ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN pittsburgh, pennsylvania

city icon CITY: Pittsburgh
country icon COUNTRY: Allegheny County
state icon STATE: PA
population icon POPULATION: 687276
area code icon AREA CODE: 4,12,724
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 15201, 15202, 15203, 15204, 15205,
city icon CITY: Pittsburgh
country icon COUNTRY: Allegheny County
state icon STATE: PA
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 15201, 15202, 15203, 15204, 15205,
population icon POPULATION: 687276
area code icon AREA CODE: 4,12,724
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in pittsburgh, pennsylvania

Top Rated

American Home Shield (AHS)

4.5 / 5
(13,564 Reviews )

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty

4 / 5
(6,819 Reviews )

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Best in service

The Home Service Club

4.5 / 5
(1,859 Reviews )

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

Select Home Warranty

4 / 5
(4,317 Reviews )

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

Total Home Protection

4.5 / 5
(705 Reviews )

hey are the leading home warranty provider in the industry. They have skilled and licensed technicians who top-notch services. A standout feature of their services is they do not require a home inspection.

pittsburgh Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

James Brenner, Pittsburgh

On Jun 20, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

It took a week between the date the claim was filed and the service call. It is peak service time for A/C so a bit understandable. The technician did not have the part on the truck (somewhat understandable given age of the unit) so I went to the local hardware and bought the part to speed up the repair and resolution of the problem. . The tech installed the part (fuse -time delay in-line fuse in the outside shut-off box) and a burned out capacitor) and got the A/C up and running. His final analysis included a statement that the filter was”good”. It was really dirty as hell. It all got fixed and I’m happy.

Icon

Caterina LaCommare , Pittsburgh

On Jun 15, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I put an online request because my drain pipe was leaking. I was assigned a contractor immediately, and he contacted me the next morning to schedule the appointment for the following day. He showed up on time and fixed the problem. Overall I was very satisfied with the entire process from start to finish.

Icon

Cheryl Belle, Pittsburgh

On Feb 24, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Great experience, easy filing a claim, quick response for work to be done and the companies are polite, friendly and gets the work done in a reasonable time. Glad I chose A H Shields for my home warranty company.

Icon

Carolyn Hare, Pittsburgh

On Dec 19, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Very glad to have this coverage. We’ve been relieved at every turn to reach out to AHS. They quickly assign professional support to resolve the issue.

Icon

Suzy McVay , Pittsburgh

On May 07, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I’ve been a long time customer. I received horrible service for my hot water tank. Original plumber was charging $530 out of pocket expenses. I asked for an explanation of the charges and never received a call after 10 days. I kept being told by their horrific customer service dept that someone would call me ‘today’. I found a number that vendors call for approvals. I was able to reach approvals directly and they resolved the issue. The new plumber charged $184 versus $530. Their customer service staff is useless. If you ask to speak to a supervisor they either hang up on you or tell you one will call back in 24 to 48 hours. And they never call back. Trying to collect on my policy was extremely stressful. I do not recommend this company. They cannot service their policies.

Icon

Drew, Pittsburgh

On Apr 02, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I called American Home Shield warranty because my hot water tank wasn\'t working. After speaking to them, they had someone call me the next day and come out to look at the water heater the day after that. When the technician came out to look at the water heater he said i needed a new gas control valve. he said i had two options that i could get expedited shipping but the home warranty doesn't cover it so I would have to pay another $150 out of pocket, or I could get the regular shipping that would be about 5 business days. since I already paid the home warranty $75 for him to even come out i went with the standard shipping. Two weeks later, I have not heard anything from the plumber or the home warranty company until I called them again and they still didn't know what was going on with it. After calling four times and finally speaking to someone who could find out the status of this part, I was told that it was going to take another 7-10 business days for it to arrive. This doesn't take into consideration that they need someone to schedule an appointment again to come out and fix it. I cannot go over a month without hot water. I had to get a gym membership so i can take a shower and have to use a laundromat do wash my clothes when I have these amenities in my own home that are rendered useless. They weren't very eager to help or find another company who could come do the work within a reasonable amount of time. If timely repairs were made then this company would be great, but as it stands now for the price, I am very disappointed. Minimal efforts were taken to resolve my issue. I am now looking for another plumber to come in to fix my water heater because "there is nothing they can do" and "I should have payed for the expedited shipping".

Icon

Kymberly Gyure, Pittsburgh

On Feb 10, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

Not worth the aggravation- I received an AHS warranty when I bought my house and thought I would give it a try when my dryer stopped working. First I couldn’t schedule service online because of a previous bill not paid by the previous owner that they transferred to my account. Then, I scheduled service by phone. The first contractor never showed up. The second couldn’t even be bothered to schedule an appointment, so I gave up an canceled the request. I have yet to be refunded the service fee and was even initially told I hadn’t paid one when I called to check the status of the refund.

Icon

Daniel Butts, Pittsburgh

On Dec 04, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

VERY POOR I have spent hours on the phone and made multiple calls with no follow up. Calling you phones seems to be a waste of time. I would never recommend your company. I have a complaint in with the Real Estate company as they sold me a house with a warranty that is no good.

Icon

Christian Schrader, Pittsburgh

On Aug 12, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had countless problems with AHS and have wasted so much time trying to get assistance. I have gotten bounced off of their customer service line after going through the whole automated system, been charged for service requests that they didn\'t do the work for (and I\'m still waiting to get paid back), and they continually sent the wrong contractor my service request taking up my time and theirs. They also have yet been able to fix a wall unit AC and have not allowed me to get someone else to fix it. Total waste of money and my time. Wish I could take money back and I hope nothing else breaks.

Icon

Val, Pittsburgh

On Jul 29, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have used my home warranty services on four occasions from small plumbing leak to appliance repair to hot water tank replacement. Response was timely. Service was professional and as stated it would be on each occasion. This service has paid for itself and definitely takes a load off my mind. I would (and do) recommend it highly.

Icon

zangrilli, Pittsburgh

On May 28, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

We have had AHS for many years and love it Have had several issues and have always been satisfied with the results.

Icon

Tina Gallup, Pittsburgh

On Mar 12, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

My last experience with AHS/ASA has been an absolute nightmare! DO NOT PAY THEM TO COVER YOU APPLIANCES! I have spent over 3 hours on the phone trying to get my issue resolved encountering 3 calls greater then 45 minutes, a hold time of greater then 45 minutes, a rude individual and consistent finger pointing and every department telling me it is another departments issue! I have been over 3 weeks without a refrigerator for my family and I still can not get the issue resolved. I am so DISGUSTED and frustrated, I will be canceling my service and would not recommend obtaining there services!!!!

Icon

gertrude cohn, pittsburgh

On Mar 10, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

It took 1 1/2 weeks to get a service person out to look at my dryer. Once he came, the repair was done quickly and well.

Icon

Tony Carrington, Pittsburgh

On Mar 09, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

AHS was my first (and only) home warranty service, and I\'ve had my policy for 10 years, and they\'ve continuously taken care of every issue that I\'ve had during this time. I\'ve had a washer replaced, and a stove and a refrigerator serviced and repaired, and assistance with replacing my furnace, and I\'ve even had an entire air conditioning unit completely replaced, basically for free (minus the $75 deductible of course). I really do appreciate their service and I'm glad for the opportunity to tell my story. I can't say enough good things about them, but I can say this. American Home Shield has been one of the best investments I've ever made.

Icon

Pamela Tracy, Pittsburgh

On Jan 30, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

My experience with customer service, both to renew my contract and to place a service order were excellent. Within 24 hours I received a call from the contractor to schedule an appointment. The contractor was on time, courteous and knowledgeable. He was able to diagnose the problems in short order. Then, I was contacted by AHS because my washer could not be repaired and needed to be replaced. Again, service was exceptional and I am very pleased with my new washer!

Icon

Len Singel, Pittsburgh

On Jan 04, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I had a not so stellar experience with AHS. My boiler stopped working and I waited 3 weeks plus to have it restored. They replaced 3 parts, which was great and the boiler works now. The reason for my waiting is I had to contact AHS to get updates and they were not proactively contacting me to let me know when parts would be replaced and work scheduled. Most of the 3 weeks without heat I spent on hold trying to get the answers on my needed repairs. I hope they improve or come out of the current up as this is the first trying experience I've had. This is my 4th contract year with AHS. Please grow and learn from my pain. Thanks.

Icon

Tim DeVita, Pittsburgh

On Aug 23, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

We had a few claims right after we bought our house that went very well. This last one was tough. We were having trouble with our dishwasher, and it took quite a while between 2 vendors to determine what the problem was. The appliance guy said it was plumbing, and the plumber said it was the appliance. This went on for almost a month. AHS was helpful with contacting the 2 vendors and getting them to the house. We had to escalate our claim to a higher level, and once we got there Barbie was awesome! She followed up with us daily, and made sure everything got done.

Icon

helena rue, pittsburgh

On Jul 24, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

we have been a customer of American Home Shield since 2001. anytime we have needed service, the response has been great. the technicians who came to our home were always professional, on time, courteous, and neatly dressed. we highly recommend American Home Shield to anyone who has a home. we have recommended American Home Shield to family and friends. we are greatly satisfied with this company.

Icon

KARLA SCOTT, Pittsburgh

On Jan 26, 2017

American Home Shield (AHS)

I really had a easy time getting my washer taken care of when it stopped working! It is so simple and fast! I love being able to just go online and request I need a service repair and they do the rest! I was contacted the same day by the contactor wanting to know the problem and when someone could come out. The contactor was very proffessional and got my washer taken care of quickly! he explained exactly what was wrong and what it needed. He took any form of payment which was very nice and I paid my 75$ that day and American Home Shield took care of the rest!!

Icon

MARILYN PIERCE, Pittsburgh

On Oct 08, 2016

American Home Shield (AHS)

Washer wasn\'t draining after cycle. Described issue on line within two hours appliance company called, we set a time for the next day. Service representative was on time fixed problem (broken clutch) and was gone within one hour.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020