ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

Home  /   Us   /  virginia
last_updated_date Updated on July 18, 2022
virginia logo
last_updated_date Updated on July 18, 2022
virginia logo

Best Home Warranty Companies In Virginia (2022)

Virginia has access to beautiful mountains and beaches, making it a popular living choice. The state sees warm and sunny summers and snowy winters. Such climate conditions mean that you will also have to deal with rapid wear and tear of home systems and appliances. Choosing one of the best home warranty companies in Virginia can help you get quick maintenance service and save thousands of dollars.

Disclaimer: We facilitate quotes from reputable home warranty providers and may earn a commission, but that does not influence our evaluation process to produce unbiased reviews.

7 Best Home Warranty Companies In Virginia

Take a look at the best home warranty companies in Virginia:

Premium

$46-$55

Deductible

$60-$85

System Coverage

$3000/Item

States Covered

49

Activation

30 Days

Appliances Coverage

Upto $3K/item

25,000 Contractors Handled Over 5,000,000 Service Requests
mapicon
Offer(s) available: 1st month free + Free roof coverage
Plan Details
Offer(s) available: 1st month free + Free roof coverage
25,000 Contractors Handled Over 5,000,000 Service Requests

Premium

$60-$65

Deductible

$60-$100

System Coverage

$3k/Item

States Covered

46

Activation

30 Days

Appliances Coverage

$3k/Item

Network Of Over 10,000 Contractors Lowest Deductible In The Industry
mapicon
Offer(s) available: $150 off + Free roof coverage + 2 months free
Plan Details
Offer(s) available: $150 off + Free roof coverage + 2 months free
Network Of Over 10,000 Contractors Lowest Deductible In The Industry

Premium

$39-$60

Deductible

$75-$125

System Coverage

Unlimited

States Covered

49

Activation

30 Days

Appliances Coverage

$6K-Unlimited

17,000 Local Contractors Paid $2 Billion In Claims
Plan Details
17,000 Local Contractors Paid $2 Billion In Claims

Premium

$50-$60

Deductible

$75

System Coverage

$1.5k/Item

States Covered

46

Activation

30 Days

Appliances Coverage

$1.5k/item

90-Day Service Guarantee No Limits On Claims
mapicon
Offer(s) available: $200 Off + 2 Months Free*
Plan Details
Offer(s) available: $200 Off + 2 Months Free*
90-Day Service Guarantee No Limits On Claims

Premium

$35-$50

Deductible

$90

System Coverage

$2k/Item

States Covered

45

Activation

30-days

Appliances Coverage

$2k/Item

Plans Starting At $1/Day Vast Network Of Contractors
mapicon
Plan Details
Plans Starting At $1/Day Vast Network Of Contractors

Premium

$27-$51

Deductible

$100-$150

System Coverage

$1.5k/Item

States Covered

48

Activation

30 days

Appliances Coverage

$2k/Item

40+ Years of Experience Completed Over 1 Million Claims
mapicon
Plan Details
40+ Years of Experience Completed Over 1 Million Claims

Premium

$39- $45

Deductible

$75

System Coverage

N/A

States Covered

32

Activation

30 days

Appliances Coverage

N/A

Lower chance of claim denial
mapicon
Plan Details
Lower chance of claim denial

Home Warranty Companies In Virginia: Details

We've reviewed the seven most popular home warranty companies of Virginia; take a look:

Choice Home Warranty Review

Details
Plans/Coverage
Cost
Info

Choice Home Warranty offers home warranty service to over 1.6million homes. It also offers economical plans to homeowners along with coverage limits of up to $3000 per item.

What To Expect From CHW:

  • 90-Day parts & 30-day labor guarantee
  • Coverage without extra fee for homes up to 5000 sq. ft.
  • Coverage limits of up to $3000 per item

Choice Home Warranty provides two coverage plans- the Basic Plan and the Total Plan, along with add-on coverage options as per your preference.

The Basic Plan is priced at $45 monthly, and the Total Plan costs around $55. The company’s service fees can range from $75 to $150.

Premium$46-$55
Service Fee$60-$85
LimitUpto $3K/item
Activation30 Days
Cancellation Fee$50
Premium$46-$55
Service Fee$60-$85
LimitUpto $3K/item
Activation30 Days
Cancellation Fee$50
1st month free + Free roof coverage
Offer(s) available:1st month free + Free roof coverage

Select Home Warranty Review

Details
Plans/Coverage
Cost
Info

Select Home Warranty has over a decade of experience in the home warranty industry. The company offers a significant discount on premium if you pay annually and provides free roof coverage on selected plans.

What To Expect From SHW:

  • Dollar limits of upto $2000 per item
  • Same-day response on claims

Select Home Warranty offers three plans to homeowners: Bronze Care, Gold Care, and Platinum Care, which is the most comprehensive.

The Bronze Care and Gold Care plans are priced at $60 monthly, while the Platinum Care Plan is priced at $64 per month. The deductibles vary from one state to another, ranging from $60 to $100.

Premium$60-$65
Service Fee$60-$100
Limit$3k/Item
Activation30 Days
Cancellation Fee$75
Premium$60-$65
Service Fee$60-$100
Limit$3k/Item
Activation30 Days
Cancellation Fee$75
$150 off + Free roof coverage + 2 months free
Offer(s) available:$150 off + Free roof coverage + 2 months free

American Home Shield (AHS) Review

Details
Plans/Coverage
Cost
Info

American Home Shield is a veteran in the industry with over five decades of experience. It has nationwide availability, comprehensive plan options, and a B rating from the BBB.

What To Expect From AHS:

  • Dollar limits of $3000 on appliances & unlimited on systems
  • 30 days workmanship guarantee
  • Undetectable pre-existing conditions are covered

Customers can pick between three plans, ShieldSilver, ShieldGold, and ShieldPlatinum, with various add-ons.

American Home Shield plans cost between $39 to $70 per month with three options on deductibles: $75, $100, and $125.

Premium$39-$60
Service Fee $75-$125
Limit$6K-Unlimited
Activation 30 Days
Cancellation FeeN/A
Premium$39-$60
Service Fee $75-$125
Limit$6K-Unlimited
Activation 30 Days
Cancellation FeeN/A

ServicePlus Home Warranty Review

Details
Plans/Coverage
Cost
Info

ServicePlus Home Warranty was founded in 2016 and is one of the fast-growing companies in the home warranty industry, making it an option on our list. It offers coverage in 46 states, reasonable premiums, and good coverage limits.

What To Expect From ServicePlus:

  • A limited free coverage to new users
  • Guarantee of 90 days on parts & 30 days on labor
  • Dollar limit of $1.5k per contract item

Service Plus Home Warranty provides two plans to the homeowners: Gold Plan & Platinum Plan with 18 optional items.

ServicePlus plans range between $50 to $65. Aside from the premiums, a deductible of $75 has to be paid for every service visit.

Premium$50-$60
Service Fee$75
Limit$1.5k/item
Activation30 Days
Cancellation Fee $50
Premium$50-$60
Service Fee$75
Limit$1.5k/item
Activation30 Days
Cancellation Fee $50
$200 Off + 2 Months Free*
Offer(s) available:$200 Off + 2 Months Free*

Liberty Home Guard Review

Details
Plans/Coverage
Cost
Info

Liberty Home Guard has been in the business since 2017 and earned an A rating from the BBB in this short time. It offers affordable protection plans and even has low service fees.

What To Expect From Liberty:

  • Workmanship guarantee of 60 days
  • Dollar limit of $2k per item

Liberty Home Guard offers three plans to the customers: Systems Plan, Appliance Plan, and Total Home Guard Plan. The company even offers extensive optional add-ons that you can add to your plan.

LHG plans can cost $35 to $50 monthly, and If you include any optional item, annual costs can be between $44 and $195. The company also charges a $90 deductible or service fee.

Premium$35-$50
Service Fee $90
Limit$2k/Item
Activation30-days
Cancellation Fee$50
Premium$35-$50
Service Fee $90
Limit$2k/Item
Activation30-days
Cancellation Fee$50

Cinch Home Services Review

Details
Plans/Coverage
Cost
Info

Cinch Home Services covers major home systems & appliances and prevents homeowners from expensive repairs and replacements. It also offers protection for unknown pre-existing conditions and discounts on new appliances.

What To Expect From CHS:

  • Workmanship guarantee of 180 days
  • $500 Homeowners Insurance Deductible Reimbursement
  • Dollar limit of upto $2k per item

Cinch Home Services offers three plans to the homeowners: Appliances Plan, Built-in Systems Plan, and Complete Home Plan. It also offers a ‘Premier Upgrade’ package that includes electrical & plumbing modifications, code upgrades, permits, condenser pads, and more.

Cinch Home Services plans can range from $34.99 to $67.99 per month with deductibles of $75, $100, or $150 (depending on the chosen plan).

Premium $27-$51
Service Fee$100-$150
Limit$2k/Item
Activation30 days
Cancellation Fee10%
Premium $27-$51
Service Fee$100-$150
Limit$2k/Item
Activation30 days
Cancellation Fee10%

First Premier Home Warranty Review

Details
Plans/Coverage
Cost
Info

First Premier Home Warranty provides coverage to Virginia residents at affordable rates. It even has an A- rating with the BBB, and its plans start from $45 per month.

What To Expect From First Premier Home Warranty:

  • A strong network of experienced home service professionals
  • 30 years of experience with HVAC systems
  • Nationwide plans for both realtors and homeowners

The company offers homeowners two comprehensive home warranty plans: Premier Plan and Premier Platinum. Premier Plan is for homeowners looking for basic coverage, while Premier Platinum is for people with bigger homes and multiple units.

FPHW has flexible plans as per the customer’s requirements. The premiums can start from $375 and increase as per the selected add-ons, and the deductible can range from $60-$100, depending on the customer’s choice.

Premium$39- $45
Service Fee$75
LimitN/A
Activation30 days
Cancellation Fee
Premium$39- $45
Service Fee$75
LimitN/A
Activation30 days
Cancellation Fee

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Virginia

Summers in Virginia are humid, which can even speed up the wear and tear of your household items. Some systems and appliances are more prone to getting damaged than others, mainly dependent on the climate.
Virginia’s weather profile is discussed below, which will help you to understand why safeguarding your appliances and systems is essential. 

Average Rainfall Average Sunlight General Climate Conditions Tropical Cyclones
44 inches/ Year 205 Sunny Days/ Year
  • Long summers 
  • Snowy winters
June-November

So, the regular usage of any home system and appliance can put an immense strain on different parts and components of the devices. It will eventually result in a system or an appliance breakage, which can get expensive. That is why it is recommended to safeguard your household items with a home warranty.
Here are some things you need to consider when purchasing a home warranty:

  1. A home warranty company has different terms and conditions related to the coverage. Read the fine print and exclusions before choosing a particular home warranty plan. 
  2. Make sure to research online and find everything you need to know about the home warranty company through the different customer reviews platform. 
  3. Go for an affordable yet comprehensive home warranty plan for home items prone to damage. 
  4. Check with your friends and family about Virginia's best home warranty services.

A Glimpse At The Average Premium In Virginia

Home Warranty In Virginia Cities

Home Warranties are available in different parts of Virginia. However, it is purchased in these major cities: Aldie, Alexandria, Arlington, Ashburn, Burke, Chantilly, Chesapeake, Chester, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Gainesville, Glen Allen, Hampton, and Henrico.

Home Warranty Coverage in the States

Resources For Homeowners In Virginia 

The Bottom Line

Many home warranty companies offer home warranty plans across Virginia. You should research and settle down on the right one as not all the companies have similar quality of services and coverage. Read the fine prints to know about the inclusions and exclusions of the plan.

Review Methodology

At HomeWarrantyReviews.com, we offer transparent and trustworthy information to our readers. We properly research different home warranty companies to help you make a smart decision.

To help offer our readers the best information, here are some criteria we rate the different home warranty companies:

FAQs

What Are The Home Warranty Regulations In Virginia?

Previously under the purview of the state’s Bureau of Insurance, the passing of Housing Bill 1542 in 2017 effectively transferred the regulation of home service contract providers to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Affairs.
Under this law, home service contract providers have to register with the new regulatory body.

Which Is The Best Home Warranty In Virginia?

Many top home warranty providers offer their services in Virginia. Two of our top picks mentioned on this page – American Home Shield and First American Home Warranty, provide multiple coverage options at affordable prices.
American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry and has several years of experience. They also offer maintenance services and have various optional add-ons you can choose.
First American Home Warranty has also been a part of the home warranty scene for a long time. They offer comprehensive coverage and extended dollar limits through the First Class Upgrade, thereby minimizing the risk of claim denials.

How To File A Home Warranty Deed In Virginia?

Not to be confused with home warranties, a home warranty deed is a legal document used during real estate transactions between a buyer and seller. It is not related to home warranty policies and has a different use. You can ask your real estate agent for help with this deed or download an online template.

Can I Get A Home Warranty On An Old House?

Home warranty companies offer their services to customers with old houses. We recommend getting a home warranty to cover your old home as most of the appliances and systems will be more prone to breakdowns.

What If I’m Selling Or Buying A Home?

Home warranties work well for both buyers and sellers during real estate transactions. For sellers, home warranties can help increase the home market’s value and attract potential buyers.
As a buyer, you may be wary of the condition of the home you are purchasing. Having a home warranty in place to save costs in case of unexpected breakdowns can provide you with peace of mind.

What Is Covered Under A Home Warranty?

Your typical home warranty coverage includes your home’s major systems and appliances. These items may be your refrigerator, dishwasher, HVAC, plumbing, and more. The exact coverage depends on your chosen plan and the specifications mentioned in your home warranty contract.

How Does The Claim Process Work?

When a covered item breaks down, you must file a claim with your home warranty company. Most companies have similar claims procedures.

  1. You can file your service request on your home warranty company’s website, email them, or place a call to their customer service.
  2. The company will accept and approve the request based on your claim’s validity.
  3. If your claim is approved, the company will arrange for a service technician to visit your home and diagnose and repair the broken item. You’ll have to pay the technician the agreed-upon service fee.

We advise you to thoroughly review your service agreement with the home warranty provider to avoid any claim denials.

Is Homeowners Insurance The Same As Home Warranty?

Home warranties are often confused with homeowner’s insurance, but the two are very different. Homeowners insurance is a prerequisite for getting a mortgage and offers coverage for your property’s structural components, furnishing, and other aspects. This coverage offers compensation in cases of theft, natural disasters, etc.
Home warranties, on the other hand, are service agreements that provide coverage to the appliances and systems in your home. Home warranty coverage only applies when items break down due to normal wear and tear. Learn more about the differences between these two services in our comprehensive guide.

Is A Home Warranty Worth It?

A home warranty can be a worthwhile choice if your home is old and the devices are vulnerable to breaking down. It can give you relief, knowing that you can call on a repair contractor ASAP. It will also help you save thousands of dollars in repair and replacement costs.

Why Should You Trust HomeWarrantyReviews.com

Virginia Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Elizabeth Bryant, Falls Church

On Aug 18, 2022

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Dealing with Cinch was the worst experience I\'ve had in my four years as a homeowner. While I was able to get a service provider out to my house the day after reporting a problem with my air conditioning (Aug. 4), Cinch\'s website continue to list my claim as "pending appointment" for another week. The problem with my AC required further repairs. Temps were in the mid-90s last week, and I was staying with a friend because my house was uninhabitable. On Aug. 8, a Cinch customer service rep told me that Cinch was "probably" going to cover the repairs. The next day, another Cinch rep called to say they were denying my claim because of "dirty filters." (I've changed the filters every three months for as long as I've owned the house.) Later, yet another Cinch rep called to say she was overturning the denial because there was no maintenance clause in my contract, and the Cinch-assigned service provider said they'd get me some pricing options for the repairs. That was last Thursday the 11th. After hearing nothing from Cinch or the service provider, on Monday, Aug. 15, I called the service provider and was told that Cinch had told them -- not me -- that they weren't paying for the repairs because of "improper installation." I immediately left a message for the Cinch rep who "overturned the denial." As of today (Thurs., Aug. 18), no one from Cinch has returned my call. To cap off the incompetence, Cinch has just now sent me a text saying that my "confirmed appointment" is scheduled for today. I cancelled it, and I will not be renewing my warranty. I would rather pay more out of pocket to get the work completed, and to deal with a company who understands customer service.

Icon

Bill Simpson, Warrenton

On Aug 02, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Horrible! New Frigidaire refrigerator/freezer stopped cooling April 26 . . . gift card for the amount of the purchase price FINALLY issued July 20 after 3 failed service calls, multiple calls and multiple HOURS on the phone with unhelpful agents, and months of having to use the neighbors\' spare refrigerator space for the few foods we could keep on hand during that time. Every agent says a different thing -- issue differing protocols, differing time frames, differing and unkept assurances . . . VERY time consuming and very much the exact opposite of what a customer should have to experience in getting a legitimate appliance claim processed.

Icon

Robin Ruffin, Richmond

On Jul 27, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They technician was very knowledgeable & professional. He had to order service parts & once they came he scheduled an appointment & repaired the oven . Very Professional & timely. Highly recommended

Icon

Cris B, Woodbridge

On Jul 25, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very Satisfied Customer! The referred companies resolved all of my issues within a reasonable timeframe. Customer service is good, quality is good and overall rating is great.

Icon

Yvonne Rigopoulos, Spotsylvania

On Jul 19, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service. Appointment time was made right away. No hassle, pay online for service fee. Contractor was prompt, helpful and fast. United Air Temps was the A/C Contractor. I am very thankful for AHS.

Icon

Deborah Hardway, Virginia Beach

On Jul 08, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Plumbing issue...leaky toilet. Claim handled quickly and plumber was efficient and courteous. He worked around my scheduled doctors appointment. Also informed me of 60 day call back policy . Made sure I was satisfied and tested equipment with me present.

Icon

George Morgan, Roanoke

On Jul 07, 2022

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Our LG French door refrigerator stopped cooling in less than four years from purchase date. We paid for the five year extended warranty. I called the number provided by Lowes. Lowes agent for extended warranty is Customer Assurant Care. I provided my plan number to the agent answering the call. She said she couldn\'t find the number. I assured her it was also on the Lowes warranty web site. She asked if I was calling for someone else. I Answered no. She asked if I was in San Antonio, Texas. I answered no. She then claimed data had not been fully downloaded. They would get back to me in one to two days. Sound familiar? I went to the Lowes store where we purchased the LG refrigerator to see if they could help. The customer service guy and the assistant store manager tried to help. They called the number and came up with exact same thing I did. The store manager did push it off on Customer Assurant Care. I reminded him that Lowes elected to use that company therefore were a direct agent of Lowes. I paid the warranty fee to Lowes not Customer Assurant Care. He said give them the two days. If I hadn't heard back, they would call for me. Of course after two days, no call. A customer service person at Lowes called Customer Assurant Care. She went through the same script as the past two times. This all started 6/21/2022, now it's 6/23/2022. She finally got a repair call set up for July 7, 2022. Sixteen days for repairman to look at refrigerator. Error code on the panel was FF. Thats the freezer fan. A local appliance parts company said the part is not available. Maybe 10 weeks out. At this time I have no idea long we'll be without a refrigerator. We have purchased another. we didn't buy it from Lowes and we didn't by an LG. The refrigerator was our first LG appliance and will absolutely be last LG appliance. I was told by the repair service they do not make repairs the cooling system on LG refrigerators. I have no choice but to give one star which I consider extremely generous, a no star is warranted.

Icon

Javed Yousafzai, Stafford

On Jul 01, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have an issue that my TV was broken and I have coverage for that to I tried so many times they always given me different numbers and unfortunately my complaints were not resolved I thinking I can drop my insurance.

Icon

Delores Bredemeier , Powhatan

On Jun 28, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Complete professional. Trying to make sure that my heat pump was working properly. He explained what he did to try and correct the problem and what I might could do to possibly keep it from happening again.

Icon

Jim , Newport News

On Jun 27, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Outstanding service! The staff at AHS kept me informed of progress, contacted the contractor on my behalf, and followed up to make sure I was totally satisfied! Top notch service!

Icon

Victoria Hernandez , Richmond

On Jun 24, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was so frustrated that my electric in my home was going haywire and I lost all of my food. But AHS sent a young man from West** Electric** and it took 2 tries but it was done right

Icon

Melissa Anderson, Suffolk

On Jun 21, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Never had any issues with this company. I’ve used multiple home warranty companies, AHS has given me the best service. Been with them over 4 years and have no intentions to leave. I promote them to every one I talk to.

Icon

Marc McGahee, Glen Allen

On Jun 21, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service on my HVAC. They came in less than 24 hours an completed a major repair. Technician was very professional and knowledgeable. Well worth having the warranty. Provides great peace of mind.

Icon

VERONICA KILLINGS, Newport News

On Jun 20, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was very impressed with the technicians that they sent out to my home. He was very professional and knowledgeable. I also appreciate Customer Service taking the time to answer all my concerns and questions with a professional attitude. I’m very satisfied with my service.

Icon

Brad Fitzpatrick, New Kent

On Jun 17, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I never, ever do this, but I have had such a bad experience, I feel the need to. I had my water heater go out so I contacted AHS to service it. The unit was old and the part that went bad was no longer made, so the unit had to be replaced. The contractor hired came quickly and that\'s where the good experiences ended... Over the next four or five days, I was calling between the contractor and AHS, each one pointing the finger at the other as to why there had been zero progression. The only thing American Home Shield was willing to do was to take an authorization from me to cover $150 in uncovered expenses and to offer me a cash-out option so that I could handle the replacement myself! I repeatedly asked what unit would be replacing mine and they would not give me that information. Finally, two weeks to the day that I requested service, the water heater was ordered and a service date set for three days later. I received a call from the contractor at 9:30 that morning stating the unit had not arrived and so they would not be able to go forward with the install. I had taken a day off of work. They stated it would be in the next day, so I took yet another day off of work to be there. The next day came and around 9 am, the contractor called again stating that the wrong water heater had been ordered and blamed AHS for the issue. Remember that I had repeatedly asked what unit would be replacing mine. Contacting AHS several times that day, they stated that indeed the wrong unit had been ordered and blamed the contractor. They stated that another had been ordered the previous day and that it would be there the same day. When I questioned how that was possible when they just discovered it was the wrong unit 15 minutes prior, they changed their answer and said that it was in process of being ordered. When I pressed further for information, I was told that it had been ordered during our conversation. When I attempted to clarify that, they again told me that they were still reviewing the information and that the unit had NOT been ordered. At this point, I was clearly upset and asked to speak to a supervisor from within AHS. I was told to hold and they would see if one was available. After waiting 15 minutes, I was hung up on. Contacting AHS back, I was told that they were not able/allowed to transfer me to a supervisor, but that one would call me back within 48 hours!!! The next day, the supervisor called me back. Keep in mind that this is a call center that AHS outsources from the Philippines. I asked why an AHS employee had not called and they told me that there was no one within AHS who could call because they did not have managers!?!? The supervisor spent the next 20 minutes pandering to me while half-listening to my story. He wanted to take no responsibility for their actions or bad information they had given me. He could provide no information as to where we were in the process, when it might be approved, and stated they could not call me once the water heater had actually been ordered. At this point it has been over three weeks and no idea when/if the water heater will be ordered, arrive, or be replaced. I’ve requested a “cash out” that I was told would take 24-48 hours. At the 48 hour mark I was told it would be sometime that day. The day came and went and no cash out offer, no call. When you outsource customer service, it is no longer customer service, it is information services because they have no authority and no skin in the game. Just an awful experience.

Icon

Randy Logsdon , Mechanicsville

On Jun 16, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This was my first service call. It included a free re-key of my home. The technician showed up on time, shared information about my locks, resolved some issues about my doors that help me greatly, he was friendly, courteous, and professional. I\'m ready to use AHS again. I\'m not sure what, claims and settlement are. I believe I settled with the technician. It was a no charge service call. I haven't heard from AHS if further settlement is needed. It must be as advertised and promised. No complaints here.

Icon

Lisa M Pantoja, Fredericksburg

On Jun 13, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have had overall good experiences with AHS. I appreciate the online request option. I always get fast response. And get no issues when the repair person has to come back it the problem is not resolved.

Icon

Tiny Avenger, Chantilly

On Jun 13, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My dryer stopped working so I put in a service order and within 24 hours, I was contacted by a technician. The service was performed a few days later to my expectations. J*** arrived on time and repaired the dryer quickly. He was very professional, explaining the issue and how he was able to repair the dryer. He cleaned up after putting the dryer back together and left in under an hour. Overall experience was excellent for the price and service provided. Will use AHS again for future repairs. Thank you.

Icon

John Broadwater, Williamsburg

On Jun 12, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

My refrigerator wasn\'t cooling properly, so I went to my American Home Shield website and requested service. Within minutes, a local repair company had been assigned. The problem was quickly diagnosed and parts ordered. In just a few days my fridge was back in operation. I\'m very satisfied with my AHS home warranty.

Icon

Michael Carter, Chesapeake

On Jun 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Well, when the repairman showed up for the A/C repair he was outstanding, professional and knowledgeable.. that being said, my A/c went out on a Thursday and I did not get a service appointment until 6 days later. I do understand it is summer and companies are slammed with calls. I was hoping AHS would of had enough clout with their repair contractors to get service quicker for things like A/c or Heat etc… We were not happy about waiting so long..

Icon

Dick Myers, Herndon

On Jun 09, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The AHS vendor, L*** A*** G***** D****, was timely in their arrival and Efficient and expedient in resolving Our problem. The technician, Roger, was very professional with his knowledge and approach as well as with his communication Thanks, AHS, for another job well done

Icon

Lorraine Foreman, Chesapeake

On Jun 08, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

First: I contacted AHS on 6/7/2022 explained to the CSR the issues at hand, and she stated they were covered. They arrived on 6/8/2022 to make repairs to minor plumbing issue of my commode not being bolted to floor and leaking, hand held shower detaching from wall and noise in the garbage disposal; which amounted to a small hardened piece of plastic that was lodged in the disposal. The unprofessional company "Just Right Plumbing", sent two guys and one was Vaping/smoking when I opened the door, no masks or booties for shoes. I informed the smoker/vapor, that he couldn't smoke inside and he agreed. I gave them booties, which they wore. One guy pulled a very small piece of hard plastic from the disposal and no other services were performed. I discontinued the service. AHS would not cover 2 bolts and a wax ring to fix the toilet. Told me they would have to cut into the bathroom wall to bolt down a hand held shower apparatus. Most of these companies are just money takers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Icon

Nathan Poole, Montross

On Jun 02, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Ahs is one of the best home warranty I have dealt with. Because they have some of the best companies to come and fixed things in your home. And they are always on time and very polite and experienced in what they do

Icon

Dwayne , Center Cross

On May 25, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The tech was top notch , the only problem was what they charge for Freon, versus what you pay , and per my contract I’m only suppose to pay my deductible, but that doesn’t seem to be true

Icon

Tammy Cochran , Fredericksburg

On May 25, 2022

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

American Home Shield contracted X***** H****** R***** (B****) was very professional, respectful and on time. He was able to fix the problem and made sure it was working before he left. Plus he answered all my questions.

Activation

Plans/ Coverage
Claim Process
Reviews
https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
user survey
Feedback Questions

How can we improve your experience on our site?

Please provide a feedback

For company specific reviews click here

from ,

requested a free quote