ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
  Home  /  us  /  Idaho
last_updated_icon Last updated: December 6, 2019

The Best Idaho Home Warranty Companies

Find the best home warranty companies in Idaho with hundreds of reviews from real customers on HomeWarrantyReviews.com. Choosing the right home warranty plan can help you save money by covering repairs and replacements of your systems and appliances regardless of their age and make. You can sleep peacefully when you know that the service contractors are just a call away. 

We have compiled a list of top Idaho home warranty companies to help you get the best plans. The parameters used to place them include their premium, deductible and company ratings based on the quality of service, etc. The average deductible of a home warranty plan in Idaho is $40.55 and the average premium charged is $318.98.

GLOBAL HOME PROTECTION
SAVING BONANZA

on Home Warranty plans!

$150 OFF and 1 MONTH FREE!

Get expert technicians to care for your home at unbeatable prices

Total Home Protection presents
SPECIAL OFFER

Total Home Protection presents

$100 OFF and 2 MONTHS FREE!

Now to avail this offer use code : THS100

Should You Get a Home Warranty in Idaho?

American Home Shield (AHS)
4.4
/ 5
Based on 13,138 Reviews
  • American Home Shield founded the home warranty industry in 1971
  • Contractor network of 15,000 licensed professionals
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Top Rated
Choice Home Warranty
4.2
/ 5
Based on 6,639 Reviews
  • Choice Home Warranty was nominated for the Editor’s Choice Award for 2018 and 2019
  • One of the few companies that offer coverage for roof repair
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
The Home Service Club
4.5
/ 5
Based on 1,571 Reviews
  • The Home Service Club is a rare exception in the industry that has a service recall period of 90 Days
  • Four-time winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards
  • The waiting period of the policy is 10 Days
Best in service
Select Home Warranty
4.1
/ 5
Based on 4,233 Reviews
  • Select Home Warranty is the only top-rated company that provides coverage for mobile homes
  • Winner of the Annual Home Warranty Awards consecutively for the past 3 years
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days
Total Home Protection
4.7
/ 5
Based on 664 Reviews
  • Affordable and comprehensive home warranty protection
  • All the authorized contractors and service technicians are licensed and insured
  • The waiting period of the policy is 30 Days

A Glimpse At Average Premium In idaho

Coverage in idaho (ID) major towns:

Boise CityCaldwellCoeur D Alene
Idaho FallsLewistonMeridian
NampaPocatelloTwin Falls

Population : 1,566,982

Don't Let Unexpected Appliance Failures Break You!

idaho Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

William Estes, ID

On Jun 05, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

This is our second year with AHS and we have been happy with their service. Our dishwasher had a problem that was repaired promptly.We have had the ice maker and the compressor repaired. The fridge now keeps ice cream frozen.

Icon

C Carrender, ID

On Jun 03, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Home locks re-keyed. Professional and timely experience from the office coordination to field technician. Office professional listened and received details to complete our service and the field technician was timely and efficient.

Icon

Rebecca Richter, ID

On Nov 09, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

My washing machine stopped working, and one of the “burners” on my induction stovetop wasn’t working properly. I was pleased to find that when I reported this I only had to pay for one service call...I felt sure I would have to pay for two calls since there were two appliances to be serviced. What a pleasant surprise! Both appliances were repaired in a timely fashion.

Icon

James Ryan, ID

On May 14, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Called on a Friday morning and got an immediate response from AHS with a referral to a local plumber. Called the local number for the plumber and got a "first thing" service scheduled for Monday morning. The plumber (Mike) was courteous, professional and efficient.

Icon

Doug Norton, ID

On May 02, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Been very pleased with the program over all, I would recommend AHS, it has paid for it self time and time again. My only complaint would be the assigned contractors, some times have been very difficult to work with when it comes to our schedules. (This isn\'t all of them, and it does have something to do with us being rural and living in a smaller community) We have had to ask for a new contractor once. Have never had one willing to work after 5 or on a weekend, and have had to wait 3 or 4 days for parts. In the days of Amazon and next day delivery this is a sore subject with me. Which makes my only concern, what if my heat or water is lost Friday afternoon or on a holiday? But like I have said, it has been a good investment for over three years now, and the majority of the contractors have been great.

Icon

SHANNON MARTIN, ID

On Apr 13, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had AHS the first year of my new home and never needed their service. A couple years later I decided it was a good thing to invest in on my own. A few months later I had a dishwasher crap out on me. the transaction was very pleasant, easy, and did everything I needed in a reasonable time. My only complaint is the first company they dispatched to my house never called (waited 4 days) which was NOT AHS\'s fault. They went out of their way to get the company to respond, with no luck. After that, they dispatched a second company, who got the job done quickly. VERY pleased so far!!!

Icon

Jill Cole, ID

On Apr 04, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

My gas heating system quit working on sun day AHS had an inspection person out to check it Monday Had a cracked heat exchanger and other problems AHS shipped one out and installed in a few days AHS got the job done Fast an correctly I am a happy home owner and will tell all my friends and family about AHS they were a good investment Jill Cole

Icon

Dianna K Deiss, ID

On Mar 23, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS does great but the contractors they have are not always good at keeping up. I just had one that "forgot" to call our renters who had a leaky toilet. This falls back on the contractor not AHS. They had another contractor replace my programmable thermostat but put one on that is not programmable. I thought they should have used the same quality as what was replaced.

Icon

ALVIN R STILLWELL, ID

On Mar 07, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had AHS for about 1 year now and am very pleased with the service, I only recently (last 2 weeks) needed them. My heater went out and I contacted AHS and they immediately called a service person for me and by 1pm that afternoon my problem was fixed or so we thought, the furnace worked through the weekend and then on Monday morning it quit again, I once again called AHS and they sent out the same service person who explained that he had not been quite sure that his first fix was the entire problem and this time he brought a new circuit board with him. In a jiffy the board was in and it has been nearly a week and the furnace has not had one hiccup. Good on everyone.

Icon

Joanne Behl, ID

On Nov 28, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

My home was purchased in January of 2018 and the seller paid the premium. I am very pleased with their response time, how they kept me informed, and the excellence of the technicians.

Icon

Elisa, ID

On Nov 28, 2018

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

Their customer service is terrible. Will do all they can to avoid providing service. Grateful the actual repair company had excellent customer service to help me solve the issue. Will never buy one of their warranties again.

Icon

Kara Garner , ID

On Jan 09, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I would like you to remove AHS from you recommended home warranty company list. I own 70,000 sq feet of real property. I have a warranty police on my residential properties. I have had AHS based on the recommendations of this review on my home residents, which is 8,600 sq ft. I had an appliance that needed to be replaced. AHS was impossible to get hold of for the replacement. My first service call was on 10/23/17, second call on 11/21/17. The order was put in on the replacement after the last visit. I had to stay on hold for over an hour each phone call. No calls were returned. I was cut off when they did answer, had to call back for another 1 hour hold time. I was then told to call the Option Department and placed on a 3 hour hold in order to get through to a life person on 1/9/18. The employees are rude, consonantly placed me on hold. Ordered the wrong color appliance. AHS is the worst home warranty company that I have ever worked with. My order number is 286683492. The reason that I have writing to this site is due to the fact that there is not a number that I can call to get the corporate headquarters. Employees would not transfer me to a supervisor.

Icon

Richard Kellogg, ID

On Nov 16, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

The repair companies and service have been exemplary! We appreciate the people who come into our home and the work they do. The one issue is communication with AHS. Unless everything goes smoothly (they email a company in our area and the company contacts us for an appointment), we have a horrible time with their customer service in terms of reaching a person to talk to. Once reached (usually after at least an hour on hold) the individuals are helpful and pleasant. Its the company attitude that it\'s ok to force you to wait to talk to people. If there was a way to enter a service code that would expedite contact (I understand they want to force service requests to be placed thru the internet) it would make sense. But an hour is a slap in the face.

Icon

G Heun , ID

On Oct 30, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Last job was super, but the reason it happened was the previous job, an unreliable plumber.

Icon

Michaelene Johnson, ID

On Oct 26, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

this policy is a joke almost a scam.!!!Policy was purchased for us from our real estate agent as a house warming gift. 90 days in our water heater fan stopped working and we contacted AHS after being on hold for OVER 60 minutes. when I received a real person that took my $75. co-pay and told me they would schedule a plumber with in 24 hrs. I never received a call back and I had to call again, this time I was lucky enough to only be on hold for 45 minutes before they told me there were no plumbers in a 30 mile radius that they work with so I would have to contact a plumber myself, pay for it out of pocket and wait to see how much AHS would reimburse me.... some 90 days later. its not worth it, we contacted the local plumber who was on the job right away. they refuse to work with AHS due to poor payments and telephone holds.

Icon

Calli P, ID

On Oct 15, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

Worst customer service experience in my lifetime.

Icon

Jackie Thomas, ID

On Oct 02, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

This is my first time submitting a claim and the experience was so bad I\'m now shopping around for a new home warranty company. I tried to submit my claim online but since my incident was over multiple categories I wanted to call in for service. I called Thursday morning at 9am and was on hold for 90 minutes. I finally gave up and had to hang up. I called Friday morning at 9am and was on hold for 40 minutes, and somehow automatically disconnected by AHS. I called again and was on hold for 30 mins. I had to give up and go back to work. I called again today (Monday) and was on hold for 40 mins. I hung up and tried again 30 mins later. After being on hold for 75 mins, I finally reached a human. I explained my situation and was told that my claim was not approved because my incident was a "cosmetic" issue. My upstairs bathtub has a crack in it which flooded the adjacent bedroom and laundry room below it, caving in the ceiling and light fixture. The carpet and pad had to be removed when I realized this leak has been happening for a while now and there was mold underneath. There is still a crack in the tub and no ceiling in the laundry room. I suppose because these items are not attractive that this is a "cosmetic" problem??? Please tell me again why I pay $45 a month for this?

Icon

Jacqueline Thomas, ID

On Oct 02, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

This is my first time submitting a claim and the experience was so bad I\'m now shopping around for a new home warranty company. I tried to submit my claim online but since my incident was over multiple categories I wanted to call in for service. I called Thursday morning at 9am and was on hold for 90 minutes. I finally gave up and had to hang up. I called Friday morning at 9am and was on hold for 40 minutes, and somehow automatically disconnected by AHS. I called again and was on hold for 30 mins. I had to give up and go back to work. I called again today (Monday) and was on hold for 40 mins. I hung up and tried again 30 mins later. After being on hold for 75 mins, I finally reached a human. I explained my situation and was told that my claim was not approved because my incident was a "cosmetic" issue. She put me on hold to check and after waiting another 5 minutes I was placed into the beginning waiting queue again (OMG). My upstairs bathtub has a crack in it which flooded the adjacent bedroom and laundry room below it, caving in the ceiling and light fixture. The carpet and pad had to be removed when I realized this leak has been happening for a while now and there was mold underneath. There is still a crack in the tub and no ceiling in the laundry room. I suppose because these items are not attractive that this is a "cosmetic" problem??? Please tell me again why I pay $45 a month for this?

Icon

Cheryl Parker Hall, ID

On Sep 14, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I called over two weeks a ago and was placed on hold for over an hour and half! When the customer service representative took my call the tone of her voice pretty much relayed that my call was bothersome to her. We had a major plumbing leak which AMS sent a service repair company out timely which resulted in filing a Homeowners Claim for the major repair. I requested a copy of the 100.00 invoice which we were billed for the Service call as we need to remit this in our claim. She was unable to email me a copy and kept me on the line as she stated having issues requesting printing the invoice. As of today we still have not received a copy of the invoice. I hoping listing a review we might obtain the service invoice as requested Over Two weeks ago!!

Icon

John, ID

On Sep 07, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

My only disappointment so far with AHS is the unbearably long time it takes to contact a CSR. In my experience it has me we been less than a 30 minute wait to speak with a CSR. Some times it has taken an hour. One time the line was disconnected and I had to call back and wait another 30-45 minutes to speak with the CSR. RECOMMENDATION: AHS can improve this by hiring many more CSRs. It should be considered unacceptable to have such long waits, even during "higher volume of calls than expected" periods which apparently is the case every day. Other than that, I have had good response and service from AHS and its contractors. Despite the issue of contacting a CSR at AHS, Istill recommend AHS. I plan to renew next year when our current contract expires. It still for me is worth not worrying about something in our home failing and being stuck with an unwanted major expense.

Reviews For Home Warranty Companies in Idaho

It’s a great idea to read about the home warranty service providers. It helps you make an informed decision while choosing a company to cover your Idaho home. You are welcome to write a review and share your experiences with home warranty companies. Whether good or bad we appreciate the contribution. 

How to Get the Most Value for Your Money? 

Check the home warranty’s plan coverage in terms of the appliances and systems covered, the costs of the contract, and the reputation of the company. Considering all these parameters in addition to the quality of service and timeliness will help you get the most of your purchase.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020