ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

*The lead information obtained will be sent to the respective companies as selected by the readers. However, the lead will be shared with a similar company if the selected company either doesn't participate in Leads Program or doesn't respond.

  Home  /  us  /  Virginia
last_updated_icon Last updated: August 4, 2020

Home Warranty Companies In Virginia

Virginia is a state located in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States. The current home-ownership rate in Virginia is 66%. If you are a homeowner in Virginia, you must consider buying a home warranty plan to protect your home appliances and your pocket from undesirable expenses.

With the increase in demand for home warranty, many warranty providers have emerged in the recent years. Choosing the best company among them can be difficult. To help you in the process, HomeWarrantyReviews.com has listed out all the top home warranty companies in Virginia.

You can compare the listed companies and plans to get a better idea of what they are offering, and determine which home warranty company in Virginia suits your unique needs.

SPECIAL OFFER
Offer valid for limited period

A Glimpse At Average Premium In virginia

The average premium for a Home Warranty plan in Virginia is $318.98, and the deductible is $40.55. The following graph gives you a brief idea of the average premium in Virginia. The X-axis displays premium price and Y-axis represents the number of homeowners.

Average Premium In virginia

Min Average Premium in virginia Max $ 320.16 No. of Homeowners
Range for Homeowners who have opted for Average Premiums & Deductibles, locally.

Coverage in virginia (VA) major towns:

Alexandria Arlington Chesapeake
Hampton Newport News Norfolk
Portsmouth Richmond Roanoke

Population : 8,001,239

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

Best Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 13,855 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
mapicon

Choice Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
3.5
/ 5
Based on 6,997 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

The Home Service Club

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,907 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
mapicon

Select Home Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4
/ 5
Based on 4,347 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Total Home Protection

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star
4.5
/ 5
Based on 722 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
mapicon

Weather Conditions And Impact On Household Items

Virginia is dominated by a humid subtropical climate and is considered as comparatively milder than other states. Nevertheless, it does exhibit other varied weather phenomena such as frigid temperatures, snowstorms, thunderstorms, and hurricanes.

When temperature sores high, appliances and systems like refrigerators, air conditioners, and other cooling systems work continuously to beat the heat. Though these home items are designed to last longer, when they work overtime, the chances are higher that they break down.  Not just summers, even rainy and winter seasons can damage your home items. Furnaces and other heating systems work overtime to keep your home warmer due to which they may break down.

Repairing or replacing the parts and components of home items can be expensive. But with a home warranty plan you can get the faulty components fixed by professional technicians without spending huge amounts of money.

Top Home Warranty Plans In The State Of Virginia

Home warranty plans are worth the money, provided you have invested in the right plan. There are many home warranty companies that offer warranty plans in Virginia. Here, we have listed a few plans offered by top companies in Virginia.

American Home Shield is a leading home warranty company in Virginia. The company offers a range of comprehensive plans such as System Plan, Appliance Plan, and Combo Plan. It also offers Build-your-own-plan, where you can pick and choose what home appliances may get covered.

Choice Home Warranty, a popular warranty provider offers two plans- The Basic Plan and The Total Plan. Both of these cover your home appliances and systems. The company also offers optional coverage to protect additional items like pool/spa equipment, etc.

First American Home Warranty offers a basic plan and premium plan to their customers. The cost of their plans range from $334-$534 annually. Their average deductible is $75. The premium plan covers a wide range of appliances and systems and is ideal for older homes.

HSA Home Warranty both provide comprehensive appliance and system coverage according to your home's needs. Annual premiums of their plans range from $190 to $ 600. Their service call fee is between $75 to $100.

Get your free home warranty quote to find out what the company of your choice has to offer.<.p>

Important Tips On Buying A Home Warranty In Virginia

  1. Compare the plans and prices of various warranty providers in Virginia. This will help you get maximum coverage at minimum cost. Also, check if the company allows you to choose the appliances and systems you wish to protect and pay only for them.
  2.  Determine the coverage inclusion and exclusions. Some companies in Virginia may offer complete coverage but others may cover only the major parts and components of your home appliances and systems. You can determine the inclusions and exclusions either by talking directly to the customer support representative or by reading the fine print of the contract.
  3.  Look out for offers and discounts when getting a home warranty plan. Some home warranty companies may offer discounts or offers for the first time customers or for customers who are covering two homes. Others have referral rewards if you refer their home warranty plans to your friends.This not only helps you to get the best services at a low price.
  4.  Check if the warranty company has any waiting period. Some companies in Virginia may have no waiting period and provide service immediately after the payment. Others may include a waiting period of 30 days post the payment.
  5. You can also check with the real estate agents. They may have information about home warranty companies that is privy only to them. Being in the business of buying and selling homes, they know exactly which home warranty companies in Virginia provide the best care to their customers.

Virginia Home Warranty Companies Reviews

You have to consider various factors like inclusions and exclusions, transparency, and most importantly customer reviews before choosing a home warranty company in Virginia. The reviews will give you a better understanding of the type and quality of services the companies provide. Here, we have listed customer feedback about various home warranty companies in Virginia.
Icon

Nye Ogle, Smithfield

On Jan 21, 2021

Cinch Home Services

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Service repair personnel were great. Only issue was parts were not delivered as ordered by the repair man so there was a month delay. Again the service personnel we’re very respectful and apologetic that the correct parts were not ordered

Icon

Kenn Bunn, Roanoke

On Jan 12, 2021

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

We called AHS on I believe December 17, 2020 with a no heat complaint on a house we purchased less than 2 weeks prior. They assigned a service company for the repair. No heat and the kids are coming for Christmas. No heat and no response from the assigned servicer until Monday. They informed us that the first available appointment would be 2 weeks. We took the available slot but called AHS to let them know 2 weeks with no heat was unacceptable. They assigned another servicer. On December 22, 2020 we heard from ********* Mechanical. As A retired HVAC technician I diagnosed the problem and notified ********** Mechanical of the Trane Thermostat part number required. In text they told me they had to do the diagnosis and then they had to negotiate with AHS for their services. Call was scheduled for 5 pm. 6:30 came and I texted to see if they were still coming. ********* Mechanical then told me it would be after 5pm. He arrived about 8 PM. He agreed with my diagnosis and said he would return as soon as AHS approved the repair. On Tuesday January 5, 2021 they texted requesting a Wednesday afternoon appointment. They said they would call at 1:00 to confirm. No call from ********* Mechanical on Wednesday and they did not show. On Thursday I erroneously sent a message to them and thy then told me via text they would be there after 5 on Thursday or turn the call over to another servicer. No call or text. No call or text from AHS either. The Trane manufacturing plant and parts counter is right down the hill from my house. I have requested they just leave the part on the porch and I will install it. As of last Wednesday they hadn’t even picked the part up. I spend a minimum of 10 minutes each time I call AHS while they try to find our account. This is after the 20 to 30 minutes wait for an agent after dealing with the automated part. 3 weeks for at most a 5 minute repair after a 30 minute diagnosis. I guess tomorrow it is back to AHS. They claim they only have two servicers In a city of 100,000. Probably at least 20 in the yellow pages. Something seems very wrong at AHS!

Icon

Roger D Corrie, Virginia Beach

On Jan 05, 2021

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Have them on my Washer and Dryer. Washing machine leaking water. Repairman sent to house said it need a watrr valve replacement. Two months no word back from company that ordered the part. Called Lowes and they said frepair not covered due to mold on front loading seal. I will never buy buy another appliance from Lowes. There extended Warranty is a joke do not buy.

Icon

Drew Holbert, Virginia Beach

On Dec 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The contractor was absolutely awesome! On the negative side AHS you guys subpar. It took over a month to get the part and get my heater fixed when the guy had the part, but you guys made him wait in order to get the part from you. Thanks for covering but really? Over a month to get the require part to fix my heater. Not sure I’ll renew after that.

Icon

Willie Harris, Stafford

On Dec 25, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Great service. Always quick to response to issues. Always take care of the customer needs. Customer service is always great and provide excellent service to me. Always keep the customer inform of what the status is.

Icon

Betty D Slagle, Chesapeake

On Dec 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The response time and service was excellent. The technician was prompt, professional and courteous. He had all the parts he needed to make the repair on his truck which was to a huge advantage to him and me...no need for a second appointment and enabling me to get back to my laundry.

Icon

Kimberly Davis, Sandston

On Nov 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The plumber was great. Fast efficient and knew what he was doing. However, drywall had to be removed and there is mold damage. The plumber advised the AHS would contact us for mold remediation and to repair the drywall, once they submitted the work order to AHS. To date, we have not heard from American Home Shield. Contractors are great but very disappointed in the lack of response from American Home Shield.

Icon

Theresa, Chester

On Oct 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS sent CK Appliance Repair for the service on my dryer. Excellent CK customer service. Communicated every step of process and were very friendly. Their service technician was excellent. Dryer needed a part ordered and he ordered right on spot. He did put a temporary fix in until it came in. I was notified when part came in and technician installed and have not had any more issues. I highly recommend both.

Icon

Rosalind Ryan, Newport News

On Oct 30, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

This was my first major appliance that I\'ve had replaced. I was a little hesitant, as a friend of mind just had a bad experience having her hot water tank replaced (diff home warranty). I went online, put in a request, Plumber came out, surveyed my tank and area, ordered me a new tank, it took a week, they came back and install it & i had hot water again. Very satisfied with the process. Now my friend has signed up with AHS!

Icon

Troy Price, Woodbridge

On Oct 25, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

They totally screwed me! Failed to fix my dryer, then washed their hands of it when my warranty expired. I’ll never use this service again. Not at all worth it. Avoid at all costs.

Icon

martha ingram, Middletown

On Oct 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I sent you my review. I would not recommend this company. I have had 6 claims in 2 years 5vwere nightmares using contractors who took advantage of the fact that I was not there. All have had second opinions and gone to claims resolution. The company does anything it can to mot pay a claim plus work with contractors who are the worst of the worst.

Icon

Florencio Gopez, Chesterfield

On Oct 15, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Excellent response from AHS. Prompt follow up. Repairs were made in good time. AHS have excellent technicians... very professional and does Excellent work . Customer service is very good. They respond well with questions. Good follow up. I highly recommend AHS

Icon

John Dipasquale, Hampton

On Oct 07, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Got a very quick response from AHS and the assigned contractor. I was kept up to date by the contractor about what he was doing. If I need A/C again, I hope A/C Plus is assigned to do it.

Icon

Paula Doss, Roanoke

On Oct 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Nearly 3 months getting an electrical problem fixed. The first "electrician" didn\'t seem to know what he was doing then never returned to finish the job. Next electricians sent took their time checking out everything. They couldnt get in touch with AHS to get OK for an extra hour to check the wiring in the attic so I had to contact AHS on their facebook message page. When they finally got the OK, they came back and eventually found the problem and fixed it. They are my heros....AHS not so much. AHS needs more live people that contractors can get ahold of. Not good customer service in that regard.

Icon

Nofertary, Stafford

On Oct 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

The AHS customers service lady person that took my service request was very professional and had a wonderful customer service skills. I wished I remembered her name. She was superb.

Icon

Susan Elkordy, Purcellville

On Oct 02, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

By having AHS, I have piece of mind, I am not worried if anything break in the house. My garage opener stopped working, made a phone call to AHS, neighborhood garage company came 7:00 next day in the morning and fixed the door opener.

Icon

leodis adams, Virginia Beach

On Sep 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

all previous services has been great: timely, items replaced timely. Our micro-wave was looked at by a service man sent by AHS. We were told it would have to be replaced. CALLS TO AHS purchasing dept were not responsive. We waited over 30 minutes each day we called, 800-326-6710. not satisfied. The customer service person who transferred us to the purchasing dept, gave us an American name was obviously not American and her American-English was terrible. We had to keep asking her to repeat what she said. Not satisfied with the wait time and customer service. I want to talk to a real person with American-English.

Icon

John, Norfolk

On Sep 19, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

It\'s strange leaving a 2-star review after AHS did replace two of my refrigerators over the years. But when AHS notified me there would be no coverage for the repair or replacement of a failing central air unit, it was a shock that showed just how wrong I was thinking that I was covered by AHS. They cited a bent fin on the condenser or coil, with no claim that it was even related to the equipment failure. The AC unit hadn't been touched in over a year, and even that was by one of AHS's contractors. In 10+ years owning the property, I know the AC unit has rarely been opened. In other words, if this damage exists, it was likely there before I bought the property. Customer service went very silent in terms of any offer at all. They made it clear that I was on my own and were indifferent about me cancelling my contracts, which I have. Of course, they have the math worked out for all of us, and in the case of a central air unit, they'd just as soon lose your business. They are with you for small to mid-range appliances but understand that when it comes to something like an AC unit, your equipment will be subjected to an unreasonable level of scrutiny, and if it's old, they will inevitably find their golden ticket. If you haven't personally inspected and documented your equipment, be ready for some unsavory surprises from AHS.

Icon

Michael Pender, Arlington

On Sep 12, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I have been having problems with my washer/dryer and called for service back in June. It was making clothes I put in it dirtier than before being \'cleaned\'. I had a service call on 6/11/2020 and then another service call when the first person did not know how to fix it. Then it was escalated to a supervisor at AHS and they told me to buy a replacement for the washer/dryer which I did on 7/4/2020 and I submitted the receipt on 7/5/2020. More than two months have passed and I am still waiting for reimbursement for the washer/dryer. I have called at least 12 times (including the many calls for service) and waited on hold an average of an hour each time. I have been told many times that my check is "being processed" and will be done in 2-3 weeks, but that should have been done a long time ago. The latest I was told is that my check was canceled because they didn't know where I live. Yet they knew where to send the service people and the bills for the last 10 years. Yesterday I passed the three month mark since my first service call. What do I have to do to get reimbursed for my washer/dryer?

Icon

Peter Frothingham, Virginia Beach

On Sep 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AC Repair by ATR was successful. Tech was professional, followed COVID protocols, diagnosed problem to the fan and was able to replace same. AHS site worked well. Satisfied with problem resolution.

Icon

Ashok, Great Falls

On Sep 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

AHS does a great job in providing contract support except very hard to get through their customer support. Excellent coverage for the appliances, plumbing, air conditioning and other household items.

Icon

Geronimo Wilkerson, Chesapeake

On Aug 31, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Always there when my family needs them! Thanks for our 11 year relationship! AHS rocks! Worth your time and your money.!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for Everything! Their program is flexible! So many great choices!

Icon

Shelbie Casey, Hayes

On Aug 29, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Overall experience with American Home Shield has been good. In the past a couple of service repairmen have been lacking but it appears that good quality companies are now responding to our needs.

Icon

Maggie Buffler, Aldie

On Aug 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

I love AHS but not the electrical company they sent to me this last time. The serviceman denigrated AHS and hasn’t reconnected with me for over a week since his visit.

Icon

Brandon, Lebanon

On Aug 28, 2020

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Rating starRating starRating starRating starRating star

Bought a GE washing machine there in 2018, bought a 3 year extended warranty with it as well. So, a few months ago it started stopping after the wash cycle and never rinsing or ringing out the clothes, leaving them soaking wet and making you think they had finished washing. I\'ve tried calling numerous times to get someone to come look at it through Lowes and have never received a call back. Today I talked to a girl at the Lowes and was supposedly set up for a call time from a repair center but was informed if it was "something not covered by warranty I'd be charged". Excuse me? This extended warranty is supposed to cover anything that goes wrong with it. At this point I'm about to load it up, take it to the store and tell them to give me a new one.

Tell Us What You Think About Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

If you have received warranty service in the past or are a present customer and you would like to share your experience with a home warranty company, go ahead and write a review. Your feedback will help other customers in making the right choice.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020