ALLCOMPANIES TOOLS BLOGS
Advertisment Disclaimer

We maintain complete transparency with the readers on our website. The company rankings on our site are independent of any marketing relationships that we may hold with a home warranty company. We may receive compensation for receiving quotes or placing advertisements. However, this does not affect a company's rankings. Companies are ranked solely on the basis of consumer reviews and ratings received from home warranty users.

last_updated_icon Last updated: July 31, 2020

BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES IN richmond, virginia

city icon CITY: Richmond
country icon COUNTRY: Richmond City
state icon STATE: VA
population icon POPULATION: 364141
area code icon AREA CODE: 804
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 23218, 23219, 23220, 23221, 23222,
city icon CITY: Richmond
country icon COUNTRY: Richmond City
state icon STATE: VA
zipcode icon ZIP CODES COVERED: 23218, 23219, 23220, 23221, 23222,
population icon POPULATION: 364141
area code icon AREA CODE: 804
SPECIAL OFFER

CHOOSE BEST HOME WARRANTY COMPANIES in richmond, virginia

Top Rated

American Home Shield (AHS)

4.5 / 5
(13,568 Reviews )

They are the pioneers in the home warranty industry. The company has 15,000 licensed technicians nationwide. AHS plans come into effect 30 days after the date of purchase and lasts for 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty

4 / 5
(6,821 Reviews )

The company has been in the industry for over 11 years. Since their inception, they have protected more than 1,000,000 homes across the United States. The company offers a range of plans that cover major appliances and systems. 

Best in service

The Home Service Club

4.5 / 5
(1,859 Reviews )

The company was founded in 2008. They have a vast network of skilled contractors and dedicated customer support representatives who offer high-quality services. HSC plans come into effect within ten days following the payment. 

Select Home Warranty

4 / 5
(4,317 Reviews )

They are the only company in the home warranty industry to offer coverage for mobile homes. They offer a 30-day free trial and $100 Off on roof coverage. Select Home Warranty has a dedicated team that offers 24/7 customer support. 

Total Home Protection

4.5 / 5
(705 Reviews )

hey are the leading home warranty provider in the industry. They have skilled and licensed technicians who top-notch services. A standout feature of their services is they do not require a home inspection.

richmond Home Warranty Companies Reviews

Icon

Lenora Carter, Richmond

On May 18, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

My gas range had several issues and AHS deemed it a Total Loss. It was replaced with a gas range that was almost identical to the one that was broken. I had a black, five burner gas range. The replacement was a brand new, black, five burner gas range that is simply beautiful and I love it. The assessment and replacement was done in a professional, timely manner and I am totally satisfied with AHS. I recommend AHS wholeheartedly. I call them my Handyman extraordinaire!

Icon

Pamela Norrell, Richmond

On Apr 09, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

I appreciated the extra effort made to clear clogs in our sinks that have been presenting slow drains for months! Everything is now running clear and fast! As a family of six, sinks running smoothly is a necessity.

Icon

G Freeman, Richmond

On Mar 28, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Company arrived on time. Found source of the problem instantly and displayed professionalism. Problem was resolved. I was very satisifed and would definitely use this company again. I would highly recommend.

Icon

Brandon Mines, Richmond

On Feb 15, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

After the holidays of 2019 I had been having some plumbing issues, due to the visitation of several family members. Like any homeowner I tried do-it-yourself method it would work for about a week. Then the problem would come back after a month of that I decided to give American Home Shield a call. After filling out the online form(which is easy by the way) I had the contact information of the contractor thats conducting the repairs. The next day they showed up (on time) and fixed the problem.

Icon

Marie Chenault , Richmond

On Jan 04, 2020

American Home Shield (AHS)

Due to the holidays we could not get a plumber as soon as we would have liked but once he came we were extremely satisfied.

Icon

Marian Murray, Richmond

On Jul 23, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

I contacted American Home Shield because there was leaking from my Air Condition. I contacted them on their website and receive an response Immediately. The contractor that was sent was wonderful. He came in two days alone. He was the best one that I ever had. Clean, pleasant, knowledgable and explained everything to me. AHS is commited to good customer care and don't mind going that extra mile. I am very happy with their service.

Icon

David Cook, Richmond

On Jul 08, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

My A/C quit cooling at the hottest time and I called AHS that night and the next morning a representative from Tecumseh Heating & A/C called and was here by noon. The service man called and kept me informed of his arrival time. This was right before the July 4 holiday so I was really surprised but happy at the quick response. The repair was done and the man was extremely courteous and professional. I would recommend the company but more importantly I recommend AHS to anyone. I have made three major calls and AHS has solved all these with the same professionalism and promptness each time. It has been a lifesaver and money saver for me.

Icon

Michael Kohlbeck, Richmond

On Jun 11, 2019

American Home Shield (AHS)

While the usefulness of this company is obvious, the customer service rep I spoke with has absolutely ruined their reputation to me. After being a customer for 2+ years, I called to ask why my renewal bill is higher than getting a quote online. The laughter that followed my question and tone let me know he thought I was an idiot for asking. Why would it be cheaper to cancel my plan and start over with the same company? Johnathan wouldn't change my rate to match what was online and argued that it's always cheaper to start a service than to maintain it. I have to cancel my service and wait 30 days to get a rate $22 less each month AND get more coverage. I'll cancel and start with another company. AHS only cares about getting you in the door, they could care less about keeping you there.

Icon

MIA HURT, Richmond

On Dec 06, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Very professional, courteous and fast!

Icon

Tam, Richmond

On Sep 09, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

My $75 was taken early summer for HVaC issue and there has been no appt. reschedule since the first was missed by the contractor. My air issue was not addressed all summer long and I have yet to have the $75 deductible returned.

Icon

Roxanne Lamb, Richmond

On Aug 21, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have been pleased with AHS and the service received. My most recent problem was resolved quickly even when it took switching repair service providers.

Icon

Caroline BowersBrown, Richmond

On Jun 22, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have used AHS for years. Always pleased with the service. I have had 2 difficult situations recently. I have not had a working fridge for 2 months. It took 3 weeks to get an AC repairman out, and 2 were called for the same service, so I got charged both deductibles and received several past due notices before the second charge was finally removed from my account. Overall, when the service is done, it is good. However, the customer service at AHS is awful.

Icon

Mike, Richmond

On Jun 16, 2018

Old Republic Home Protection Reviews

Had a policy with Old Republic and had a problem with my HVAC unit. Guy shows up and goes into my crawl space. He then goes outside and back in about 10 times. Then he comes down in a rush and tells me someone else will need to come and run a new line because there’s a short in the wire. I tried to ask why he didn’t do it, he tells me someone else needs to come out because he tried to change a wire and it was still shorting out. He says “here, sign here and someone will call you.” I asked if someone will call me or come today? He rushes me and says “uh, I don’t know, they’re gonna call you. That’ll be $100. You won’t have to pay again.” And he leaves. I waited 7hrs and no one called me or came so I called Old Republic for a status. I’m then told the technician put in his report that wires were crossed and it seems someone else attempted repair so coverage isn’t an option. There’s also no water in a drainage pan and there should be. So I inquired on why would I attempt to have someone else fix an issue when I have a home warranty? No one has been up there since I’ve owned this house for roughly 2-3 years. Old Republic then states they can’t say for sure someone else attempted to fix it but they’re denying the claim. I also told them my AC has been out for almost a week, it’s been 95+ degrees outside every day so upstairs in the attic would have been over 150 degrees easy so whatever water was there would have evaporated. Old Republic says they don’t know the real case, that’s why they send “a professional” to tell them. So I asked why did the technician lie to me and say someone else was coming? And he even wrote on my receipt that he changed the wire out and If I didn’t call for a status update, I would of just been out back. Old Republic stated to me that they don’t allow technicians to explain the problem to the customer because they don’t want them to get into coverage detail. So I told them they just told me they don’t have an idea of what’s going on so they send “a professional” but they want to make a determination on what’s coverd and what isn’t. The rep tells me “yeah, that’s pretty much it.” He then tells me they asked the company who responded, if the wire he changed could of went bad from normal wear and tear and was told “it could have.” But I thought the real reason was lines crossed? Lines cross by themselves and then degrade as normal wear and tear? So then I’m told that they won’t cover it because they feel the crossed wire that happened from normal wear and tear was the real reason....yeah, I’m as confused as you. Needless to say I canceled my policy. While I was on the phone, I was given an email address to do that followed by “I’ll transfer you to cancellation.” And guess what I got? Yep! Hung up on! I called back and was transferred to someone else who then tells me there’s no such thing as a cancellation department. You just send an email. How are you in business? The only thing I got out of this was paying $470 to be lied to. I’m going to have to go to the Dept Of Commerce and the AG for real answers I guess.

Icon

Steve Shiflett, Richmond

On Apr 12, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Easy to work with and prompt.

Icon

Steve Shiflett, Richmond

On Apr 12, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Easy to work with and prompt. Good customer service.

Icon

Stephanie Bergreen, RICHMOND

On Apr 07, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

I have had my home warranty close to two years. Last August my AC started acting up. I paid the $125 and a tech came out. He replaced a part but couldn\'t check for freon leaks because he didn\'t have the right tools but he had topped it off. Fast forward to April 1 and my AC is not working again. AHS sends someone out who tells me there are 3 leaks and no freon. Frustrating as the cost for the freon is $800+ out of pocket and had they found the leaks last year when I had freon I wouldn't have had to pay that. Then I get a call...there is another $400 in charges for duct modifications that is also going to be out of pocket. I call the tech to ask about it and I'm told that the coil dimensions are different so they need to modify the ducts to make it fit. I think...No problem I'm sure they will pay it. I call AHS assuming they mistakenly denied the coverage...after all I have duct coverage AND in order to complete the repair to the air conditioner which is also cover it's required. I call AHS and appeal only to be told that yes I have duct coverage but the duct wasn't broken. And yes I had AC coverage - but that didn't cover the ducts EVEN THOUGH THE MODIFICATIONS ARE REQUIRED DUE TO PARTS NOT BEING AVAILABLE THAT MATCH THE ONES BEING REPLACED. It's funny that they take that stance - vs. looking at the verbiage that says if the parts are not available they will provide a replacement. They may be able to stand on the fine print of the contract but it certainly isn't the ethical thing to do. It became very clear the customer service person was not going to budge so I've filed a complaint with the BBB. We will see what happens. I will be cashing out for this repair and getting it done out of pocket AND cancelling my policy. In the meantime I will be paying $800+ out of pocket to replace freon that was lost due to an incorrect repair last August AND the actual repair of the unit.

Icon

Shelby Latney, Richmond

On Mar 20, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Pleased with the contractor that came to service our heater. Quick and accurate.

Icon

Shakema Sanders, Richmond

On Feb 23, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

Replacement of my microwave oven combo met expectations. Delivery of replacement was timely

Icon

Eric Steward, Richmond

On Feb 15, 2018

American Home Shield (AHS)

overall for the past few years that I\'ve had the service I\'ve been nothing but pleased. Highly recommended people who are first-time home buyers.

Icon

E G, Richmond

On Nov 30, 2017

Lowe's Appliance Extended Warranty

I did not have a blood pressure problem until I bought Lowes appliances and the extended warranty. If you do not have a serious health problem before dealing with the ineptness of this company due to a malfunction of an appliance beyond your control, YOU WILL after 23 phone calls, waiting to be put on line for 30-40 minutes at a time, and being bumped from department to department until you get back to the original person you spoke to who started you on a snipe hunt to resolve your issue. You may laugh, this happened three times. My dishwasher was installed two months after I bought a bundle, had a defective valve at the top when installed, way past the 30 day store warranty. Was told to call the extended warranty. They sent a serviceman who said the part and unit could not be fixed. Waited a week and called back. No one had a report of the serviceman. Did I mention I never had a blood pressure problem before? Then I was told by some EXTREMELY nice call representatives that the Store manager would call me to resolve my issue, I waited the next day and he called to say, and I quote, "This is not my problem, you need to contact SAMSUNG to resolve your issue". ??????????? Hungh???????? If I have a new car and the fender falls off, am I supposed to call FORD and tell them my story? So, I call Samsung and they look into it. I get a nice person call back two days later saying that my claim has been denied. Did you know that high blood pressure can cause your eyes to leak blood? I call the extended warranty representative back after several minutes of punching numbers to get to the correct department, and am told by another really, really nice call representative from customer care that they will have to send another service technician to get a second opinion on the repair. I call three days later myself to set up the appointment. THE SAME GUY comes back to look at it again! He says that a claim will be submitted to SAMSUNG and someone will get in touch with me. By now I have learned to call Lowes customer care as soon as you can, so I could tell them that SAMSUNG HAS ALREADY DENIED THE CLAIM THREE WEEKS AGO. Now I am being sent back to the store to deal with the manager on a replacement unit as soon as they send me a return on my original cost, which will void the $119 extended warranty and the $146 installation it cost to get into my remodeled kitchen. It has been 8 weeks since this process began. I have yet to get my money returned. I am now taking blood pressure medication. If you would like to experience hypertension, or the Twilight Zone, or feel a deep longing to have your patience tested, please by all means, pay no attention to this article or any of the other comments by unwary, unsuspecting card carrying Lowes' customers. If you got this far, have a nice day.

https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/wp-content/themes/HWR-2020