Home Warranty Companies in Virginia

Coverage in Virginia (VA) major towns:

Average Premium in Virginia: $314.36
Average Deductible in Virginia: $41.64
Search home warranty
                                  1American Home Shield (AHS)
Premium $249 - $500+
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 Days
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  2The Home Service Club
Premium $400
Deductible $65 - $125
Effective Depends on the policy
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  3Secure Home Warranty
Premium $319-$499
Deductible $55-$75
Effective 30 days from payment
Rating 4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating4.5 Star Rating
                                  4Select Home Warranty
Premium $299 - $499
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from purchase
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  5HSA Home Warranty
Premium $589-619
Deductible $75-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  6First American Home Warranty
Premium $288-468
Deductible $65-75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
                                  7Choice Home Warranty
Premium $370 - $450
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  8Home Warranty Of America
Premium $275 - $695
Deductible $60 - $100
Effective Date of order or the closing date
Rating 3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating3.5 Star Rating
                                  92-10 Home Buyers Warranty
Premium $305-600
Deductible $60-100
Effective Immediate at closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating3 Star Rating
                                  10365 Home Warranty
Premium $349-549
Deductible $75
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating4 Star Rating
Premium $230 - $650
Deductible $75 - $125
Effective 30 days after enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $260-500
Deductible $55-100
Effective At closing or 30 days after enrollment for existing homeowners
Rating 2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating2 Star Rating
Premium $440
Deductible $60
Effective 30 days from enrollment
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
Premium $360-$500+
Deductible $50 - $100
Effective Immediate with a Real Estate Transaction
Rating 2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating2.5 Star Rating
PreviousNext
br/>

Home Warranty Coverage for All States in USA

    Recently Reviewed Home Warranty Companies in virginia

    David Craft Date: 2014-10-07 10:45:09

    Review: I love American Home Shield. My last contractor was one of the best contractors in the area and they did not dissapoint. They were there on time and comleted the job in a timely manor. To be quite honest, I have worked with this contractor before I joined American Home Shield and there was no difference in the service they provided. Kudos to you!!!

    Sherri Sanchez Date: 2015-05-29 10:54:20

    Review: So easy to schedule an appointment. I wish there were more options to tell AHS about my plumbing problem, but since I was provided with the contractor's phone number, I was able to call him and really tell him the thorough story of my plumbing problem. The plumber showed up exactly on time and had the situation fixed in no time!

    Ulrike Hopson Date: 2016-05-13 17:16:22

    Review: I'am very disappointed in AHS and their Contractor they have been sending to my house. My A/C stopped working MAY 2015, Finally got it some what fixed end of July 2015,they knew there was a leak in the line becouse the Contractor told me, yet is was never fixed. So August i go on vacation,came back in September, A/c barely working, thank god i have window units as reserve.Did not call AHS back, by then it started cooling down and did not need A/C. Well that had cost me $ 475.00 plus $75.00.since it of course was not covered. So this Year I called them and they send out a different Contractor. After he looked at it and i told him about the previous contracter, he said there was no refrigerent in the unit and he is calling his supervisior becouse there is something shady going on here and he left. So guess what, the contracter i had in 2015 showed back up. Told me there is a leak in the line and he has to order the part, i told him the leak been there last year, but guess what: he said no it is a new leak.So now of course the part is not covered and it cost me a nother $ 490.00.i'am frustrated with AHS and their contracter, i do believe they are in bed with their contractors they send out.never told me what part is not covered beside the refrigerent.

    Christopher Date: 2015-02-21 21:11:42

    Review: Don't buy a contract with these people. You would be better served just to set your money on fire. This company is totally pathetic. Their customer service is unprofessional and unhelpful. The contractors who they work with are incompetent at best. Their response times are glacial. What you save on repairs is not worth the extra time and frustration that you have to go through to get something fixed. It came as little surprise to me that they have been sued for denying valid claims. I would bet my last dollar that the CEO of this company doesn't use his own product. There is no way he would wait 4 days to get his hot water heater fixed. And since he had stolen so many people's money, he can afford to hire a prompt, professional contractor. My well meaning landlord got this for us. After this, our third awful and abusive experience with AHS, I have notified him he is wasting his money. I would rather pay out of my own pocket for prompt quality services than deal with the scam artists at AHS.

    Barry Howard Date: 2015-01-26 10:58:11

    Review: Online access to AHS service requests is very quick and easy to use. Our last repair was to our somewhat rare subzero refrigerator. D & D appliance is a one man operation, but the gentleman is professional and timely in response and getting the work done. It did take a little more time than usual to get the part , but we expected that because of our unusual refrigerator brand.

    Jamie Date: 2012-08-16 09:48:47

    Review: HORRIBLE!!! Our AC unit was leaking so I called AHS. They sent a contractor out to repair the problem and charged us the 75 dollar deductible. FINE! The very next day, our basement was flooded with water again. I called the contractor telling them the issue was not fixed. The contractor was rude and said he couldn’t come out for another week and I had to put another claim in with AHS. AHS tried to charge me another 75 dollars to send someone else out. REALLY! The second contractor was much better and explained that they needed to order parts. I got a call from AHS letting me know that I was still responsible for 700 dollars because to get to the part, they needed to repair, they had to remove the sheet metal around the unit and it’s considered a “modification”. I called AHS asking why this is considered a modification; we aren’t asking for additional components to our unit, only repair what the issue is (including the what needs to be removed to get to that particular part. They were rude and told me to read my contract. It's not worth buying.

    Lester Collins Date: 2015-06-25 20:29:53

    Review: Whether it has been the central air, the garbage disposal, electricity, stove, or washing machine and dryer (we have had them all serviced by AHS through the years) the outcome has always been resolved quickly, and efficiently. I have found the customer service to be courteous and able to connect us with the appropriate service in a timely manner. The service men are knowledgeable, respectful, and have always given their best efforts to restore the unit or aappliance that needed to be repaired. Even when the situation was not salvageable, the servicemen were honest, and guided us through the process of replacing the worn out equipment with a brand new replacement with no cost to us! We tell everyone about AHS and would not want to be without it.

    E. Whitfield Date: 2012-09-09 13:06:16

    Review: My co-worker introduced me to this company and I decided to try them. I have had no real negative reports against AHS as they have provided highly adequate service to me. When ny built-in microwave oven died, it was replaced with a very nice one.

    ClintJCL Date: 2012-07-05 12:05:14

    Review: They're okay. I saved money in the long run, I think. But after going to a webpage with way too many errors... "Learn More?" "Error 404!"... Meh. After trying to call for a repair this weekend - 30 minutes on hold? Meh After trying to call to cancel - 25 minutes on hold and then I'm told that's not the cancelation number, and that their retention dept would call me back? Meh After my parents' and sister's problems with them... Meh. I'm done. I'm glad I found this site. I see there are lots of warranties with higher ratings. I'm out.

    Ray Nielson Date: 2015-07-02 21:53:05

    Review: My recent experience with AHS has been positive from the initial sales call to inquire about a policy, to signing up, to reporting my first claim. I have to admit, I was a little cautious about AHS as I had an AHS policy in FL about 10 years ago and the service left much to be desired. Then, Service was unfriendly and slow. It would take several visits from the contractor to resolve the problem, which made the whole process last a couple weeks from reporting to conclusion. But I have been pleasantly surprised by the positive customer service I have received from the AHS representative, as well as the timely response from the contractor. I have only dealt with one contractor, but they were very professional and knowledgable. My suggestion is to improve the service is on the front end….specifically Sales. After I purchased our policy, I still continued to receive phone calls from AHS trying to sell me a policy. I explained to several different sales people that I already did sign up, however the calls continued for several weeks. That was a little concerning for me based on my previous experience, as well as it made me question if I really did have a policy. However, I am currently very pleased with my experiences with AHS and would not hesitate to recommend AHS to others. In addition, I plan on continuing with AHS for the years to come.

    Duane Date: 2016-06-15 11:35:20

    Review: I've used several home warranty companies in the past 10 years and they are all pathetic. But AHS is the worse. Aside from the 45 minute wait times to speak with someone on the phone, they are steadfast in their belief that equipment should be repaired over and over and over again but never, ever replaced. And don't get me started on the crap service providers that they hire. In my area at least, every provider that has come to my house barely speak English, and their office staff are just as bad. My most recent complaint regarding AHS concerns my AC. My 3-year old Trane system died a few weeks ago and the first provider sent by AHS said that it needed part "X' and that I would have to pay $1200 for all new refrigerant. This didn't sound right to me so I called the company who installed it. They disagreed and opined that the system was simply low on refrigerant. They wanted $450 to find the source or the leak and another $400 to add refrigerant. Hoping AHS would cover the cost to find the leak, I called them (thank you 45 minute on-hold wait times) and they agreed to send out another provider to get a second opinion. That provider agreed that the system was simply low on refrigerant. Three days later, AHS tells me they won't pay to find the source of the leak and would only authorize the provider to add some sort of 'stop leak' to the system. I would have to pay $300 for new refrigerant, and who knows how much refrigerant I'll have to buy later when the fix leak crap doesn't work. This is how AHS operates - they don't fix things the 'right way'; they fix them in the least expensive way possible. But, in my experience, all home warranty companies are like this. $60/mo might buy _some_ piece of mind, but don't count on AHS doing anything more than the bare minimum. Did I mention the insane wait times to reach them via phone? I'm on hold with them now and have been for 45 minutes. At noon. On a Wednesday. They just suck. Period.

    Joseph C Lucy Date: 2014-01-24 10:24:32

    Review: My AC/Heating Unit went out and with the help of American Home Shield and the contractor it was replaced with a new unit. The customer service at American home shield and the contractor were OUTSTANDING. In all of the times that my family and I have used American Home Shield since 2007 we have never had an issue with customer service or response from a contractor. I could not be more pleased then we are to have American Home Shield. Thank you all for all that you and for the way that your company handles themselves.

    Dan B Date: 2012-06-13 13:01:25

    Review: I had a home warranty with AHS that just expired. My trade service fee was $60 per service at the time, it has since climbed to $75. I had AHS contact me a plumber, and the service was done properly and timely; however, I paid the contractor cash for the service call and was given a receipt. 2 months later, AHS sends me a bill for the $60 I had already paid. I called and spoke to customer service, who told me they would verify with the contractor and call me back to let me know this error was taken care of. I never received a call back and had to call again 2 days later, only to be told that I was wrong and I never paid. AHS did not care to properly explain the situation to the contractor and assumed I never paid. I then called the contractor directly with my receipt invoice number and had them dig around (which AHS obviously was too busy to do). Within a few minutes they had found the error, fixed it and called me back. This leads me to believe that AHS never called over there to inquire about this false charge and told me that my bill was still outstanding. Bottom line is that I had to make 6 calls to AHS to sort this out and the customer service is horrendous. I did NOT nor will not renew my warranty with AHS, and I would not recommend them to anyone.

    Edna Berry Date: 2013-04-05 11:58:13

    Review: I was very pleased with the service, timeliness, etc. of AHS. So, I felt blindsided when I received a letter stating that my policy was not going to be renewed. I called AHS and was told that my policy was incurring too much cost for them and would not be renewed. In other words, I was not making them any money on my policy. Over the 4 years I had the policy, I got a new garbage disposal, microwave, water heater, and refrigerator. As long as you don't have any appliances that die and need replacement they will renew your policy.

    Velarde Date: 2013-05-20 12:26:54

    Review: Where do I begin? I extended this service because it came with my home purchase. Always on hold for more than 20 minutes to speak to a person. Have had an instance where it took them over a month trying to find someone to fix my stove in my rental home which had previously been repaired through them. Left my tenant without a properly working appliance. They never found anyone, both the district representative and her assistant started ignoring my emails and phone calls. I finally picked up the phone, looked in the yellow pages, made a call on a Sunday night and had a technician there in the morning. Paid over $500 out of pocket for the repair. I was told by AHS to send in the receipt for reimbursement. Only to call AHS again to be told that it is "not guaranteed" that I will be reimbursed because I didn't have authorization. Another instance, took over a month to have a technician come look at my AC in a triple digit heat wave. Another instance, called in a work order this morning, same problem different year on fridge in rental, to have AHS confirm my contact info and send out my realtors contact info on the work order. When I called to rectify this, I was getting the run around and being told that the contractor must have old information. I am so sick of paying this company for incompetence. When my world wide real estate employer no longer endorsed them I should have taken the clue. Needless to say, I am shopping.

    BB Date: 2017-01-03 23:06:52

    Review: There was always a clause or something that wasn\'t covered. We bought our house and had many issues and they only covered the water heater itself not the overflow tank that flooded the basement. Was very disappointed most items weren\'t covered. Waste of money. Liked American home shield better but they had longer repair time waits and cost more.

    Karenya D Washington Date: 2012-12-17 19:54:43

    Review: AHS is such a large company to have such impersonal POOR customer service..I've been pleased for the first year..I discovered they were using a call center & I was not able to get anything resolve because NO one there could make a executive decision..I was charged twice for the same service call due to their NEGLIGENCE..I requested a Supervisor & was transferred to a voicemail, The vm said they would return to the office on or after 12/20/12..I had to pay an additional 60.00 because I was not able to get the problem of double billing resolved..Meanwhile back@ the ranch My hot water heater is leaking..I'm currently looking for another warranty company as I write..I know next time to read reviews before making such a major purchase.

    Clarence Date: 2014-12-11 07:32:18

    Review: I've been with AHS for nine years and the more the prices go up the less they do!!.our house was built in 1938 and now when I want something repaired all of a sudden its preexisting...my house was built in 1938everything in it is preexisting!!!..we opted for the highest plan which we always do and had never had problems before...we needed antifreeze in the air condition unit and the service man told AHS that out was our fault that it was dry because we didn't keep a eye on it,our unit it outside and we are disable veterans, we geeky like complete idiots!!! Because what could we do against this big company we complain and requested to speak to a supervisor and is still waiting since July!!..this have cost its 532$ to get fixed because 242$ we had just paid to AHS a part of our installment fee,we have even recommend you others in the past but will never do it again!!! We even refused to be apart of a class action suit that was against your company years back because we was so satisfied with the company, if I could turn back time!!!...

    David Peraza Date: 2012-04-02 18:03:19

    Review: I had AHS for over 5 years. Never use it until the last 3 years, for small plumbing here and there. Last month the water heater went back. Its took 7 Phone calls 4 Weeks and an formal complaint with the BBB of Virginia to get them moving. After all I finish installing the water heater by an external contractor, with their (AHS) approval for $501 USD replacement and installation. I just got the payment for the cash-out option check for $322.50 after going thur the Local JAG office. Now AHS is under review by the Arms Force for bad business again military personnel. If the US Government wont do business with them, why you should.

    Geoff Date: 2012-04-16 10:35:08

    Review: We purchased coverage from Old Republic when we bought our new home. Last week, our dishwasher stopped working - an appliance covered under our policy. We called Old Republic and they sent a tech out. The problem? Bits of broken glass were discovered in the motor and pump. The glass was decorative and painted. We have not broken any dishware nor do we own anything that looks even slightly similar. Pieces of debris inside these parts would not have been discovered in our home inspection. Nor could it have been detected by us through normal use of the appliance. We spent $75, required by Old Republic, to have the dishwasher evaluated. We heard today that they were denying the claim as it does not fall under "normal use." There are two problems with this statement: First, there is no way for them to prove that this latent damage was not pre-existing and caused by the home's previous owners. Secondly, it doesn't mesh with the specific terms of our policy. To quote outline of our plan, we are covered for "all components that affect the cleaning operation of the unit including the pump, motor, gasket, timer, fill valve, seal, door latch and control board touch pad." This comes directly from our "confirmation of coverage" document. Again, quoting, "Coverage may apply to a malfunction which existed on the effective date of the Home Buyer's Coverage, if, at that time, the malfunction was undetectable and would not have been detectable by visual inspection and simple mechanical test." They clearly sent that tech out to deny the claim - and quickly. And now I'm out $75 for the trouble. Not to mention the plan premium, We've filed with BBB.