ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  Virginia
last_updated_icon Last updated: March 24, 2021

Home Warranty Companies In Virginia

Virginia is a state located in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States. The current home-ownership rate in Virginia is 66%. If you are a homeowner in Virginia, you must consider buying a home warranty plan to protect your home appliances and your pocket from undesirable expenses.

With the increase in demand for home warranty, many warranty providers have emerged in the recent years. Choosing the best company among them can be difficult. To help you in the process, HomeWarrantyReviews.com has listed out all the top home warranty companies in Virginia.

You can compare the listed companies and plans to get a better idea of what they are offering, and determine which home warranty company in Virginia suits your unique needs.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

A Glimpse At Average Premium In virginia

The average premium for a Home Warranty plan in Virginia is $318.98, and the deductible is $40.55. The following graph gives you a brief idea of the average premium in Virginia. The X-axis displays premium price and Y-axis represents the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In virginia

Min Average Premium in virginia Max $ 313.88 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in virginia (VA) major towns:

Alexandria Arlington Chesapeake
Hampton Newport News Norfolk
Portsmouth Richmond Roanoke

Population : 8,001,239

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period
phone icon

Best Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

feature_icon

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Offer Available

First Month Free

Limited Roof Coverage

mapicon

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Total Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

First American Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
  • Won the Editor’s Choice award in 2017 and has been consistently nominated for the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • First American Home Warranty saved homeowners over 180 million in 2018
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Virginia is dominated by a humid subtropical climate and is considered as comparatively milder than other states. Nevertheless, it does exhibit other varied weather phenomena such as frigid temperatures, snowstorms, thunderstorms, and hurricanes.

When temperature sores high, appliances and systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, and other cooling systems work continuously to beat the heat. Though these home items are designed to last longer, when they work overtime, the chances are higher that they break down.  Not just summers, even rainy and winter seasons can damage your home items. Furnaces and other heating systems work overtime to keep your home warmer due to which they may break down.

Repairing or replacing the parts and components of home items can be expensive. But with a home warranty plan you can get the faulty components fixed by professional technicians without spending huge amounts of money.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Virginia

Home warranty plans are worth the money, provided you have invested in the right plan. There are many home warranty companies that offer warranty plans in Virginia. Here, we have listed a few plans offered by top companies in Virginia.

American Home Shield is a leading home warranty company in Virginia. The company offers a range of comprehensive plans such as System Plan, Appliance Plan, and Combo Plan. It also offers Build-your-own-plan, where you can pick and choose what home appliances may get covered.

Choice Home Warranty, a popular warranty provider offers two plans- The Basic Plan and The Total Plan. Both of these cover your home appliances and systems. The company also offers optional coverage to protect additional items like pool/spa equipment, etc.

First American Home Warranty offers a basic plan and premium plan to their customers. The cost of their plans range from $334-$534 annually. Their average deductible is $75. The premium plan covers a wide range of appliances and systems and is ideal for older homes.

HSA Home Warranty both provide comprehensive appliance and system coverage according to your home's needs. Annual premiums of their plans range from $190 to $ 600. Their service call fee is between $75 to $100.

Get your free home warranty quote to find out what the company of your choice has to offer.<.p>

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Virginia

  1. Compare the plans and prices of various warranty providers. This will help you get maximum coverage at minimum cost. Also, check if the company allows you to choose the appliances and systems you wish to protect and pay only for them.
  2.  Determine the coverage inclusion and exclusions. Some companies in Virginia may offer complete coverage but others may cover only the major parts and components of your home appliances and systems. You can determine the inclusions and exclusions either by talking directly to the customer support representative or by reading the fine print of the contract.
  3.  Look out for offers and discounts when getting a home warranty plan. Some home warranty companies may offer discounts or offers for the first time customers or for customers who are covering two homes. Others have referral rewards if you refer their home warranty plans to your friends.This not only helps you to get the best services at a low price.
  4.  Check if the warranty company has any waiting period. Some companies in Virginia may have no waiting period and provide service immediately after the payment. Others may include a waiting period of 30 days post the payment.
  5. You can also check with the real estate agents. They may have information about home warranty companies that is privy only to them. Being in the business of buying and selling homes, they know exactly which home warranty companies in Virginia provide the best care to their customers.

Virginia Home Warranty Companies Reviews

You have to consider various factors like inclusions and exclusions, transparency, and most importantly customer reviews before choosing a home warranty company in Virginia. The reviews will give you a better understanding of the type and quality of services the companies provide. Here, we have listed customer feedback about various home warranty companies in Virginia.
Icon

Marcus House, Woodbridge

On Mar 25, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was with them for over 10 years. The quality of work is excellent. The speed of response for service calls is excellent. The coverage is wide and I never had any problem with them saying an item is not covered in over 10 years. Those are the positives. The negatives are: - They will keep patching up an equipment till the very end to ensure they don't have to pay to replace. - When they do have to replace the ceiling will get you a replacement but usually not a quality replacement. On my AC unit for example that finally failed, I ended up paying for a quality system totally out of pocket with no credit. - If you don't pay attention you will sign up for a package that covers a number of items that are not in your home and as a result you are paying a higher premium because of that. Better to go with another company that covers just what you need for a much lower premium at a lower deductible (service call fee). - If you ever decide to cancel, they will charge you a fee (approx $75) and they don't tell you this until they have completed the cancelation process and you are out the system. They really should disclose this up front. This is with 10+ years of payments. - The plans auto renew with price increase each year and no advance notice of price increase. I literally did not know the price was increasing until this year. This was the reason for my cancelation.

Icon

Trina Shaw, Chester

On Mar 09, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Absolutely wonderful experience! **** came in and accessed my water heater. Another company looked at the sticker and it’s fate and told me it was so old I would need a new water heater probably around $2,600. ***** to the rescue... a fixed ignition switch and some kinda wire( see it didn’t matter that I knew nothing about water heaters) he fixed it ... 30 minutes tops!! Feels good to have someone not take advantage of an already awful situation . Thanks again

Icon

Joan Free, Newport News

On Feb 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I was pleased with **** reopening my closed work order from Friday . One recommendation would be a customer service option for issues other than the 4 on the promo menu . This required me talking to a real person & no customer service option . I contacted a live person by the option that I wanted to buy a new policy .

Icon

Altug Kazanoglu, Henrico

On Feb 18, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I like the helpful staff. They are very kind and friendly. I think sub-contractors which AHS does business has to be given a protocol or guideline. Work must not be dragged out too long in the middle of winter. Customers interest need to be put as number 1 concern. My heating problem (replacing ignition pilot) took 13 days. First person came and repaired but turned out to un repaired, second person came and gave us some talk which hinted replace the whole thing, third person came took the picture of part. Last service people *** and *** came replaced the part-ignition pilot- at the 13th day finely. They were very expert, professional and skilled. I thank them for their fine work. Thanks to AHS for giving me a chance to write this.

Icon

Vivian smith, Portsmouth

On Feb 18, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The technician was prompt, courteous, and professional. He showed great respect for my home. I would say he represents ATR and American Home Shield with great regard. I would gladly recommend both companies.

Icon

Earl Royer, Virginia Beach

On Feb 15, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The company you chose to fix our problem responded promptly. They were very knowledgeable and and quick to respond. Only problem was the parts to effect the repair were not immediately available. But when the parts came in they came and finished the repairs immediately.

Icon

Charmayne Hawthorne, Richmond

On Feb 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Called AHS on 2/6/2021 regarding a leaking water heater. The first rep I spoke with was very rude. I was told there was not a contractor that could be located, I would have to wait until next day with water leaking in my kitchen and garage. I also asked to speak with a manager and was told a manager will be calling me back same day, I never received a call. I waited on the line to complete the survey but the rep never hung up so that I could take the survey. This service received from AHS IS unacceptable, poor customer service. I will not be renewing this year. I have contacted the media, and also other legal actions.

Icon

Amante Fajardo, Alexandria

On Feb 14, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Tried to contact American Home Shield to complain about a recent service ( refrigerator) but was told that the waiting time for calls was 60 to 70 minutes. Who has time to wait that long?Will definitely look for another home warranty.

Icon

Herb Southall, Glen Allen

On Feb 10, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Very positive first time Claim experience . Everything was explained up-front and my options were outlined to me in detail. I opted to replace part of my heating system at my expense and the item was covered with a manufacturers warranty which will eliminate future claims with AHS

Icon

ERVIN L GEORGE, Chesapeake

On Jan 30, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The initial visit from the tech was pretty flawless a fuse was changed in the furnace and my heat came back on. A day later the heat went out again and it’s taken three days during a snowstorm for the company to come back. This is still a good service and the availability of the company to assist in a timely fashion on a follow up ..would be great, but I understand how things are around this time of year. And luckily for my household we have two furnaces,,, so we are able to get by until the tech arrives.

Icon

Darmailya maria Boone, Norfolk

On Jan 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They did a good job. They did not have the part with them but said that they would come back after checking the office and put in however at the end of the day I had to call them to see if they had the parts and they still didn\'t know. They did return the following morning and replaced the ignitor. Better customer communication is suggested. One more night for my tenants without hot water.

Icon

herb, Glen Allen

On Jan 26, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

For my very first service request since rejoining in 2019 I had a very good experience with ********* Air Systems. The technician explained everything to me in detail and informed me of the next steps to be taken to resolve the problem with my Heat Pump. Efficient Air Systems displayed a professional demeanor in every step of the process from setting up my appointment to informing me of the estimated arrival of the technician.

Icon

Thabet El-Azem, Norfolk

On Jan 22, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great experience! The repairman diagnosed the problem and have the part in his work vehicle. our heat was back up and running in on appointment. He was professional, punctual, and efficient. American home shield has great contractors.

Icon

Nye Ogle, Smithfield

On Jan 21, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Service repair personnel were great. Only issue was parts were not delivered as ordered by the repair man so there was a month delay. Again the service personnel we’re very respectful and apologetic that the correct parts were not ordered

Icon

Kenn Bunn, Roanoke

On Jan 12, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We called AHS on I believe December 17, 2020 with a no heat complaint on a house we purchased less than 2 weeks prior. They assigned a service company for the repair. No heat and the kids are coming for Christmas. No heat and no response from the assigned servicer until Monday. They informed us that the first available appointment would be 2 weeks. We took the available slot but called AHS to let them know 2 weeks with no heat was unacceptable. They assigned another servicer. On December 22, 2020 we heard from ********* Mechanical. As A retired HVAC technician I diagnosed the problem and notified ********** Mechanical of the Trane Thermostat part number required. In text they told me they had to do the diagnosis and then they had to negotiate with AHS for their services. Call was scheduled for 5 pm. 6:30 came and I texted to see if they were still coming. ********* Mechanical then told me it would be after 5pm. He arrived about 8 PM. He agreed with my diagnosis and said he would return as soon as AHS approved the repair. On Tuesday January 5, 2021 they texted requesting a Wednesday afternoon appointment. They said they would call at 1:00 to confirm. No call from ********* Mechanical on Wednesday and they did not show. On Thursday I erroneously sent a message to them and thy then told me via text they would be there after 5 on Thursday or turn the call over to another servicer. No call or text. No call or text from AHS either. The Trane manufacturing plant and parts counter is right down the hill from my house. I have requested they just leave the part on the porch and I will install it. As of last Wednesday they hadn’t even picked the part up. I spend a minimum of 10 minutes each time I call AHS while they try to find our account. This is after the 20 to 30 minutes wait for an agent after dealing with the automated part. 3 weeks for at most a 5 minute repair after a 30 minute diagnosis. I guess tomorrow it is back to AHS. They claim they only have two servicers In a city of 100,000. Probably at least 20 in the yellow pages. Something seems very wrong at AHS!

Icon

Roger D Corrie, Virginia Beach

On Jan 05, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Have them on my Washer and Dryer. Washing machine leaking water. Repairman sent to house said it need a watrr valve replacement. Two months no word back from company that ordered the part. Called Lowes and they said frepair not covered due to mold on front loading seal. I will never buy buy another appliance from Lowes. There extended Warranty is a joke do not buy.

Icon

Drew Holbert, Virginia Beach

On Dec 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor was absolutely awesome! On the negative side AHS you guys subpar. It took over a month to get the part and get my heater fixed when the guy had the part, but you guys made him wait in order to get the part from you. Thanks for covering but really? Over a month to get the require part to fix my heater. Not sure I’ll renew after that.

Icon

Willie Harris, Stafford

On Dec 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service. Always quick to response to issues. Always take care of the customer needs. Customer service is always great and provide excellent service to me. Always keep the customer inform of what the status is.

Icon

Betty D Slagle, Chesapeake

On Dec 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The response time and service was excellent. The technician was prompt, professional and courteous. He had all the parts he needed to make the repair on his truck which was to a huge advantage to him and me...no need for a second appointment and enabling me to get back to my laundry.

Icon

Kimberly Davis, Sandston

On Nov 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The plumber was great. Fast efficient and knew what he was doing. However, drywall had to be removed and there is mold damage. The plumber advised the AHS would contact us for mold remediation and to repair the drywall, once they submitted the work order to AHS. To date, we have not heard from American Home Shield. Contractors are great but very disappointed in the lack of response from American Home Shield.

Icon

Theresa, Chester

On Oct 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS sent CK Appliance Repair for the service on my dryer. Excellent CK customer service. Communicated every step of process and were very friendly. Their service technician was excellent. Dryer needed a part ordered and he ordered right on spot. He did put a temporary fix in until it came in. I was notified when part came in and technician installed and have not had any more issues. I highly recommend both.

Icon

Rosalind Ryan, Newport News

On Oct 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This was my first major appliance that I\'ve had replaced. I was a little hesitant, as a friend of mind just had a bad experience having her hot water tank replaced (diff home warranty). I went online, put in a request, Plumber came out, surveyed my tank and area, ordered me a new tank, it took a week, they came back and install it & i had hot water again. Very satisfied with the process. Now my friend has signed up with AHS!

Icon

Troy Price, Woodbridge

On Oct 25, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They totally screwed me! Failed to fix my dryer, then washed their hands of it when my warranty expired. I’ll never use this service again. Not at all worth it. Avoid at all costs.

Icon

martha ingram, Middletown

On Oct 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I sent you my review. I would not recommend this company. I have had 6 claims in 2 years 5vwere nightmares using contractors who took advantage of the fact that I was not there. All have had second opinions and gone to claims resolution. The company does anything it can to mot pay a claim plus work with contractors who are the worst of the worst.

Icon

Florencio Gopez, Chesterfield

On Oct 15, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent response from AHS. Prompt follow up. Repairs were made in good time. AHS have excellent technicians... very professional and does Excellent work . Customer service is very good. They respond well with questions. Good follow up. I highly recommend AHS

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

If you have received warranty service in the past or are a present customer and you would like to share your experience with a home warranty company, go ahead and write a review. Your feedback will help other customers in making the right choice.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020
GET $200 OFF + 2 MONTHS FREE + ROOF COVERAGE