over and over again, no matter how many time you call, but no follow-up. Took my money and ren untill I cancelled it.

Icon

Linda Towey Krayton, Caldwell

On Apr 02, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield has been providing excellent contractors for a variety of issues that include; electric, plumbing and appliance repair. Very satisfied with their choices for contractors and have kept the names of all for reference. I have also provided 2 other people with my recommendations for this company and both have signed up. I just never received any credit for this on my account, however, it did not stop me from providing to my neighbor yesterday a solid recommendation.

Icon

James Thompson, Barnegat

On Mar 22, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Contractor was identified and assigned in a timely manner. Problem was quickly diagnosed and parts ordered. Parts were received and problem resolved. Very satisfied with the entire process.

Icon

Dawanna Queen Glama Chandler, Plainfield

On Mar 02, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Had a very positive experience with R***** and J*** who were dispatched for our clogged plumbing issue by P**Mechanical. On time, professional and cheerful personalities. Resolved the issue and worked great as a team.

Icon

Terrence, Bloomfield

On Feb 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield sent the same company to my house three times to fix my dishwasher and the company never fixed it. I asked them to send someone else and they wouldn’t. They wanted to send the same company a fourth time.

Icon

Terrence, Bloomfield

On Feb 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield sent the same company to my house three times to fix my dishwasher and the company never fixed it. I asked them to send someone else and they wouldn’t. They wanted to send the same company a fourth time.

Icon

Alton Jackson, Bound Brook

On Feb 04, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My experience was great the tech (V*****)came early was very nice and Informative. He gave a solution to correct the problem and it went of without a hitch. V***** cleaned up behind himself and made sure everything was working properly befor he left!

Icon

Tom Kelly, Howell

On Jan 16, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have had AHS for over 20 years. I have an older home and have had many service calls some even major. I felt let down once in all those calls and that was because of the service provider. AHS provided a resolution that was fair and reasonable. I recommend them to homeowners all the time.

Icon

Tae, Closter

On Jan 07, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very professional and very timely. L*** was very friendly and very understanding. She did everything possible to get the job done as quick as possible. M****** was friendly and very knowledgeable. Was able to figure out the issue and correct it

Icon

vinny casale, Waldwick

On Oct 30, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

L*** and F**** from L****** P******* really came through for me again! Fast and professional. My furnace was fixed within hours of my call. Really takes things seriously and know how important it is to take care of customers.

Icon

Mary Fried, Newfield

On Aug 20, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

F**** from Plumbing Specialties was courteous and professional. He arrived on time and delivered the quickly and made the repair. AHS customer service is helpful in providing updates and follow ups

Icon

Dyanne Jones, Williamstown

On Aug 05, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am writing to complain. I called the service for a leaky faucet repair in April 2021. P******* s******* responded. On the first visit the tech recommended that I needed a new faucet. He ordered it n I was to call when it arrived. To b on the safe side I went out n purchased two faucets just in case. The tech was unable to use the faucet ordered n used one of the faucets I purchased. I have put in three request following directions to rcvd a refund for the faucet that I purchased n was used. Every call is at if I’m speaking a different language. I’m told it’s not documented. I’m pretty fed up with the poor response n sorry I allowed the tech to take the faucet that was ordered with him. Mayb someone can fix this or find my paperwork so that I can receive a refund. I paid $147.00 for faucet purchased at L****. I have misplaced the receipt. Sincerely, Dy Jones

Icon

Josh miller, Trenton

On Jul 12, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I purchase my home in February of this year at the advise of our agent we got a home warranty not thinking I would ever need to use it. Well last Wednesday I got home from work to find my water heater had exploded and was flooding my basement. I reached out to make a claim. I was advised a company would reach out to me “shortly.” I was notified 24 hours later that a plumbing company would be out the next morning sometime between eight am and one pm. The Plummer showed up right at eight am on Friday morning he was at my home for about seven minutes to tell I needed a new water heater which I aleady knew. I called the warranty company after the Plummer was out. I was told they were still waiting for the report from the plumber before a decision would be made so at this point it’s been three days without water and was told I should hear something by Monday. I get an email Monday morning letting me know a replacement has been approved and to call in. So I did. I was then told I would need to pay for a new gas line and the permit to replace the heater fine no biggie let’s get this going. I was then told I needed to contact the plumber to go to the next step I call the plumber and was advised the warranty company needed to order the water heater so the plumber could proceed so I call the warranty company back to find out if the water heater was ordered and how long it will take to get as it’s now been five days and I don’t have water. I was told another rep from the warranty company would be reaching out to me but couldn’t tell me when but to keep my phone on as it will be “shortly.” And asked me to stay on the line to fill out a survey which at this point I’ve already done twice. Be I’m mad I’m done doing surveys I’m still waiting to hear from the rep and it’s now the end of they day I hear nothing but get a request to do another survey. It’s now been six days I have no water no water heater and no answer on how much longer I’m going to have to wait to not only get this fixed but to get some kind of timeline on how long I’m going to go without running water in my house this a joke. I could have gone to homedepot last Wednesday night got a new water heater and replaced this already but since I have this what seems like a useless warranty I waiting. I’ve now had to buy a gym membership just so I have a place to shower and buy a water tank to make sure my dogs have water. I before I purchased this warranty I had someone reaching out to me daily to purchase this warranty I feel there is more staff selling the warranty than there is servicing the claims. I hope this is an eye opener into how your company treats people after the warranty is purchased as there doesn’t seem to be any sense of urgency in fixing something so vital for a home owner.

Icon

Josh miller, Trenton

On Jul 12, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I purchase my home in February of this year at the advise of our agent we got a home warranty not thinking I would ever need to use it. Well last Wednesday I got home from work to find my water heater had exploded and was flooding my basement. I reached out to make a claim. I was advised a company would reach out to me “shortly.” I was notified 24 hours later that a plumbing company would be out the next morning sometime between eight am and one pm. The Plummer showed up right at eight am on Friday morning he was at my home for about seven minutes to tell I needed a new water heater which I aleady knew. I called the warranty company after the Plummer was out. I was told they were still waiting for the report from the plumber before a decision would be made so at this point it’s been three days without water and was told I should hear something by Monday. I get an email Monday morning letting me know a replacement has been approved and to call in. So I did. I was then told I would need to pay for a new gas line and the permit to replace the heater fine no biggie let’s get this going. I was then told I needed to contact the plumber to go to the next step I call the plumber and was advised the warranty company needed to order the water heater so the plumber could proceed so I call the warranty company back to find out if the water heater was ordered and how long it will take to get as it’s now been five days and I don’t have water. I was told another rep from the warranty company would be reaching out to me but couldn’t tell me when but to keep my phone on as it will be “shortly.” And asked me to stay on the line to fill out a survey which at this point I’ve already done twice. Be I’m mad I’m done doing surveys I’m still waiting to hear from the rep and it’s now the end of they day I hear nothing but get a request to do another survey. It’s now been six days I have no water no water heater and no answer on how much longer I’m going to have to wait to not only get this fixed but to get some kind of timeline on how long I’m going to go without running water in my house this a joke. I could have gone to homedepot last Wednesday night got a new water heater and replaced this already but since I have this what seems like a useless warranty I waiting. I’ve now had to buy a gym membership just so I have a place to shower and buy a water tank to make sure my dogs have water. I before I purchased this warranty I had someone reaching out to me daily to purchase this warranty I feel there is more staff selling the warranty than there is servicing the claims. I hope this is an eye opener into how your company treats people after the warranty is purchased as there doesn’t seem to be any sense of urgency in fixing something so vital for a home owner.

Icon

Wendy Boudreau, Far Hills

On Jun 04, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I am writing because once again we have a problem with the a/c/heating company and the scope of work they want to do versus what is required, once again their quote and work request is beyond what needs to be done The seem to continually look to have heating and cooling units replaced by them. I looked online and they have terrible reviews on line and just want to sell ac units. I never want them in this home again. This time the issue/scam is as follows: Jeff from the ac/heating company called to say that they needed to do a significant amount of work and over $2600 was not covered by HSA I said that I was totally confused by this since: The a/c/heating mechanic who was here yesterday said that the air conditioning unit just needed about 2 pounds of refrigerant and would be fine. It did not need any additional work He also said that he would return today to do it. He did not return today. PSE&G was here on Tuesday and stated that the a/c unit needed 2 pounds of refrigerant and nothing else. This is another instance where PSE&G diagnosed the work as significantly less than Alpine. Per previous correspondence, in 2018 the ac/heating vendor stated that we need a new unit when we did not need it. PSE&G fixed it. At best this is questionable. I offered Jeff from the a/c company to put the refrigerant in and he declined stating that he wanted us to pay the $2600 or replace the unit. By the way his cost to replace the unit is $5,000 higher than PSE&G again questionable ($20,000 vs. $5,000). He wanted $20,000 for each unit even with HSA contribution. Jeff said that I can submit the bill from PSE&G to HSA for payment. I will do so once I receive the bill. At best Alpine's practices are questionable. Many of their customer reviews are 1 star and stating they are unethical. I think that you need to look at the reviews as well as their practices, they clearly just want to sell units from your work orders. I will send you the PSE&G bill for the refrigerant once I receive it and appreciate its payment. There is no way to e-mail AHS or to talk to a supervisor.

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in New Jersey

Home warranty reviews help you understand the pros and cons about different home warranty companies, allowing you to make the right investment. If you have had any experience while interacting with a home warranty company that you would like to share, be it good or bad, go ahead and write a review. Help out other homeowners just like you by contributing to our list of home warranty user experiences.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
user survey
Feedback Questions

How can we improve your experience on our site?

Please provide a feedback

For company specific reviews click here

from ,

requested a free quote