Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in Virginia: $313.23
Average Deductible in Virginia: $41.35
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7957
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 460
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $65-$75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1699
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3257
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Dist of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin,
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1955
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1741
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 78
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.3
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1753
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.5
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1524
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.0
  • Service Timeliness 3.0
  • Repair Service 3.1
  • Overall Rating 3.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1024
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Not Good
2.9
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.0
  • Service Timeliness 3.1
  • Repair Service 3.0
  • Overall Rating 2.9
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Jung Date: 2013-07-11 09:36:15

    Review: Dealing with AHS is one of the worst experiences I've ever had with this kind of service. I've had Home Warranty service before and had a very positive experience so when I moved again I included home warranty in the process. Unfortunately I wound up with AHS. Initially the service was acceptable, not great but acceptable. My electric range wouldn't operate, there was a broken part on the dishwasher, and several expensive ceiling fans were having various issues so I contacted AHS. The range and dishwasher were serviced in one call. The tech came out and promptly stated "My first priority today is the dishwasher." I explained to him that I could wash dishes by hand but I couldn't prepare food without a working stove (range). He said "Sorry, I didn't think of that." Funny, it seemed obvious to me. Still, he did fix the dishwasher and he did diagnostics on the stove and found the problem so he ordered the part. Other than his attitude I supposed this was the best that could be reasonably expected so I shrugged that off and when the part came in the repair was made to the range. Not perfect service but the job got done. IN fairness, it probably couldn't have been done much quicker than it was. The ceiling fans are a whole different matter. Rather than get into a description of every single problem I'll just say that I submitted the claim in late May and it's now mid-July and I'm still waiting for some of them to be repaired or replaced. AHS is trying to wiggle out of as much as they can on this claim. As if that weren't bad enough, my pool pump quit. I had the pool perfect and ready for summer when this happened. I called AHS immediately and they did their little contractor dance and had a contractor call me. The contractor couldn't even come to look at the problem to get authorization from AHS for over two weeks. AHS promises 48 hour service. I called AHS and told them what the contractor had told me. They said they needed to verify with the contractor that the contractor couldn't hit the 48 hour service window. They couldn't get in touch with the contractor and they didn't let me know either, so I kept calling them. Because this is a salt water pool, if there's no water flow over the salt cell (because the pump is dead) then it doesn't make chlorine. Of course it can't filter the water either. The longer that condition exists the nastier the pool gets no matter what chemicals you dump into it. AHS kept telling me that they had solved the delay problem, but when I called the new contractor they had chosen over the first one- after a week of arguing with them to get someone else and get this pool back up before it cost me a fortune in chemicals to clean it up again- I got the same "we can't get there for two weeks". A lot more phone calls occurred, nothing got done any faster, and 21 days from the day the pool went down I finally had a new pump installed. It cost over $300 in chemicals to clean it up and get it serviceable again. AHS violated the terms of our contract by not hitting that 48 hour window or even close. Had they done what the contract states it all would have been taken care of in one week instead of three and it would only have cost me about $15 in DE filter powder to clear my pool up again. It would have been cheaper to just go buy a pump motor and install it myself. I shouldn't have to do that, that is why I pay for a home warranty. We're now in the process of trying to cancel our agreement with AHS and get a different home warranty company. AHS is so bad that we're not interested in continuing our relationship with them any longer. AHS is useless and frustrating. They don't abide by the terms of their own contract. I cannot recommend them to any other home owner and I sincerely hope you haven't made the choice to use them for your home warranty service.

    Christopher Date: 2015-02-21 21:11:42

    Review: Don't buy a contract with these people. You would be better served just to set your money on fire. This company is totally pathetic. Their customer service is unprofessional and unhelpful. The contractors who they work with are incompetent at best. Their response times are glacial. What you save on repairs is not worth the extra time and frustration that you have to go through to get something fixed. It came as little surprise to me that they have been sued for denying valid claims. I would bet my last dollar that the CEO of this company doesn't use his own product. There is no way he would wait 4 days to get his hot water heater fixed. And since he had stolen so many people's money, he can afford to hire a prompt, professional contractor. My well meaning landlord got this for us. After this, our third awful and abusive experience with AHS, I have notified him he is wasting his money. I would rather pay out of my own pocket for prompt quality services than deal with the scam artists at AHS.

    William Gutridge Date: 2015-05-30 10:59:06

    Review: It has been about five years since I had to call over something major. My A/C unit went out. Had it not been for American Home Shield, it would have set me back over $ 2600.00. I gladly pay each year to sleep better at night knowing I have the coverage. I pay in three installments and this also helps with my budget.

    Rufus Date: 2014-02-04 23:09:15

    Review: I'm happy to have found AHS for my rental properties and home. They take away the uncertainty of cost, and I spend less time finding competent contractors-AHS already did that. AHS holds them accountable in ways I could not without threatening with lawyers. Don't get me wrong, AHS is not "perfect" but genuinely "reasonable" which all I asked for. They have replaced things the contractors could not repair-no question, found and provided expensive parts for old equipment-no extra charge, found a contractor to replace equipment other contractors bailed out on, etc., etc.

    Eric J Date: 2014-07-20 01:58:27

    Review: I consider AHS as a valuable asset and partner, I have had your service for at least 15 years and would feel unprotected without it. You provide not only financial security, but a path to contractors that I could never find on my own. Also, if I were to be unhappy I would have a resource to support me.

    Karen Date: 2012-05-04 16:35:58

    Review: I've had the warranty for about 18 months now and have used it twice for a plumbing problem and air conditioning. I've read reviews that weren't good, but I don't have any problems with the company. They came out promptly and fixed the problems. What more can you ask for.

    David Craft Date: 2014-10-07 10:45:09

    Review: I love American Home Shield. My last contractor was one of the best contractors in the area and they did not dissapoint. They were there on time and comleted the job in a timely manor. To be quite honest, I have worked with this contractor before I joined American Home Shield and there was no difference in the service they provided. Kudos to you!!!

    Tony Payne Date: 2016-07-31 21:52:13

    Review: I WOULD CALL MY REVEIW A ON TIME CONTRACTOR. NOT ONLY WAS HE ON TIME HE WAS ON POINT AS WELL, HE CAME IN FIX MY A/C MADE SURE EVERYTHING WAS WORKING CORRECTLY,SHOOK MY HAND TOLD ME TO HAVE A NICE DAY. THAT,S CALLED TAKING CARE OF BUSSINESS.

    Jervon Moore Date: 2016-01-08 22:32:19

    Review: I love the experience as a whole. Stress free. From setting up to have someone come out to making sure my service issue has been resolved. AHS experience has been great since I joined!

    Tyrone spencer Date: 2017-07-14 14:34:16

    Review: Need to explain the policy much better to the customers to many loop hole in the contracts.ypi think you playing for one thing than all these additional charger appears on your bill,an it\'s not right at all not a good company.

    Sameera hosseini Date: 2017-08-14 15:24:02

    Review: One of the best experience i had with home warranty. On month of July 2017 my ac blew regular air. I called the technician, scheduled an appointment. Technician told me my ac needs replacement and he needs to get approval. Within one week, hassle free, my ac was replaced. I highly recommend American Home Shield Warranty.

    Demetri Hill Date: 2012-09-23 11:18:06

    Review: I have been with this company for two year and there service has declined drastically. I would not even think about using some of the contractors that they use. My last servive request it took the guy four times to repair my a/c correctly. They are very lackadaisical about your having your repairs done in a timidly manner. It's turly all about the bottom line with this company.

    Jackie Y. Date: 2016-07-01 11:11:55

    Review: My garbage disposal recently stopped functioning and I had it replaced by American Home Shield only 2 years prior. The workers were respectful and removed their shoes in the house. They promptly got it working again. They also showed me why it wasn't working and and how to fix it the next time the motor may stop working. The service was scheduled at a convenient time for me. Also scheduling on line has been a great way to contact AHS. I have worked with them for the past 7 years since I have purchased my home, the best thing as a homeowner I could have done!

    Chaniece W Date: 2012-08-25 16:16:23

    Review: I had AHS for over a year without having to use their services. I put in my first request in June and did not get a contractor out for my ac until mid July. When the contractor came out they diagnosed our unit as a maintenance issues charged us 150$ and moved on. A few days later the entire heat compressor outside went out and we put in an emergency work order due to the 105 degree weather. They told us they couldn't find a contractor and that we could hire outside and they would reimburse for the repair. We got an estimate but I was hesitant to do the repair without a guarantee of reimbursement (the repair was 2800$) After I called them back with the estimate they claimed they never told me I could use an outside contractor and that my contractor broke the unit which they were now not covering (the contractor only diagnosed never repaired). When I threatened to cancel my contract this is where the fun begins. They transferred me to their retention dept who then sent out a third contractor who diagnosed the unit as not a maintenance issue but needed to be replaced, they paid for us to receive a window unit and stated that the new part would need to be ordered (everything up until this point has now taken 2 weeks). After an additional week of no contact regarding the new unit, they finally send out reliable ac and repair who comes out and diagnoses the new unit as defective. Again AHS takes almost a week to tell us that they would not be able to replace the defective part (brand new replacement part) due to it being a manufacturing issue which we would have to handle. Again several days of going back and forth until they finally agree to replace but the manufacturer would have to accept the part. 2 additional weeks go by with reliable only contacting the manufacturer and not AHS (by the way the contractor had missed 4 scheduled repair appts due to his personal water heater bursting, being stuck in traffic twice and then just no call no show). In addition by this point the contractor came out to our house and bypassed the thermostat with the defective unit so now we have an AC unit blowing at 50 degrees with no way to cut it off for over a week. After this (now over a month since the initial call) we filed a formal complaint and contacted an attorney. Now we have another contractor who came out immediately who stated that the first contractor never contacted the manufacturer and had incorrectly installed the new unit and broke some of the parts which now needs repair. This is now going into month 2 and we will hopefully have our repair done monday. We are definitely cancelling our contract after this because on top of this negative experience they raised our premium!

    Jennifer Aguado Date: 2017-07-19 19:02:33

    Review: My only complaint is the hold time when attempting to contact customer service. I have to wait, on hold, for 30 to 40 minutes EACH time I called. One time I call just to ask a quick question, I still had to be on hold for more than 30 minutes. This is ridiculous. Customer service representative was pleasant, but something has to be done about hold time..... especially for those who have an "open ticket" pending service.

    Kimberly Heise Date: 2015-05-05 08:45:39

    Review: Great service. I got on the internet and requested service via AHS Website and within a half hour i received information that the job had been sent to the plumber. Within another hour the plumber called, we set up a date and time for him to come out and Wha-la! Plumber is at my door and we solved the problem.

    Andrea Date: 2012-03-14 15:46:33

    Review: They have sent out a company to fix my dishwasher 4 times. It is still not working (it intermittently shuts off in the middle of the cycle). The last repairman said that it wasn't fixable and that AHS should replace it. When he told them that, they told him that he has to see the actual problem. I told AHS that they are welcome to stay in my home all day and night until the problem happens (which happens more than often) and they told me that they can't have a company do that. They do NOT honor their contract and like previous poster...RUN from AHS!!!!!!!!!

    Lesia Sanders Date: 2015-12-15 22:20:17

    Review: After filling out the work order online I received a call with-in 12 hours from a contractor and set up a date and time for the contractor to come over. With in 25 hours from start to finished problem resolve.

    WOODS Date: 2015-02-17 17:31:33

    Review: I give this company 0 stars. Made contact with company on Sunday 15 FEB 2015. No water no heat. total electric. Called Vendor Company that they gave me on Sunday 15 FEB 2015. Left message. Contacted Vendor Company right before 8 am on 16 FEB 2015. Was told they were going through the home insurance warranties and would call us back once they got to our name...Found out at 11:15 am that Vendor couldn't come out until Wed or Thursday. Was told to call AHS back and let them know. Did that, AHS said give them four hours are you serious.Its 11:15 in four hours it will be 3:15, a storm is coming expecting 6-10 inches of snow. I requested a supervisor that stated they would call me back at 2:15 if they had not found any one so that i can get approval to go outside of Vendor. First the phone call never came. To be proactive in helping, because I am under the gun because of the pending storm. If they cant find a Vendor that could not come 16 FEB 2015, cause of Vendor hours being Mon-Fri from 8-5. It is in my best interest to start looking for someone outside of Vendor that could come seeing that I would be giving approval. No Water, No Heat, toddler in the house and asthmatic in house. Found someone. finally and was able to get a order number from AHS to go outside of Vendor. I would have to pay up front and AHS would reimburse. Not a problem. Took the company an hour to get here..that was the distance and no surprise the pending storm had been going on for more than an hour before the company I found could come trying to get the number confirmation number from AHS for an outside Vendor. Hold on I know you don't see the problem yet...here goes. Businesses shutting down. Matter of fact my husband was not due to get off until 8...His place of employment closed at 3. My guy gets here, my problem...My home total electric and I lost partial power from Wind Storm Saturday night. Wasn't enough power to push my water through my home and my tank was trying and completely blew my circuit for my heat...So the company made the diagnosis for my heat..he spoke to AHS, and the rep for the company that was doing the repair even had complaints about the rep from AHS being rude first of all. The technician could not go an get the part as AHS was demanding. Why couldn't the tech go and get it....Everything had shut down because of the Winter Storm, umm STATE OF EMERGENCY HAD BEEN DELCARED. However AHS continued to insist that the tech get the part before they complete the approval, (from where) everything is closed. The tech proposed a temp solution to get me heat in my home, since everything was closed, and for him to try to get back to his home safely which was an hour away. They continued to insist that he get the part first even if that meant, I would continue to be in a home without heat for a couple of more days. My water began to come back on after Dominion Power restored the Power lines that were down around my home due to the Wind Storm that hit before the snow storm yesterday. I was still without heat. I could not use my portable heaters as they were tripping all kinds of circuits in my circuit box. Stove, family room, electric fireplace, my smoke detector alarms were even going off. My husband remove batteries and they were still going off. Called my alarm company and actually had to unplug them. The Tech even asked the rep on the phone from AHS, where were they located at? They did not understand nor care that everything in my area had been shut down,(STATE OF EMERGENCY had been declared) and they were trying to get people home. Actually they laughed at the Tech, my husband and myself. The solution was just to change the circuit from my stove to my heat to get my family warm until he could get the part he needed when everything opened back up. It was denied. I pay this company every month, and I was left in the cold and I do mean literally. I told the supervisor and the rep to bring me the part from where ever they were located at. Ask them is this what they are doing to the people in Boston MA. I even invited them to come and spend the night at my home. I was also told by the supervisor that my contract would not be renewed, really! You honestly think I want to be with a company that would literally leave me and my family in the cold, when the tech gave them a solution to get my family warm until everything opened back up to purchase the part. I DON'T THINK SO.......RUN FROM AHS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Kimm E Date: 2014-01-03 09:23:01

    Review: I have been a AHS Customer since 2004 and have been happy with the services for the most part. The only thing I haven't been pleased about is the fact that the policy/deductible has increased in the 9 years I've been a customer. I know, I know...the cost of everything has increased, but in my opinion, new rates should only apply to new customers. Everyone should be "grandfathereed" into the rate they signed on with. I know it's still cheaper than having to pay full price, but for those that are on a fixed income or in a family with just one income, that little bit of money means a lot. I also wish they would either let you pick the service company or give you a list of service companies to chose from.