×

Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

Don't let unexpected appliance failures break you!

Average Premium in Virginia: $314.00
Average Deductible in Virginia: $41.51
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 8349
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.5
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 482
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 3427
Coverage Selected StatesAlabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Dist of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.0
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.1
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 4.0
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-$468
Deductible $75-$95
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1712
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 2110
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.3
  • Service Timeliness 4.3
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-$549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 79
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $589-$619
Deductible $75-$100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1791
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.0
  • Service Timeliness 4.0
  • Repair Service 4.1
  • Overall Rating 3.9
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1849
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.4
  • Service Timeliness 3.4
  • Repair Service 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.3
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1028
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.1
  • Service Timeliness 3.3
  • Repair Service 3.1
  • Overall Rating 3.1
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $305-$600
Deductible $60-$100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1530
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Get a Home Warranty Quote to Protect Your Appliances
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.9
  • Service Timeliness 2.9
  • Repair Service 3.0
  • Overall Rating 3
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Fidel Date: 2017-11-13 16:24:23

    Review: My first experience was excellent all around. The service was done promptly and the service rep was very professional.

    T.T. Date: 2014-05-21 22:22:00

    Review: My basic policy covers many things and gave me peace of mind when it was included in my home purchase contract. I've used my coverage three times and the repairs were prompt and performed by a competent technician.

    Gerard Cooper Date: 2016-06-14 20:50:44

    Review: We used American Home Shield to have our heating and AC unit serviced for the season. Your customer service team were prompt and courteous in helping us find a local contractor for the task. The contractor arrived as scheduled and our unit serviced to our satisfaction. We are so pleased with the service received through American Home Shield that we have another property that we have acquired a contract for. Keep up the good work!

    Nicole Smith Date: 2014-01-21 11:44:51

    Review: I had a good recent experience with American Home Shield. My heat pump was not working properly and the contractors that came over were very professional and clean. They explained the service they were going to provide and did it in a timely manner. Whenever I contacted AHS, I heard from them within 1-2 days. I was very happy with the service and how quick the response was from AHS and the contractor. I only had to call AHS one time to check the status of my service.

    Billy Weir Date: 2016-07-06 22:00:42

    Review: The experience with customer service was good. The contractor showed up as expected, He was friendly and quickly recognized the problem. He had the part needed on his truck.He went right to work and fixed the problem. He did not make much of a mess but he cleaned every thing up anyway. I would be glad to have him back when I have any future problems. It is good to have American Home Shield to call when I have problems.

    Malini Cunje Date: 2016-06-09 08:33:55

    Review: Here we go again, there is no one at AHS to complain to. They have again for the umpteen time dispatch yet another company who just explained to me the following:1) they do not service ComfortSTAR or any mini split system, and 2) they are fully booked and are not accepting any requests. The onous is on the company to call AHS to tell them that and they have 48 hrs to do so because the homeowner is not in authority to relay that info about the dispatched company. Yesterday I spoke to Brittany, CSR, who promised me faithfully that she will send off an email to COtrasct Services to contact the original company that installed this system but apparently, that is just a false promise or wishful thinking. PLEASE HELP,,,,, 2 years without AC is Absolutely not accepable especially since this cheap chinese system was installed by AHS and the infamous XTREME that is not responding to service the equipment.

    Gary Suber Date: 2014-10-21 09:48:49

    Review: Outstanding customer service and quick assignment of service contractor. I've been with American Home Shield for several years, approximately nine years. My coworkers first recommended American Home Shield to me, and I'm very glad they did. They told me they had nothing but outstanding customer service, assignment of service contractor, resonse time, and excellent repairs done by the contractors.

    JEAN S TATEM Date: 2017-07-16 12:41:28

    Review: I have only had to use it twice and both times the service was very good. The businesses referred to me were very polite and helpful. Everyone showed up on time and when they did they informed me of the the problems and what was needed to make repairs. The repairs were completed that day and I have has no problems since.

    Chad Cooke Date: 2014-05-27 13:10:29

    Review: The contractor responded quickly and an appointment time was scheduled with in a very short period of time. When the contractor arrived onsite he was quick and efficient as well as very courteous.

    Ray Date: 2014-03-16 11:31:09

    Review: Don't purchase, everything is a preexisting condition or not covered, for example, the refrigerator is covered but the ice maker in the fridge is not! They talk around everything and will never cover a thing! I was so mad that I refused to pay for another year of this non-service.

    Bart Date: 2017-09-27 00:41:26

    Review: I realize everything takes time but we were very disappointed in how long it took on hold when calling in for service. I suggested once getting to a live person AHS needs to update their service & perhaps do as Verizon & other companies are beginning to do by leaving your phone # & you will be called back by the company w/o losing your place in line. By doing this we can go on with our lives until AHS returns our call rather than waiting on hold in excess of an hour & when you get your call dropped it makes it even worse!

    Diane Zimmermann Date: 2017-07-17 14:58:59

    Review: Original contractor Appliance Protection came ordered part one week later repaired. He left started leaking, he said he ordered new part but a week later decided he could not repair Maytag. Waited another week new contractor needed new door, door not available so American Home would replace. Waited another week for new dishwasher, company the replaced dishwasher was awesome. So first a foremost I am grateful it was replaced, but the quality of the GE Dishwasher is terrible, would give it a 2 out of 10 being the highest.

    Len Annetta Date: 2015-07-09 15:05:25

    Review: Other than the AHS certified contractor not being the best price, this is a great service. It is important to note that when I replaced my heat pump, there were other components not covered. Overall, it still cost me beyond my deductible.

    Russell Date: 2016-08-07 15:17:39

    Review: I used American Home Shield for 2 years and during that time, I needed service for my a/c unit, and my dishwasher. Regarding the a/c unit, the service man came out and inspected it after I told him of the problem I was having. The unit was cycling too often and after checking it out, he determined that my very expensive and new thermostat was the problem. He changed out the thermostat and put a very cheap model in its place. Was told this would solve the problem. He also changed some wiring on my air handler as well. Needless to say the problem was still present and after changing out some wiring it got worse. I might add, that the service tech also took off with my high end thermostat as well. I refused to let them come back out and told American Home Shield the same, and immediately called a reputable service tech, which just determined that my reversing valve was not kicking in properly and repaired same. Have not had a problem since. The dishwasher issue was that it was leaking from the bottom of the door. This time they sent out A&E which is Sears, and they order several parts that amounted to around $550.00. They replaced all those parts and said it would be fine. The next time my wife used the dishwasher the same thing happened again. They sent A&E back out again, and they determined that the door guard on the inside needed to be replaced along with the gasket. They ordered the parts that took about 2 weeks to come in and returned and installed them. This time they over tightened several screws on the plastic door housing and split it, and tore the gasket installing it. I called American Home Shield and reported it, and their solution to the problem was to call them back out again. I explained that I had actually located the problem, which was 2 screws installed at the factory too far into the tub housing that it allowed water to pass through when washing. I put some clear expoxy around the heads of each and screw them back in properly, and the repair was now made, with no further problems. I told them that I did not want Sears to ever come back out to my home again, and that they had no idea what they were doing. American Home Shield apologized and said that they would credit my bill by 1 month for the inconvenience that I had incurred. I said fine and cancelled my service contract with them right then and there. The moral to this story is, that they use poor contractors that are not trained properly and really have no idea what they are doing. The address problems by trying to eliminate all other problems that could pertain to the original claim. I would not endorse their protection plan for any reason, and I sincerely encourage you to look into other comparable warranty providers. The big name means nothing if they cannot provide proper service. You have been warned my friends.

    Cynthia Willner Date: 2017-09-21 16:22:07

    Review: One of my problems that I had with the whole process of getting my item repaired was I did not get in writing what the technician found. American Home Shield said they could not give that to me and Echo Tech said that I had to get it from American Home Shield. I never received a written report. I believe that a written report should be coming from the company that you pay the money to once they have received it. My issue was resolved good it took a while the company that initially came out Ecotec said they needed to do need it to redo my ductworks which would have cost me an additional $500. The real issue is their provider did not offer what I have later Learned was a standard part to repair the damper on my ducks. When I ask for a second opinion the company came out they also said it\'s a standard part there\'s no reason that they should not have been able to get that and not want to charge you $500 extra so American Home Shield also needs to evaluate who they\'re calling in to make the diagnosis on your problem and then to repair it. The process took I think way too many months. One of the problems was they kept saying that my problem wasn\'t covered and it took a while before someone could totally read or would totally read the policy that I paid for which is the top policy before they said oh yes that is covered so it was somewhat frustrating but once things got resolved it got resolved.

    Twila Washington Date: 2014-10-08 09:31:21

    Review: We noticed a leak coming from our bathtub. We called AHS and they expedited the call right away. The contractor called within 4 hours of us contacting AHS. They were able to come to the residence in a matter of hours. The service professional was a little aloof and not too friendly. He was not clean and his pants exposed his bottom. He diagnosed the problem very well. He had to order some parts and returned to our residence the following day and fixed the problem.

    Robert W Date: 2013-11-28 11:12:02

    Review: It was a pleasant experience, that we had when your contractor Moore Plumbing, called the evening that I first called and was able to determine from the questions he was asking that the problem would not be a plumbing problem or something that you AHS would be giving the warranty on. He was honest and actually lost the job on not making the house call and getting paid.

    Clarence Date: 2014-12-11 07:32:18

    Review: I've been with AHS for nine years and the more the prices go up the less they do!!.our house was built in 1938 and now when I want something repaired all of a sudden its preexisting...my house was built in 1938everything in it is preexisting!!!..we opted for the highest plan which we always do and had never had problems before...we needed antifreeze in the air condition unit and the service man told AHS that out was our fault that it was dry because we didn't keep a eye on it,our unit it outside and we are disable veterans, we geeky like complete idiots!!! Because what could we do against this big company we complain and requested to speak to a supervisor and is still waiting since July!!..this have cost its 532$ to get fixed because 242$ we had just paid to AHS a part of our installment fee,we have even recommend you others in the past but will never do it again!!! We even refused to be apart of a class action suit that was against your company years back because we was so satisfied with the company, if I could turn back time!!!...

    Meghan Wright Date: 2012-02-15 19:50:37

    Review: AVOID! AHS has been the most unprofessional "establishment" I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. I had a loss of power in my home, and was told that AHS does not have an electrician in their network that services my area (after twice being given the name of a company and assured that they were on their way to my home, only to be told by the company that they do not work in my area). I was given autorization to hire my own contractor, and be reimbursed. The contractor told them my entire electrical system needs to be replaced, and gave them an estimate of $2000-$2500. AHS declined the estimate and said they required a 2nd opinion. They left me without power for a full week, stating that it was not considered an emergency unless there is a need for refrigerated human medicine or human medical equipment that requires electricity. We spoke to multiple customer service reps and supervisors, were "accidentally" disconnected multiple times, never allowed to speak to a manager and recieved terrible attitudes from the staff. I had my 2 year old special needs step son at my home that weekend (by court order). When I explained that to the staff at AHS, they simply said we shouldn't take the child. I also have multiple pets, two of which are terminally ill with kidney disease and congestive heart failure. When they finally did get someone out to deal with the issue, the electrician they sent flat out told me he wasn't going to fix the problem, and he was just going to do some rewiring to "make it work." A few days ago, we lost power 5 times. AHS sent the same electrician out this morning. He went under the house, came back out, said the problem was fixed again (did not tell me what he did or what the problem was) and then informed me that I have a MAJOR leak n my crawl space. He described it as the worst he had ever seen, and said water was "dumping out of the pipes". He then reported to AHS that my electrical is not up to code, and they called and informed me that they will no longer be covering my electrical work. Regarding the plumbing work, I was given outside authorization again today to hire a private contractor. The contractor came out, and physically took photos of the damage underneath my house to demonstrate the gravity of the situation. All of my plumbing needs to be replaced, as the old cast iron pipes are rusted from the inside out and leaking everywhere (my insulation under the house is soaked). They shut off my water, advising me that turning it back on will fry the well pump. They quoted AHS $3070 to repair the leaks, and $6400-$6800 to replace the entire system. AHS again denied the work, and require a second opinion, but will not send anyone out until tomorrow. I have NO WATER IN MY HOME. I work in a hospital, and it is unsanitary to not be able to wash my scrubs or myself for that matter. I am 6 1/2 months pregnant, and spend a lot of time in the bathroom. I can't flush my toilet. I have no drinking water, and no water to give my dogs. I can't afford to live off of bottled water, after spending a week eating out and doing laundry at a laundromat when I had no power. AHS advised me that they have 24 hours to deal with an emergency. These people cannot get their stories straight regarding my contract. I have recieved different guidlines from EVERY supervisor I have spoken to, and each has flat out said that whoever I spoke to before them is lying. I will be cancelling my policy with AHS first thing in the morning, and pulling money from my 401k to deal with the repairs...I'd rather work until I'm 100 years old than deal with these apes. BUYER, BEWARE!

    Dan B Date: 2012-06-13 13:01:25

    Review: I had a home warranty with AHS that just expired. My trade service fee was $60 per service at the time, it has since climbed to $75. I had AHS contact me a plumber, and the service was done properly and timely; however, I paid the contractor cash for the service call and was given a receipt. 2 months later, AHS sends me a bill for the $60 I had already paid. I called and spoke to customer service, who told me they would verify with the contractor and call me back to let me know this error was taken care of. I never received a call back and had to call again 2 days later, only to be told that I was wrong and I never paid. AHS did not care to properly explain the situation to the contractor and assumed I never paid. I then called the contractor directly with my receipt invoice number and had them dig around (which AHS obviously was too busy to do). Within a few minutes they had found the error, fixed it and called me back. This leads me to believe that AHS never called over there to inquire about this false charge and told me that my bill was still outstanding. Bottom line is that I had to make 6 calls to AHS to sort this out and the customer service is horrendous. I did NOT nor will not renew my warranty with AHS, and I would not recommend them to anyone.