ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

last_updated_icon Last updated: May 22, 2022

Utah Home Warranty Companies

Utah is a densely populated state, home to unique architectural marvels like mountain-style homes, farmhouses, Victorian-style homes, and country estates. Unfortunately, the upkeep of such homes can pinch the pocket, especially as they age and their electrical and plumbing systems need special attention. Hence, homeowners look for ways to maintain crucial home systems and appliances inexpensively, and home warranties fit the bill.

Home warranty plans reduce the cost of repairs and replacements of worn-out home systems and appliances. In Utah, customers using them have dropped several reviews on our platform giving details about warranty provider services, coverage-in-action and more. Our page also lists the top companies, coverage options, customer service, and annual premiums. Check the comprehensive review of home warranties in Utah to find out your best options.

feature_icon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

cinch logo
Get $200 Off + 2 Months Free + Free Roof Coverage
  • Covers systems and appliances regardless of age, make or model.
  • Premium prices from $41-$48 monthly
  • Deductible priced at $75

Best Home Warranty Companies In Utah

feature_icon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are one of the few companies to offer roof repair coverage at an affordable price.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img FIRST MONTH FREE + LIMITED ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$46-$55 monthly

SERVICE FEE

$60-$85

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick and choose particular items you want to protect and Build-Your-Own Plan.

PRICING

$39 - $70

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $125

mapicon

ServicePlus Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers exciting discounts and budget protection.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$53-$60 monthly

SERVICE FEE

$75

mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

At times, they cut down the waiting period to a mere 10 days and begin protecting your devices.

PRICING

$51-$63 monthly

SERVICE FEE

$65-$125

mapicon

America's Preferred Home Warranty (APHW)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • APHW provides services in 49 states
  • APHW is one of the very few companies that allow you to choose your own contractor
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They let you pick the premium and deductible amounts in your policy and pay as you like.

PRICING

$39 - $47

SERVICE FEE

$50 - $125

mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They are the only company that covers mobile homes.

Offer(s) Available:

offer-img GET $150 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + FREE ROOF COVERAGE

PRICING

$57-$62

SERVICE FEE

$45-$100

mapicon

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Cinch Home Services has 40 years of experience in the home warranty industry.
  • Have a network of 18,000 licensed contractors
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 days.
mapicon

featured-icon

They offer protection from unknown pre-existing conditions.

PRICING

$420-$744

SERVICE FEE

$75-$150

mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you limitless service call claims so that you get the value for your money.

PRICING

$336-$534+

SERVICE FEE

$85

mapicon

Home Warranty of America

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Home Warranty Of America offers 13-Month home warranty plans that are of great value
  • Policy has no waiting period
  • Been in the industry since 1996
mapicon

featured-icon

The company offers you a 13-month home warranty plan that provides exceptional coverage options.

PRICING

$275 - $695

SERVICE FEE

$75 - $100

mapicon

HSA Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Providing home warranty services since 1984
  • HSA Home Warranty Covers home systems, appliances and a wide range of home maintenance services
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

featured-icon

They offer electronics coverage and 7 Star Upgrade in their plans

PRICING

$589-$619

SERVICE FEE

$100-$125

mapicon

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Utah

  1. Scroll through the necessary details of home warranty companies before making your pick. Look into costs, service availability, customer service promptness, and quality of technicians. There are several plans available in the Utah home warranty market. Choose a plan that covers the most critical systems and appliances in your home.
  2. Keep in mind that most home warranty companies provide customers with the option to pay for plans monthly or annually. Choose a plan that is budget-friendly but also has good dollar payout limits.
  3. Read through Utah customer reviews to understand other patrons’ experiences with home warranty companies. Some negative experiences are due to people misunderstanding the contract clauses while some are the fault of the company.
  4. Speak to friends and neighbors about their experiences with home warranty companies. It will give you a better understanding of what to expect once service begins.
  5. You can read sample contracts of warranty companies so that you are aware of the different coverage aspects mentioned under the respective company’s policy.
  6. Opt for multiple quotes to get a broad picture of service offerings. Once you have zeroed in on a good deal, you can finalize the purchase.

Utah Weather Condition Analysis

Utah exhibits a primarily semi-arid and desert type of climate. As a result, the summers are long and scorching, especially during July and August, with low humidity levels and little rains. This weather condition can exacerbate the wear and tear of your home appliances and systems, particularly the ones using thermostats.

In summers, refrigerators can break down due to overheating, as they would have to work harder to maintain a consistent level of cooling. This stresses the internal machinery, which can eventually malfunction, and fixing it can be pretty expensive.

Not just refrigerators, older air conditioning units are also vulnerable to breaking down during the hot summers. When the external temperature is high, the unit is burdened by the additional cooling load. This wears out the internal parts and components faster, leading to malfunction or inefficient and noisy cooling.

But with a home warranty plan, you can avoid expensive repairs and get affordable services from qualified professionals. Also, your mind is at peace knowing that you’re saving money, and your devices will get repaired with one call.

A Glimpse At Average Premium In Utah

The average premium for a home warranty plan in Utah is $314.50, and the average deductible is $40.31. To simplify things, we have provided a graph that depicts the average premium in Utah. The X-axis represents the price of the premium, and the Y-axis represents the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In utah

Min Average Premium in utah Max $ 314.50 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in utah (UT) major towns:

Layton Ogden Orem
Provo Salt Lake City Sandy
South Jordan Taylorsville West Jordan

Population : 2,763,264

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Utah

We have enumerated plans from some of the best home warranty companies offering services in Utah. The plans are designed to cater to the varied needs of the customers. Every company’s plans vary depending upon their offerings, prices, coverage, premiums, and terms and conditions.

American Home Shield (AHS) policy comes into effect within 30 days and offers a premium range of $479-$799 annually. The deductible offered on systems and appliances is between $75-$125. AHS provides several different plans - ShieldSilver, ShieldGold, ShieldPlatinum, and Electronics Plan. These plans cover a range of non-essential devices as well adding to your savings. They also have a range of real estate products.

Landmark Home Warranty (LHW) policy comes into immediate effect and offers customers the choice of deductible ($60, $70, $100). The annual premium offered by LHW on its plans ranges between $350-$670. LHW offers homeowners two plans- Total Protection Plan and Home Systems Plan with add-ons. Though it's a regional company, it has a good record of claim payouts

ServicePlus Home Warranty offers two plans with very comprehensive coverage- Gold Plan and Platinum Plan. This company is one of the most budget-friendly options available with great discounts and free services like roof leak coverage. The ServicePlus Home Warranty plans cost anywhere between $500- $599 annually with a flat deductible of $75.

Select Home Warranty, and Choice Home Warranty also offer some great plans with comprehensive coverage. However, based on the numerous customer reviews received, our suggestion for the top company in the state would be ServicePlus Home Warranty. If you are looking for complete, cost-effective, and reliable coverage in Utah, the SPHW Platinum plan is your best bet.

Home Warranty Regulations In Utah

Home warranties in the state are regulated by the Utah Insurance Department (UID) that also regulates homeowners’ insurance. Therefore, you should always opt for a home warranty provider in Utah that is department authorized. To know whether the company you are choosing is affiliated with the department, check your service contract or get in touch with the company’s customer care team.

If you choose home warranty companies affiliated with the UID, you won’t have to worry about getting top-class service and repairs. Make sure to always choose an affiliated company in the state.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Home Repair Warranties Worth It In Utah?

Yes, most definitely. With the cost of living increasing in the state, purchasing a home warranty plan is worth it. Home warranty policies protect vital devices in Utah homes and send trained technicians to fix various issues, including plumbing, ac repairs, dishwasher problems, etc.

What Is The Best Home Warranty Company In Utah?

There are several providers offering quality services in Utah. As per Utah customer reviews, Choice Home Warranty, American Home Shield, and ServicePlus Home Warranty are customer favorites. However, your individual needs subjectively determine what the absolute best company for you would be.

How To Buy A Home Warranty In Utah?

There are several different methods to buy a home warranty in Utah. You can directly log into the company website and purchase a plan. Or you could check out HomeWarrantyReviews.com to opt for a free quote from your favorite company. It lets you compare different options and choose the best one.

How Does The Home Warranty Work For Buyers?

Depending on the sale agreement between the buyer and seller, the home warranty may work in different ways. In some instances, the seller agrees to pay for the warranty for one year after the sale. At other times the buyer will have to pay for the warranty after the closing of the sale.

However, keeping payments aside, the buyer can file a claim with the concerned company when a device malfunctions. The concerned technician will either make sure the device gets repaired or replaced.

Do Home Warranties Cover Pre-existing Conditions?

Whether or not home warranty companies cover pre-existing conditions depends on the company policy. Check your contract before signing up to know whether pre-existing conditions are covered. If these conditions are covered by your warranty provider, it is a benefit.

Can I Purchase A Home Warranty At Any Time?

Yes, you can purchase a home warranty plan at any given point in time. Then depending on your requirements and budget, you can opt for a suitable company. Also, keep in mind that at any given point in time, you can transfer to a new homeowner or cancel your warranty.

Utah Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Reyna, Sandy

On Apr 07, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Service was good and on time. The technician checked the range was in good working condition. The problem was with the circuit breaker and unfortunately this will need to be checked by an electrician not the technician that came to work on the problem.

Icon

Sonia Quintana, Providence

On Mar 24, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service. AHS resolved my refrigerator issue. I am now waiting for a check since my refrigerator was not able to be repaired. I will continue using their service. As always they had great customer service as well.

Icon

June Booth, Ogden

On Mar 18, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

So far I am very happy with the two different service calls I\'ve received. One was repairing my dishwasher that wasn\'t draining and the other rekeyed my door locks after my neighbor who had a spare key passed away and the family was unable to find it. Both gentlemen were professional, timely and left their projects clean.

Icon

sandra, Saint George

On Mar 07, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The service provider selected by AHS contacted us promptly, scheduled an appointment for the next day and showed up on time. They took time to explain the problem and offered possible solutions. We made the decision without any pressure from the company. We are extremely satisfied with this service.

Icon

Luis Castro, Springville

On Jan 13, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

LOWES PROTECTION PLAN IS A SCAM. Do not ever buy from Lowes its been three weeks and we still havent had nobody come and see our washer. They are a s*** company to deal with, the techs dont even show up they just sit there on the phone and guess whats wrong. Instead of them letting us know the part is in back order they just lose contact and dont ever contact you again. worst company. Hope they get a lawsuit filed on them

Icon

SHERRY L LOHR, Washington

On Jan 07, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was very pleased with the technician who came to fix my dryer that would not spin. Originally, he thought I needed a new motor. After leaving and talking to his partner, they came back in and thought it could be some cat fur that was keeping it from spinning. They took the dryer apart and found a small amount of fur that was preventing the dryer from working. I was very happy I didn't have to wait 6-8 weeks for a motor that was not needed. I am very happy with American Home Shield.

Icon

Madi Odette, Salt Lake City

On Jan 04, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The amount of chaos that AHS put me through is absolutely unacceptable. To those going through any troubles with AHS, I urge you to contact your state insurance commissioner (John Pike for the state of Utah). I\'ll save you the time from the whole story, but I put in a request for a plumbing issue that was very clearly covered in my contract. A hole in my pipes, above ground, within the foundation of the home, and our sewage was flooding in my home from the main drain that needed immediate attention. It took 51 days from service order request to the date that the plumber showed up at my home to fix it. I spent $1700 out of pocket from getting a plumber sooner to deal with the sewage flood. We could not run water on the whole west side of our house for nearly 2 months. The contractor & I were told complete opposite things. AHS cancelled apts. without informing me. Tech left my door open & let my cats out. He literally drove off with the door propped open, knowing that the person in the home was in a zoom meeting. After 30 days, I was able to escalate the situation to a different department that promised me they would contact me the next day with an answer & it never happened. No response & no way to contact them - this happened over 10x. Every time I called customer service, the reps just continued to read off a script. They made promises, told me it was covered, my project was accepted, to go ahead and schedule the apt. They told me this multiple times, despite my contractor requesting written approval, rather than verbal, to do the job but never receiving it. My contractor informed me that he needed written because in the past AHS, and other warranty companies, verbally say something will be covered so he will do the job and afterwards, deny any claim of coverage, leaving the customer to pay the entire thing out of pocket, resulting in him losing money when customers deny to pay the money. The customer service reps just butter you up to get a good review at the end of their call. Some would promise to follow up with me the next day & that they would take care of it, it never happened. If a phone call does not go well, they will stay on the phone until you hang up to avoid you getting the survey about their performance. AHS has "second opinion contractors" that are there for the purpose of saving AHS money. They come in to reduce large costs for warranty companies & are paid no more than $145, regardless of project cost. The diagnosis from both plumbers was the exact same but one would cost me $700 & the other would cost $3355. They would not allow me to go with the $700 plumber, despite me denying wanting a second opinion & providing no answer at all as to why I was forced to go with a plumber I didn't want. Not only that, but the first plumber could get me on his schedule within the week, while second opinion was 4-6 weeks booked out. I found out after many phone calls that the second opinion plumber stated that the leak was underground, meaning it was not covered. The first plumber stated it was above ground & this was where the discrepancy came from. I asked the second plumber to please call AHS and tell them it was above ground and he denied doing so because that would mean he is losing money, because he only gets paid $145 regardless of the job. I escalated the situation to a different department with my real estate agent and AHS Rep of Utah. I sent photos of the pipe to prove it was above ground. After nearly 2 months, the second plumber finally came and fixed part of the pipe, but not all. It is enough to get me by but the pipes became so eroded from leaving it in the sludge for 50 days so I am currently spending more money than my initial costs. I wanted to take it to small claims court, but when you sign a contract with AHS, you forgo that right and are required to take it to arbitration instead, with someone to represent you of their choosing. In total, I spent over 55+ hours on the phone with AHS over a 2 month period. AHS provided the absolute worst customer service I have ever received in my entire life.

Icon

Sean Buckner, Tooele

On Sep 27, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great customer service and service tech had great communication. Tech did a great job on repair fridge is work like new again. I would highly recommend ahs to all looking for this service.

Icon

Laura Thomassen Powell, West Jordan

On Sep 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

i have used American Home Shield for many years, left it an went to a new company and came back it is the best company to have on your side

Icon

Laura Mcnulty, Salt Lake City

On Jul 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My A/C went out in the middle of the night by morning it was brutally hot. I reached out to the home warranty company and within 5 mins of of request for service I was assigned a tech to come out. Within 24 hrs my A/C was fixed and it just took a few mins. This was the best experience I ever had with a home warranty company. The last company was absolutely horrible. I would recommend American Home shield time everyone I know

Icon

Joan Smith, Saint George

On Jul 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

After putting in our request for service in line, our air conditioning problem was taken care of quickly and we were able to get our home cooled down - very important in St. George in the summer with an outside temp of 110!

Icon

Alex Warthen, Tooele

On Jun 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield has been great. They contact a repairman immediately and have covered far more then their contractors have thought they would. I wish I could suggest a contractor but that would be difficult considering how fast they assign one.

Icon

Helaman Suesue, Salt Lake City

On Apr 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

3 out of 5 Items have either been repaired or replaced. Very thankful for replacements of our items the other two repairs jobs could\'ve been done a lot better. But still grateful to have home shield warranty.

Icon

Judy Nester, Salt Lake City

On Mar 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS has been fantastic. First time I needed their help was my water heater leaked and went out. I called and they had someone out the next day. My water heater was replaced the next day with the same size 50 gallon tank I had before. I recently called them for my oven that is not working properly and my wash machine. They had someone out within a couple days. My washer was fixed as soon as they got the part. My oven, unfortunately, the part is not available any longer so they sent me choices I had to replace my range. Waiting for maker to send my choice to the company so they can install. I am completely satisfied with AHS and happy I changed companies. Had problem with last company. Took them a month to decide whether they would fix my washer. I changed to American Home Shield immediately and glad I did. Everyone I have talked with there treats me with respect and answers all my questions.

Icon

Jan Crowther, Salt Lake City

On Nov 07, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great experience. Our furnace quit working and I completed an online service request. At first they told me it would be 3-4 days before they could get me scheduled. I was leaving town and would not be home so they were able to put me on the waitlist for the first cancellation. The technician arrived the next day and fixed our furnace in 15 minutes.

Icon

DAVID WHITE, Draper

On Jul 29, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been dealing with trying to get things fixed for 2 months. I have placed numerous calls to American Home Shield ri get their repair people out. This has been a complete joke to where I have had to spend over $1000 out of my pocket to try and make my house functional. And AHS doesn\'t care nor with them reimburse me on anything. It\'s their contractors that are dumb and messed everything up. And AHS doesn't follow up or do anything to help. This company is pathetic to deal with. I recommend do not use but run far far from this company and the idiot's they use.

Icon

Jackie Allsop, Saint George

On Jun 05, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I\'ve been with AHS for over 30 years and have had them with extra properties and family members also. AHS has always stepped up to the plate and banged it out of the park !!!! Not once did I ever had a hassel to recieve service or if a repair wasn\'t correct they sent the company right back till issue was solved, if you are using any other home warrenty service not only are you wasting your time but also your money and sanity !!!! Go team AHS !!!!

Icon

David Britsch, Saint George

On Apr 04, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I had a kitchen faucet that was leaking, and made an online request to American Home Shield. Immediate response and faucet repaired quickly and on my timeline! Excellent service and faucet works properly! Highly worth the peace of mind that comes with this warranty.

Icon

Paxton, Provo

On Mar 26, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My ice maker broke at the beginning of last week. I sent a request on Wednesday for it to be fixed. First thing Thursday morning I got a call from the repair company that came out on Friday to take a look at it. They ordered in the part and got it fixed the following Monday. My total time without an ice maker was less than a week and it\'s working great now. I'm very happy.

Icon

Jake Hershberger, Eagle Mountain

On Dec 31, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS was really helpful when it came to replacing my stove. I have to rate them at a 3 for the timeliness as the first repair company didn\'t want to perform the service and I had to find out after I called to follow up on why they never showed up. Yet when I called they were very kind, got me a new repair company that reached out to me the same day. Afterwards the claim was clean and easy to work with :)

Icon

Daryol Forinash, Logan

On Dec 28, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We called for an appt to get our ancient water heater checked. The tech, Ezra, came and pronounced it terminal and said that we would it would be replaced sometime in the next 2 weeks since it was still functioning. It ceased to function that night, but American Home Shield shifted gears and we had a new water heater the very next day. We are enormously happy.

Icon

Annette Newman , Bountiful

On Dec 21, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

When we purchased our house we were advised by our real estate agent to obtain a home warranty through American Home Shield. I didn\'t think we would ever use it and that it was an unnecessary waste of money, but luckily we did purchase it. We have used the services twice, once for plumbing and once for electrical and it has been a great experience. Each time the service was fast with professionals who not only were good at their work, but who also explained what they were doing and went above and beyond. Would recommend this to anyone ...

Icon

Janet , Vernal

On Nov 28, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have only had AHS for a few months and my furnace went out they had someone to my house within 24 hours they were so easy to talk to when I had questions, very professional, great customer service .

Icon

Jean Smith, HURRICANE

On Oct 09, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We bought our home last year and our AC unit had a leaking issue. American Home Shield had a company come out to assess the problem and that company was very good, came out numerous times to fix the issue. Now we have had our electric stove top break and because of it\'s age could not be repaired but needed to be replaced. Again American Home shield got us a brand new replacement. I would suggest any home owner to get their warranty. It has more than paid for itself for us. Thank you American Home Shield!

Icon

Fred Carr, Riverton

On Sep 26, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They have done all repairs that I have asked them to do.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020