ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

  Home  /  us  /  Virginia
last_updated_icon Last updated: August 4, 2020

Home Warranty Companies In Virginia

Virginia is a state located in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States. The current home-ownership rate in Virginia is 66%. If you are a homeowner in Virginia, you must consider buying a home warranty plan to protect your home appliances and your pocket from undesirable expenses.

With the increase in demand for home warranty, many warranty providers have emerged in the recent years. Choosing the best company among them can be difficult. To help you in the process, HomeWarrantyReviews.com has listed out all the top home warranty companies in Virginia.

You can compare the listed companies and plans to get a better idea of what they are offering, and determine which home warranty company in Virginia suits your unique needs.

GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION
SAVINGS BONANZA

on Home Warranty plans!

$150 OFF and 1 MONTH FREE!

Get expert technicians to care for your home at unbeatable prices

Total Home Protection presents
SPECIAL OFFER

Total Home Protection presents

$100 OFF and 2 MONTHS FREE!

Now to avail this offer use code : THS100

A Glimpse At Average Premium In virginia

The average premium for a Home Warranty plan in Virginia is $318.98, and the deductible is $40.55. The following graph gives you a brief idea of the average premium in Virginia. The X-axis displays premium price and Y-axis represents the number of homeowners.

Coverage in virginia (VA) major towns:

Alexandria Arlington Chesapeake
Hampton Newport News Norfolk
Portsmouth Richmond Roanoke

Population : 8,001,239

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Best Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

American Home Shield (AHS)
4.5
/ 5
Based on 13,333 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
The Home Service Club
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,635 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
Choice Home Warranty
4.1
/ 5
Based on 6,742 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Select Home Warranty
4.1
/ 5
Based on 4,301 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Total Home Protection
4.6
/ 5
Based on 681 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Virginia is dominated by a humid subtropical climate and is considered as comparatively milder than other states. Nevertheless, it does exhibit other varied weather phenomena such as frigid temperatures, snowstorms, thunderstorms, and hurricanes.

When temperature sores high, appliances and systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, and other cooling systems work continuously to beat the heat. Though these home items are designed to last longer, when they work overtime, the chances are higher that they break down.  Not just summers, even rainy and winter seasons can damage your home items. Furnaces and other heating systems work overtime to keep your home warmer due to which they may break down.

Repairing or replacing the parts and components of home items can be expensive. But with a home warranty plan you can get the faulty components fixed by professional technicians without spending huge amounts of money.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Virginia

Home warranty plans are worth the money, provided you have invested in the right plan. There are many home warranty companies that offer warranty plans in Virginia. Here, we have listed a few plans offered by top companies in Virginia.

American Home Shield is a leading home warranty company in Virginia. The company offers a range of comprehensive plans such as System Plan, Appliance Plan, and Combo Plan. It also offers Build-your-own-plan, where you can pick and choose what home appliances may get covered.

Choice Home Warranty, a popular warranty provider offers two plans- The Basic Plan and The Total Plan. Both of these cover your home appliances and systems. The company also offers optional coverage to protect additional items like pool/spa equipment, etc.

First American Home Warranty offers a basic plan and premium plan to their customers. The cost of their plans range from $334-$534 annually. Their average deductible is $75. The premium plan covers a wide range of appliances and systems and is ideal for older homes.

HSA Home Warranty both provide comprehensive appliance and system coverage according to your home's needs. Annual premiums of their plans range from $190 to $ 600. Their service call fee is between $75 to $100.

Get your free home warranty quote to find out what the company of your choice has to offer.<.p>

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Virginia

  1. Compare the plans and prices of various warranty providers in Virginia. This will help you get maximum coverage at minimum cost. Also, check if the company allows you to choose the appliances and systems you wish to protect and pay only for them.
  2.  Determine the coverage inclusion and exclusions. Some companies in Virginia may offer complete coverage but others may cover only the major parts and components of your home appliances and systems. You can determine the inclusions and exclusions either by talking directly to the customer support representative or by reading the fine print of the contract.
  3.  Look out for offers and discounts when getting a home warranty plan. Some home warranty companies may offer discounts or offers for the first time customers or for customers who are covering two homes. Others have referral rewards if you refer their home warranty plans to your friends.This not only helps you to get the best services at a low price.
  4.  Check if the warranty company has any waiting period. Some companies in Virginia may have no waiting period and provide service immediately after the payment. Others may include a waiting period of 30 days post the payment.
  5. You can also check with the real estate agents. They may have information about home warranty companies that is privy only to them. Being in the business of buying and selling homes, they know exactly which home warranty companies in Virginia provide the best care to their customers.

virginia Home Warranty Companies Reviews

You have to consider various factors like inclusions and exclusions, transparency, and most importantly customer reviews before choosing a home warranty company in Virginia. The reviews will give you a better understanding of the type and quality of services the companies provide. Here, we have listed customer feedback about various home warranty companies in Virginia.
Icon

Luke Vavra, Chester

On Aug 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

The repairman knew exactly what to look for. He quickly found the problems and took corrective actions. He was very polite and wore a face mask when inside my house.

Icon

Bill , Hampton

On Jul 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

It was very simple to enter the service call for AHS. I received a call the same day from the contractor assigned to my job. I was very impressed. He explained everything that he was doing to me.

Icon

Laurie J Yost, White Post

On Jul 10, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have had our home warranty for almost 4 years. We have used it now on two occasions and were very pleased with how quickly our issues were addressed.

Icon

Emma Jean Brown, Falls Church

On Jul 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Plumber arrived in the promised time frame. Repairman was very courteous. One pipe under the vanity sink had to be replaced and the shut off valve for one of our outside faucets had to be replaced. Plumber completed both jobs quickly and explained what he had done.

Icon

Audrey Seabrooks, Ashburn

On Jul 01, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I am going to have a new air conditioning unit installed by a "reputable" company and forego any more attempts to deal with AHS. Below, is the review I just emailed to https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/claims/insurance-claims/. I have been a faithful client of American Home Shield (AHS) for several years and my agreement costs me $743.88 annually. I have two separate AC units in my home. In 2019, AC on upper levels stopped working and tech came out and performed what I now know was a "band aid" fix. Here it is approximately one year later and again the AC is not working. This is the same unit that was "band aided." AHS sent tech #1 and he looked in my attic and said there was something on the fan that he removed and just give it a few hours and it would begin to get cool. He left and it never cooled! Second tech from United Home Temp came out, FINALLY, after numerous calls and said there was a leak in the coil and they would have to do a "bench" repair and someone would come back to pick up the part and take it to their premises so that they could replace the coils. I said no way! I called AHS and spent an inordinate amount of time with customer service and then their "escalation" specialist and then finally a customer service manager. I was told by this manager that they would have to send someone else for a second opinion and I would have to pay for another service call. I said that would be a third technician's opinion as the first one did not properly diagnose the issue I asked for the name of her immediate boss as I would be initiating a letter. I was then told, that I would not be able to get that information because her boss's name was confidential. Please..., a manager's name is confidential? In each conversation, I was constantly "reminded" that they were following guidelines. I let them know that I was not going to accept another band aid fix and I would be calling the media. Having read numerous negative reviews, I plan to sue. I have already contacted another company for a new AC. I am contacting the BBB and any and all social media outlets. What a rip-off AHS is!

Icon

Larry Renegar, Hopewell

On Jun 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had 2 claims, hot water heater and a/c work. Both repair appointments were great. Each Technician was friendly, courteous, honest, knowledgable and efficient. American Home Shield is a great investment. I recommend AHS and will always have AHS.

Icon

Edmond Chris Strange, New Castle

On Jun 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS has been amazing with the repair(s) on our washer/dryer combo. They repaired as best they could and when the parts were not available, we got the phone call telling us they would pay for a new one. AMAZING! Great customer service!

Icon

Denise , Woodbridge

On Jun 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

It was a great experience; schedule service and I was notified about the date and time. Repair tech arrived on time and fixed issue. Will continue to use this service. All tech are professional and knowledgeable.

Icon

RONNIE ANDERSON, Chesapeake

On Jun 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Had a great experience. Everything was very professional and very nice. Overall I was very pleased with the service. Everything was on time and the Machanic was very nice and got my dryer back working.

Icon

Barry Marushi , Stafford

On Jun 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

What a great experience from the work order submission to the repair. AHS makes it easy and they are a pleasure to deal with. My garage door opener broke Saturday afternoon. I called AHS who quickly assigned a repair vendor who came on Monday and fixed my problem. The vendor was courteous and professional. I have had AHS coverage for over 10 years and it has paid for itself every year. AHS does a great job selecting and screening their vendors. The vendors provide quality repairs and are always courteous and professional. AHS is a great value and hassle free!

Icon

Luis m , Disputanta

On Jun 16, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I’m a first time home owner after renting for 11 years I was not aware of how many things can go wrong went owing a house I’m on my middle 30s and having America home shield backing you went something goes wrong is amazing you only have to pay the deductible is even better that paying hundreds on a single repair

Icon

T Holmes, Tappahannock

On Jun 11, 2020

Cinch Home Services

By far the worst company I’ve every dealt with. I live in a rural area and they do have any technicians that service my area. Why offer services in my area if you don’t service the area? I’ve been trying to get some plumbing issues fixed for about 6 plus months now and still no help. Currently looking for new home warranty and now I’m left with paying out of pocket with no guarantee of getting reimbursed. Complete waste of time.

Icon

anna, Charlottesville

On Jun 03, 2020

Cinch Home Services

This is the worst company. I am having the same experience as the above reviewer. I have been waiting at least 8 weeks for my washer to be fixed. The repair people say that the washer cannot be repaired but I also think Cinch is trying to get me to wait it out. It is next to impossible to talk to a human on the phone and once you auto-renew, you are stuck doing it forever as it is impossible to stop this online and once again almost IMPOSSIBLE to speak to a human on the phone.

Icon

Joseph Avery, Woodbridge

On May 27, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have used the American Home Shield protective insurance on a number of home issues including electrical problems, plumbing problems, HAVC issues, etc. I have also used other home warranty companies in the past, and I have had less hassle using AHS\'s service than other companies, and experienced no broken promises like reneging on agreements experienced with other companies, and no problems using American Home Shield. Their automated on-line service has worked exceptionally well, and all the service companies arrived on time and were extremely efficient in finding the problem and fixing it. I am pretty critical, but I have to admit I have experienced no problems with American Home Shield, and their service has been excellent. I will continue to use them.

Icon

Brenda A Coffey, Fredericksburg

On May 23, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Had a plumbing leak which was addressed right away. The plumber did a good job on the repair only after the repair was done we find out that it wasn\'t covered under the warranty for this reason we will not be renewing our contract with American Home Shield.

Icon

Ashok Goyal, Great Falls

On May 21, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great experience using AHS every time. The vendor did a great job and was very professional. The AHS contractor was easy to reach to make the appointment and did an excellent job.

Icon

Susan Frager Benshoff, Ruckersville

On May 21, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

They keep assigning my whirlpool tub repair to 2 companies who will tell me over the phone they don\'t service whirlpool tubs. we went thru this in December and finally got to a company that did. Now they tell me they can\'t use that company which is a lie, because i have called them directly. The company that doesn\'t work on tubs came out, and reported the problem incorrectly. This company is terrible. I have been asking for a supervisor for 2 weeks and none call back. I wish it was possible to give less than 1 star

Icon

Lenora Carter, Richmond

On May 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My gas range had several issues and AHS deemed it a Total Loss. It was replaced with a gas range that was almost identical to the one that was broken. I had a black, five burner gas range. The replacement was a brand new, black, five burner gas range that is simply beautiful and I love it. The assessment and replacement was done in a professional, timely manner and I am totally satisfied with AHS. I recommend AHS wholeheartedly. I call them my Handyman extraordinaire!

Icon

Greg Buckley, Hampton

On May 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Just Fantastic. The work was done in a very professional manner worthy of the hype! I told my friends and they all wanted to know more... Ok, this is all I can think of with this great job.

Icon

Laurie Showers, Fredericksburg

On May 08, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Such a great experience! The dryer stopped working on Sunday evening. We filed an online claim on Monday and got an appointment scheduled for Wednesday. The contactor came on time and fixed the problem right away! He even cleaned up after doing the repair. Thank You!

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

If you have received warranty service in the past or are a present customer and you would like to share your experience with a home warranty company, go ahead and write a review. Your feedback will help other customers in making the right choice.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020