Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

Coverage in Virginia (VA) major towns:

Average Premium in Virginia: $314.36
Average Deductible in Virginia: $41.64
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  2The Home Service Club
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  5HSA Home Warranty
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  6First American Home Warranty
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  7Choice Home Warranty
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  8Home Warranty Of America
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  92-10 Home Buyers Warranty
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
                                  10365 Home Warranty
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $260-500
Deductible $55-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $440
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $360-$500+
Deductible $50 - $100
Effective Immediate with a Real Estate Transaction
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in virginia

    Gary Suber Date: 2014-10-21 09:48:49

    Review: Outstanding customer service and quick assignment of service contractor. I've been with American Home Shield for several years, approximately nine years. My coworkers first recommended American Home Shield to me, and I'm very glad they did. They told me they had nothing but outstanding customer service, assignment of service contractor, resonse time, and excellent repairs done by the contractors.

    Velarde Date: 2013-05-20 12:26:54

    Review: Where do I begin? I extended this service because it came with my home purchase. Always on hold for more than 20 minutes to speak to a person. Have had an instance where it took them over a month trying to find someone to fix my stove in my rental home which had previously been repaired through them. Left my tenant without a properly working appliance. They never found anyone, both the district representative and her assistant started ignoring my emails and phone calls. I finally picked up the phone, looked in the yellow pages, made a call on a Sunday night and had a technician there in the morning. Paid over $500 out of pocket for the repair. I was told by AHS to send in the receipt for reimbursement. Only to call AHS again to be told that it is "not guaranteed" that I will be reimbursed because I didn't have authorization. Another instance, took over a month to have a technician come look at my AC in a triple digit heat wave. Another instance, called in a work order this morning, same problem different year on fridge in rental, to have AHS confirm my contact info and send out my realtors contact info on the work order. When I called to rectify this, I was getting the run around and being told that the contractor must have old information. I am so sick of paying this company for incompetence. When my world wide real estate employer no longer endorsed them I should have taken the clue. Needless to say, I am shopping.

    kate Date: 2014-06-18 13:20:05

    Review: Service was set up and the hvac repair man did not show up. It took a full month for Old Replublic to repair the air conditioning system. Four days following the installation of an air handler it flooded the attic damaging the ceiling, attic floor, insulation, walls and carpet on the second floor. They are not willing to accept any responsibility repairing the collateral damage from their contractors poor installation.

    Rick Date: 2015-12-08 08:40:53

    Review: I bought a home that was covered by AHS. I continued the coverage. I had some small issues with the range, ceiling fans and a washer. Then I had a major problem with the heating unit and it had to be replaced. I was never late paying them but after the furnace was replaced I did receive a notification from AHS that I was being canceled. When I contacted them I was told it was because of the number of repairs. I explained that the repairs I had were all minor and I am sure the monthly premium I was paying was more than enough to cover the repairs, not counting the service fee of $60 I had to pay the tech. They were very short with me and explained they will be dropping my coverage which they did. I see all the raves about AHS but that was not the case with me. After about 10 years of paying them, after one major problem I was dropped. One of the worst things any organization has ever done to me. So be careful if you have to have a major repair you too may be dropped and left without coverage. I had probably already paidthe major part of that repair over that 10 year period.

    Shavon Date: 2013-09-09 15:11:37

    Review: I like that they are easy to work with and they work quickly. When we have an issue, they work with us and the service provider to resolve any issues. I am a first time AHS customer and I will continue to use this company as long as I own my home. Thank you again.

    Sherri Sanchez Date: 2015-05-29 10:54:20

    Review: So easy to schedule an appointment. I wish there were more options to tell AHS about my plumbing problem, but since I was provided with the contractor's phone number, I was able to call him and really tell him the thorough story of my plumbing problem. The plumber showed up exactly on time and had the situation fixed in no time!

    Kathy Date: 2013-12-22 01:16:13

    Review: I was quickly responded to when I called - not a lot of the recorded voice messages to get to a live person. My air conditioner broke during 90 degree temps on a Friday afternoon. AHS had someone out to my home within 2 hours and it was fixed the same afternoon. Customer service was very polite and it actually sounded like it was being handled by an American. The majority of companies are now going to India for call centers which I feel is very un-American. I am pleased with AHS continued support of our country and it's people.

    Anne Johnston Date: 2014-12-17 17:58:33

    Review: We were very pleased with the results of having to use American Home Shield. Your response was timely, polite and definitely took care of our problem!

    Erich Date: 2017-02-13 17:07:51

    Review: American Home Shield is synonymous with A Peace of Mind. They ought to make that a part of their slogan! I recently called them about my HVAC and they Total Comfort at my door on the very next business day. They showed up appropriately within their time window, were very courteous and explained their troubleshooting process and plan of action to resolve my issue. I even received a callback from their office informing me of the status on the replacement part! I will be certain to recommend both AHS and Total Comfort to my friends, neighbors, and coworkers!

    j h Date: 2014-07-02 09:30:58

    Review: I DO NOT EVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY. They used to be the best company around but something has changed drastically over the last several years. John in Authorization REFUSED to let me speak with a supervisor or manager regarding a suggestion I had for them that would be helpful for their company; It was in regards to them sending out a contractor for my refrig in the garage but after we waited for nearly 2 weeks to get service, the contractor came out and notified the company of repairs needed and old republic just now notified us that that frig is not covered...after all this time. Yes, maybe if I read thru the fine details I would have seen that it only covered one. So I was going to suggest that they notify homeowners or warn them of a secondary frig possibly not being covered when you submit the service request...that's all I wanted to do. There was absolute total refusal on John's part to let me do this and he argued with me over why I would like to speak with one and told me their was no customer service department that would be interested in my call. Unbelievable is all I can say. I have been with this company for years and will never recommend . The contractors they sent us take forever to call and come out. Something has gone wrong with this company and it's a shame.

    Craig Ross Date: 2015-10-10 23:20:28

    Review: I have been very happy with American Home Shield. Anytime I have needed service, my issues have been addressed in a timely manner with both American Home Shield as well as the vendor they sent. The contractors they send have been professional, clean, competent, courteous and most importantly, they have usually fixed the issue on the first visit. Those are the reasons I have continued to renew my contract with American Home Shield.

    Dennis Cates Date: 2014-12-31 10:07:24

    Review: Our garbage disposal was old, and I had checked out possible replacement models and prices at the local hardware store. I reported the disposal had finally quit working to AHS with a phone call because I prefer to speak to a staff member with whom I can have a real conversation rather than just reporting the problem online. I was really pleased with the concern of the customer service staff member who answered my call: she was efficient but friendly and seemed genuinely concerned that she got a plumber to my home quickly. She told me that the plumber would make a recommendation to AHS from our home on the best option for repair or replacement. The plumbing contractor called within an hour or so after my phone call to make the appointment for the plumber to come to my home the next day. The plumber arrived early in the appointment window along with his helper. They were very clean and friendly and quite efficient, so they made a good team. The two got right to work and recommended replacement of the unit. When they returned to the kitchen from their truck, they had a new unit with them (the very same unit and model that I had preferred at the hardware store -- quite a coincidence!!) and replaced it within a few minutes. They talked with me about proper care of a disposal and how to prolong its life and efficiency, and they left the kitchen clean. I was impressed that they had a new unit on their truck, instead of having to get one from their warehouse or from a store, which made the appointment go much faster. The fact that they had a new disposer made me wonder if my AHS customer service had hinted to the plumbing contractor that a replacement was highly likely rather than a repair!! In short, my AHS contract worked just like it should have -- very smoothly and quickly.

    Teri Date: 2012-11-21 13:58:04

    Review: AHS took 4 weeks to get our furnace replaced and to add insult to injury, increased their service fee to $75 from $60 even though we're a long-time customer. Somehow we're auto renewed into another year's contract so we're stuck with them for another year--otherwise I'd have canceled and gone with another company that sticks to their 7-10 repair window and values long time customers. Reading other reviews on here mimics my sentiments.

    Ellen Duck Date: 2015-01-07 12:31:54

    Review: AHS is organized in that they have the available resources to repair any eligible applicance in your home. The flat fee is reasonable, and worth the annual fee They really try.

    Cecelia M. Anstead Date: 2013-11-12 15:51:39

    Review: I have to say that I have been with AHS for years, but the most recent claim was the most professional, timely, and all around best experience. I believe this was due to the professional, courteous, knowledgeable person, Dave, from Hall's Maytag,154 Rosemont Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23452. If I every have any problems with my washing machine, I will definitely request Dave again! In this day and age, customer service is almost nonexistent. Thank you Dave for going the extra mile!

    David Christopher Date: 2015-08-13 20:46:14

    Review: We purchased a warranty with Old Republic based on the recommendation of our real estate agent. I did not search reviews, as I obviously should have, but assumed my agent had direct knowledge of good service provided by Old Republic to her clients. We put in a couple of service requests for minor plumbing and electrical repairs the first year, each of which was taken care of in a reasonably prompt manner. There was one occasion in which a plumbing contractor told us he could do nothing for our washing machine, which had abruptly stopped during the spinning cycle. We called Old Republic back, they sent out a second contractor, and the problem was solved. Here is my beef with Old Republic: The main reason I bought a home warranty was to take care of big ticket items, such as a failed HVAC system or water heater. Last month, our 24 year old HVAC system stopped working. It was July and very hot and humid, so we immediately put in a service request with Old Republic. The contractor assigned to do the work filed a report with Old Republic stating that the system was well beyond life cycle and posed a fire hazard. He told my wife and I that it was pointless to try to repair the unit because he would be coming right back out in a matter of weeks or months to make an additional repair, and then again and again. I assumed that since the contractor labeled the unit a fire hazard and beyond life cycle that Old Republic would install a new unit. I was wrong. Old Republic told us we would have to pay the contractor $550 to clean the evaporator coil before he could remove it to assess further damage with the system. When we told the contractor this, he laughed and said we would be crazy to invest $550 to clean the evaporator coil just so that he could find what would likely be multiple problems with the system that, were the system an automobile, would have led the contractor to label the system "totaled" and effectively non-repairable. I spoke with the Old Republic representative, presenting all of this information and asking what would happen if the system did, in fact, cause a fire that could result in tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars in damages and possibly loss of life when Old Republic held a report from one of its contractors labeling the system a fire hazard. She would not budge. Rather than subject my family to continued roasting in the +90 degree heat, I caved and purchased a new system to the tune of $5,000. So, to sum up: I paid Old Republic $525 for a one year policy + $75 for a service call that resulted in a report labeling our HVAC system non-repairable and a fire hazard. In return, Old Republic asked me to pay an additional $550 and refused to replace the system. The total cost to me in the end was $5,600 for a new HVAC system and a worthless home warranty. When it was all said and done, I told my real estate agent this story and she swore that neither she nor her colleagues at Century 21 would recommend Old Republic to their clients. If you want a home warranty so that you can pay $75 to have routine electrical and plumbing problems taken care of, then perhaps Old Republic work for you. However, if your real concern is protection against failure of major systems, such as HVAC and water heater, I STRONGLY encourage you to go with any warranty provider but Old Republic. Do not repeat my mistake.

    Ray Nielson Date: 2015-07-02 21:53:05

    Review: My recent experience with AHS has been positive from the initial sales call to inquire about a policy, to signing up, to reporting my first claim. I have to admit, I was a little cautious about AHS as I had an AHS policy in FL about 10 years ago and the service left much to be desired. Then, Service was unfriendly and slow. It would take several visits from the contractor to resolve the problem, which made the whole process last a couple weeks from reporting to conclusion. But I have been pleasantly surprised by the positive customer service I have received from the AHS representative, as well as the timely response from the contractor. I have only dealt with one contractor, but they were very professional and knowledgable. My suggestion is to improve the service is on the front end….specifically Sales. After I purchased our policy, I still continued to receive phone calls from AHS trying to sell me a policy. I explained to several different sales people that I already did sign up, however the calls continued for several weeks. That was a little concerning for me based on my previous experience, as well as it made me question if I really did have a policy. However, I am currently very pleased with my experiences with AHS and would not hesitate to recommend AHS to others. In addition, I plan on continuing with AHS for the years to come.

    Stephen hight Date: 2016-07-08 19:09:05

    Review: I have had to be with out AC for almost 4 weeks. The 1st tech came out and evaluated my problem and found the the TXV was bad and the wrong coil was installed. So, AHS then said I can get a 2nd opinion so I did and they said the same thing " wrong coil and TXV is shot". So AHS then called the company who installed the coil and TXV lasts year. They came and said that was the correct coil and they were only going to install a new TXV. By this time it has been almost 3 weeks with no AC and I was tired of going back and forth. So they installed the new TXV and not 6 hours later my AC went out again. So the tech came back out and said the TXV went out again and that I would need to switch to a piston valve and have all my refrigerant drained out to flush it Bc he " thinks" is contaminated. I said to just change the valve to a piston and if the problem accrues again then we would try the flush idea. They refused to do that only Bc they have been working for free the last week and a half and the only reason they want to flush is to make money off the refrigerant. This company has been giving me the runaround and AHS has not been very kind in representing me and helping me with this matter. Every time I call to speak with someone I'm on hold for at least 1 hour. This is by far the worst experience I have ever had with any company and I will gladly pay $2,000 to just get a new unit then have to deal with the poor excuse of a warranty company.

    Patrick Date: 2012-02-22 11:54:06

    Review: One of the worst consumer experiences in my life...10+ weeks (and still counting)for these unprofessional clowns to fix a washer. Unbelievable. We wash our clothes in the bathtub because of AHS incompetence. The only reason I'm dealing with them at all is because we are renting and the home owners use their services. Everything I've read about AHS in the other bad reviews here are TRUE. DON'T SPEND YOUR MONEY ON AMERICAN HOME SHIELD. It's a scam.

    Margaret Boehm Date: 2016-07-01 10:01:01

    Review: My daughter had AHS for years and tried to get us to sign up. After our AC unit went out we realized we had made a mistake in not taking her advice. We are now members and completely satisfied with the service charge we have to pay and the monthly fee. Our experience with AHS service and all the contractors have been excellent. I often recommend AHS to anyone I can. My daughter is now a realtor and recommends AHS to all her buyers.