Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1622
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.1
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
BBB Rating B
Established In 1971
Total Reviews 7391
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.5
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.4
  • Overall Rating 4.3
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
BBB Rating C+
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 447
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.8
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.8
  • Service Timeliness 4.8
  • Repair Service 4.8
  • Overall Rating 4.8
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
BBB Rating B
Established In 2012
Total Reviews 1763
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.1
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.2
  • Overall Rating 4.1
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating B
Established In 1984
Total Reviews 1651
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.4
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.4
  • Service Timeliness 4.4
  • Repair Service 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.4
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B-
Established In 2008
Total Reviews 2768
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.8
  • Service Timeliness 3.9
  • Repair Service 3.8
  • Overall Rating 3.7
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
BBB Rating B
Established In 1996
Total Reviews 1647
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.7
  • Service Timeliness 3.6
  • Repair Service 3.7
  • Overall Rating 3.6
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating B
Established In 2009
Total Reviews 74
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Very Good
4.2
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 4.2
  • Service Timeliness 4.2
  • Repair Service 4.3
  • Overall Rating 4.2
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
BBB Rating A
Established In 1980
Total Reviews 1507
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 3.3
  • Service Timeliness 3.3
  • Repair Service 3.4
  • Overall Rating 3.4
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
Call Now For A Free Quote
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
BBB Rating -
Established In 1978
Total Reviews 1013
Coverage Nationwide (USA)
Add to Compare
Not Good
2.7
Reviews Composite Score
  • Customer Service 2.9
  • Service Timeliness 3.1
  • Repair Service 2.9
  • Overall Rating 2.7
Want to Protect your Appliances this Summer?
>>
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in

    Izumi Cintron Date: 2012-07-26 07:29:36

    Review: I am very dissapointed with this company and customer service. I have had a broken dishwasher for the past one month. Upon my initial call, they sent a contractor who came to diagnose the problem, which ultimately was a misdiagnosis since the parts they replace did not fix the issue. Since this contractor is rude, changes the appointment time (my original appointment time on Saturday was from 10-1p.m, but when they did not show up and I inquired, they claimed that time was from 1-4 p.m.), and when the tech finally showed up, he said the "the machine is not broken but not working" in very thick Indian accent. I have never been frustrated with any services i received nor requested so I called AHS to try to change the contractor. Now, the wait time to try to speak with a representative was 47 minutes--and when the operator finally came to the phone, she said i have two options. I have to either pay another service fee to "change the contractor" or put the current contractor as "do not use list" on my policy. The bottom line is, I still have a broken machine, it has now been over a month, and for a family of four with two teenagers, this is extremely inconvenience. I subsequetnly tried to call twice this week (Monday, July 23 and Wednesday, July 25) i had to again wait for over 40 minutes, and in the case of yesterday, when i called at 3;30 p.m., another 40 minute wait, they hang up and when I called back, again waited for a long time--the call went dead maybe because it was at 5:07 p.m. It is extremely difficult to work with this company if you have a day job, since you will need to take leave to get the contractor who DOES NOT fix your machine (two days in my case) and if you want to speak with your contractor, you will be placed on hold over 40 minutes and you may or may not get to speak with the rep anyways. I cancelled the policy. With my annual payment of over $500, it would have bought a good dishwasher weeks ago. I will not recommend this service to any of my friends or colleagues. For the record, the technician's first diagnosis (broken control board) was on July 6, they returned to fix the board on July 17th--and the machine was still not working, so the tech came back on Saturday, July 21, when i waited from 10 am to 3:30 p.m.--this is the time he said "the machine is not broken but not working") and today is July26th. According to American Home Shield, my dishwasher is not "accessible" so they cannot fix the problem unless we, as a home owner, needs to remove the dishwasher from the counter and place it in front of the tech. my husband and kids removed it on Tuesday, July 24, so I tried to call yesterday, July 25--i waited for 40 minutes to speak with a rep, but the called 'failed" both time, and I still have not been able to use my machine or arrange a repair. My broken dishwasher is sitting in the middle of the kitchen waiting for me to be able to speak with a rep. if this is not the most frustrating and unprofessional service, i do not know what is. I wish there is a way to post this review on a web so many can review and will reconsider purchasing this policy/doing business with AHS.

    IB Date: 2012-03-21 09:35:09

    Review: We bought AHS when we bought the home. 2 weeks after moving in, at about 2 AM in the morning the main house drain backed up and we had 2 inches brown water in our downstairs. I immediately called a plumber. They came out and fixed it at 3 AM. I called AHS to make a claim. They told me they did would not honor the claim since we did not call their number to get their people out. I explained it was 2 am in the morning and we had 2" of water. No go. I asked them to at least pay what they would have paid their contractor. No go. If you buy one of these warranties, make sure you know what you're getting. I tried calling their 800 number later at 1 am to see what I'd get -- it was a recording to leave a message and my call would be returned "promptly." If I am calling at 1 or 2 AM, I don't want my call RETURNED, I want my call ANSWERED. We spent $600 for nothing, absolutely nothing. If you want your dryer replaced or your toaster, then use AHS. If you're buying a home, have everything inspected first and make the seller pay for the warranty and cover the appliances you want, but don't spend a penny for it yourself. If you do get one, then plaster their contract and contact info EVERYWHERE so when you have 2" of brown water in your house you can call and "leave a message."

    Cynthia Harris Date: 2015-07-26 21:22:14

    Review: Aside from the service fee :-), the services I have been receiving from AHS since 2007 are above and beyond my expectations. The internet requests for services are user friendly. Calling into the customer support center is always helpful with their courteous representatives who are patient and asks the right questions, especially when, as a customer, we do not pay much attention to details such as model numbers, size, year, etc. / / The contractors are usually in uniform and/or using vehicles that displays the company's name they represent. The contractors are always prompt to respond to service calls within a normal timeframe. They are professional and detailed oriented, especially when you are not knowledgeable about the broken or malfunctioning equipment and they are ready to answer questions and/or concerns in an honest manner. They do the work and clean up behind themselves. / / I am thankful that I was introduced to AHS for a year when I purchased my home.

    Erich Date: 2017-02-13 17:07:51

    Review: American Home Shield is synonymous with A Peace of Mind. They ought to make that a part of their slogan! I recently called them about my HVAC and they Total Comfort at my door on the very next business day. They showed up appropriately within their time window, were very courteous and explained their troubleshooting process and plan of action to resolve my issue. I even received a callback from their office informing me of the status on the replacement part! I will be certain to recommend both AHS and Total Comfort to my friends, neighbors, and coworkers!

    Charlotte James Date: 2016-07-12 09:25:46

    Review: This company is unreal and not a good company to do business with. I had a claim for my sump pump they sent a company out to replace it, no problem and 6 less than 6 months later it is not working again. I called and was told I had to pay another 90.00 for them to send some back out. I will never do business with them again, likewise, I will never refer anyon

    Punch Stockwell Date: 2016-11-12 15:33:59

    Review: This company worked out well while I was paying premiums and not hardly making service calls the first year, but when I used them more than once the 2nd year, they would not renew the policy for the third year because they had to pay out more in repairs during the 2nd year (365 days) than the yearly premium I had to pay them. The last time I checked that was the way the game worked. If I pay you for the protection and I don\'t file any claims; hence no money out of your pocket; you get to keep it all. If I pay you for the protection and I do file a claim and you have to do the repair (after you get my service fee) then we both win. Yes you have to spend money ORHW, but that is the nature of the beast when your business is one that asserts that you will fix items that are under your written warranty. I will never recommend this company to anyone. The service personnel that have come out over the last year were very timely, efficient and always fixed the item so the four stars is recognition of their efforts, but ORHW is not the company they claim to be. Let the buyer beware!!!

    Rebecca S Date: 2016-09-06 09:09:30

    Review: The contractor told us what time to expect them, they showed up within that timeframe and got right to work to fix the problem. They explained what they found as well as helpful ideas to prevent this problem in future.

    Dennis Cates Date: 2014-12-31 10:07:24

    Review: Our garbage disposal was old, and I had checked out possible replacement models and prices at the local hardware store. I reported the disposal had finally quit working to AHS with a phone call because I prefer to speak to a staff member with whom I can have a real conversation rather than just reporting the problem online. I was really pleased with the concern of the customer service staff member who answered my call: she was efficient but friendly and seemed genuinely concerned that she got a plumber to my home quickly. She told me that the plumber would make a recommendation to AHS from our home on the best option for repair or replacement. The plumbing contractor called within an hour or so after my phone call to make the appointment for the plumber to come to my home the next day. The plumber arrived early in the appointment window along with his helper. They were very clean and friendly and quite efficient, so they made a good team. The two got right to work and recommended replacement of the unit. When they returned to the kitchen from their truck, they had a new unit with them (the very same unit and model that I had preferred at the hardware store -- quite a coincidence!!) and replaced it within a few minutes. They talked with me about proper care of a disposal and how to prolong its life and efficiency, and they left the kitchen clean. I was impressed that they had a new unit on their truck, instead of having to get one from their warehouse or from a store, which made the appointment go much faster. The fact that they had a new disposer made me wonder if my AHS customer service had hinted to the plumbing contractor that a replacement was highly likely rather than a repair!! In short, my AHS contract worked just like it should have -- very smoothly and quickly.

    Debbie Lewis-Taylor Date: 2013-11-07 15:28:50

    Review: American Home Shield provided me with an efficient contractor to fix my Range. He arrived promptly and he was able to replace my element in an efficient and timely manner. Also, the communication at AHS is great. Not only did I receive an e-mail confirming my appointment with the contractor, but I also received a follow-up when the problem was fixed. I appreciate the service that I received from AHS and I will continue to renew my membership every year.

    Anne L Date: 2015-06-25 13:34:22

    Review: This company is not responsive. We had a problem and called in; AHS provided us the name of a local vendor -- but after that all went silent. We eventually got in contact with the repair vendor, but the repair was not made. The only way to get in contact with AHS to find out the status of a job or to ask what happened is to call by phone. I called multiple times over the course of the week and sat on hold. In some cases I waited over 30 minutes on hold before giving up and hanging up. What is the value of this insurance? None that I can tell

    Cecelia M. Anstead Date: 2013-11-12 15:51:39

    Review: I have to say that I have been with AHS for years, but the most recent claim was the most professional, timely, and all around best experience. I believe this was due to the professional, courteous, knowledgeable person, Dave, from Hall's Maytag,154 Rosemont Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23452. If I every have any problems with my washing machine, I will definitely request Dave again! In this day and age, customer service is almost nonexistent. Thank you Dave for going the extra mile!

    Tiwaah Date: 2015-01-31 08:13:36

    Review: Terrible terrible company. Used them one year on one house- terrible service. I was eight months pregnant. Weather was about 100 degrees every day and my AC was broken. They just wouldn't replace. In about a month they fixed it a few times and it broke a day after and yet they wouldn't replace it. Service is terrible. On a different house, furnace broke and same problem. I am running away from them. Terrible! This is for the part of the company that services northen VA......terrible!

    John A. Martin Date: 2012-07-12 11:19:12

    Review: AHS Customer service is OK, Ashley was really nice and almost sounded like she was remorseful for how they are supposed to deal with us. UNITED AIR TEMP Cooling and Plumbing is the WORST company I have EVER dealt with, so bad they changed there name adding the "cooling and plumbing" to the end of it. Tried to write the AH up under warranty and wanted me to pay 5400 for a 3.5 13 seer goodman compressor. The goodman compressor retailed for 1500.00 Really do people think we are that dumb? or are they taking advatage of the heat wave? Thank goodness there are reputable people, Carrier 13 seer qouted for AH and Compressor at 5200 installed.

    Ernest Kenty Date: 2016-07-09 22:25:20

    Review: The Contractor was a little late, but he did call to notify me that he was running later than expected. Customer Service was great, he communicated with me and told me everything he was doing. The contractor's appearance was good.

    Stacy Harrington Date: 2013-10-28 15:54:18

    Review: Emergency situation - water leaking from air conditioner and flooding bedroom closet. Called AHS and was immediately assigned a contractor who was at the house within hours. Contractor was exceptionally helpful and even after he fixed the problem he investigated and verified just to be sure.

    Karen Date: 2012-05-04 16:35:58

    Review: I've had the warranty for about 18 months now and have used it twice for a plumbing problem and air conditioning. I've read reviews that weren't good, but I don't have any problems with the company. They came out promptly and fixed the problems. What more can you ask for.

    Lorraine Williams Date: 2015-12-21 22:50:40

    Review: When I think about the problem, and the resolution,. I think God for the contractors, and American Home Shield. My home was out of water, and electric. With a disable person in the home, the resolution, and timeliness of the contractor was awesome.

    Clarke Mcgee Date: 2015-12-13 09:18:49

    Review: I have had American Home Shield coverage for a loooong time, probably about 15 years. Thru out this time I have had several claims, and every time the company has been just exceptional. When I report the claim, I have a technician getting in touch with me within hours. The last time, their response was really quick, within the hour I was being contacted by an AC technician. I was very glad because it was a very hot afternoon. The Tech fixed the problem, but the next day I had a question about the thermostat, and he returned immediatley and replaced it with a new model. I thought that is really good service, from both the American Home Shield and the companies they use to call on the clients.

    WOODS Date: 2015-02-17 17:31:33

    Review: I give this company 0 stars. Made contact with company on Sunday 15 FEB 2015. No water no heat. total electric. Called Vendor Company that they gave me on Sunday 15 FEB 2015. Left message. Contacted Vendor Company right before 8 am on 16 FEB 2015. Was told they were going through the home insurance warranties and would call us back once they got to our name...Found out at 11:15 am that Vendor couldn't come out until Wed or Thursday. Was told to call AHS back and let them know. Did that, AHS said give them four hours are you serious.Its 11:15 in four hours it will be 3:15, a storm is coming expecting 6-10 inches of snow. I requested a supervisor that stated they would call me back at 2:15 if they had not found any one so that i can get approval to go outside of Vendor. First the phone call never came. To be proactive in helping, because I am under the gun because of the pending storm. If they cant find a Vendor that could not come 16 FEB 2015, cause of Vendor hours being Mon-Fri from 8-5. It is in my best interest to start looking for someone outside of Vendor that could come seeing that I would be giving approval. No Water, No Heat, toddler in the house and asthmatic in house. Found someone. finally and was able to get a order number from AHS to go outside of Vendor. I would have to pay up front and AHS would reimburse. Not a problem. Took the company an hour to get here..that was the distance and no surprise the pending storm had been going on for more than an hour before the company I found could come trying to get the number confirmation number from AHS for an outside Vendor. Hold on I know you don't see the problem yet...here goes. Businesses shutting down. Matter of fact my husband was not due to get off until 8...His place of employment closed at 3. My guy gets here, my problem...My home total electric and I lost partial power from Wind Storm Saturday night. Wasn't enough power to push my water through my home and my tank was trying and completely blew my circuit for my heat...So the company made the diagnosis for my heat..he spoke to AHS, and the rep for the company that was doing the repair even had complaints about the rep from AHS being rude first of all. The technician could not go an get the part as AHS was demanding. Why couldn't the tech go and get it....Everything had shut down because of the Winter Storm, umm STATE OF EMERGENCY HAD BEEN DELCARED. However AHS continued to insist that the tech get the part before they complete the approval, (from where) everything is closed. The tech proposed a temp solution to get me heat in my home, since everything was closed, and for him to try to get back to his home safely which was an hour away. They continued to insist that he get the part first even if that meant, I would continue to be in a home without heat for a couple of more days. My water began to come back on after Dominion Power restored the Power lines that were down around my home due to the Wind Storm that hit before the snow storm yesterday. I was still without heat. I could not use my portable heaters as they were tripping all kinds of circuits in my circuit box. Stove, family room, electric fireplace, my smoke detector alarms were even going off. My husband remove batteries and they were still going off. Called my alarm company and actually had to unplug them. The Tech even asked the rep on the phone from AHS, where were they located at? They did not understand nor care that everything in my area had been shut down,(STATE OF EMERGENCY had been declared) and they were trying to get people home. Actually they laughed at the Tech, my husband and myself. The solution was just to change the circuit from my stove to my heat to get my family warm until he could get the part he needed when everything opened back up. It was denied. I pay this company every month, and I was left in the cold and I do mean literally. I told the supervisor and the rep to bring me the part from where ever they were located at. Ask them is this what they are doing to the people in Boston MA. I even invited them to come and spend the night at my home. I was also told by the supervisor that my contract would not be renewed, really! You honestly think I want to be with a company that would literally leave me and my family in the cold, when the tech gave them a solution to get my family warm until everything opened back up to purchase the part. I DON'T THINK SO.......RUN FROM AHS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Jolee Rubin Date: 2016-05-08 21:52:58

    Review: I have the utmost respect and appreciation for my Account Executive, Donna Schmidt. Time and time again, when AHS screws up, Donna smooths everything out in record time. I currently have three of my homes covered by AHS. Last New Year's when my furnace failed Donna worked tirelessly to get someone to repair it as quickly as possible. She got heaters for me and, despite personal situations in her life, she gave complete focus and attention to my needs. I've owned two restaurants. I realize the importance of the people we surround ourselves with. Donna Schmidt performs above and beyond expectations. She is the reason I use AHS for my properties.