×

Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

Compare home warranty policies from the top ten home warranty service providers in Virginia. To further assist you in selecting your policy, we have created a graph with a bell curve that showcases the average price of premium and average deductible of the various home warranty policies that are purchased throughout the state of Virginia. View more...  The X-axis indicates the price of the premium while the Y-axis indicates the number of homeowners. The start of the curve indicates the number of homeowners who purchase policies that have low premiums. The curve then rises to indicate the number of homeowners who have opted for the average premium and finally dips to denote the number of homeowners who opt for policies with a high premium. The Average Premium of the Virginia is mentioned at the top of the graph.

You can also view the Average Deductible that is opted for in the state by clicking on the arrows placed on either side of “Average Premium in Virginia”. We have also calculated the average premium and average deductible price for the major towns in Virginia. Click on the city name to know its average policy premium and average deductible opted for.

Go on to read reviews of home warranty companies that provide service in Virginia. To get a comprehensive picture of a home warranty company’s service performance, it’s important to understand the Composite Review Score of a company. This score is based on the all-time reviews received from customers of the company. It can vary from ‘Not Good’ to ‘Excellent’. It also includes the all-time average scores of various parameters like customer service, service timeliness, repair service, and the overall rating. If you have had a positive, negative, or even neutral experience while interacting with a home warranty company, go on to leave a review and help out a homeowner just like you.
View less


Choice Home Warranty  Sponsored Disclaimer : We get paid from our Advertising Partner for this listing.
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Total Reviews 3694
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances


Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in Virginia: $320.81
Average Deductible in Virginia: $41.32


Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 9407
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin,
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 765
Coverage Selected StatesAlaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.9
  • Service Timeliness 4.9
  • Repair Service 4.9
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2436
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1798
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $499
Deductible $50, $100, $125
Effective Closing or 30 days from payment
BBB Rating A+
Established In 1999
Total Reviews 306
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, District of Columbia, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.6
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.6
  • Service Timeliness 4.7
  • Repair Service 4.7
  • Overall Rating 4.6
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3694
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.9
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 3.9
  • Overall Rating 3.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1878
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.6
  • Service Timeliness 3.7
  • Repair Service 3.7
  • Overall Rating 3.6
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1904
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.4
  • Service Timeliness 3.3
  • Repair Service 3.4
  • Overall Rating 3.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1733
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.6
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.7
  • Service Timeliness 2.7
  • Repair Service 2.7
  • Overall Rating 2.6
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1074
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to
Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.4
  • Service Timeliness 2.5
  • Repair Service 2.4
  • Overall Rating 2.2
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Angela Date: 2018-05-03 20:18:27

    Review: I post a review and it never got posted!!! Strange! Let see if this appears here! I wish I could give negative Stars! Don\'t even bother working with them and wasting your money with this company! Just get your own home insurance policy and be happy! A homeowner warranty is a joke! We just closed our home on 20th, here in VA weather was cold and we had the heather on and fine, since Monday 30th weather started getting warm and HOT to 82 and 89. AC was on and ok but today on the 3rd with 92 degrees AC started working at 12 and as of now 4 pm been working non stop, giving warm air and temperature of the home was 82. I have been sick and under medication, feeling burning in the home called the Old Republic Home Protection Co. Inc. exhausted asking for help and in confusion and not understanding the accent of the rep on the phone she decided this was a preexisting condition and its not covered! I could not explain it to her and she wouldn\'t get it, so I hang up and called again but because she had noted falsely, the other agent didn\'t help and they refuse to send a service and say you have to repair the AC and send the proof to us so in the future we cover it!!! SHAME!!!! what a joke! How could I lived in the home with a baby when it was 82 and 89 in the past 2 days if this was not working!!!! Just use common sense guys! Absolutely horrible costumer service who only cares about transaction and not people and their issues! Would NOT do business with them and do not recommend.

    Eric Bannister Date: 2018-01-26 19:27:30

    Review: AHS was recommended to me by a co worker after hearing me complain about a very expensive AC repair. Five years later it was the best advice in a long time. One phone call and I know help is on it\'s way and no worries about a huge repair bill.

    Emily S. Date: 2015-12-04 11:22:53

    Review: It took AHS 6 days to let me know that there is no company available to service refrigerator. This is after my husband and I called daily to ask about the status update on our refrigerator repairs, as we needed it. We were told to find a contractor on our own almost a week later, which we did within 20 minutes. They are scheduled to come out in 2 days.The customer service representatives and their supervisors did not seem to care or otherwise try correct/be sympathetic to the situation. We have had good luck with this company in the past but the nonchalant attitudes of its employees are concerning.

    Nichole Parker Date: 2016-08-31 09:07:06

    Review: Very efficient. On time and fixed the problem that same day. Very short but efficient visit. No hassles, paid the copay and that was it. Repair worked and no problems since.

    Rufus Littlejohn Date: 2012-03-24 17:00:40

    Review: I bought the contract 2 months ago, and last week I called for a refrigerator repair. I was called by the service company within an hour and we scheduled an appointment for next day. Repairman arrived within my requested time window, diagnosed and completed his job in less than an hour. Paid $60.00 service fee for $400 worth of labor and parts. No worries here. I am buying more policies for my other rentals. Should have done it years ago and saved thousands on replacements and repairs. Very Pleased.

    Ken Roybal Date: 2016-07-26 21:42:19

    Review: We have been AHS customers since the early 80's. Thier service times and contractors are professional and punctual. AHS has always gone out of their way to resolve issues and we really haven't had an problem resolved. Their prices are great and we'll be with them for a long time to come!

    Rog Date: 2017-12-28 00:21:49

    Review: Outstanding experience using AHS and contractor. Friendly customer service and plumbing contractor was knowledgeable and professional.

    srinagesh Paluvoi Date: 2017-08-29 17:58:05

    Review: Excellent service technologists but long wait to talk to customer service department

    Tonia tracy Date: 2016-05-27 14:22:52

    Review: this is been the most incompetent company and frustrating company I've ever had to work with. And several years we have used them approximately 3 times. They give us their own deadline every turning calls in 24 hours. Not once have they done that. We've waited as long as two weeks for someone to tell us there's no one in our area. they now want to send out a third contractor with no respect for my time or work, and have them tell him the same thing that our frigerator is Obsolete and can't be repaired. They messed up the original order did not offer to correct it, they never once called back,they contacted a third contractor who doesn't even do this area and of course they did not call us back on that I had to find out and call the contractor. they have zero respect for Consumer time and now I will miss every sale because of Memorial Day and they're incompetent when do contractors have already said it's obsolete and cannot be fixed. I asked to be sent a cancellation, and I get a recording obviously made for employees only. But they are to fill out the mandatory email and let me know it will be 24 hours before they contact us. Of course that wasn't done but I am. I contacted the insurance commissioner to file a formal complaint I just don't think they have any right to be so disrespectful on our time.they refused to let me talk to a manager until I told him if I have to waste a whole nother day I might as well waste it on hold waiting for one to become available my phone goes with me.I Now understand what I premium to come up and I'm sure they would like more money in their paycheck. How did they not know every time they spend two years out they have to send out at least one more person. How do they not understand their charge $219 to do nothing, so at least that much time to for the two other contractors how that doesn't up premiums and how they don't understand very basic business principles

    pat gundry Date: 2017-07-01 21:43:57

    Review: AHS has always been our warranty company for over 20 years. They are worth every penny when considering the replacement/costs of appliances or repairs.

    Atlas Eftekhari Date: 2018-02-03 20:50:57

    Review: We had a leak in our basement and needed service asap. My husband and I tried calling AHS 4 times...each time we sat on hold for 1 hour + and the resolution was that they couldn\'t get anyone to us for another 3 days.

    Mark picard Date: 2015-02-15 09:30:08

    Review: WHAT A TERRIBLE COMPANY! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! THEY HIRE TECHS THAT DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING! AHS CUSTOMER SUPPORT IS TERRIBLE AND DON'T CARE ABOUT GETTING ANY DONE FOR YOU! AND YOU HAVE TO WAIT 24 HOURS TO SPEAK TO A SUPERVISOR PROBABLE CAUSE THEY HAVE THAT MANY COMPLAINTS COMING IN. I AM STILL WAITING FIVE WEEKS LATER TO GET MY WASHING MACHINE FIXED, WHAT A JOKE!

    T.T. Date: 2014-05-21 22:22:00

    Review: My basic policy covers many things and gave me peace of mind when it was included in my home purchase contract. I've used my coverage three times and the repairs were prompt and performed by a competent technician.

    Teri Date: 2012-11-21 13:58:04

    Review: AHS took 4 weeks to get our furnace replaced and to add insult to injury, increased their service fee to $75 from $60 even though we're a long-time customer. Somehow we're auto renewed into another year's contract so we're stuck with them for another year--otherwise I'd have canceled and gone with another company that sticks to their 7-10 repair window and values long time customers. Reading other reviews on here mimics my sentiments.

    Date: 2018-01-01 23:08:31

    Review: Purchased the bundled Extended 5 yr warranty on 3 appliances. I was told that the First year, is the responsibility of the manufacturer. So problems within the first year, with dishwasher, I called manufacturer. 3 service calls with 9 months, they agreed to send me a new dishwasher. They sent it directly to my home. I called Lowe\'s Customer Care # to have the 5 yr transferred to my new dishwasher. I am told that because the replaced dishwasher was not purchased from Lowes that they cannot transfer the warranty. My Options??? Either cancel my 5 yr warranty and lose it on all 3 products or they can transfer the dishwasher warranty to my microwave (because they have that in there system). Really? A warranty that I paid for on a $900 dishwasher they want to trf it to a $300 microwave? Doesnt sound like much of an option to me. This I have learned: Never believe what any Lowe\'s rep tells you in the store or at Customer Care. I was told in the store that all I had to do was come in with the info and they would trf it over. When I go back, I am told to call the 800 # I made 3 separate phone calls to Customer Care to have this resolved: 1st time, I was told to call back with dishwasher info and they would take care of trfing. 2nd time, I was told they could not trf and I would lose the warranty on all products. 3rd time, I was told they could not trf but I would keep warranty on fridge and range, but lose it on the dishwasher. Cannot give me money back on warranty for dishwasher as the warranty was purchased as a bundle. Before making my decision, I think I need to contact BBB.

    Rajeev Date: 2016-03-07 18:43:05

    Review: 2nd time, not a happy service dealing with AHS. Complained for a water heater issue on Tuesday, AHS found a contractor to come on Saturday. I said its too late and they found another contractor who could come on Friday. I waited for them to show up, initially got a call that they are delayed, after 2 hours got another call that they couldn't come that day and asked to check with AHS. Kept on calling AHS on friday till 9:30PM and AHS tried to reach few of their "in network" contractors, but no one available to visit my problem. Finally AHS gave up and authorized me to go with an outsider of my choice. I called someone thru a google search, and they came and diagnosed the problem with water heater. They need to replace Gas Control Valve, which he said he could get it from store and fix the problem on Monday. On Monday morning, he submitted his diagnosis report and pricing to AHS. AHS thought the price is too high and want to go for a 2nd opinion, which I totally agree. But they couldn't find someone right away and sending someone on Wednesday to come and check my water heater. By Wednesday, it will be full 8 days with no Hot water and who knows how long they will take to fix the actual issue? I will update as and when I get an update on this issue. I was given very good review of AHS by a friend and now I am feeling sorry to work with them. I had 2 claims so far and one took 5 weeks and another running now for 1+ week, still going on...... PS: I had another issue on same water heater back in November last year and at that time, it took a total of 5 weeks to fix the same water heater. At that time, my water heater stops working temporarily and if I adjust the power cable, it used to work. So, it wasn't that bad, even though they took 5 weeks which was not acceptable at all.

    Van Kazandjian Date: 2016-01-13 23:27:46

    Review: Hello, Every time, not just the last time, I have been so pleased with the results of having contacted AHS. I truly can't live without them. I'm a senior citizen on a very limited budget, but I make sure that I can afford to be covered by AHS. It's as important to me, as my car insurance. The people they send are always extremely courteous, professional, clean, personable and they get right to the issue, fixing the problem with speed and efficiency. I can't say enough good things about AHS. I've referred them to all of my friends and I am so thankful to my friend who told me about them. You might say, I'm a walking advertisement for AHS. Thank you for the security you provide me.

    Yoshiko Green Date: 2017-07-18 05:31:53

    Review: I had to be proactive in trying to ensure my warranty services had my best interest in mind. Once everything was confirmed, the contractors lacked communication about the next steps. Contractor and AHS also failed to communicate about what was needed in my claim. Was frustrating but finally they figured it out and after three weeks I have air conditioning again!

    Timothy M. Gerton Date: 2015-10-13 20:41:12

    Review: Woke up one cold December morning to no hot water. Called American Home Shield at 0530 and by 0900 I local plumbing repair company was calling my house and scheduling a service appointment. The company used by AHS was fantastic. The workers were polite, clean and worked through a difficult situation with an 16 year old silt filled water heater that needed attic removal and haul away down two levels of stairs. I couldn't have been more pleased. I paid my deductible and got what appears (as per the Internet( to be $700.00 water heater plus installation for a fraction of the cost. Reviews (online) for the water heater I received were also good so I am more than satisfied with quality of product chosen (which I didn't get a say in). I recommend AHS to anyone whom ever asks for it.

    Taisei Matsuki Date: 2018-03-26 17:22:30

    Review: Apparently, the service providers put a lower priority to American Homeshield customers in terms of the work appointment. Usually, without my calling, the providers have never contacted me. Some technicians told me without any hesitation that they put us a lower priority since they get much less payment from AHS than they directly work for us.