Home Warranty Companies in Tennessee

Coverage in Tennessee (TN) major towns:

Average Premium in Tennessee: $314.36
Average Deductible in Tennessee: $41.64
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7360
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  2The Home Service Club
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 433
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
BBB Rating C-
Established In 2015
Total Reviews 400
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1682
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  5America's Preferred Home Warranty-APHW
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 249
Coverage Selected States
Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nebraska, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, Oregon, Maryland
                                  6First American Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1592
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  7HSA Home Warranty
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1639
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  8Choice Home Warranty
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2693
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
                                  9Home Warranty Of America
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1616
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in tennessee

    Hannah Date: 2013-05-16 11:35:01

    Review: They would not replace my dishwasher that had a cracked tub and was leaking all over the place. They said they do not cover cracked plastic tubs. I paid $100.00 deductible and now I am still left with a broken dishwasher. $100.00 for them to tell me there is nothing they can do.

    Aaron Bartmess Date: 2012-07-12 10:12:43

    Review: We have purchased AHS protection for a number of years, and through the years, we have been mostly content with them, and found their service helpful. That has changed. Our over-the-range microwave started malfunctioning. We called AHS. The technician came quickly, and was helpful and courteous. Both he and the subsequent AHS representative said that the cost for repairs would probably be more than the cost of replacing it, and so I was offered the option to replace it. We had already paid the service technician the $60 visit fee in cash. So imagine my surprise when ahs deducted an additional $60 from the amount they were willing to pay for a new microwave for the cost of the technician's visit. We were unsatisfied with that. And when AHS called us to confirm that they were willing to cover the cost of a microwave up to a certain amount, they gave two options: I could buy the microwave out of pocket, and get reimbursed by AHS, or I could go online to sears or GE, find a microwave I'm interested in, call AHS with the model #, and have AHS order it for me. I decided to go with the second option, and spent a number of hours searching for a microwave that fit our needs and the price guideline. When I had found one, I called AHS back with the model # only to be told that they use a different price listing that is higher than Sears. So that particular model, even though sears lists it within the appropriate price range, is too expensive because of AHS's listings. So my number of hours searching are wasted. I asked how I am supposed to know what to look for, and they said I can't know; I can just look for a model I like and call them back. So basically, the options are: waste another number of hours playing "guess what AHS lists this microwave at", or I can just front the money out of pocket and wait for the reimbursement. This option is really a hardship for my family. Both the process, and the attitude with which I was treated by AHS personnell (not the technician) left me VERY frustrated and angry.

    Don Turskey Date: 2014-09-24 22:15:06

    Review: I have paid AHS $1,467.84 in premiums for 24 months, plus $300 for 4 service calls, and I could not be more dissatisfied with their service. Three days after I notified AHS about a leaking discharge hose on my sump pump, the serviceman from Hers & His Plumbing of Nashville volunteered the information he "had never seen a sump pump in a crawl space before." He crawled only 10 feet into the crawl space, then came out without ever inspecting the pump's discharge hose which was leaking 20 feet from where he was, and it was hidden behind a pier! He told AHS the leak was "not normal wear and tear" which resulted in my claim being denied. When I complained to AHS they finally offered a second opinion (to be performed another 3 days later) from Greenway Home Services of Nashville which has a rating of C- from the Better Business Bureau! After two years and $1,767 spent I got a very cheap quality bathroom faucet and a disposal for the kitchen sink. My advice is to avoid AHS and spend your money on a local contractor who knows how to fix your problem and who will respond to any issues you may have with his work. The fine print of the AHS "Service Agreement" says they pick the contractor and the brand of appliance (cheap contractor grade) should you need one replaced. If you want the name brand, you have to buy it!

    Rebecca Winters Date: 2012-07-30 09:24:21

    Review: Too funny! Your rating scale doesn't say which end is positive and which is negative?! Nicely done. I do not recommend AHS as the repairmen I've dealt with in the past year have been below average. I would not hire the air conditioning or electrical service companies sent to my home. Repairing my air conditioner properly require taking the cover off myself and showing him the rusted out unit, having him called back 3 times for additional repairs missed when the unit was replaced (costing hundreds of dollars in electrical expenses because the unit was not working properly). The electician lied to me about work done and told AHS he had done work he had not done. Nope, it's better to take a chance of locally recommended service companies than buy into this fiasco.

    William Date: 2015-08-09 14:01:01

    Review: I would advise anyone to use their monetary funds in a more cautionary manner. Unfortunately, this company uses companies that are not on the up and up. I have literally missed multiple days of work so that the same company could attempt to rectify my problem. Use Angie' list or something else.....save your money. AHS is BS. Truth.

    RUTH HANSEN Date: 2016-08-09 22:38:38

    Review: It was a great experience. I had a water heater put in, & your service man was very professional & knowledgeable, top rate. What I like is he is the same person that has been out here a few times over the years & I enjoy talking to him, he's like an old friend. I wouldn't be without Home Shield, you have always responded timely & efficiently also replacing anything with a quality product, always equal or better than what I had. Thank You

    April Date: 2015-06-24 10:56:29

    Review: I have been an American Home Shield customer for over 2 years. I had a problem in April that was resolved after I complained. My current complaint is that I was charged 4 different times this month (June) for my monthly payment agreement. I was charged on June 3 which was the correct date for my normal amount and then I was charged again June 24, 2015 for the monthly amount 3 additional times. So I was charged without permission three additional times for the month for a total of 4 times in June. This has never happened before. I attempted to call billing and was on hold for over 40 minutes and a representative never answered. The phone just went silent. That is a total of $195.56 of unauthorized charges to my account.

    Niki Wilson Date: 2016-08-19 22:46:42

    Review: The service arrangements were very prompt. The plumber who came out originally misdiagnosed the problem causing my leak, but he was very kind and courteous and both he and AHS acted very polite and professional about returning to my home to reevaluate the problem. This is what set apart my experience; anyone can make a mistake but not everyone can handle it so graciously!

    Great Service!! Date: 2015-06-08 19:13:13

    Review: Most of the time I use one specific contractor and AHS has been very accommodating in that manner. I schedule my service either online, which is extremely user friendly, or through the contracter who submits the information for me. Both are very easy and smooth processes. They always try to work around my schedule and handle most issues the first time. The most recent request was for my clothes dryer. I submitted the request and he was available as early as the next day. He arrived in a timely manner and resolved my issue within the hour. Our dryer was back to normal. He was efficient, clean, nice and helpful. Told us how to keep the issue from reoccurring.

    Peter Smith Date: 2015-03-23 08:11:50

    Review: The online service request system of AHS is an efficient and simple way to request a service call. On the most recent repair I used that system and was immediately assigned a contractor. I called that contractor and was easily able to arrange a specific time and day for the appointment. The contractor arrived at the precise time agreed, he was clean and presentable and completed the work in a timely manner, even thought the repair required additional work than was at first contemplated.

    Kenneth Thacker Date: 2014-02-05 12:48:20

    Review: Our AHS contractor was great and fixed out heating problem in just a few minutes. He is extremely knowledgeable and this is the 2nd time AHS has sent him to us. Like all AHS contractors he is a professional and is courtious and mindful of the needs of his customers. It is the quality of the AHS contractors that keep us coming back year after year.

    Pat Date: 2013-01-30 19:16:52

    Review: Have had a dryer out for 2 months. Can't get anyone to call me back when they say they will. They claim they are still trying to get parts. It's been 2 months. Still waiting and very frustrated

    Jessica Bertel Date: 2012-02-21 13:34:18

    Review: American home shield should rename itself "we don't cover that". The service company does everything in its power to find issues ahs does not cover. They preform only the most simple tasks under your contract. This is a waste of money!!! Do not allow a realtor to tell you this should make you feel safe about buying a home!!!!!

    VJ Date: 2015-09-26 21:46:23

    Review: I had two claims with the ORHP. One was main level HVAC unit got burnt jus two months after I bought the home. The service guy turned up the next day from a local company. The unit has to be replaced. Although I had Ultimate protection plan, some to of the labor/installation costs were not covered. My out of pocket expenses were $60 call out fee and $800 for those uncovered costs. But the overall process and the service guy did an excellent job. The next time I had my kitchen garbage disposal stopped working, the guy showed up the next day morning, surprisingly he had a brand new insinkerator with him and he quickly replaced it and paid him $60. It has been pleasant experience with ORHP so far. I hope to continue my warranty with them, although they've increased the premium and callout fee this year.

    James Quirin Date: 2015-06-09 15:49:46

    Review: We recently sold the property on which we had this coverage, and contacted Old Republic to cancel the service, effective our date of closing. Subsequently we receive correspondence from the firm confirming our cancellation and deducting $50.00 from a refund as the "Processing Fee". Fifty dollars is charged for the effort to cancel a policy? This sounds utterly ridiculous and totally unreasonable. The company should be grateful for your business rather than trying to take advantage of people who sell their property. I have checked with some of Old Republic's competition and they have no such fee!!

    Tiffany Date: 2012-07-02 16:24:55

    Review: I purchased my home and moved in March of this year. My home is an older home and the sellers purchased the warranty as part of the sale. I've had to call Old Republic twice since I've been there and I have not had any issues with them. My AC went out and before the contractor left, he called OR and afterwards OR called me and explained what would happen next. The part was ordered and installed. The other issue I had, they only covered a portion of and I understood because my son stuffed a toy in the toilet and it was stuck so the entire thing had to be replaced. I used the online service request both times that I needed a repair and I was contacted by a contractor within 2-3 hours. The one issue I had with a contractor was getting scheduled for him to come out. He wasn't very flexible but other than that no problems. The customer service personnel have always been friendly and courteous. So far I have had a wonderful experience and I have recommended this company to friends, family and co-workers.

    Susan Saylor Date: 2013-06-18 10:50:40

    Review: We have used AHS since 2005. Only two bad service experiences (HVAC and water heater). Once I called AHS to report bad repairs, they were extremely quick to fix the situation by sending out new repairmen and noting on my account who not to send out. This week we had repairs made to our HVAC unit. The repairman was on time, fixed the problem easily and the AC is working :-) I always recommend AHS to friends and family. I would never buy a house that's more than 15 years old without having a home warranty to fix the systems in the house as they wear out.

    Wirth Date: 2012-06-06 15:32:09

    Review: For plumbing call, no contracted plumber in my area, so I had to pay bill & they refund after approval. Takes a min of 14 days to 30 dys to receive their payment. And no they cannot put a rush n it! Mine was under $250, but what if it is 500 or more. Just buying a house, can you afford to wait 30 days for the refund? For my air onditioner call, placed call 5/19. Per Old Republic, The company was to call to set up appt, just showed up on Saturday morning. Now up to today 6/8, still not fixed. Don't know where coil is. Old republic ordered part 5 days after I ok'd it, with 5 day delivery promise. Still not rec'd by company/tech and Old Republic is unable to say truck line shipped on, cannot track shipment, can't call their vendor to get info or find out when company/tech will receive part. 20 days under warranty & still not fixed & have no idea how much longer and Old Republic is unable, unwilling & unhelpful in getting this issue resolved! FYI, it is an 11 year old Amana. Please know I have no other warranty company experience & I won't write them all off because of this one bad one. Just know, you will spend hours & hours trying to get a resolution, using either their tech or yours.

    Mark Shipp Date: 2012-07-20 23:07:54

    Review: I signed up with AHS 10/01/2011 for a one year contract. I went with the company because they are listed as "a ServiceMaster Company". I had dealt with ServiceMaster in the past and was pleased, plus SM had a good reputation for responding to flood/fire/water damage calls promply. You know what they say about assuming! I assumed AHS would do the same. I had to replace my water heater this year because of a leak, and with it being a cold weekend, elected to do it myself because I knew from what I had seen online recently that we would be out of hot water for days. I just got the contract renewal papers in the mail today. It has gone up considerably, even though I have not filed a single claim with AHS since I gave them my $56.61 per month for the last year. The new contract would be $734.23 or $61.19/month with a $75 "service fee". I WILL NOT renew the contract when the first day of October rolls around. After seeing all these problem cases posted, I consider myself lucky to have only wasted one year with AHS.

    [email protected] Date: 2014-03-09 18:18:38

    Review: I purchased this warranty for the second time. I dropped the plan a few years ago because anytime I had a problem they could not find a person in my area to do the work, they wanted me to locate someone and pay up front and they said they would pay me back. The whole reason I wanted this was for the convenience of only having to make one phone call, but that is never the case with this company. I was reassured when they contacted me to try to get my business back that the problems they had before had been resolved. NOT.. Now 8 months later I called to place my first repair only for them to tell me they were having trouble locating someone to come out. I can tell you when this problem is taken care of I will cancel my service & never go back. This is a rip off.. Stay away