ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /   us  /   New-mexico
last_updated_icon Last updated: October 20, 2021

Best Home Warranties in New Mexico

New Mexico is home to breathtaking scenery with vast plains, and vibrant sunsets making it a one-of-a-kind place to settle. However, it is also prone to thunderstorms, lightning, wildfires, and other weather phenomena which can accelerate the rate of wear and tear of home systems and appliances. Home maintenance can cost over $15,000 per year in New Mexico and therefore, frequent repairs can burn a hole in your household budget.

A home warranty covers the essential home systems and appliances in the event of mechanical breakdowns and reduces repair and replacement costs drastically. New Mexico has numerous home warranty companies that cover critical devices making it difficult to choose the right one. Therefore, we researched & gathered reviews for some of the home warranty providers in New Mexico to help you pick the most suitable plans.

thp_popular_img.png GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE
Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

ServicePlus Home Warranty

  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Top Home Warranty Companies in New Mexico

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$370 - $450

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon
offer_img

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
cinch logo
Get Free Coverage For First 2 Months * Get your first two months free when you choose the monthly billing option on your purchase of a new annual Appliances, Built-in Systems or Complete Home Plan. Excludes optional coverage and add-ons. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Not available in Iowa, Washington, Arizona, Massachusetts, Hawaii and Alaska
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon
offer_img

featured-icon

They offer protection from unknown pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$420-$744

SERVICE FEE

$75-$150

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick and choose particular items you want to protect and Build-Your-Own Plan.

PRICING

$299 - $500+

SERVICE FEE

$75, $100, $125

mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers exciting discounts and budget protection.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$500-$599

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

At times, they cut down the waiting period to a mere 10 days and begin protecting your devices.

PRICING

$400

SERVICE FEE

$65, $95, $125

mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick the premium and deductible amounts in your policy and pay as you like.

PRICING

$499

SERVICE FEE

$50, $100, or $125

mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are the only company that covers mobile homes.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$299 - $499

SERVICE FEE

$60

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you a 13-month home warranty plan that provides exceptional coverage options.

PRICING

$275 - $695

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

mapicon

Complete Appliance Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • One of very few companies to not charge deductible/service fees
  • Live support available 24/7
  • Over 40,000 customers served across the country
mapicon

featured-icon

No exclusion for pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$380 - $720

SERVICE FEE

N/A

mapicon

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In New Mexico

  1. A home seller’s warranty in New Mexico can reduce the chances of receiving complaints about flaws in the property's systems and appliances after the sale. Therefore, if your home is on the market, you should consider reducing your liabilities with a home warranty plan.
  2. If you get the warranty through a sales rep directly, make sure they have properly explained the New Mexico home warranty contract clauses. Many people don’t realize that a home warranty doesn’t always cover the full cost of the replacement but usually, gives a prorated amount, subject to coverage caps.
  3. If you're considering buying a home warranty, you should check whether the plan covers everything that you need. You should read the contract carefully to understand the exclusions for each device.
  4. If you’re buying a pre-owned home with a warranty service contract, ask the previous owner for service records of home systems and appliances. If they are not including a home warranty, you can ask for the same. It will help you reduce the chances of claim denials.
  5. Though the home warranty company may not require a home inspection it's advisable to get one. A home inspection proves that the devices had no pre-existing conditions and reduces the risk of claim denial. However, there are a few companies in the market that exclude pre-existing conditions from warranty coverage.

New Mexico Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

New Mexico has a moderate dry or semi-arid continental climate with little precipitation and plenty of sunlight. Generally, one sees hot summer days, requiring cooling home appliances to work overtime, reducing their lifespan. Thus, purchasing a home warranty can save you from the high repair cost of these devices.

And let's face it, when it is 100° F outside, the last thing you want is to be saddled with a broken air conditioner.

Even though the state encounters limited rainfall, thunderstorms and lightning are common occurrences. The humidity and power surges can speed up the normal turnover of home devices. The resultant repairs will be much less expensive if you have a home warranty. Access to skilled repair technicians can also make your life easier.

A Glimpse at Average Premium in New Mexico

The average premium paid by a home warranty customer in New Mexico is around $318.98 per year, and the deductible is around $65.55. We have created a graph where the X-axis displays the price of the premium and the Y-axis shows the number of homeowners, to help you understand the price ranges better.

Average Premium In new mexico

Min Average Premium in new mexico Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in new mexico (NM) major towns:

Alamogordo Albuquerque Clovis
Farmington Hobbs Las Cruces
Rio Rancho Roswell Santa Fe

Population : 2,056,349

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Best Home Warranty Plans in The State Of New Mexico

We’ve evaluated some of the plans offered by New Mexico's most popular home warranty companies and presented the top choices. You can select the most suitable plan by reviewing critical factors like premiums, coverage, deductibles, ratings, and so on.

  1. Choice Home Warranty- Choice Home Warranty offers two plans, which cover major home systems and appliances. The Basic Plan covers the major home system and devices except the refrigerator, dryer, AC and clothes washer while the Total Plan is a good option for the residents who want to cover a few core home systems and appliances.
  2. American Home Shield-. American Home Shield not only has three standard coverage plans, the ShieldGold Plan, The ShieldSilver Plan and the ShieldPlatinum Plan. They also offer add-on coverage so that homeowners can customize the plan. AHS’ ShieldPlatinum Plan appeals to New Mexico home buyers because of the good coverage limits and unique inclusions.
  3. Service Plus Home Warranty- Service Plus Home Warranty offers two plan options: Gold and Platinum. This company stands out for two reasons - exhaustive add-ons (such as limited roof leak coverage, a second refrigerator, and pool/spa coverage to name a few) and great discounts. The Platinum Plan offers comprehensive coverage to all essential home devices while the Gold Plan provides coverage for 15 significant home appliances and systems.

Based on consumer experience, we recommend considering Choice Home Warranty Total Plan. Get your free home warranty quote today if you want to discover the specific price details for any top companies!

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a home warranty worth it in New Mexico?

New Mexico faces scorching summers where your devices have to work overtime, resulting in unexpected repair costs, so having a home warranty may protect you from the hidden financial risks. It covers the repair and replacement costs of your home's vital systems and appliances if they fail due to regular wear and tear. If your home is aging, you may find a home warranty worthwhile.

How much will a home warranty cost in New Mexico?

The cost of a home warranty in New Mexico is about $30 to $60 per month. Most companies will let you pay for the plan on a monthly basis, making it more affordable. You can also include Add-On Coverage options to your warranty plan, or buy it later on (within 60 days of plan purchase). This can make your home warranty charge you an additional fee, depending on how many add-ons you buy.

The deductible costs range from $65-$150. The lower the monthly plan cost, the greater the deductible (for companies that offer a choice). If you anticipate using the warranty more than three times a year, a plan with a smaller deductible will be more affordable.

How does a home warranty work?

Home warranty operations are a straightforward process. You must contact the home warranty company if a covered home system or appliance at your residence begins malfunctioning. The home warranty company will then schedule a visit with a technician to diagnose the problem. In case the issue becomes unfixable, the home warranty provider may make arrangements to replace the appliance as per the contract coverage.

Are new home warranties worth it?

Purchasing a new home warranty may be a worthwhile expense. If you have bought second-hand home systems and appliances or moved the old ones into your new home, a new home warranty may be helpful. They aren’t useful for devices covered by OEM warranties. Do note that a new home warranty for construction is an entirely different product

What are the top home systems & appliance problems I may face?

Our users have reported some major issues faced by home systems and appliances in New Mexico, as:

  1. Plumbing System- Blockage in the drain & sewer lines, stoppages, leaks, water breaks, and clogged drain vent lines
  2. Washing machines- Water leakage and the machine not draining
  3. Air conditioners- Breakdown of the cooling function
  4. Dryers- Overheating or clothes remaining damp
  5. Dishwashers- Dishes remaining dirty and lack of drainage

When should I buy a home warranty?

You can buy a home warranty whenever you feel the need for one, such as after purchasing a pre-owned home or when you feel a need to reduce the home maintenance costs.

New mexico Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Douglas Holtsoi, Farmington

On Nov 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I recently had some problems with my heater in my home. I called AHS and on this matter and they quickly contacted a local plumbing and heating company in my area and I started to work with them. I was amazed how much AHS invested in my heating problem, more than I had pondered on. The work was quickly done by the local company and now none of my family members do not have to worry about our heating going out in the middle of winter. I compliment both AHS and the local company for their help and concern. Thank you once again

Icon

David Pinckney, Clovis

On Oct 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Absolutely terrible!! If I could give negative stars I would. First off they took forever to decide to replace my AC. They chose a local company with terrible ratings. I\'ve been back and forth with the local company that doesn\'t want to show up to install equipment. When I ask for a different company to be given the contract I get put on hold for literally hours and nothing comes of it. Not to mention they keep terrible records. I was asked 2 months ago if I wanted a replacement or cash pay out and I said replacement. Now the day that the local company is supposed to install the unit AHS still doesn't know that the install is what I chose! Also if you decide to get a cash payout they will only pay you the cost of install that they pay the local company. AHS orders the unit and sends to your local company to install. So lets just say you want to have a proper 5 ton unit installed in place of the existing undersized 4 ton unit. You will not pay the couple hundred dollar difference in cost between the two, you will only get reimbursed the install cost and have to shell out over $5K more out of pocket. Absolutely garbage overall. Also, good luck getting any correct information from their call center in the Philippines. They do not care about the customer and do nothing to help the situation, and of course there's no way to get ahold of an American here in the states that actually cares.

Icon

Florine Gutierrez, Albuquerque

On Oct 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The techs came in on time right at 11 checked out the faucets and got right to it. They knew what they were doing, Also the heating maintenance was done.

Icon

Brian Stephenson, Rio Rancho

On Sep 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor was professional and went the extra mile to insure that we were satisfied with the job they did. Only issue was the time it took. No hot water for 7 days

Icon

Ryan Watson, Santa Fe

On Sep 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Seller provided the home warranty for my new house. The water heater started leaking the week I moved in and the floor drain underneath it was clogged! American Home Shield sent a local plumber who got the drain unglogged and water heater replaced the next day!

Icon

Marianne Wright, Rio Rancho

On Aug 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great company, also came thru with a great contractors - I have had two issues , one with my heating ,air system , one with my oven, both were repaired promptly and professionally with know companies in my area. I would recommend American Home Shield!

Icon

Shirley salas, Albuquerque

On Jul 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The service was excellent. The service man answered my questions and gave me some great info about my A/C. He went up on the roof and fixed the problem. He also showed me hoe to clean the condensation line. He was very professional. I would use this company again.

Icon

Jay Rodenbeck, Albuquerque

On Jul 22, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My AC repairman did an excellent job and was very expeditious, we were very happy with our repair. He also gave us very valuable tips on how to maintain our air conditioner ourselves

Icon

Morgan Topp, Las Cruces

On Jun 12, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This was A fast and easy experience. We put the order for the work on a Sunday night, and Monday morning they called and said they would be there between 10 and 11 AM. The technician came at 10:04 AM, I figured out what it was and repaired it and was on his way within an hour. He was very friendly and wore a mask inside and while working. We are very happy with this result.

Icon

JoLynn Kniffin, Rio Rancho

On Jan 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had 2 claims just before the Christmas holiday, our microwave stopped working and water heater started running out of hot water more quickly than usual - so not super critical items, livable. The microwave was quickly diagnosed and was approved for replacement, it took several weeks for it to be ordered, received and installed but we are grateful it was covered. The water heater took 2 visits (and a couple of weeks) from the plumber before they determined it should be replaced but the installation was then scheduled quickly and efficiently. Overall, we are very pleased with AHS, just took some time and patience to get to the end result.

Icon

Monteen Amezquita, Albuquerque

On Nov 18, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Appliance repair guy was fantastic. He diagnosed the problem and the next day came back and had it fixed.

Icon

Yvonne M Coats, Albuquerque

On Oct 30, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

When we had our gas heat turned on earlier in October, we had the company check out all the gas appliances. They discovered excess carbon monoxide being released from the oven when it was turned on and suggested we repair or replace the stove. American Shield answered my call immediately and found a repair service in my area. Everything worked precisely as the AHS representative told me it would, and the service company was excellent. I was impressed by AHS's service and by the quality of the repair service.

Icon

Ashley Romero, Albuquerque

On Sep 23, 2019

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

HIGHLY recommend Lowe\'s Extended Warranty!! Prompt and friendly service!!

Icon

Jennifer Stephens, Alamogordo

On May 18, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

So far, so good! I purchased an American Home Shield warranty when escrow closed on my new home. Good thing, as I found out a few days later that the refrigerator I inherited didn\'t work properly. I made a call to American Home Shield and they had a repairman here the following day. It took a few days to get the parts ordered, but the refrigerator is running great now. I paid a lot less for the home warranty than it would have cost to buy a new fridge. I did have one issue that turned out to be a misunderstanding; I was under the impression that re-keying the locks was included with the purchase of the plan, but it wasn't. Instead of paying the service fee, I went to my local home improvement store and bought new locksets as it was more cost effective to do the job myself. Overall, I'm very happy with the purchase of the home warranty; I'm covered on heating, cooling, plumbing, and all of my major appliances (with the exception of my R.O. system), all for under $600/year.

Icon

Mary Anne DeBarbrie, Santa Teresa

On May 07, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have used AHS for many years for my house in New Mexico and I have been very happy with them. Last year I bought a home in Texas and have AHS on it too. Outstanding service and they stay with you until the problem is resolved.

Icon

James Phillips, Albuquerque

On Apr 22, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have used American Home Shield to repair my air conditioner last year and my furnace this year. they were absolutely easy to deal with and the repairs were done well and timely. AHS followed up with me to make sure everything was good. AHS is probably one of the best companies I have ever dealt with and I highly recommend them

Icon

Gall, Albuquerque

On Apr 08, 2019

General Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Melissa the reception person acts like she is a qualified contractor to deny claims. She asked for proof of home inspection that clearly states the warranty covers, & without sending someone still tries to deny coverage. I am calling the AG, BBB, & a lawyer! Screw this fraud company!

Icon

Owen Pena, Albuquerque

On Apr 01, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS is an great company to do business with. They are extremely professional in every aspect of the process. I have used them 5 separate times for appliance and pool plumbing issues. All five times ended in positive results. The companies AHS works with have all been very professional and respond very fast. I highly recommend AHS!!

Icon

Brendan Gunning, Albuquerque

On Feb 09, 2019

General Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This company is a borderline scam. I had a roof leak on Oct 23 2018 which I reported that same night. I received a phone call back shortly after saying a roofer would be out in 7-10 days because they were busy due to bad weather. I follow up in a week, again same thing 7-10 days. A MONTH LATER, November 28th, I get a call from GHW saying their roofer no longer works on tile roofs and a different roofer would call me within 48 hours. Never got a call. I called back 5 more times and eventually got a call from a roofer on December 21st but I was out of town and had to schedule a visit later. The roofer comes over January 8th and looks at the roof, finds where the leak is coming from, and calls GHW to explain the problem. I follow up with the roofer January 16th, he says he hasn't heard anything from GHW. I've called GHW probably 20 times over the course of this incident. Due to these absurd delays, each time it rains and leaks it drips into my kitchen ceiling which is now damaged. I filed a complaint with the BBB and GHW responded that "bad weather has backed up roofers both estimating and making repairs" and that they had responded to the roofer approving the repair. Excuse me, it's been 3 months - we haven't had 3 months straight of bad weather. I've contacted multiple other roofers who all said they could have an estimate in 1-3 days and repair in 1-2 weeks unless it was a complicated repair, which this isn't. I could have had this repaired in 2 weeks, but it's taken GHW 3 months and counting. GHW has delayed and delayed, and their negligence has caused damage to my kitchen ceiling which I'm sure they won't repair either. This is, without a doubt, the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. This home warranty was just included in the closing of my home and I didn't think twice about it. Do your homework, read reviews, and choose a home warranty company with decent reviews. GHW is a scam, avoid at all costs.

Icon

Alana Rodis, Gallup

On Jan 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My husband and I were buying a new home when he suggested purchasing a home warranty.  I researched various home warranty providers and AHS was, by far, the best option I found.  Still, I was skeptical of "wasting" money on something I didn\'t think we would need.  Boy, was I wrong - our furnace died and AHS covered the cost and replacement of a brand new motor IN FULL.  This has more than paid for itself, and we are so appreciative of AHS's customer service, timeliness, and use of reputable vendors.  Very highly recommended.

Icon

Mike Griffiths, Albuquerque

On Dec 15, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I rest easy and have continually used the service it is a great peace of mind to have repairs done with high costs Best investment Ive made in years

Icon

Amanda Charlson, Las Cruces

On Dec 12, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We have been dealing with American Home Shield since June 2018 regarding an AC issue on a home that we manage. The issue was repaired after two months of dealing with an unlicensed contractor that they hired. We have now been dealing with the most awful and unhelpful customer service since September in an effort to get reimbursed for something that they agreed to in writing. We have been on hold literally for hours at a time only to have nothing resolved each time we call. Every person we speak to has a response different from what we were told before. Our office staff has spent about 40 hours since June dealing with this issue. It's unbelievable to me that they are still in business!! I was just on hold for 51 minutes and when they transferred me to yet another department, a message told me they could not help me at this time and to follow the normal procedures for my request and then they hung up!!! As a property manager, I will never recommend American Home Shield to anyone.

Icon

Breanna Cordova, Albuquerque

On Dec 04, 2018

General Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I absolutely regret using this company. Got ignored for months. When I would call to follow up, they lady answering the phone kept asking if I wanted to make a claim. The roofer finally called and said he was “just doing it to make me happy.” He left damage to the inside of my home. I spoke with a manager that did not care and gave me a wrong email address to send my complaint to. I called to verify that email and was told someone would call me back. That never happened. After all the that, my roof is still leaking and I was told once again someone would call me back.

Icon

Charmaine C, Albuquerque

On Aug 25, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Horrible plumbers. The last time i used them they did not resolved the plumbing problem and STILL WAS CHARGED 75.00 by Home Shield. I had no cold water - they put in a new cartridge and nothing changed but charged me anyway and said they would come back but no-one ever called. They tried to make me look foolish with all kinds of excuses. GEE!!!! i figured it out by myself. The water heater was not turned on the whole way! They told me IT WAS COLD WATER when it was lukewarm and said they could do nothing more for me. They gave horrible service the whole way through. What a waste of money. If the plumbers were not so AWFUL, i might have renewed HS for a second year. I only used home shield for the plumbing. Nothing else was wrong.

Icon

Bridget L Sipes, Albuquerque

On Aug 01, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Could improve the time you have to wait to speak with a customer service representative

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020